Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 15, 2009
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1015 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
689
Mixed:
198
Negative:
128
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
3
HayleeBNov 22, 2009
A complete bore! The movie reached about half way and i couldnt wait for it to end. There was a massive lead up and then it just fell and boy did it fall hard. What happened to the whole battle at hogwarts at the end?? It was a corny A complete bore! The movie reached about half way and i couldnt wait for it to end. There was a massive lead up and then it just fell and boy did it fall hard. What happened to the whole battle at hogwarts at the end?? It was a corny romance. I was really disappointed with the amount of things they left out. This is by far my least favourite movie out of them all. It was a real disappointement. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
0
SampsonAug 3, 2009
This movie is horrible.
2 of 10 users found this helpful
1
SD.Jul 20, 2009
WHAT???? That was the response by the audience after the movie. To be honest, it would be a good question to ask if David Yates has actually read the books. Yea, he got the jist of things in the movie, however, the suspense, the questions, WHAT???? That was the response by the audience after the movie. To be honest, it would be a good question to ask if David Yates has actually read the books. Yea, he got the jist of things in the movie, however, the suspense, the questions, the mystery, where was it all. In fact, he ruined parts of the next movie by one simple scene. For the people who have read the books and seen the movie, Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
TiffanyJul 17, 2009
If i hadn't read the book, maybe i wouldn't have been so dissapointed with this movie. But then again, i wouldn't understand a thing when the 7th comes around. I dont understand what they were thinking cutting every If i hadn't read the book, maybe i wouldn't have been so dissapointed with this movie. But then again, i wouldn't understand a thing when the 7th comes around. I dont understand what they were thinking cutting every good/important peice out of this movie. I could name atleast 15 things missing/wrong in this movie. I say they re-make it. Just awful, if certain parts werent funny, or they hadnt stuck that tiny little bit of action in there I would give it a 0. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
TimWJul 17, 2009
Flat like a tire. Drab. Was there a sound track? Stark coloring. Eviscerated the book. By far the worst H.P. movie. Ridiculous dialogue. The sort of work an ADHD meth addict would do if he were spiraling into suicidal depression. Had all the Flat like a tire. Drab. Was there a sound track? Stark coloring. Eviscerated the book. By far the worst H.P. movie. Ridiculous dialogue. The sort of work an ADHD meth addict would do if he were spiraling into suicidal depression. Had all the emotion of a tax return. Luna Lovegood earned both points I gave this film. She's the only reason to see it. She was perfect. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
frankwJul 26, 2009
Extremely poor directing. Plays out almost as a 'cliff notes' movie of a 'cliff notes' synopsis of the true story that the director just pulled parts from and then made up connecting points. There was about 20 minutes of Extremely poor directing. Plays out almost as a 'cliff notes' movie of a 'cliff notes' synopsis of the true story that the director just pulled parts from and then made up connecting points. There was about 20 minutes of film time that had NOTHING to do with the book, that could have been utilized to include the final fight scene and the memories of the Gaunt family episodes. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
beansbAug 9, 2009
Very Boring. I don't read the books, but liked all the other movies. This one was very bad.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
PaulHickeyAug 5, 2009
This was not so much a film as a series of practically unrelated scenes held together with little substance. I give it 3 merely for the presence of alan rickman and michael gambon, the latter of which they killed off so eh... good look makingThis was not so much a film as a series of practically unrelated scenes held together with little substance. I give it 3 merely for the presence of alan rickman and michael gambon, the latter of which they killed off so eh... good look making the next one. The leads are as wooden as a 2x4. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
LeeWAug 7, 2009
An hour too long, filled with padding about teenage boyfriend-girlfriend relationships, which are anything but magical. I did my best to stay awake.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MatthewWJul 22, 2009
I just couldn't follow it. Very disappointing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
GeorgeLJul 28, 2009
Apparently there are two camps regarding Yates' interpretation of HBP: either engaging and satisfying or off-track and disappointing. The split is a remarkable comment on either devotion to Rowling's story development or the state Apparently there are two camps regarding Yates' interpretation of HBP: either engaging and satisfying or off-track and disappointing. The split is a remarkable comment on either devotion to Rowling's story development or the state of book adaptation in filmmaking today, a subject for debate elsewhere. A big fan of the written series and bigger fan of the Azkaban film I felt confused and a bit cheated when watching HBP. The trailers were edited to be much more engaging than the film turned out to be, the acting/dialog seemed off balance compared to previous stints turned in by all parties, and the unbelievable reconstruction of the action on the tower were mind-blowingly inconsistent and disappointing. I can only hope the DVD will be released with much more-true-to-the-book alternate scenes. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
DerekGJul 29, 2009
From the perspective of someone who has neither read any of the books nor watched completely any of the other movies: HBP was a horrible movie and I hated it save for a few moments of levity. Mainly provided by Luna Lovegood. Most of the From the perspective of someone who has neither read any of the books nor watched completely any of the other movies: HBP was a horrible movie and I hated it save for a few moments of levity. Mainly provided by Luna Lovegood. Most of the acting seemed off, especially the age of the actors compared to the characters was incredibly offputting - Daniel Radcliff looks like she should have a mortgage and a kid or two but is playing a high school senior-aged kid. The CG was used in lame pastiches and at unnecessary moments and featured nothing particularly impressive or imaginative to look at. By the end I was cheering for the Deatheaters, especially the always delightfully eccentric Helena Bonham-Carter. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ganek2010Nov 25, 2010
