Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: November 18, 2005
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 941 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
756
Mixed:
110
Negative:
75
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
SpangleAug 6, 2017
Mercifully starting off without including Harry Potter's abusive aunt and uncle, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire marks another director change in the much beloved series. Unfortunately, it also marks the worst entry thus far in theMercifully starting off without including Harry Potter's abusive aunt and uncle, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire marks another director change in the much beloved series. Unfortunately, it also marks the worst entry thus far in the series. At well over two hours, Goblet of Fire finally introduces Lord Voldemort (Ralph Fiennes) in his physical form, but after two hours of watching quidditch and the triwizard tournament, the audience should not be blamed for begging for Voldemort to be merciful and kill them already. As the angst-ridden middle child of the franchise, Goblet of Fire is a film that takes too long to figure out what it really wants to become - the introduction of Voldemort - and has to beat around the bush for far too long to actually get there. Utilizing obvious tactics to draw Harry into a position to meet Voldemort face-to-face - entering his name into the Goblet of Fire and then letting him win - the film builds up in a shorter way than the rest of the series previously had. Unfortunately, the stage was already set so beating around the bush for two hours only winds up feeling like a justification for the film existing at all by providing passable entertainment as we wait for to finally get to the good bits.

Starting off at the Quidditch World Cup, this entry's cheese is introduced early and often with the goofy and childish introductions of the competing teams. With poor special effects completing the moment, the film's lackluster and overlong traveling to and watching of the match starts the film off on a deeply sour note. Director Mike Newell does rescue these moments, however, with the dark hints at what is to come. After Voldemort's Death Eaters tear through the crowd and burn everything in sight, the film takes on an ominous and dark tone that Alfonso Cuaron firmly established in the Prisoner of Azkaban. Unfortunately, this is rather fleeting. Jumping to the Triwizard tournament where, "magically", Harry is chosen to compete even when he is not eligible, the film further delves into predictability and convenient events to lead to its ultimate conclusion: Harry facing off with Voldemort. The film obviously needs to get there, but never finds subtle ways to do it and instead feels very telegraphed and lazy, similar to what really held back Chamber of Secrets from being a better film. Toss in the awful and cringe-inducing introductions of the competing schools in the Triwizard tournament and the film doubles down on the childish antics and overly indulgent faults of its predecessors that feels far too immature for the events depicted and the intended audience.

Yet, the film gets worse. Introducing the angst-ridden awkwardness of the formal Christmas Eve ball, Goblet of Fire expends far too much energy introducing the ball, their dates, and then the ball itself before finally moving on. Worse yet, none of it amounts to anything. Making bedroom eyes with some girl from the very beginning, Harry winds up getting rejected by her and going with someone else. Ron spends the whole time whining about being a "nice guy" with Hermione who just gets all pissy whenever they ask if she has a date. In overt efforts to pander to its teenage audience and try to relate to significant moments in their lives, Goblet of Fire really loses the plot. It indulges in these annoying and exceedingly dull moments for some sort of character building, but fails to entertain the audience in the process. Instead, it only serves to make us wonder why any of this is happening. Had the film gone somewhere with it, it could be excusable. Unfortunately, the second the dance ends, nothing ever matters again from those events. In its desperate and flailing attempts to find out what it is truly meant to be, Goblet of Fire finally hits on something that took two hours to reach: Voldemort becoming powerful again. This bit saves the whole film and is so overdue. Dark, menacing, and horrifying, the rise of Lord Voldemort lives up to every expectation. Ralph Fiennes captures the dark essence of the character, brings it to life, and becomes a truly demonic and horrifying figure to witness. After spending nearly four films hyping up Voldemort, the franchise somehow lives up to the expectations it set for itself. While it takes too long to get to this bit, the film's terrifying resurrection of Voldemort in a moment of bloody sacrifice is chill-inducing. The following scene of Voldemort and Harry squaring off is powerful and a great hint at what is to come. Buoyed by the appearance of his parents, Harry is given the power of love to overcome his greatest foe. While overly corny to a degree, it somehow works without feeling too saccharine. Instead, it feels matter-of-fact, as of course the film builds his backstory and friends for them to wind up giving him the strength to overcome his greatest foe as that is what really happens. It is not approached in a too sugary or manipulative fashion, rather it feels poignant and real
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
tajshar2kJul 29, 2017
The movie features intense action sequences, and I really liked the dark tone of the movie, which as it really sets up what is come in the Harry Potter franchise. This was a definitely a unique film when compared to the other Harry PotterThe movie features intense action sequences, and I really liked the dark tone of the movie, which as it really sets up what is come in the Harry Potter franchise. This was a definitely a unique film when compared to the other Harry Potter movies, as it was very fast paced, and it was the best Harry Potter movie in my opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HPFANBOY1237Apr 9, 2017
The Goblet of Fire is extremely entertaining and once again very fun to watch. Much like the Prisoner of Azkaban, the Goblet of Fire is darker and more emotional, but this movie does the book the least justice and leaves so much out. At timesThe Goblet of Fire is extremely entertaining and once again very fun to watch. Much like the Prisoner of Azkaban, the Goblet of Fire is darker and more emotional, but this movie does the book the least justice and leaves so much out. At times it even feels like a bunch of random scenes put together, still, the Goblet of Fire is another strong entry in the Harry Potter series! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FuturedirectorApr 14, 2017
Harry Potter and the Globet of Fire is still conserving the darkness and eye-catching mystery of its predecessors. And thanks to its every-time-better interpretations and it's smart storytelling, there's no way it cannot truly soar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
adw55125Jul 3, 2017
The Potter franchise continues to get great. I like the third film more, but this film is much better than one and two. This is the first really dark Potter movie and I am so digging that. Even though the whole Triwizard tournament is sillyThe Potter franchise continues to get great. I like the third film more, but this film is much better than one and two. This is the first really dark Potter movie and I am so digging that. Even though the whole Triwizard tournament is silly in general, this movie is fun. And this film ends in a sad but exciting way that ensures things will forever change for the next films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SonicHD7May 31, 2017
The fourth movie in the Harry Potter franchise sees Harry (Daniel Radcliffe) returning for his fourth year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, along with his friends, Ron (Rupert Grint) and Hermione (Emma Watson). There is anThe fourth movie in the Harry Potter franchise sees Harry (Daniel Radcliffe) returning for his fourth year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, along with his friends, Ron (Rupert Grint) and Hermione (Emma Watson). There is an upcoming tournament between the three major schools of magic, with one participant selected from each school by the Goblet of Fire. When Harry's name is drawn, even though he is not eligible and is a fourth player, he must compete in the dangerous contest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
alejandro970Apr 9, 2017
The dramatic arch of saga becomes more darker and perilous. It´s fast paced but the edition feels some hurried with some holes, but preserves the taste of previous episodes. Potter fans only.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MrMovieBuffSep 16, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "The Goblet of Fire" is another strong "Harry Potter" movie after 'Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban' (2004), a movie that is the first to not be given the family-friendly 'PG' rating because this one is darker and more violent, if not, more consequential than the previous three installments.

Harry (Daniel Radcliffe), Ron (Rupert Grint) and Hermione (Emma Watson) are back and they attend the Quidditch World Cup, after the big event, there is danger lurking ahead as it seems that a murderer is on the hunt for Harry. As they head back to Hogwarts, there is another huge event that takes place called the "Tri-Wizard Cup", where they are informed by a newcomer called Alistair "Mad Eye" Moody (Brendan Gleeson) that no student under the age of 17 should participate as the contest and all the games involved are extremely dangerous and not for the faint of heart.

All the other schools also part-take, but it seems that there is a strange mix-up as when all the students over the age of 17 place their names in the Goblet of Fire to allow them to take part in the challenges, Harry, who is supposed to be 14, has his name on there, somehow. A confused Dumbledore (Michael Gambon) then proceeds to let Harry part-take in this tournament, which is risky, but they have no choice, nor do they have any knowledge of who placed Harry's name in that Goblet.

A reluctant Harry then decides to take these tournaments, but one day, during a deadly challenge, he comes across his parents' murderer, Lord Voldermort (a very scary Ralph Fiennes) who tries to kill Harry in the process, but luckily Harry manages to escape, unfortunately, a fellow student, Cedric Diggory (Robert Pattinson) didn't make it out alive, making this the most intense of the series, the fact that a student died under the Hogwarts premises, does raise the stakes for all the students, especially Harry, at Hogwarts.

This is a darker, more red-blooded, and violent chapter in the "Harry Potter" franchise, equally as enjoyable as its predecessor. The young cast start to grow even more in this world and in the Hogwarts world, the action and the "Tri-Wizard" tournaments have this style that keeps you watching. They have this sense of perfectly timed choreography and sure-handed direction (by Mike Newell).

The best is yet to come, this is where the series has peaked.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
superbatJul 22, 2016
Way better than Prisoner of Azkaban. The Goblet of Fire introduces us to astounding new characters and breathtaking action sequences. It had its fair share of funny moments, something that the Prisoner of Azkaban didn't have. It also succeedsWay better than Prisoner of Azkaban. The Goblet of Fire introduces us to astounding new characters and breathtaking action sequences. It had its fair share of funny moments, something that the Prisoner of Azkaban didn't have. It also succeeds in aiming for a much darker Harry Potter movie. This is an epic Harry Potter movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Rutger-KikkertJun 5, 2016
Sure the movie's storyline fails to deliver believability at some points, but hell is this movie spectacular and entertaining and also a very well made and well acted piece of cinema.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Aaron_WassermanMay 31, 2016
Another great installment in the Potter franchise, even darker than Azkaban. I really enjoy this movie, it is the most fun of the 8 films. The triwizard tournament are some of my favorite moments in the potter movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
aadityamudharApr 17, 2016
The movie's story is very linear. However, the Potter cast & crew makes the story very easy to follow. Overall a enjoyable summer blockbuster you can't miss.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeJan 20, 2016
Likely, there's films like Harry Potter that still manage to get things right throughout the franchise. As the Goblet of Fire comes to the best conclusion to think about which one's my favorite out of them all. It's obviously the lastLikely, there's films like Harry Potter that still manage to get things right throughout the franchise. As the Goblet of Fire comes to the best conclusion to think about which one's my favorite out of them all. It's obviously the last installment of this franchise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
geo333Jan 8, 2016
With action adventures scenes and humorous ones as well. Harry Potter not only has grown but so has it's content. Harry Potter and Goblet of Fire has a fire indeed.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
TrilobiteGAug 9, 2015
The real crème de la crème to the franchise. This is what I was waiting for, finally! Proper intense fantasy action with a sincerely dark and twisted ending to show that harry potter is not for children any more. Fantastic Movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
cryhardhumorJul 26, 2015
While the earlier movies in the series were passable, this fourth installment finally takes the franchise to new heights of energy and humor. The full potential is now realized and put beautifully onto the screen
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FrenziedPanda99Jul 17, 2015
In my opinion , the best film of the Harry Potter saga , coming from an exciting idea of JK Rowling about a tournament of sorcerers where pontificate (again ) the interpretations of the three main characters, Hagrid ( Robbie Coltrane ) and aIn my opinion , the best film of the Harry Potter saga , coming from an exciting idea of JK Rowling about a tournament of sorcerers where pontificate (again ) the interpretations of the three main characters, Hagrid ( Robbie Coltrane ) and a debutant Alastor Moody ( Brendan Gleeson ) . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohnMasterLMay 4, 2015
The Goblet of Fire es la pelicula mas madura de Harry Potter de toda la saga. Esta cuarta parte es un cambio totalmente inesperado, pues sus antecesoras iban dirigidas a un publico infantil, en cambio, the goblet of fire va dirigidaThe Goblet of Fire es la pelicula mas madura de Harry Potter de toda la saga. Esta cuarta parte es un cambio totalmente inesperado, pues sus antecesoras iban dirigidas a un publico infantil, en cambio, the goblet of fire va dirigida específicamente a los adolescentes y adultos. Es entretenimiento puro, repleta de secuencias de acción increíbles. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Rox22Apr 26, 2015
A welcome return to form. The fourth film more or less tries to recapture the whimsical tone of the first two movies, yet also maintaining the foreboding subtext of the third.

The effects really do go overboard this time around. Absolutely
A welcome return to form. The fourth film more or less tries to recapture the whimsical tone of the first two movies, yet also maintaining the foreboding subtext of the third.

The effects really do go overboard this time around. Absolutely gorgeous. Acting on par with the last few movies. While the plot this time round feels a bit too light hearted when compared to the last movie, it is a refreshing reprieve from what is to come.

Overall:
HPatGoF is one of my favourite Harry Potter movies and I enjoyed it immensely.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieManiac83Apr 23, 2015
Faced with the challenge of adapting an immensely popular 700-page-plus book to film, knowing full well that virtually every cut would be greeted with wails from the book's millions of fans worldwide, director Mike Newell and screenwriterFaced with the challenge of adapting an immensely popular 700-page-plus book to film, knowing full well that virtually every cut would be greeted with wails from the book's millions of fans worldwide, director Mike Newell and screenwriter Steven Kloves made an entirely reasonable decision: They cut virtually everything from Harry Potter And The Goblet Of Fire that would be redundant with the previous three movie adaptations of J.K. Rowling's record-breaking bestsellers. Gone from the story: the usual intro featuring Harry Potter's obnoxious relatives, any scenes of the boy wizard learning or experimenting with magic, most of the conflict between him and his rival Draco Malfoy, and so forth. What's left isn't quite lean and propulsive: At over two and a half hours, it's still bulky, and a handful of scenes drag dubiously, while the opening and closing both feel rushed. But whenever it hits its stride, it's a well-acted, vividly executed, full-speed-ahead special-effects extravaganza that puts as much bang as possible into every remaining scene.

The fourth installment in Rowling's Harry Potter series catches up with the returning cast of the first three movies as they enter their fourth year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, where a traditional three-school wizarding competition is about to be held. Against his will and against the rules, Potter (Daniel Radcliffe) gets dragged into the competition, though not before a great deal of setup involving portentous dreams, the Quidditch World Cup, and the inevitable arrival of Hogwarts' new Defense Against The Dark Arts teacher (Brendan Gleeson). Much of the movie is devoted to the contest, which lends itself to explosive setpieces involving dragons, mermaids, and a malevolent hedge maze, but Newell and Kloves manage to wedge in a great deal of economical setup and fulfillment, with foreshadowing, backstory, and intercharacter conflict all pared down to essentials but still given room to breathe.

By this point in the story, it's unlikely that the Harry Potter movies are going to win many new converts; to their credit, Newell and Kloves don't really try. With its slam-bang-whoosh-giggle-gasp mentality, Harry Potter And The Goblet Of Fire could be a halfway decent thrill ride for newbies to the series. But its less-explanation, more-momentum mentality is really aimed squarely at the fans, who'd likely rather see more well-timed business from their favorite characters than a pile of dreary exposition and reminders about the story to date. For all its length, Goblet Of Fire speeds past all too quickly. But the real accomplishment may be that for all its brevity, it still feels like it tells the important parts of Rowling's story.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
homer4presidentMar 13, 2015
This was probably the weakest of all the Harry Potter films but I still liked it. The climatic scene of Voldemort's resurrection seems more "Broadway theatrical" than actual "return of the mass wizardry killer".
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DBPirate1129Jan 11, 2015
While it is the first installment in the HP series to be a step down from its predecessor and though it may have more book changes than the rest, Goblet of Fire has amazing storytelling and special effects that make it a strong installment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SythusRATINGSOct 18, 2014
Harry and friends are back in this fourth installment of the series when the stakes are risen as the Triwizard Tournament comes to Hogwarts and Harry is forced to compete in it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oxanaAug 28, 2014
Enjoyable (and to the fans even more so I believe). The pace of the movie is the familiar one already set by the previous parts: in the beginning, a threat is declared, but nothing happens before Christmas is safely over.

The characters
Enjoyable (and to the fans even more so I believe). The pace of the movie is the familiar one already set by the previous parts: in the beginning, a threat is declared, but nothing happens before Christmas is safely over.

The characters are angrier and less superficial this time. A lot of tension runs under the skin.

To my delight, there were a lot of short moments with Fred and George Weasley - my current favorites. Severus Snape also had a little part to play, and again, unfolding past events is interesting. There is plenty to tell on that department, but alas, the movies focus on Harry and his young friends.

References to earlier movies are littered around. They might be hard for random viewers to process, but for fans they no doubt bring a lot of joy and a sense of knowledge and familiarity.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeAug 25, 2014
Despite a now annual director change, Harry Potter continues to shine bright. The Goblet of Fire is complex and shows true signs of maturity. The cast has also begun to follow suit. May the greatness continue!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JrAgujaIsAGleekMay 27, 2014
When I watched it before becoming a Potterhead, this was my favorite HP movie. It still stands today as my favorite, for now.

But it wasn’t the same as before. I was amazed by the story that time before I got a chance to read the book. I
When I watched it before becoming a Potterhead, this was my favorite HP movie. It still stands today as my favorite, for now.

But it wasn’t the same as before. I was amazed by the story that time before I got a chance to read the book. I was impressed with the book more than the movie.

Let me first start by saying about how much it was cut from the source material. I was upset at first, but then I remember how long the book and they cannot extend the movie longer. I understand why a lot of parts have to be cut.

But let me list down some of the things of the chances that I am not okay with because I felt like they’re unnecessary or they’re important to the story.

Hermione hugging Harry Potter before Rita Skeeter gets a chance to take a picture of them for more publicity of the Tri-Wizard Cup.
The scenes where Hermione was training Harry for the first task.
Mrs. Weasley, Dobby and Winky were absent in this movie. Those three characters had important character development, with the last two mentioned having important story development as well.
References of Dementors’ connection with Lord Voldemort is removed.

Despite the numerous cuts, I still enjoyed it. But it’s sad it comes along with the irritation of how many cuts it have to take for the required running time.

I feel like some parts of the movie might not be understandable to viewers who haven’t read the book beforehand. They would make sense to them if they do. This is a common problem for books being adapted into movies, though this problem is (kinda) solved for YA movies such as The Hunger Games and Divergent.

The humor is still retained in the movie which is good because Harry has some quite sassy humor in the books.

They showed Rita Skeeter but she wasn’t featured much in the movie. She is a lot worst when I read the books.

I give props to the scenes where the tasks were held. They were better than what I imagined.

The movie felt a bit of a teenager movie but then again, the characters are growing up and that shows maturity among the characters. This is actually good if you wanted a story about wizardry but it also has a sense of realism.

I like how the tone suddenly became dark in this one. I hope this isn’t an unpopular opinion.

I enjoyed the movie and this remains my favorite Harry Potter movie despite its flaws. I like the book better though, sad to say.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AaronWasserman2May 4, 2014
Harry is on a streak, because Goblet is a blast. The film runs on the long side but doesnt feel it because you get so invested in the story and characters. what a great time. keep it up Harry.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Pranay6Mar 15, 2014
At first I thought the movie was going to be lame. It started of with weak diolouge and then after 20 minutes in...I realized I was actually leaning forward in my seat with anticipation. This movie is awesome! I have to say the the DeathAt first I thought the movie was going to be lame. It started of with weak diolouge and then after 20 minutes in...I realized I was actually leaning forward in my seat with anticipation. This movie is awesome! I have to say the the Death Eaters, and the plot around them was awesome! The Dark Lord's raising a duel with Harry in the graveyard was stunning! This movie certainly had a creep factor at parts...which is great for the HP frachise! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SchroederRockFeb 13, 2014
Where the Prisoner of Azkaban saw a transition process from lighter fare and youth appeal, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire steps into an obviously-darker world where the student of Hogwarts begin to deal with realities that are yearsWhere the Prisoner of Azkaban saw a transition process from lighter fare and youth appeal, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire steps into an obviously-darker world where the student of Hogwarts begin to deal with realities that are years beyond them, mostly due to the growing influence of Lord Voldemort. The result is the best Harry Potter yet - one that will rope in more mature audiences while still remaining somewhat enjoyable for the younger viewers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
cag11Dec 8, 2013
I loved this movie so much, I almost forgot that it was almost 3 hoirs long. This film will deliver you everything gou can expect from a Harry Potter plus better stuff that I never expected from an HP film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Tss5078Dec 2, 2013
Since I got into the Harry Potter series a few months ago, I've been asking people what they think of it. To my surprise, most of them said they stopped after the Prisoner of Azkaban. Personally, I think Azkaban was the best one so far, soSince I got into the Harry Potter series a few months ago, I've been asking people what they think of it. To my surprise, most of them said they stopped after the Prisoner of Azkaban. Personally, I think Azkaban was the best one so far, so why not continue? The unanimous answer was that they didn't really want to see the kids grow up. In the Goblet of Fire, they aren't quite there yet, as in their 4th year at Hogwarts, the kids are 14. The story this time isn't centered around some mysterious artifact or person, but rather a world wide competition of student wizards. The Goblet of Fire decides who the best of the best are, allowing only one student from each school to participate. This film was special, but also lacked some of the intrigue that got us addicted to Harry Potter in the first place. Finally, a Harry Potter film focuses entirely on Harry and we get to see some of the great things that he is supposedly capable of. In fact, Ron and Hairmony's roles amount to little more than bit parts, where as in the other three films, they were all on equal ground. The fact that this was a competition takes something major away from the film. In the Goblet of Fire we aren't introduced to any new artifacts, games, or spells, there really isn't anything here that will amaze you. While it's a small thing, it's an expected thing, that does take something away from the film. What makes up for it is a terrific ending, that has to be seen in order to continue on with the series. For years, I thought Harry Potter was just overrated, pop culture, bull but once I sat down to actually watch it, I came to realize that this series is as magically as the world it portrays. Every one of the first four films has been fantastic and I can't wait to see what the future has in store for the wizards of Hogwarts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
joao1198pedroNov 28, 2013
the goblet fire wasn't as good as the prisoner of azkaban but it was another great movie from the franchise,it finally have an dark touch wich will do great business up ahead.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
Harry Potter bewitches a four installment with impressive entertainment.
The Goblet of Fire proves Harry is far from done, and that being a wizard really is all its cracked up to be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
OfficialNov 1, 2013
"Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire" is the fourth movie in the series and is the most complex and mature yet. Director Mike Newell has improved on the previous films on all edges and has made an excellent violent movie with style and craft.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FranzHcriticOct 25, 2013
I find 'Goblet of Fire' luridly monotonous. Though effects are as great as they will be, I found that the films began to degrade significantly after this sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
nickrovertOct 24, 2013
'The Goblet of Fire's intriguing plot makes it one of the more tense films of the franchise, however, like its predecessor, its story line is mostly unimportant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Movie1997Sep 8, 2013
While (in my opinion) it at first felt like it wasn't going anywhere as far as telling a story relating to the purpose of the books, it starts to feel more and more engaging as far as storytelling goes up until the big point in the movie.While (in my opinion) it at first felt like it wasn't going anywhere as far as telling a story relating to the purpose of the books, it starts to feel more and more engaging as far as storytelling goes up until the big point in the movie. Overall, truly eventually got better and better the further into this movie. Be sure check out my YouTube channel, "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TokyochuchuJul 28, 2013
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire was the tipping point of the franchise for me. The first two movies were decent but nothing to get overly hyped about. The third one kicked off the darker tone but was seriously overlong. Goblet of Fire isHarry Potter and the Goblet of Fire was the tipping point of the franchise for me. The first two movies were decent but nothing to get overly hyped about. The third one kicked off the darker tone but was seriously overlong. Goblet of Fire is long too but it doesn't feel anywhere near as long as the Prisoner of azkaban. It's a much more exciting and scarier ride than the previous Potter movies. This was the first film in the series to make me think "Wow! We might have something special here after all!" Now that the franchise is finished, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire still ranks among the best potter movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DibbHansenJul 14, 2013
While not completely like the source material, it still keeps the same feel of the book- the intensity, the action, the fantasy (everything you can expect from a Harry Potter film). The film gets darker but continues on with its greatWhile not completely like the source material, it still keeps the same feel of the book- the intensity, the action, the fantasy (everything you can expect from a Harry Potter film). The film gets darker but continues on with its great acting, amazing visuals, great music (while John Williams is sadly missed, Patrick Doyle really steps it up and does not disappoint), set design and direction. This film is another grand slam success in the Harry Potter series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
StevenFJul 14, 2013
There is a lot going on in the fourth Harry Potter film, love is in the air, there is a magical wizarding tournament happening in Hogwarts and Harry Potter is beginning his fourth year, Mike Newell certainly has the eye for a set-pieceThere is a lot going on in the fourth Harry Potter film, love is in the air, there is a magical wizarding tournament happening in Hogwarts and Harry Potter is beginning his fourth year, Mike Newell certainly has the eye for a set-piece extravaganza, the new film is brimming with them. But we are also introduced to the darkest tale yet of the ongoing adventure, with the introduction of one of the most frightening characters to appear on screen.
But Harry, played again by the ever growing Daniel Radcliffe, and his ever tolerant friends Ron (Rupert Grint) and Hermione (Emma Watson) have their friendship with the leading man tested to its core when Harry's name is picked from the Goblet of Fire, something only seventeen year olds or over can do, Harry is then a true public enemy within the school as many wonder, including Harry himself, how is name was entered, when Harry says it wasn't him?
As the hostility and suspicion grows around Harry, we can see that this is a very different Potter film than we have seen before, the whole friendly shock and awe of 'this is magic' is gone, and we are shown a very credible threat to Harry and to the wizarding world, we have heard about Death Eaters, and we see them rein terror at the beginning of the film, they are signalling a return to power, a return that we don't have to wait too long to see.
With a large plot and addition of two wizarding schools for the Triwizard Tournament comes a much larger cast, we see the the likes of Snape (Alan Rickman) McGonagall (Maggie Smith) and various other characters make sporadic appearances, but we are introduced to an array of new faces, Viktor Krum (Stanislav Ianevski) a Triwizard 'champion' and Fleur Delacour (Clémence Poésy) the same. We also have Ralph Fiennes and Brendan Gleeson added to the cast. This indeed can be off putting as a reader of the book, simply because of the limited screen time these characters and actors receive, but also for the amount of scenes that obviously had to be removed.
There can be a sense of rush while watching the movie, even though it clocks in at over two and half hours, but when the film hits a high note, it hits it with some force, combining its riveting story with some spectacular special effects, including a frightening and edge of your seat chase through a maze and a fight in the air with a dragon.
Its clear to see how far the franchise, the story and the real life actors involved have come in four years, how much the story has developed into a less child friendly and more gritty approach, but being as faithful as they can to the source material, another epic adventure has been created, and certainly starts quite the interesting chain of events.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
shpreaJun 28, 2013
Definitely one of the best Harry Potter movies. It's full of amazing set pieces, such as giant dragons and elaborate mazes, all of which seem alive and realistic. The acting, as usual, is very good. It is a very entertaining and easy toDefinitely one of the best Harry Potter movies. It's full of amazing set pieces, such as giant dragons and elaborate mazes, all of which seem alive and realistic. The acting, as usual, is very good. It is a very entertaining and easy to follow Harry Potter movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AReviewsJun 25, 2013
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire is visually stunning, dark and incredibly mature, with scary moments and romantic blooms, the PG-13 is accurate, and the story is thrilling, scary and dark, but still it is outstanding and awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BrunoADJun 14, 2013
Goblet of Fire is not the favorite Harry Potter movie but my impression on me, especially the script.

One thing we can never deny the script Goblet of Fire is better, because we know that adapting a book of over 400 pages is not easy. The
Goblet of Fire is not the favorite Harry Potter movie but my impression on me, especially the script.

One thing we can never deny the script Goblet of Fire is better, because we know that adapting a book of over 400 pages is not easy. The trail did not please me much (missed impacted) the effects are wonderful as the dragon is imagined Ralph (Voldemort) was the right choice for the villain, not denying that Voldemort makeup is beautiful .'s from that movie that things change, now no longer a child, evil takes over and the film begin to get darker and Mike managed to arrive at the right point of change
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Trev29Jun 11, 2013
This is the one Harry Potter movie that is clearly distinctive from the rest, and that is why it is one of the best of the series. Sensationally atmospheric and skillfully paced.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
worleyjamersJun 7, 2013
The turning point in the series. The Goblet of Fire is probably my favorite HP film in the series. I loved the Tri-Wizard Tournament, and I really enjoyed Brendan Gleeson's performance as Professor Moody. Voldemort's first physical appearanceThe turning point in the series. The Goblet of Fire is probably my favorite HP film in the series. I loved the Tri-Wizard Tournament, and I really enjoyed Brendan Gleeson's performance as Professor Moody. Voldemort's first physical appearance is what made the film for me; the film builds perfectly to a strong ending that really adds depth to Harry's character. Ralph Fiennes is terrific as the Dark Lord. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HaithamBayazeedMay 10, 2013
First of all the PG-13 is accurate, it is darkest and the scariest Harry Potter and his friends are now teens (romance alert) and there are defiantly so magical scenes with dark potion added to them, it is a fun yet entertaining ride thatFirst of all the PG-13 is accurate, it is darkest and the scariest Harry Potter and his friends are now teens (romance alert) and there are defiantly so magical scenes with dark potion added to them, it is a fun yet entertaining ride that absolutely deserves a 10! Meant for teens Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
mds03Apr 14, 2013
I thought that this one's action scenes and climax were awesome compared to the previous one. I especially liked how Voldemort finally came into the picture again after his absence in the third film. If you are a fan of the first three, thisI thought that this one's action scenes and climax were awesome compared to the previous one. I especially liked how Voldemort finally came into the picture again after his absence in the third film. If you are a fan of the first three, this one is simply a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SEROJMar 28, 2013
Superb action! Amazing story! "Goblet of Fire" is for sure a great experience! If you watched the previous parts, you're gonna love this one too! My final score is 9/10, near perfect!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
sil3nt_nickMar 24, 2013
This film would have been fantastic if they hadn't left out so much from the book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Bruce722Dec 31, 2012
This movie easily has the most changes in terms of book-to-movie out of the four movies thus far. However, while there were many changes, this is also based on an incredibly long book so I totally expected it. Out of the changes, however,This movie easily has the most changes in terms of book-to-movie out of the four movies thus far. However, while there were many changes, this is also based on an incredibly long book so I totally expected it. Out of the changes, however, only one really bugged me. I hated what they did with Dumbledore's character. After Harry's name gets called by the goblet, he goes absolutely berserk in the movie and even shoves Harry. This never even almost happens in the book and is so outside of the character established already that it felt wrong. Nonetheless, if I try and look at it strictly from a moviegoer's perspective, it was probably the best of the movies so far. The acting was better than in the prior three, the plot progressed more smoothly, and the effects seemed better... especially the dragon sequence. While I wish they would've stuck more closely to the great book, they did do it justice. I would say I only deducted 2 points from the 10/10 maximum for the change to Dumbledore's character and for the fact that there seemed to be a couple of points in the movie where I would've missed what was happening if not for having read the book already. It's easy to get ahead of the movie somewhat if you already know the entire story so I might be exaggerating this effect somewhat but I thought it stood out. Still, this was a very good movie and I look forward to finishing the series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jfrotylpe532Dec 21, 2012
Goblet of Fire is in my opinion the best written out of all the Harry Potters besides maybe the last one. The adrenaline and excitement race in this one. Not to mention the best ending to any of the first 4 Harry Potters. All in All if yourGoblet of Fire is in my opinion the best written out of all the Harry Potters besides maybe the last one. The adrenaline and excitement race in this one. Not to mention the best ending to any of the first 4 Harry Potters. All in All if your looking for excitement this film gives it to you. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
ballpark_frankNov 25, 2012
For some reason, I didn't really care for this installment. Maybe it's because the entire series was finally getting into the 'dark stage', which is (book-wise) the way in which the saga was unfolding. Also, the effects didn't seem to grabFor some reason, I didn't really care for this installment. Maybe it's because the entire series was finally getting into the 'dark stage', which is (book-wise) the way in which the saga was unfolding. Also, the effects didn't seem to grab me too much. I do want to point out that, even though I didn't like it, I still would recommend it...if anything, just to maintain the continuity of the film series. I may change my feelings about it at a later date, but for now I'll stick with my wand...uh...guns. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FilmEqualsJoyNov 10, 2012
One of the darkest entries in the series. The magical feeling is still there, but a new feeling starts to make itself apparent. That would be the feeling of fear. A thrilling film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
cameronmorewoodNov 8, 2012
I'll admit the gang has grown up a bit, and not all the magic of the first three films is present here, but Goblet of Fire is still a visually captivating fantasy adventure that is packed with surprises and some well done action sequences.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
potatoes351Aug 14, 2012
All books and films previous to Goblet of Fire are just setting up the events that take place in this story, that will shape the course of the coming saga. The films now look to be more dark and gritty with a focus on survival and a bitterAll books and films previous to Goblet of Fire are just setting up the events that take place in this story, that will shape the course of the coming saga. The films now look to be more dark and gritty with a focus on survival and a bitter war between good and evil. The special effects may be back in a large quantity but unlike CoS they are used correctly making epic scenes even more epic. Best HP film yet. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DoctorWhoAug 11, 2012
Out of all the Potter movies, this ranks as the worst. while adapting any book there are problems but this can be solved by cutting some side plots to make way for character moments and the main plot. not what they did here which is to say,Out of all the Potter movies, this ranks as the worst. while adapting any book there are problems but this can be solved by cutting some side plots to make way for character moments and the main plot. not what they did here which is to say, cutting most of the main plot and character moments to focus on the side plots. There are some great performances from the main trio and the rest of the main cast working around some truly terrible dialogue that the script gives them. If you haven't read the book you're probably going to be lost. Apparently the explanation given at the end of the book where the entirety of Voldemort's evil scheme is revealed and making some seemingly random events all connected isn't good enough for the movie so most of the plot makes no sense if you haven't read the book. This is the first Movie to feature the brilliant Ralph Fiennes as Voldemort so at least we have that to be thankful for. Also, why is the hair of all the boys so ridiculously long? Could they not afford hairdressers? Too much focus on the side plots, not enough explanation for the main plot and an atrocious script make this the black sheep in an otherwise amazing film series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ratingmanJul 29, 2012
This is an amazing movie, first the plot is well done everything you need to know is in the movie even more ( i red the book ), the effects fitted well, then you can really feel the magic in this movie, with the soundtrack amazingly fittingThis is an amazing movie, first the plot is well done everything you need to know is in the movie even more ( i red the book ), the effects fitted well, then you can really feel the magic in this movie, with the soundtrack amazingly fitting the storyline, the acting was great also, this is one my favorites of the series, Nice Job. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MonsieurEamesJul 12, 2012
Spectacular film. The kids are just as good of actors as the adults now. Oh, I love that trio so, so much! Goblet of Fire takes a more dangerous approach and has a very spectacular and interesting premise. Pure magic for the young & old.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ZilcellMay 25, 2012
Its most likely not the best Harry Potter, but the action and story are still pretty good after multiple sequels.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
watithink123May 4, 2012
This was not a movie I really liked but it's at lest watchable for most people. Never had really spesal stuff for me .But you guy's might like it. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire 6.1/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MegWhiteleyMar 28, 2012
One of the most better films ever!! This new movie of Harry Potter is really interesting, funny, amazing, incredible, with excellent effects. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire is amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
csw12Mar 25, 2012
This Harry Potter is pretty good especially the ending, which might have the best scene in Harry Potter to date. But i had one major problem with this film which was the dancing and the modern day kind of music mixed with the dancing . WhatThis Harry Potter is pretty good especially the ending, which might have the best scene in Harry Potter to date. But i had one major problem with this film which was the dancing and the modern day kind of music mixed with the dancing . What was up with that? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobJan 28, 2012
The first thing I really liked about this film is how it had moments (such as Ron and Harry looking for dates) that werent really in the book but are put in to prove its not all about magic, There is a lot of personal things happening asThe first thing I really liked about this film is how it had moments (such as Ron and Harry looking for dates) that werent really in the book but are put in to prove its not all about magic, There is a lot of personal things happening as well. The acting is good ,as expected, and the action is good. I didnt really enjoy the film that much until Voldemort got into the picture, the only good part of the film imo was Harry's entire confrontation with Voldemort. I just couldnt get into it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
javis10Jan 11, 2012
It is funny, creepy, and it has lots of amazing and wonderful action. But it will never get above Prisoner of Azkaban. But I am a huge fan so it was a good film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AquophisDec 28, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Loved the film's portrayal of the Yule Ball, and the teenage anxiety surrounding it. I was genuinely emotionally moved by Amos Diggory's anguish over the death of his son, and seeing Harry crying along with him augmented the scene's poignancy. No fantasy story is truly complete without some dragons, and the film doles out that particular justice with a truly awesome dragon and a truly awesome battle scene, if not without taking some liberties from the book. All in all, one of the best of the HP films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
marnee96Dec 28, 2011
This one is darker, more intense and funnier than previous installments. Teenage hormones have taken the forefront at Hogwarts, but so has a dangerous threat. The story and the characters are excellently adapted by Steve Kloves and it'sThis one is darker, more intense and funnier than previous installments. Teenage hormones have taken the forefront at Hogwarts, but so has a dangerous threat. The story and the characters are excellently adapted by Steve Kloves and it's brilliantly acted. I love all the Harry Potter films, but if I had to choose a favorite, Goblet of Fire would be it. 4/4 stars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
heyitsmegrif4Dec 17, 2011
Thrilling with some great performances, and dazzling visuals and Potters most complex story yet, and definitely the most entertaining of all of the Potters. I give this movie 92% of a good film.
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
8
spadenxDec 2, 2011
I think its easily the best film in the series so far. The acting is far better then it ever has been in the series and the older cast members have an expanded role as well (which is good). The confrontation at the end of the film is the peakI think its easily the best film in the series so far. The acting is far better then it ever has been in the series and the older cast members have an expanded role as well (which is good). The confrontation at the end of the film is the peak of the film and makes the film well worth watching for that alone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
asylumspadezNov 25, 2011
What you see in this film is something you dont see much in the other films, The characters growing up. You see the characters deal with the problems of growing up and that is something I rather enjoyed. The acting was ok. The older membersWhat you see in this film is something you dont see much in the other films, The characters growing up. You see the characters deal with the problems of growing up and that is something I rather enjoyed. The acting was ok. The older members of the cast were great while the younger cast did over-act quite a bit and I didnt enjoy them as much as the others.

While the film (that runs nearly 3 hours) takes a toll on you while you watch it and can get a bit boring at times, The ending more then makes up for it (The ending is easily the best part of the film). Still though, Its an enjoyable film and one of the best in the series.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jboy2468Nov 22, 2011
This movie shows the stresses of growing up, as well as the spirit of bravery. Harry is almost alone for half of the movie but yet he doesn't give up at all. There's no more of that kiddie stuff. This is a true representation of Harry and hisThis movie shows the stresses of growing up, as well as the spirit of bravery. Harry is almost alone for half of the movie but yet he doesn't give up at all. There's no more of that kiddie stuff. This is a true representation of Harry and his future. Yet another 10, Potter! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Potter17Oct 11, 2011
It has a more childish tone when compared to the dark tone of "The Prisoner of Azkaban" but Mike Newell gave a solid adaptation of a very extensive and detailed book. I think this is the last time in the series when a non-reader can reallyIt has a more childish tone when compared to the dark tone of "The Prisoner of Azkaban" but Mike Newell gave a solid adaptation of a very extensive and detailed book. I think this is the last time in the series when a non-reader can really understand the story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 23, 2011
The movie's story is very linear. However, the Potter cast & crew makes the story very easy to follow. Overall a enjoyable summer blockbuster you can't miss.
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
8
JawsPapi87Aug 9, 2011
This is an incredibly entertaining movie. It has intense action sequences, solid performances all around and maybe the most interesting new characters in the whole series, such as Professor Moody.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
CRLJul 27, 2011
When I first saw Goblet of Fire, I probably would have called it the worst of the series. Since then however I've come around and realized why its flaws weren't that bad. As a fan of the books, the first thing that turned me off was howWhen I first saw Goblet of Fire, I probably would have called it the worst of the series. Since then however I've come around and realized why its flaws weren't that bad. As a fan of the books, the first thing that turned me off was how much was cut from this movie. However (unlike Part 2), the director kept the most important parts and managed to piece it together to make it seem like nothing was missing, and now it doesn't feel as bad. The acting, as always, is superb. The special effects are some of the best of the series, and the Ralph Fiennes makes an incredible entrance. It's not the best, but it's not as bad as it could have been. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
HasrionaJul 20, 2011
An enjoyable, thrilling and alluring entry with better acting than the first three and some captivating debut performances. Itâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
NytroxJul 17, 2011
personally, the worst of the whole "Harry Potter" series, which is a shame, this chapter doesnt represent part of the saga,but just something completely apart, and the romance scene are too many and just plain. Sure had his own good specialpersonally, the worst of the whole "Harry Potter" series, which is a shame, this chapter doesnt represent part of the saga,but just something completely apart, and the romance scene are too many and just plain. Sure had his own good special effects and im always impressed by them, but they just dropped out the storyline this time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheGorillaJul 17, 2011
This has to be the best Potter film in the series, aside 'Half Blood Prince'. It's not as dreadful as the first two movies, which kinda sucked, and it's not like the 'Prisoner of Azkaban' which is over forced. But you have to give props toThis has to be the best Potter film in the series, aside 'Half Blood Prince'. It's not as dreadful as the first two movies, which kinda sucked, and it's not like the 'Prisoner of Azkaban' which is over forced. But you have to give props to the third one, cause it definitely gave the franchise a new spooky, interesting dimension which made the franchise more enjoyable by adding some depth to it. In 'Goblet of Fire' there are some scenes that could have been done better, but overall the movie is quite fun, enjoyable and action peaked. Besides, I'm looking forward to 'Deathly Hollows Part II'. I think it will be the best one to date. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
vivekthegameJul 13, 2011
its my favorite movie in the series till date... i have seen the first seven.. i liked Newell's style of making this film.. he didn't make this movie as dark and a little boring as its successors.. this film had everything from wonderfulits my favorite movie in the series till date... i have seen the first seven.. i liked Newell's style of making this film.. he didn't make this movie as dark and a little boring as its successors.. this film had everything from wonderful cinematography to good performances.. it also had the required amount of humor.. and the end sequences were awesome.. specially the return of the Dark Lord. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AVCITYJul 13, 2011
Taking a step away from the more moody and intimate Prisoner Of Azkaban, Mike Newell instead gives us an immersive and thrilling adventure. There are more characters to deal with and the scope is much bigger than any of the previous films.Taking a step away from the more moody and intimate Prisoner Of Azkaban, Mike Newell instead gives us an immersive and thrilling adventure. There are more characters to deal with and the scope is much bigger than any of the previous films. This film is a joy to watch with lots of thrills and humor to be had. The return of Voldemort is done well and scary enough as to not frighten little children. All the actors once again are top notch in their roles, and the newcomers provide some great moments as well. A lot of fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AlnORTIZJul 11, 2011
Goblet of Fire has something that no other Harry Potter film before it had: a deep, dark and moving tone with heart. As well as the book, the plot is very dark and simple with the performances really showing how the plot was executed. TheGoblet of Fire has something that no other Harry Potter film before it had: a deep, dark and moving tone with heart. As well as the book, the plot is very dark and simple with the performances really showing how the plot was executed. The visuals are on par with Prisoner of Azkaban and really show how magical the spells really are. This is one of the better additions the series and one that show loads of magic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieLonely94Jul 5, 2011
As Harry Potter and his friends begin their fourth year at hogswarts as well as meeting new friends from their respective schools, a Tri-Wizard tournament has just been taken place and only three students have been chosen. Now the fourthAs Harry Potter and his friends begin their fourth year at hogswarts as well as meeting new friends from their respective schools, a Tri-Wizard tournament has just been taken place and only three students have been chosen. Now the fourth student to overcome that event, little does Harry Potter know that the servants of the Dark Lord are planning to reborn their master as he encounters all three of these tasks. I was amazed and speechless (not to mention frightened) when I saw this dark and epic entry of the series and I was excited to see it taking the franchise into new heights. The actors did a lot of talent and charm of the now changed personalites of the characters, The action and CGI were pretty unique and very intense, The storyline from the fourth book stayed faithful and Ralph Fiennes deserved some credit (as well as the others) for his amazing performance as Lord Voldemort. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire is the most darkest entry of the series that took the franchise into new heights in fantasy history and one of the best movies from the past five years. 8/10 Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
AtTheMoviesJun 18, 2011
Easily one of the best in the Potter series, Goblet of Fire is a fantastic movie. The entire casts acting has improved since the first film, and the characters now have a certain depth. Ralph Fiennes is fantastically evil as Voldemort, andEasily one of the best in the Potter series, Goblet of Fire is a fantastic movie. The entire casts acting has improved since the first film, and the characters now have a certain depth. Ralph Fiennes is fantastically evil as Voldemort, and whoever plays Mad- Eye Moody does so perfectly. The music is the most brilliant of the series, and the film is visually dark and satisfying. The main problem comes form the differences from the book. Quite a lot is changed or cut out, which may anger some readers. But overall, if you do not think about the book when watching, Goblet of Fire is a fantastic film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jimmytancrediMay 29, 2011
So many things to comment on this movie, I'll hold me in two, one is the soundtrack, since I failed to mention the three previous films, and I love so much. We also have a change of director, this being the first Briton to take the saga.So many things to comment on this movie, I'll hold me in two, one is the soundtrack, since I failed to mention the three previous films, and I love so much. We also have a change of director, this being the first Briton to take the saga. Talking about the soundtrack, I love that John Williams did, but this film surpasses it be so... The arrival of Patrick Doyle has only increased my devotion, I confess that this change was great, John Williams was great, but there was something missing... What about Mike Newell, the first Briton to direct a film of the Harry Potter saga, a good choice, everything works, the rush is visible, noting that the possibility of division into two movies, the book is huge, had already been contemplated in with various things out in the book that only you can find the answers. Even so, Mike Newell managed to hold the bar, showing all that should be showing the Quidditch World Cup, Triwizard Tournament, the Yule Ball and the return of the Dark Lord, despite the ludicrous speed, I was thrilled with everything, everything, every Following is wonderful! The big problem is the same speed, should have more time each event of this magnitude. And if he had abused a little more time, he took the place still held by the Prisoner of Azkaban, the best film ever made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
gm101Mar 21, 2011
A near perfect adaptation of the book, and one of my top three Harry Potter movies so far. This movie really set a high point for the franchise back in 2005. And this will probably be the only time Robert Patterson is in a movie that wasn't terrible.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TheQuietGamerMar 19, 2011
My personal favorite in the series and in my opinion the best in the series, it's funnier and has more action, and the story is the best yet, a must see and deserving of nothing less than a perfect 10 not because it's the best Harry Potter,My personal favorite in the series and in my opinion the best in the series, it's funnier and has more action, and the story is the best yet, a must see and deserving of nothing less than a perfect 10 not because it's the best Harry Potter, but because it will suck you in, a must see for fans. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
DramaStormFeb 16, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Man, oh man! Now this is where things really start to get interesting! Hello, everyone! I am DramaStorm. And this is my review for the fourth Harry Potter Movie: Goblet of Fire. Well, if anyone says this movie is overrated, then they have not watched it enough times yet! With a deep and dark plot and maybe even a few sub-plots, you can't go wrong if you want to watch a random film one dark and stormy night. The best part of this movie: When Harry Potter becomes one of two Champions of Hogwarts. Imagine his shock when his name flew out of the Goblet of Fire! The worst part of this film: When Cedric Diggory was killed. It really would have been nice to have him become a long-time friend of Harry and his friends. Really, I mean it. Ta-Ta! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
sreekiranFeb 10, 2011
movie is good and decent. the thrill ride of 3 competitions are really exciting. one of the better movies of harry potter saga. the movie could"nt get 8 or 9 due to its length and dragged first half.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
GavGav96Dec 10, 2010
Not only does this film emphasise how HP has matured, it also shows more invention, action, and romantic, the result of which being probably the second-best film in the series thusfar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Film_Fanatic_15Nov 22, 2010
Mike Newell directs the 4th film from the Harry Potter novels. This is a major improvement from the 3rd movie, while still giving a variety of great intense sequences of action, and a well developed story. It is the most entertaining so far,Mike Newell directs the 4th film from the Harry Potter novels. This is a major improvement from the 3rd movie, while still giving a variety of great intense sequences of action, and a well developed story. It is the most entertaining so far, and proves to be brilliant. I was liking the franchise once again, after the unfortunate downfall of the Prisoner of Azkaban, in my opinion. Harry matures and developes more intimate relationships with others, and develops a better understanding of the severity of Lord Voldemort. And so as the characters mature, so does the film, into one of the best directed and produced of the franchise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
Though the book was tantamount for the series, this is most definitely the weakest of the Harry Potter movies. The biggest travesty is that the movie completely loses steam halfway through and ruins arguably the best climax of all seven booksThough the book was tantamount for the series, this is most definitely the weakest of the Harry Potter movies. The biggest travesty is that the movie completely loses steam halfway through and ruins arguably the best climax of all seven books because of it. It's also frustrating to watch the movie straddle between being a "grown-up" vs. a "kiddie" movie, as if the producers struggled to plaster the movie with a PG rating while it was destined to be PG-13. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
GoldenEye16Aug 21, 2010
A very good and exciting movie that goes by the book reasonably well. It was really fast-paced and there was loads of action. However I wish two things better. First, the maze for the third task did not have any of the obstacles orA very good and exciting movie that goes by the book reasonably well. It was really fast-paced and there was loads of action. However I wish two things better. First, the maze for the third task did not have any of the obstacles or creatures from the book. Why take that out and put in really nothing is kind of stupid. Also, I really wish that they had Voldemort with his hood on like the book covers/illustrations. It really looks cooler that way and more menacing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
nboley08Aug 16, 2010
This film builds up the tension and energy of Voldemort's arrival so brilliantly and enthusiastically that it's impossible to think anyone didn't love the book as they were filming it. The tasks are incredible to watch and even though I hadThis film builds up the tension and energy of Voldemort's arrival so brilliantly and enthusiastically that it's impossible to think anyone didn't love the book as they were filming it. The tasks are incredible to watch and even though I had read the book before I watched the film, I was constantly on pins and needles as I watched Harry struggle. This is probably the best of the series, definitely my personal favorite thus far. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JoS.Mar 8, 2009
Good attempt at my favorite of the books. I think K P's response was head on. What made me love this book was the of course Goblet of Fire. But the Yule Ball seemed to last forever with the odd punkish band. After the Ball it seemed Good attempt at my favorite of the books. I think K P's response was head on. What made me love this book was the of course Goblet of Fire. But the Yule Ball seemed to last forever with the odd punkish band. After the Ball it seemed that they raced against time to catch up with the story and the 2nd competition was over before it even started. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdnanA.Jul 19, 2008
When I watched this movie for the first time I was like... what the hell. They've ruined it! But when I watched it again and again the more I started to love it. Even though this movie also like the third one differs from the book but I When I watched this movie for the first time I was like... what the hell. They've ruined it! But when I watched it again and again the more I started to love it. Even though this movie also like the third one differs from the book but I liked whatever they did. The only thing I didn't like was the third task which is totally different from the books. Has no creatures or any excitement, but then the graveyard scene after that totally makes it up for the third task and all the credit goes to Ralph Fieness as our dear Voldemort. Story... What can I say!!?? It's Harry Potter, of course it's gonna rock. Acting... The trio remains marvelous, no doubt about that, but the rising stars are Ralph as Voldemort, Brendon as Moody and Miranda as Rita. They take the movie to a whole new level. Other adult actors are already perfect so i'm not praising them here. Michael Gambon sucked again!! In face he sucked more than he did in the previous one. That scene in which he runs towards Harry asking if he had put his name in the goblet is evidence enough for his suckage. Richard Harris we miss you!!! May he rest in peace. Direction... I found Mike Newell better than Alfonso Cuaron. Handling such a big novel is not easy but he has done an excellent job. But of course the main credit will go the Steve Kloves who is the screen writer. Even though i'd still say Warner bros should have never changed Chris in the first place. Since Chris is gone Harry Potter has lost smoothness. See lord of the rings, all the three movies feel ONE! This is not the case with HP. Visuals... The dragon was superb. The second task was superb. Voldemort's makeup was superb. In short the visuals were superb!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JenniferB.Jul 7, 2008
KP You need to get a life! are you normal, you should write a book. Harry Potter was great, yeh they left a lot out but how many children can keep up with jk rowlings twists and turns. Stop analyzing in depth and start enjoying whats on KP You need to get a life! are you normal, you should write a book. Harry Potter was great, yeh they left a lot out but how many children can keep up with jk rowlings twists and turns. Stop analyzing in depth and start enjoying whats on screen, trust me it help! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DalePMay 12, 2008
Agree with Tom K. The third movie is by far the best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JonLDec 15, 2007
Doesn't handle the angst as well as it should, but otherwise another finely crafted and thrilling build on the series as a whole.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BamM.Nov 20, 2007
I don't think it was bad at all I mean some parts could have been better but for the most part I LOVED IT! I cont think the movie is getting the perks it deserves. If you think it was bad I don't think we were watching the same I don't think it was bad at all I mean some parts could have been better but for the most part I LOVED IT! I cont think the movie is getting the perks it deserves. If you think it was bad I don't think we were watching the same movie. Watch it again if you think its bad maybe you'll change your mind!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KPAug 23, 2007
The Goblet of Fire is the worst Harry Potter film of them all so far. Mike Newell was terrible as a director and I'm not sure if he entirely understands the world of Harry Potter as well as the other directors, Chris Columbus, Alfonso The Goblet of Fire is the worst Harry Potter film of them all so far. Mike Newell was terrible as a director and I'm not sure if he entirely understands the world of Harry Potter as well as the other directors, Chris Columbus, Alfonso Cuaron and David Yates, do. They completely changed certain characters. Dumbledore, for instance, they changed him from the book. They changed him from a nice, caring, believing guy into an aggressive, shouting, unnice lunatic. For instance that line where he said to Harry "I thinks its unwise for you to linger over these dreams, Harry" Dumbledore from the books would NEVER say that. Dumbledore from the books believed Harry in thinking that the dreams might be happening. Dumbledore sending Barty Crouch Junior to Azkaban? That's not Dumbledore! Barty Crouch junior's character was terrible. They changed him from a clever, disguising, death eater into and aggressive, lunatic, who wants to fight all the time. I feel sorry for David Tennant, playing a character like that. They didn't include the fact that he got kissed by a dementor. That was important. Daniel Radcliffe's acting wasn't very good, neither was Emma Watson's. Rupert Grint as Ron is by far the best out of the main 3 characters. I thought Ralph Fiennes as Voldemort was good, and Brendan Gleeson as Moody was good. Robert Pattinson as Cedric was quite good. The only 2 bits of the film I really liked were the Defense Against the Dark Arts class, when Moody's teaching them how to use unforgivable curses, and I like sections of the bit where Voldemort returned. Mike Newell tried to include too much romance reference bits in the film. He was to focused on bits like the Yule Ball, and the humor, and not focused enough on bits like the tasks, the pensive scene and the bit where Voldemort returns. Emma Watson thought that they included the bits that need to be there from the book...she was WRONG! There were plenty of bits that weren't in the film that need to be there. My sister was confused by many bits and she hasn't read any of the books. How Harr Potter and the Goblet of Fire, the film, became as successful as it is I have no idea!! It was that bad. There were 38 differences from the book and the film! That's shocking! J.K. Rowling should be furious. Obviously I don't expect them to include everything from the book, but they should have put enough in to keep everyone in character and to make it have sense! I'm a huge Harry Potter fan, and it made me angry seeing the 2nd best book of the series being made into a film like that. Here's a list of things they didn't explain in the film: They didn't see who killed Barty Crouch Senior. They didn't explain why Barty Crouch Junior fired the Dark Mark. They didn't explain why Harry's scar kept hurting. They didn't explain how Barty Crouch Junior got to Azkaban. They cut the scene where Karkaroff and Snape are discussing the dark mark, it was in the deleted scenes. They changed it to make it look like Karkaroff was threatening Snape, when he was supposed to be terrified and begging Snape to believe him. They didn't include the fact that Karkaroff ran away at the end of the Triwizard Tournament. They didn't include enough magic. It was to muggle like at alot of times, especially the bit where Fred and George try to put their names into the Goblet of Fire. Krum's character didn't have much to say. The list is almost endless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TomK.Aug 19, 2007
The fourth film in series is better than the first too, but not better than the third one. it is matching the books in style and environment, but it's moving too fast and skipping important events from the book. Still, the movie stands, The fourth film in series is better than the first too, but not better than the third one. it is matching the books in style and environment, but it's moving too fast and skipping important events from the book. Still, the movie stands, but not as the third one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful