User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1169 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    My children are 9 and 10. When this all began they were too small to enjoy Potter and I was not a fan. They were not allowed to watch the movies until they read the books. I remember the pride I felt the first time they sat in my lap reading the big potter book to me. Soon enough they both finished the first book and declared they were ready for the movie. There was rhythm as the kids devoured the books and demanded the movies. Their reading out paced the production and have waited with the rest of the world for the movies to come. Something is lost as the series ends. The first big books they ever read, and the first big kid movies they ever watched. The movie is wonderful. The series is wonderful. Watching my children experience both has been a joy of fatherhood. Expand
  2. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    A wonderful movie, and if you've ever lost a loved one, you'll truly connect with the emotion in this story. Many people grew up reading and watching the Harry Potter story, and this final movie reaches the peak of maturity in subject matter. It deals with honor, death, love, and sacrifice. Thank you Ms. Rowling for teaching our younger generation these important values.
  3. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    First off, let me start by saying that I never read the books, so I'm not going to go about making comparisons between the book and the movie. However, I have watched every film so I've managed to keep up with the series. As a result, I will rate this AS A FILM rather than a book adaptation. As a film, this is fantastic on every front. Splitting the film into two parts was the best thing they could've done. I felt the first part had a couple of pacing issues, but was still pretty great. This one is perfectly paced. I was gripped constantly. A fantastic balance of story and action. Every character was excellent portrayed and I really felt that each one of them had a good level of depth. The script was also fantastic. It never felt cliché, the amount of humour was just right and it's just overall very well written. The action, the story, the character development, the romance, the humour. It's all so perfectly balanced. Nothing ever felt forced. Overall this is a phenomenal film. Every Harry Potter fan should see this, and even if you aren't a fan, watch it because it's a GOOD film (though I would recommend at least watching a couple of the previous films beforehand to have some sort of an idea of what's going on). Expand
  4. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    A perfect film for a perfect series. Visuals were fantastic, acting was way beyond any of the previous films and the soundtrack was epic. I think people should stop complaining, J. K. Rowling was a producer for this movie and it ended gracefully.
  5. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    This is a fantastic closer, both as a film as and an adaptation, because the two go hand in hand. To all the fans who are upset about the ways the film divulges from the book, these changes were made with enormous respect to the source material and with the intention of making it a better MOVIE - more fast-paced, and with a more satisfying, suspenseful climax. The last book was one of my favorites, largely for the dense plot and character nuance that was (not entirely, but somewhat) absent from the film, but I can say that this is one of those rare cases where the changes made were almost entirely for the better. The parts that felt awkward, overly-complex, or overly-convenient in the book are reworked in a way that flows organically, without sacrificing the emotional impact. Almost every character has their moment to shine, and the most heartbreaking scenes from the book are played to perfection (Alan Rickman is outstanding) - it's intense, scary, funny, sad, and above all, satisfying to the people who have spent their childhoods with Harry. Well done! Expand
  6. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    Easily the best movie in the entire series.

    To be honest, I haven't been a fan of DY's directing of 5-7. I didn't think he was the right director for the epic finale and through Part 1 I was even more worried. Then came part 2. Where has this guy been for the prior 3 movies? It had such a better feel than Part 1 and both 5&6 did, and was just amazing.

    Were there cuts that I miss? Of
    course. Is there parts I think they messed up on? No movie that's loosely adapting a book like this is going to be perfect. But the parts they put in were amazing.

    McGonagall had easily the best added line in the entire movie, and as the Pensive scene started I was just praying they didn't butcher it--one of the most important scenes in the entire series and they nailed it, easily the best 5 minutes of the Potter Franchise from a story telling point.

    All I can truly say is wow!
    Expand
  7. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    Deathly Hallows Part 2 is easily the best Harry Potter movie. As basically every sane person has been saying, it successfully closes the best movie franchise in existence. Some of the scenes get an emotional reaction that I didn't think possible from a series originally thought of as being for kids. Any person with actual human emotion will be in tears, or on the verge of it from when Snape dies, until after Harry has used the Resurrection Stone. The acting is at the apex of the entire series, and although the score is not the most magical, it is the most dramatic and fitting for the atmosphere of the movie. The special effects seem incredibly real. We finally got to see some bad-ass scenes from some people that if you read the book, knew were bad-ass (Mrs. Weasely, McGonagall). All in all, a perfect end to the most magical and best series in modern film-making. Expand
  8. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    This Movie is probably the best movie I see all this year. There weresome bumps along the ride but at the end it was totally worth it! Now I don't think purist's of the books will love this movie to death like I did since it does change quite a bit of stuff from the book, but nevertheless if you are a Harry potter fan your going to enjoy every second of it, that's for sure.
  9. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    Ten years ago, we were presented with a story on the silver screen about a boy wizard, whose parents were killed by a man named Voldemort. Along the way, he met Ron Weasley and Hermonie Granger, who became his party companions as he quested to learn more about himself and come closer to his ultimate destiny; to kill Lord Voldemort.

    This one was a very emotional, but beautiful ending to a
    series that a majority of people my age grew up with, and it added more to its grand power by great direction, an excellent scrript, and powerful acting (especially from Alan Rickman, who really impressed me with his performance in both parts. I actually began to sympathize with Professor Snape when they showed his backstory from his last tear, as it almost made me cry), along with top-notch visual effects and a grand score.

    I can easily call this the best movie of the year, and I hope that people don't miss their last chance to see the boy wizard (unless they decide to reboot the series 20 years from now, which will anger a lot of people, including myself).

    So, in total, if I give this one 5 stars and the first part a 4-star rating, that would make the 2 parts together a 4.5 out of 5, which is solid for a Harry Potter film considering all the others except the 4th (never watched Azkaban) were not all that great.

    Harry had a good run, quite an impressive one at that.

    Part 1: B+
    Part 2: A

    Together: A-
    Expand
  10. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    Fantastic film, the few stylistic changes that were made were of little significance. I think most people have come to understand that writers and directs make minor artistic changes and at the end of the day they are not worth getting upset about.
  11. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    It all has to end, every single minute of the 18 hour-long Harry Potter movies preceding this one have been leading up to this moment. There was incredible hype for The Deathly Hallows Part 2 ever since the final scenes of the DH 1, and it has the impossible task of meeting the expectations that it has set for itself which is incredibly high. This is the perfect way to end the best movie franchise ever made. It's amazing to actually take a step back and look at all of the 8 movies, it never drops in quality and the shifts in the tone of the movies is just bloody awesome from the Sorcerer's Stone's light, funny, cheerful tone to the very dark and serious tone of the Half-Blood Prince, and Deathly Hallows 1 and 2. As always Mr Yates gets into the thick of the action and assumes that the audience knows everything and literally picks up where DH1 ended. Hogwarts surrounded by hovering Dementors and a despondent-looking new headmaster Severus Snape, cue the title sequence. You know you're in good hands. For the fans who did not like the DH1 citing a lack of action sequences and a slow dragging story (I really enjoyed DH1) will be satisfied with this one. Almost immediately it starts with a break-in into Gringotts bank with Harry and a creepy looking goblin on his back under the invisibility cloak, Ron wearing a goatee and Hermione taking the form of Bellatrix Lestrange via the polyjuice potion. Helena Bonham Carter was absolutely amusing impersonating Emma Watson's character impersonating her. Searching for a horcrux, followed swiftly by an abrupt escape plan with the trio holding on for dear life on a dragon. Action sequence junkies you'll love this movie. The special effects in this one is great, amazing looking wand duels, knights, trolls and everything in between as Hogwarts is turned into a battlefield not dissimilar to the Lord of the Rings' movies. The calm before the storm is very similar to The Two Towers when they're preparing for the arrival of Voldermort and his posse, everything is so well-paced and the story just flows effortlessly. But even with all that in abundance, the heart of the movie will always be in the close intimate scenes, the CGI effects will never upstage the emotional core of the movie, two life-long friends finally share a tender moment, a boy circled by his deceased family and his reunion with the man he so much admired and so much more. There are a lot of deaths and I'm quite surprised that a fair amount of them occurs off screen, probably it's supposed to give a much stronger impact but I really wanted to see the demise of some of them. All in all the story was very solid and so unbelievably satisfying. Desplat's score, hauntingly magnificent. Truly beautiful and laced with bits from John Williams' and Nicholas Hooper's pieces, reminding us of much simpler and happy times and when everything came crashing down respectively. Eduardo Serra's cinematography is phenomenal, really capturing the look and feel of the movie as he did in part 1, you really feel that death is coming for Hogwarts. The stand-out performance for DH 1 was Emma Watson, DH 2 is where Daniel Radcliffe really shines. Harry Potter is no longer just the boy who lived, he's grown into a man on a mission, now equipped with a sense of authority and no one really questions him anymore, it's best to let him do what needs to be done. The negotiation scene with the goblin and with Mr. Ollivander was just so intense and delicately captured on screen showcasing a different side to Mr. Radcliffe. He was given a lot of dramatic and emotionally-heavy scenes and he really delivered, this was his movie along with Emma Watson and Rupert Grint, who have been in their roles for 10 years now, their casting really made the movie what it is. And let's not forget the most impressive supporting cast ever assembled with a slew of great British actors, you know who they are. Ralph Fiennes is menacing as the immortal Lord Voldermort but every time a Horcrux is destroyed he gets progressively weaker and Mr Fiennes' performance is very delicate showing the Dark Lord's vulnerability. Then there was the half-blood prince's revelatory piece which almost reduced me to tears. That was a heart-breaking montage of Snape's agendas and his sacrifices. Alan Rickman was outstanding showing the deeper, more emotional side of Severus Snape, give the man an Oscar already. For those that have been following ever since the first movie, the reward here is extremely gratifying. The epilogue of the movie which was set 19 years later was very bittersweet, did'tt want it to end. The final few moments before the screen faded to black, and before the sun sets on the best franchise ever made I also felt that the sun was setting on my childhood, saw the first movie when I was 10 years old, and it ended with the end of my teen years. I grew up with the movies. What a ride it has been, goodbye Harry Potter.. Expand
  12. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    2 Harry Potter haters here. It'd be 11 of 13 users or 7 of 9 users. I really liked the movie it was the best summer movie of year. I hope it does very good well it is going to do very good. I love the movies and this is a perfect end to an awesome franchise. Bye Harry. :(
  13. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    The opening moments of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part Two are delivered in complete silence. Moody silence. We see iconic images of Professor Snape lording over Hogwarts, of Voldemortâ
  14. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    For book purists it may not be the ending they wanted. But overall it is amazing and this last movie gives this series "classic" status. Alan Rickman as snape delivers the most memorable sequence in the entire 8 film series that is saddening. Daniel Radcliffe steps it up and is solid in this movie. For once i did not have to question whether or not he could act or not.

    One note: If
    you havnt at least seen part 1 you should catch up before seeing this one as it will be hard to understand otherwise. Expand
  15. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    Fast, smooth and beautiful, this is the best Harry Potter film ever made. Period. The acting is at its finest and the direction is flat out beautiful! The visuals are phenomenal, it's obvious that the filmmakers waited until the last film to give the visuals their all. The story is faithful enough to the book! Overall, I'm sad that the franchise has to end, but we'll always enjoy the series "until the end". Expand
  16. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    The best Harry potter movie i have ever seen. The main logo of the movie very simple that the victory of good over evil but this simple thing is shown in such a way that you will find yourself in the war itself. David Yates has done a great job he has given his 100% to finish the Harry Potter series with an mind blowing end. The whole star cast has given their 100% as well. I suggest all of you to go and watch the movie in 2D because the theme of the movie is very dark so for better visuals go for 2D not for 3D. Everybody living in this planet should definitely watch this movie if you are a fan of Harry Potter then don't dare to miss this film. Full marks to this one. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2 will be the great legendary film for centuries. Expand
  17. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    The final Harry Potter installment is more than satisfying, it's masterful. It's obvious that the source material has been treated with great care, and although the adaptation is not perfect, there are far more things done well, and exceeding expectations, than factors that disappointed. The acting, especially by Daniel Radcliffe, Alan Rickman and Ralph Fiennes, was wonderful. It was also pleasing to see almost all of the characters that we've seen throughout the series return for the final installment, and many of them are given moments to shine, as in the novel. What's most impressive is the staging of the epic action sequences which are both thrilling and suspenseful, and you feel feel a real sense that there is so much at stake. The pacing of the film is spot-on, not too rushed but not too slow, and by the final coda fans of the series, and even filmgoers simply seeing the film for entertainment should certainly be satisfied. 'Deathly Hallows Part 2' is not just the best film in the series, but ranks as one of the best action films of all time, and certainly the best film of 2011 this far. It's an excellent way to finish off such a monumental series. Expand
  18. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    Nothing comes close to this film. It is the best of 2011, and possibly one of the best films of all time. It's rare to see a movie that is the eight installment of a series and is so darn good. Everything about this movie is magical, no pun intended. I could do with out the cheesy ending(not a spoiler), but besides that, I'd have to say there was no better way to finish off one of the greatest, if not THEE greatest movie franchise in history. Expand
  19. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    The finale of the Harry Potter saga was the best movie so far, it was 2 hours of constant action and fantastic acting, especially from Allan Rickman and Daniel Radcliffe.
  20. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    With an extra two hours for the final installment, the last film is able to adhere to the book more so than any other in the series. While somehow maintaining the feel of the other films, Deathly Hallows 2 separates itself by knowing that it's the end and therefore bringing with it more emotion, conflict, and symbolism than the others. Harry's willingness to give his life makes him not foolish for being the hero for once, but rather his maturity is shown to have grown where he can accept circumstance and face it, though with obvious hesitation. I must say that I particularly enjoyed the way that Snape was performed, since we finally got to see into his past with acting that couldn't have been more perfect. I think that the reason for this film to be so acclaimed by the critics isn't just for its magnificent conclusion, outstanding acting, and epic story, but also for its subtle universality: we all require love to be inspired to triumph over true evil. Expand
  21. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    I must say, as someone who has never read the books but has seen the movies with my girlfriend (who loves the books).. this movie floored me. When I say this movie, I mean both parts, as a whole. For the first time in the entire movie series I was completely sucked in from start to finish.

    While I know this may make the ones who love the books and deny the movies any right to exist,
    unless they could somehow match (or top) the books, snicker I'm not sure what to say. My girlfriend seems to have loved it, which is saying a lot. She hated many aspects of the movie series at times such as the entire 6th movie.