The movie is totally unbearable. The acting is poor and unnatural (how old are the characters supposed to be???), the plot is awfully idiotic. Frankly speaking, I watched the second half in double-speed, because I didn't want to waste tooThe movie is totally unbearable. The acting is poor and unnatural (how old are the characters supposed to be???), the plot is awfully idiotic. Frankly speaking, I watched the second half in double-speed, because I didn't want to waste too much time on this crap (I could turn it off, of course, but I had Hope that the ending would be great; it wasn't). The book is great, though. I'm trying to forget this movie poison. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
CRLJul 27, 2011
This is without a doubt the worst movie of the Harry Potter series. It took a book that was extremely thin to begin with and chopped half of it cleanly away, ending up with a montage of broken scenes where months pass in a second and aThis is without a doubt the worst movie of the Harry Potter series. It took a book that was extremely thin to begin with and chopped half of it cleanly away, ending up with a montage of broken scenes where months pass in a second and a single day takes an hour. Sometimes it tries to be an action film, sometimes it tries to be a comedy, sometimes it tries to be a suspense thriller. In the end, it's just a mismatched rehash of what David Yates saw as the most important scenes from the source material. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
watithink123May 4, 2012
I found this film boring for almost all of it. I really just did not like this one for some reason. It was just never for me. But you guys might like it but I don't. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince 3.9/10
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
3
RDJul 15, 2009
Clumsy and choppy. The important things were left out and the things added in added little and confused things for the most part. What ever happened to just condensing down a good book instead of trying to reinvent the whole thing. This Clumsy and choppy. The important things were left out and the things added in added little and confused things for the most part. What ever happened to just condensing down a good book instead of trying to reinvent the whole thing. This movie should have been a lot better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TonyC.Aug 9, 2009
Some great shots, and some really bad directing. what a way to ruin a great book, and totally suck the energy, surprise, and power out of the ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SnakeDoctorSep 7, 2009
I've been watching Harry Potter since I was a little kid but enough is enough.I'm growing tired of really bad Harry Potter movies that look like teen sensational movies.For Pete's sake just put them to have sex or I've been watching Harry Potter since I was a little kid but enough is enough.I'm growing tired of really bad Harry Potter movies that look like teen sensational movies.For Pete's sake just put them to have sex or something.Anyway this movie sucks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AnonAJun 10, 2009
user reviews are so arbitrary that so many of them are just based on first impressions as indicated by how many reviews are out right now even though the movie hasn't even finished post production yet. User reviews should be limited touser reviews are so arbitrary that so many of them are just based on first impressions as indicated by how many reviews are out right now even though the movie hasn't even finished post production yet. User reviews should be limited to people who have metacritic accounts, because user ratings right now are completely pointless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KenR.Jul 15, 2009
What is everybody smoking? This movie was horrible. Awful. It is easily the worst of the franchise. Gasps of "WHAT?" went up accross the theatre when the credits rolled. My entire family, Potter lovers all, hated this film. I toyed with the What is everybody smoking? This movie was horrible. Awful. It is easily the worst of the franchise. Gasps of "WHAT?" went up accross the theatre when the credits rolled. My entire family, Potter lovers all, hated this film. I toyed with the idea of demanding my money back, but hey it's not the theater owner's fault the film is such a crushing, pointless, listless bore. I'd advise you not to waste your entertainment dollar on this awful film - even when it comes out on DVD. Terrible, terrible stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
jamescJul 16, 2009
This was a very slow, plodding and rather uneventful movie. I'm utterly shocked at all the positive reviews. Other movies in this series were much better, but it seems the movie makers are simply stringing things out as much as they can This was a very slow, plodding and rather uneventful movie. I'm utterly shocked at all the positive reviews. Other movies in this series were much better, but it seems the movie makers are simply stringing things out as much as they can to reap the $$$ from the throngs of fans who'll see just about any Potter film regardless of the quality. My daughter, who is a fan of the movie was quite disappointed with it, as were several very vocal attendees at our showing. As they left the theatre, several people looked at each other and asked, how they liked it. There was a uniform chorus of "that sucked didn't it?" Noit much actually happens in the film. There's more than enough teen angst and broken heartedness amongst the key characters to create a movie just on that storyline alone. The younger Malfoy has turned from a sinister child into a gawky, brooding, troubled, lankey Andy Warholesque character. He just broods and hides around Hogwarts and makes endless trips to the transporter booth, testing it out. The whole plot of this film is unbelievable and inconsistent in the context of the other Potter films. And the final climactic battle, if it can even be called that, is such a letdown, given what is in the book, it's hard to whether the film makers read the book or even cared to try to make the ending exciting. A real disappointment overall. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AnonymousMCJul 17, 2009
