Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: November 18, 2005
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 947 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
762
Mixed:
110
Negative:
75
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
LouisApr 11, 2006
I read only the first HP book and found it 1-dimensional and predictable. This movie is not different. In most books/movies the "twist" is that one of the professors turns out to be the baddy. Special effects are entertaining though. But I read only the first HP book and found it 1-dimensional and predictable. This movie is not different. In most books/movies the "twist" is that one of the professors turns out to be the baddy. Special effects are entertaining though. But otherwise dull. A children's story does not need to be so shallow. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AlisterL.May 17, 2006
Some are calling this the best of the series. Some are even suggesting it was a good movie. What I saw was yet another turgid, effects heavy attempt at bringing spirited, energetic children's literature to the silver screen. The only Some are calling this the best of the series. Some are even suggesting it was a good movie. What I saw was yet another turgid, effects heavy attempt at bringing spirited, energetic children's literature to the silver screen. The only thing that separates 'Goblet of Fire' from penniless amateur community hall drama (other than the uninspiring digital effects) is Brendan Gleeson's enjoyable turn as 'Mad Eye' Moody. Note to Hollywood producers- when casting child actors, how about going for the ones that can actually act (yes, I'm also looking at you, Narnians)? The series' trio of adolescent protagonists sure are pretty but boy do they lack the chops to carry these characters off. If I was Emma Watson's acting coach, I would have long ago given up on attempting to explain that wiggling one's eyebrows continuously does not convey any emotion that exists in the spectrum of the human psyche, and simply have a truckload of Botox shot straight between those furry jumping caterpillars to keep the damn things still. Grint and Radcliffe are obviously trying hard but their lack of real talent for the craft is painfully apparent, and the real actors in the piece: Alan Rickman, Maggie Smith, Gary Oldman (and the list goes on and on) are relegated so far into the periphery their parts would be more aptly described as cameos. And yes, a book stuffed so thickly with story, subplot and character development is difficult to adapt, and it was done here as best I think it could be. I just couldn't get past how awful and forced the acting was, and how much time was spent dwelling on romantic subplots that have no resolution until the next installment of the series. The movie's already nearly three hours, do we really need 10 minutes of Harry and Ron moping in the corner at the yule ball? All in all I have to say that the entire series is a disaster, and the rollicking good time of the books has been clipped down to a flashy, stilted highlights package that looks nowhere near as impressive as it did in my imagination, which is where it should have stayed. Go back to the library kids, this sound-stage facsimile adds nothing to the mythos. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatherineJul 23, 2006
Best of the whole series!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Guy!May 15, 2007
I loved this movie, best one yet. It was suprisingly close to the book for it's length, although it cut out some vital parts, but the book is over 400 pgs, so we can't expect them to put in everything. Something I really despise I loved this movie, best one yet. It was suprisingly close to the book for it's length, although it cut out some vital parts, but the book is over 400 pgs, so we can't expect them to put in everything. Something I really despise though is that people accuse the whole series of promoting Satanism. WAKE UP PEOPLE!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AndrewN.Jul 13, 2007
Goblet of fire turned out to be pretty much what i expected it to be. An average book to movie adaptation. It also could not live up to the standard of the book, just like the previous films. Still this is definitely the strongest Potter Goblet of fire turned out to be pretty much what i expected it to be. An average book to movie adaptation. It also could not live up to the standard of the book, just like the previous films. Still this is definitely the strongest Potter movie yet. The set pieces were amazing and i thought that the overall tone of the film was much darker than previous Potters. The quality of the acting is improving as the actors themselves become more mature. However the film is just found wanting in so many areas. Without doubt the biggest problem are the numerous episodes missing from the film. The book is over 500 pages so the film would have to be condensed, but these compromises make the film seem rushed and its unsatisfactory that the film feels like two-thirds the experience of the book. There are other elements overlooked too. Why is it that Snape (Alan Rickman), who is one of the best characters, plays such an insignificant role in the film. Fred and George don't have any of the wit and humor that they portray in the book. There were some fantastic scenes in the film, such as the third task and Harry's confrontation with Voldemort. Sadly though these scenes were too short and overall were few and far between. For those who have not read the book, this is certainly a very enjoyable watch. For the many who have read the book, the film will only feel like a compromised adaptation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JanhaviD.Nov 12, 2005
Awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
J.T.Nov 17, 2005
The best so far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JanhaviD.Nov 18, 2005
Awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveD.Nov 18, 2005
GREAT!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanC.Nov 18, 2005
Quite simply the best Potter film made yet and almost impossible to beat. Most likely will not be beaten unless the next three are near perfect adaptions of the books and stand alone as films that keep you riveted. There was one part to this Quite simply the best Potter film made yet and almost impossible to beat. Most likely will not be beaten unless the next three are near perfect adaptions of the books and stand alone as films that keep you riveted. There was one part to this film where I exited it and realized I was in a cinema. And that is when I realized I had one cup of coffee too many and had to upset myself just after the first task. But just as instantly I was transported back by everything on screen which was so riveting from VERY START to VERY FINISH I had only that moment of realization. Even though I realized I had to visit the room outside I decided it best to stay and the reason was because I forgot completely about it two seconds later. The fact of the matter is that I came into the cinema way excited and was, as my friend termed it, 'Geeking Out' as Patrick Doyle's music began and from that moment on I was in the hands of Mike Newell; and what astonishing hands they are. Not once did I feel unhappy about anything on screen. And only one line truly was cheesy and it's so close to the beginning that it's forgotten two scenes later as the action unfolds. Interestingly I did not cry for a certain death until that person's father began shouting, 'THAT'S MY SON!' I practically bawled and all I could do to prevent myself from bursting out as the loudest one in the cinema was to grip the seat tightly and bite my lip as the tears flowed freely. And in truth I was not the only one crying as everyone around me save for the TOUGHEST and GRUFFEST man who was only there to please his wife and two younglings began allowing the tears to flow. This was the first film since The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King that I gave a standing ovation and the feeling was shared by most of the crowd even though some of them I'm told almost bolted for the washrooms. I had for over a year now been trying to force people to believe in me that 'Prisoner of Azkaban' was the best of the series and that it was a great film in the cinematic standpoint and in the fact that everything TRULY, and I stress TRULY by Jo's standards, was there. Jo gave a giant stamp of approval to the third film, but I must say that for all the love I had for that one, nothing could have prepared me, not even having my favourite British actor Ralph Fiennes playing the part that I, from the reading of the book, claimed for him, for the edge-of-you-seat-excitement and downright mastery that was 'Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire' 10 out of 10 an almost truly perfect film in every way. Not since Return of the King have I given a ten out of ten to a fantasy film or action/thriller. Now I can say Harry Potter has proven its worth in the world of film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Nov 18, 2005
The only problem with this movie was that it seemed rushed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillW.Nov 18, 2005
Enjoyable film, but a bit too fast-paced and many great characters (and major ones to boot) barely get any screen time. Unfortunately (and admittedly), Michael Gambon has never read the books and us a complete flop as Dumbledore, rudley and Enjoyable film, but a bit too fast-paced and many great characters (and major ones to boot) barely get any screen time. Unfortunately (and admittedly), Michael Gambon has never read the books and us a complete flop as Dumbledore, rudley and loudly pushing his way around the movie, which is the last thing the character would ever do.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SammyNov 18, 2005
As much as I love Harry Potter, I have to say this movie was disappointing. It is mediocre at best. There are so many changed and left out parts. Also, the moviehas so many jokes and tries to make a dark story more light hearted. The book is As much as I love Harry Potter, I have to say this movie was disappointing. It is mediocre at best. There are so many changed and left out parts. Also, the moviehas so many jokes and tries to make a dark story more light hearted. The book is great, the movie is far from it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonydannieNov 18, 2005
The Best Yet!! I have not read all of the books. Last one I read was Chamber Of Secrets. But I have been following the film versions and enjoy them more and more. This One In particular. Brendan Gleeson's addioton to the cast Was The Best Yet!! I have not read all of the books. Last one I read was Chamber Of Secrets. But I have been following the film versions and enjoy them more and more. This One In particular. Brendan Gleeson's addioton to the cast Was superb. This guy's acting still impresses me each time I see him on the screen. Great visuals and score! Though I did miss Williams' Score. He is Still the master. Go see this one. One of the year's best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackS.Nov 19, 2005
Very good film. Although it wasn't directly on the book's plot, it stands by itself. All the important stuff can be added in the fifth film, although I don't envy Kloves for writing the screenplay for that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BCNov 19, 2005
I was quite disappointed with the film. It didn't flow smoothly at all. I felt as if the director pasted together several scenes in order to cover plot points without transitioning them well. More importantly, a great deal from the book I was quite disappointed with the film. It didn't flow smoothly at all. I felt as if the director pasted together several scenes in order to cover plot points without transitioning them well. More importantly, a great deal from the book is left out of the film. No mention of some characters (e.g.- Dobby, Ludo Bagman), no time at the Dursley's and only the team intros for the Quidditch World Cup final left me feeling shortchanged. Moreover, the parts from the book that do make it into the film are often incorrect. Despite all that, what irked me the most is Michael Gambon's portrayal of Dumbledore. He simply is not accurate to the Dumbledore of the books. Richard Harris was spot on as Dubledore and I sorely miss him in the role. On the positive side, Ray Finnes was great as Voldemort and seeing the magic from the books come to life on film is always entertaining. But for me, this is the poorest of the 4 films. I hope Order of the Phoenix is better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BrianG.Nov 19, 2005
Major, major disappointment. The plotline jumps around so much, it is hard to keep up, even for someone like me who has read all the Harry Potter books. For instance, the novel leads up to the Quidditch World Cup, all the way to the Major, major disappointment. The plotline jumps around so much, it is hard to keep up, even for someone like me who has read all the Harry Potter books. For instance, the novel leads up to the Quidditch World Cup, all the way to the announcement "Let the game begin", then it completely skips the match and goes on to another scene. Whilist I know that the book is rather large to be captured into a movie, I believe a better version could have been produced. Hell, introduce two movies if necessary, but sacrificing so much plot for airtime is no good for future movie goes (5th, 6th and 7th movies) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MattH.Nov 21, 2005
I simply can't believe this is getting such good reviews. It was at BEST a mediocre movie. It felt clumsily filmed and hastily put together. There's no time for story or character as they try to cram plot-point after plot-point I simply can't believe this is getting such good reviews. It was at BEST a mediocre movie. It felt clumsily filmed and hastily put together. There's no time for story or character as they try to cram plot-point after plot-point with no introduction or explanation at all. They commit unforgiveable story errors that seem to be forgiven due to the fact that so many have read the book and know what's going on. I haven't read any of the books, but have enjoyed the movies (especially Azkaban). I had to keep leaning over to my friends who'd read it to know just what the hell was happening. Don't believe the hype. Goblet of Fire is a Goblet of Poo. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WAKOJAKONov 21, 2005
Not Rowlings best book and not the best movie of the franchise, but definitely a worthy successor Cuaron's visually arresting and poignant Prisoner of Azkaban. The only movie I've seen this year that I couldn't wait to see Not Rowlings best book and not the best movie of the franchise, but definitely a worthy successor Cuaron's visually arresting and poignant Prisoner of Azkaban. The only movie I've seen this year that I couldn't wait to see again. I only wish there would have been more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattA.Nov 21, 2005
In my opinion, this film is not only the best Potter film yet, but it stands up against any other memorable fantasy movie ever, including the LOTR trilogy. Great acting, perfect pacing and direction, superb script-this has it all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
KevinG.Nov 21, 2005
When the movie was over I was still in my seat waiting for the climax. It wasn't until the credits started rolling that I actually believed the movie was over. I love the Harry Potter movies but this one was very disappointing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
M.D.Nov 21, 2005
Finally, a movie for literate individuals. It almost feels like we've finally been rewarded for reading the books.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoshH.Nov 22, 2005
Superb film watch it, its gr8 well acted in most parts and scared quite a few people in the cinema at the end. Thrilling. definitely lives up to the hype.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChelseaNov 22, 2005
I must say i both loved and hated the movie. i adored the book and was terribly dissapointed that many things were not only left out but changed. for one thing, winky the house elf conjured the dark mark, not barty crouch jr. and i wasI must say i both loved and hated the movie. i adored the book and was terribly dissapointed that many things were not only left out but changed. for one thing, winky the house elf conjured the dark mark, not barty crouch jr. and i was dissapointed at the way the end of the world cup was handled: harry falling down and being unconscious until all havoc has been wreaked was really humiliatingly silly. i didn't like dumbledore and his rough treatment of harry. he is supposed to be calm and wise. i didn't like the way the maze part of the tournament was handled...where were the skrewts and giant spiders? and victor krum was not very scary while under the imperius curse. i was dissapointed with voldemort....that scene was so important and it was not very scary. voldemort by the way, is supposed to have red eyes. this may be important later because mrs. norris has red eyes and i have an inkling she is one of the horcruxes. however, i loved the rest of it, have seen it twice and i do happen to like the comic teenage moments. though the dancing bauxbatons and fire conjuring durmstrangs were dumb. i love the awkwardness of the jealousy and anger that harry, ron and hermione show as their relationships grow and are tested. the dragon was awesome. the pensieve is just how i imagined it. hagrid in love was awesome. i only wish they had stuck to the book more, included dobby, winky and more of serius...calmed dumbledore...etc., but i have to keep telling myself "this is one interpretation of the book". ah, well...maybe cuaron will be asked to direct the last one (his version of azkaban was beautiful and spot on). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElenaP.Nov 22, 2005
Best Movie Yet In This Magnificent Series!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SangheeJ.Nov 22, 2005
None of the brilliance of the original books, but it was definetly the best of the three. The humor factor distracted me and made me laugh, so I didn't dwell on the negative during the movie, which made it much more enjoyable. Definetly None of the brilliance of the original books, but it was definetly the best of the three. The humor factor distracted me and made me laugh, so I didn't dwell on the negative during the movie, which made it much more enjoyable. Definetly more entertaining than the previous three, and a good movie. However, there were many characters left out, such as Winky, Ludo Bagman, Dobby, and the whole tickle-pear portrait was gone as well. there were major differences, but it was, as I said, much better than the last ones. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
CriticsRMadNov 23, 2005
Dumbledore was horrible. What the heck are they trying to do to the character? Otherwise, I was satisfied with the movie. It was definitely watchable. A few changes from the book and plots left out, but hey, the book is HUGE. They can't Dumbledore was horrible. What the heck are they trying to do to the character? Otherwise, I was satisfied with the movie. It was definitely watchable. A few changes from the book and plots left out, but hey, the book is HUGE. They can't possibly be expected to put everything in. Nice to watch in the theater, but if you can wait, a TV/DVD would work too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnneB.Nov 23, 2005
I love how this movie shows the focus on relationships instead of just the magical world.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DondoV.Nov 24, 2005
A very intense and well made adventure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeN.Nov 24, 2005
What this movie needed was less action and more exposition. Seriously. There are, after all, worse things than having exposition in a movie. Such as leaving your viewers with no friggin idea what the hell is happening. And this is pretty What this movie needed was less action and more exposition. Seriously. There are, after all, worse things than having exposition in a movie. Such as leaving your viewers with no friggin idea what the hell is happening. And this is pretty much what happened to me in the final twenty minutes of this film. I had a few moments of confusion early on, but I was pretty much following along until the final maze sequence, where events start moving very fast, nothing is explained and then, as a final, crowning insult, Harry Potter actually asks his school headmaster exactly what happened (took the words right out of my mouth, Harry) and, in reply, the old Professor mumbles two words --- in Latin--- and that, apparently, is supposed to explain that. Now, keep in mind that I have read Goblet of Fire, albeit some time ago. And, strangely enough, I've read Latin as well. Despite these facts however, I did not find that a short mumbled Latin phrase constituted an intelligable explanation of the end of this picture. My daughter has subsequently explaned it to me and I now understand it (I guess). I think, however, that it would have been bette r to make the story clear without forcing people to resort to an external gloss. That said, the movie is extremely beautiful and, more than any of the previous films, manages to make the school seem alive, perhaps simply because many more extras are employed. The CGI is superb and the magical effects generally manage the important trick of not looking like effects. The acting is up to or above previous standards but everything does seem a little rushed. In particular the major villian's return at the end of the film unwinds almost comically fast. A villian has to be given time to generate some sense of.... evil. All that Fiennes generates is a sense of being in a hurry. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianF.Nov 24, 2005
The best of the series. With performances becoming charming and sharp, the pacing is also far ahead of the previous films. Action packed, the movie simply offers the most bang for your buck this Winter Season. A multitude of rich characters The best of the series. With performances becoming charming and sharp, the pacing is also far ahead of the previous films. Action packed, the movie simply offers the most bang for your buck this Winter Season. A multitude of rich characters and twists in the plot keep things freshly interesting! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BluescreenNov 24, 2005
As someone who hasn't read the books and isn't much of a Harry Potter fan, I didn't enjoy this installment as much as I did the third film. However it was enjoyable and believe this film would entertain most people.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DanB.Nov 25, 2005
I rather liked it but am left with a feeling that it was really... pedestrian. It's the only word I can come up with to describe the feeling, like there were no grace notes, like everything aside from the subject matter was done just I rather liked it but am left with a feeling that it was really... pedestrian. It's the only word I can come up with to describe the feeling, like there were no grace notes, like everything aside from the subject matter was done just adequately well, and it's only the subject, culled from the books, that is good enough to save the movie from being rather bleh. But that's just me being picky, like I said, it's not bad at all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LindyC.Nov 26, 2005
