User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 731 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 731

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 16, 2010
    3
    It's hard to comment when so little happened. This entire movie starts with a bang and then quickly turns into a slow, gray sky creeping along the horizon. Dull, lifeless, incredibly depressing and long-drawn out scenes that serve only as filler in an attempt to milk Harry's final and 7th act as much as possible. Rather than being subjected to drawn out landscape scene one after another it'd be nice to see what's going on with the other characters or at Hogwarts. Sure we get some hints through Harry's perspective, but man, I can't recall a movie this long featuring so little plot, dialogue or action. Expand
  2. Nov 19, 2010
    0
    If they had split each of the fourth, fifth, and maybe even sixth books into two movies i would have commended them, for a lot of key scenes and a lot of the plotline of these 2 books was left out of the movies. However, in my opinion, splitting the final book was a big mistake. Reading the seventh book i was nearly bored out of my mind during the first half as Harry, Ron and Hermione spent the entire time on the run, and very few things of interest occurred, which is exactly the same as the movie: extremely dull with very little happening in a large amount of time. While it does seem like a ploy to rob viewers of more money, it should definitely make for a thrilling conclusion, as the best part of the deathly hallows occurs in the 2nd half, at hogwarts. While this film was a huge disappointment, i am looking forward to the 8th and final installment in the harry potter movie franchise. Expand
  3. Nov 27, 2010
    3
    I'm a massive HP fan and didn't like this movie, my friend has never read the books but loved this movie. It's not a film for fans of the book, you'll spend most of the movie disappointed that they skipped over important or interesting scenes from the book, and the portrayal of the story is much different. I didn't like how this movie was set up. Camping scene, Action scene, Camping scene, Action scene........ It doesn't flow and feels jerky. The best thing about this movie is how funny it is in parts, whether on purpose or by accident, there are some truely funny lines! Also, the animation of the deathly hallows story is superb Expand
  4. Nov 19, 2010
    0
    As a person who loved the movie series and books And as a person who knows that a movie and a book are two different Things. This proved to me that money speaks louder than words or film This was the worst movie of maybe all times!!! Just because they have Entertained me in the past with what was a great series in both forms They cannot pawn off this movie even as a movie. Just because of it long Sweeping shots and LOTR type cinematography that did not make the lack of a movie behind In any sense of the word bearable to watch, I could no express the feel I felt as only to say not only wanted my money back, I want my time back For a half move they stretched into what will be two films And Ed Wood film is a masterpiece of film compared to this Dont wasted your life on this insult of Intelligence... Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2010
    2
    This is easily the most boring movie of the year. Choosing to split this movie up into two parts, the first part a murderous crawl, was a horrible idea.

    Words cannot begin to describe how much I hated 'Deathly Hallows.' The movie is wrought with the labor of a convoluted setup without any sort of retribution. It doesn't even feel like a movie. This is one of those rare movies where the
    boredom illicited in my body transforms into crippling excruciating pain. Yes. Pain. This movie caused me physical painful discomfort just watching it.

    First off, the movie is two hours long. Read the title of the movie. Deathly Hallows. PART 1. It has taken this studio two hours to tell only THE FIRST HALF of a single book. You may say it's to compensate for all the detail and character development that was packed into it. But that argument is complete and utter nonsense, and anybody who dares use it KNOWS IT. This movie wasn't long for all the plot. I was sitting there BEGGING for plot to be bombarding me. No, anybody who uses that cop-out is lying to you. Lying!

    I am not kidding, the characters spend 75% of the film time walking. Walking! And VERY SLOWLY! Not talking, not progressing the plot, just walking through the woods. I'm betting some publisher intervention materialized somewhere down the book's authoring, because J.K. Rawling's original title was probably "Harry and Friends go Camping." You can tell they were trying to stretch this one out to make it seem longer; like they wanted to give it a three hour viewing time so the casual onlooker would think it was a phalanx of constant plot development. You'd think it! It would make total sense going into the movie!

    But this movie ripped me off!

    It wasn't that case at all. If they cut out all the empty staring into outer freaking space, the dreadfully exasperated pauses between lines of dialogue, and walking sequences at zombie speeds, this movie would have been just shy of an hour.

    Do it right. Just read the book.
    Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2010
    1
    A truly insulting affair by all accounts, a blatant money grabbing effort intent on exploiting the massive fan base for every last penny it can wrangle. Disjointed, tedious, misplaced innuendo and titillation and a barrage of location placement make for two hours of unadulterated misery. Any hint of malevolence suggested in the opening scene is absorbed into the prevailing drabness of the visuals and repetitive 'jump at screen' climax of the action sequences. Daniel Radcliffe delivers another solid wood performance as the worlds most uninspiring and useless hero, leaving the viewer devoid of emotional contact to the point of just not caring, if you really want to experience pain for the chap you should view his rendition of the elements song on youtube. Expand
  7. Jan 21, 2012
    3
    You guys are crazy. This movie was boring as hell it was just a simple chase film and there were so many boring and stupid moments I hated this film for being a chase film. They should've just combined part 1 and part 2 and create a 3hr masterpiece but no, they splited it 2 movies you were forced to watch both movies to understand the story rofl nice job marketers.
  8. Jul 8, 2011
    1
    This movie is very very stupid i realy hate myself of spending 2 hours of my life watching it and i dont know how it got such a hight score here because harry al he does in this movie is shoot a couple of spels ( of course he misses) and when he meets lord vol... they just fire a laser one at other what kind of face off is that ? how could some people think tha this movie is good
  9. Dec 18, 2010
    3
    I.m not by any means a huge fan of the HP series, but I have reluctantly watched the movies. But this movie was generally pointless. I do not mean the plot but it was alot of wizzing around from one location to another for 2.5hrs, to have the critical point of the movie dwindled down to a 30 minute explanation and some dark music. I honestly think they should have made a 3hr or 3.5hr movie and have everything in there. I think you can give this one a miss, watch it at home and watch part 2 at the theatre. Expand
  10. Nov 20, 2010
    4
    This movie was disappointing. I had hoped it would be more entertaining but, the whole camping trip for 60% of the movie bored the life out of me. I must say that the way they filmed it such as how amazing the lighting is, and also filming alot of it on location instead of all green screen. But bottom line I hope the next one is better
  11. Nov 25, 2010
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Walking, camping, angst... mix and repeat. The first half of the book was boring too. All I could think at the end of the film was two and a half hours and all they did was find one damn horcrux. The I guess part 2 will be, as they say in the biz, "action packed." Expand
  12. Feb 2, 2011
    4
    They should have called this movie Harry Potter and the Camping Hallows! What a waste of our money to split up the book into a camping trip and then an action packed part two. The camping portion could have been a 10-15 minute section, not a 1 hour affair. I did enjoy how the three struggled through this darkness, but this wasn't worthy of a part one. It is almost as bad as retrofitting a movie for 3D and charging as much as they did for Clash of the Titans and all the other failures of 3D. The next debacle will be splitting the short Hobbit book into two movies to gouge us even more. No wonder so many are pirating movies these days. I look forward to seeing the end to the Harry Potter films!!! Expand
  13. Jan 4, 2011
    2
    There's very little to describe about this movie even though it's a 2 and half hour film, because almost nothing happens. The best way to say it: it's a boring waste of time. The movie seemed to drag on forever and after I finished my popcorn (having to be in a line for 1 hour, I finished the popcorn during previews), I was twiddling my thumbs, shoving up caffeine injections, and wondering which came first; the chicken or the egg? Basically Harry goes with Harmonie and Ron out of hogwartz looking for hucruxs while beginning to hate eachother. It's a pathetic adventure, they go around like mopping little dwarfs, and slit their wrists while trying to communicate with each other in whispers. Ron gets a tantrum, and Harry and Harmonie bang eachother, big deal. JK! Anyways, nothing special. Skip the rent and watch paint dry, it will be much more entertaining. Expand
  14. Nov 21, 2010
    0
    By far the worst HP film yet! Way too much exposition. Lets take five minutes to focus on HP getting a hair cut. I guess they spent all of the budget on SPFX, as they clearly could not afford an editor! I could have chopped the film down to 20 minutes, if not less. The last film should have been one part, not two. The idea to ake it two parts was clearly a studio idea to make more money.
  15. Nov 24, 2010
    0
    Watching this film provided me the strongest argument yet in favour of capital punishment. Seriously. David Yates should be booked in for a firing squad at dawn for producing this pile of tripe. Book to film conversions are always touch and go without a production team who love the books. I would guess from this and his previous efforts that Mr Yates finds it a curious coincidence that hes seen a book with the title Harry Potter somewhere as he certainly hasn't read them. As my brother commented- "I thought I had read all the Harry Potter books, but I didn't recognise that one". Add to that his complete and utter failure to understand the relationship between the characters and the crews insistence on sticking with the ridiculous black cloud instead of actually filming fights and its definitely time to fire. Pathetic from start to finish. Expand
  16. Nov 24, 2010
    0
    Worst movie of the year goes to...
    HP6.5
    There is not enough materials and climax to support 2 movies in that book, the result is a dull, boring, torturing, slow death experience.
    Who is the genius who came up with the idea of splitting the final chapter into to 2 books? All the other major movie studios should give him a pension for sinking their biggest rival.
  17. Nov 26, 2010
    1
    I was genuinely bored throughout this entire movie. It was probably the most uneventful film I have ever seen, and seemed to lack any individual plot to make it a stand-alone movie. If you have not read the books, this is not the film for you. I would rather watch slugs race towards a pan of beer.
  18. Nov 27, 2010
    3
    I must start off with saying that this is not a good movie. It is excrutiatingly boring and ends up being just a very, very long camping trip. By the end of the movie nothing is revealed except for a very unimportant character dying. On the bright side it was beautifully shot and the kids have grown to be pretty good actors, especially Rupert Grint (Ron).Although, Harry's character has grown quite boring through the series. Once again, this is not a good movie. Expand
  19. Dec 8, 2010
    4
    this movie has literary no sense of harry potter what so ever this is nothing like any of the other ones this is more concentrated on the main characters personal life as in with who they are crushing on and who they are with and fights that they have over those if you want to see go and see this movie don't go in expecting to see something like the others i'm not saying that this is such a bad thing but i just think that its very different to what we are all use to and differences can be a good thing at times but in this case it isn't. i think that the movie was good with tis intense scenes and drama that all the harry potters have always had. but this has a bit more personal drama and teenage feel to it. Expand
  20. Dec 13, 2010
    3
    I am so thrilled that this author has had a successful movie series, and I eagerly await each one. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part I was unbelievably boring, not scary, not dark, just, well, "hollow". I could barely stay awake. I don't care for cutesy, but the series has lost its basic charm. I didn't even care that much about the fate of our fearless (well, except for one of them) three. You will still want to see the movie, no matter what I say, but I am not excited about Part II and will see it only to wrap it all up. I like closure. Expand
  21. Apr 16, 2011
    2
    Far too slow, there is virtually no action, by far the worst of all the movies on the small bespectacled sorcerer!!! I fell asleep during the movie, hope the next episode will be better.
  22. Dec 29, 2010
    1
    I should have known better when I attempted to read the book a couple years ago. it drug on so painfully slow I had tog give it up about three quarters of the way through. This movie was the same way; so incredibly slow and drawn out, we walked out of the theatre before it was finished. Some of the earlier Harry Potter movies were entertaining but I definitely cannot recommend this one. The sad thing is there will be a Part 2 to this movie, which I will certainly not bother to see. Expand
  23. Apr 28, 2011
    4
    The film does well in setting the stage for the final installment but does little in the way of entertainment. While this is decent storytelling, it fails to get off the ground and therefore just exists much like the characters in the film...they're just sitting around. The effects and performances are nothing new, though the cinematography is once again superb. One of my least favorite of the Potter series. Expand
  24. Jul 31, 2011
    4
    The worst in the series. The only good thing at this movie is the part where Hermione leaves her house, the snake fight and the fight between them. Incredibly dull.
  25. Jun 27, 2011
    0
    terrible movie. what is this thing. why do you watch it. this is terrible. worst movie of my life. the actors are too ugly to watch but they are good at acting. i don't care how the book is like and stuff like that. harry potter just ruins my life.
  26. Jul 18, 2011
    2
    An extremely long film in which barely anything happens, it was, in all honesty a waste of my life. If you are a die-hard harry potter fan yes, you'll probably enjoy, but only knowing that you shouldn't. A poor, poor film designed only to draw out the franchise for maximum profit.
  27. Jul 30, 2011
    3
    If you are not a rabid Harry Potter fan DO NOT WATCH THIS MOVIE. It is depressing and goes nowhere the entire film. There are virtually no defining or exciting scenes in the entire movie. "Oh woe is me I don't know what to do" is fine for part of the movie, not 3/4 of it!
  28. Sep 28, 2011
    0
    By far the most pointless and worst film in the series. Nothing happens apart from in the last 10 minutes. To me this seems like an ellaborate way to make an easy buck off Harry Potter fans without actually making any content that's worthy of their money.
  29. May 19, 2013
    3
    This movie is an absolute waste of time. Nothing happens except you waste more than 2 hours of your life watching complete darkness and hearing nothing. Too many times people are sitting around and doing nothing. Just get to part 2 and stop with this nonsense.
  30. May 21, 2013
    1
    This movie was dreadfully boring and a poor adaptation of the book. This could have been a very unique movie that could have been wonderfully directed with style, but everything fell flat. Hugely disappointing on too many levels.
  31. Jan 8, 2013
    0
    Harry bladder is the most retarded thing to ever be shoved down this worlds throat... I find the episodes of billy and mandy more entertaining; they go to toadblatt's school of sorcery and get divided into house weaslethorpe and gunderstank.. the receptionist, Miss lardbottom and professor moldybutt exemplify just how retarded nigel planter, excuse me, harry bladder, oops, harry potter really is with it's retarded naming system; as if dumbledore wasn't gay enough, his name translated into some non-existent language just for the sake of saying it means something else, means fricken bumblebee; beyond retarded.. it's like a script written for 5 year olds that is over acted and aimed at adults... this review goes for pretty much every harry bladder film out there... plus harry bladder fans are incessantly annoying and stupid Expand
  32. Jun 28, 2013
    0
    Worst movie my eyes have every laid eyes on. I hate this series, and this one explains exactly how bad the rest of them are. Uggg. why do people like this crap.
  33. Jul 27, 2014
    1
    The pacing of this movie is super slow, making the film ultra boring. There is barely any plot in this movie. Nearly 0 action / intense moment. I almost fell asleep when it is about 1 hour. A total waste of time. I expect much much more from this movie. It is very disappointing.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 42
  2. Negative: 3 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Andrea Gronvall
    Dec 8, 2010
    70
    The best portion is an animated story-within-the-story, supervised by Ben Hibon, that recalls Lotte Reiniger's filigreed shadow puppets as it sets the stage for armageddon.
  2. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Dec 8, 2010
    50
    To be fair to Deathly Hallows, the filmmakers have tried hard to fill the proceedings with battles and chases and debilitating curses. Genuine filmmaking excitement, however, is harder to provide.
  3. 50
    I hope that in Part 2, Yates and screenwriter Steve Kloves give Fiennes a better send-off than Dame J.K. did in her less-than-wizardly climactic wandathon. Having made us sit through two and a half hours with no payoff, they'd better not go all Muggle on us. Next time, we want magic, people.