its different from the other harry potter movies...the ambiance...the feel..the colors..whats going on people?u have the budget and the brilliant mind of the author....am 1 of the biggest harry potter fan..i read the whole series 7its different from the other harry potter movies...the ambiance...the feel..the colors..whats going on people?u have the budget and the brilliant mind of the author....am 1 of the biggest harry potter fan..i read the whole series 7 times...the others are way too good to be precedeed by this...please make the last one the best!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DenebKJul 20, 2009
What a waste of time. At no point in the movie did I feel anything for these cardboard characters. Save your money, or go watch something else. Doesn't deliver on any level.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
PaulSJul 21, 2009
Goo thing this was not the first movie in the series or I would never see the others. I never read the books, but suspect that this volume had a plot in the print version. This was the first HP film I went to where I found myself looking at Goo thing this was not the first movie in the series or I would never see the others. I never read the books, but suspect that this volume had a plot in the print version. This was the first HP film I went to where I found myself looking at my watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MattEJul 20, 2009
First let me establish that I am, along with half the literate public, a bonafide Harry Potter fan. I have read all the books within days of their release and dutifully attended each movie upon release. The first two were rather First let me establish that I am, along with half the literate public, a bonafide Harry Potter fan. I have read all the books within days of their release and dutifully attended each movie upon release. The first two were rather disappointing due entirely to the dearth of acting talent from the young stars (and who could blame the kids, it's hard to find a Haley Joel Osment). But then, starting with part three, the movies began to improve, markedly. The feeling of improvement only added to the excitement of each new release -- maybe the studios would do the book justice this time. And with movies four and five they finally succeeded, even more so with five. And so, I had come to expect something event worthy, even stunning when I bought my ticket for the Half-Blood Prince. To my disappointment, and this time to no fault of the young actors (who've earned their roles), the movie meandered and overemphasized and fell back on tired tricks and worn cinematic habits. Scenes went unsubscribed -- the opening where muggles are in awe of a world inexplicably turned upside down -- and plot points are brushed over to make room for more adolescent drama than a season of Dawson's Creek. In fact, the whole thing felt like a TV miniseries instead of a movie -- which makes sense wince David Yates was plucked from the TV biz. And, to ad insult to injury, they massacred the ending, though I won't spoil it. What a shame. Let's hope Yates puts down the Lolita and rereads the source before taking on the final two installments. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DanielLJul 21, 2009
The movie and the book share one thing in common: the title. Major scenes from the book are left out, and a confusing scene was added. If you liked the book, don't see this. That said, the movie is very artsy and pretty, so if The movie and the book share one thing in common: the title. Major scenes from the book are left out, and a confusing scene was added. If you liked the book, don't see this. That said, the movie is very artsy and pretty, so if that's your cup of tea, have at it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DanielWJul 20, 2009
If i wanted to go see twilight i would have, this movie does nothing but insult the books and the previous movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
linkezJul 23, 2009
HPB's entire lack of build up / tension, its removal of all mystery from this movie and the next, and its removal of the climax of the story gives it a well deserved one. Even the characters were forced and all the acting seemed HPB's entire lack of build up / tension, its removal of all mystery from this movie and the next, and its removal of the climax of the story gives it a well deserved one. Even the characters were forced and all the acting seemed overdone. Would not suggest watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
louisDJul 20, 2009
I went to see this movie on it's realease and let me sey it's terrible absoulute GARBAGE the atmosphere from the early films is complety lost gone. Daniel radcliffes acting seems to have been getting worse the more he plays harry noI went to see this movie on it's realease and let me sey it's terrible absoulute GARBAGE the atmosphere from the early films is complety lost gone. Daniel radcliffes acting seems to have been getting worse the more he plays harry no joke, he was so stiff there was no genue emotion he acted as though he was was nervous A sh** performance. And ginger C*** ron sucked big time the only good thing about this crap fest was Hermineie her acting was rubbish but not her ass. Hermineie can sit on my lap anyday FIT!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JessieJul 29, 2009
They didn't stick to the book they are very different.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MidnightFJul 30, 2009
This "reinvention" isn't worth the time. they really crapped all over the beginning. No Dursleys, nor Gaunts. Instead they added extraneous material not in the book and for the most part wasn't worth the time.(Although I can This "reinvention" isn't worth the time. they really crapped all over the beginning. No Dursleys, nor Gaunts. Instead they added extraneous material not in the book and for the most part wasn't worth the time.(Although I can understand the "No Elves" attitude. I don't expect Dobby or Kreacher in the last movies. And if they do show up, how will it make any sense considering their absence from the previous films?) No Ministry, no obvious evidence that the ministry is even doing anything remotely connected to opposing the Death Eaters. It was a relief to see Lupin and Tonks for all the brevity they gave the characters. Which was a shame considering the nice subplot they had in the book, which wasn't existent in the movie. Snape should have had more time for the buildup to what comes later. I have no doubt that when his death comes it will be as anticlimatic and unemotional as Dumbledore's was. The ending to this movie was just a disaster. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
FredSAug 14, 2009
Very pretty with some nice special effects here and there, but overall much, much too long, and problematic and unsatisfying in terms of pace of plot and character development.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AnonyMouseOct 11, 2009