    I would say, don't miss the chance to see this while it's in the theater. 'tis all.
    Expand
  22. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part-2, is a dark, dazzling, and extraordinary display of cinematic integrity. Starting off in with an eerie feeling of terror, as the menacing Snape overlooks a Nazi-esque Hogwarts. You start to wonder what has become of the wonderful magical world you fell inlove with 10 years ago. The mood quickly changes as you enter once again the life of Harry Potter. This movie will blow you away with incredible special effects, and superb acting, that in the end leaves you in tears when you realize that everyone, although a wizard, is truly human. You will exit the theatre overwhelmed and satisfied that you could bare witness to one of the most spectacular movies of our time Expand
  23. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    Thank you Harry Potter for taking me from a child to an adult. The world could use mroe stories like this to grow up with.
  24. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    Well it is finally over, what a ride it has been. I cannot say I have grown up with Harry Potter as when it was first released (Chamber of secrets) I had little interest in what I thought was going to be a kids movie, oh how I was wrong. I think the problem with the Harry Potter series is just how a lot of people overlook the sometimes subtle, sometimes painfully obvious undertones and hidden meanings of the scenes and characters. The dementors sucking life out of people like depression for example. I do genuinely believe JK Rowling to be an incredible writer with such an amazing imagination, anyway back to DH2. From the start scene to the end you will be gripped by a fast but well paced action/realistic depiction of war. Even more realistic than most war films out there. The number of casualties, the damage, the destruction and the bravery and terror. If you want to go and watch a film where you will find yourself upset one moment followed closely by a sense of joy then this is definitely the movie for you. How many times I must have been on the verge of crying followed shortly by a one liner that simply picked me up. I do not want to give anything away for those of you out there who do not know how this ends. All I can say is ignore any negative reviews go out and see it for yourself, you will be left amazed. After 10 years of waiting and 18 hours of watching Harry and friends grow up I think its time we owed it to ourselves to say our goodbyes and DH2 does this in style. A brilliant movie with fantastic cast, visuals and pace. Do yourself a favour book tickets now as I have a feeling this one will be around in cinemas across the UK for a while to come :). Enjoy. Expand
  25. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    It All Ends Here! Sadly, it does all come to an end but the Harry Potter franchise surpasses every expectation and delivers a grandstand finale of epic proportion in what is an unmissable and unforgettable film experiences of all time. With all the high expectations heading into The Deathly Hallows Part 2 it seemed impossible that this film could end up doing what does. Picking up from the tragic ending of Part 1 the film with Harry, Ron and Hermione searching for the remaining Horcruxes to destory Voldemort and Yates sets the tone very early on with an all out action raid on Gringotts bank. The only minor issue that I had with Part 1 was the pacing but this film runs at a very smooth and fast pace. One of the elements Yates displays very convincingly is the transformation in the atmosphere and feeling for the film. Long gone are the happy times of Quidditch, instead you now have the dark, gloomy skies, dragons, death-eaters and the Dark Lord himself. This works a treat because it not only emphasizes that this is the finale to this spectacular series but it makes it much more serious. There light-hearted moments but their timed to perfection and the focus is purely on the the final battle. And that is were this film excels overwhelmingly! The battle scenes were just extraordinary. Visually its encapsulating and mezmerising and once again gets across the epicness of this film. Its been compared to the LotR battle and rightly so its simply oustanding. The story was very well written, Yates manages to combine the story, the pace, the action and the acting incredibly well. One standout, as per usual, is Alan Rickman arguably the greatest performance of the Potter franchise as Severus Snape, he is magic as Snape as his true motives are revealed in what has to be some of the most emotional and poignant scenes of the movie but Daniel Radcliffe has his moment and delivers his best performance saving his best for last, he takes centre stage in the final third and is actually magestic. And there is plenty of emotion as expected after all this is it, the final Potter outing! There are sacrifices, deaths of much loved and maligned faces who we have come to love as well as the romance as Ron and Hermione share that much anticapted kiss. All this leading to the epic showdown between Harry Potter, the boy wonder, and Lord Voldemort. The epilogue in closing the film is very bittersweet seeing each character 19 years down the line was very moving as they sent their kids to Hogwarts but it brought this amazing series of films to a fantastic finish. In closing, I urge any film fan to see this movie. It is utterly essential to see the ending to this epic series. They have certainly saved the best for last and ensure that the greatest film franchise of all time ends in spectular and spell binding style! This film has everything a finale should have and will be remembered for years to come. Having grown up with the series since I was a little kid its sad to bid Harry and co farewell but Im left fully fulfilled and admiring the achievement they have delivered in this epic franchise. Mischief managed Harry, it was magic from start to finish! Expand
  26. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Amazing. Truly wonderful. Soaring far beyond expectations, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2 was a home run hit. Possibly the best part was the perfect ending to the movie, as well as the series. It is my guess that no other series will ever match the "grabbing" effect Harry Potter had - not soon at least. Through ten long years the audience was introduced to Harry and his gang, toured the great Hogwarts facility, and studied the world of magic from the most noble of wizards and witches - all while being kept on the edges of their seats by thrilling action scenes. After so long of watching the gang's adventures one might have felt a desire to visit the magical school themselves, but the routine journeys to Hogwarts are finally over with Voldemort defeated and our favorite friends settling into the long-awaited couples. While the story has come to conclusion, the imagination has not. Hogwarts was a fun and desirable academy to dream about, so next time you find yourself looking for a great date idea, something to do with the guys, or just a good movie, pop in one of 8 Harry Potter discs and mash the play button! It'll be a magical ride! Expand
  27. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    Fantastic movie! Easily the best of the series! Great action, thrilling performances, and everyone gets a proper nod-off.. every seen is beautfully shot and plays great omage to the book.. 10 years we have been waiting for this! and what a great 10 years it has been! P.S. The people who gave this a mixed review probably didn't even see... they're most likely trolls... "TROLL! IN THE DUNGEON! THERE'S A TROLL IN THE DUNGEON!" Expand
  28. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    Beautifully acted stand out Alan Rickman, and strong visuals, a great original score, thrills and some emotional depth it easily is the most touching and powerful of the series. I give this film a very rare 100% of a good movie. :)
  29. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2 = Best Movie This Year So Far... A lot of what happened in the book appeared in the film. I highly recommend this for anyone.
  30. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A brilliant end to a brilliant saga.
    The Harry Potter phenomenon has become bigger with every movie released. Adding more to the (excuse the cliché) cauldron each year, and this movie was no exception. It is fair to admit that part one was a little bit of a lackluster, and needed a lot more conviction and vitality. It only really had you on the edge of your comfy cinema seat toward the penultimate scene where Dobby tragically dies. However part 2 had a lot more to it, chucking you right in the deep end from the get go, which is to expect when the movie starts half way through a book, nonetheless it still gripped the audience a lot better than the first.

    Similarly to the first though, it does drag on a bit a quarter of the way through, with the only thing keeping you interested is the concept, the objective, what you know is coming (which is explained to you at the beginning) the mission to Gringots was a fantastic way for David Yates to grab the audienceâ
    Expand
  31. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Of course this movie was going to be brilliant, the final instalment of a world famous series of a boy wizard saw the good finally overcome the bad. Seeing the actors growing up onscreen and how their characters evolve over the 7 years at Hogwarts, the series has been a world wide success. And rightly so. Deathly Hallows part 2 certainly lives up to expectations. Fast-paced, funny/emotional/action-packed, visually stunning and the acting seemed better than in previous instalments as well. But it's not without it's problems. The sound seemed to be unusually quiet for an action film, like the Foley artists were taking a long break. The scene with the dragon escaping Gringott's is the best example. There was no urgency to the chaos the dragon was causing. This scene also was over-played. The suspense was over-drawn resulting in knowing when the dragon would burst through the floor of the bank. That would have been a perfect moment to make the audience jump but sadly that did not happen. The music playing over the big fighting scenes also seemed out of place, the sound and the visuals just didn't match. I was expecting something like with the orchestral power and bravery as heard from LOTR but ended up feeling like the power struggle really wasn't that much of a struggle. Some big opportunities were missed during these big battle moments too. Whereas in the books the reader could feel emotion and loss for the characters that inevitably die (Fred, Lupin, Tonks), here the emotional range was contained to a mere side-effect. Viewers who haven't read the books are surely to be confused too. Horcruxes and wand law are explained in a hurried fashion, leaving the viewer feeling a few steps behind on the action. It's not to say the film hasn't got it's good points (I gave it 9/10 after all!). The audience clapped when Mrs Weasley called Bellatrix Lestrange a **** laughed at Filch earnestly sweeping away the ruinous remains of the castle, and cheered for Dame Maggie Smith who finally gets some decent screen time and a little bit of the action as a Professor who gets to unleash her power "I've always wanted to do that!"

    However, it is the delectable Alan Rickman who takes the film to a whole new level as Professor Snape. Taking us through his painful back story, how he struggled to hide his feelings for Harry's mother and his turmoil over doing what he had to do to gain the Dark Lord's trust. Real sympathy is earned for this character, the portrayal making Snape more than just a villain but 3D and actually human.

    Lastly, not forgetting the kid actors. Sorry young adults....well actually old adults as well - that final scene is quite unnerving. Daniel, Emma and Rupert portray a new maturity whilst also retaining the original essences of their characters. They play off each other really well, both in the light-hearted scenes as well as the dark ones. They make all the wand-waving and running/duck-and-cover scenes look natural and fun and convey the struggles, both emotional and physical, with depth and poignancy, like when Harry meets and talks with all the dead people he has known.

    Visually the film is effects laden and stunning, as expected, and in 3D you get to feel even closer to the action. Dialogue is witty, touching, and keeps pace with the action sequences well. The set pieces, particularly Gringott's Bank and Hogwarts, and fighting scenes are awe-inspiring. Harry Potter is one of the franchises made for the big screen and it surely doesn't let you down.

    It's during one of the final scenes, after Voldemort is vanquished, Harry, Ron and Hermione stand on a ruined bridge of the castle looking out towards their future, their friendship never looking so tight and content. We can feel relief with them. And that's what the whole of the series has been about. The three of them standing together no matter what, weathering the trials and trubulations of school, teenage years and pure evil. That's hard to come by, even in a world of fantasy. I'm going to miss Hogwarts....it's the end of the Potter era, and what a great ending it was.
    Expand
  32. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    Being a HP freak myself, I was more than satisfied with the last film. The thing that struck me as odd was that I loved the ending in the film to be much better than in the book. The subtle soundtracks, the brilliant visual effects, actors who knew their characters and a great story well told - all these make this movie the best ever series ender for me.
  33. JTG
    Jul 19, 2011
    10
    It's been 10 years since Harry made his first appearance on the big screen and ever since it's become the biggest movie franchise of all time. It's become a series that has magically bounded itself to our hearts through the masterful and brilliant directing of Chris Columbus (Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets), Alfonso Cuarón (Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban), Mike Newell (Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire), and David Yates whose far-fetched brilliance has distanced himself far beyond the other directors, producing the best and biggest grossing films in the series. In Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2, Yates manages to perfectly balance action with wit, a balance lacked in all of the previous films. A large credit to Steve Kloves who wrote a perfect screenplay to J.K. Rowling's novel. Kloves followed the novel's original creativity while adding his own creativity to the bundle of brilliance. Daniel Radcliffe, Emma Watson, and Rupert Grint are at their best in this final installment. Their performance perfectly depicts J.K. Rowling's original portrayal of Harry, Hermione, and Ron. It's been obvious that a performance like this had been progressing within these three actors ever since 2001 and I'm so glad that it finally came out in the conclusion of Harry Potter, a story about a boy and his scar that will forever live in the hearts of those millions of fans who witnessed a phenomenal story about love, bravery, and the importance of friendship. Expand
  34. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    It all ends here. But will lives forever in each fan's heart. I'm not so positive but to be honest this movie is one of best films this year so far. I'm fan of HP series , I read each book like 7 times, As a fan book I'll give it 8 because so many scenes of book has missed . But more than that, I'm a cinema addict , this movie is perfect. Directing. Writing. Music. Cinematography. All combines perfect. But above of all is stunning acting of all cast and crew. I really hope Alan Rickman get Oscar nomination for his role. Now this time is far from Oscar 2012 , but I really hope HP series get what it deserves long time. Forgive me for my not so good English. I'm from Vietnam. Love and always love U , Harry and all his friends. Expand
  35. Jul 17, 2011
    9
    HP & DH: 2 managed to brilliantly end the Harry Potter series, to such an extent that I don't think anyone anticipated. David Yates proved himself, once again, as the best adapter of the Harry Potter series into film, even more so than Alfonso Cuaron, who was rather good at it, too. What surprised me a lot was the emotional impact that the film had on me. Many of the scenes had quite convincing settings and emotional depth that is unprecedented in the Potter series. The storytelling was rather slick and the visuals are simply stunning. The special effects have by far been one of the best, with the exception of the Half-Blood Prince possibly. Overall, the finale of the series was done as good as it could have been done. I'm rather happy that they decided to split the last book into two films, since it allowed for a fuller, more complex understanding and presentation of the story in the film. It is by far the best of the Harry Potter films and it is a worthy and spectacular ending for a series that has helped shape a whole generation. Expand
  36. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    Just another amazing Potter flick full of rich character development, imaginative recasting of classic fantasy elements, brilliant mixing of subtle moments with epic action, never-before-seen realistic effects, all tossed into two plus hours of true cinematic wizardry. Can't wait to watch all 20 hours of the entire series all over again once this comes out on Blu-Ray.
  37. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    Regarding the relationship between the books and movies: Novel "purists" should stop pretending the relationship is or should be one-sided, in which movies serve as visual allegiances to Rowling's words. The imaginative worlds of the movies and books are both distinct and mutually influential. It seems clear that Rowling started writing with a movie consciousness (altering her themes and action in preparation for the big screen) in Goblet of Fire, or at least Order of the Phoenix. So not only do the movies deserve their own agency, they push back on Rowling and shape the novels.

    About the movie: It's at once a celebration of the first seven films and their fireworks grand finale. Have fun recognizing all the homages. Note the score, which incorporates themes from much of John Williams' original visions, as well as mood pieces from Yates' earlier contributions. Although some character cameos from the previous films are obvious, others take a bit of crowd analysis. Also check the room of requirement for a few trips down memory lane. The movie is a time capsule of the films' collective culture.

