Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: November 18, 2005
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 913 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
734
Mixed:
107
Negative:
72
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
gm101Mar 21, 2011
A near perfect adaptation of the book, and one of my top three Harry Potter movies so far. This movie really set a high point for the franchise back in 2005. And this will probably be the only time Robert Patterson is in a movie that wasn't terrible.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
JawsPapi87Aug 9, 2011
This is an incredibly entertaining movie. It has intense action sequences, solid performances all around and maybe the most interesting new characters in the whole series, such as Professor Moody.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
heyitsmegrif4Dec 17, 2011
Thrilling with some great performances, and dazzling visuals and Potters most complex story yet, and definitely the most entertaining of all of the Potters. I give this movie 92% of a good film.
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 23, 2011
The movie's story is very linear. However, the Potter cast & crew makes the story very easy to follow. Overall a enjoyable summer blockbuster you can't miss.
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
TheQuietGamerMar 19, 2011
My personal favorite in the series and in my opinion the best in the series, it's funnier and has more action, and the story is the best yet, a must see and deserving of nothing less than a perfect 10 not because it's the best Harry Potter,My personal favorite in the series and in my opinion the best in the series, it's funnier and has more action, and the story is the best yet, a must see and deserving of nothing less than a perfect 10 not because it's the best Harry Potter, but because it will suck you in, a must see for fans. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
TheGorillaJul 17, 2011
This has to be the best Potter film in the series, aside 'Half Blood Prince'. It's not as dreadful as the first two movies, which kinda sucked, and it's not like the 'Prisoner of Azkaban' which is over forced. But you have to give props toThis has to be the best Potter film in the series, aside 'Half Blood Prince'. It's not as dreadful as the first two movies, which kinda sucked, and it's not like the 'Prisoner of Azkaban' which is over forced. But you have to give props to the third one, cause it definitely gave the franchise a new spooky, interesting dimension which made the franchise more enjoyable by adding some depth to it. In 'Goblet of Fire' there are some scenes that could have been done better, but overall the movie is quite fun, enjoyable and action peaked. Besides, I'm looking forward to 'Deathly Hollows Part II'. I think it will be the best one to date. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
MovieLonely94Jul 5, 2011
As Harry Potter and his friends begin their fourth year at hogswarts as well as meeting new friends from their respective schools, a Tri-Wizard tournament has just been taken place and only three students have been chosen. Now the fourthAs Harry Potter and his friends begin their fourth year at hogswarts as well as meeting new friends from their respective schools, a Tri-Wizard tournament has just been taken place and only three students have been chosen. Now the fourth student to overcome that event, little does Harry Potter know that the servants of the Dark Lord are planning to reborn their master as he encounters all three of these tasks. I was amazed and speechless (not to mention frightened) when I saw this dark and epic entry of the series and I was excited to see it taking the franchise into new heights. The actors did a lot of talent and charm of the now changed personalites of the characters, The action and CGI were pretty unique and very intense, The storyline from the fourth book stayed faithful and Ralph Fiennes deserved some credit (as well as the others) for his amazing performance as Lord Voldemort. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire is the most darkest entry of the series that took the franchise into new heights in fantasy history and one of the best movies from the past five years. 8/10 Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
MonsieurEamesJul 12, 2012
Spectacular film. The kids are just as good of actors as the adults now. Oh, I love that trio so, so much! Goblet of Fire takes a more dangerous approach and has a very spectacular and interesting premise. Pure magic for the young & old.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
jfrotylpe532Dec 21, 2012
Goblet of Fire is in my opinion the best written out of all the Harry Potters besides maybe the last one. The adrenaline and excitement race in this one. Not to mention the best ending to any of the first 4 Harry Potters. All in All if yourGoblet of Fire is in my opinion the best written out of all the Harry Potters besides maybe the last one. The adrenaline and excitement race in this one. Not to mention the best ending to any of the first 4 Harry Potters. All in All if your looking for excitement this film gives it to you. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
geo333Jan 8, 2016
With action adventures scenes and humorous ones as well. Harry Potter not only has grown but so has it's content. Harry Potter and Goblet of Fire has a fire indeed.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JenniferB.Jul 7, 2008
KP You need to get a life! are you normal, you should write a book. Harry Potter was great, yeh they left a lot out but how many children can keep up with jk rowlings twists and turns. Stop analyzing in depth and start enjoying whats on KP You need to get a life! are you normal, you should write a book. Harry Potter was great, yeh they left a lot out but how many children can keep up with jk rowlings twists and turns. Stop analyzing in depth and start enjoying whats on screen, trust me it help! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AllistairE.Nov 18, 2005
Another long wait for a new Harry Potter movie and another long wait in line to see it. The first three films were overall faithful to the books, and had some of the best directing, casting, and art direction of the decade. The first had a Another long wait for a new Harry Potter movie and another long wait in line to see it. The first three films were overall faithful to the books, and had some of the best directing, casting, and art direction of the decade. The first had a wonderful joyous quality (my personal fav.), the 2nd had a great feeling of mystery, and 3rd (aesthetically the best) was awe-inspiringly beautiful and gloomy. They stood just as great as the books (although in my opinion nothing beats your imagination, so the books will always win by default). Now, with Goblet of Fire I found myself constanlty asking why. Why did they take that part out? Why did they add in the extra action? Why didn't they emphasize on that scene? I think the movie was victim to a poor script and a bland director, but still survives on the great visual set up that past directors have built and the wonderful cast. I know that with a book so big, cutting out scenes and characters was a necessary evil. But why did they make Dumbledore seem viscious at times? Why did they leave out some very lovable and interesting characters? Why didn't they take some time to make sense of what was going on and why? It came clear to me half way through the movie that for once the book and movie are very different. The movie on it's own feet is perhaps the most fun of all the movies and will hopefully be a bridge to 3 much more susperior films. If you read the book the whole thing feels like a slide show (trust me, your friends will be constanlty asking "why did that happen....what was that part about?), but it's still a good time and fun to see things come to life on the big screen. Anyway, it has Jarvis Cocker and Johnny Greenwood, plus Emma Watson is a hottie. Worth your money and time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StanW.Nov 20, 2005
This movie has it all, adventure, action, a little romance, comedy, just a complete movie. The 2.5 hours seem like 1.5 hours. All ages will enjoy this movie, there are many climax to the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JacobA-KNov 20, 2005
It was good movie but they left out some important parts and changed others. by the way did anyone else realize that the death eaters looked a lot like the kkk?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HughH.Jan 6, 2006
The best Harry Potter movie to date.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndyW.Nov 22, 2005
Four down. Three more to go. Best one ever made..according to my list it goes: 1)Goblet of Fire 2)Prisoner of Azkaban 3)Philosopher's Stone 4)Chamber of Secrets
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChryssaRichNov 20, 2005
It's a great way to escape for a couple of hours. Visually stimulating and fantastic with a few real-life aspects to keep it real.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanR.Nov 23, 2005
Especially moving performance by the father of the boy who dies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillNov 20, 2005
A charmingly darkened coming-of-age as seen through a fantasy world lens. Haltingly adapted from Rowling's slightly-less-than-most-popular of the series, Goblet of Fire delivers a valiant effort at ramping up all the crucial variables A charmingly darkened coming-of-age as seen through a fantasy world lens. Haltingly adapted from Rowling's slightly-less-than-most-popular of the series, Goblet of Fire delivers a valiant effort at ramping up all the crucial variables in the Potter anthology: Maturity, Romance, Humor, Adolescence, Magical Eyecandy and the impending sense of a looming conflict. Things that could've been more polished: Voldemort's nose. Where'd it go? Why? This provoked a few unsolicited laughs in the theater I saw it in. And as with the second and third films, Rickman's glorious Snape is woefully underused... While such huge chunks of the book having to be excised (understandably) that there's an almost stuttering feel to the flow of things. Well, it was either that, or have Goblet of Fire I and II... With the actors being in their 30's by the time the movies were done. Nevertheless, from Moaning Myrtle's bathtime advances on a suddenly-babe-magnet Harry to Ron's botched interactions with Hermione, we're seeing this group grow up - shifting away from children's fare. Like anyone's first teen years, these are treacherous waters for the Potter films and for such a transitional piece, Goblet does pretty well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
nightclawDec 21, 2005
This is the cooles movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StacyRDec 20, 2005
Now this is why we go to the movies! A thriller, adventure, and comedy wrapped into a skillful package. Surprisingly plays well with all ages. Flawless effects and well-rounded performances make this one the surprise must-see of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BeakieS.Dec 23, 2005
Newel left out some scenes and Fred and George didnt tease Ron nearly as much as they did in the book.But over all it was Fairly good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RudyC.Dec 27, 2005
Spectacularly well adapted from the book ! The best one yet, far ahead ! I totally loved it ! The three main character's acting is excellent and the spirit of the book is well transcripted into the movie ! It's a must-see ! I hope Spectacularly well adapted from the book ! The best one yet, far ahead ! I totally loved it ! The three main character's acting is excellent and the spirit of the book is well transcripted into the movie ! It's a must-see ! I hope you enjoyed it as I did ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MicahE.Dec 30, 2005
Loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BonbonA.Dec 4, 2005
I never really like the others 3 movies before, cause they are just horrible (the third wasn't bad, but it wasn't good enough). Goblet of Fire is completely different. Amazing, interesting, surprising, charming, and very I never really like the others 3 movies before, cause they are just horrible (the third wasn't bad, but it wasn't good enough). Goblet of Fire is completely different. Amazing, interesting, surprising, charming, and very facinating. Well, I must say that the book is better than the movie. But to tell the truth, this movie is good enough to be called an excellent movie ^__^ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DimitrisB.Jan 11, 2006
It is good film like other three.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
samirat.Jan 3, 2006
As the Harry potter movies go on, you can see the acters are more comfortable with their characters. In this movie you see how harry, although very powerful, has yet to fill his destiny. the special effects are great and the storyline is As the Harry potter movies go on, you can see the acters are more comfortable with their characters. In this movie you see how harry, although very powerful, has yet to fill his destiny. the special effects are great and the storyline is full of adventure and drama. In the movie harry is mysteriously entered into the triwizard tournament and by that is forced into the match and has many challenges to overcome. Near the end he gets an unexpected encounter with voldemort(who was way too cheerful for me. He was a cross between mr. edwards (little house on the praire) and the penguin. In my opinion this is the best of the harry potter movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MiladS.Jan 3, 2006