Don't bother watching this movie and just stick with the novels. If you enjoyed the book, avoid this adaptation at ALL COSTS. It's like they just randomly chose parts from the book to film; unless they show all the missing events Don't bother watching this movie and just stick with the novels. If you enjoyed the book, avoid this adaptation at ALL COSTS. It's like they just randomly chose parts from the book to film; unless they show all the missing events and details in a flashback, Deathly Hallows is going to be full of plot holes or an even worse adaptation than Half-Blood Prince. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MartinS.Jul 15, 2009
One of the worst films of the year. They made us wait an extra year to see 2 hours of big budget soap opera drama and the acting talent from the diminutive cast is, as one could expect, as wide and inventive as that of monkeys addicted to One of the worst films of the year. They made us wait an extra year to see 2 hours of big budget soap opera drama and the acting talent from the diminutive cast is, as one could expect, as wide and inventive as that of monkeys addicted to crack cocaine. When all is said and done the film keeps one hoping for it all to start and at the end of the long haul one wonders when anything at all will happen that will make up for losing so much time to something so unfinished. Where are all of the great action sequences from the books? I believe that films should take liberties to make a book work for celluloid, but removing the best bits makes no sense. Bottom line: Terrible rape of an average (to begin with) book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JordanAJul 15, 2009
I went to the midnight premiere last night and I have to say this was the worst premiere I have ever been to. It was ridiculously bad, no action and was VERY slow. If you are expecting a lot of talking then sure go see it, but if you wanted I went to the midnight premiere last night and I have to say this was the worst premiere I have ever been to. It was ridiculously bad, no action and was VERY slow. If you are expecting a lot of talking then sure go see it, but if you wanted the original fighting/wizard battles then you won't get that. Usually there is a big battle at the end between Harry and someone else, this time there was not and it was just BORING. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JackS.Jul 15, 2009
Terrible acting, terrible attempts at dramatic pathos, terrible pacing, terrible exposition (and lack thereof!) terrible teen romance dialog. Any impact the sixth book has was dulled: my friends and I saw it at the midnight opening. One Terrible acting, terrible attempts at dramatic pathos, terrible pacing, terrible exposition (and lack thereof!) terrible teen romance dialog. Any impact the sixth book has was dulled: my friends and I saw it at the midnight opening. One third of us left greatly disappointed, one third left wondering what had happened, one third fell asleep. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChristinaMJul 16, 2009
The acting was good. The writing was horrible!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JackWJul 16, 2009
Very disappointing. Yates should not be the next director....bring back Columbus. Yates left out the final fight scene, Harry immobilized by Dumbledore (hard to believe Harry would just stand there while they kill Dumbledore, but then runs Very disappointing. Yates should not be the next director....bring back Columbus. Yates left out the final fight scene, Harry immobilized by Dumbledore (hard to believe Harry would just stand there while they kill Dumbledore, but then runs after them....bad screenplay). No indepth study of Voldemort's past.....way too much teen romance and not enough of the substance of the main plot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ZachJJul 16, 2009
If you haven't read the book I'm not sure how you're supposed to make sense of these seemingly random events of teen-love and a sulking Malfoy--Malfroy? Ahh--who cares. It seemed like they were so busy trying to pay homage to If you haven't read the book I'm not sure how you're supposed to make sense of these seemingly random events of teen-love and a sulking Malfoy--Malfroy? Ahh--who cares. It seemed like they were so busy trying to pay homage to the book they forgot to create a central core of plot and theme around which to develop a comprehensible story. This felt more like a stepping stone to the next film than an actual movie within itself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JamesC.Jul 16, 2009
Gutted! im a massive potter fan, i love the books and Half Blood Prince is my favourite book, i love the way it develops the relationship between harry and dumbledore whilst filling voldermorts backstory. all these happens amongst the teen Gutted! im a massive potter fan, i love the books and Half Blood Prince is my favourite book, i love the way it develops the relationship between harry and dumbledore whilst filling voldermorts backstory. all these happens amongst the teen angst and the back drop of voldermorts rise to power. The film achieves none of this! it bumbles around, from half baked story line to pointless new scene. i wont ruin it for those who havent seen it but voldermorts childhood and teen years are largely ignored, most of the main characters outside of harry, ron, hermione and dumbledore barely have a line. i wont even mention the rest of the pivital stuff this movie misses out, however how they have made a movie without the pivotal final scene where harry decides not to come back to hogwarts for his final year is beyond me. the romance between harry and ginny barely registers as happening... i mean they have totally butchered this tremendous book.... in fact i would sooner listen to the brilliant stephen frys audiobook than watch this hatchet job ever again. unfortunately David Yates is back directing both parts of the deathly hallows, so for me that means another hatchet job will be made on the excellent finale... oh how i want del toro to direct them over this useless yates idiot! Gutted! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AmandaPJul 16, 2009
This movie left out MAJOR story arks of the book. It left the movie making no sense at all. I am a huge HP fan, I have loved the actors, acting, movie of past - but this one has to be the worst in keeping with the book. I was so excited, This movie left out MAJOR story arks of the book. It left the movie making no sense at all. I am a huge HP fan, I have loved the actors, acting, movie of past - but this one has to be the worst in keeping with the book. I was so excited, waited for the midnight premiere and then left wanting to cry! They messed up so much of this movie that I'm afraid to think of what is going to happen in the next TWO movies. It was a favorite of many for a reason, why screw that up? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GuillermoM.Jul 16, 2009
The greatest disappointment David Yates had the best book of the series and he made the worst movie of the saga.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RichardBJul 17, 2009
It was a Harry Potter movie in NAME only! David Yates (Director) must have sat in his office and said,"Now, how far can we gut this book and still be able to call it a Harry Potter movie and make some money off all those Potter fans?"It was a Harry Potter movie in NAME only! David Yates (Director) must have sat in his office and said,"Now, how far can we gut this book and still be able to call it a Harry Potter movie and make some money off all those Potter fans?" There's the book "The Half Blood Prince", and then there's the movie "The Half Blood Prince"......One has absolutely nothing to do with the other! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EricFJul 17, 2009
Easily the the worst of the 6 movies thus far. I'm so disappointed. Yates did a passible job directing the last film but this one was totally unacceptable. The cinematography was poorly done; the sets were obviously cheap -- some even Easily the the worst of the 6 movies thus far. I'm so disappointed. Yates did a passible job directing the last film but this one was totally unacceptable. The cinematography was poorly done; the sets were obviously cheap -- some even looked like painted plywood; the screenplay was boring -- the dialog dragged on in some scenes, but was rushed in others. Critical story elements were left out, while countless irrelavent story elements were added. I am so sad that Yates will be doing the next two films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RichardBJul 17, 2009
I took my children to see a movie from a book written by J.K.Rowling, not a movie written by David Yates. I, and my children, were very disappointed because this was a Harry Potter movie in name only. Where was the atmosphere from the I took my children to see a movie from a book written by J.K.Rowling, not a movie written by David Yates. I, and my children, were very disappointed because this was a Harry Potter movie in name only. Where was the atmosphere from the previous films? Why were the scenes so "set-up", wooden and stiff? And if Mr. Yates had time to invent scenes that were not in the book, then he surely had time to include things that WERE in the book. In the futue, if Mr Yates wishes to make a movie, he should write it himself, instead of gutting and ruining someone elses masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MikeD.Jul 18, 2009
Movie left too many key story points out. The movie should have been three hours, if needed, to include these points (order of the phoenix and the DA against the death eaters, Fleur and Weasly, etc). The added scenes at the weasly house and Movie left too many key story points out. The movie should have been three hours, if needed, to include these points (order of the phoenix and the DA against the death eaters, Fleur and Weasly, etc). The added scenes at the weasly house and the added scenes with Bellatrix added nothing. These stories get increasingly dark and more violent as the climax of good against evil looms. This movie takes many steps backwards from the creative work done to date in the movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JonathanZ.Jul 18, 2009
This was one of the worst movies they ever did. it was nothing like the book and there was no action they added parts that souldnt of been there and they took out parts that are vital to the seventh movie so overall they screwed up one of This was one of the worst movies they ever did. it was nothing like the book and there was no action they added parts that souldnt of been there and they took out parts that are vital to the seventh movie so overall they screwed up one of the most important movies in the series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ZackCJul 18, 2009
I'm with Richard B this was not Harry Potter at all. obviously anyone who gave this a good review did not read the books.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KarenH.Jul 18, 2009
I absolutely loved the first 5 movies. They were filled with lots of action, suspense, etc., etc. With all the hype about this movie I just had to see it. I sat in the theater wondering when it was going to get to a good part. It just I absolutely loved the first 5 movies. They were filled with lots of action, suspense, etc., etc. With all the hype about this movie I just had to see it. I sat in the theater wondering when it was going to get to a good part. It just wasn't there for me. Too little of anything for me. I really expected better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
FreddyLJul 19, 2009
This was my favorite book, and worst Harry Potter film. The Harry potter films have been going downhill. They need Chris Columbus and John Williams.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
UwebJul 19, 2009
This film left a very bitter taste in my mouth. How they were allowed to release a film such as this is a mystery. As diluted as the plot is, you still recognise it as something vaguely to do with harry potter until halfway through the film This film left a very bitter taste in my mouth. How they were allowed to release a film such as this is a mystery. As diluted as the plot is, you still recognise it as something vaguely to do with harry potter until halfway through the film when you think of any generic action film with bland actors in and cg artists with a bloated sense of self importance. The only good thing was it was shiny enough to distract me from the first few atrocities and some suprises like tom felton out acting most of them by seeming halfway genuine. The way he acted, im glad that michael gambon (dumbledore) has nothing more to do with the series, as no doubt the post death scene will be cut from the 7th films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
kylebJul 19, 2009
How do you make a movie about a book AND LEAVE OUT THE CLIMAX? The Death Eater battle just isn't there. Unbelievable! And how you give a good review to a movie that does this is beyond me. I'm so sick of hearing how good the How do you make a movie about a book AND LEAVE OUT THE CLIMAX? The Death Eater battle just isn't there. Unbelievable! And how you give a good review to a movie that does this is beyond me. I'm so sick of hearing how good the cinematography is on this. There was WAY too much obvious green screen footage where the actors looked pasted in. That, plus all the silver filtering made the whole thing look like the movie 300 instead of a HP movie. This is the worst HP movie by a mile. They completely copped out on the ending, just ignoring the whole Death Eater battle which was the CLIMAX of the Book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SteveBJul 19, 2009
Worst movie I have seen in years, boring and has no story, all the important and interesting details were omitted in favor of random and pointless scenes invented by the filmmakers. Skip this one and wait for the conclusion, you wont have Worst movie I have seen in years, boring and has no story, all the important and interesting details were omitted in favor of random and pointless scenes invented by the filmmakers. Skip this one and wait for the conclusion, you wont have missed much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JohnV.Jul 20, 2009
I found the 2 1/2 hours really boring. I have not read the books, but have seen most of the other movies. I found the story line extremely weak and confusing. Would suggest not seeing the movie unless you have read most of the books. I was I found the 2 1/2 hours really boring. I have not read the books, but have seen most of the other movies. I found the story line extremely weak and confusing. Would suggest not seeing the movie unless you have read most of the books. I was not aware of enough of the previous story to make the movies at all interesting. Will skip the rest of the movies when they come out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RafaRJul 21, 2009
Beautifully shot, but dull as hell... Kloves dropped the ball on the screenplay.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LyndaRJul 22, 2009
Worst Harry Potter film of the series, so dull and boring. A total waste of a good book, for gods sake dont let this director near the franchise again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RaineSJul 24, 2009
I was soooooo dismayed and sad about how BAD this movie is. The books are full of so much wonderful stuff and it was like Harry Potter goes to the WB channel. Worse actually because the chemistry that used to be between the cast is gone, the I was soooooo dismayed and sad about how BAD this movie is. The books are full of so much wonderful stuff and it was like Harry Potter goes to the WB channel. Worse actually because the chemistry that used to be between the cast is gone, the acting was stiff and unbalanced. The story had no tread, even if they didn't go by the books exactly they could have at least come up with a central storyline. It is a shame, why did they give David Yates all of these movies- the only one to his credit was girl in the cafe and that still was not fully realized. The only saving grace was visual effects which they brought someone else in to do. I only give it a 1 because of Jim Broadbent Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BilguunUJul 25, 2009
As a fan of the books I always had high expectations for all of the previous HP movies, and had been disappointed every time. This movie is crap. The director obviously doesn't understand what is, and what is not important in the story. As a fan of the books I always had high expectations for all of the previous HP movies, and had been disappointed every time. This movie is crap. The director obviously doesn't understand what is, and what is not important in the story. The most most disappointing aspect was the overabundance of the teenage girl styled love scenes. Half of the movie I felt like watching a soap opera. I wish someone like Peter Jackson would replace Yates. HP movies are ruined by stupid directors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RonJul 25, 2009
Very very disappointing. . No great action scenes or spectacular effects at all. Is it comedy? No! Is it action? No! Is it adventure? No! It is none of those, what is though is dull. During the whole movie i couldnt help but thinkin Very very disappointing. . No great action scenes or spectacular effects at all. Is it comedy? No! Is it action? No! Is it adventure? No! It is none of those, what is though is dull. During the whole movie i couldnt help but thinkin 'when is it going to become a great movie. But it didnt evolve that way... I understand everyone has his or her personal taste but when i read articles of reviewers rating this movie so high i really really cant understand what they have been drinking. Maybe Harry Potter himself gave them some 'positive Harry Potter movie rating magic pills' ??? One of the worst movies I ever saw in the cinemas. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PaulHJul 27, 2009
Now that I have seen this movie, I see why it beaten at the box office in the second weekend by talking guinea pigs. The guinea pigs movie has more plot and substance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JimmyBAug 14, 2009
Worst HP movie BY FAR. What a disappointment. People who say this was a good movie are towing the line. I loved all the movies up till this one.... long winded, boring and slow. I could have skipped this one and been happier.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
HarryNeilsonAug 17, 2009
Didn't even feel like Harry Potter. I mean i saw a spell once in there but I thought I was watching a corny teen romance. In short, less [insert name here] likes [insert name here] but [insert name here] likes [insert name here] and moreDidn't even feel like Harry Potter. I mean i saw a spell once in there but I thought I was watching a corny teen romance. In short, less [insert name here] likes [insert name here] but [insert name here] likes [insert name here] and more about horcruxes and things that matter. The epic death and funeral of Dumbledore was turned into a 5 second free fall which was after the 2 hours of nothing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KyleHAug 23, 2009
Absolutely terrible, everything was 1/2 done, nothing and I repeat nothing was depicted well. The ending was god awful and captured no emotion. They need to get one of the guys who did 1-4 back, this Yates guy should stick to TV.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
C.KAug 4, 2009
This is an awful movie. After TRYING to watch it a second time, I couldn't help but walk out in the middle very disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JoshBNov 15, 2009
The funniest movie yet, and the acting by the kids has improved but the movie was really not good. It was probably more liked by the critics as it was very beautiful cinematography but the story was lacking sooo many crucial scenes and yet The funniest movie yet, and the acting by the kids has improved but the movie was really not good. It was probably more liked by the critics as it was very beautiful cinematography but the story was lacking sooo many crucial scenes and yet they felt it necessary to add in a 10 minute scene that was complete non existent in the book. The way the movie ran, it ended with me actually being bored by the, what should have been, incredibly exciting last scene. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LisaBDec 10, 2009
Really Really Really disappointed with this film... its left so much crucial information out so much so that anyone who hasn't read the book would not have a clue what was going on... where was Voldermort where were Bill and Fleur and Really Really Really disappointed with this film... its left so much crucial information out so much so that anyone who hasn't read the book would not have a clue what was going on... where was Voldermort where were Bill and Fleur and Scrimgeour??? what the hell was that scene about where the burrow gets trashed how will they have the wedding in the next film??? why do things completely different and add new stuff... I just don't get it... this was ruined!!! not very impressed at all. The battle at the end was the best bit with Dumbledors Army and the Deatheaters etc If it aint broke dont fix it!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
NicolasMOct 27, 2009
I Was very disappointed when I watched the film - It's 90% Teenage-girl-relationship-drama and girls screming their heads off and about 9% Storyline the missing percent is bad acting. Ok, I have to admit that the movie does look very I Was very disappointed when I watched the film - It's 90% Teenage-girl-relationship-drama and girls screming their heads off and about 9% Storyline the missing percent is bad acting. Ok, I have to admit that the movie does look very cool due incredible video-editing and really impressive special effects but it never feels as Hogwarts as it did in e.g. HP3. Even worse than HP5 - and the next 2 movies will be produced by the same director - poor Harry! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SamB.Jul 15, 2009
This was a bad portrayal of the sixth Harry Potter book. There was too much romance and not enough action, and what action it did have was not relative to the book and could have been much much better. It seems to me that the directors have This was a bad portrayal of the sixth Harry Potter book. There was too much romance and not enough action, and what action it did have was not relative to the book and could have been much much better. It seems to me that the directors have not even read the Harry Potter stories. I know whenever a movie is based on a book it can't be strictly to the book or it will be much too long, but this crosses the line! I am appalled at the movies lack of accuracy to the book. And JK Rowling approves of it seems, she should be calling the shots on the casting and lines, if she doesn't she apparently doesn't care about her many loyal Harry Potter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AnnWJul 16, 2009
I am a huge HP fan and had just re-read the book the night before I went to the movie. I was hugely disapointed and was ready to walk out of the theatre after the first scene. The movie only got worse as I watched it. The important missing I am a huge HP fan and had just re-read the book the night before I went to the movie. I was hugely disapointed and was ready to walk out of the theatre after the first scene. The movie only got worse as I watched it. The important missing information and invented scenes really ruined this movie for me. I have all the books, the audio and the movies and have not sure if I want this one in my collection as it is such a hack job. I am disapointed in Warner Brothers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TravisWJul 18, 2009
Poor script writing, poor direction. The screenwriter had a difficult task of adapting a huge book, and decided to gut most of the character building involving struggle and growth, and only implement teen angst and romance. The director must Poor script writing, poor direction. The screenwriter had a difficult task of adapting a huge book, and decided to gut most of the character building involving struggle and growth, and only implement teen angst and romance. The director must believe the kids have no acting skills for drama or characterization. The seventh movies will be a huge success, but are already ruined for me knowing the helm is already being steered by the incompetent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
XavierK.Jul 18, 2009
This was so bad, I was amazed at the Critic's evaluation. If you gave this movie 2 stars; you are brain-dead. The dialogue was inaudible for the most part. The length of the movie was ridiculous, the action scenes were juvenile, the This was so bad, I was amazed at the Critic's evaluation. If you gave this movie 2 stars; you are brain-dead. The dialogue was inaudible for the most part. The length of the movie was ridiculous, the action scenes were juvenile, the speical effects were stupid. Altogether, the worse film I have seen (I walked out, half-way through). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TedD.Jul 18, 2009
Hard to follow, glossed over important parts of the book, added a couple scenes which weren't even in the book at all. If you haven't read the book it'll probably be confusing, even I was confused and I've read it several Hard to follow, glossed over important parts of the book, added a couple scenes which weren't even in the book at all. If you haven't read the book it'll probably be confusing, even I was confused and I've read it several times. If it was more faithful to the book I wouldn't have minded that it was so long, but as it stands it's not. I will however give this a three simply because of the scene where Dumbledore gets rid of the inferi by making a spinning vortex of fire. Good effects and overall the acting was pretty good most of the time, but so much is wrong with this movie it'll confuse people who haven't read the book and make fans of the series cringe with how poorly the book adapted. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RobDJul 18, 2009
The ABSOLUTE WORST Harry Potter Movie! How does the screen writer mess up a winning formula AND STORY. The main point of Half Blood Prince IS the Half Blood Prince and NOT young teen love. Horribly slow with no purpose. The worst parts of The ABSOLUTE WORST Harry Potter Movie! How does the screen writer mess up a winning formula AND STORY. The main point of Half Blood Prince IS the Half Blood Prince and NOT young teen love. Horribly slow with no purpose. The worst parts of the book on screen. Read the book again or listen to the audio tapes as this movie BLOWS! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
HarryNJul 21, 2009
I've always been excited for the final Harry Potter movie. And I've never fallen asleep in a theatre before. This movie changed both of these things for me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
KayinMJul 21, 2009
After the excitingly epic and coherent film that was the previous installment, Yates appears to have made a film based on a CliffsNotes copy of the book, with all pages ending in 3 and 7 missing. Horribly paced, and awkwardly edited with After the excitingly epic and coherent film that was the previous installment, Yates appears to have made a film based on a CliffsNotes copy of the book, with all pages ending in 3 and 7 missing. Horribly paced, and awkwardly edited with somehow disjointed dialogue, the film contains too few memorable scenes or set pieces, too much glossing over the main plot points, and too much focus on the ones that didn't matter. Having been a fan of the books, and having greatly enjoyed the magical action sequences of the previous film, I left the theater greatly disappointed in the mysterious removal of the book's great and somewhat epic final sequence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
CaseySJul 22, 2009
Disappointing. Several unfortunate decisions that sacrificed important material for heavy-handed teenage angst. Those who are familiar with the book will note the directorial license that dramatically altered the emotionally powerful Disappointing. Several unfortunate decisions that sacrificed important material for heavy-handed teenage angst. Those who are familiar with the book will note the directorial license that dramatically altered the emotionally powerful concluding scenes, and inserted a sappy, "are they really holding lighters in the air" moment. Three stars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
CJJul 22, 2009
Weak acting, weak action, weak story. Many important details were removed like the Hogwarts battle and Horcrux details and some unnecessary stuff added in like the cafe and the Burrow scene. Boot Yates out!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
HuckBJul 23, 2009
We care about the characters and the young actors have grown well in their craft. However, this is the worst story telling of any of the Harry Potter movies to date. It does not adequately develop any of the many story lines and jumping from We care about the characters and the young actors have grown well in their craft. However, this is the worst story telling of any of the Harry Potter movies to date. It does not adequately develop any of the many story lines and jumping from scene to scene in frequently unrelated fashion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
marlonwJul 25, 2009
So many vital plot lines were left out, it remains to be seen what can be done to further the plot of HP7. At least they could have done Dumbledore's funeral. His death, instead of being the climax and focal point of the movie, was So many vital plot lines were left out, it remains to be seen what can be done to further the plot of HP7. At least they could have done Dumbledore's funeral. His death, instead of being the climax and focal point of the movie, was reduced to a side note. Disappointing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
VanessaMJul 26, 2009
I was one of the "lucky" ones who got to see the 3D version in NY early. Only 10 minutes of the movie were 3D and the only thing popping out of the screen was some snow in the beginning. I certainly would not recommend the 3D version. The I was one of the "lucky" ones who got to see the 3D version in NY early. Only 10 minutes of the movie were 3D and the only thing popping out of the screen was some snow in the beginning. I certainly would not recommend the 3D version. The movie itself was quite a disappointment too. I have to say that I am a huge fan of the Harry Potter books. The movies usually do not live up to my expectations but this sixth installment was a disgrace to the book. It felt geared towards teenage girls - half of the movie was filled with poor humor or some love scenes. I wish the movies were directed by someone who actually understands the books. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MichaelTJul 27, 2009
Rewritten beginning and many of the main plot angles left out to bring a lukeway backstory to the front lines. This was for a person who read the books (sorry can't see How if you only saw the movies you can comment) this was the Rewritten beginning and many of the main plot angles left out to bring a lukeway backstory to the front lines. This was for a person who read the books (sorry can't see How if you only saw the movies you can comment) this was the biggest flop of a potter film and to go 5 strong to crash on 6 is pretty sad. I mean not even the funeral scene for Dumbledore or explanation why Snape is the Half-Blood Prince, through pensive memory trips they totally left out... Ridiculous. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BBJul 28, 2009
90 percent of the movie differs from the book in significant details. Many story threads are botched so that the following movie will have nothing to pick up. The story line isn't going where Rowling takes it. The most important 90 percent of the movie differs from the book in significant details. Many story threads are botched so that the following movie will have nothing to pick up. The story line isn't going where Rowling takes it. The most important scenes--e.g., the battle after Dumbledore is killed and Harry and Ginny falling in love--aren't even included. Character development is nil--not just Harry and Ginny but Harry and Snape, Ron and Hermione, Fenrir Grayback, and McClaggen; the three principals spend much of their time standing around looking dumb like Bill Murray in Lost in Translation. Far and away the worst of the Potter movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChrisSAug 14, 2009
I have like all of the Harry movies until this one. This one was so boring and the actors seemed to have just showed up for a paycheck.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
elijAug 19, 2009
I'm not going to lie to myself on this one...i really hated this movie a lot. It really seemed like 95 percent of the movie was the magic(pun intended)of teen romance in a time of complete and utter chaos.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ArbieReviewNov 24, 2008
This is a gross oversight and another proof of argument that Metacritic needs to disable user votes. The thing isn't close to finishing post-production.
0 of 0 users found this helpful