    But it's also a fluid and marvelous piece of entertainment on its own (as like 200 professional critics have noted with enough words). Is it perfect? Well, it has Ginny Weasley. But Neville Longbottom's geek awesomeness more than baptizes those moments. If you enjoy the idea of Neville Longbottom being awesome, you'll fall for the movie as naturally as Luna falls for--all assortment of geeky things.
    Expand
  38. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    This part of the movie is much better than the first part even though I enjoyed the first part of Deathly Hallows. This second part has much more action and is a lot more watchable. It's a very good send-off of the Harry Potter books and watching Harry, Ron, and Hermonie grow up is so satisfying at the end.. The final movie has great dramatic scenes, great action, and well-executed tear-jerker scenes. This is a great way to end the series. Expand
  39. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    Deathly Hallows Part 2 was awesome! I am a huge fan of the books and I can say that the battle exceeded my expectations and I think I'm not alone in that since the theater was full of applauding people. All I can say is that the scene involving Snape's past is enough to make you pay the price of admission.
  40. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    just hve 1 word to day "EPIC"...and m devastated in sayin goodbye to my best friends ever possible....nd Severus oh Severus!!!how i wish the world learns a bit more about love from you so that you didnt die in vain!!!
  41. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    This film is amazing. Its the perfect blend of action and emotion. There is also very good dashes of humor throughout. If you ever thought a harry potter movie didnt have enough action this would be the one to change your mind and the epilouge at the end of the film makes it even more perfect.
  42. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    This is the best movie of the saga it has action , drama , everything and is very exciting it keeps you in the sit all the two hours. You have to see it even if you are not a fan it´s great.
  43. Jul 16, 2011
    10
    it is a very great movie ...
    awesome movie ....
    as expected from the last part of the series ....
    i could not take my eyes of the movie for even a second ..
    and the effects were incredible .....
    so the movie is a must watch ... all of the people should watch it ...
    just do it ... and u will b happy as hell
  44. Jul 20, 2011
    9
    And then it ended. When the credits rolled I did not realise it. But then it slowly started to dawn on me. Harry potter, the greatest cultural phenomenon of our generation, is now officially over. For me, at least. Everyone who hasn't seen the movie yet still awaits an awe-inspiring finale, in three dimensions even. It's hard to imagine the sheer magnitude that the series has been. 8 movies that all feature a place in the top 25 most succesfull movies. 7 books that have only been outsold by The Holy Bible. Theme parks. Billions of toys, games, candy, action figures, playing cards, all devoured by an army of fans big enough to occupy a continent or two. This thing was bigger than Star Wars, Batman and Lord of the Rings put into a blender. And they couldn't have ended it in a better way if they tried.
    The rest of the review can be found here: dutchentertainmentjunkie.blogspot.com
    Expand
  45. Jul 17, 2011
    10
    If you are a fan of the books or watched all previous movies, you will not be disappointed with this one. I couldn't count how many chills this movie gave me, definitely worth watching over and over again.
  46. Jul 17, 2011
    10
    I have seen this movie twice now and I have to say that it's a thrilling and satisfying conclusion to one of the best movie series ever done. I have not read the books so as far as just the movie standpoint I could not be happier. I saw both the 3d and 2d versions and while I'm usually indifferent when a movie is in 3d or not, I did enjoy the "little extra" that the 3d gave to the movie.
  47. Jul 17, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Short version: This movie is great, go see it, especially if you are a Potter fan.

    Long version:

    Originally I was against the idea of splitting the final book into two movies to keep the gravy train rolling. But after the fact, I couldn't be happier with their decision. Rather than making one movie approximately 2.5 hours long with skimpy details and a rushed plot line, they decided to split it up, keeping the slower and more somber first half with all the necessary plot points for a cinematic interpretation. The same goes for the fast and furious second part. //Minor spoilers
    Part 2 of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows starts off where the Part 1 finished, Harry and company had just escaped the Malfoy Manor with a murdered Dobby the house elf. With 3 horcruxes destroyed, they set out to find and destroy the last 4. Although there are parts that are slightly altered/ omitted, the movie keeps all the important plot points from the books and acknowledges that the omitted parts exist. The nonstop fighting of the battle at Hogwarts is a perfect fit for cinematography. Literally every hero/character that had been introduced in previous films (and still living) come back to have a small portion of the movie to have the spotlight. All the story lines are shown including the bank robbery, the horcrux searches, Dumbledore's ancestry explained, Snape's ties to Harry, and even Neville's becoming of a hero in his own right. It does a fantastic job of showing everything that everyone wanted out of the books in the movie.

    Final word:

    This is a fantastic finish to the phenomenal Harry Potter franchise. If you are a fan, you've already seen it, if you are still on the fence, it deserves your money.
    Expand
  48. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    This was a great movie! I was on the edge of my seat the whole time! If you read the book, like i did, the plot is off from the book but i would totally see it again! I thought all of the movies were just dumb ripoffs but that opinion changed for sure!! Probablly not kid friendly but you will love it if your not 10 or younger.
  49. Sep 12, 2011
    10
    See-it - The second best and darkest Harry Potter film (behind Goblet of Fire) is the perfect ending to the magical story about the young wizard and his lifelong antagonist Voldermort. Don't be surprised if Ralph Fiennes gets an Oscar nom-nod. And film might just make its way into the Academy's top 10 this year as well.
  50. Oct 14, 2011
    10
    I grew up with Harry Potter, and in my opinion this is a wonderful sendoff for a brilliant series. It was emotionally satisfying in every way, and beautifully acted by Allan Rickman and Daniel Radcliffe in particular.
  51. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    There wasn't anything in this movie that could be considered unnecessary; more importantly, yes, people may say that it varied from the book in parts... but movies MUST vary from books to some extent because it's hard enough to boil down a book with enough content for tens of hours of film into a pair of nearly-three-hour movies! Also, the visuals were amazing all the way through; moreover, whoever did Bonnie Wright's makeup in the epilogue deserves an Oscar! Expand
  52. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    Works better when watched directly after the first part, and that's what this score is for. The last 10 minutes I didn't like too much, the rest was great though, and certain scenes were amazing. Good acting all round, would've liked more Bellatrix as usual
  53. Jul 16, 2011
    10
    After 10 years watching these Harry Potter films, it became the best movie franchise that reach 6 billion dollars worldwide from books to movies.Finally, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part II was epically wonderful best sequel for so long, and it's been done by a perfect ending that we always remember watching over ten years in a decade. This movie series will keep on generation to generation until the end of time and farewell long live Harry Potter. Expand
  54. Jul 16, 2011
    10
    The final chapter begins as Harry, Ron, and Hermione continue their quest of finding and destroying the Dark Lord's three remaining Horcruxes, the magical items responsible for his immortality. But as the mystical Deathly Hallows are uncovered, and Voldemort finds out about their mission, the biggest battle begins and life as they know it will never be the same again.
  55. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    I am still breathless by this Harry Potter Final movie. Lots of action, excellent actor's performances and the real feeling that "It All Ends" . This movie became an event, the ultimate glimpse of the marvelous world and history created by J. K. Rowling. The epic feeling of each individual scene, the large emotional charge that embraces the film creates the perfect climax. It's hard to believe that all have ended, but it has been done in the most perfect and beautiful way. Congrats again for David Yates and the Actors that have truly mastered their performances with this one, like Ralph Fiennes, Daniel Radcliffe, Alan Rickman, Helena Bonham Carter and a lot of others. Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows Part 2 will definitely be remembered for eternity by the people who grew up with the saga and for those that know how truly see it's magic. Expand
  56. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    This was a perfect final installment. Everything from technical achievements to emotion and the surprisingly stellar performances especially from Fiennes and Rickman. It left me incredibly satisfied coming out of the theater. The perfect ending to an excellent series.
  57. Sep 23, 2011
    10
    This is the last and the must exiting movie in the world
    I´ll buy the movie in blu ray 3D for see every day. The bad is is very short, i wanted must longest the seven movies, like a 3 hours, but Idont care, I saw the movie, I enjoyed, more fun, more action, and more drama, i think it will win the oscar to the best movie in the year.
    Bye
  58. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    I am a very big fan of Harry Potter movies. But I don't find myself enjoying reading the Harry Potter books, it's probably the books are too long. The sotry plot and visual in this movie is really good. It provide a good ending to the series.
  59. Jan 18, 2012
    9
    Hello and I am aspiring critic. I am 16 years of age and have created a blog for a few reviews that I have written. I was hoping that you may be interested in checking it out http://shutethecritic.blogspot.com/2012/01/inbetweeners-movie-2011-film-review.html
    One day I hope to have a an impact on metascores, but first I need some feedback
  60. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    Incredible form to close one of the best sagas of all the world, this film of Potter is the better, one day I watch the two films together and is and awesome film. Good bye Harry Potter.
  61. May 12, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Dark,Thrilling,Engaging and entertaining.With the great performances by all the actors and with a great storyline Harry Potter finally came to satisfying conclusion.
    I know it's somewhat disappointing for the franchise book lovers but it's best movie in the movie series.
    i loved how it ended and left a moral and great mark on all of our mind .we will always miss you Harry Potter and your friends.
    Expand
  62. Sep 8, 2012
    10
    This.is.Pure.Perfection.
    One of the Greatest Movies i've very seen. EVER. You should see it. Sincerely, I couldn't hope for better, this final installment was flawlessly the perfect finale for a phenomenal and historic series in cinema history.
  63. Dec 20, 2012
    9
    You do realize that movies aren't the same as books. Books, on the whole, are much better because they are BOOKS. Not films. If the Potter films were actual "book/movies" they would be 8 hours long. I've read the books countless times, and i'm telling you, this movie is great. It's not one of the classics, but it's amazing. I sobbed when i saw this with a friend. I'm telling you, right now, this is a beautiful cinematic experience that will last forever. One of my favorites, actually. Great, great, everything! Expand
  64. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    It was the best Harry Potter movie I have ever seen. It was addicting, I wanted to watch it over and over again. Unlike episode 1, the mood was much darker, and exciting. Graphic didn't improve much from the last episode, but they shortened the book well, so that only the important and fun parts are left, battle was enjoyable, exciting, and just addicting. Music was directed well, it fits with the scenes, it was a wonderful wrap up for the Harry Potter series, I think the director did an excellent job on this movie. It is outstanding, and I will miss the Harry Potter series. Expand
  65. Sep 8, 2013
    10
    I never thought that the conclusion to a beloved series would end as magnificently as it did. Part 2 of the big finale really delivers. It's action-packed, heart-felt, dramatic and thrilling the whole way through. It delivers in bringing back old quality Harry Potter feel and delivering new quality Harry Potter feel that doesn't withdraw from the movie. I've seen this so many times. It's FREAKING FANTASTIC! Be sure to check out my YouTube channel, "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies. Expand
  66. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    What an outstanding end to such a brilliant film series, excellent acting, great scenery, great acting, extremely interesting and exciting start to finish.
  67. Aug 22, 2011
    10
    The hardest movie to predict is filled with epic conclusions! The Best Of The Franchise. For anyone who loves epic conclusions must see the first 6 films then part 1 of this and then of course, this. 9.6/10
  68. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    A perfect end to an amazing series. I got into Harry Potter at age ten and never looked back. I'm sad to see that it's over, but glad to see it go out on such a bang. Alan Rickman in particular shines here.
  69. Aug 13, 2011
    9
    The Dealthly Hallows Part2 is the best of the Potter series and the best fantasy film since the Lord of the Rings series. It's wonderful entertainment, but also it's surprisingly strong storytelling and acting. The performances of the three main caracters are terrific, but it's really the adult roles of Alan Rickman as Professor Snape and Ralph Fiennes as Voldemort that are almost award worthy. The rides of emotion and suspense this movie gave me is nothing I thought possible from a Potter film, as much as I did like the other movies. I think it deserves consideration for a best picture nomination at the Academy Awards. Expand
  70. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    one of the perfect finishes any movie can get. beautifully crafted, perfectly narrated and spellbinding magic all over. dan is perfect as harry. he gets finally the upper hand in the movie. rest others are perfect and duel between dan and ralph is awesome. the dialogs are simply superb. neat way to end a saga.
  71. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    The downside of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 is it took this long, not for the movie, but for a genuinely brilliant Harry Potter film. There have been some good examples in the past, but Deathly Hallows Part 2 is a constant highlight reel (thanks to the excellent source material), delivering exciting moments at a breakneck pace. While snazzy effects aren't everything, it helps if you do them well, and Deathly Hallows Part 2 certainly does, which bolsters the well paced action scenes (for which there are many). It may have been helped largely by a great yarn already being provided, but it's still undeniable that both die-hard Potter fans and anyone just wanting to see a great film will have a place in their hearts for this. Expand
  72. Jul 30, 2011
    10
    A finale of epic, often operatic, proportions. The trio of leads truly come into their own, and with the help of some of the UK's finest thespians in memorable support turns give this final film its true magic: heart. The visual effects and production are marvelous to behold, but it's the characters, heart and humanity that make it the classic it's destined to be.
  73. May 19, 2013
    9
