User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 864 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 60 out of 864

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 31, 2012
    6
    It started off great (the Snape meeting with Voldemort scene was perfect and hands down the best scene in the film) and it did have its few moments but I was pretty disapointed with it. I think it was far too sappy and corny for my taste and the first half of the book did a terrible job working out on the big screen.
  2. Nov 22, 2010
    6
    Are you one of those Harry Potter fans who constantly compare each movie to the novel? Then I don't think you would be disappointed by this film as it included all the major events. However if you haven't read every book before you watch this film, good luck trying to understand everything. This movie is only really for the fans of the novels. It doesn't quite make as much sense as theAre you one of those Harry Potter fans who constantly compare each movie to the novel? Then I don't think you would be disappointed by this film as it included all the major events. However if you haven't read every book before you watch this film, good luck trying to understand everything. This movie is only really for the fans of the novels. It doesn't quite make as much sense as the novel and doesn't quite follow the wand lore of the novels, but each event is still there from the beginning 'til the ending point of this film. It is definitly one of the more somber and darker of the series but still altogether entertaining. While it is not the best movie I have ever watched, I recommend it for all Harry Potter fans who have read the books. Expand
  3. j30
    Sep 20, 2011
    5
    The movie feels like a money grab with the slow pacing and contains unfulfilled sequence of events. I know it's part 1, but the film is all tease. I see how the movie is necessary, but to rate this part as a film by itself feels empty.
  4. Dec 30, 2011
    5
    Perhaps the most boring Harry Potter movie ever, if only the book hadn't mentioned the boring parts in the middle. Despite splitting the movie into two parts, it should have merged this one with part 2, eliminate the tedious scenes and maybe create a over 3-hour epic finale as one movie. Even the time setting shouldn't be in months, but should be in days.
  5. Nov 21, 2010
    5
    First up: I am not a HP fan. Never read one of the books, but have seen all of the movies. To me, they've been going downhill. This one puts the three leads on a quest to save Harry and prepare for the ultimate battle, but the complexities of the plot and characters were lost on me. While some of the magic is fun and the first hour is promising, the long periods hiding in the woods slowFirst up: I am not a HP fan. Never read one of the books, but have seen all of the movies. To me, they've been going downhill. This one puts the three leads on a quest to save Harry and prepare for the ultimate battle, but the complexities of the plot and characters were lost on me. While some of the magic is fun and the first hour is promising, the long periods hiding in the woods slow the pace and the personal drama is not compelling. Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2010
    4
    This movie was disappointing. I had hoped it would be more entertaining but, the whole camping trip for 60% of the movie bored the life out of me. I must say that the way they filmed it such as how amazing the lighting is, and also filming alot of it on location instead of all green screen. But bottom line I hope the next one is better
  7. Nov 20, 2010
    5
    It is genuinely difficult to evaluate only half of a movie; How can one fully know what to think of a movie when there is practically no ending? This is the same notion I had after watching Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows Part 1. While some directors (i.e Quentin Tarantino's Kill Bill Series) have succeeded in filming parts by making arguably standalone films, director David YatesIt is genuinely difficult to evaluate only half of a movie; How can one fully know what to think of a movie when there is practically no ending? This is the same notion I had after watching Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows Part 1. While some directors (i.e Quentin Tarantino's Kill Bill Series) have succeeded in filming parts by making arguably standalone films, director David Yates creates a film that seems more of a commercial ploy than a full epic.

    Lets set aside this relevant ramble and actually evaluate the part of The Deathly Hallows that audiences can watch. As you may know, The Deathly Hallows is the seventh and final film of the "generation-defining" series of wizards and magic. In this final film, Harry Potter and his friends, the Order of the Phoenix, attempt to find parts of Voldemort's soul in order to destroy the villain once and for all. From the opening moments of the film, to the screams of the death eaters to the scene where Hermoine is erasing her existence from the Muggle world, it is obvious that the film is the darkest and most mature of the series. From the introductory point where Harry Potter escapes from Voldomort's gang, the film basically focuses on the gang as they travel one place to another searching for the vital "hockruxes".

    Since the film's focus mainly depicts the gang traveling far away from Hogwarts, much of the series's literal and figurative magic is lacking in the film. The film drags on with dreary character development (even though it's the 7th film) and plot exposition rather than the magic that the film is known for. There are some standout scenes, such as the exciting infiltration into the ministry of wizards, that are splendid, but the charm of the entire film is limiting. Moving on to more technical aspects, the beautiful cinematography seen in The Half Blood Prince is obviously absent in this film. There were many shots and environments that really stood out in the prior film, and The Deathly Hallows has a lack of those moments.

    While this review might sound like it is deriving from a snobby and pretentious critic, it is understood that Harry Potter is for the fans. So will the fans enjoy the final conclusion of the film? Yes, The Deathly Hallows stays true to the series. Several moments of the film are exciting, suspenseful, and ultimately entertaining. Although it is dull at points, there is a certain suspense that keeps the audience hanging on for more, and that is where the film exceeds. The exhilaration that is created by some of the standout moments is worth a watch and makes The Deathly Hallows almost the epic it wants to be.

    Overall, if you are willing to pay full price for half of a film, then Deathly Hallows will somewhat deliver. Much of the film is splendid and exciting, while some of the portions seem as if they were just added in order to unnecessarily extend the film (you can say it "stays true to the novel" if you please). It does not match the excellence of last year's Half Blood Prince, but it is still a quality entry for the series. Even though there are some complaints, the Deathly Hallows executes well enough for the audience to come back. Just to repeat my heed of warning, The Deathly Hallows is an incomplete film, primarily only true fans will be fully content with their ticket purchase. The rest will probably feel "jipped" and unsatisfied. Grade: C+q
    Expand
  8. Nov 19, 2010
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film comes as a tremendous disappointment after Half-Blood Prince, which succeeded in turning the least action-oriented Potter book into a compelling film by combining great pacing with the perfect balance of wit, poignancy, and suspense. The pacing of Deathly Hallows: Part I drags due to its slavish faithfulness to the source material. I'm an avid fan of the books, but, realistically, not everything J. K. Rowling wrote can be translated well to the silver screen. There's so many scenes in this film that could have stood to be reduced in length or cut entirely: Bill and Fleur's wedding, Harry and Hermione's visit to Godric's Hollow, the camping, Dobby's death and burial. None of these scenes are integral to the story, and it honestly seems as if the only reason they were included was to pad the film's running time, thereby justifying the split into two parts. We could have had a single tightly-paced three-hour epic, but instead we are being given two halves that can't stand on their own. The combined viewing experience will always be equal to the sum of its parts.

    In addition, some of the performances seem phoned-in, particularly Nighy and Ifans. The whole film is pervaded with a sense of let's-get-this-over-and-done-with. It's a sad conclusion to a series that went nearly a decade without producing a dud.
    Expand
  9. May 20, 2011
    5
    Prisoner of Azkaban is still the only HP film i liked from beginning to end. This one is another average attempt and book->movie conversion. It ssems to me as the cast are going all "twilight". Yes, bad things are happening around them fair enough, but there is still only so much teen angst I can take, and this has far too much. Looking forward to the second part as that looks promising,Prisoner of Azkaban is still the only HP film i liked from beginning to end. This one is another average attempt and book->movie conversion. It ssems to me as the cast are going all "twilight". Yes, bad things are happening around them fair enough, but there is still only so much teen angst I can take, and this has far too much. Looking forward to the second part as that looks promising, but, I won't get my hopes up. Expand
  10. Nov 19, 2010
    5
    I found the movie quite tedious in parts and strung out over all, splitting the story into two movies was unnecessary and was obviously done to rake in the cash on a very successful series.
  11. Dec 18, 2010
    5
    I've never been a fan of these series and i don't know if that changes my opinion, but i did not like it. Except for some funny little jokes here and there, the movie was terrible. The plot simple and uninteresting, the characters were not well developed(except for the sense of humor they all seem to poses) and the graphics were average, not bad, but average. Maybe if i was a fan of theI've never been a fan of these series and i don't know if that changes my opinion, but i did not like it. Except for some funny little jokes here and there, the movie was terrible. The plot simple and uninteresting, the characters were not well developed(except for the sense of humor they all seem to poses) and the graphics were average, not bad, but average. Maybe if i was a fan of the series and knew the whole story, maybe then i would've liked it, but i'm not, and the movie disappointed me. Expand
  12. Feb 2, 2011
    4
    They should have called this movie Harry Potter and the Camping Hallows! What a waste of our money to split up the book into a camping trip and then an action packed part two. The camping portion could have been a 10-15 minute section, not a 1 hour affair. I did enjoy how the three struggled through this darkness, but this wasn't worthy of a part one. It is almost as bad as retrofitting aThey should have called this movie Harry Potter and the Camping Hallows! What a waste of our money to split up the book into a camping trip and then an action packed part two. The camping portion could have been a 10-15 minute section, not a 1 hour affair. I did enjoy how the three struggled through this darkness, but this wasn't worthy of a part one. It is almost as bad as retrofitting a movie for 3D and charging as much as they did for Clash of the Titans and all the other failures of 3D. The next debacle will be splitting the short Hobbit book into two movies to gouge us even more. No wonder so many are pirating movies these days. I look forward to seeing the end to the Harry Potter films!!! Expand
  13. Dec 23, 2010
    6
    Of all the Potter films, this was the most dissappointing for me. I thought the film started great, but the middle of the film is SO boring when they are camping in their tent and going from place to place around the globe to avoid their attackers. The film really slows down at this point. Even so, a mediocre Harry Potter film is still better than the average film out there. I reallyOf all the Potter films, this was the most dissappointing for me. I thought the film started great, but the middle of the film is SO boring when they are camping in their tent and going from place to place around the globe to avoid their attackers. The film really slows down at this point. Even so, a mediocre Harry Potter film is still better than the average film out there. I really missed the Hogwart school in this one. My friend who I went with is a huge Potter fan, and he did not like this film. I liked it better than him, but some of the wonder of the preceding films is missing in this one. Expand
  14. Jan 2, 2011
    5
    I have really enjoyed the HP series (movies and books) but this one was found wanting. The movie was not that bad, but the whole time I was waiting for the cliffhanger, and when it finally showed up it was everything I expected: perfectly placed to make me seriously pissed that they broke it into two movies. The cliffhanger left a bad taste in my mouth despite what had been a prettyI have really enjoyed the HP series (movies and books) but this one was found wanting. The movie was not that bad, but the whole time I was waiting for the cliffhanger, and when it finally showed up it was everything I expected: perfectly placed to make me seriously pissed that they broke it into two movies. The cliffhanger left a bad taste in my mouth despite what had been a pretty decent movie. Expand
  15. Apr 28, 2011
    4
    The film does well in setting the stage for the final installment but does little in the way of entertainment. While this is decent storytelling, it fails to get off the ground and therefore just exists much like the characters in the film...they're just sitting around. The effects and performances are nothing new, though the cinematography is once again superb. One of my least favorite ofThe film does well in setting the stage for the final installment but does little in the way of entertainment. While this is decent storytelling, it fails to get off the ground and therefore just exists much like the characters in the film...they're just sitting around. The effects and performances are nothing new, though the cinematography is once again superb. One of my least favorite of the Potter series. Expand
  16. May 2, 2015
    6
    This movie is clear about one thing: It is part 1 of a 2 part movie that really only needed to be one film.

    While it starts off alright it quickly transitions into one filler scene after another. Most of the scenes could easily have been trimmed down, even cut out all together. While nothing in the movie is bad, allot feels needless padding. Acting is still decent, effects still
    This movie is clear about one thing: It is part 1 of a 2 part movie that really only needed to be one film.

    While it starts off alright it quickly transitions into one filler scene after another. Most of the scenes could easily have been trimmed down, even cut out all together.

    While nothing in the movie is bad, allot feels needless padding. Acting is still decent, effects still great but the plot felt like it was all just build up, with little to no pay off in this move.

    Overall:
    HPatDHpt1 is an obvious cash grab that is needlessly padded out just to justify its existence. Still a good movie though, just a shame it was done this way.
    Expand
  17. Mar 27, 2016
    6
    I have enjoyed the darker tone the Potter franchise is taking. But this movie, because it is two parts, is very slow and honestly boring. I feel there is not much going on and it is just a preview for the next movie, and just Warner Bros collecting cash.
  18. Jun 1, 2016
    6
    I have enjoyed the darker tone the Potter franchise is taking. But this movie, because it is two parts, is very slow and honestly boring. I feel there is not much going on and it is just a preview for the next movie, and just Warner Bros collecting cash.
  19. May 12, 2013
    6
    This is really depressing because I want to say that this was an awesome movie. It’s a great story and the best in the series. The director does a good job of recapping the story getting rid of anything that is not too necessary. However, this is his biggest flaw. Because everything is to the point nothing is really developed because everything that made the book good and created tensionThis is really depressing because I want to say that this was an awesome movie. It’s a great story and the best in the series. The director does a good job of recapping the story getting rid of anything that is not too necessary. However, this is his biggest flaw. Because everything is to the point nothing is really developed because everything that made the book good and created tension isn’t there. Nonetheless, there are some good moments in it but once again they are very brief and don’t last long. In short while Deathly Hallows Part 1 is good movie it suffers because of the very nature of tale it is trying to retell. Expand
  20. Nov 24, 2010
    5
    Overall, Deathly Hallows isn't terrible. If you are a die hard potter fan, then you will love the movie. I'm a moderate fan of the series, and "Hallows" would have been great, if it wasn't for one thing. The movie drags on and on. There is absolutely no reason this had to be made into two movies. They could have cut out the boring stuff and had one great movie, but they didn't. TheOverall, Deathly Hallows isn't terrible. If you are a die hard potter fan, then you will love the movie. I'm a moderate fan of the series, and "Hallows" would have been great, if it wasn't for one thing. The movie drags on and on. There is absolutely no reason this had to be made into two movies. They could have cut out the boring stuff and had one great movie, but they didn't. The characters are roaming around for a large chunk of the movie, not really accomplishing anything. For me, this was a real disappointment. Now, if you don't mind movies dragging on a little too much, then this is for you, because everything else is fine. Acting is good, and the scenes that do have something happening are terrific. But unfortunately the movie is brought down by that one fatal flaw. Expand
  21. Nov 30, 2010
    5
    I'm not sure if I even have the right to comment as this film isn't even in the same universe of what I normally pay to see. However as someone who enjoys films where the point is NOT to turn of your brain and escape but to turn on your brain and enjoy the herculean efforts of fine artists at their peak, I may as well impart an opinion for those of you who were similarly dragged to see itI'm not sure if I even have the right to comment as this film isn't even in the same universe of what I normally pay to see. However as someone who enjoys films where the point is NOT to turn of your brain and escape but to turn on your brain and enjoy the herculean efforts of fine artists at their peak, I may as well impart an opinion for those of you who were similarly dragged to see it (or will be).
    First, It's a kids movie. Don't let adult fans tell you different. If they need an excuse to regress to a child like state, let them have it but don't walk in expecting the 'magic' to work for you. Similarly, don't expect to understand it if you haven't read the book - it doesn't really matter as the plot is just a mish-mash of a dozen things you've seen a dozen times. Many holes you'll see will be glaring and unexplained, while at other points the set up will be so ham handed you'll see the twist coming from well before mesmerized audience surrounding you. Try not to laugh as something so obvious to you causes others to gasp and tear up. Bottom line, it's sometimes cute but mostly dull, uninspired and overlong by about 45 minutes (one movie stretched into two to double the profits - Smart!). If you find yourself nodding, you can try amusing yourself by marking the consistently odd tendency for the 'spells' to be monstrously difficult when doing something easy, yet simple as breathing when attempting the monumental.
    Expand
  22. Nov 20, 2010
    6
    We are huge Harry Potter fans: however, the latest movie has none of the charm of the earlier stories or movies. Gone are the byplay with fellow students & teachers; absent the interesting magic lessons, goodhearted adventures and youthful infatuations. Gone too are the fresh-faced engaging young child actor wizards we came to know and love, replaced now with their own grown-up mediocreWe are huge Harry Potter fans: however, the latest movie has none of the charm of the earlier stories or movies. Gone are the byplay with fellow students & teachers; absent the interesting magic lessons, goodhearted adventures and youthful infatuations. Gone too are the fresh-faced engaging young child actor wizards we came to know and love, replaced now with their own grown-up mediocre adult actor selves... too glum by half, and far less charming, in a story more worthy TV's "The Seeker" than the amazing J. K. Rowling. We will absolutely be there for the final installment of H. Potter the movie... Sadly though, we undoubtedly sorely miss the youthful Harry, Hermione, and Ron... and the lively halls o' Hogwarts, now transformed into barren cold sere rocky heights and damp dingy woods, with many fiends and few friends along its path. We know it's the story, as written, but it makes a glum end to a dazzling series of stories. Expand
  23. Dec 5, 2010
    5
    Yet again they essentially just filmed a bunch of scenes from the book and threw them together without taking a single moment to think about how they interact to form a cohesive movie. And Dan Radcliffe still gurns his way through things and passes it off as acting.
  24. Nov 22, 2010
    6
    I thought in making the movie they would at least cut out the fat from the book that everyone complained of--but no, they decided to keep one of the most glaringly long-winded tangents-- the wondering in the woods saga, rather than any of the more exciting elements--especially regarding Dumbledore.
    I have to say, other than awful pacing, the other pieces of this movie are there. Which
    I thought in making the movie they would at least cut out the fat from the book that everyone complained of--but no, they decided to keep one of the most glaringly long-winded tangents-- the wondering in the woods saga, rather than any of the more exciting elements--especially regarding Dumbledore.
    I have to say, other than awful pacing, the other pieces of this movie are there. Which makes it really frustrating and you feel sort of conned out of a Harry Potter movie. The acting was great, the fx were pretty cool and well timed--the plot elements are there if you look hard enough, yet what they focused on were the most uninteresting parts of the book--and they really focused on them! I hope the last chapter finds it's mojo again.
    Expand
  25. Nov 23, 2010
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This latest installment of the Harry Potter phenomenon didn't live up to the hype. This film had its moments, and I enjoyed its darker, more serious themes, but the majority of the film is just a camping trip without beer. Expand
  26. Nov 23, 2010
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. he beginning of this film is awesome. The acting, directing, and editing are all spot on. The scene in which Harry is supposed to be transported to a safer location than his summer home is hectic and exciting. +1 point for being so great. That actually starts this film off at 11 and rightfully so. But this opening scene unfortunately turns out to be the best part of the film. The camera work in this film is awful. Almost every shot is handheld and not by a steady arm. There are times when the camera is shaking so much that it becomes incredibly difficult to comprehend what exactly is going on. Hold on to your butts, because it gets worse. The camera becomes so obtrusive that it is distracting. A simple dialogue scene does not require all that camera shake. - 1 point. But here's another issue with the film. 85-90% of the film is exposition via dialogue. So much so that it seems that the Director and D.P. were trying anything to make the scene interesting. Dutch angles cutting to flat shots and unmotivated camera moves are only some of the techniques they tried to liven up a scene that would otherwise be 45 minutes of talking heads. I can't blame them too much for that though. That's a script issue and the director was clearly trying to do the best with what he was given. It's enough of an irritation that it deserves - 1 point. Be aware that this movie is long. Too long in my opinion. I would think that part of the benefits of splitting the book up into two films is to help the pacing which has always been an issue with the Potter films so one would hope that pacing would be easier to find. Unfortunately this is not the case. It's not as simple a qualm as with the previous attempts. It would nice if I could simply tell you that the pacing was too slow, but this film never finds a rhythm. It starts off so quick and exciting and then stalls before picking up a little only to stagnate further. The editing has no rhyme or reason and the overall experience is a bit off-putting. - 1 point. Now I will say that the movie was a surprisingly good adaptation of the novel. Dark story elements that I didn't think Warner Bros had the balls to allow were clear and present, even if off-screen. It's not all peaches and cream though. The plot issues and superfluous scenes in the book are also present. In a novel, long scenes of dialogue are interesting and develop the characters, but when translating that to the screen, it comes off as boring and unnecessary. Again, I'm brought back to the fact that a large portion of this film is expository dialogue. Films are a visual art. Show me, don't tell me. - 1 point. A point that I feel inclined to acknowledge is the lack of consistency throughout the whole series. Now that every storyline is coming together, the continuity errors in the visual style and story changes are revealed. For example, the house elves Dobby and Kreacher may as well be different species and their screen time together exposes this. Now it isn't fair to deduct points for this as this film was obligated to use previously established character designs, but I felt it worth pointing out. Another gripe I have is that the film is presumptuous in that it expects that it's audience has read the book. Don't get me wrong, I am an advocate for reading, but I'm surprised that they would alienate anybody who hasn't read the seventh book. Important character development that was ignored in previous films is now all of sudden mentioned in passing one liners. Am I supposed to care? Let's spend some time developing supporting characters. Audiences already know who Harry, Ron, and Hermoine are. Instead of long, drawn out scenes that don't tell us anything, they could have focused on some of the supporting cast that the movie franchise hasn't bothered to introduce us to. The film relies on the readers' love of the characters to transfer to the film. They don't spend any time actually bringing these characters to life. Here's where I feel the line between producing a quality flick and a cash grab is defined. - 1 point. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows part 1(Horrible title by the way. Easily could have been retitled as "I Was a 30 Year Old Harry Potter") is by no means a bad film. It's just regrettably average. It strikes me as no different than the latest Mission Impossible or Fast and Furious movie. It's a means to line someone's pocket with gold while attempting to please a large fanbase. It's an entertaining bit of cinema that could have been better, but certainly could have been worse. The amount of exposition is exhausting, but perhaps part 2 will make it all worth it. Expand
  27. Dec 8, 2010
    4
    this movie has literary no sense of harry potter what so ever this is nothing like any of the other ones this is more concentrated on the main characters personal life as in with who they are crushing on and who they are with and fights that they have over those if you want to see go and see this movie don't go in expecting to see something like the others i'm not saying that this is suchthis movie has literary no sense of harry potter what so ever this is nothing like any of the other ones this is more concentrated on the main characters personal life as in with who they are crushing on and who they are with and fights that they have over those if you want to see go and see this movie don't go in expecting to see something like the others i'm not saying that this is such a bad thing but i just think that its very different to what we are all use to and differences can be a good thing at times but in this case it isn't. i think that the movie was good with tis intense scenes and drama that all the harry potters have always had. but this has a bit more personal drama and teenage feel to it. Expand
  28. Dec 17, 2010
    6
    My expectations were so high ... and the film is not bad, but so disappointing that I have still the doubt I've overrated it (because I'm still a fan of the book and film series). In my opinion they should have made one film for every book, even for the seventh, and there's no excuse to say that it's much longer or thick that the other books.
  29. Dec 21, 2010
    5
    After the all the hype and expectations about the newest addition to the Harry Potter franchise I was quite skeptical before going to see it and yet I was still not pleasantly surprised. The first part of the Deathly Hallows appears to just include a hurried set of events building no real tension in any of the dramatic scenes and instead including a prolonged dull camping trip thatAfter the all the hype and expectations about the newest addition to the Harry Potter franchise I was quite skeptical before going to see it and yet I was still not pleasantly surprised. The first part of the Deathly Hallows appears to just include a hurried set of events building no real tension in any of the dramatic scenes and instead including a prolonged dull camping trip that includes Harry and Hermione dancing and reading. The acting of Daniel Radcliffe was, putting it lightly, uninspiring and really the only real good acting I could see in the main trio was that of Rupert Grint. After being disappointing the most memorable and heart-warming part of the movie was not that of the actual plot but of the story inside the story - the tale of the three brothers portrayed by beautiful animation that was quite sensational. Maybe it's just because I have read the book and I expected something even closer to the actual story written by JK Rowling but still the main feeling I felt coming out of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows was a feeling of mediocrity but still a longing to see the last part to the tale. Expand
  30. Jan 17, 2011
    5
    Deathly Hallows: Part 1, the penultimate film in the HP series is certainly darker than it's predecessors, opting to take a much darker tone than the previous films. Being split into two, this movie already carries the problem of having no real conclusion/closure within itself. Harry Potter as a series is known for it's magic and fantasy settings, all of which were lost within this movie.Deathly Hallows: Part 1, the penultimate film in the HP series is certainly darker than it's predecessors, opting to take a much darker tone than the previous films. Being split into two, this movie already carries the problem of having no real conclusion/closure within itself. Harry Potter as a series is known for it's magic and fantasy settings, all of which were lost within this movie. Taking the darker, supernatural route has stripped this movie of that which made Harry Potter so brilliant. Expand
  31. Apr 8, 2012
    6
    More of the same from the Harry Potter franchise although this movie seemed to indicate a turn towards the dark moody end to the series which was hinted in the Half Blood Prince film.
  32. Apr 29, 2011
    6
    When it comes to Harry Potter, I'm a fan. I like all of the movies in the series, simply because they are able to take all of the major events of the books and squash them into a decent adventure movie. This isn't the worst of the series by far, but it isn't the best. As a film, it's good, but when you have read the book, you instantly notice that some of the major details of the book thatWhen it comes to Harry Potter, I'm a fan. I like all of the movies in the series, simply because they are able to take all of the major events of the books and squash them into a decent adventure movie. This isn't the worst of the series by far, but it isn't the best. As a film, it's good, but when you have read the book, you instantly notice that some of the major details of the book that relate to the plot are only just squashed into the movie, and sometimes they're not even noticeable. Splitting the film into two parts was a good idea, but even that isn't enough to include all the details required to understand the movie. If I hadn't read the book, I would struggle to know what was going on! But as a film, it is quite good. The elements of comedy, action and adventure work well together, and the fact that the whole environment of the film has changed with the absence of school life worked surprisingly well. Detail wise though, it desperately needs to be longer. Expand
  33. Jul 31, 2011
    4
    The worst in the series. The only good thing at this movie is the part where Hermione leaves her house, the snake fight and the fight between them. Incredibly dull.
  34. Aug 24, 2014
    6
    This was the first time I read the book before seeing a Harry Potter film. I am yet to decide whether it worked against me or not, to have that prior experience of the story. I was not sure what to expect, so I didn't expect much (just in case). I wasn't prepared to be this disappointed, however.

    In the book, there are a lot of pages (anyone who has read it or even seen it knows that).
    This was the first time I read the book before seeing a Harry Potter film. I am yet to decide whether it worked against me or not, to have that prior experience of the story. I was not sure what to expect, so I didn't expect much (just in case). I wasn't prepared to be this disappointed, however.

    In the book, there are a lot of pages (anyone who has read it or even seen it knows that). There are also a lot of smaller and bigger events that gradually add to the big picture. Small details that fill the void around the main events. While I found the book dragging and a bit boring at places, I still expected them to make the film do something good with it.

    What happens here is that they set off with zero warning or explanation (having read the book I had some kind of idea of what was going on, but otherwise the events stayed quote hollow if you view the film alone, lacking the emotional impact).

    The film dashes from one scene to the next. People show up, old and new, hear news, move forward, from one place to the next. The characters don't work, the plot is too jerky to really make sense, and I had the feeling that had I not read the book, I would not have had any idea about half the stuff taking place on he screen and what certain comments between characters meant.

    The fighting scenes were very fast and flashy; the camera kept moving, making me almost nauseous. It was hard to tell who they were following, where they were running, and exactly who was shooting spells at whom. Sure, that's realistic, but it's also in the power of a film to step out of that hectic-ness and show us, in outsider's perspective, what is really going on. To enjoy the moment rather than rush through it.

    If the second part of the movie is going to be like this, I'm not going to look forward to it all that much. I feel like they tampered too much with the original so that they could get ahead fast. Sure, fast is good sometimes, if you're dealing multiple storylines, but this felt more like fast-forwarding and dropping out everything that could be dropped, costing some information that seemed rather important in the book and robbing the film of any real emotional charge: the characters had no time to work, and their moods felt unjustified. Angry, sad, joyous... it was hard to follow why exactly each and every one of those emotions took place.

    Not my favorite Potter movie. In fact, this might end up being my least favorite one, simply because they butchered any chance at good story-telling by rushing forward, bringing in ingredients from the book and simply making a mess of it.

    Three stars for the movie looking good and the small moments of stillness that made sense, but... that's about it.
    Expand
  35. Nov 8, 2012
    5
    This Potter, though it has some great moments, is sadly overshadowed by boring stretching and meandering of plot.
  36. Jan 10, 2013
    6
    Slow-moving, but this character driven entry delivers just as much as any great thriller would, although it does feel a bit like the prequel it is. Great performances by Radcliffe and Watson.
  37. Nov 28, 2013
    6
    Cutting the final chapter in two parts made the first one be a little bit without emotion,i'd liked the actuation(just daniel redcliffe that was never so good after all)and it was an good final preparing to the battle.
  38. Nov 17, 2013
    6
    Harry Potter has a seventh crack at success.
    Although not very much excitement or as much entertainment do to this somewhat anti climatic film, it still succeeds with a good story. By splitting the book into two parts the movie ends at an odd cliff hanger that wouldn't have been acceptable with the other films.
  39. Sep 26, 2014
    4
    This movie must be the most boring of the series after the order of the phoenix. Is extremely bored and pathetic. I'm not recommend it or fans of the saga.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 42
  2. Negative: 3 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Andrea Gronvall
    Dec 8, 2010
    70
    The best portion is an animated story-within-the-story, supervised by Ben Hibon, that recalls Lotte Reiniger's filigreed shadow puppets as it sets the stage for armageddon.
  2. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Dec 8, 2010
    50
    To be fair to Deathly Hallows, the filmmakers have tried hard to fill the proceedings with battles and chases and debilitating curses. Genuine filmmaking excitement, however, is harder to provide.
  3. 50
    I hope that in Part 2, Yates and screenwriter Steve Kloves give Fiennes a better send-off than Dame J.K. did in her less-than-wizardly climactic wandathon. Having made us sit through two and a half hours with no payoff, they'd better not go all Muggle on us. Next time, we want magic, people.