This movie was the best movie i had ever seen . You most be a Harry Potter reader to understand it !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DJan 4, 2006
Best Harry Potter Movie yet. Can't complain!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
sritikac.Jan 5, 2006
I am a great fan of Daniel. i loved this movie the best. I have seen all the movies a 100 times but i never get bored watching them.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KasunJan 6, 2006
I don't know why this movie didn't get higher credits, it was phenomenal.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexM.Mar 21, 2006
Best Harry Potter yet. So cool and everything. I read the books and all and im the only one who realizes why lot of people hate it. God people get it through your heads most movies that are created that have books wont be the same. Man you Best Harry Potter yet. So cool and everything. I read the books and all and im the only one who realizes why lot of people hate it. God people get it through your heads most movies that are created that have books wont be the same. Man you people can get so retarded sometimes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeffP.Apr 4, 2006
I gave this film an 8, I have read all the books, my basic run down starts from 10, it lost one point for missing a few senses and lost another point for being a little hard to follow if you haven't read the books or seen the other I gave this film an 8, I have read all the books, my basic run down starts from 10, it lost one point for missing a few senses and lost another point for being a little hard to follow if you haven't read the books or seen the other three movies and thus know the characters. However we must all remember that when things change from book to movie that it's not going to be the same. The book was over 600 pages long, to fit everything the movie would have to be almost 4hours and 30 mins long. Some of us (me) wouldn't mind that but that hard to do with some people. All in all good movie likeable characters (even if one of them isn't explained entirely in their emotions to me (ron)), always room for improvement of course. Can't wait to see more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasmineJun 27, 2006
this movie is so great fantastic man! I like Hermione Granger, Cho Chang and Fleur Delacour they are so pretty especially when Fleur Delacour was in their Beauxbatons uniform and with the hat. The character that i hate is Viktor Krum, he this movie is so great fantastic man! I like Hermione Granger, Cho Chang and Fleur Delacour they are so pretty especially when Fleur Delacour was in their Beauxbatons uniform and with the hat. The character that i hate is Viktor Krum, he always give himself that type of proud look and give other people that type of proud look, and he is like always thinking that he is the best in the world wearing the sports shirt and going out for a exercise at the hogwards beach and attracting girls and he always walks with the chest high up nag as if like hr doesn't do that it will be very disgusting but anyway he is the character that i hate most in HARRY POTTER AND THE GOBLET OF FIRE. my favorite part was when Fred Weasley and George Weasley drink the aging potion and putting their name in the pot of goblet of fire and when something happen to them then they started fighting that part was so interesting and somehow funny. but although i have a lot of comments HARRY POTTER AND THE GOBLET OF FIRE this movie RAWKS man sooooooo fun, interesting and exciting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattCSep 30, 2006
Any Harry Potter movie is gonna be good. The only people who might not like it are obsessive fans of the books.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BamM.Nov 20, 2007
I don't think it was bad at all I mean some parts could have been better but for the most part I LOVED IT! I cont think the movie is getting the perks it deserves. If you think it was bad I don't think we were watching the same I don't think it was bad at all I mean some parts could have been better but for the most part I LOVED IT! I cont think the movie is getting the perks it deserves. If you think it was bad I don't think we were watching the same movie. Watch it again if you think its bad maybe you'll change your mind!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DonnaHJan 8, 2007
Although I loved PoA, and would be thrilled to see Cuaron come back and direct another HP movie, GoF is the one I enjoy the most. There are just so many things to love: Daniel Radcliffe's growth as an actor, Maggie Smith's Although I loved PoA, and would be thrilled to see Cuaron come back and direct another HP movie, GoF is the one I enjoy the most. There are just so many things to love: Daniel Radcliffe's growth as an actor, Maggie Smith's pitch-perfect delivery in every scene she's in, Brendan Gleeson's delightfully eccentric Moody, David Tennant's wonderfully insane Barty Crouch, Jr., Alan Rickman proving that he's one of the only actors capable of acting out elipses, the most realistic dragon I have ever seen on film, Dumbledore showing his very human vulnerability, everything about the Yule Ball, Ralph Fiennes' perfect blend of ruthlessness and madness as Voldemort. And, of course, there is Jarvis Cocker. Granted, there's only about 3 seconds of Jarvis...but that's what DVD extras are for, right? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdnanA.Jul 19, 2008
