Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part I Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 868 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Fantasy Adventure. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, the seventh and final adventure in the Harry Potter film series, is a much-anticipated motion picture event to be told in two full-length parts. Part 1 begins as Harry, Ron and Hermione set out on their perilous mission to track downFantasy Adventure. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, the seventh and final adventure in the Harry Potter film series, is a much-anticipated motion picture event to be told in two full-length parts. Part 1 begins as Harry, Ron and Hermione set out on their perilous mission to track down and destroy the secret to Voldemort's immortality and destruction--the Horcruxes. On their own, without the guidance of their professors or the protection of Professor Dumbledore, the three friends must now rely on one another more than ever. But there are Dark Forces in their midst that threaten to tear them apart. Meanwhile, the wizarding world has become a dangerous place for all enemies of the Dark Lord. The long-feared war has begun and Voldemort's Death Eaters seize control of the Ministry of Magic and even Hogwarts, terrorizing and arresting anyone who might oppose them. But the one prize they still seek is the one most valuable to Voldemort: Harry Potter. The Chosen One has become the hunted one as the Death Eaters search for Harry with orders to bring him to Voldemort...alive. Harry's only hope is to find the Horcruxes before Voldemort finds him. But as he searches for clues, he uncovers an old and almost forgotten tale--the legend of the Deathly Hallows. And if the legend turns out to be true, it could give Voldemort the ultimate power he seeks. Little does Harry know that his future has already been decided by his past when, on that fateful day, he became "the Boy Who Lived." No longer just a boy, Harry Potter is drawing ever closer to the task for which he has been preparing since the day he first stepped into Hogwarts: the ultimate battle with Voldemort. (Warner Bros. Pictures) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 42
  2. Negative: 3 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Dec 8, 2010
    91
    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Part 1 also bravely faces the future, slipping with expert ease among the thrilling mass of complications (and complicated set pieces) that Rowling throws fans in the final sprint, then guiding the faithful to the fate that awaits everyone in this world, the moment called The End.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Dec 8, 2010
    88
    The first third is brisk and witty, the middle third gloomy and the finale of Part 1 not so much a cliffhanger as a grim, inspiring tease, a masterly build-up to put "I can't wait for part 2" on every Muggles' lips.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Dec 8, 2010
    80
    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1 is probably about as good a movie as you can make from just half of a rather complicated book. But then, it's not just a movie but a promise: When Part 2 arrives, next summer, a cloud of desolation is likely to descend upon us.
  4. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Dec 8, 2010
    70
    It's not a bad movie, but it is very much a transitional one.
  5. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    Dec 8, 2010
    70
    Deathly Hallows I actually manages to be involving and kind of artful about the boredom and loneliness of heroism, while sounding a long throbbing drumroll for next summer's grand finale.
  6. Reviewed by: Nick de Semlyen
    Dec 8, 2010
    60
    The first and third acts are over-busy; the middle one moves like an arthritic house-elf. Still, a decent smattering of magic moments and tension's pumped up sky-high. Bring on Part 2.
  7. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Dec 8, 2010
    25
    This one is a long, archetypal journey that screeches to a halt a few stops short of its destination.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 254
  1. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    By far the best film of the franchise, and the darkest in tone. Long gone is the light, cheerful score of John Williams, being replaced byBy far the best film of the franchise, and the darkest in tone. Long gone is the light, cheerful score of John Williams, being replaced by Alexandre Desplat's haunting adult, haunting score. Basically all the characters and the spells has been layed out in the six previous movies and The Deathly Hallows straight away picks up where it left off in The Half-Blood Prince. To be honest, when I heard that the movie was going to be two and a half hours I was really worried that it'll drag on and on, but not suprisingly David Yates proved me wrong. I thoroughly enjoyed it and it didn't feel like 147 minutes at all. It's definitely a stand-out than all the other Potter films as there's no Hogwarts in sight. The sense of security the trio had before inside the four walls of Hogwarts and under the watchful eye of Dumbledore has been torn down. Instead, they have to face "the real world". Being hunted down like fugitives and the feeling of anxiety that anyone can pop up anywhere, and if they're not alert, they're done for. It definitely takes it's toll on all of them. My favorite scene was one that wasn't in the book, after Ron stormed off, Harry and Hermione were dancing to Nick Cave's O' Children. All the gloominess was slightly and briefly lifted by a few of the lighter bits of the movie, but basically it's all doom and gloom. The cinematography was absolutely brilliant, the best looking movie of the franchise, Exceptional acting by all three of them, a stand-out performance by Emma Watson. Part 1 ended with the death of a friend and a minor cliffhanger. What a way to kick-off the long emotional inevitable goodbye and I trust David Yates to knock it out of the park on July 2011. Bring it on. Expand
  2. Mar 5, 2011
    10
    deathly hallows is delicious from every possible angle...its by far the most faithful adaptation but all fueled with endless magicaldeathly hallows is delicious from every possible angle...its by far the most faithful adaptation but all fueled with endless magical innovations....its like a comment on the book itself.....the Nazi undertones....the gripping spine-chilling music....the heart-breaking scenes....emotional scenes.....cinematography is spell-binding,and what amazing performances.....it was a visual treat as well as a treat for the brains....its intelligent....its a beautifully crafted movie....it doesn't drag....and remains true to the spirit of friendship.....i loved the dark and gloomy feel....the ominous speech of scrimgeour at the starting of the movie.....its one heck of a movie......finally David Yates proves that Harry potter is all grown n mature...and clearly its not fit for the younger audience...it requires lot of maturity to understand the tale...as it picks up loads of references from the past.....its absolutely brilliant and should have got a nomination for best picture this year at he Oscars....but it still remains bloody amazing..... Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2010
    9
    As someone who was really disappointed with the movie version of The Half-Blood Prince, I was wondering whether this movie would go down theAs someone who was really disappointed with the movie version of The Half-Blood Prince, I was wondering whether this movie would go down the same path. Thankfully, it hasn't, and instead, is now one of my three favorite Harry Potter movies (the others being Goblet of Fire and Order of the Phoenix). All I can say is, the magic is back with this movie! Can't wait for Part 2! Expand
  4. Jun 6, 2011
    8
    Better than the book by far, but then all the movies have been...

    This installment reveals Harry is not a god, which is refreshing... In the
    Better than the book by far, but then all the movies have been...

    This installment reveals Harry is not a god, which is refreshing... In the realm of magical competence he's reduced to the standard of, above-average, but no more.

    That was rather a nice turn of plot from the chosen-one, uber-retarded theme of the past.


    Harry isn't so special, he just lives in special circumstances. Nice save JK.

    Anyway, the cast give solid performances, cinematography rocks, effects are great... good fun all around.

    Honestly, I think Emma Watson is the most interesting talent to come from the franchise. I like guys, but can't wait to see what she makes of her fame(cache), she's just a treat to watch!!! Is it just me, or is she a force we'll see on the silver screen for some time to come?
    Expand
  5. May 4, 2014
    7
    Everything is different now, the trio is on the run having to survive on there own. Things are very dark and more adult themed in part 1.Everything is different now, the trio is on the run having to survive on there own. Things are very dark and more adult themed in part 1. While the film takes a while to build the performances are what is so good about this film, the action is enjoyable as well. But Deathly Hallows 1 does have a long down time....as personal drama comes between the trio...then picks up for an epic part 1 finally that leaves you craving part 2. Expand
  6. Aug 24, 2014
    6
    This was the first time I read the book before seeing a Harry Potter film. I am yet to decide whether it worked against me or not, to haveThis was the first time I read the book before seeing a Harry Potter film. I am yet to decide whether it worked against me or not, to have that prior experience of the story. I was not sure what to expect, so I didn't expect much (just in case). I wasn't prepared to be this disappointed, however.

    In the book, there are a lot of pages (anyone who has read it or even seen it knows that). There are also a lot of smaller and bigger events that gradually add to the big picture. Small details that fill the void around the main events. While I found the book dragging and a bit boring at places, I still expected them to make the film do something good with it.

    What happens here is that they set off with zero warning or explanation (having read the book I had some kind of idea of what was going on, but otherwise the events stayed quote hollow if you view the film alone, lacking the emotional impact).

    The film dashes from one scene to the next. People show up, old and new, hear news, move forward, from one place to the next. The characters don't work, the plot is too jerky to really make sense, and I had the feeling that had I not read the book, I would not have had any idea about half the stuff taking place on he screen and what certain comments between characters meant.

    The fighting scenes were very fast and flashy; the camera kept moving, making me almost nauseous. It was hard to tell who they were following, where they were running, and exactly who was shooting spells at whom. Sure, that's realistic, but it's also in the power of a film to step out of that hectic-ness and show us, in outsider's perspective, what is really going on. To enjoy the moment rather than rush through it.

    If the second part of the movie is going to be like this, I'm not going to look forward to it all that much. I feel like they tampered too much with the original so that they could get ahead fast. Sure, fast is good sometimes, if you're dealing multiple storylines, but this felt more like fast-forwarding and dropping out everything that could be dropped, costing some information that seemed rather important in the book and robbing the film of any real emotional charge: the characters had no time to work, and their moods felt unjustified. Angry, sad, joyous... it was hard to follow why exactly each and every one of those emotions took place.

    Not my favorite Potter movie. In fact, this might end up being my least favorite one, simply because they butchered any chance at good story-telling by rushing forward, bringing in ingredients from the book and simply making a mess of it.

    Three stars for the movie looking good and the small moments of stillness that made sense, but... that's about it.
    Expand
  7. Nov 21, 2010
    0
    By far the worst HP film yet! Way too much exposition. Lets take five minutes to focus on HP getting a hair cut. I guess they spent all ofBy far the worst HP film yet! Way too much exposition. Lets take five minutes to focus on HP getting a hair cut. I guess they spent all of the budget on SPFX, as they clearly could not afford an editor! I could have chopped the film down to 20 minutes, if not less. The last film should have been one part, not two. The idea to ake it two parts was clearly a studio idea to make more money. Expand

See all 254 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Every Harry Potter Movie, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Every Harry Potter Movie, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: April 15, 2016
    Find a ranking by Metascore of every film in the Harry Potter series.
  2. Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises Image
    Published: August 8, 2012
    Can an ongoing film franchise maintain high quality over many years and multiple movies? This week's new Bourne movie only confirms how hard a task that is, though our rankings of 25 major film franchises shows that it isn't impossible.
  3. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  4. The Best and Worst Movies of 2011

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2011 Image
    Published: January 5, 2012
    Get our final rankings for the past year's best- and worst-reviewed films and see how 2011 compared to previous years.