    This final film is the most adult of the series, as well as the most violent, and emotionally compelling film of the series. It's a fantastic and fitting end to an always reliable film series. I enjoyed this movie immensely and must categorically state that it's the best film of the entire series.
  74. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    NO, No, it cant be. it feels like my childhood has ended and there a hole in my heart. after 10 years of reading the books and watching the movies (in that order) the epic series has come to an end. now it would be a lie if i said that i was completely satisfied with the film, but after watching all of the adaptations of the books what was I really expecting? did i think that they would have everything that was in the book in the movie? no, of course not, if they did that it would have to have been split into three films. what they did do was the best adaptation they could possible do while still keeping true to the novel. sure there were thing that they cut that i wanted to see (especially the dark side of young Dumbledore story, which i was really really looking forward to. and the epilogue could have been longer and have more dialogue in my opinion, not really sure why they didn't do that actually) but want can you do, it's a long book. the movie itself was great, the acting from the three leads has really improved throughout the years and although there were some point in the film were it felt a little inorganic its nothing to complain about, the acting from everyone else was amazing the cinematography was excellent, i really liked the use of natural vast landscapes, great set design, costume, directing, writing, action scenes were incredible. it was a great ending to a great series.i do think if you haven't read the book you might enjoy it more, but at the same time you might understand less. there were certain things that they didn't explain the the film that you could only know if you read the book (like why they said you-know-how instead of his name). i would recommend to anyone (as if this review will actually affect people decision on whether of not they watch it, either you hate hp or you love hp), the only thing is that you should watch both parts together (in the same day, or the day after) especially if you haven't read the books. oh and if you haven't read the books read them, they're amazing (the reason i read today). Expand
  75. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    This movie, easily the best of the entire "Potter" series, is a brilliant end to a truly incredible cinematic journey. This movie IS NOT the same as the book, true, but that does not mean it isn't good. In fact, it works brilliantly in this medium. The changes are negligible, and if you spend all your time picking out the inconsistencies, you'll find yourself ruining your own experience. Watch it as a movie, not as a book, and you'll enjoy the best fantasy movie since The Return of the King. Expand
  76. Jul 17, 2011
    10
    It's been an agonizingly long year for me in anticipation for the very last Harry Potter film and by god was it was worth it. Obviously far superior to the already brilliant Part 1, Part 2 is the perfect closure to a series that I have followed since childhood. After the credits rolled, I was completely satisfied and at the same time quite sad that it was finally over. Everything in the movie is executed to expectations. The acting from the whole cast was top notch, the cinematography was fast paced and vibrant, the plot is paced carefully with no signs of confusion and director David Yates did a great job compressing vital scenes from the book to the film with no important moments wasted. What more can I say? It's a very subtle and satisfying end to a film series I loved since it began. Goodbye Harry Potter. Thank you for entertaining us for the past 12 years. Expand
  77. Jul 24, 2011
    9
    A wonderful ending to a wonderful series. One that i grew up with and now and am sad to say goodbye to. There were some slight book inaccuracies, and not enough screen time for the other characters, but im willing to overlook those.
  78. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    I am one of the biggest Harry Potter fans I know and I was eagerly awaiting the release of the last movie. I saw it at midnight and it was really exciting. This movie is perfect in every way for a Potter fan. I don't really care that it is a tad different than the book because movies are movies and books are books and they should be judged as their own individual works. When the movie was over, I was sadder than I ever was at a movie theater because of how perfect the movie was. Everything about it was perfect. Expand
  79. Aug 21, 2011
    9
    My oldest son said it all "I really didn't like all the other movies that much, but this one surprised me....it was really good". I rate it higher than really good. Expectations were high for all the normal reasons....and the film met the expectations and frankly exceeded in its touching moments and fine acting from these stars who are growing into their talent. Fun time!
  80. Apr 16, 2012
    9
    Figuring out how to appropriately explain this film in a fair light is impossible. Without reading the books I can't say how much was left out. But what I can say is that, while the books are incredible (from what I hear), most movies are not true screen adaptations that capture everything that might be important or wonderful from the text. Yates did a wonderful job wrapping up the series. Deathly Hallows Part 2 comes off as more engaging and more fun than Part 1 as a movie, given that there is a lot more going on, and ultimately ends up being one of the most enjoyable Harry Potter films of the whole series. I would have gladly given another 20 minutes for Yates & crew to explain and appropriately tie up the entire story as many fans (both those who enjoyed and were disappointed) have commented on. But what's done is done. It's not quite perfect, but it's a wonderful and successful ending to what has been one of the most important adaptations ever. I'll certainly miss seeing the world and characters of Harry Potter in new ways, but at least there were so many films to give breath visually to a series JK Rowling created... and in the scope of a childrens novel. The movie is great, and it leaves you wanting more as it makes an exit in "styyyle". Expand
  81. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    I am a huge fan of the books and a huge supporter of the movies. They all stand on their own and are unique in their own way, and this one may be the most unique of them all. Everyone knows the reviews that the movie got and I feel it is well deserved and a worthy conclusion to the franchise. To all the "hardcore" fans who have hated every single HP movie: You should learn what the word "adaption" means and stop embarrassing other HP fans with all the complaining. If you hated the first 7 movies, what did you think would change? Do you know what the definition of insanity is? Great movie, great franchise, and a series that saved the best for last. Expand
  82. Jan 9, 2013
    9
    It seems a lot of Potter fans are so lost and deluded in their love of the source material that they forget that the films here actually need to be films and not primarily a soulless copycat of the novels. This isn't perfectly judged but the vast majority of it has been and it is an exceptionally well made blockbuster with enough soul to match the heavy effects that feature this time. However what is really testament to the success of not just this film but also of the whole series, is that the quieter and more character drive moments really outshine the action and spectacle. Exceptional performances from the whole cast and it has a rousing and satisfying conclusion. It's a shame not all the secondary characters get the send off most would have liked but it is a minor quibble. A powerful end to a mighty series. Expand
  83. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    I saw this in IMAX 3D, and although I'm not a fan of 3D in general I have to say this is the best 3D I have seen. The movie itself was fantastic. Special effects are as good as it gets. Is the movie perfect? No, the entire series is summed up in one short sequence and was a little hard to follow, especially with the English accents. I still had a couple of unanswered questions that I had to clarify with a friend who has read the books. However, that did not distract overall from the wonderment of the film. It's been awhile since I've seen a movie I liked well enough to see twice, but I will probably see it one more time before it leaves the big screen. Deathly Hollows parts 1 and 2 couldn't have been more different. Part 1 was a snooze-fest, this one has a lot of action and keeps you on the edge of your seat. Expand
  84. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    What a perfect way to finish such a inspirational and moving series. Overall everyone perfect. the best actor was by far Alan Rickman as Severus Snape. The darkness adds the emotional and action pack fim. everything was perfect and acting was not overdone like part one was. I am really proud to call the best film of 2011.
  85. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    What a perfect way to end the famous, brilliant and epic Harry Potter series. Even tho I already knew what will happen in the movie (since I read all the books), it was still enjoyable to watch. It's hard to believe that there won't be anymore movies. Everything that we were expecting to be in part 2 was there. It perfectly follows part 1. I was impressed by the dramatic ambiance. Sometimes, there were these long silence moments, which was perfect. You can easily get captivated by the story, like all the other movies and books. But the phenomenon and the intensity going one set a mark higher from all the other ones, because of this last battle, to finally defeat Voldemort. I'm glad that I had the chance to read the books and to watch some of the movies. Hope to see more from the actors (Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint and Emma Watson) in the future. Expand
  86. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I thought it was excellent. I understand that details were left out. Necessary details, but they obviously didn't have time for them. I mean really, I didn't want to wait for a part 3 or go to a 3 hour movie. I don't know why it just lacked the air of a Harry Potter movie. The funny moments really only brought me chuckles. But I attribute it to the fact that the whole time I was dreading the end credits from rolling, thus killing my childhood forever. Who knows. Maybe my second go around will be a better experience. But it was the best of the series. EASILY. The acting was so powerful from the entire cast, the images beautiful, the effects masterfully done, the scenes played out so that it gave the ending justice. Alan Rickman gave a bone chillingly awesome performance as Professor Snape in the Pensive scene. Ron brought me to tears when Fred died...the whole cast played their roles beautifully...

    The whole thing makes me want to read all 7 books, and then after I finish I feel like watching the movies again.
    Expand
  87. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 'twas a good remake of the book. Though I dislike the idea of paying twice to see one full movie, they did it very very well.Snape's story was amazingly powerful, but they left out Dumbledore's story, which I did rather enjoy. overall: Great. Expand
  88. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    Excellent, the end of an era most of people have lived.
    Of course it's not entirely like the book, It has never been like that because you only have 2 and a half hours to play seven hundred pages of magic, I personally think it's a great ending to the series.
  89. Jul 26, 2011
    10
    Just simply amazing, all-out action and dramatic scenes from start to finish. Probably the best movie I have ever seen - it entertains, inspires and plucks at the heartstrings. The best possible finish to this amazing franchise and sticks close enough to the book's storyline despite what anyone else says. It also fully justifies splitting The Deathly Hallows into two parts completely. The whole cast were brilliant, although I would have liked to have seen more from certain characters. Overall it is the best two hours I have ever sat through. Expand
  90. Jul 16, 2011
    9
    As a hardcore fan of both the book and movie series, I was hoping a lot out of the final Harry Potter film ever. I wouldn't call myself a hardcore book purist, but I would definitely call myself somewhat of a purist. I'm all for change in the films as long as it makes sense and it works. For Yates' three other films in the series (Order of the Phoenix, Half-Blood Prince, and Deathly Hallows Part 1) I felt he made lots of changes from the books that were not needed and, well, ruined the films for me (Phoenix, Prince and Part 1 are my least favourite Potter films). It's odd, then, for me to still have hope for Part 2, when the last Potter film I enjoyed came out almost 6 years ago. But, alas, I was finally impressed. Part 2 is truly a wonderful film and a fantastic end to the series. The changes made either made sense to me, or were too small for me to worry about. The acting was top-notch. All characters who have always been in the films, though mostly in the background, received their "moment" here and many scenes garnered lots of whoops and applause from the audience. The whole battle was well-made, and this movie really made a fan like me proud to have stuck with the series for so long. However, there are some complaints I have. The movie is called "Harry Potter and the DEATHLY HALLOWS Part 2" yet the significance of the Deathly Hallows aren't given. In fact, it's never discussed that Harry's invisibility cloak is one of the Hallows! There is a little chat about the Hallows in the beginning of the film, and then they are never talked about again. There are also the "emotional" scenes. The main scenes in this story that are supposed to be sad are, without spoiling too much, the revealing of several characters' deaths, a look back at a certain character's memories, and a scene in the forest afterwards. Though this scenes were well done in the movie, they didn't have me close to tears like they did in the books. This is really the biggest problem I had; the movie didn't feel too emotional or touching. I was expecting my eyes to at LEAST get a little teary, but they never did. Another scene, in which a certain mother calls another character a very naughty word, felt rushed, which is truly a shame as it was one of the most hyped up scenes. Overall, however, I was impressed and I thoroughly enjoyed the movie. It truly is the first Harry Potter movie since Goblet of Fire that left me quite happy. I will forever miss this series and will miss waiting and getting all excited for a new book and, now, a new movie. JK Rowling and the cast and crew of the movies have truly given me a wonderful childhood and a marvelous 10 years. Thank you. Expand
  91. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    It was a perfect ending to the perfect franchise i loved every part of this final it was spot on with the book. it was scary it was funny it was sad it had it all harry potter we will miss you
  92. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    Absolutely fantastic. After a disappointing first part of The Deathly Hallows in my opinion Part II of the final book by J.K. Rowling was a fierce battle between good and evil and an emotional rollercoaster as characters that all of us have read about and watched on screen for about a decade died at the last breath. A fitting end to a masterpiece of a series that only comes once in a generation.
  93. Jul 21, 2011
    9
    I went to see this movie in 3D and I have to say the 3D effects were just amazing (sit in the back of the theater). I am not a big Harry Potter fan, and I never read any of the books. Besides the great 3D, the story is great, the acting is good, and the special effects are epic. If you are not a 'book was better' cry baby, go see this movie in theaters (if you saw the first part) in 3D. It's worth it! Expand
  94. Jul 16, 2011
    9
    The best of the saga. How can I say as a Harry Potter freak? Well, not a freak for real, but more or less this. The final is epic, and the characters are developed right to them top... maybe I still can say Harry is not well enough played by Dan Radcliffe but it still good and he improved a lot. Great scenes from Alan Rickman (one of the best in my opinion). Deep and tender, even sad story from him, of course it comes from Rowling. But still good. Also the battles, every each and single little one is epic, and shows what each wizard is capable to do for real. You have not to think anymore, now you have the proves. Maggie Smith, epic too. TOO EPIC, the best of the best! Expand
  95. Jul 21, 2011
    9
    I gave it a 9 only cause I had a hard time hearing what they saying. There were some shockers in the movie as I have never read the books but seen every movie. There were some touching moments and Alan Rickman was scene stealer.
  96. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    I think I can safely say that this movie is (and probably will remain) the best live-action film of 2011 by a long shot! No other live-action movie I've seen so far has come close to the level of epic coolness that I have seen in this movie, and from the looks of things, it appears very doubtful that there will be any live-action movie coming out in 2011 that could possibly come anywhere close to the level of epic coolness I have seen in this movie. The movie adaptations of the fantastic book series have been very faithful towards preserving the integrity originally written by J.K Rowling, and this movie brings a satisfying conclusion to what began nearly a full decade ago in 2001. It has been entertaining to see both the cast and characters change with every new adventure that took place, and even though this movie brings a close to the magical saga of Hogwarts, I was very satisfied with all of the action that took place on-screen, and I feel elated to have seen the entire movie saga all the way through. This movie is destined to join the ranks of movies like "The Wizard of Oz, The Grapes of Wrath, Casablanca, Pinnochio, Alice In Wonderland, Sleeping Beauty, Mary Poppins, The Diary of Anne Frank, Charlotte's Web," and "The Lord of the Rings" trilogy as superb movie adaptations of popular books. This is the movie to see in the year of 2011! Enough said, true believers! Expand
  97. Aug 5, 2011
    10
    Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows Part II blew me away, awesome and brilliant. Pure blockbuster with heart and intense action. The best in the series.
  98. Jul 20, 2011
    9
    After 10 years marked by the success of Harry Potter saga, the least that those who followed the journey of the young wizard during that time could ask for was an end to match the quality and charm that the series was gaining more and more until then. And the last film that not only meets the demand in all areas, it also goes further. David Yates, being director for the fourth time in the saga, delivers to the public, fan or not, an admirable quality of outcome after having led the work with care in the previous films he directed. Proves to be a director of intelligent vision, placing each element in its quantity and the right times. In Part 1, there is a further development in the drama of the characters and their internal conflicts, and the plot to prepare the key to the end, but without having even a little in the moments of action. Now in Part 2, the fastest pace exciting and gives a greater focus to physical conflicts that the previous film, dramatic but also the emphasis needed to excite the viewer. In the plot, Voldemort got the Saille wand in order to become invincible. However, it gets weaker every piece of his soul that is destroyed by the protagonists. With his army of Death Eaters, he initiates an attack on Hogwarts, to prevent them and are able to destroy the last Horcrux. Harry, knowing his anger, struggles to find and destroy them in time, and finally have the final showdown with his nemesis. With the battle taking place in school, Yates once again follows the right, not making a final showdown full of explosions in an action whose purpose is just the visual impact, but an epic battle that although, as is the thrill of the moment truly is: a sad and gloomy. The soundtrack by Alexandre Desplat, who repeats the good work of the previous film, highlights this issue. In the technical issues, the film is not anything to duty. On the contrary. The treatment of visual effects, the aforementioned soundtrack, photography of Eduardo Serra, who also repeats his job well, the beautiful art direction and makeup too, providing a great result to the elves, and also in the epilogue, making a characterization of compelling characters. All this in a high standard of quality. The performances don't deserve any least attention. The saga has always been privileged to have an amazing cast, and now it's all about the movie where they are in the spotlight. Daniel Radcliffe has his best time and leads admirably. Rupert Grint and Emma Watson are also more than worthy of recognition. Matthew Lewis has a good time favored by a more mature Neville. Alan Rickman, but doesn't appear too long, the scene offers a spectacle of the memories of his character. Ralph Fiennes Voldemort embodies a violent rage and consumed by fear. Helena Bonham Carter is also present as Bellatrix Lestrange insane, having featured in the comic scene of the invasion of Gringotts Bank. Also noteworthy is the actress Maggie Smith, with her surprising role of Professor Minerva McGonnagall, leading the defense of Hogwarts. It is gratifying to see the set of all such work carried out with competence resulting in something so admirable, that perhaps only small by not giving proper emotion in some of the killings, where beloved characters go, and also to explain some details left out that possibly confused a bit by those who didn't read the books. That won't be very harmful, but care about those details could be higher. However, the successes speak much louder, but contribute to the deserved outcome of this phenomenon that marked the many and surely will continue checking, because even with the sad farewell, the saga is not dead, nor die in the hearts and memories of thousands. Expand
  99. Jul 16, 2011
    10
    "Absolutely brilliant," said Ron, and I say that about the movie and every previous movie! What a ride it has been growing up with the movies, starting when I was 6 and ending as I am 15. When I hadn't seen the movie, I couldn't possible have imagined a childhood with Harry Potter, and now, 10 years later I cannot imagine what it would have been like without him. I'd like to thank everyone, who helped every HP book come to life, EVERYONE! Also, don't think I'm forgetting Jane K. Rowling - the person responsible for this epic saga's creating. I am forever grateful to her for that. I give this movie 10 points, without doubt, but with also great sadness about the saga coming to an end. I understand it had to have ended some time, but still, I am pretty emotional. Like I did a marathon of 7 HP movies before going to the cinema to watch DH2, I would like to to in the future. I suggest you do the same :). Good luck to everyone in their future endeavours, whom I also thanked, and I will most certainly miss the characters! Expand
  100. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the best finale possible of this saga.. The most incredible creative in fiction and fantasy of all the time.
    I'm a fan, I confess, and despite the last movies didn't come to the level that I was expecting (because the books are MUCH better), I have to admit that this movie achieved an excellent level of quality. From the first to the last minute it was simply stunning, beautiful, touching, intense and breathtaking..
    Expand
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 41
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 41
  3. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jul 18, 2011
    80
    When the movie was over, a young boy sitting behind me said, "That was great!" He was satisfied, and rightly so.
  2. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Jul 14, 2011
    83
    The excellent news is that Yates and company took their time adding visual depth to the film -- they shot it as 3-D -- and the result feels immediate and real and not at all slathered-on.
  3. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Jul 14, 2011
    100
    The epic and impassioned close that the saga deserves, a sweeping Wagnerian finish that's taut with suspense and wet with emotion.