Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1261 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: In Part 2 of the epic finale, the battle between the good and evil forces of the Wizarding world escalates into an all-out war. The stakes have never been higher and no one is safe. But it is Harry Potter who may be called upon to make the ultimate sacrifice as he draws closer to theIn Part 2 of the epic finale, the battle between the good and evil forces of the Wizarding world escalates into an all-out war. The stakes have never been higher and no one is safe. But it is Harry Potter who may be called upon to make the ultimate sacrifice as he draws closer to the climactic showdown with Lord Voldemort. It all ends here. (Warner Bros. Pictures)
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 41
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 41
  3. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Jul 14, 2011
    100
    The epic and impassioned close that the saga deserves, a sweeping Wagnerian finish that's taut with suspense and wet with emotion.
  2. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Jul 12, 2011
    100
    The final Harry Potter movie, above all others, supplies Radcliffe with the gravitas of not just an epic story come to completion, but some real dramatic heft. Not so bad for a Hogwarts dropout.
  3. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Jul 11, 2011
    91
    The thrilling conclusion to a phenomenal cinematic story 10 years in the telling, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Part 2 is proof that authentic movie excitement is its own form of magic.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jul 13, 2011
    88
    Overall, Part 2 tells a more compelling and emotionally fulfilling tale than the one related in Part 1, although that could be a result of this movie having a conclusion - something its predecessor notably lacked.
  5. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Jul 14, 2011
    83
    The excellent news is that Yates and company took their time adding visual depth to the film -- they shot it as 3-D -- and the result feels immediate and real and not at all slathered-on.
  6. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jul 13, 2011
    80
    It's always hard to predict how a work of art will age over time, but I have the feeling that, like its three young leads, the Harry Potter series will turn out just fine.
  7. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Jul 13, 2011
    63
    The finale to the Harry Potter saga is, like most of the films in the series, a bit of a slog. But it's a generally satisfying slog.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 394
  1. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    Full of adventure and mystery Harry Potter Part 2 tied all the loose ends together very nicely. With some badass special effects thrown in.Full of adventure and mystery Harry Potter Part 2 tied all the loose ends together very nicely. With some badass special effects thrown in. Overall, a must see. BUT with seeing the movies before if never read the books. Expand
  2. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    This was a perfect final installment. Everything from technical achievements to emotion and the surprisingly stellar performances especiallyThis was a perfect final installment. Everything from technical achievements to emotion and the surprisingly stellar performances especially from Fiennes and Rickman. It left me incredibly satisfied coming out of the theater. The perfect ending to an excellent series. Expand
  3. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    My children are 9 and 10. When this all began they were too small to enjoy Potter and I was not a fan. They were not allowed to watch theMy children are 9 and 10. When this all began they were too small to enjoy Potter and I was not a fan. They were not allowed to watch the movies until they read the books. I remember the pride I felt the first time they sat in my lap reading the big potter book to me. Soon enough they both finished the first book and declared they were ready for the movie. There was rhythm as the kids devoured the books and demanded the movies. Their reading out paced the production and have waited with the rest of the world for the movies to come. Something is lost as the series ends. The first big books they ever read, and the first big kid movies they ever watched. The movie is wonderful. The series is wonderful. Watching my children experience both has been a joy of fatherhood. Expand
  4. Dec 22, 2011
    9
    This was an amazing end to a series of (mostly) great movies. Though it may be difficult to watch for some fans of the book (like me) withoutThis was an amazing end to a series of (mostly) great movies. Though it may be difficult to watch for some fans of the book (like me) without being slightly disappointed with all of the things left out of the movies, but it stands very well on its own. The best part of the movie for me were the performances of Alan Rickman as Snape (especially during the scene in the Pensive) and Ralph Fiennes as Voldemort which were both perfect. There were also great visual effects and a beautiful score by Alexandre Desplat though the epilogue was pretty terrible in my opinion. Still, it was a satisfying, and well made conclusion to the phenomenon that my entire generation has grown up reading and loving. Expand
  5. Apr 23, 2015
    8
    At a mere 130 minutes, Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows: Part 2 is the shortest of the eight films in the Harry Potter series. But forAt a mere 130 minutes, Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows: Part 2 is the shortest of the eight films in the Harry Potter series. But for better and worse, it never feels like it. Director David Yates (who helmed the previous three installments of the series as well) and screenwriter Steve Kloves (who scripted all the films except Order Of The Phoenix) start the film exactly where Part 1 left off, and with the same moody, somber, unrushed tone. But what dragged endlessly in Part 1 simply seems appropriate here, as the story gently reabsorbs viewers before taking off. Then Yates and Kloves ramp the action up to manic levels—even including two cartoonishly brash sequences at the Gringotts bank that hearken back to Chris Columbus’ two Potter films—and find ways to draw out the final battle, extending it beyond J.K. Rowling’s original novel.

    At times, that means dipping into surprisingly conventional territory—when Harry Potter (Daniel Radcliffe) and evil wizard Voldemort (Ralph Fiennes) take their long-running battle to a room full of creaky, collapse-prone rope-and-wood bridges, the setting feels contrived and generic, equally suited for a Hitchcock drama, a Western, or a modern thriller. And a lengthy siege scene, while grim and thrilling, seems to borrow equally from Ran and The Two Towers. Mostly, though, Yates and Kloves find the grand scope in Rowling’s book, and mine it for all the excitement and pathos it’s worth.

    Inevitably, it’ll be worth more to devoted fans. As with Yates’ previous Harry Potter films, Hallows Part 2 skips or rushes a lot of explanation, while also trying to stay faithful to the books by getting as much of their incident on the screen as possible. So the storyline sometimes feels like it’s crammed full of barely relevant events, and sometimes feels stretched thin as the characters make vast leaps of intuition to move the story rapidly forward.

    Nonetheless, this is the most epic of the Harry Potter movies, the one that finally dispenses with side-quests and open-ended plotlines and offers up all the final payoffs. That includes satisfying front-and-center roles for too-often-neglected subsidiary actors Alan Rickman, Maggie Smith, and Matthew Lewis, as well as a gratifying variety of grand dramatic moments, executed with commitment and style. From an early sequence where Rickman stands in a high tower, coldly surveying the prison camp that Hogwarts has become to a late-film showdown that finds small comic moments among life-or-death conflict, it operates on an intense yet tonally lofty scale suitable for the final act of a series that’s held the world’s attention for more than a decade. Its principal cast members were hired as cute prepubescents and have grown impressively into their adult roles; with this installment, the series itself completes a similarly protracted and rewarding maturation.
    Expand
  6. Aug 24, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It has been a while since I read the last book (before seeing the last past of "the Deathly Hallows"). That is why I couldn't really recall everything that happened on the pages, and that may or may not have helped while watching this movie.

    There was plenty of action in this movie. However, it seemed the focus teetered and stumbled a bit: especially during the last battle at Hogwarts, many familiar characters were shown, but very briefly at places. That made the movie lose its emotional charge. A lot of the action fast forwarded a lot, not allowing the plot to build itself.

    Until this day I don't quite understand how Harry died and came back - or where he went before coming back. Even while reading the book that was a bit unclear to me. Maybe I just skipped some important clue, I don't know. Another strange thing is Voldemort's final demise. It seemed so easy in the end.

    The acting was okay, but due to the inability to focus on any character or their story, it felt like a wasted effort. Especially "Prince's Tale" that I heard a lot of hype about was just a jumbled cluster of random images from here and there, and I felt very disappointed with it. I had waited such a long time to see Alan Rickman as Snape again, after all, and what we had here was just a glimpse of the greatness he could have produced on screen.

    I noticed a different theme in the beginning - and loved it. I think I'll have to get the soundtrack of this movie.

    A big applause for the poor Gringotts dragon! Very well made, that one.

    All in all not my favorite part in the series. Better than part one of the last movie, but they both have definite faults that keep me from liking them more.
    Expand
  7. Sep 29, 2011
    0
    As a movie itself, is very bad. As a experience to the fans may be something... nice, just to put an end to the saga. But the movie itself isAs a movie itself, is very bad. As a experience to the fans may be something... nice, just to put an end to the saga. But the movie itself is very very poor, in comparison to the other movies of the same franchise, is a disaster.

    Unfortunately this movie is pure half baked fan service, if you want to watch a good movie, don't waste your time.
    Expand

See all 394 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises Image
    Published: August 8, 2012
    Can an ongoing film franchise maintain high quality over many years and multiple movies? This week's new Bourne movie only confirms how hard a task that is, though our rankings of 25 major film franchises shows that it isn't impossible.
  2. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  3. The Best and Worst Movies of 2011

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2011 Image
    Published: January 5, 2012
    Get our final rankings for the past year's best- and worst-reviewed films and see how 2011 compared to previous years.
  4. Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far

    Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far Image
    Published: September 7, 2011
    The summer movie season has officially come to a close, which means that it's time once again to take a look at the quality and financial performance of the films released during the past few months (and the year to date).
  5. Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: April 26, 2011
    Get details and trailers for the 30 biggest films coming out over the next four months. While you're at it, read about the other 80+ movies heading to theaters this summer in our super-sized preview.