User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 901 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. HayleeB
    Nov 22, 2009
    3
    A complete bore! The movie reached about half way and i couldnt wait for it to end. There was a massive lead up and then it just fell and boy did it fall hard. What happened to the whole battle at hogwarts at the end?? It was a corny romance. I was really disappointed with the amount of things they left out. This is by far my least favourite movie out of them all. It was a real disappointement.
  2. Sampson
    Aug 3, 2009
    0
    This movie is horrible.
  3. SD.
    Jul 20, 2009
    1
    WHAT???? That was the response by the audience after the movie. To be honest, it would be a good question to ask if David Yates has actually read the books. Yea, he got the jist of things in the movie, however, the suspense, the questions, the mystery, where was it all. In fact, he ruined parts of the next movie by one simple scene. For the people who have read the books and seen the movie,
  4. Tiffany
    Jul 17, 2009
    3
    If i hadn't read the book, maybe i wouldn't have been so dissapointed with this movie. But then again, i wouldn't understand a thing when the 7th comes around. I dont understand what they were thinking cutting every good/important peice out of this movie. I could name atleast 15 things missing/wrong in this movie. I say they re-make it. Just awful, if certain parts werent If i hadn't read the book, maybe i wouldn't have been so dissapointed with this movie. But then again, i wouldn't understand a thing when the 7th comes around. I dont understand what they were thinking cutting every good/important peice out of this movie. I could name atleast 15 things missing/wrong in this movie. I say they re-make it. Just awful, if certain parts werent funny, or they hadnt stuck that tiny little bit of action in there I would give it a 0. Collapse
  5. TimW
    Jul 17, 2009
    2
    Flat like a tire. Drab. Was there a sound track? Stark coloring. Eviscerated the book. By far the worst H.P. movie. Ridiculous dialogue. The sort of work an ADHD meth addict would do if he were spiraling into suicidal depression. Had all the emotion of a tax return. Luna Lovegood earned both points I gave this film. She's the only reason to see it. She was perfect.
  6. frankw
    Jul 26, 2009
    3
    Extremely poor directing. Plays out almost as a 'cliff notes' movie of a 'cliff notes' synopsis of the true story that the director just pulled parts from and then made up connecting points. There was about 20 minutes of film time that had NOTHING to do with the book, that could have been utilized to include the final fight scene and the memories of the Gaunt family episodes.
  7. beansb
    Aug 9, 2009
    3
    Very Boring. I don't read the books, but liked all the other movies. This one was very bad.
  8. PaulHickey
    Aug 5, 2009
    3
    This was not so much a film as a series of practically unrelated scenes held together with little substance. I give it 3 merely for the presence of alan rickman and michael gambon, the latter of which they killed off so eh... good look making the next one. The leads are as wooden as a 2x4.
  9. LeeW
    Aug 7, 2009
    3
    An hour too long, filled with padding about teenage boyfriend-girlfriend relationships, which are anything but magical. I did my best to stay awake.
  10. MatthewW
    Jul 22, 2009
    3
    I just couldn't follow it. Very disappointing.
  11. GeorgeL
    Jul 28, 2009
    3
    Apparently there are two camps regarding Yates' interpretation of HBP: either engaging and satisfying or off-track and disappointing. The split is a remarkable comment on either devotion to Rowling's story development or the state of book adaptation in filmmaking today, a subject for debate elsewhere. A big fan of the written series and bigger fan of the Azkaban film I felt Apparently there are two camps regarding Yates' interpretation of HBP: either engaging and satisfying or off-track and disappointing. The split is a remarkable comment on either devotion to Rowling's story development or the state of book adaptation in filmmaking today, a subject for debate elsewhere. A big fan of the written series and bigger fan of the Azkaban film I felt confused and a bit cheated when watching HBP. The trailers were edited to be much more engaging than the film turned out to be, the acting/dialog seemed off balance compared to previous stints turned in by all parties, and the unbelievable reconstruction of the action on the tower were mind-blowingly inconsistent and disappointing. I can only hope the DVD will be released with much more-true-to-the-book alternate scenes. Expand
  12. DerekG
    Jul 29, 2009
    3
    From the perspective of someone who has neither read any of the books nor watched completely any of the other movies: HBP was a horrible movie and I hated it save for a few moments of levity. Mainly provided by Luna Lovegood. Most of the acting seemed off, especially the age of the actors compared to the characters was incredibly offputting - Daniel Radcliff looks like she should have a From the perspective of someone who has neither read any of the books nor watched completely any of the other movies: HBP was a horrible movie and I hated it save for a few moments of levity. Mainly provided by Luna Lovegood. Most of the acting seemed off, especially the age of the actors compared to the characters was incredibly offputting - Daniel Radcliff looks like she should have a mortgage and a kid or two but is playing a high school senior-aged kid. The CG was used in lame pastiches and at unnecessary moments and featured nothing particularly impressive or imaginative to look at. By the end I was cheering for the Deatheaters, especially the always delightfully eccentric Helena Bonham-Carter. Expand
  13. Nov 25, 2010
    0
    The movie is totally unbearable. The acting is poor and unnatural (how old are the characters supposed to be???), the plot is awfully idiotic. Frankly speaking, I watched the second half in double-speed, because I didn't want to waste too much time on this crap (I could turn it off, of course, but I had Hope that the ending would be great; it wasn't). The book is great, though. I'm tryingThe movie is totally unbearable. The acting is poor and unnatural (how old are the characters supposed to be???), the plot is awfully idiotic. Frankly speaking, I watched the second half in double-speed, because I didn't want to waste too much time on this crap (I could turn it off, of course, but I had Hope that the ending would be great; it wasn't). The book is great, though. I'm trying to forget this movie poison. Expand
  14. CRL
    Jul 27, 2011
    3
    This is without a doubt the worst movie of the Harry Potter series. It took a book that was extremely thin to begin with and chopped half of it cleanly away, ending up with a montage of broken scenes where months pass in a second and a single day takes an hour. Sometimes it tries to be an action film, sometimes it tries to be a comedy, sometimes it tries to be a suspense thriller. InThis is without a doubt the worst movie of the Harry Potter series. It took a book that was extremely thin to begin with and chopped half of it cleanly away, ending up with a montage of broken scenes where months pass in a second and a single day takes an hour. Sometimes it tries to be an action film, sometimes it tries to be a comedy, sometimes it tries to be a suspense thriller. In the end, it's just a mismatched rehash of what David Yates saw as the most important scenes from the source material. Expand
  15. May 4, 2012
    3
    I found this film boring for almost all of it. I really just did not like this one for some reason. It was just never for me. But you guys might like it but I don't. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince 3.9/10
  16. RD
    Jul 15, 2009
    3
    Clumsy and choppy. The important things were left out and the things added in added little and confused things for the most part. What ever happened to just condensing down a good book instead of trying to reinvent the whole thing. This movie should have been a lot better.
  17. JonD
    Jul 29, 2009
    4
    I thought it was disappointing way to much couple stuff that was all so predictable if you have half a brain. and tbh the past films 3,4,5 made harry look way ahead of the curve powers wise. but this film makes him look very very weak. hes useless against snape. and cannot save himself in the cave. . .. its stupid. aswell as there are so many differences in the book which i thought wouldI thought it was disappointing way to much couple stuff that was all so predictable if you have half a brain. and tbh the past films 3,4,5 made harry look way ahead of the curve powers wise. but this film makes him look very very weak. hes useless against snape. and cannot save himself in the cave. . .. its stupid. aswell as there are so many differences in the book which i thought would have been great in the movie instead of an hour's filla about relationships. Expand
  18. DoctorT
    Aug 2, 2009
    4
    From a comment below: "This was for a person who read the books (sorry can't see How if you only saw the movies you can comment)" This perfectly sums up what is wrong with these plodding films. They are made purely as accompaniments to the books. More of a series of visual footnotes, they are, in fact, barely films at all.
  19. EmericC
    Aug 6, 2009
    4
    It's was too long and just boring. The book is much better, read it.
  20. TonyC.
    Aug 9, 2009
    2
    Some great shots, and some really bad directing. what a way to ruin a great book, and totally suck the energy, surprise, and power out of the ending.
  21. SnakeDoctor
    Sep 7, 2009
    1
    I've been watching Harry Potter since I was a little kid but enough is enough.I'm growing tired of really bad Harry Potter movies that look like teen sensational movies.For Pete's sake just put them to have sex or something.Anyway this movie sucks.
  22. AnonA
    Jun 10, 2009
    0
    user reviews are so arbitrary that so many of them are just based on first impressions as indicated by how many reviews are out right now even though the movie hasn't even finished post production yet. User reviews should be limited to people who have metacritic accounts, because user ratings right now are completely pointless.
  23. KenR.
    Jul 15, 2009
    1
    What is everybody smoking? This movie was horrible. Awful. It is easily the worst of the franchise. Gasps of "WHAT?" went up accross the theatre when the credits rolled. My entire family, Potter lovers all, hated this film. I toyed with the idea of demanding my money back, but hey it's not the theater owner's fault the film is such a crushing, pointless, listless bore. I'd What is everybody smoking? This movie was horrible. Awful. It is easily the worst of the franchise. Gasps of "WHAT?" went up accross the theatre when the credits rolled. My entire family, Potter lovers all, hated this film. I toyed with the idea of demanding my money back, but hey it's not the theater owner's fault the film is such a crushing, pointless, listless bore. I'd advise you not to waste your entertainment dollar on this awful film - even when it comes out on DVD. Terrible, terrible stuff. Expand
  24. WesleyS
    Jul 15, 2009
    4
    Whether you have read the books or not, this is a yawnfest. The screenplay is horrible. At least the acting, cinematography and special effects are good.
  25. jamesc
    Jul 16, 2009
    3
    This was a very slow, plodding and rather uneventful movie. I'm utterly shocked at all the positive reviews. Other movies in this series were much better, but it seems the movie makers are simply stringing things out as much as they can to reap the $$$ from the throngs of fans who'll see just about any Potter film regardless of the quality. My daughter, who is a fan of the movie This was a very slow, plodding and rather uneventful movie. I'm utterly shocked at all the positive reviews. Other movies in this series were much better, but it seems the movie makers are simply stringing things out as much as they can to reap the $$$ from the throngs of fans who'll see just about any Potter film regardless of the quality. My daughter, who is a fan of the movie was quite disappointed with it, as were several very vocal attendees at our showing. As they left the theatre, several people looked at each other and asked, how they liked it. There was a uniform chorus of "that sucked didn't it?" Noit much actually happens in the film. There's more than enough teen angst and broken heartedness amongst the key characters to create a movie just on that storyline alone. The younger Malfoy has turned from a sinister child into a gawky, brooding, troubled, lankey Andy Warholesque character. He just broods and hides around Hogwarts and makes endless trips to the transporter booth, testing it out. The whole plot of this film is unbelievable and inconsistent in the context of the other Potter films. And the final climactic battle, if it can even be called that, is such a letdown, given what is in the book, it's hard to whether the film makers read the book or even cared to try to make the ending exciting. A real disappointment overall. Expand
  26. ElizabethB
    Jul 16, 2009
    4
    I am a Harry Potter Fan. Read all the books but this movie fell below the expected standards. I get that they changed the air of the movie making it lose all of its charm and attractiveness to be dark and mysterious. However they just skipped over all the key issues of the book. Didn't really explain the horixues, didn't show the tiara, no funeral, do bill and fleur, why the I am a Harry Potter Fan. Read all the books but this movie fell below the expected standards. I get that they changed the air of the movie making it lose all of its charm and attractiveness to be dark and mysterious. However they just skipped over all the key issues of the book. Didn't really explain the horixues, didn't show the tiara, no funeral, do bill and fleur, why the hell burn down the weasley hoouse?, no fight between death eaters and order of the phoneix just making the end boring and making harry look weak. I could of ignored all the differences in the screen but stop writing new crap and putting it in and just follow the book. The movies were made because of how good the book is so then why do the directors think they need to be changed so much. Just follow the book and you will have a hit. I don't know how they are going to figure out the horixues without being give any info especially the tiara. I did like the funny parts and the cave was good but thats it. Hopefully 7 is better because 6 really kinda sucked. Expand
  27. AnonymousMC
    Jul 17, 2009
    2
    its different from the other harry potter movies...the ambiance...the feel..the colors..whats going on people?u have the budget and the brilliant mind of the author....am 1 of the biggest harry potter fan..i read the whole series 7 times...the others are way too good to be precedeed by this...please make the last one the best!!!!
  28. CindyC
    Jul 17, 2009
    4
    A better title for this movie would be "Harry Potter and the Half-Baked Plot". Important storylines are altered beyond recognition, barely touched upon or missing altogether, while trivial points that do not advance the story are dwelled on at length. Apparently it was more important to introduce a hypothetical waitress for Harry to flirt with at the beginning of the film than to retain A better title for this movie would be "Harry Potter and the Half-Baked Plot". Important storylines are altered beyond recognition, barely touched upon or missing altogether, while trivial points that do not advance the story are dwelled on at length. Apparently it was more important to introduce a hypothetical waitress for Harry to flirt with at the beginning of the film than to retain the climactic battle between Death Eaters and Order members at the end. The spirit of what was already one of the more forgettable installments in the Potter series has been lost. The film does boast some highlights, including strong performances by Jim Broadbent, Tom Felton and the always-superb Alan Rickman. For every Slughorn, Draco or Snape, however, there's a Ginny Weasley, who is incapable of showing emotion even when sharing a first kiss with Harry. Other major characters (McGonnagal, Hagrid) are reduced to mere window dressing. While the film is visually stunning in places, the musical score matches Ginny Weasley's acting for blandness.. I can still hum music from the first four movies but can't recall a note from Half-Blood Prince -- and I saw the movie yesterday. Perhaps the most aggregious sin of this disappointing film is the ending, which has been gutted beyond recognition. Those who were looking forward to the battle between Death Eaters and Order members, or the tender scene between a greviously wounded Bill Weasley and Fleur Delacour, will be cruelly disappointed. What is left is an emotionless and rushed confrontation between Harry and Snape that is so poorly directed that the revelation regarding Snape at the end of Book 7 can be anticipated. I understand that one cannot remain 100% faithful when adapting books like this to film. However, decisions should remain true to the spirit of the book. (A superb example of this is Prizoner of Azkaban, still the best of the Potter films.) The screenwriter and director involved in Half-Blood Prince clearly don't get it, unfortunately. Their decision-making reminds me of scenes from the movie The Majestic, where film executives propose script changes that are increasingly ridiculous. "I've got a 'what if'...'" What if the screenwriter and director had left the ending of Half-Blood Prince intact? Then this would have been a much better film. I shudder to think that Book 7 is being handed to this same team. Expand
  29. SamW.
    Jul 19, 2009
    4
    This movie left me ambivalent, nearly 2 and a half hours of unrequieted teenage love. About which nothing came to fruition. Wholesale rewrites of the book are unacceptable. The destruction of the burrow, and no clues given to the trio as to what the horcruxes are much less how to get them. Can someone please explain to me why this movie is called Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince? This movie left me ambivalent, nearly 2 and a half hours of unrequieted teenage love. About which nothing came to fruition. Wholesale rewrites of the book are unacceptable. The destruction of the burrow, and no clues given to the trio as to what the horcruxes are much less how to get them. Can someone please explain to me why this movie is called Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince? Because it is only in name that it has any relationship to the book. This one should have been named "Harry Potter and the Grips of Adolecent Love". Harry Potter and the Mundane Emotion of Rampant Teenage Hormones" . The reason the book is named as such is the mystery behind the name in the book that makes Harry such a briliant potions student, and his ongoing battle with the greasy former potions teacher. This movie should show people what happens when Warner Brother Execs. Start making artistic and Story decisions. This movie should have been directed by Alan Smithee. Expand
  30. DenebK
    Jul 20, 2009
    0
    What a waste of time. At no point in the movie did I feel anything for these cardboard characters. Save your money, or go watch something else. Doesn't deliver on any level.
  31. PaulS
    Jul 21, 2009
    2
    Goo thing this was not the first movie in the series or I would never see the others. I never read the books, but suspect that this volume had a plot in the print version. This was the first HP film I went to where I found myself looking at my watch.
  32. MattE
    Jul 20, 2009
    3
    First let me establish that I am, along with half the literate public, a bonafide Harry Potter fan. I have read all the books within days of their release and dutifully attended each movie upon release. The first two were rather disappointing due entirely to the dearth of acting talent from the young stars (and who could blame the kids, it's hard to find a Haley Joel Osment). But First let me establish that I am, along with half the literate public, a bonafide Harry Potter fan. I have read all the books within days of their release and dutifully attended each movie upon release. The first two were rather disappointing due entirely to the dearth of acting talent from the young stars (and who could blame the kids, it's hard to find a Haley Joel Osment). But then, starting with part three, the movies began to improve, markedly. The feeling of improvement only added to the excitement of each new release -- maybe the studios would do the book justice this time. And with movies four and five they finally succeeded, even more so with five. And so, I had come to expect something event worthy, even stunning when I bought my ticket for the Half-Blood Prince. To my disappointment, and this time to no fault of the young actors (who've earned their roles), the movie meandered and overemphasized and fell back on tired tricks and worn cinematic habits. Scenes went unsubscribed -- the opening where muggles are in awe of a world inexplicably turned upside down -- and plot points are brushed over to make room for more adolescent drama than a season of Dawson's Creek. In fact, the whole thing felt like a TV miniseries instead of a movie -- which makes sense wince David Yates was plucked from the TV biz. And, to ad insult to injury, they massacred the ending, though I won't spoil it. What a shame. Let's hope Yates puts down the Lolita and rereads the source before taking on the final two installments. Expand
  33. DanielL
    Jul 21, 2009
    3
    The movie and the book share one thing in common: the title. Major scenes from the book are left out, and a confusing scene was added. If you liked the book, don't see this. That said, the movie is very artsy and pretty, so if that's your cup of tea, have at it.
  34. DanielW
    Jul 20, 2009
    3
    If i wanted to go see twilight i would have, this movie does nothing but insult the books and the previous movies.
  35. Jack
    Jul 22, 2009
    4
    Seriously, how could anyone have this rated above 5? I love the series, but Daniel Radcliff has ruined the character of harry. Obviously no one told him that having the same expression on your face for 2 and a half hours isn't actually acting.
  36. linkez
    Jul 23, 2009
    1
    HPB's entire lack of build up / tension, its removal of all mystery from this movie and the next, and its removal of the climax of the story gives it a well deserved one. Even the characters were forced and all the acting seemed overdone. Would not suggest watching.
  37. louisD
    Jul 20, 2009
    1
    I went to see this movie on it's realease and let me sey it's terrible absoulute GARBAGE the atmosphere from the early films is complety lost gone. Daniel radcliffes acting seems to have been getting worse the more he plays harry no joke, he was so stiff there was no genue emotion he acted as though he was was nervous A sh** performance. And ginger C*** ron sucked big time theI went to see this movie on it's realease and let me sey it's terrible absoulute GARBAGE the atmosphere from the early films is complety lost gone. Daniel radcliffes acting seems to have been getting worse the more he plays harry no joke, he was so stiff there was no genue emotion he acted as though he was was nervous A sh** performance. And ginger C*** ron sucked big time the only good thing about this crap fest was Hermineie her acting was rubbish but not her ass. Hermineie can sit on my lap anyday FIT!!! Expand
  38. KevinGates
    Jul 20, 2009
    4
    This movie is not true to the book in any way. Most of the important details were removed, leaving only some of the memory portions, the potions book, and the entire romantic subplot. All of the interaction between characters has been dumbed down, or removed, unless they are in looove.
    Don't waste your time or money on a movie ticket, wait until it comes on TNT.
  39. MitchellZ
    Jul 20, 2009
    4
    Ugghh! What a crashing bore of a movie. Two and a half-blood-prince hours of nothing that led nowhere. Daniel Radcliff has trouble carrying a wand, forget a movie. This guy needs a primer in facial expressions, emotive acting, something to keep me interested and aligned with his character!!! The clunky dialogue doesn't help either. I do hove to say that the film was reaching for a Ugghh! What a crashing bore of a movie. Two and a half-blood-prince hours of nothing that led nowhere. Daniel Radcliff has trouble carrying a wand, forget a movie. This guy needs a primer in facial expressions, emotive acting, something to keep me interested and aligned with his character!!! The clunky dialogue doesn't help either. I do hove to say that the film was reaching for a darker mood and theme and almost got their on a few occasions. But for the most part the movie was thoroughly uninteresting, unexciting, un-magical!--just UN!! I did like Michael Gambon as Dumbledore-more uncle that foreboding wizard-and of course Rickman as Snape. For the two part finale I say "Bring on the Death Eaters! Lay waste to Hogwarts!" Now that would be a fun movie. Expand
  40. Jessie
    Jul 29, 2009
    0
    They didn't stick to the book they are very different.
  41. TH.
    Jul 30, 2009
    4
    Yeah, I guess I really don't get why so many people want to jump for joy over a few nifty effects and sets, and for what is referred to as "brand loyalty." Maybe there are a few other "loyalties" in this business outside of critics saying how they really feel. Or maybe some of them saw a completely different film from the one I saw. Sophisticated storytelling? Bah. Mature? Hardly. No Yeah, I guess I really don't get why so many people want to jump for joy over a few nifty effects and sets, and for what is referred to as "brand loyalty." Maybe there are a few other "loyalties" in this business outside of critics saying how they really feel. Or maybe some of them saw a completely different film from the one I saw. Sophisticated storytelling? Bah. Mature? Hardly. No matter. The great acting is done by primarily older cast members with the exception of Hero Fiennes-Tiffin and Frank Dillane, who both respectively portray a very chilling, young Tom Riddle at ages 11 and 16. Too bad they didn't get more screen time. I give it a 4 rating, here, for the good actors. Expand
  42. AlexH
    Jul 30, 2009
    4
    There's nothing much to grade here. There was just no use to making Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince. This film really just repeated what the last one (Order of the Phenix) established: "we must kill Voldermort, but how o' how?" I'm sure you will do fine with missing this way-too-long, went nowhere, installment of the Harry Potter series.
  43. MidnightF
    Jul 30, 2009
    1
    This "reinvention" isn't worth the time. they really crapped all over the beginning. No Dursleys, nor Gaunts. Instead they added extraneous material not in the book and for the most part wasn't worth the time.(Although I can understand the "No Elves" attitude. I don't expect Dobby or Kreacher in the last movies. And if they do show up, how will it make any sense considering This "reinvention" isn't worth the time. they really crapped all over the beginning. No Dursleys, nor Gaunts. Instead they added extraneous material not in the book and for the most part wasn't worth the time.(Although I can understand the "No Elves" attitude. I don't expect Dobby or Kreacher in the last movies. And if they do show up, how will it make any sense considering their absence from the previous films?) No Ministry, no obvious evidence that the ministry is even doing anything remotely connected to opposing the Death Eaters. It was a relief to see Lupin and Tonks for all the brevity they gave the characters. Which was a shame considering the nice subplot they had in the book, which wasn't existent in the movie. Snape should have had more time for the buildup to what comes later. I have no doubt that when his death comes it will be as anticlimatic and unemotional as Dumbledore's was. The ending to this movie was just a disaster. Expand
  44. FredS
    Aug 14, 2009
    2
    Very pretty with some nice special effects here and there, but overall much, much too long, and problematic and unsatisfying in terms of pace of plot and character development.
  45. CarmineC
    Aug 3, 2009
    4
    I know there are good movies, but i just don't like 'em
  46. AnonyMouse
    Oct 11, 2009
    2
    Don't bother watching this movie and just stick with the novels. If you enjoyed the book, avoid this adaptation at ALL COSTS. It's like they just randomly chose parts from the book to film; unless they show all the missing events and details in a flashback, Deathly Hallows is going to be full of plot holes or an even worse adaptation than Half-Blood Prince.
  47. Kent
    Oct 13, 2009
    4
    Man did I find this disappointing. I love the Harry Potter books and have enjoyed the movies (not great, but fine nonetheless) and after reading all the hype and excellent reviews about this move I was, in a word: "amped". In the ed however, the new film actually had me bored. It focused waaaaaaaay too much on the romance side of the story (seriously, if we want over-the-top pathetic Man did I find this disappointing. I love the Harry Potter books and have enjoyed the movies (not great, but fine nonetheless) and after reading all the hype and excellent reviews about this move I was, in a word: "amped". In the ed however, the new film actually had me bored. It focused waaaaaaaay too much on the romance side of the story (seriously, if we want over-the-top pathetic romance, we will watchTwilight). The director, for some god-forsaken reason deamed it fit to add a completely pointless 10 minute scene in which the Burrow is destroyed. This added nothing to the film at all. And what the hell happened to that cool fight-scene at the ned of the book. There was essentially no storyline in retrospect and what there was could have been made into a half-hour film. Again: this film disappointed me heavily. Expand
  48. MartinS.
    Jul 15, 2009
    1
    One of the worst films of the year. They made us wait an extra year to see 2 hours of big budget soap opera drama and the acting talent from the diminutive cast is, as one could expect, as wide and inventive as that of monkeys addicted to crack cocaine. When all is said and done the film keeps one hoping for it all to start and at the end of the long haul one wonders when anything at all One of the worst films of the year. They made us wait an extra year to see 2 hours of big budget soap opera drama and the acting talent from the diminutive cast is, as one could expect, as wide and inventive as that of monkeys addicted to crack cocaine. When all is said and done the film keeps one hoping for it all to start and at the end of the long haul one wonders when anything at all will happen that will make up for losing so much time to something so unfinished. Where are all of the great action sequences from the books? I believe that films should take liberties to make a book work for celluloid, but removing the best bits makes no sense. Bottom line: Terrible rape of an average (to begin with) book. Expand
  49. JordanA
    Jul 15, 2009
    0
    I went to the midnight premiere last night and I have to say this was the worst premiere I have ever been to. It was ridiculously bad, no action and was VERY slow. If you are expecting a lot of talking then sure go see it, but if you wanted the original fighting/wizard battles then you won't get that. Usually there is a big battle at the end between Harry and someone else, this time I went to the midnight premiere last night and I have to say this was the worst premiere I have ever been to. It was ridiculously bad, no action and was VERY slow. If you are expecting a lot of talking then sure go see it, but if you wanted the original fighting/wizard battles then you won't get that. Usually there is a big battle at the end between Harry and someone else, this time there was not and it was just BORING. Expand
  50. JackS.
    Jul 15, 2009
    3
    Terrible acting, terrible attempts at dramatic pathos, terrible pacing, terrible exposition (and lack thereof!) terrible teen romance dialog. Any impact the sixth book has was dulled: my friends and I saw it at the midnight opening. One third of us left greatly disappointed, one third left wondering what had happened, one third fell asleep.
  51. LoriM
    Jul 15, 2009
    4
    This movie was bloody AWFUL. The WORST of all of the movies, by far. And, as a fan of the books, I left there absolutely outraged over the ending and all of the plot changes and major occurrences that were left out entirely. The ending was the biggest slap in the face, though. If you've read the books, be prepared for a huge disappointment with this movie. They reduced that This movie was bloody AWFUL. The WORST of all of the movies, by far. And, as a fan of the books, I left there absolutely outraged over the ending and all of the plot changes and major occurrences that were left out entirely. The ending was the biggest slap in the face, though. If you've read the books, be prepared for a huge disappointment with this movie. They reduced that wonderful, fantastic, awesome book (my favorite book of the whole series) to nothing more than a big-budget prelude to the final two movies. Shame on them. Expand
  52. ChristinaM
    Jul 16, 2009
    3
    The acting was good. The writing was horrible!
  53. JackW
    Jul 16, 2009
    3
    Very disappointing. Yates should not be the next director....bring back Columbus. Yates left out the final fight scene, Harry immobilized by Dumbledore (hard to believe Harry would just stand there while they kill Dumbledore, but then runs after them....bad screenplay). No indepth study of Voldemort's past.....way too much teen romance and not enough of the substance of the main plot.
  54. NeilS
    Jul 16, 2009
    4
    Nearly totally ignored the main storyline of the book which was the conversations bewteen Harry and Dumbledore involving the memories. Spent the majority of time with the budding romances, which I don't have a problem with, but I think the director could have spent his two hours and twenty minutes focusing on the more important elements. Really annoyed by the end.
  55. ZachJ
    Jul 16, 2009
    3
    If you haven't read the book I'm not sure how you're supposed to make sense of these seemingly random events of teen-love and a sulking Malfoy--Malfroy? Ahh--who cares. It seemed like they were so busy trying to pay homage to the book they forgot to create a central core of plot and theme around which to develop a comprehensible story. This felt more like a stepping stone If you haven't read the book I'm not sure how you're supposed to make sense of these seemingly random events of teen-love and a sulking Malfoy--Malfroy? Ahh--who cares. It seemed like they were so busy trying to pay homage to the book they forgot to create a central core of plot and theme around which to develop a comprehensible story. This felt more like a stepping stone to the next film than an actual movie within itself. Expand
  56. JamesC.
    Jul 16, 2009
    2
    Gutted! im a massive potter fan, i love the books and Half Blood Prince is my favourite book, i love the way it develops the relationship between harry and dumbledore whilst filling voldermorts backstory. all these happens amongst the teen angst and the back drop of voldermorts rise to power. The film achieves none of this! it bumbles around, from half baked story line to pointless new Gutted! im a massive potter fan, i love the books and Half Blood Prince is my favourite book, i love the way it develops the relationship between harry and dumbledore whilst filling voldermorts backstory. all these happens amongst the teen angst and the back drop of voldermorts rise to power. The film achieves none of this! it bumbles around, from half baked story line to pointless new scene. i wont ruin it for those who havent seen it but voldermorts childhood and teen years are largely ignored, most of the main characters outside of harry, ron, hermione and dumbledore barely have a line. i wont even mention the rest of the pivital stuff this movie misses out, however how they have made a movie without the pivotal final scene where harry decides not to come back to hogwarts for his final year is beyond me. the romance between harry and ginny barely registers as happening... i mean they have totally butchered this tremendous book.... in fact i would sooner listen to the brilliant stephen frys audiobook than watch this hatchet job ever again. unfortunately David Yates is back directing both parts of the deathly hallows, so for me that means another hatchet job will be made on the excellent finale... oh how i want del toro to direct them over this useless yates idiot! Gutted! Expand
  57. AmandaP
    Jul 16, 2009
    2
    This movie left out MAJOR story arks of the book. It left the movie making no sense at all. I am a huge HP fan, I have loved the actors, acting, movie of past - but this one has to be the worst in keeping with the book. I was so excited, waited for the midnight premiere and then left wanting to cry! They messed up so much of this movie that I'm afraid to think of what is going to This movie left out MAJOR story arks of the book. It left the movie making no sense at all. I am a huge HP fan, I have loved the actors, acting, movie of past - but this one has to be the worst in keeping with the book. I was so excited, waited for the midnight premiere and then left wanting to cry! They messed up so much of this movie that I'm afraid to think of what is going to happen in the next TWO movies. It was a favorite of many for a reason, why screw that up? Expand
  58. GuillermoM.
    Jul 16, 2009
    3
    The greatest disappointment David Yates had the best book of the series and he made the worst movie of the saga.
  59. RichardB
    Jul 17, 2009
    2
    It was a Harry Potter movie in NAME only! David Yates (Director) must have sat in his office and said,"Now, how far can we gut this book and still be able to call it a Harry Potter movie and make some money off all those Potter fans?" There's the book "The Half Blood Prince", and then there's the movie "The Half Blood Prince"......One has absolutely nothing to do with the other!
  60. EricF
    Jul 17, 2009
    0
    Easily the the worst of the 6 movies thus far. I'm so disappointed. Yates did a passible job directing the last film but this one was totally unacceptable. The cinematography was poorly done; the sets were obviously cheap -- some even looked like painted plywood; the screenplay was boring -- the dialog dragged on in some scenes, but was rushed in others. Critical story elements were Easily the the worst of the 6 movies thus far. I'm so disappointed. Yates did a passible job directing the last film but this one was totally unacceptable. The cinematography was poorly done; the sets were obviously cheap -- some even looked like painted plywood; the screenplay was boring -- the dialog dragged on in some scenes, but was rushed in others. Critical story elements were left out, while countless irrelavent story elements were added. I am so sad that Yates will be doing the next two films. Expand
  61. RichardB
    Jul 17, 2009
    3
    I took my children to see a movie from a book written by J.K.Rowling, not a movie written by David Yates. I, and my children, were very disappointed because this was a Harry Potter movie in name only. Where was the atmosphere from the previous films? Why were the scenes so "set-up", wooden and stiff? And if Mr. Yates had time to invent scenes that were not in the book, then he surely had I took my children to see a movie from a book written by J.K.Rowling, not a movie written by David Yates. I, and my children, were very disappointed because this was a Harry Potter movie in name only. Where was the atmosphere from the previous films? Why were the scenes so "set-up", wooden and stiff? And if Mr. Yates had time to invent scenes that were not in the book, then he surely had time to include things that WERE in the book. In the futue, if Mr Yates wishes to make a movie, he should write it himself, instead of gutting and ruining someone elses masterpiece. Expand
  62. MikeD.
    Jul 18, 2009
    3
    Movie left too many key story points out. The movie should have been three hours, if needed, to include these points (order of the phoenix and the DA against the death eaters, Fleur and Weasly, etc). The added scenes at the weasly house and the added scenes with Bellatrix added nothing. These stories get increasingly dark and more violent as the climax of good against evil looms. This Movie left too many key story points out. The movie should have been three hours, if needed, to include these points (order of the phoenix and the DA against the death eaters, Fleur and Weasly, etc). The added scenes at the weasly house and the added scenes with Bellatrix added nothing. These stories get increasingly dark and more violent as the climax of good against evil looms. This movie takes many steps backwards from the creative work done to date in the movies. Expand
  63. JonathanZ.
    Jul 18, 2009
    3
    This was one of the worst movies they ever did. it was nothing like the book and there was no action they added parts that souldnt of been there and they took out parts that are vital to the seventh movie so overall they screwed up one of the most important movies in the series.
  64. ZackC
    Jul 18, 2009
    0
    I'm with Richard B this was not Harry Potter at all. obviously anyone who gave this a good review did not read the books.
  65. KarenH.
    Jul 18, 2009
    2
    I absolutely loved the first 5 movies. They were filled with lots of action, suspense, etc., etc. With all the hype about this movie I just had to see it. I sat in the theater wondering when it was going to get to a good part. It just wasn't there for me. Too little of anything for me. I really expected better.
  66. FreddyL
    Jul 19, 2009
    0
    This was my favorite book, and worst Harry Potter film. The Harry potter films have been going downhill. They need Chris Columbus and John Williams.
  67. Uweb
    Jul 19, 2009
    3
    This film left a very bitter taste in my mouth. How they were allowed to release a film such as this is a mystery. As diluted as the plot is, you still recognise it as something vaguely to do with harry potter until halfway through the film when you think of any generic action film with bland actors in and cg artists with a bloated sense of self importance. The only good thing was it was This film left a very bitter taste in my mouth. How they were allowed to release a film such as this is a mystery. As diluted as the plot is, you still recognise it as something vaguely to do with harry potter until halfway through the film when you think of any generic action film with bland actors in and cg artists with a bloated sense of self importance. The only good thing was it was shiny enough to distract me from the first few atrocities and some suprises like tom felton out acting most of them by seeming halfway genuine. The way he acted, im glad that michael gambon (dumbledore) has nothing more to do with the series, as no doubt the post death scene will be cut from the 7th films. Expand
  68. HonestReview
    Jul 19, 2009
    4
    If you read the book, or you simply prefer interesting and entertaining movies, you should probably avoid the latest Harry Potter offering. The movie left out many pivotal scenes from the book entirely, and handled others poorly. It was, in fact, painfully dull. I can only imagine that the Deathly Hallows ( I & II ) will be even less entertaining. It's a shame, since this particular If you read the book, or you simply prefer interesting and entertaining movies, you should probably avoid the latest Harry Potter offering. The movie left out many pivotal scenes from the book entirely, and handled others poorly. It was, in fact, painfully dull. I can only imagine that the Deathly Hallows ( I & II ) will be even less entertaining. It's a shame, since this particular book was quite interesting, and the movie was nothing more than the traditional underwhelming sequal to a hit, delivering as little as possible while still raking in the money based on momentum from previous better offerings. Expand
  69. kyleb
    Jul 19, 2009
    2
    How do you make a movie about a book AND LEAVE OUT THE CLIMAX? The Death Eater battle just isn't there. Unbelievable! And how you give a good review to a movie that does this is beyond me. I'm so sick of hearing how good the cinematography is on this. There was WAY too much obvious green screen footage where the actors looked pasted in. That, plus all the silver filtering made How do you make a movie about a book AND LEAVE OUT THE CLIMAX? The Death Eater battle just isn't there. Unbelievable! And how you give a good review to a movie that does this is beyond me. I'm so sick of hearing how good the cinematography is on this. There was WAY too much obvious green screen footage where the actors looked pasted in. That, plus all the silver filtering made the whole thing look like the movie 300 instead of a HP movie. This is the worst HP movie by a mile. They completely copped out on the ending, just ignoring the whole Death Eater battle which was the CLIMAX of the Book. Expand
  70. SteveB
    Jul 19, 2009
    0
    Worst movie I have seen in years, boring and has no story, all the important and interesting details were omitted in favor of random and pointless scenes invented by the filmmakers. Skip this one and wait for the conclusion, you wont have missed much.
  71. JohnV.
    Jul 20, 2009
    1
    I found the 2 1/2 hours really boring. I have not read the books, but have seen most of the other movies. I found the story line extremely weak and confusing. Would suggest not seeing the movie unless you have read most of the books. I was not aware of enough of the previous story to make the movies at all interesting. Will skip the rest of the movies when they come out.
  72. RafaR
    Jul 21, 2009
    2
    Beautifully shot, but dull as hell... Kloves dropped the ball on the screenplay.
  73. LyndaR
    Jul 22, 2009
    2
    Worst Harry Potter film of the series, so dull and boring. A total waste of a good book, for gods sake dont let this director near the franchise again.
  74. RaineS
    Jul 24, 2009
    1
    I was soooooo dismayed and sad about how BAD this movie is. The books are full of so much wonderful stuff and it was like Harry Potter goes to the WB channel. Worse actually because the chemistry that used to be between the cast is gone, the acting was stiff and unbalanced. The story had no tread, even if they didn't go by the books exactly they could have at least come up with a I was soooooo dismayed and sad about how BAD this movie is. The books are full of so much wonderful stuff and it was like Harry Potter goes to the WB channel. Worse actually because the chemistry that used to be between the cast is gone, the acting was stiff and unbalanced. The story had no tread, even if they didn't go by the books exactly they could have at least come up with a central storyline. It is a shame, why did they give David Yates all of these movies- the only one to his credit was girl in the cafe and that still was not fully realized. The only saving grace was visual effects which they brought someone else in to do. I only give it a 1 because of Jim Broadbent Expand
  75. BilguunU
    Jul 25, 2009
    1
    As a fan of the books I always had high expectations for all of the previous HP movies, and had been disappointed every time. This movie is crap. The director obviously doesn't understand what is, and what is not important in the story. The most most disappointing aspect was the overabundance of the teenage girl styled love scenes. Half of the movie I felt like watching a soap opera. As a fan of the books I always had high expectations for all of the previous HP movies, and had been disappointed every time. This movie is crap. The director obviously doesn't understand what is, and what is not important in the story. The most most disappointing aspect was the overabundance of the teenage girl styled love scenes. Half of the movie I felt like watching a soap opera. I wish someone like Peter Jackson would replace Yates. HP movies are ruined by stupid directors. Expand
  76. Ron
    Jul 25, 2009
    2
    Very very disappointing. . No great action scenes or spectacular effects at all. Is it comedy? No! Is it action? No! Is it adventure? No! It is none of those, what is though is dull. During the whole movie i couldnt help but thinkin 'when is it going to become a great movie. But it didnt evolve that way... I understand everyone has his or her personal taste but when i read articles Very very disappointing. . No great action scenes or spectacular effects at all. Is it comedy? No! Is it action? No! Is it adventure? No! It is none of those, what is though is dull. During the whole movie i couldnt help but thinkin 'when is it going to become a great movie. But it didnt evolve that way... I understand everyone has his or her personal taste but when i read articles of reviewers rating this movie so high i really really cant understand what they have been drinking. Maybe Harry Potter himself gave them some 'positive Harry Potter movie rating magic pills' ??? One of the worst movies I ever saw in the cinemas. Expand
  77. PaulH
    Jul 27, 2009
    1
    Now that I have seen this movie, I see why it beaten at the box office in the second weekend by talking guinea pigs. The guinea pigs movie has more plot and substance.
  78. M.T.
    Jul 31, 2009
    4
    A less skillful adaptation (compared to the brilliant efficiency of the last installment) and lackluster direction left me quite bored. A film should be more than a series of events linked together. The journey should be scored with highs and lows like a great piece of music. Unfortunately, this film seemed "volume leveled" like a bad MP3. David Yates- please let the important moments A less skillful adaptation (compared to the brilliant efficiency of the last installment) and lackluster direction left me quite bored. A film should be more than a series of events linked together. The journey should be scored with highs and lows like a great piece of music. Unfortunately, this film seemed "volume leveled" like a bad MP3. David Yates- please let the important moments FEEL important. Expand
  79. JimmyB
    Aug 14, 2009
    0
    Worst HP movie BY FAR. What a disappointment. People who say this was a good movie are towing the line. I loved all the movies up till this one.... long winded, boring and slow. I could have skipped this one and been happier.
  80. HarryNeilson
    Aug 17, 2009
    2
    Didn't even feel like Harry Potter. I mean i saw a spell once in there but I thought I was watching a corny teen romance. In short, less [insert name here] likes [insert name here] but [insert name here] likes [insert name here] and more about horcruxes and things that matter. The epic death and funeral of Dumbledore was turned into a 5 second free fall which was after the 2 hours of nothing.
  81. KyleH
    Aug 23, 2009
    0
    Absolutely terrible, everything was 1/2 done, nothing and I repeat nothing was depicted well. The ending was god awful and captured no emotion. They need to get one of the guys who did 1-4 back, this Yates guy should stick to TV.
  82. C.K
    Aug 4, 2009
    0
    This is an awful movie. After TRYING to watch it a second time, I couldn't help but walk out in the middle very disappointed.
  83. JoshB
    Nov 15, 2009
    2
    The funniest movie yet, and the acting by the kids has improved but the movie was really not good. It was probably more liked by the critics as it was very beautiful cinematography but the story was lacking sooo many crucial scenes and yet they felt it necessary to add in a 10 minute scene that was complete non existent in the book. The way the movie ran, it ended with me actually being The funniest movie yet, and the acting by the kids has improved but the movie was really not good. It was probably more liked by the critics as it was very beautiful cinematography but the story was lacking sooo many crucial scenes and yet they felt it necessary to add in a 10 minute scene that was complete non existent in the book. The way the movie ran, it ended with me actually being bored by the, what should have been, incredibly exciting last scene. Expand
  84. LisaB
    Dec 10, 2009
    2
    Really Really Really disappointed with this film... its left so much crucial information out so much so that anyone who hasn't read the book would not have a clue what was going on... where was Voldermort where were Bill and Fleur and Scrimgeour??? what the hell was that scene about where the burrow gets trashed how will they have the wedding in the next film??? why do things Really Really Really disappointed with this film... its left so much crucial information out so much so that anyone who hasn't read the book would not have a clue what was going on... where was Voldermort where were Bill and Fleur and Scrimgeour??? what the hell was that scene about where the burrow gets trashed how will they have the wedding in the next film??? why do things completely different and add new stuff... I just don't get it... this was ruined!!! not very impressed at all. The battle at the end was the best bit with Dumbledors Army and the Deatheaters etc If it aint broke dont fix it!!! Expand
  85. NicolasM
    Oct 27, 2009
    2
    I Was very disappointed when I watched the film - It's 90% Teenage-girl-relationship-drama and girls screming their heads off and about 9% Storyline the missing percent is bad acting. Ok, I have to admit that the movie does look very cool due incredible video-editing and really impressive special effects but it never feels as Hogwarts as it did in e.g. HP3. Even worse than HP5 - and I Was very disappointed when I watched the film - It's 90% Teenage-girl-relationship-drama and girls screming their heads off and about 9% Storyline the missing percent is bad acting. Ok, I have to admit that the movie does look very cool due incredible video-editing and really impressive special effects but it never feels as Hogwarts as it did in e.g. HP3. Even worse than HP5 - and the next 2 movies will be produced by the same director - poor Harry! Expand
  86. EddieC.
    Jul 15, 2009
    4
    Too much comic relief and not really a good adeptation of the story. The wrong points were emphasized leaving the final scenes very disappointing. The overall dark undertone of the book was completely absent from the movie.
  87. SamB.
    Jul 15, 2009
    2
    This was a bad portrayal of the sixth Harry Potter book. There was too much romance and not enough action, and what action it did have was not relative to the book and could have been much much better. It seems to me that the directors have not even read the Harry Potter stories. I know whenever a movie is based on a book it can't be strictly to the book or it will be much too long, This was a bad portrayal of the sixth Harry Potter book. There was too much romance and not enough action, and what action it did have was not relative to the book and could have been much much better. It seems to me that the directors have not even read the Harry Potter stories. I know whenever a movie is based on a book it can't be strictly to the book or it will be much too long, but this crosses the line! I am appalled at the movies lack of accuracy to the book. And JK Rowling approves of it seems, she should be calling the shots on the casting and lines, if she doesn't she apparently doesn't care about her many loyal Harry Potter. Expand
  88. AnnW
    Jul 16, 2009
    3
    I am a huge HP fan and had just re-read the book the night before I went to the movie. I was hugely disapointed and was ready to walk out of the theatre after the first scene. The movie only got worse as I watched it. The important missing information and invented scenes really ruined this movie for me. I have all the books, the audio and the movies and have not sure if I want this one in I am a huge HP fan and had just re-read the book the night before I went to the movie. I was hugely disapointed and was ready to walk out of the theatre after the first scene. The movie only got worse as I watched it. The important missing information and invented scenes really ruined this movie for me. I have all the books, the audio and the movies and have not sure if I want this one in my collection as it is such a hack job. I am disapointed in Warner Brothers. Expand
  89. SlyJ
    Jul 17, 2009
    4
    Maybe I slept through all the good parts, but the boredom was exceedingly difficult to fight off. What an unmotivated film, lacking in action, sparse on plot exposition and generally boring.
  90. TravisW
    Jul 18, 2009
    2
    Poor script writing, poor direction. The screenwriter had a difficult task of adapting a huge book, and decided to gut most of the character building involving struggle and growth, and only implement teen angst and romance. The director must believe the kids have no acting skills for drama or characterization. The seventh movies will be a huge success, but are already ruined for me Poor script writing, poor direction. The screenwriter had a difficult task of adapting a huge book, and decided to gut most of the character building involving struggle and growth, and only implement teen angst and romance. The director must believe the kids have no acting skills for drama or characterization. The seventh movies will be a huge success, but are already ruined for me knowing the helm is already being steered by the incompetent. Expand
  91. XavierK.
    Jul 18, 2009
    0
    This was so bad, I was amazed at the Critic's evaluation. If you gave this movie 2 stars; you are brain-dead. The dialogue was inaudible for the most part. The length of the movie was ridiculous, the action scenes were juvenile, the speical effects were stupid. Altogether, the worse film I have seen (I walked out, half-way through).
  92. TedD.
    Jul 18, 2009
    3
    Hard to follow, glossed over important parts of the book, added a couple scenes which weren't even in the book at all. If you haven't read the book it'll probably be confusing, even I was confused and I've read it several times. If it was more faithful to the book I wouldn't have minded that it was so long, but as it stands it's not. I will however give this Hard to follow, glossed over important parts of the book, added a couple scenes which weren't even in the book at all. If you haven't read the book it'll probably be confusing, even I was confused and I've read it several times. If it was more faithful to the book I wouldn't have minded that it was so long, but as it stands it's not. I will however give this a three simply because of the scene where Dumbledore gets rid of the inferi by making a spinning vortex of fire. Good effects and overall the acting was pretty good most of the time, but so much is wrong with this movie it'll confuse people who haven't read the book and make fans of the series cringe with how poorly the book adapted. Expand
  93. RobD
    Jul 18, 2009
    0
    The ABSOLUTE WORST Harry Potter Movie! How does the screen writer mess up a winning formula AND STORY. The main point of Half Blood Prince IS the Half Blood Prince and NOT young teen love. Horribly slow with no purpose. The worst parts of the book on screen. Read the book again or listen to the audio tapes as this movie BLOWS!
  94. HarryN
    Jul 21, 2009
    0
    I've always been excited for the final Harry Potter movie. And I've never fallen asleep in a theatre before. This movie changed both of these things for me.
  95. KayinM
    Jul 21, 2009
    3
    After the excitingly epic and coherent film that was the previous installment, Yates appears to have made a film based on a CliffsNotes copy of the book, with all pages ending in 3 and 7 missing. Horribly paced, and awkwardly edited with somehow disjointed dialogue, the film contains too few memorable scenes or set pieces, too much glossing over the main plot points, and too much focus on After the excitingly epic and coherent film that was the previous installment, Yates appears to have made a film based on a CliffsNotes copy of the book, with all pages ending in 3 and 7 missing. Horribly paced, and awkwardly edited with somehow disjointed dialogue, the film contains too few memorable scenes or set pieces, too much glossing over the main plot points, and too much focus on the ones that didn't matter. Having been a fan of the books, and having greatly enjoyed the magical action sequences of the previous film, I left the theater greatly disappointed in the mysterious removal of the book's great and somewhat epic final sequence. Expand
  96. CaseyS
    Jul 22, 2009
    3
    Disappointing. Several unfortunate decisions that sacrificed important material for heavy-handed teenage angst. Those who are familiar with the book will note the directorial license that dramatically altered the emotionally powerful concluding scenes, and inserted a sappy, "are they really holding lighters in the air" moment. Three stars.
  97. CJ
    Jul 22, 2009
    1
    Weak acting, weak action, weak story. Many important details were removed like the Hogwarts battle and Horcrux details and some unnecessary stuff added in like the cafe and the Burrow scene. Boot Yates out!
  98. HuckB
    Jul 23, 2009
    3
    We care about the characters and the young actors have grown well in their craft. However, this is the worst story telling of any of the Harry Potter movies to date. It does not adequately develop any of the many story lines and jumping from scene to scene in frequently unrelated fashion.
  99. marlonw
    Jul 25, 2009
    3
    So many vital plot lines were left out, it remains to be seen what can be done to further the plot of HP7. At least they could have done Dumbledore's funeral. His death, instead of being the climax and focal point of the movie, was reduced to a side note. Disappointing.
  100. VanessaM
    Jul 26, 2009
    0
    I was one of the "lucky" ones who got to see the 3D version in NY early. Only 10 minutes of the movie were 3D and the only thing popping out of the screen was some snow in the beginning. I certainly would not recommend the 3D version. The movie itself was quite a disappointment too. I have to say that I am a huge fan of the Harry Potter books. The movies usually do not live up to my I was one of the "lucky" ones who got to see the 3D version in NY early. Only 10 minutes of the movie were 3D and the only thing popping out of the screen was some snow in the beginning. I certainly would not recommend the 3D version. The movie itself was quite a disappointment too. I have to say that I am a huge fan of the Harry Potter books. The movies usually do not live up to my expectations but this sixth installment was a disgrace to the book. It felt geared towards teenage girls - half of the movie was filled with poor humor or some love scenes. I wish the movies were directed by someone who actually understands the books. Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. David Yates, in his go at the helm, throws the emphasis on the gathering storm clouds even as Harry and his fellow wizardry students make further discoveries involving the opposite sex.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    Dazzlingly well made and perhaps deliberately less fanciful than the previous entries, this one is played in a mode closer to palpable life-or-death drama than any of the others and is quite effective as such.
  3. Reviewed by: Angie Errigo
    60
    We're marking time before the final battle between Good and Evil, with the promised darkness sitting somewhat clumsily with teen romance and humour.