Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 864 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Harry IV is an intelligent, visually seductive and mostly very satisfying fantasy epic of the first order.
  2. Wall Street Journal
    Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    90
    The studio, like plucky Harry, passes with flying colors. The new one, directed by Mike Newell from another astute script by Mr. Kloves, is even richer and fuller, as well as dramatically darker. It's downright scary how good this movie is.
  3. Probably the most engaging Potter film of the series thus far.
  4. 75
    With the cast getting looser and the mind games kinkier, it's hard to resist.
  5. Goblet of Fire, fourth in the fantasy franchise, is the most fun and the most fraught with conflict.
  6. 60
    Came alive only in the presence of a supposed dead man -- specifically, the nefarious Lord Voldemort.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 325
  1. CaptainSadness
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    At first I thought the movie was going to be lame. It started of with weak diolouge and then after 20 minutes in...I realized I was actually At first I thought the movie was going to be lame. It started of with weak diolouge and then after 20 minutes in...I realized I was actually leaning forward in my seat with anticipation. This movie is awesome! I have to say the the Death Eaters, and the plot around them was awesome! The Dark Lord's raising a duel with Harry in the graveyard was stunning! This movie certainly had a creep factor at parts...which is great for the HP frachise! Expand
  2. BabuR
    Dec 26, 2005
    10
    The Best one in the Potter Series, Nice screenplay, action and cooler than ever.
  3. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    My personal favorite in the series and in my opinion the best in the series, it's funnier and has more action, and the story is the best yet,My personal favorite in the series and in my opinion the best in the series, it's funnier and has more action, and the story is the best yet, a must see and deserving of nothing less than a perfect 10 not because it's the best Harry Potter, but because it will suck you in, a must see for fans. Expand
  4. BryanN.
    Nov 25, 2005
    9
    Basically, for the Harry Potter series, the success of a film is greatly based on the ability of the director making a synopsys of it. I am Basically, for the Harry Potter series, the success of a film is greatly based on the ability of the director making a synopsys of it. I am personaly pleased with the fourth instalment. Director Chris Collumbus managed to stuff all the action in it while trying to make sense for all of it. However, he left out some unnessesary plots which caused unsatisfaction to certain people. As mentioned earlier, i loved HPGOF. It was fascinating and the computer graphichs were simply brilliant. I was simply awed by how the tiles flew from the castle roof when the dragon kind of clinged on it. There are also a lot of breath-taking action and wonderfull scenery. An adventure leads to another, it's as simple as that. I really enjoyed the movie very much, maybe it's due to months of anticipated wait. The celebrities however, play an important role in the popularity of the movie. There are, naturally, humurous parts of the film as a tradition, some from Rowling, but some implemented from Chris himself. It was really funny. My only complaint is, the lenght of the movie was too short. For a book that's that thick, it seems rather impossible for the director to minimized it to it's current state but he managed. Unfortunately, this resulted in difficulty in understanding the Movie. i doubt anyone would truly realize what is happening if he or she has yet to read the book. In my opinoin, the show should at least be 3 hours long, but 5 as a better option. He could have divided the movie into two episodes. By then people would not complain : Why no SPEW? Why no Winky, And Why No Sphinx? As a conclution, Chris has managed to pack J.K.Rowlings Fascinating world into an action packed film. This is the defining film for the whole series, a must watch for fans. It is definitely worth your bucks. Expand
  5. Jul 5, 2011
    8
    As Harry Potter and his friends begin their fourth year at hogswarts as well as meeting new friends from their respective schools, aAs Harry Potter and his friends begin their fourth year at hogswarts as well as meeting new friends from their respective schools, a Tri-Wizard tournament has just been taken place and only three students have been chosen. Now the fourth student to overcome that event, little does Harry Potter know that the servants of the Dark Lord are planning to reborn their master as he encounters all three of these tasks. I was amazed and speechless (not to mention frightened) when I saw this dark and epic entry of the series and I was excited to see it taking the franchise into new heights. The actors did a lot of talent and charm of the now changed personalites of the characters, The action and CGI were pretty unique and very intense, The storyline from the fourth book stayed faithful and Ralph Fiennes deserved some credit (as well as the others) for his amazing performance as Lord Voldemort. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire is the most darkest entry of the series that took the franchise into new heights in fantasy history and one of the best movies from the past five years. 8/10 Expand
  6. KyleL.
    Feb 10, 2006
    7
    I like the Harry Potter movies and this is just like the previous...entertaining. It wasn't dull, yet I wasn't on the edge of my I like the Harry Potter movies and this is just like the previous...entertaining. It wasn't dull, yet I wasn't on the edge of my seat. Perfect for younger tweens! Expand
  7. davidc.
    Dec 3, 2005
    0
    Hail to the thief There is not a skant of originality to be found in this waifer thin super british film(why in films are the british so Hail to the thief There is not a skant of originality to be found in this waifer thin super british film(why in films are the british so toffy nosed, and exageratedly propper? we are not really like this). The last Harry Snotter film was much better. Expand

See all 325 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Every Harry Potter Movie, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Every Harry Potter Movie, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: April 15, 2016
    Find a ranking by Metascore of every film in the Harry Potter series.
  2. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  5. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.