When I watched this movie for the first time I was like... what the hell. They've ruined it! But when I watched it again and again the more I started to love it. Even though this movie also like the third one differs from the book but I When I watched this movie for the first time I was like... what the hell. They've ruined it! But when I watched it again and again the more I started to love it. Even though this movie also like the third one differs from the book but I liked whatever they did. The only thing I didn't like was the third task which is totally different from the books. Has no creatures or any excitement, but then the graveyard scene after that totally makes it up for the third task and all the credit goes to Ralph Fieness as our dear Voldemort. Story... What can I say!!?? It's Harry Potter, of course it's gonna rock. Acting... The trio remains marvelous, no doubt about that, but the rising stars are Ralph as Voldemort, Brendon as Moody and Miranda as Rita. They take the movie to a whole new level. Other adult actors are already perfect so i'm not praising them here. Michael Gambon sucked again!! In face he sucked more than he did in the previous one. That scene in which he runs towards Harry asking if he had put his name in the goblet is evidence enough for his suckage. Richard Harris we miss you!!! May he rest in peace. Direction... I found Mike Newell better than Alfonso Cuaron. Handling such a big novel is not easy but he has done an excellent job. But of course the main credit will go the Steve Kloves who is the screen writer. Even though i'd still say Warner bros should have never changed Chris in the first place. Since Chris is gone Harry Potter has lost smoothness. See lord of the rings, all the three movies feel ONE! This is not the case with HP. Visuals... The dragon was superb. The second task was superb. Voldemort's makeup was superb. In short the visuals were superb!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffM.Nov 18, 2005
GoF was my favorite of the books, and here we have my favorite of the movies so far. The structure and pace is deeply flawed, at times jarringly so, but this doesn't take away from the most solid performances, finest FX work, and GoF was my favorite of the books, and here we have my favorite of the movies so far. The structure and pace is deeply flawed, at times jarringly so, but this doesn't take away from the most solid performances, finest FX work, and greatest story in the series. There's a lot missing, but there's plenty to enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JadaG.Nov 18, 2005
They did leave many items out of the movie, but the heart of the book as well as the most important scenes were done extremely well. I believe this film has best script out of the four. Also, Mike Newell took the best "suggestions" from the They did leave many items out of the movie, but the heart of the book as well as the most important scenes were done extremely well. I believe this film has best script out of the four. Also, Mike Newell took the best "suggestions" from the first two directors and expanded on his own. Magic of Ministry's court chamber is exactly as the book describes. Absolutely Perfect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottK.Nov 18, 2005
It is entertaining, the best one yet. That is what movies are supposed to be, entertaining. Therefore, I dont get too caught up in the props, overall story line, etc. It had me on the edge of my seat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JulieK.Nov 18, 2005
I loved it!! Fab Fab!!! Excellent adaptation of the Goblet of Fire. Mike Newell definitely brings more personality and conflict within the characters. Loved watching the boarding school antics. A definite movie to watch on the big screen I loved it!! Fab Fab!!! Excellent adaptation of the Goblet of Fire. Mike Newell definitely brings more personality and conflict within the characters. Loved watching the boarding school antics. A definite movie to watch on the big screen don't wait for the DVD. Dragon sequences are the best action yet in the Harry Potter Series. I do have to say that there are remanents of the last film in this film. The set design and the dark undertone still linger. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TakN.Nov 19, 2005
Kk ok they left out alot of things. but he captured the book so well and how do u seriously expect them to fit a 700 page book into a 2 1/2 hour movie without changing some thigns? get over it, they did an amazing job. the actors are gettingKk ok they left out alot of things. but he captured the book so well and how do u seriously expect them to fit a 700 page book into a 2 1/2 hour movie without changing some thigns? get over it, they did an amazing job. the actors are getting better and better. and the story line was great. its just that ,they had to fit in all the important little clues in order for the plot to work. so they had to take out some big things that werent as importatnt to the unfolding of the plot. amazing movie. amazing Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
G.M.D.K.Nov 19, 2005
Amazing,Beautifully acted powerhouse thriller. This film has everything!it has action, horror, romance, humor,drama, fantasy, adventure, plot, acting, direction, music.... the list could go on and on... But Goblet of Fire might as well be Amazing,Beautifully acted powerhouse thriller. This film has everything!it has action, horror, romance, humor,drama, fantasy, adventure, plot, acting, direction, music.... the list could go on and on... But Goblet of Fire might as well be the greatest film I've seen in some long time.Absolutely Amazing! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RadfordD.Nov 19, 2005
Its the best one yet, although much was missed. Where was Ludo Bagman?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaggieP.Nov 19, 2005
Sure, they had to leave out some of the details of the book, but as a film, "Goblet of Fire" was stunning. I feel they really captured Rowlings atmosphere of magic. What an adventure this film is!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmilyNov 19, 2005
Yeah a lot was missing from this movie but the book was over seven hundred pages long! There was no way they could put it all in the movie. But this movie was the best of the series by far. It was visually amazing, as other people said, and Yeah a lot was missing from this movie but the book was over seven hundred pages long! There was no way they could put it all in the movie. But this movie was the best of the series by far. It was visually amazing, as other people said, and I thought they did a really good job of condensing the plot into two and a half hours. My three complaints were: no veelas, Flor wasn't mystical enough, and the ending was a little different. Overall, though, it was amazing!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
StephNov 21, 2005
the film was really good and far better than i expected! it is well worth going to see!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffF.Nov 21, 2005
I had a great time watching this film. I'm always concerned that book-to-film adaptations will lose a lot of the finer points of the book, but that's not the case here. The writing team very nicely trimmed the fat of the book and I had a great time watching this film. I'm always concerned that book-to-film adaptations will lose a lot of the finer points of the book, but that's not the case here. The writing team very nicely trimmed the fat of the book and even enhanced it as they realized there are six distinct acts of narrative, and the rest is non-essential. The only noteworthy plot "changes" are that Barty Crouch Jr appears in the first scene, and the third task is modified a bit (no cloud, skrewt, or sphinx). No house elves either, so anything that Dobby or Winky did was assigned to someone else. They also chopped a ton off the introduction (gimme more Mr. Weasley!) A couple other quick complaints: Hermione is definitely getting around (Ron, Harry, and Krum all seem to be getting some) and Dumbledore has an explosive temper I don't recall reading about (Richard Harris is still missed). The leadup to and the Yule Ball scene were hilarious - boys and girls are so dumb at age 14. The new cast additions are all great: Mad-Eye Moody is magnificent, Rita Skeeter is correctly abominable (but underused) and you can't help but have a huge crush on Cho Chang. The tournament tasks are appropriately breathtaking and the final showdown is equally creepy and exhilarating (what a surprise, Ralph Fiennes is great). I'm thrilled they got this one right; good luck making a movie of the 5th book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CaptainSadnessNov 21, 2005
At first I thought the movie was going to be lame. It started of with weak diolouge and then after 20 minutes in...I realized I was actually leaning forward in my seat with anticipation. This movie is awesome! I have to say the the Death At first I thought the movie was going to be lame. It started of with weak diolouge and then after 20 minutes in...I realized I was actually leaning forward in my seat with anticipation. This movie is awesome! I have to say the the Death Eaters, and the plot around them was awesome! The Dark Lord's raising a duel with Harry in the graveyard was stunning! This movie certainly had a creep factor at parts...which is great for the HP frachise! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TravisEmergencyNov 20, 2005
It was amazing. Definetly the best in the series, with excellent acting all around. Tons of action, and the cinematography was great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattNov 21, 2005
My wife and are both in our thirties, don't read the books, but never miss watching these in the IMAX when they come out. The Dragon scene...with a 6 story screen, was intense to say the least. We are very discerning film watchers, and My wife and are both in our thirties, don't read the books, but never miss watching these in the IMAX when they come out. The Dragon scene...with a 6 story screen, was intense to say the least. We are very discerning film watchers, and we both couldn't say enough about how good this movie was. We feel that Daniel, Rupert, and Emma are really maturing as actors, and I felt that the pacing, cinematography and writing were all first rate. I laughed out load many times, a testement to the affection one has for these characters we are watching grow up before our eyes. Kudos to everyone involved in this latest installment...not to demean the other movies by any stretch of the imagination. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JulieM.Nov 21, 2005
While some parts of the book were left out, what was in the movie was fantastic. Great action, great effects - can't wait until the next.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ErinNov 21, 2005
I loved the book so much, it was by far my favorite, so it was a little disappointing to see many of the sub-plots on the cutting room floor. The climax, the maze and battle, left a little to be desired.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoeB.Nov 20, 2005
As one who has not seen the other three HP movies, I can't rate it in comparison, but I thoroughly enjoyed this film. Although I have read through book four, it has been a while, and did not remember every important aspect of the As one who has not seen the other three HP movies, I can't rate it in comparison, but I thoroughly enjoyed this film. Although I have read through book four, it has been a while, and did not remember every important aspect of the plotline. Nevertheless, I was quite satisfied with this adaptation of the novel. The guy that played Moody was superb, and Maggie Smith was hilarious as always. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PinkertonNov 20, 2005
Excellent. Intense from start to finish, does away with some of the more annoying, pre-teen plot points and plows headlong into a more adult storyline. The best film yet, better than Curon's which had a great look, but strange pacing. Excellent. Intense from start to finish, does away with some of the more annoying, pre-teen plot points and plows headlong into a more adult storyline. The best film yet, better than Curon's which had a great look, but strange pacing. Newell seems to keep a lot of Curon's art direction, though he seems more comfortable with the boarding school setting (he himself went to one). The pacing is great and the acting is vastly improved. Ralph Finnes as Voldemort is truly breathtaking, he is genuinely frightening, do not take young children to this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveF.Nov 20, 2005
It may be smack in the middle of the Potter trilogy, but Rowling's strongest book was done full justice with this, easily the best Potter film. Just about perfect in its balance, with every scene achieving its goal; the comedy is It may be smack in the middle of the Potter trilogy, but Rowling's strongest book was done full justice with this, easily the best Potter film. Just about perfect in its balance, with every scene achieving its goal; the comedy is laugh-aloud, the horror is can't-bear-to-look, and the action is dazzling. Goblet of Fire boasts the first convincing big-screen dragon, while cutesy house elves...are nowhere to be seen, thank you Mr. Newell! Did Moaning Myrtle remind anyone else just a bit of gollum? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TomT.Nov 20, 2005
Considering a majority of the book was kept out, this film was fantastic. It flowd well, was fast-paced, yet didn't feel rushed or leave one confused as its predecessor is. Voldemort's performance was delicious: who would have Considering a majority of the book was kept out, this film was fantastic. It flowd well, was fast-paced, yet didn't feel rushed or leave one confused as its predecessor is. Voldemort's performance was delicious: who would have thought a young, agile, passionate creature would emerge from that...thing? No complaints here from someone who has disliked all movies preceding... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmmaT.Nov 20, 2005
I think this was the best on yet! i mean they could have added a little more of the book in it, but the 4th was a very long novel. this movie also is darker and their portrayal of lord voldemort was great. if you just skip the rest of theI think this was the best on yet! i mean they could have added a little more of the book in it, but the 4th was a very long novel. this movie also is darker and their portrayal of lord voldemort was great. if you just skip the rest of the movie and watched the deatheater scene it would still be worth the price of admission. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmmaNov 23, 2005
This movie was sooo good!! The grapics were terrific i actually remember being in the movie theater and thinking "oh good he is only at the 2nd trial there is still a lot to go!" When I got out of the movie theater it took me a while to get This movie was sooo good!! The grapics were terrific i actually remember being in the movie theater and thinking "oh good he is only at the 2nd trial there is still a lot to go!" When I got out of the movie theater it took me a while to get used to being in the real word and not in teh magic world.i actually got to fealing that i was right next to harry the whole way! and as for those people that are as clueless in saying that they where very dissapoined that they left stuff out of the movie that was in the book. I say they had to, the movie was already 2hours and somthing long. But i remember being thrilled of how much the movie reminded me of how good the book was. have fun seeing the best of the harry potter series. (i would give it a hundred if i could!). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BryanN.Nov 25, 2005
Basically, for the Harry Potter series, the success of a film is greatly based on the ability of the director making a synopsys of it. I am personaly pleased with the fourth instalment. Director Chris Collumbus managed to stuff all the Basically, for the Harry Potter series, the success of a film is greatly based on the ability of the director making a synopsys of it. I am personaly pleased with the fourth instalment. Director Chris Collumbus managed to stuff all the action in it while trying to make sense for all of it. However, he left out some unnessesary plots which caused unsatisfaction to certain people. As mentioned earlier, i loved HPGOF. It was fascinating and the computer graphichs were simply brilliant. I was simply awed by how the tiles flew from the castle roof when the dragon kind of clinged on it. There are also a lot of breath-taking action and wonderfull scenery. An adventure leads to another, it's as simple as that. I really enjoyed the movie very much, maybe it's due to months of anticipated wait. The celebrities however, play an important role in the popularity of the movie. There are, naturally, humurous parts of the film as a tradition, some from Rowling, but some implemented from Chris himself. It was really funny. My only complaint is, the lenght of the movie was too short. For a book that's that thick, it seems rather impossible for the director to minimized it to it's current state but he managed. Unfortunately, this resulted in difficulty in understanding the Movie. i doubt anyone would truly realize what is happening if he or she has yet to read the book. In my opinoin, the show should at least be 3 hours long, but 5 as a better option. He could have divided the movie into two episodes. By then people would not complain : Why no SPEW? Why no Winky, And Why No Sphinx? As a conclution, Chris has managed to pack J.K.Rowlings Fascinating world into an action packed film. This is the defining film for the whole series, a must watch for fans. It is definitely worth your bucks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatrickD.Nov 26, 2005
I thought Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban was the best of the series. I was probably wrong. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire was a VERY good movie and VERY well done. The movie centers on Harry as he takes his fourth year into I thought Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban was the best of the series. I was probably wrong. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire was a VERY good movie and VERY well done. The movie centers on Harry as he takes his fourth year into Hogwarts. This year, Voldemort's (sorry, "He Who Must Not Be Named") power is steadily growing, thanks to his servants, the Death Eaters. Early in the film, Harry and his pals are gathering at the Quittich World Cup. Quickly into the film, the characters are attacked-not by dementors this time- but by Death Eaters, Lord Voledemort's servants. (This part was very exciting.) The film moves fairly quickly, with more mystery than even the Prisoner of Azkaban had. Harry Potter is entered into the Tri-Wizard Tournament. How? We have yet to find out. Unfortunately for Harry, he has no choice except to accept what is in front of him. What also sucks for Harry is that people have died in the Tri-Wizard Tournament. Yes, it's that dangerous. One thing new with Harry is that he is at the stage in life where he is changing. Hormones. More romance takes place, than it did in the others. For example, Harry seems to have a bit of feeling for Cho Chung. Ron gets jealous of his friends, because he can't get a date for himself. Hermione seems to have taken a liking to one of the other competitors. I remember Ron commenting "Bloody hell" when checking out the bodies of the French team. The movie generally is exciting and face-paced, but even if it has a length of 157 minutes, it still moves too fast for its own good. For example, they never tell us what a port-key is. (The audience has to figure it out for themselves.) The character, Cedric Diggory is hardly introduced to us. There seems to be no beginning the scene where the Death Eaters attack. It just happens out of nowhere. The movie never tells us why Ron gets mad at Harry. (It is because he is jealous, as previously stated.) Even if they took out parts of the book to make the movie shorter, they seem to have taken out necessary parts along with them. I did like the movie, but Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertI.Nov 28, 2005
By far the best HP Movie yet. Excellent performances, great adaptation from the book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkNov 30, 2005
It would be hard to top the Prisoner of Azkaban and this movie does not - its good, but not better. I miss the lyrical character driven nature of Prisoner.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MelodyE.Dec 18, 2005
Great movie, it is my favourite one of all the Harry Potter movies, now that's saying something because anyone who knows me knows that I'm a huge Harry Potter fan, but also very, very judgemental on movies, tv, anything really; Great movie, it is my favourite one of all the Harry Potter movies, now that's saying something because anyone who knows me knows that I'm a huge Harry Potter fan, but also very, very judgemental on movies, tv, anything really; this movie got little to no mocking from me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TedHDec 19, 2005
The perfect holiday movie. The film is jampacked with everything that countless other comedies, dramas, and adventure pictures wish they could become. If you have the chance, see it with friends on an IMAX screen, which brings the scope of The perfect holiday movie. The film is jampacked with everything that countless other comedies, dramas, and adventure pictures wish they could become. If you have the chance, see it with friends on an IMAX screen, which brings the scope of the presentation to a level not seen this year! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottCDec 21, 2005
Quite a good film. My family was highly entertained throughout.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
einavg.Dec 30, 2005
Dude The best movie ever!!!!!!!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RitB.Dec 31, 2005
Wizards exist and this movie proves it --- because it was made by technical wizards. This is movie making and story telling at its best. I hope Rowling lives and writes for a thousand years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TriciaP.Dec 3, 2005
Perhaps even an 8.5...not as good as the third film but still very good, and entertaining. I've read the books and was glad because much was left out of this movie, by necessity; however, the film was much more of a thriller than its Perhaps even an 8.5...not as good as the third film but still very good, and entertaining. I've read the books and was glad because much was left out of this movie, by necessity; however, the film was much more of a thriller than its predecessors, and could easily be enjoyed without having read the books. Even knowing the plot and ending, I hated to leave the theater for even a moment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NikolaS.Dec 30, 2005
Amazing! Can't say it's the best one yet, 'cause it's so different! However, it was time to move on to the full frontal... PG13!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeahK.Dec 4, 2005
This was the GREATEST ONE!!! & RUPERT GRINT IS VERY HOTT!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ClaireDec 4, 2005
Not a bad movie compared to the other Harry Potter films but they added and took off quite a bit off the original book. I suppose it's difficult to make a movie out of such a long book. . . anyway, the Voldermort scene was probably the Not a bad movie compared to the other Harry Potter films but they added and took off quite a bit off the original book. I suppose it's difficult to make a movie out of such a long book. . . anyway, the Voldermort scene was probably the best part but Cedric and Krum look about 30 years old. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DavidB.Dec 4, 2005
Probably the best potter film yet, yet I did not like the Voldemort adaption at the end... I feel they could have done more with it. However, the rest of the film is great and anyone who likes Harry Potter will dig this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KillianF.Dec 6, 2005
Absoloutely brilliant. I have seen this film 6 times since its release (2 weeks ago). I love the underwater scene! The harry potter films are the only films that have, in my opinion, been equal or better to the book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaneBDec 6, 2005
The best and most original of the potter series yet. It begins to stand alone, not simply a carbon copy of the book. what cuaron started, newell has developed. Everyone should see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WallyS.Dec 6, 2005
The best Potter film, the less faithful to the material, but extremely more witty and finally discovers the true meaning of a Potter book. Darker, more adult and trully more powerful. One of the years best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AnonymousJan 18, 2006
The book was the best of the six... but the movie didn't stay true to it... Should have made it longer, regardless of childrens attentions spans of an hour and a half Lame excuse to make a good story short.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RyanD.Jan 21, 2006
Too many short cuts were taken to make fans of the book truly love this movie. Movie goers will enjoy this story, But real fans are still gonna have to wait for a Great Harry Potter movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GilbertM.Jan 26, 2006
Yeah, some of it's a bit different. Which is a shame. But I really don't envy Steve Kloves his job in adapting these, and I'm not surprised he's given the next one to someone else while he buggers off to direct something. Yeah, some of it's a bit different. Which is a shame. But I really don't envy Steve Kloves his job in adapting these, and I'm not surprised he's given the next one to someone else while he buggers off to direct something. Take a look at the book one day. It's huge. It's a housebrick. And the next one's even bigger. I seriously had no idea how they'd shrink this fourth one into one film. More than three hours is for no - exactly three hours is pushing it. Fortunately, they managed it, and if some of the characterisation and plotting is simpler, it's because it's a different medium. You still should read the books before you see the films, because the books are the real story and the films are just moving picture versions of them, but they're damn good moving picture versions. Oh my god, there's a Big Momma's House 2? Okay, this review is over, I've got some calls to make. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KyleL.Feb 10, 2006
I like the Harry Potter movies and this is just like the previous...entertaining. It wasn't dull, yet I wasn't on the edge of my seat. Perfect for younger tweens!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KarenE.Feb 19, 2006
The last installment of the HP series was one of the best movies I've seen this year. Full of action and mystery, Harry Potter finally meets the badie in the series. there were only a few bad points. Otherwise it was wonderful!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamFeb 26, 2006
I loved all of the Harry Potter movies, but this one does something much better than any of the sequels before, it evolves, without losing that magical touch that we all know and love.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanQ.Mar 25, 2006
Anyone who said this movie was bad should keep that incoherent mouths shut and bludgeon their head off a wall until they grow what might resemble a brain. YES the movie did follow the book's storyline and YES the acting, effects, and Anyone who said this movie was bad should keep that incoherent mouths shut and bludgeon their head off a wall until they grow what might resemble a brain. YES the movie did follow the book's storyline and YES the acting, effects, and action was more than anyone could dream of asking for. Quite obviously the most spectacular HP movie to date and one of the best movies of the year period. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AndyO.Mar 7, 2006
Not my favorite of the series, and NOT because the movie left a lot out from the book (I prefer to read the books after seeing the movies, that way I don't miss anything), but just because I didn't think the movie was as good as Not my favorite of the series, and NOT because the movie left a lot out from the book (I prefer to read the books after seeing the movies, that way I don't miss anything), but just because I didn't think the movie was as good as those that came before it. Currently I believe Prisoner of Azkaban is my favorite, I wish they had used Gary Oldman's character more in this film as he's always been one of my favorite actors, and his part in the book was slightly bigger than the movie gave him credit. Can't wait for the next one in 2008 or whenever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JackieAug 8, 2006
I must admit, I liked this movie. Lots of people are saying that it is not true to the book, but think about it. There is no way a book that is over 700 pages long is going to fit well into a movie. They put the parts into the movie that I must admit, I liked this movie. Lots of people are saying that it is not true to the book, but think about it. There is no way a book that is over 700 pages long is going to fit well into a movie. They put the parts into the movie that will be important later in the movies. I admit, I was disappointed with the parts about Nevilles parents; if you haven't read the books, you would defiantly miss that little bit in the Pensieve where Kakaroff mentions his parents. Harry should have talked to Dumbledore about it afterwards. It would take 5 minutes. Then we could cut that stupid dragon scene. Does Harry really need to be flying around the castle all the time? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Louis'sBroMar 21, 2007
Best Harry Potter movie I've seen (thus far). After reading the book, I couldn't wait to see how the movie would turn out. The action was amazing and the acting was incredible. However, I wouldn't give this movie a ten because Best Harry Potter movie I've seen (thus far). After reading the book, I couldn't wait to see how the movie would turn out. The action was amazing and the acting was incredible. However, I wouldn't give this movie a ten because the creators cut out too many parts from the book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TomK.Aug 19, 2007
The fourth film in series is better than the first too, but not better than the third one. it is matching the books in style and environment, but it's moving too fast and skipping important events from the book. Still, the movie stands, The fourth film in series is better than the first too, but not better than the third one. it is matching the books in style and environment, but it's moving too fast and skipping important events from the book. Still, the movie stands, but not as the third one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DalePMay 12, 2008
Agree with Tom K. The third movie is by far the best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HannahNov 17, 2005
This movie was GREAT i love it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Mrs.PiyawanPitaksakornNov 17, 2005
II waiting for along time for look this part 4 of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. I very exciting when I look the movie on the fiirst day on the show. I read the book and look for the movie it have some thing diffreence.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HQYTNov 17, 2005
The best harry potter movie yet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OwenD.Nov 18, 2005
It was fantastic!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidK.Nov 18, 2005
Excellent story and acting. It is very impressive that after four installments the sequals have not started to weaken. This is a major credit to the "quality" that is so consistent in the movies. Two thumbs up and a job very well done!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JenF.Nov 18, 2005
Clearly, the series is maturing along with it's cast and audience. This is the best of the bunch so far - with stunning, seamless visual effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoslynW.Nov 18, 2005
The BEST one yet!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
A.d.W.Nov 18, 2005
Seemed very very rushed - almost should have made two movies out of the book - too much information for 1 movie - FX were great - The young actors were great and carried the movie, Watson and Radcliff are fine actors - I missed some of the Seemed very very rushed - almost should have made two movies out of the book - too much information for 1 movie - FX were great - The young actors were great and carried the movie, Watson and Radcliff are fine actors - I missed some of the previous 3 movies "touches" - the theme music is hidden in a new "darker" form which is missed and the music just wasn't as memorable as in the previous movies- Snape is not as menacing as he was in number 3 and Michael Gambon has got to read the books - his potrayal of Dumbledore was much much better in The Prisioner of Azkaban. He does push and shove his way through this one - which Dumbledore just doesn't have to do. Harry seems very slow to react and clueless in all the tasks yet he wins - I seem to remember the book to be like that so no real compliant - just kinda odd - one of the champions and he hasn't a clue - All in all a good film and much to like but I liked 3 better- Goblet of Fire just doesn't seem to have as much charm as Prisoner of Azkaban did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenA.Nov 18, 2005
Absolutely Astonishingly Good. Loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BobX.Nov 18, 2005
Just saw it, pretty decent flick but if you need more assurance you can see that Michael Scraglow has given it his patented seal of crap low ratings. A Scraglow high rating is the kiss of death.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleyNov 18, 2005
This movie was the best one yet. I saw the midnight showing, the theater was packed, and it was a lot of fun. GOF is dark, scary, funny, sad... it runs the gamut of emotions. GO SEE IT!!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful