User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 743 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 62 out of 743

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 17, 2011
    9
    Thrilling with some great performances, and dazzling visuals and Potters most complex story yet, and definitely the most entertaining of all of the Potters. I give this movie 92% of a good film.
  2. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    My personal favorite in the series and in my opinion the best in the series, it's funnier and has more action, and the story is the best yet, a must see and deserving of nothing less than a perfect 10 not because it's the best Harry Potter, but because it will suck you in, a must see for fans.
  3. Mar 21, 2011
    9
    A near perfect adaptation of the book, and one of my top three Harry Potter movies so far. This movie really set a high point for the franchise back in 2005. And this will probably be the only time Robert Patterson is in a movie that wasn't terrible.
  4. Jul 17, 2011
    9
    This has to be the best Potter film in the series, aside 'Half Blood Prince'. It's not as dreadful as the first two movies, which kinda sucked, and it's not like the 'Prisoner of Azkaban' which is over forced. But you have to give props to the third one, cause it definitely gave the franchise a new spooky, interesting dimension which made the franchise more enjoyable by adding some depthThis has to be the best Potter film in the series, aside 'Half Blood Prince'. It's not as dreadful as the first two movies, which kinda sucked, and it's not like the 'Prisoner of Azkaban' which is over forced. But you have to give props to the third one, cause it definitely gave the franchise a new spooky, interesting dimension which made the franchise more enjoyable by adding some depth to it. In 'Goblet of Fire' there are some scenes that could have been done better, but overall the movie is quite fun, enjoyable and action peaked. Besides, I'm looking forward to 'Deathly Hollows Part II'. I think it will be the best one to date. Expand
  5. Dec 3, 2010
    9
    What's most amazing about Goblet of Fire is the sheer comprehension of the book. If you've ever read the fourth, you know it's a very long read, making it a hard feat when it comes to film translation. Somehow though, everything important seems to come together very nicely, and the inspiring with the combination of catastrophic events unfold nicely here.
  6. Dec 10, 2010
    9
    Not only does this film emphasise how HP has matured, it also shows more invention, action, and romantic, the result of which being probably the second-best film in the series thusfar.
  7. Aug 16, 2010
    10
    This film builds up the tension and energy of Voldemort's arrival so brilliantly and enthusiastically that it's impossible to think anyone didn't love the book as they were filming it. The tasks are incredible to watch and even though I had read the book before I watched the film, I was constantly on pins and needles as I watched Harry struggle. This is probably the best of the series,This film builds up the tension and energy of Voldemort's arrival so brilliantly and enthusiastically that it's impossible to think anyone didn't love the book as they were filming it. The tasks are incredible to watch and even though I had read the book before I watched the film, I was constantly on pins and needles as I watched Harry struggle. This is probably the best of the series, definitely my personal favorite thus far. Expand
  8. Nov 22, 2010
    9
    Mike Newell directs the 4th film from the Harry Potter novels. This is a major improvement from the 3rd movie, while still giving a variety of great intense sequences of action, and a well developed story. It is the most entertaining so far, and proves to be brilliant. I was liking the franchise once again, after the unfortunate downfall of the Prisoner of Azkaban, in my opinion. HarryMike Newell directs the 4th film from the Harry Potter novels. This is a major improvement from the 3rd movie, while still giving a variety of great intense sequences of action, and a well developed story. It is the most entertaining so far, and proves to be brilliant. I was liking the franchise once again, after the unfortunate downfall of the Prisoner of Azkaban, in my opinion. Harry matures and developes more intimate relationships with others, and develops a better understanding of the severity of Lord Voldemort. And so as the characters mature, so does the film, into one of the best directed and produced of the franchise. Expand
  9. Jul 28, 2013
    9
    Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire was the tipping point of the franchise for me. The first two movies were decent but nothing to get overly hyped about. The third one kicked off the darker tone but was seriously overlong. Goblet of Fire is long too but it doesn't feel anywhere near as long as the Prisoner of azkaban. It's a much more exciting and scarier ride than the previous PotterHarry Potter and the Goblet of Fire was the tipping point of the franchise for me. The first two movies were decent but nothing to get overly hyped about. The third one kicked off the darker tone but was seriously overlong. Goblet of Fire is long too but it doesn't feel anywhere near as long as the Prisoner of azkaban. It's a much more exciting and scarier ride than the previous Potter movies. This was the first film in the series to make me think "Wow! We might have something special here after all!" Now that the franchise is finished, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire still ranks among the best potter movies. Expand
  10. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    Goblet of Fire has something that no other Harry Potter film before it had: a deep, dark and moving tone with heart. As well as the book, the plot is very dark and simple with the performances really showing how the plot was executed. The visuals are on par with Prisoner of Azkaban and really show how magical the spells really are. This is one of the better additions the series and oneGoblet of Fire has something that no other Harry Potter film before it had: a deep, dark and moving tone with heart. As well as the book, the plot is very dark and simple with the performances really showing how the plot was executed. The visuals are on par with Prisoner of Azkaban and really show how magical the spells really are. This is one of the better additions the series and one that show loads of magic. Expand
  11. Feb 16, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Man, oh man! Now this is where things really start to get interesting! Hello, everyone! I am DramaStorm. And this is my review for the fourth Harry Potter Movie: Goblet of Fire. Well, if anyone says this movie is overrated, then they have not watched it enough times yet! With a deep and dark plot and maybe even a few sub-plots, you can't go wrong if you want to watch a random film one dark and stormy night. The best part of this movie: When Harry Potter becomes one of two Champions of Hogwarts. Imagine his shock when his name flew out of the Goblet of Fire! The worst part of this film: When Cedric Diggory was killed. It really would have been nice to have him become a long-time friend of Harry and his friends. Really, I mean it. Ta-Ta! Expand
  12. Jun 18, 2011
    9
    Easily one of the best in the Potter series, Goblet of Fire is a fantastic movie. The entire casts acting has improved since the first film, and the characters now have a certain depth. Ralph Fiennes is fantastically evil as Voldemort, and whoever plays Mad- Eye Moody does so perfectly. The music is the most brilliant of the series, and the film is visually dark and satisfying. The mainEasily one of the best in the Potter series, Goblet of Fire is a fantastic movie. The entire casts acting has improved since the first film, and the characters now have a certain depth. Ralph Fiennes is fantastically evil as Voldemort, and whoever plays Mad- Eye Moody does so perfectly. The music is the most brilliant of the series, and the film is visually dark and satisfying. The main problem comes form the differences from the book. Quite a lot is changed or cut out, which may anger some readers. But overall, if you do not think about the book when watching, Goblet of Fire is a fantastic film. Expand
  13. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    its my favorite movie in the series till date... i have seen the first seven.. i liked Newell's style of making this film.. he didn't make this movie as dark and a little boring as its successors.. this film had everything from wonderful cinematography to good performances.. it also had the required amount of humor.. and the end sequences were awesome.. specially the return of the Dark Lord.
  14. Jul 13, 2011
    9
    Taking a step away from the more moody and intimate Prisoner Of Azkaban, Mike Newell instead gives us an immersive and thrilling adventure. There are more characters to deal with and the scope is much bigger than any of the previous films. This film is a joy to watch with lots of thrills and humor to be had. The return of Voldemort is done well and scary enough as to not frighten littleTaking a step away from the more moody and intimate Prisoner Of Azkaban, Mike Newell instead gives us an immersive and thrilling adventure. There are more characters to deal with and the scope is much bigger than any of the previous films. This film is a joy to watch with lots of thrills and humor to be had. The return of Voldemort is done well and scary enough as to not frighten little children. All the actors once again are top notch in their roles, and the newcomers provide some great moments as well. A lot of fun. Expand
  15. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    This one is darker, more intense and funnier than previous installments. Teenage hormones have taken the forefront at Hogwarts, but so has a dangerous threat. The story and the characters are excellently adapted by Steve Kloves and it's brilliantly acted. I love all the Harry Potter films, but if I had to choose a favorite, Goblet of Fire would be it. 4/4 stars.
  16. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    This movie shows the stresses of growing up, as well as the spirit of bravery. Harry is almost alone for half of the movie but yet he doesn't give up at all. There's no more of that kiddie stuff. This is a true representation of Harry and his future. Yet another 10, Potter!
  17. Jan 11, 2012
    10
    It is funny, creepy, and it has lots of amazing and wonderful action. But it will never get above Prisoner of Azkaban. But I am a huge fan so it was a good film.
  18. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Loved the film's portrayal of the Yule Ball, and the teenage anxiety surrounding it. I was genuinely emotionally moved by Amos Diggory's anguish over the death of his son, and seeing Harry crying along with him augmented the scene's poignancy. No fantasy story is truly complete without some dragons, and the film doles out that particular justice with a truly awesome dragon and a truly awesome battle scene, if not without taking some liberties from the book. All in all, one of the best of the HP films. Expand
  19. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    One of the most better films ever!! This new movie of Harry Potter is really interesting, funny, amazing, incredible, with excellent effects. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire is amazing.
  20. Jun 11, 2013
    9
    This is the one Harry Potter movie that is clearly distinctive from the rest, and that is why it is one of the best of the series. Sensationally atmospheric and skillfully paced.
  21. Aug 14, 2012
    9
    All books and films previous to Goblet of Fire are just setting up the events that take place in this story, that will shape the course of the coming saga. The films now look to be more dark and gritty with a focus on survival and a bitter war between good and evil. The special effects may be back in a large quantity but unlike CoS they are used correctly making epic scenes even more epic.All books and films previous to Goblet of Fire are just setting up the events that take place in this story, that will shape the course of the coming saga. The films now look to be more dark and gritty with a focus on survival and a bitter war between good and evil. The special effects may be back in a large quantity but unlike CoS they are used correctly making epic scenes even more epic. Best HP film yet. Expand
  22. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    Spectacular film. The kids are just as good of actors as the adults now. Oh, I love that trio so, so much! Goblet of Fire takes a more dangerous approach and has a very spectacular and interesting premise. Pure magic for the young & old.
  23. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    This is an amazing movie, first the plot is well done everything you need to know is in the movie even more ( i red the book ), the effects fitted well, then you can really feel the magic in this movie, with the soundtrack amazingly fitting the storyline, the acting was great also, this is one my favorites of the series, Nice Job.
  24. Nov 10, 2012
    9
    One of the darkest entries in the series. The magical feeling is still there, but a new feeling starts to make itself apparent. That would be the feeling of fear. A thrilling film!
  25. Dec 21, 2012
    9
    Goblet of Fire is in my opinion the best written out of all the Harry Potters besides maybe the last one. The adrenaline and excitement race in this one. Not to mention the best ending to any of the first 4 Harry Potters. All in All if your looking for excitement this film gives it to you.
  26. May 10, 2013
    10
    First of all the PG-13 is accurate, it is darkest and the scariest Harry Potter and his friends are now teens (romance alert) and there are defiantly so magical scenes with dark potion added to them, it is a fun yet entertaining ride that absolutely deserves a 10! Meant for teens
  27. Mar 28, 2013
    9
    Superb action! Amazing story! "Goblet of Fire" is for sure a great experience! If you watched the previous parts, you're gonna love this one too! My final score is 9/10, near perfect!
  28. Mar 15, 2014
    10
    At first I thought the movie was going to be lame. It started of with weak diolouge and then after 20 minutes in...I realized I was actually leaning forward in my seat with anticipation. This movie is awesome! I have to say the the Death Eaters, and the plot around them was awesome! The Dark Lord's raising a duel with Harry in the graveyard was stunning! This movie certainly had a creepAt first I thought the movie was going to be lame. It started of with weak diolouge and then after 20 minutes in...I realized I was actually leaning forward in my seat with anticipation. This movie is awesome! I have to say the the Death Eaters, and the plot around them was awesome! The Dark Lord's raising a duel with Harry in the graveyard was stunning! This movie certainly had a creep factor at parts...which is great for the HP frachise! Expand
  29. Jun 14, 2013
    9
    Goblet of Fire is not the favorite Harry Potter movie but my impression on me, especially the script.

    One thing we can never deny the script Goblet of Fire is better, because we know that adapting a book of over 400 pages is not easy. The trail did not please me much (missed impacted) the effects are wonderful as the dragon is imagined Ralph (Voldemort) was the right choice for the
    Goblet of Fire is not the favorite Harry Potter movie but my impression on me, especially the script.

    One thing we can never deny the script Goblet of Fire is better, because we know that adapting a book of over 400 pages is not easy. The trail did not please me much (missed impacted) the effects are wonderful as the dragon is imagined Ralph (Voldemort) was the right choice for the villain, not denying that Voldemort makeup is beautiful .'s from that movie that things change, now no longer a child, evil takes over and the film begin to get darker and Mike managed to arrive at the right point of change
    Expand
  30. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire is visually stunning, dark and incredibly mature, with scary moments and romantic blooms, the PG-13 is accurate, and the story is thrilling, scary and dark, but still it is outstanding and awesome.
  31. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    While not completely like the source material, it still keeps the same feel of the book- the intensity, the action, the fantasy (everything you can expect from a Harry Potter film). The film gets darker but continues on with its great acting, amazing visuals, great music (while John Williams is sadly missed, Patrick Doyle really steps it up and does not disappoint), set design andWhile not completely like the source material, it still keeps the same feel of the book- the intensity, the action, the fantasy (everything you can expect from a Harry Potter film). The film gets darker but continues on with its great acting, amazing visuals, great music (while John Williams is sadly missed, Patrick Doyle really steps it up and does not disappoint), set design and direction. This film is another grand slam success in the Harry Potter series. Expand
  32. Dec 8, 2013
    9
    I loved this movie so much, I almost forgot that it was almost 3 hoirs long. This film will deliver you everything gou can expect from a Harry Potter plus better stuff that I never expected from an HP film.
  33. Oct 18, 2014
    9
    Harry and friends are back in this fourth installment of the series when the stakes are risen as the Triwizard Tournament comes to Hogwarts and Harry is forced to compete in it.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. The best one yet.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    Last year's "The Prisoner of Azkaban" seemed dark, but this excellent fourth film derived from J.K. Rowling's books is the darkest "Potter" yet, intense enough to warrant a PG-13 rating.
  3. Reviewed by: Angie Errigo
    60
    Terrific effects and considerable charm, but, once again, you can't help wishing the filmmakers had been bolder with the adaptation.