One of the best films of the year. A surprising return to the series from Mike Newell, the suspense and mystery work the best. The perfromances by the leading actors has become much stronger, and the supporting cast is just as in tune as One of the best films of the year. A surprising return to the series from Mike Newell, the suspense and mystery work the best. The perfromances by the leading actors has become much stronger, and the supporting cast is just as in tune as before. No time was lost in the story, as this is easily the most direct and to the point adaptation yet. A must view! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DarthMoonJohnNov 26, 2005
The movie looks good,it has very well directed scenes but it feels like the events arent so connected to each other.The Voldemore scene was the best. It lacks depth.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JimG.Nov 27, 2005
The best book so far in the series is translated as well as seems possible. The intensity of key scenes in the book is very difficult to capture, and given the limits of time they seem less intense here and fly by quickly. But what is there The best book so far in the series is translated as well as seems possible. The intensity of key scenes in the book is very difficult to capture, and given the limits of time they seem less intense here and fly by quickly. But what is there keeps one glued to the screen for the entire time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SeamusNov 28, 2005
Good but where was the quiddich match?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
NickG.Dec 11, 2005
Oh come on... this harry potter lacked all the magic and excitement that the others had. All the acting was delivered like a nativity play. The main plot thread was terrible and based on a series of spectator events that no one could watch. Oh come on... this harry potter lacked all the magic and excitement that the others had. All the acting was delivered like a nativity play. The main plot thread was terrible and based on a series of spectator events that no one could watch. And guess what? for the 4th time in 4 movies/books the good guy turns out to be the bad guy. Do you all really buy this? Does some nice cg dragons really get an average of 81? The opening 5 mins and the voldermort scene were great but the other 2 and a half hours were total rubbish. Sorry. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LynnKDec 11, 2005
One of the most magical and enthralling tales in cinema! A big surprise and upward installment from the previous three. The tone has been changed and altered from the earlier films to a blend of humor and action that very few movies get One of the most magical and enthralling tales in cinema! A big surprise and upward installment from the previous three. The tone has been changed and altered from the earlier films to a blend of humor and action that very few movies get right, let alone many from this year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielC.Dec 13, 2005
Yes, this movie has a certain "slideshow" feel to it, and if you haven't read the books (Why you would go to a movie about a book without reading it is beyond me anyway) you won't understand parts of it. Besides this, this movies Yes, this movie has a certain "slideshow" feel to it, and if you haven't read the books (Why you would go to a movie about a book without reading it is beyond me anyway) you won't understand parts of it. Besides this, this movies is two and a half hours of enjoyment. The action scenes were done to perfection, and you can really tell Newell's influence in the romantic scenes. Ron's complaining and dress robes left the cinema in stiches while you could feel for Harry's awkwardness in asking Cho (Kaite Leung, who is very good looking) to go to the Yule Ball was felt by most men in the room. Many potter-geeks wont like it becuase it isn't absolutely correct to the book, but GoF was 600+ pages long, so something had to go. In all, a pretty satisfying movie, but don't go into the movie expecting a well constructed drama with established character development, expect a good time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SueGDec 14, 2005
Dumb. It's a teenie-bopper movie with wands. The others were great, but this one was long and dull.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexDec 17, 2005
Best one yet i can't wait for the next magical films! i'd rate this 10000000000 if i could.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeethJ.Dec 17, 2005
The movie was a bit more harsh and realistic this time around...Mike Newell has done an excellent job reducing that book into just 157 minutes....but many important parts of the book were missing.....all in all the best movie of the harry The movie was a bit more harsh and realistic this time around...Mike Newell has done an excellent job reducing that book into just 157 minutes....but many important parts of the book were missing.....all in all the best movie of the harry potter franchise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
alexl.Dec 18, 2005
I loved it and it was not scary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BobR.Dec 18, 2005
I think this movie was great! The only thing i don't like is how much got cut off from the book. No S.P.E.W, no Dobby, no Winky, no houselves at all, it never shows Sirius except the part when he's in the fire place, the list keeps I think this movie was great! The only thing i don't like is how much got cut off from the book. No S.P.E.W, no Dobby, no Winky, no houselves at all, it never shows Sirius except the part when he's in the fire place, the list keeps gping. But still it is an amazing movie and you should watch it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WallaDec 18, 2005
Kick ass...sweet...Voldemort looks like the head of Metacritic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
alyaa.Dec 22, 2005
Wow..this movie is so cool.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DrewH.Dec 23, 2005
Good but can you really compare it to the book, i feel bad for people who watch these movies and dont read the books, they are missing out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EclairSDec 25, 2005
Very, very entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnM.Dec 31, 2005
Faithful to the book, for the most part. In the name of literacy, PLEASE pick up the book and read it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NoahB.Dec 11, 2006
This movie was absolutely terrible. My problem with this movie is not that it didn't stick to the book although I did love the book. My problem with this movie was that it destroyed all the characters and any sort of character This movie was absolutely terrible. My problem with this movie is not that it didn't stick to the book although I did love the book. My problem with this movie was that it destroyed all the characters and any sort of character development, had numerous plot-holes which were certainly not present in the book (Where the deuce did Barty Crouch Jr. come from. They certainly didn't explain how he got out of azkaban). They utterly destroyed Albus Dumbledore's character. The character of Dumbledore is very calm and collected old and wise, but never rash and gruff. In the movie when Harry's name comes out of the goblet of fire, Dumbledore shakes Harry violently and smashes him into a bunch of trophies. The main argument defending the inconsistencies with the book or just things that generally are not explained or the lack of character development is that the book is over 700 pages long and needs to fit into a movie. However so much time was wasted with useless and boring sequences, such as the huge focus on the Yule ball and the ridiculously long action sequences such as the scene in which the dragon chases Harry. I'm tired of writing about this, but I have a billion more reasons why this movie sucked so much when it could have been so good!!!!! ARRRG!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JonLDec 15, 2007
Doesn't handle the angst as well as it should, but otherwise another finely crafted and thrilling build on the series as a whole.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GoldenEye16Aug 21, 2010
A very good and exciting movie that goes by the book reasonably well. It was really fast-paced and there was loads of action. However I wish two things better. First, the maze for the third task did not have any of the obstacles orA very good and exciting movie that goes by the book reasonably well. It was really fast-paced and there was loads of action. However I wish two things better. First, the maze for the third task did not have any of the obstacles or creatures from the book. Why take that out and put in really nothing is kind of stupid. Also, I really wish that they had Voldemort with his hood on like the book covers/illustrations. It really looks cooler that way and more menacing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
GavGav96Dec 10, 2010
Not only does this film emphasise how HP has matured, it also shows more invention, action, and romantic, the result of which being probably the second-best film in the series thusfar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
nboley08Aug 16, 2010
This film builds up the tension and energy of Voldemort's arrival so brilliantly and enthusiastically that it's impossible to think anyone didn't love the book as they were filming it. The tasks are incredible to watch and even though I hadThis film builds up the tension and energy of Voldemort's arrival so brilliantly and enthusiastically that it's impossible to think anyone didn't love the book as they were filming it. The tasks are incredible to watch and even though I had read the book before I watched the film, I was constantly on pins and needles as I watched Harry struggle. This is probably the best of the series, definitely my personal favorite thus far. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
sreekiranFeb 10, 2011
movie is good and decent. the thrill ride of 3 competitions are really exciting. one of the better movies of harry potter saga. the movie could"nt get 8 or 9 due to its length and dragged first half.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SchroederRockFeb 13, 2014
Where the Prisoner of Azkaban saw a transition process from lighter fare and youth appeal, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire steps into an obviously-darker world where the student of Hogwarts begin to deal with realities that are yearsWhere the Prisoner of Azkaban saw a transition process from lighter fare and youth appeal, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire steps into an obviously-darker world where the student of Hogwarts begin to deal with realities that are years beyond them, mostly due to the growing influence of Lord Voldemort. The result is the best Harry Potter yet - one that will rope in more mature audiences while still remaining somewhat enjoyable for the younger viewers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
asylumspadezNov 25, 2011
What you see in this film is something you dont see much in the other films, The characters growing up. You see the characters deal with the problems of growing up and that is something I rather enjoyed. The acting was ok. The older membersWhat you see in this film is something you dont see much in the other films, The characters growing up. You see the characters deal with the problems of growing up and that is something I rather enjoyed. The acting was ok. The older members of the cast were great while the younger cast did over-act quite a bit and I didnt enjoy them as much as the others.

While the film (that runs nearly 3 hours) takes a toll on you while you watch it and can get a bit boring at times, The ending more then makes up for it (The ending is easily the best part of the film). Still though, Its an enjoyable film and one of the best in the series.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Film_Fanatic_15Nov 22, 2010
Mike Newell directs the 4th film from the Harry Potter novels. This is a major improvement from the 3rd movie, while still giving a variety of great intense sequences of action, and a well developed story. It is the most entertaining so far,Mike Newell directs the 4th film from the Harry Potter novels. This is a major improvement from the 3rd movie, while still giving a variety of great intense sequences of action, and a well developed story. It is the most entertaining so far, and proves to be brilliant. I was liking the franchise once again, after the unfortunate downfall of the Prisoner of Azkaban, in my opinion. Harry matures and developes more intimate relationships with others, and develops a better understanding of the severity of Lord Voldemort. And so as the characters mature, so does the film, into one of the best directed and produced of the franchise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TokyochuchuJul 28, 2013
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire was the tipping point of the franchise for me. The first two movies were decent but nothing to get overly hyped about. The third one kicked off the darker tone but was seriously overlong. Goblet of Fire isHarry Potter and the Goblet of Fire was the tipping point of the franchise for me. The first two movies were decent but nothing to get overly hyped about. The third one kicked off the darker tone but was seriously overlong. Goblet of Fire is long too but it doesn't feel anywhere near as long as the Prisoner of azkaban. It's a much more exciting and scarier ride than the previous Potter movies. This was the first film in the series to make me think "Wow! We might have something special here after all!" Now that the franchise is finished, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire still ranks among the best potter movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
NytroxJul 17, 2011
personally, the worst of the whole "Harry Potter" series, which is a shame, this chapter doesnt represent part of the saga,but just something completely apart, and the romance scene are too many and just plain. Sure had his own good specialpersonally, the worst of the whole "Harry Potter" series, which is a shame, this chapter doesnt represent part of the saga,but just something completely apart, and the romance scene are too many and just plain. Sure had his own good special effects and im always impressed by them, but they just dropped out the storyline this time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AlnORTIZJul 11, 2011
Goblet of Fire has something that no other Harry Potter film before it had: a deep, dark and moving tone with heart. As well as the book, the plot is very dark and simple with the performances really showing how the plot was executed. TheGoblet of Fire has something that no other Harry Potter film before it had: a deep, dark and moving tone with heart. As well as the book, the plot is very dark and simple with the performances really showing how the plot was executed. The visuals are on par with Prisoner of Azkaban and really show how magical the spells really are. This is one of the better additions the series and one that show loads of magic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DramaStormFeb 16, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Man, oh man! Now this is where things really start to get interesting! Hello, everyone! I am DramaStorm. And this is my review for the fourth Harry Potter Movie: Goblet of Fire. Well, if anyone says this movie is overrated, then they have not watched it enough times yet! With a deep and dark plot and maybe even a few sub-plots, you can't go wrong if you want to watch a random film one dark and stormy night. The best part of this movie: When Harry Potter becomes one of two Champions of Hogwarts. Imagine his shock when his name flew out of the Goblet of Fire! The worst part of this film: When Cedric Diggory was killed. It really would have been nice to have him become a long-time friend of Harry and his friends. Really, I mean it. Ta-Ta! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jimmytancrediMay 29, 2011
So many things to comment on this movie, I'll hold me in two, one is the soundtrack, since I failed to mention the three previous films, and I love so much. We also have a change of director, this being the first Briton to take the saga.So many things to comment on this movie, I'll hold me in two, one is the soundtrack, since I failed to mention the three previous films, and I love so much. We also have a change of director, this being the first Briton to take the saga. Talking about the soundtrack, I love that John Williams did, but this film surpasses it be so... The arrival of Patrick Doyle has only increased my devotion, I confess that this change was great, John Williams was great, but there was something missing... What about Mike Newell, the first Briton to direct a film of the Harry Potter saga, a good choice, everything works, the rush is visible, noting that the possibility of division into two movies, the book is huge, had already been contemplated in with various things out in the book that only you can find the answers. Even so, Mike Newell managed to hold the bar, showing all that should be showing the Quidditch World Cup, Triwizard Tournament, the Yule Ball and the return of the Dark Lord, despite the ludicrous speed, I was thrilled with everything, everything, every Following is wonderful! The big problem is the same speed, should have more time each event of this magnitude. And if he had abused a little more time, he took the place still held by the Prisoner of Azkaban, the best film ever made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AtTheMoviesJun 18, 2011
Easily one of the best in the Potter series, Goblet of Fire is a fantastic movie. The entire casts acting has improved since the first film, and the characters now have a certain depth. Ralph Fiennes is fantastically evil as Voldemort, andEasily one of the best in the Potter series, Goblet of Fire is a fantastic movie. The entire casts acting has improved since the first film, and the characters now have a certain depth. Ralph Fiennes is fantastically evil as Voldemort, and whoever plays Mad- Eye Moody does so perfectly. The music is the most brilliant of the series, and the film is visually dark and satisfying. The main problem comes form the differences from the book. Quite a lot is changed or cut out, which may anger some readers. But overall, if you do not think about the book when watching, Goblet of Fire is a fantastic film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
vivekthegameJul 13, 2011
its my favorite movie in the series till date... i have seen the first seven.. i liked Newell's style of making this film.. he didn't make this movie as dark and a little boring as its successors.. this film had everything from wonderfulits my favorite movie in the series till date... i have seen the first seven.. i liked Newell's style of making this film.. he didn't make this movie as dark and a little boring as its successors.. this film had everything from wonderful cinematography to good performances.. it also had the required amount of humor.. and the end sequences were awesome.. specially the return of the Dark Lord. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AVCITYJul 13, 2011
Taking a step away from the more moody and intimate Prisoner Of Azkaban, Mike Newell instead gives us an immersive and thrilling adventure. There are more characters to deal with and the scope is much bigger than any of the previous films.Taking a step away from the more moody and intimate Prisoner Of Azkaban, Mike Newell instead gives us an immersive and thrilling adventure. There are more characters to deal with and the scope is much bigger than any of the previous films. This film is a joy to watch with lots of thrills and humor to be had. The return of Voldemort is done well and scary enough as to not frighten little children. All the actors once again are top notch in their roles, and the newcomers provide some great moments as well. A lot of fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
HasrionaJul 20, 2011
An enjoyable, thrilling and alluring entry with better acting than the first three and some captivating debut performances. Itâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CRLJul 27, 2011
When I first saw Goblet of Fire, I probably would have called it the worst of the series. Since then however I've come around and realized why its flaws weren't that bad. As a fan of the books, the first thing that turned me off was howWhen I first saw Goblet of Fire, I probably would have called it the worst of the series. Since then however I've come around and realized why its flaws weren't that bad. As a fan of the books, the first thing that turned me off was how much was cut from this movie. However (unlike Part 2), the director kept the most important parts and managed to piece it together to make it seem like nothing was missing, and now it doesn't feel as bad. The acting, as always, is superb. The special effects are some of the best of the series, and the Ralph Fiennes makes an incredible entrance. It's not the best, but it's not as bad as it could have been. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Potter17Oct 11, 2011
It has a more childish tone when compared to the dark tone of "The Prisoner of Azkaban" but Mike Newell gave a solid adaptation of a very extensive and detailed book. I think this is the last time in the series when a non-reader can reallyIt has a more childish tone when compared to the dark tone of "The Prisoner of Azkaban" but Mike Newell gave a solid adaptation of a very extensive and detailed book. I think this is the last time in the series when a non-reader can really understand the story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
marnee96Dec 28, 2011
This one is darker, more intense and funnier than previous installments. Teenage hormones have taken the forefront at Hogwarts, but so has a dangerous threat. The story and the characters are excellently adapted by Steve Kloves and it'sThis one is darker, more intense and funnier than previous installments. Teenage hormones have taken the forefront at Hogwarts, but so has a dangerous threat. The story and the characters are excellently adapted by Steve Kloves and it's brilliantly acted. I love all the Harry Potter films, but if I had to choose a favorite, Goblet of Fire would be it. 4/4 stars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ZilcellMay 25, 2012
Its most likely not the best Harry Potter, but the action and story are still pretty good after multiple sequels.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
StevenFJul 14, 2013
There is a lot going on in the fourth Harry Potter film, love is in the air, there is a magical wizarding tournament happening in Hogwarts and Harry Potter is beginning his fourth year, Mike Newell certainly has the eye for a set-pieceThere is a lot going on in the fourth Harry Potter film, love is in the air, there is a magical wizarding tournament happening in Hogwarts and Harry Potter is beginning his fourth year, Mike Newell certainly has the eye for a set-piece extravaganza, the new film is brimming with them. But we are also introduced to the darkest tale yet of the ongoing adventure, with the introduction of one of the most frightening characters to appear on screen.
But Harry, played again by the ever growing Daniel Radcliffe, and his ever tolerant friends Ron (Rupert Grint) and Hermione (Emma Watson) have their friendship with the leading man tested to its core when Harry's name is picked from the Goblet of Fire, something only seventeen year olds or over can do, Harry is then a true public enemy within the school as many wonder, including Harry himself, how is name was entered, when Harry says it wasn't him?
As the hostility and suspicion grows around Harry, we can see that this is a very different Potter film than we have seen before, the whole friendly shock and awe of 'this is magic' is gone, and we are shown a very credible threat to Harry and to the wizarding world, we have heard about Death Eaters, and we see them rein terror at the beginning of the film, they are signalling a return to power, a return that we don't have to wait too long to see.
With a large plot and addition of two wizarding schools for the Triwizard Tournament comes a much larger cast, we see the the likes of Snape (Alan Rickman) McGonagall (Maggie Smith) and various other characters make sporadic appearances, but we are introduced to an array of new faces, Viktor Krum (Stanislav Ianevski) a Triwizard 'champion' and Fleur Delacour (Clémence Poésy) the same. We also have Ralph Fiennes and Brendan Gleeson added to the cast. This indeed can be off putting as a reader of the book, simply because of the limited screen time these characters and actors receive, but also for the amount of scenes that obviously had to be removed.
There can be a sense of rush while watching the movie, even though it clocks in at over two and half hours, but when the film hits a high note, it hits it with some force, combining its riveting story with some spectacular special effects, including a frightening and edge of your seat chase through a maze and a fight in the air with a dragon.
Its clear to see how far the franchise, the story and the real life actors involved have come in four years, how much the story has developed into a less child friendly and more gritty approach, but being as faithful as they can to the source material, another epic adventure has been created, and certainly starts quite the interesting chain of events.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jboy2468Nov 22, 2011
This movie shows the stresses of growing up, as well as the spirit of bravery. Harry is almost alone for half of the movie but yet he doesn't give up at all. There's no more of that kiddie stuff. This is a true representation of Harry and hisThis movie shows the stresses of growing up, as well as the spirit of bravery. Harry is almost alone for half of the movie but yet he doesn't give up at all. There's no more of that kiddie stuff. This is a true representation of Harry and his future. Yet another 10, Potter! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DoctorWhoAug 11, 2012
Out of all the Potter movies, this ranks as the worst. while adapting any book there are problems but this can be solved by cutting some side plots to make way for character moments and the main plot. not what they did here which is to say,Out of all the Potter movies, this ranks as the worst. while adapting any book there are problems but this can be solved by cutting some side plots to make way for character moments and the main plot. not what they did here which is to say, cutting most of the main plot and character moments to focus on the side plots. There are some great performances from the main trio and the rest of the main cast working around some truly terrible dialogue that the script gives them. If you haven't read the book you're probably going to be lost. Apparently the explanation given at the end of the book where the entirety of Voldemort's evil scheme is revealed and making some seemingly random events all connected isn't good enough for the movie so most of the plot makes no sense if you haven't read the book. This is the first Movie to feature the brilliant Ralph Fiennes as Voldemort so at least we have that to be thankful for. Also, why is the hair of all the boys so ridiculously long? Could they not afford hairdressers? Too much focus on the side plots, not enough explanation for the main plot and an atrocious script make this the black sheep in an otherwise amazing film series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
spadenxDec 2, 2011
I think its easily the best film in the series so far. The acting is far better then it ever has been in the series and the older cast members have an expanded role as well (which is good). The confrontation at the end of the film is the peakI think its easily the best film in the series so far. The acting is far better then it ever has been in the series and the older cast members have an expanded role as well (which is good). The confrontation at the end of the film is the peak of the film and makes the film well worth watching for that alone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
javis10Jan 11, 2012
It is funny, creepy, and it has lots of amazing and wonderful action. But it will never get above Prisoner of Azkaban. But I am a huge fan so it was a good film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Bruce722Dec 31, 2012
This movie easily has the most changes in terms of book-to-movie out of the four movies thus far. However, while there were many changes, this is also based on an incredibly long book so I totally expected it. Out of the changes, however,This movie easily has the most changes in terms of book-to-movie out of the four movies thus far. However, while there were many changes, this is also based on an incredibly long book so I totally expected it. Out of the changes, however, only one really bugged me. I hated what they did with Dumbledore's character. After Harry's name gets called by the goblet, he goes absolutely berserk in the movie and even shoves Harry. This never even almost happens in the book and is so outside of the character established already that it felt wrong. Nonetheless, if I try and look at it strictly from a moviegoer's perspective, it was probably the best of the movies so far. The acting was better than in the prior three, the plot progressed more smoothly, and the effects seemed better... especially the dragon sequence. While I wish they would've stuck more closely to the great book, they did do it justice. I would say I only deducted 2 points from the 10/10 maximum for the change to Dumbledore's character and for the fact that there seemed to be a couple of points in the movie where I would've missed what was happening if not for having read the book already. It's easy to get ahead of the movie somewhat if you already know the entire story so I might be exaggerating this effect somewhat but I thought it stood out. Still, this was a very good movie and I look forward to finishing the series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Tss5078Dec 2, 2013
Since I got into the Harry Potter series a few months ago, I've been asking people what they think of it. To my surprise, most of them said they stopped after the Prisoner of Azkaban. Personally, I think Azkaban was the best one so far, soSince I got into the Harry Potter series a few months ago, I've been asking people what they think of it. To my surprise, most of them said they stopped after the Prisoner of Azkaban. Personally, I think Azkaban was the best one so far, so why not continue? The unanimous answer was that they didn't really want to see the kids grow up. In the Goblet of Fire, they aren't quite there yet, as in their 4th year at Hogwarts, the kids are 14. The story this time isn't centered around some mysterious artifact or person, but rather a world wide competition of student wizards. The Goblet of Fire decides who the best of the best are, allowing only one student from each school to participate. This film was special, but also lacked some of the intrigue that got us addicted to Harry Potter in the first place. Finally, a Harry Potter film focuses entirely on Harry and we get to see some of the great things that he is supposedly capable of. In fact, Ron and Hairmony's roles amount to little more than bit parts, where as in the other three films, they were all on equal ground. The fact that this was a competition takes something major away from the film. In the Goblet of Fire we aren't introduced to any new artifacts, games, or spells, there really isn't anything here that will amaze you. While it's a small thing, it's an expected thing, that does take something away from the film. What makes up for it is a terrific ending, that has to be seen in order to continue on with the series. For years, I thought Harry Potter was just overrated, pop culture, bull but once I sat down to actually watch it, I came to realize that this series is as magically as the world it portrays. Every one of the first four films has been fantastic and I can't wait to see what the future has in store for the wizards of Hogwarts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AquophisDec 28, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Loved the film's portrayal of the Yule Ball, and the teenage anxiety surrounding it. I was genuinely emotionally moved by Amos Diggory's anguish over the death of his son, and seeing Harry crying along with him augmented the scene's poignancy. No fantasy story is truly complete without some dragons, and the film doles out that particular justice with a truly awesome dragon and a truly awesome battle scene, if not without taking some liberties from the book. All in all, one of the best of the HP films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oxanaAug 28, 2014
Enjoyable (and to the fans even more so I believe). The pace of the movie is the familiar one already set by the previous parts: in the beginning, a threat is declared, but nothing happens before Christmas is safely over.

The characters
Enjoyable (and to the fans even more so I believe). The pace of the movie is the familiar one already set by the previous parts: in the beginning, a threat is declared, but nothing happens before Christmas is safely over.

The characters are angrier and less superficial this time. A lot of tension runs under the skin.

To my delight, there were a lot of short moments with Fred and George Weasley - my current favorites. Severus Snape also had a little part to play, and again, unfolding past events is interesting. There is plenty to tell on that department, but alas, the movies focus on Harry and his young friends.

References to earlier movies are littered around. They might be hard for random viewers to process, but for fans they no doubt bring a lot of joy and a sense of knowledge and familiarity.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobJan 28, 2012
The first thing I really liked about this film is how it had moments (such as Ron and Harry looking for dates) that werent really in the book but are put in to prove its not all about magic, There is a lot of personal things happening asThe first thing I really liked about this film is how it had moments (such as Ron and Harry looking for dates) that werent really in the book but are put in to prove its not all about magic, There is a lot of personal things happening as well. The acting is good ,as expected, and the action is good. I didnt really enjoy the film that much until Voldemort got into the picture, the only good part of the film imo was Harry's entire confrontation with Voldemort. I just couldnt get into it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MegWhiteleyMar 28, 2012
One of the most better films ever!! This new movie of Harry Potter is really interesting, funny, amazing, incredible, with excellent effects. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire is amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeAug 25, 2014
Despite a now annual director change, Harry Potter continues to shine bright. The Goblet of Fire is complex and shows true signs of maturity. The cast has also begun to follow suit. May the greatness continue!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Trev29Jun 11, 2013
This is the one Harry Potter movie that is clearly distinctive from the rest, and that is why it is one of the best of the series. Sensationally atmospheric and skillfully paced.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JrAgujaIsAGleekMay 27, 2014
When I watched it before becoming a Potterhead, this was my favorite HP movie. It still stands today as my favorite, for now.

But it wasn’t the same as before. I was amazed by the story that time before I got a chance to read the book. I
When I watched it before becoming a Potterhead, this was my favorite HP movie. It still stands today as my favorite, for now.

But it wasn’t the same as before. I was amazed by the story that time before I got a chance to read the book. I was impressed with the book more than the movie.

Let me first start by saying about how much it was cut from the source material. I was upset at first, but then I remember how long the book and they cannot extend the movie longer. I understand why a lot of parts have to be cut.

But let me list down some of the things of the chances that I am not okay with because I felt like they’re unnecessary or they’re important to the story.

Hermione hugging Harry Potter before Rita Skeeter gets a chance to take a picture of them for more publicity of the Tri-Wizard Cup.
The scenes where Hermione was training Harry for the first task.
Mrs. Weasley, Dobby and Winky were absent in this movie. Those three characters had important character development, with the last two mentioned having important story development as well.
References of Dementors’ connection with Lord Voldemort is removed.

Despite the numerous cuts, I still enjoyed it. But it’s sad it comes along with the irritation of how many cuts it have to take for the required running time.

I feel like some parts of the movie might not be understandable to viewers who haven’t read the book beforehand. They would make sense to them if they do. This is a common problem for books being adapted into movies, though this problem is (kinda) solved for YA movies such as The Hunger Games and Divergent.

The humor is still retained in the movie which is good because Harry has some quite sassy humor in the books.

They showed Rita Skeeter but she wasn’t featured much in the movie. She is a lot worst when I read the books.

I give props to the scenes where the tasks were held. They were better than what I imagined.

The movie felt a bit of a teenager movie but then again, the characters are growing up and that shows maturity among the characters. This is actually good if you wanted a story about wizardry but it also has a sense of realism.

I like how the tone suddenly became dark in this one. I hope this isn’t an unpopular opinion.

I enjoyed the movie and this remains my favorite Harry Potter movie despite its flaws. I like the book better though, sad to say.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
potatoes351Aug 14, 2012
All books and films previous to Goblet of Fire are just setting up the events that take place in this story, that will shape the course of the coming saga. The films now look to be more dark and gritty with a focus on survival and a bitterAll books and films previous to Goblet of Fire are just setting up the events that take place in this story, that will shape the course of the coming saga. The films now look to be more dark and gritty with a focus on survival and a bitter war between good and evil. The special effects may be back in a large quantity but unlike CoS they are used correctly making epic scenes even more epic. Best HP film yet. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
watithink123May 4, 2012
This was not a movie I really liked but it's at lest watchable for most people. Never had really spesal stuff for me .But you guy's might like it. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire 6.1/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
OfficialNov 1, 2013
"Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire" is the fourth movie in the series and is the most complex and mature yet. Director Mike Newell has improved on the previous films on all edges and has made an excellent violent movie with style and craft.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SpangleAug 6, 2017
Mercifully starting off without including Harry Potter's abusive aunt and uncle, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire marks another director change in the much beloved series. Unfortunately, it also marks the worst entry thus far in theMercifully starting off without including Harry Potter's abusive aunt and uncle, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire marks another director change in the much beloved series. Unfortunately, it also marks the worst entry thus far in the series. At well over two hours, Goblet of Fire finally introduces Lord Voldemort (Ralph Fiennes) in his physical form, but after two hours of watching quidditch and the triwizard tournament, the audience should not be blamed for begging for Voldemort to be merciful and kill them already. As the angst-ridden middle child of the franchise, Goblet of Fire is a film that takes too long to figure out what it really wants to become - the introduction of Voldemort - and has to beat around the bush for far too long to actually get there. Utilizing obvious tactics to draw Harry into a position to meet Voldemort face-to-face - entering his name into the Goblet of Fire and then letting him win - the film builds up in a shorter way than the rest of the series previously had. Unfortunately, the stage was already set so beating around the bush for two hours only winds up feeling like a justification for the film existing at all by providing passable entertainment as we wait for to finally get to the good bits.

Starting off at the Quidditch World Cup, this entry's cheese is introduced early and often with the goofy and childish introductions of the competing teams. With poor special effects completing the moment, the film's lackluster and overlong traveling to and watching of the match starts the film off on a deeply sour note. Director Mike Newell does rescue these moments, however, with the dark hints at what is to come. After Voldemort's Death Eaters tear through the crowd and burn everything in sight, the film takes on an ominous and dark tone that Alfonso Cuaron firmly established in the Prisoner of Azkaban. Unfortunately, this is rather fleeting. Jumping to the Triwizard tournament where, "magically", Harry is chosen to compete even when he is not eligible, the film further delves into predictability and convenient events to lead to its ultimate conclusion: Harry facing off with Voldemort. The film obviously needs to get there, but never finds subtle ways to do it and instead feels very telegraphed and lazy, similar to what really held back Chamber of Secrets from being a better film. Toss in the awful and cringe-inducing introductions of the competing schools in the Triwizard tournament and the film doubles down on the childish antics and overly indulgent faults of its predecessors that feels far too immature for the events depicted and the intended audience.

Yet, the film gets worse. Introducing the angst-ridden awkwardness of the formal Christmas Eve ball, Goblet of Fire expends far too much energy introducing the ball, their dates, and then the ball itself before finally moving on. Worse yet, none of it amounts to anything. Making bedroom eyes with some girl from the very beginning, Harry winds up getting rejected by her and going with someone else. Ron spends the whole time whining about being a "nice guy" with Hermione who just gets all pissy whenever they ask if she has a date. In overt efforts to pander to its teenage audience and try to relate to significant moments in their lives, Goblet of Fire really loses the plot. It indulges in these annoying and exceedingly dull moments for some sort of character building, but fails to entertain the audience in the process. Instead, it only serves to make us wonder why any of this is happening. Had the film gone somewhere with it, it could be excusable. Unfortunately, the second the dance ends, nothing ever matters again from those events. In its desperate and flailing attempts to find out what it is truly meant to be, Goblet of Fire finally hits on something that took two hours to reach: Voldemort becoming powerful again. This bit saves the whole film and is so overdue. Dark, menacing, and horrifying, the rise of Lord Voldemort lives up to every expectation. Ralph Fiennes captures the dark essence of the character, brings it to life, and becomes a truly demonic and horrifying figure to witness. After spending nearly four films hyping up Voldemort, the franchise somehow lives up to the expectations it set for itself. While it takes too long to get to this bit, the film's terrifying resurrection of Voldemort in a moment of bloody sacrifice is chill-inducing. The following scene of Voldemort and Harry squaring off is powerful and a great hint at what is to come. Buoyed by the appearance of his parents, Harry is given the power of love to overcome his greatest foe. While overly corny to a degree, it somehow works without feeling too saccharine. Instead, it feels matter-of-fact, as of course the film builds his backstory and friends for them to wind up giving him the strength to overcome his greatest foe as that is what really happens. It is not approached in a too sugary or manipulative fashion, rather it feels poignant and real
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ratingmanJul 29, 2012
This is an amazing movie, first the plot is well done everything you need to know is in the movie even more ( i red the book ), the effects fitted well, then you can really feel the magic in this movie, with the soundtrack amazingly fittingThis is an amazing movie, first the plot is well done everything you need to know is in the movie even more ( i red the book ), the effects fitted well, then you can really feel the magic in this movie, with the soundtrack amazingly fitting the storyline, the acting was great also, this is one my favorites of the series, Nice Job. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
cameronmorewoodNov 8, 2012
I'll admit the gang has grown up a bit, and not all the magic of the first three films is present here, but Goblet of Fire is still a visually captivating fantasy adventure that is packed with surprises and some well done action sequences.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FilmEqualsJoyNov 10, 2012
One of the darkest entries in the series. The magical feeling is still there, but a new feeling starts to make itself apparent. That would be the feeling of fear. A thrilling film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
ballpark_frankNov 25, 2012
For some reason, I didn't really care for this installment. Maybe it's because the entire series was finally getting into the 'dark stage', which is (book-wise) the way in which the saga was unfolding. Also, the effects didn't seem to grabFor some reason, I didn't really care for this installment. Maybe it's because the entire series was finally getting into the 'dark stage', which is (book-wise) the way in which the saga was unfolding. Also, the effects didn't seem to grab me too much. I do want to point out that, even though I didn't like it, I still would recommend it...if anything, just to maintain the continuity of the film series. I may change my feelings about it at a later date, but for now I'll stick with my wand...uh...guns. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
worleyjamersJun 7, 2013
The turning point in the series. The Goblet of Fire is probably my favorite HP film in the series. I loved the Tri-Wizard Tournament, and I really enjoyed Brendan Gleeson's performance as Professor Moody. Voldemort's first physical appearanceThe turning point in the series. The Goblet of Fire is probably my favorite HP film in the series. I loved the Tri-Wizard Tournament, and I really enjoyed Brendan Gleeson's performance as Professor Moody. Voldemort's first physical appearance is what made the film for me; the film builds perfectly to a strong ending that really adds depth to Harry's character. Ralph Fiennes is terrific as the Dark Lord. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Rox22Apr 26, 2015
A welcome return to form. The fourth film more or less tries to recapture the whimsical tone of the first two movies, yet also maintaining the foreboding subtext of the third.

The effects really do go overboard this time around. Absolutely
A welcome return to form. The fourth film more or less tries to recapture the whimsical tone of the first two movies, yet also maintaining the foreboding subtext of the third.

The effects really do go overboard this time around. Absolutely gorgeous. Acting on par with the last few movies. While the plot this time round feels a bit too light hearted when compared to the last movie, it is a refreshing reprieve from what is to come.

Overall:
HPatGoF is one of my favourite Harry Potter movies and I enjoyed it immensely.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HaithamBayazeedMay 10, 2013
First of all the PG-13 is accurate, it is darkest and the scariest Harry Potter and his friends are now teens (romance alert) and there are defiantly so magical scenes with dark potion added to them, it is a fun yet entertaining ride thatFirst of all the PG-13 is accurate, it is darkest and the scariest Harry Potter and his friends are now teens (romance alert) and there are defiantly so magical scenes with dark potion added to them, it is a fun yet entertaining ride that absolutely deserves a 10! Meant for teens Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TrilobiteGAug 9, 2015
The real crème de la crème to the franchise. This is what I was waiting for, finally! Proper intense fantasy action with a sincerely dark and twisted ending to show that harry potter is not for children any more. Fantastic Movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
shpreaJun 28, 2013
Definitely one of the best Harry Potter movies. It's full of amazing set pieces, such as giant dragons and elaborate mazes, all of which seem alive and realistic. The acting, as usual, is very good. It is a very entertaining and easy toDefinitely one of the best Harry Potter movies. It's full of amazing set pieces, such as giant dragons and elaborate mazes, all of which seem alive and realistic. The acting, as usual, is very good. It is a very entertaining and easy to follow Harry Potter movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
mds03Apr 14, 2013
I thought that this one's action scenes and climax were awesome compared to the previous one. I especially liked how Voldemort finally came into the picture again after his absence in the third film. If you are a fan of the first three, thisI thought that this one's action scenes and climax were awesome compared to the previous one. I especially liked how Voldemort finally came into the picture again after his absence in the third film. If you are a fan of the first three, this one is simply a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews