Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1275 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: In Part 2 of the epic finale, the battle between the good and evil forces of the Wizarding world escalates into an all-out war. The stakes have never been higher and no one is safe. But it is Harry Potter who may be called upon to make the ultimate sacrifice as he draws closer to theIn Part 2 of the epic finale, the battle between the good and evil forces of the Wizarding world escalates into an all-out war. The stakes have never been higher and no one is safe. But it is Harry Potter who may be called upon to make the ultimate sacrifice as he draws closer to the climactic showdown with Lord Voldemort. It all ends here. (Warner Bros. Pictures)
    Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 41
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 41
  3. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Jul 14, 2011
    100
    The epic and impassioned close that the saga deserves, a sweeping Wagnerian finish that's taut with suspense and wet with emotion.
  2. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Jul 12, 2011
    100
    The final Harry Potter movie, above all others, supplies Radcliffe with the gravitas of not just an epic story come to completion, but some real dramatic heft. Not so bad for a Hogwarts dropout.
  3. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Jul 11, 2011
    91
    The thrilling conclusion to a phenomenal cinematic story 10 years in the telling, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Part 2 is proof that authentic movie excitement is its own form of magic.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jul 13, 2011
    88
    Overall, Part 2 tells a more compelling and emotionally fulfilling tale than the one related in Part 1, although that could be a result of this movie having a conclusion - something its predecessor notably lacked.
  5. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Jul 14, 2011
    83
    The excellent news is that Yates and company took their time adding visual depth to the film -- they shot it as 3-D -- and the result feels immediate and real and not at all slathered-on.
  6. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jul 13, 2011
    80
    It's always hard to predict how a work of art will age over time, but I have the feeling that, like its three young leads, the Harry Potter series will turn out just fine.
  7. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Jul 13, 2011
    63
    The finale to the Harry Potter saga is, like most of the films in the series, a bit of a slog. But it's a generally satisfying slog.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 395
  1. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    Full of adventure and mystery Harry Potter Part 2 tied all the loose ends together very nicely. With some badass special effects thrown in.Full of adventure and mystery Harry Potter Part 2 tied all the loose ends together very nicely. With some badass special effects thrown in. Overall, a must see. BUT with seeing the movies before if never read the books. Expand
  2. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    This was a perfect final installment. Everything from technical achievements to emotion and the surprisingly stellar performances especiallyThis was a perfect final installment. Everything from technical achievements to emotion and the surprisingly stellar performances especially from Fiennes and Rickman. It left me incredibly satisfied coming out of the theater. The perfect ending to an excellent series. Expand
  3. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    My children are 9 and 10. When this all began they were too small to enjoy Potter and I was not a fan. They were not allowed to watch theMy children are 9 and 10. When this all began they were too small to enjoy Potter and I was not a fan. They were not allowed to watch the movies until they read the books. I remember the pride I felt the first time they sat in my lap reading the big potter book to me. Soon enough they both finished the first book and declared they were ready for the movie. There was rhythm as the kids devoured the books and demanded the movies. Their reading out paced the production and have waited with the rest of the world for the movies to come. Something is lost as the series ends. The first big books they ever read, and the first big kid movies they ever watched. The movie is wonderful. The series is wonderful. Watching my children experience both has been a joy of fatherhood. Expand
  4. Dec 15, 2011
    9
    Up until this movie, I've never loved a Harry Potter movie. Throughout the years, they've just been consistent sources of entertainment. IUp until this movie, I've never loved a Harry Potter movie. Throughout the years, they've just been consistent sources of entertainment. I always knew going into a Harry Potter film that I would not be let down, but I also knew that I wouldn't be blown away. But leave it to this series to end on its strongest note yet. This movie is the perfect reward for all of us who have followed the series through both the books and movies. While Part I focused primarily on setting up the story and developing the characters, this one focuses on the payoff. Here, it's basically one action scene after another, and that's okay because we've had enough time to get to know the characters. By this point, you care about the characters, so the focus isn't so much on the spectacular effects as it is the characters that surround it. That's what all summer movies should strive to do, but this summer, only Harry Potter has bothered to do so, and what a treat it is. If you've followed the series, get ready for the most exciting movie of the summer. If you're new to the series, go by Blockbuster and have a Potter marathon. The movies you watch might not be great, but it will all be worth it once you get to this spectacular end. Expand
  5. Aug 25, 2014
    8
    Bringing an extraordinary adventure to a memorable close is no easy feat. The Deathly Hallows is dazzling and, quite possibly, the finest ofBringing an extraordinary adventure to a memorable close is no easy feat. The Deathly Hallows is dazzling and, quite possibly, the finest of all eight films. The conclusion is glorious and heartwarming--everything that we needed it to be. Expand
  6. Jun 26, 2012
    7
    The latest Harry Potter film concludes an epic saga: we're talking about one of the most successful episodes, but that does not appeal toThe latest Harry Potter film concludes an epic saga: we're talking about one of the most successful episodes, but that does not appeal to those who never liked the boy wizard. Not bad, though. Expand
  7. Sep 29, 2011
    0
    As a movie itself, is very bad. As a experience to the fans may be something... nice, just to put an end to the saga. But the movie itself isAs a movie itself, is very bad. As a experience to the fans may be something... nice, just to put an end to the saga. But the movie itself is very very poor, in comparison to the other movies of the same franchise, is a disaster.

    Unfortunately this movie is pure half baked fan service, if you want to watch a good movie, don't waste your time.
    Expand

See all 395 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises Image
    Published: August 8, 2012
    Can an ongoing film franchise maintain high quality over many years and multiple movies? This week's new Bourne movie only confirms how hard a task that is, though our rankings of 25 major film franchises shows that it isn't impossible.
  2. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  3. The Best and Worst Movies of 2011

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2011 Image
    Published: January 5, 2012
    Get our final rankings for the past year's best- and worst-reviewed films and see how 2011 compared to previous years.
  4. Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far

    Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far Image
    Published: September 7, 2011
    The summer movie season has officially come to a close, which means that it's time once again to take a look at the quality and financial performance of the films released during the past few months (and the year to date).
  5. Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: April 26, 2011
    Get details and trailers for the 30 biggest films coming out over the next four months. While you're at it, read about the other 80+ movies heading to theaters this summer in our super-sized preview.