Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1186 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: In Part 2 of the epic finale, the battle between the good and evil forces of the Wizarding world escalates into an all-out war. The stakes have never been higher and no one is safe. But it is Harry Potter who may be called upon to make the ultimate sacrifice as he draws closer to theIn Part 2 of the epic finale, the battle between the good and evil forces of the Wizarding world escalates into an all-out war. The stakes have never been higher and no one is safe. But it is Harry Potter who may be called upon to make the ultimate sacrifice as he draws closer to the climactic showdown with Lord Voldemort. It all ends here. (Warner Bros. Pictures)
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 41
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 41
  3. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Jul 14, 2011
    100
    The epic and impassioned close that the saga deserves, a sweeping Wagnerian finish that's taut with suspense and wet with emotion.
  2. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Jul 12, 2011
    100
    The final Harry Potter movie, above all others, supplies Radcliffe with the gravitas of not just an epic story come to completion, but some real dramatic heft. Not so bad for a Hogwarts dropout.
  3. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Jul 11, 2011
    91
    The thrilling conclusion to a phenomenal cinematic story 10 years in the telling, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Part 2 is proof that authentic movie excitement is its own form of magic.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jul 13, 2011
    88
    Overall, Part 2 tells a more compelling and emotionally fulfilling tale than the one related in Part 1, although that could be a result of this movie having a conclusion - something its predecessor notably lacked.
  5. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Jul 14, 2011
    83
    The excellent news is that Yates and company took their time adding visual depth to the film -- they shot it as 3-D -- and the result feels immediate and real and not at all slathered-on.
  6. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jul 13, 2011
    80
    It's always hard to predict how a work of art will age over time, but I have the feeling that, like its three young leads, the Harry Potter series will turn out just fine.
  7. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Jul 13, 2011
    63
    The finale to the Harry Potter saga is, like most of the films in the series, a bit of a slog. But it's a generally satisfying slog.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 381
  1. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    I am one of the biggest Harry Potter fans I know and I was eagerly awaiting the release of the last movie. I saw it at midnight and it wasI am one of the biggest Harry Potter fans I know and I was eagerly awaiting the release of the last movie. I saw it at midnight and it was really exciting. This movie is perfect in every way for a Potter fan. I don't really care that it is a tad different than the book because movies are movies and books are books and they should be judged as their own individual works. When the movie was over, I was sadder than I ever was at a movie theater because of how perfect the movie was. Everything about it was perfect. Expand
  2. Sep 23, 2011
    10
    This is the last and the must exiting movie in the world
    I´ll buy the movie in blu ray 3D for see every day. The bad is is very
    This is the last and the must exiting movie in the world
    I´ll buy the movie in blu ray 3D for see every day. The bad is is very short, i wanted must longest the seven movies, like a 3 hours, but Idont care, I saw the movie, I enjoyed, more fun, more action, and more drama, i think it will win the oscar to the best movie in the year.
    Bye
    Expand
  3. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    My children are 9 and 10. When this all began they were too small to enjoy Potter and I was not a fan. They were not allowed to watch theMy children are 9 and 10. When this all began they were too small to enjoy Potter and I was not a fan. They were not allowed to watch the movies until they read the books. I remember the pride I felt the first time they sat in my lap reading the big potter book to me. Soon enough they both finished the first book and declared they were ready for the movie. There was rhythm as the kids devoured the books and demanded the movies. Their reading out paced the production and have waited with the rest of the world for the movies to come. Something is lost as the series ends. The first big books they ever read, and the first big kid movies they ever watched. The movie is wonderful. The series is wonderful. Watching my children experience both has been a joy of fatherhood. Expand
  4. Mar 26, 2012
    9
    The visuals and battle scenes are done well, like you would expect from a Harry Potter film or a grand epic. The movie itself felt like anThe visuals and battle scenes are done well, like you would expect from a Harry Potter film or a grand epic. The movie itself felt like an epic, where battles were going on left and right, body counts were more than expected. However, I wish they had spent more time with some of the more major characters that lost their lives for Harry. They kind of just moved on after mourning for about 2 seconds. But donâ Expand
  5. Jul 20, 2011
    8
    A very fitting end for the up and down series of films. Where Part 1 was plodding and more than a little slow, this movie is non-stop action.A very fitting end for the up and down series of films. Where Part 1 was plodding and more than a little slow, this movie is non-stop action. Maybe even too much so. It is well acted and shot. It was nice to see a number of the characters from past movies back in the fold. The action is fast paced and fun to watch. But the end was a bit contrived and unnecessary. This is a good film, but I am shocked by the 10 ratings, Expand
  6. Jul 17, 2011
    7
    We'll, 7.5 movies later, we finally reach the end. After the somewhat terrible pacing and decision making that went in to Deathly Hallows PartWe'll, 7.5 movies later, we finally reach the end. After the somewhat terrible pacing and decision making that went in to Deathly Hallows Part 1 (Harry goes Camping), this final film is many steps up from that. Its hard to keep epic pacing up with so many movies over so many years, and I don't think they ever really had that down (Harry Potter movies never seem to be at the level of Star Wars, or Lord of the Rings), but they still managed to get a good solid --almost epic-- film at the end. Definitely worth seeing this on the big screen (not sure it's worth 3D though). Expand
  7. Jul 19, 2011
    0
    Accidentally submitted my bad review with a 10 rating. Put in a 0 to even it out. I wanted to rate a 5. And meta critic doesn't allow you toAccidentally submitted my bad review with a 10 rating. Put in a 0 to even it out. I wanted to rate a 5. And meta critic doesn't allow you to edit, delete or undo your reviews. Below was my previous review:

    This movie going experience once again proves my belief that happiness has a high correlation to expectations. Usually, I go into the Harry Potter movies having low expectations: they are, to me, visual companions to my favorite books. Therefore, I usually enjoy them and come out a happy camper even when I go with my girlfriend (and now my wife *gasp*) who tries to damper the viewing (she never read the books and isn't quite a fantasy fan). I never blamed her disinterest in the movies. I just choose to turn a blind eye. I am just glad that they put in the money and effort to translate all the books into blockbuster movies which is quite an undertaking if you think about it. Movies seldom, if ever, exceed the quality of their book counterparts. Even so, the early reviews here raised my expectations for this last HP movie - so much that I was giddy as a school boy up to the moments the movie started. Even the brief and unsatisfying preview of The Dark Knight rises didn't damper my mood. I went in expecting at least similar quality to what I thought has been so far the best movie adaptation in the series (Prisoner of Azkaban). That was a bad mistake. The movie tried to be a joyride of visuals and action and little attention was paid to the character developments. It was a wrap-up of sorts. One can even surmise that that was the original intention. The entire movie felt like the last 20 minutes of every new Transformers movie. Lots of action and hair-raising awkward, too-happy-to-be-true moments of closure. They might as well have ended it with a group dance a la Megamind or Happy Feet or Despicable Me. I hope they re-do this series and hire Christopher Nolan or a real director in 10 or so years. Hopefully by then, I would have washed away all my memories of all the HP movies I've seen to date. I will be re-reading the HP novels starting now and hopefully it can undo my mind/eye/ear's betrayal of the written word for the past 10 years. In sum, if you go watch it, go with a low expectation.
    Expand

See all 381 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises Image
    Published: August 8, 2012
    Can an ongoing film franchise maintain high quality over many years and multiple movies? This week's new Bourne movie only confirms how hard a task that is, though our rankings of 25 major film franchises shows that it isn't impossible.
  2. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  3. The Best and Worst Movies of 2011

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2011 Image
    Published: January 5, 2012
    Get our final rankings for the past year's best- and worst-reviewed films and see how 2011 compared to previous years.
  4. Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far

    Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far Image
    Published: September 7, 2011
    The summer movie season has officially come to a close, which means that it's time once again to take a look at the quality and financial performance of the films released during the past few months (and the year to date).
  5. Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: April 26, 2011
    Get details and trailers for the 30 biggest films coming out over the next four months. While you're at it, read about the other 80+ movies heading to theaters this summer in our super-sized preview.