Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 15, 2011
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1524 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,280
Mixed:
119
Negative:
125
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
SradJul 15, 2011
I am convinced that the critics who have raved about this movie and have given it such positive reviews haven't actually read the books. This movie diverges from the actual book way more than I could appreciate as a HP fan. The HogwartsI am convinced that the critics who have raved about this movie and have given it such positive reviews haven't actually read the books. This movie diverges from the actual book way more than I could appreciate as a HP fan. The Hogwarts battle scenes seem to be the director's own version of the events rather than a recreation of the book (if you've seen the trailers, you would have suspected as much). Unfortunately, while the first four movies brilliantly followed the books (given the time constraints of a movie), ever since director David Yates got involved, the movies have moved away from the books (Half Blood Prince being a great example of Yates doing his own thing). Deathly Hallows 2 in my view does an even poorer job of visually recreating the book than Half Blood Prince did. In summary a most disappointing end to the Harry Potter years Expand
20 of 104 users found this helpful2084
All this user's reviews
0
starwooowMar 8, 2015
very bad film. seriously every element from this film are chessy except music score. it just doesn't deserve got high rating. the effects battle really totally trash if you compare with some movie has great visual such as star wars or thevery bad film. seriously every element from this film are chessy except music score. it just doesn't deserve got high rating. the effects battle really totally trash if you compare with some movie has great visual such as star wars or the lord of the rings. only one character have a good acting, that is Alan Rickman the rest not. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
LOTRfanMar 13, 2015
Pretty dissapointed conclusion to end mediocre sagas of all time. Yes all harry potter films are mediocre and so bad adaptation. I love fantasy and sci-fi film but what's this ? I really hope the battle are more bigger and spectacular butPretty dissapointed conclusion to end mediocre sagas of all time. Yes all harry potter films are mediocre and so bad adaptation. I love fantasy and sci-fi film but what's this ? I really hope the battle are more bigger and spectacular but that's only dream. I more prefer read the book than watching this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
crovieliciousMar 13, 2015
I absolutely hated this film. To be fair i like fantasy and sci-fi film but this is not fantasy film this is baby film. The story totally stolen from LOtR. Destroyed horcrux - destroyed the one ring. This rip - off well deserved got ratingI absolutely hated this film. To be fair i like fantasy and sci-fi film but this is not fantasy film this is baby film. The story totally stolen from LOtR. Destroyed horcrux - destroyed the one ring. This rip - off well deserved got rating -10/10 but 0 is the lowest rating. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
Chrislake94Jul 28, 2011
I guarantee MOST of the People who reviewed this as 10 have never read the Book at all or have any idea what it could of been like. Most of Scenes have changed, I can understand cutting out scenes but changing loads of them is wrong. It wasI guarantee MOST of the People who reviewed this as 10 have never read the Book at all or have any idea what it could of been like. Most of Scenes have changed, I can understand cutting out scenes but changing loads of them is wrong. It was rather about special effects than acting, which was terrible and rushed. Just because it is the last film DOESN'T mean it's the best. Disliking my comment won't change the fact, in fact it proves to me. People who say the Book doesn't matter is stupid. It had more heart. I'm not expecting it to be exactly like the Book but I didn't expect to be this bad. To all Harry Potter Fans who haven't read the book or Books, don't call yourself a true fan because your missing 3/4 of the information on each Character, whether it's important or interesting. People were going to give this a high review, mainly because it was the last Harry Potter Film. If you haven't read the Book, you instantly lose your credibility. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
0
andreekaMar 6, 2015
probably the second worst film ever made. the battle of hogwarts is extremely dull, the visual is so chessy in 2011 plus the duel between harry vs voldemort are pretty dissapoinment. i walked out from cinema before this movie end
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
2
ItsukkiAug 3, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The whole movie is like a short summary of the book, it was empty story, there is so much things it doesn't explain and others that just where changed, even Voldemort die different from the book, there is parts that were just removed from the history, vital parts of the plot necessary for a good understanding. I think it was just a show of special effects that I should say where really good but I prefer a ugly movie with a good plot before pretty movie without one. Also I think the movie is a shame for those who read the book, and even more for those who donâ Expand
14 of 39 users found this helpful1425
All this user's reviews
3
THE_GodfatherJul 31, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I sometimes wonder what this movie franchise would be like if the books didnt exist. Personally i think the franchise would have extremely low box office scores. A majority of the fanbase are young teens who are obsessed with the books and who have very bad taste in movies. With having said that this movie is clearly just a pop phenomenon which includes horrendous acting, poor screenplay, and terrible directing. David Yates seems to only high-lite the action sequences and skips through the dialogue and story telling. I really dont know where Yates got the idea of changing the film to action flik. I always associated the books with action/adventure or myster/Adventure. Clearly leanign toward and adventure. And i dont feel like the movies represent an adventure, rather a trio of teenage wizards who seem to always know what to do. There is absolutely no build up to anything they do. For example: "Hey, we need to break into Gringots bank" (the most difficult bank to break into and considered impossible) "OKay, well give me the sword and i will help you" (Scene cuts) Hermione suddenly changes into Bellatrix and Ron has make up on? I would be utterly confused if i hadnt read the book. The movie fails to explain anything that the trio does. Cut back to part 1 of dh7. "Hey! we need to break into the ministry" (keep in mind that Harry is the most wanted person in Britiain) "Okay" cut scene, the 3 are outside in london knocking out 3 random people who could be normal muggles. but miraculously they happen to be wizards! I mean for godsakes David Yates, build up the **** scenes before jumping into them. I can piece together each scene because ive read the books and i understand, but there were so many other scenes in these movies that are just like that. But, hell who am i right? Expand
5 of 15 users found this helpful510
All this user's reviews
0
JosetteDCollinsJul 21, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Can you say "expectation greater than realization"? Everything is there from a great story of intrigue, danger, love, hate, friendship, families,betrayal, life and death. Then add some of the greatest stage and screen actors around. All this should have been fodder enough for the most thrilling roller-coaster ride of the Harry Potter series of movies EVER! But what did we get? A movie that was as yawning and emotionally void as a teaspoon. Sure, the pyrotechnics and special effects were A+ but what happened to the roller coaster of emotion and tension, happiness of reunited families then sudden death and unhappiness? Percy's reunion with his family to join the fight would have been well worth an added five minutes to the length of the movie. Here is the up ride of the coaster in one second to joy, happiness and forgiveness and as suddenly as Percy is back, Fred is killed! Down goes the roller coaster screaming to despair, out come the tears horizontally!

Another great scene that went missing was MacGonagall giving Slughorn the basic "grow some b.lls and fight or get out of the way". A simple rousing speech by her, at this point, to rally the troops to fight would have had the audience cheering and the students' blood boiling to save their beloved Hogwarts! But no, the fight begins with a "send Slytherin to the dungeons!'. Seriously, that was no battle cry!

Once the battle started, there were few students and others to be seen actually fighting. The movie could have added another five minutes to focus in on a fight here or a death there. Even the great battle from the book (many were waiting to hear the 'B" word) between Molly Weasley and Bellatrix Lestrange would have sent the coaster car careening up to the top of the ride before crashing down with Bellatrix's death (which by the way was more of a whimper than the fabulous death scene it could have been - slow motion added here would have further crossed the T on her death!).
A few other things could have greatly enhanced this movie: Voldemort actually dying in front of the whole school, Hagrid and Grawp fighting outside the castle and then Hagrid getting carried away by the spiders, and Neville and others carrying dead students back to the Great Hall. Just some simple touches of what made the book great would have made this movie stellar. Yes, the scene with Snape's tears going into the vial then into the panseive was fabulous. I sobbed when he held Lily and thought my heart would break at this truly touching and fabulously added scene. Added scenes would have had the audience on the edge of their seats one moment and blubbering into their popcorn the next. Making this picture longer and not jumping so quickly from scene to scene would have allowed the audience to savor this this truly final film in this fabulous series. What's wrong with a three hour movie for 30 million plus fans? Either the WB was looking at the bottom line or those in charge of production were tired and looking at their watches. Finally, the last scene with Harry and company sending their children off to Hogwarts 19 years later. The music as lovely and teary, but what happened to Ron being funny or Harry being stared at? More lost opportunity. And the roller coast limps to the end of the ride. So sorry, but this could have been the big, giant "O" in the HP series and I am very sad it did not live up to the wonderful book and my high expectations.
Expand
4 of 12 users found this helpful48
All this user's reviews
3
cabluigiAug 12, 2011
I entered the cinema with high hopes, that despite the lacklustre efforts of the previous three films, the Harry Potter series would end with a bang. As it happens, this last offering was the most disappointing. One feels as though the actorsI entered the cinema with high hopes, that despite the lacklustre efforts of the previous three films, the Harry Potter series would end with a bang. As it happens, this last offering was the most disappointing. One feels as though the actors and the directors are just going through the motions, in the knowledge that with a few special effects here, a few clichés there, the film will almost certainly become a blockbuster hit, smashing records worldwide. The overwhelmingly positive reviews baffle me. The acting wasn't all that bad, don't get me wrong, but the problem at the end of the day was that in the rush to get through the vast plot, we barely got to see the best of any of these talented young actors. There was a distinct lack of speech from any of the characters, and although seven films had preceded it, I did not feel that there was even a tenth of the character development that had made the book so enlightening. A damp squib of a finale. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
0
marian1233321Aug 9, 2011
Boring!!
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
1
csw12Mar 25, 2012
An absolute extreme disappoinment to end the Harry Potter franchise. Poor acting, stupid battle sequences, terrible music, deatils completly left out and ending that will go down as the worst ending ever made for a movie. How can Yates leaveAn absolute extreme disappoinment to end the Harry Potter franchise. Poor acting, stupid battle sequences, terrible music, deatils completly left out and ending that will go down as the worst ending ever made for a movie. How can Yates leave out such key relationships at the end. Does he understand anything about the relationships of the characters. David Yates will not only go down as the director that totally screwed up Harry Potter but as one of the worst directors of the 21th century. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
killingspreeAug 28, 2011
The movie is nothing like the book. Don't waste your time or money watching this crap. Bad acting, generic effects, and a dumbed down story.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
2
CRLJul 28, 2011
Overrated doesn't even begin to describe how terrible this movie was. I went into that theater about a week late, after my friends had raved about how spectacular it was. I expected a masterpiece. When I came out, I said "this is it?"Overrated doesn't even begin to describe how terrible this movie was. I went into that theater about a week late, after my friends had raved about how spectacular it was. I expected a masterpiece. When I came out, I said "this is it?" David Yates, after making his masterpiece in Part I, reverted back to what he'd been in Half-Blood Prince and chopped away half of the book, the result being a movie that reached a climax twenty minutes in and seemed to want to hold it for its entire running time. Everything about this film seemed rushed and abrupt, as if each scene was cut until there was almost nothing left. It jolts from one place to another, one climax to another, as if it has a dinner date that it has to keep and needs to finish as quickly as possible. Sadly, all of that overshadows what should be an Oscar-winning performance by Alan Rickman, and leaves you with a film that could have been so much more if it had just paid attention to detail and kept a little more to the source. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
3
AndrewJAug 11, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There are two reasons to watch the final installation of the Harry Potter movies: the Battle of Hogwarts and the final duel between Harry and Voldemort. The battle was alright. I expected more, thought they'd come up with some really innovative effects or cinematography, but it was pretty good regardless. The reason I give the Deathly Hallows Pt. 2 such a low score is because it absolutely RUINED the Harry-Voldemort duel. In the book, this scene derives all its drama from the fact that it happens in front of a packed Great Hall, where all eyes are on the two main characters fighting for their lives. Not so in the movie. Also, what was with Voldemort crumbling away like a vampire exposed to sunlight? It's so important that he die like a normal human, to illustrate the point that he *wasn't* some kind of god-like evil force, but just an evil man. This film screwed that up, too. Bad, bad, bad. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
1
emdashmAug 27, 2011
At least I feel a sense of closure. Just kidding, this friend owes me 2 hours of my life back. Plus interest. Really,? 150 characters? Because I just spent 10 seconds of my life bringing down the overall user score here, metacritic. C'mon.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
CruetJul 27, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Neville should have killed Nagini in front of Voldemort :( Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
3
gromitSep 29, 2011
On Holidays and yesterday I finally got a chance to see part 2. I think the fact I fell asleep in a cinema for the first time ever pretty well sums it up for me, this movie would be great for insomniacs.
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
1
Trev29Mar 26, 2012
A total disgrace to the books as well as the rest of the film franchise. It was like 10 years of memories where kicked to the curb and shot by Nazi's. I can not even get into the details of what was so painfully awful with this film. I reallyA total disgrace to the books as well as the rest of the film franchise. It was like 10 years of memories where kicked to the curb and shot by Nazi's. I can not even get into the details of what was so painfully awful with this film. I really do not understand how so many can actually say this was a great ending. This was about as big smelly piece of trash. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
2
mburleyJul 15, 2011
This movie wasn't good. Daniel Radcliffe is probably the worst screen actor of all time, to the point where it's actually painful to watch. And the liberties that were taken with details from the book just boggle my mind. Little detailsThis movie wasn't good. Daniel Radcliffe is probably the worst screen actor of all time, to the point where it's actually painful to watch. And the liberties that were taken with details from the book just boggle my mind. Little details from the book that would easily translate into a movie were changed or removed. WHY? Why do people blindly love this movie so much? It doesn't make any sense to me. Expand
7 of 43 users found this helpful736
All this user's reviews
3
DenebKaitosJul 15, 2011
I admit it, I have not read the books. With that said, the movies should stand on their own. None of them have, and this one is no different. There is so much wrong with the movie it is difficult to know where to start. So I won't. I will sayI admit it, I have not read the books. With that said, the movies should stand on their own. None of them have, and this one is no different. There is so much wrong with the movie it is difficult to know where to start. So I won't. I will say that parts seemed lifted from the Phantom Menace, Star Wars film, and that is not a good thing. Expand
4 of 26 users found this helpful422
All this user's reviews
2
IshmaelJul 23, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie didn't need to exist. I'm not going to say that it was not a good idea to make the movie from a financial standpoint as it has sold extremely well, but from a logical perspective it does seem pointless. A book that in itself should only be read by fan-girls that was divided into two parts; the first which has the character running around like chickens with their heads cut off for two hours and the second based around one short battle. This movie could have been reduced to a twenty minute battle without the attempt at an existential crisis and a lot of standing around. I don't blame the producers as anything they seem to put out will sell like hotcakes so it only makes sense to pull this out to two movies, but doesn't mean you should. I'm not a fan of J.K Rowling's writing. As her audience got older with each of her novels she attempted to grow the series with them. This, in my view, failed because she does not have the skills to write anything other than children's novels or how to properly end a series. Keeping this in mind the movie didn't really have a chance to be a good movie, although the ending was better. It probably wasn't possible to get worse as the final battle between Harry and Voldemort lasted longer than one spell. The epilogue bothered me to no end. I was hoping they wouldn't include it as it wraps the book up like a preschooler's picture book. This along with what was seemingly 15 cents as a budget just made it that much worse. To wrap things up, this movie was terrible and didn't need to happen. Expand
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
1
CapnRonJul 27, 2011
Frankly, it was boring!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
0
AlexanderO8Jul 24, 2011
This Movie is **** **** it is **** retarded, **** this movie !!! The last 3 Harry Potters were **** **** the Director **** sucks !!!
1 of 10 users found this helpful19
All this user's reviews
0
yamjeffJul 19, 2011
Accidentally submitted my bad review with a 10 rating. Put in a 0 to even it out. I wanted to rate a 5. And meta critic doesn't allow you to edit, delete or undo your reviews. Below was my previous review:

This movie going experience once
Accidentally submitted my bad review with a 10 rating. Put in a 0 to even it out. I wanted to rate a 5. And meta critic doesn't allow you to edit, delete or undo your reviews. Below was my previous review:

This movie going experience once again proves my belief that happiness has a high correlation to expectations. Usually, I go into the Harry Potter movies having low expectations: they are, to me, visual companions to my favorite books. Therefore, I usually enjoy them and come out a happy camper even when I go with my girlfriend (and now my wife *gasp*) who tries to damper the viewing (she never read the books and isn't quite a fantasy fan). I never blamed her disinterest in the movies. I just choose to turn a blind eye. I am just glad that they put in the money and effort to translate all the books into blockbuster movies which is quite an undertaking if you think about it. Movies seldom, if ever, exceed the quality of their book counterparts. Even so, the early reviews here raised my expectations for this last HP movie - so much that I was giddy as a school boy up to the moments the movie started. Even the brief and unsatisfying preview of The Dark Knight rises didn't damper my mood. I went in expecting at least similar quality to what I thought has been so far the best movie adaptation in the series (Prisoner of Azkaban). That was a bad mistake. The movie tried to be a joyride of visuals and action and little attention was paid to the character developments. It was a wrap-up of sorts. One can even surmise that that was the original intention. The entire movie felt like the last 20 minutes of every new Transformers movie. Lots of action and hair-raising awkward, too-happy-to-be-true moments of closure. They might as well have ended it with a group dance a la Megamind or Happy Feet or Despicable Me. I hope they re-do this series and hire Christopher Nolan or a real director in 10 or so years. Hopefully by then, I would have washed away all my memories of all the HP movies I've seen to date. I will be re-reading the HP novels starting now and hopefully it can undo my mind/eye/ear's betrayal of the written word for the past 10 years. In sum, if you go watch it, go with a low expectation.
Expand
1 of 13 users found this helpful112
All this user's reviews
0
KrazyFoxSep 29, 2011
As a movie itself, is very bad. As a experience to the fans may be something... nice, just to put an end to the saga. But the movie itself is very very poor, in comparison to the other movies of the same franchise, is a disaster.As a movie itself, is very bad. As a experience to the fans may be something... nice, just to put an end to the saga. But the movie itself is very very poor, in comparison to the other movies of the same franchise, is a disaster.

Unfortunately this movie is pure half baked fan service, if you want to watch a good movie, don't waste your time.
Expand
1 of 14 users found this helpful113
All this user's reviews
0
patqc86Jul 19, 2011
I have to agree with Xavygravy
This is ridiculously overrated. The first one still remains the best, and it pretty much decreases in quality from there. I would give this a 7, but it needs a 0 to throw off the inaccurate rating.
1 of 16 users found this helpful115
All this user's reviews
2
ManzuJul 19, 2011
Ostentatious ending to a series that has lost its splendor of originality

Story: Now this is where the film falls short the most, paramount importance is given to scenes where cheap romance occurs (retrieval of the basilisk teeth), which
Ostentatious ending to a series that has lost its splendor of originality

Story: Now this is where the film falls short the most, paramount importance is given to scenes where cheap romance occurs (retrieval of the basilisk teeth), which does nothing to enrich the plot, because it has no effect on the overall story, but the filmmaker does not seem o think it is important to explain Harry's "loljks, I wasn't dead", probably assuming that most people have read the book and the others will just say "It was probably magic", but this cannot be too much of a criticism because many of these weak storytelling mechanisms are taken directly from the books. As for the epilogue it seems cheap, gratuitous and completely out of tone with the rest of the film. It feels like it was left there to get a few cheap laughs and to leave the viewer with no uncertainty that Harry does live happily ever after. But most of these criticisms should probably go into a book review, because the source material is as weak as the film itself.

Camera-work and Direction: Average to low standard, especially considering the budget was $250 million. The shots where steady cam was not used only seem out of character with the rest of the film. The sequences where Harry and Voldemort communicate through their psychic connection seem incredibly redundant and have a tendency towards fake experimentalism, which has no motifs and seems to be completely self-indulgent. Under this category falls also the white Kings Cross station, which seems to be an optimistic attempt to form some sort of symbolism, but once again this optimism must go unrewarded. The animations are standard, not adding much to the plot, even when they are mostly visually pleasing.

Acting: The acting in the lead roles seems to be consistent with the rest of the series, even though our familiarity with the characters does not seem to make them more sympathetic. The supporting actors seem mostly relived to be over with this lengthy project and their performances are very weak, which is not saying that they are given enough screen time to give their characters any development.

Sceenplay: Steve Kloves' screenplay seems to be an incomplete work where the adding in of interactions with cute animated creatures through out the film, seem to have importance over the development of the plot. With the fact that his only large job has been in writing the screenplay for the Harry Potter series, his knowledge of the overall story should have aided in tying loose ends, but these remain completely unsolved and seem accentuated with lousy dialogue and lengthily emotionally dry scenes.

Soundtrack: Forgettable rehash of previous successes

Poor ending to the epic (in size not in merit) Harry Potter franchise.
Expand
0 of 8 users found this helpful08
All this user's reviews
1
carlosmacheteJul 19, 2011
a great visual and fantasy drive, the end is just horrible, harry potter is one of the most overlong and **** movie with a great CGI like transformers
0 of 9 users found this helpful09
All this user's reviews
1
k-CJul 31, 2011
I've seen the movie in 3D. a real disappointment. it's was boring..i was looking forward to the movie and as it in 3D, i was expecting a little more excitement,surprises and such even though i have read the book. i actually think that it wasI've seen the movie in 3D. a real disappointment. it's was boring..i was looking forward to the movie and as it in 3D, i was expecting a little more excitement,surprises and such even though i have read the book. i actually think that it was better to watch it in 2D. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews