User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 901 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TedD.
    Jul 18, 2009
    3
    Hard to follow, glossed over important parts of the book, added a couple scenes which weren't even in the book at all. If you haven't read the book it'll probably be confusing, even I was confused and I've read it several times. If it was more faithful to the book I wouldn't have minded that it was so long, but as it stands it's not. I will however give this Hard to follow, glossed over important parts of the book, added a couple scenes which weren't even in the book at all. If you haven't read the book it'll probably be confusing, even I was confused and I've read it several times. If it was more faithful to the book I wouldn't have minded that it was so long, but as it stands it's not. I will however give this a three simply because of the scene where Dumbledore gets rid of the inferi by making a spinning vortex of fire. Good effects and overall the acting was pretty good most of the time, but so much is wrong with this movie it'll confuse people who haven't read the book and make fans of the series cringe with how poorly the book adapted. Expand
  2. ShawnR.
    Jul 18, 2009
    9
    Seems like I'm simply joining the chorus here, but this is definitely the best, Harry Potter film by far. This is largely because it is the most character driven film of the Potter series and also because of the more mature treatment of the characters, dialogue and themes. As opposed to the other films where scenes exist mostly to drive the plot forward and justify the special Seems like I'm simply joining the chorus here, but this is definitely the best, Harry Potter film by far. This is largely because it is the most character driven film of the Potter series and also because of the more mature treatment of the characters, dialogue and themes. As opposed to the other films where scenes exist mostly to drive the plot forward and justify the special effects budget, Half-Blood Prince has several well-written, charming, dramatic and genuinely funny scenes. The characters deal with issues of love, responsibility and sacrifice, and behave more like real people than their usual cute, predictable Potter archetypes. Also, this film is dark. Quite dark. The Potter films have gotten progressively more and more serious as the film series has gone on and this one easily tops them all. This goes for the plot and themes, as well as the look. Great film and great fun. See it. Now. Expand
  3. RobD
    Jul 18, 2009
    0
    The ABSOLUTE WORST Harry Potter Movie! How does the screen writer mess up a winning formula AND STORY. The main point of Half Blood Prince IS the Half Blood Prince and NOT young teen love. Horribly slow with no purpose. The worst parts of the book on screen. Read the book again or listen to the audio tapes as this movie BLOWS!
  4. S.M
    Jul 19, 2009
    10
    Unbelievably entertaining!! Special effects were spot on and visually stunning. I liked the way the characters continue to develop and pull you into their feelings and make you wish you were one of the inner circle. Still, there is so much that happens in the book that is left out of the movies. They should be making these in two-parters.
  5. RobinR.
    Jul 19, 2009
    8
    Question what the director choose to keep in the film. There were key items in the book that did not make the transition to the big screen. The missing parts were more obvious in this film than in previous versions.
  6. DomoR.
    Jul 19, 2009
    5
    Having read the critics response to this film I was eager to see it. Now that I have, I'm more than convinced Warner Bros. sent out checks to every major critic to pay them for the hyperbole because there's no way in hell that sane rational people think this is the BEST of the series. It's not. It's a placeholder, merely a bloated bookmark, for the finales. Although Having read the critics response to this film I was eager to see it. Now that I have, I'm more than convinced Warner Bros. sent out checks to every major critic to pay them for the hyperbole because there's no way in hell that sane rational people think this is the BEST of the series. It's not. It's a placeholder, merely a bloated bookmark, for the finales. Although the production quality is great, the film is too long, tedious and, horrors of horrors, boring. Expand
  7. JeremyC
    Jul 21, 2009
    6
    First of all I do not understand the need to cast and portray this film like it's the smurfs. Even in his days as a student Voldemort's character seems to be brimming with evil thoughts and machinations leaving no room for ambiguity as to the audience understanding his evil, though as I understand it he was actually likeable in the books. Likewise Ron's infatuation with the First of all I do not understand the need to cast and portray this film like it's the smurfs. Even in his days as a student Voldemort's character seems to be brimming with evil thoughts and machinations leaving no room for ambiguity as to the audience understanding his evil, though as I understand it he was actually likeable in the books. Likewise Ron's infatuation with the absurdly annoying and unattractive Lavender leaves no doubt in anyone's mind that Hermione is clearly the better choice. These decisions and others felt like the film-makers refused to believe that their audience had the mental capacity to understand character development or uncertainty. Every decision is made for you, and by now six movies into the franchise it is starting to get extremely annoying. This entry into the franchise, perhaps more than any other takes almost all of it's plays directly from the Hollywood playbook, making for a film that is anything but special. The acting, as usual, was thoroughly convincing and entertaining. But the wonderful cast is unfortunately mired in a film that suffers from poor pacing, editing, and a lack of cohesive vision. Expand
  8. HarryN
    Jul 21, 2009
    0
    I've always been excited for the final Harry Potter movie. And I've never fallen asleep in a theatre before. This movie changed both of these things for me.
  9. KayinM
    Jul 21, 2009
    3
    After the excitingly epic and coherent film that was the previous installment, Yates appears to have made a film based on a CliffsNotes copy of the book, with all pages ending in 3 and 7 missing. Horribly paced, and awkwardly edited with somehow disjointed dialogue, the film contains too few memorable scenes or set pieces, too much glossing over the main plot points, and too much focus on After the excitingly epic and coherent film that was the previous installment, Yates appears to have made a film based on a CliffsNotes copy of the book, with all pages ending in 3 and 7 missing. Horribly paced, and awkwardly edited with somehow disjointed dialogue, the film contains too few memorable scenes or set pieces, too much glossing over the main plot points, and too much focus on the ones that didn't matter. Having been a fan of the books, and having greatly enjoyed the magical action sequences of the previous film, I left the theater greatly disappointed in the mysterious removal of the book's great and somewhat epic final sequence. Expand
  10. MikeW
    Jul 21, 2009
    9
    If Azkhaban was a 10, this would be close behind. As always, visually stunning, but the acting, for once, was solid and the writing was good. After all, the sixth book is more about setting up the 7th book than acting as an independent story (as was true with books 1-5). It was about as compelling a movie as could be made with this book. For those that complain about the plot and If Azkhaban was a 10, this would be close behind. As always, visually stunning, but the acting, for once, was solid and the writing was good. After all, the sixth book is more about setting up the 7th book than acting as an independent story (as was true with books 1-5). It was about as compelling a movie as could be made with this book. For those that complain about the plot and haven't read the books, well, it's kind of the same as watching the Two Towers in the Lord of the Rings... it brings the movie forward to the natural conclusion, but seen independently, it may leave you wondering what's going on. And for those who have read the books, there was simply too much to cover without making some major cuts, and there was a certain necessity to bring to do certain things in this movie. For instance, the Burrow gets burned down. Did it happen? No. Why did they do that? Because the 7th book is already two movies, and they have already cut the entire wedding of Bill and Fleur from these two films. The last 100 pages of the final book are so freakin' jam-packed, you could probably make a 3 hour film out of that. Not everything makes it to screen, and not everything is in the right place. That's part of moviemaking. That being said, it was excellently done, and close to the best in the Potter franchise (whether you've read the books or haven't). Expand
  11. KevT
    Jul 22, 2009
    8
    I have never read the books and do not consider myself a big fan, but I still enjoyed this latest edition to the series. If you have never seen the other films in this series you will need to do so to truly enjoy the movie. Mechanically speaking, the pace of the movie kept a good pace through out most of the film. The acting was in general very good. Special effects were first rate. Not a I have never read the books and do not consider myself a big fan, but I still enjoyed this latest edition to the series. If you have never seen the other films in this series you will need to do so to truly enjoy the movie. Mechanically speaking, the pace of the movie kept a good pace through out most of the film. The acting was in general very good. Special effects were first rate. Not a film to take small children like the boneheads at my showing. Based on what my wife told me, there was once again a large chunk of the book left out of the film, but she felt they covered the esssentials. If you enjoy fantasy films, this is a must see, but makesure you watch the series from film number one. If you are looking for an all action flick, skip this one. I would say 8 out of 10 people will be glad they saw this one. Expand
  12. ZapB
    Jul 22, 2009
    10
    I don't know much about the story, as I've never read any of the books, but I do love those brit teen girls. Emma Watson and Bonnie Wright especially... so cute. I love how they look in those uniforms, and how they still look great without obvious make-up or anything. I will watch all the Harry Potters just to see those cuties.. definitely worth the price of admission.
  13. CaseyS
    Jul 22, 2009
    3
    Disappointing. Several unfortunate decisions that sacrificed important material for heavy-handed teenage angst. Those who are familiar with the book will note the directorial license that dramatically altered the emotionally powerful concluding scenes, and inserted a sappy, "are they really holding lighters in the air" moment. Three stars.
  14. CJ
    Jul 22, 2009
    1
    Weak acting, weak action, weak story. Many important details were removed like the Hogwarts battle and Horcrux details and some unnecessary stuff added in like the cafe and the Burrow scene. Boot Yates out!
  15. HuckB
    Jul 23, 2009
    3
    We care about the characters and the young actors have grown well in their craft. However, this is the worst story telling of any of the Harry Potter movies to date. It does not adequately develop any of the many story lines and jumping from scene to scene in frequently unrelated fashion.
  16. ThomasZ
    Jul 24, 2009
    5
    As a fan of the books and movie 's this one was the worst yet. I was looking forward to it but they pretty much destroyed the interesting parts of the book and what left is a boring movie.
  17. marlonw
    Jul 25, 2009
    3
    So many vital plot lines were left out, it remains to be seen what can be done to further the plot of HP7. At least they could have done Dumbledore's funeral. His death, instead of being the climax and focal point of the movie, was reduced to a side note. Disappointing.
  18. GavinC
    Jul 26, 2009
    8
    Somehow, losing magic and replacing it with general life issues for most of the film seems to keep the magic and the life issues at just the right level.
  19. VanessaM
    Jul 26, 2009
    0
    I was one of the "lucky" ones who got to see the 3D version in NY early. Only 10 minutes of the movie were 3D and the only thing popping out of the screen was some snow in the beginning. I certainly would not recommend the 3D version. The movie itself was quite a disappointment too. I have to say that I am a huge fan of the Harry Potter books. The movies usually do not live up to my I was one of the "lucky" ones who got to see the 3D version in NY early. Only 10 minutes of the movie were 3D and the only thing popping out of the screen was some snow in the beginning. I certainly would not recommend the 3D version. The movie itself was quite a disappointment too. I have to say that I am a huge fan of the Harry Potter books. The movies usually do not live up to my expectations but this sixth installment was a disgrace to the book. It felt geared towards teenage girls - half of the movie was filled with poor humor or some love scenes. I wish the movies were directed by someone who actually understands the books. Expand
  20. CodyC
    Jul 26, 2009
    9
    After finding out David Yates would return to direct, I was very worried that he would make another Order of the Pheonix type of film. Personally, i believe Order of the Pheonix is the weakest of the Harry Potters. This new movie, however, shocked me. It was incredible. Yates and the rest of the crew did a marvelous job delving into the heart of Draco Malfoy, who was my favorite character After finding out David Yates would return to direct, I was very worried that he would make another Order of the Pheonix type of film. Personally, i believe Order of the Pheonix is the weakest of the Harry Potters. This new movie, however, shocked me. It was incredible. Yates and the rest of the crew did a marvelous job delving into the heart of Draco Malfoy, who was my favorite character of this film, as they showed his hostile intentions, but also let the audience know that he is confused in where he stands. His soul is vulnerable, and the actor who portrayed him (Tom Felton) and the director did wonders to show such character development. The acting quality overall was much better than all the rest of the films, as i found myself cringe at line delivery in previous installments. Evanna Lynch and Tom Felton are the strongest however, as they get into character very well, and are very convincing. The hormone attacks in the story was well handled, but at times seemed somewhat worthless in regards to the plot, because once one event takes place, it isn't heard of again. The special effects were magnificent as well, because they weren't overused for show, and they weren't completely absent. Overall, this is the strongest in the series for me, because the characters are so well developed, and the presentation was well balanced and done nearly perfect. Expand
  21. MichaelT
    Jul 27, 2009
    2
    Rewritten beginning and many of the main plot angles left out to bring a lukeway backstory to the front lines. This was for a person who read the books (sorry can't see How if you only saw the movies you can comment) this was the biggest flop of a potter film and to go 5 strong to crash on 6 is pretty sad. I mean not even the funeral scene for Dumbledore or explanation why Snape is Rewritten beginning and many of the main plot angles left out to bring a lukeway backstory to the front lines. This was for a person who read the books (sorry can't see How if you only saw the movies you can comment) this was the biggest flop of a potter film and to go 5 strong to crash on 6 is pretty sad. I mean not even the funeral scene for Dumbledore or explanation why Snape is the Half-Blood Prince, through pensive memory trips they totally left out... Ridiculous. Expand
  22. Colin
    Jul 27, 2009
    9
    Awesome movie. Funny, exciting, and a lot of fun to watch. All of the Potter Movies are good but this one tops all of them.
  23. BB
    Jul 28, 2009
    1
    90 percent of the movie differs from the book in significant details. Many story threads are botched so that the following movie will have nothing to pick up. The story line isn't going where Rowling takes it. The most important scenes--e.g., the battle after Dumbledore is killed and Harry and Ginny falling in love--aren't even included. Character development is nil--not just 90 percent of the movie differs from the book in significant details. Many story threads are botched so that the following movie will have nothing to pick up. The story line isn't going where Rowling takes it. The most important scenes--e.g., the battle after Dumbledore is killed and Harry and Ginny falling in love--aren't even included. Character development is nil--not just Harry and Ginny but Harry and Snape, Ron and Hermione, Fenrir Grayback, and McClaggen; the three principals spend much of their time standing around looking dumb like Bill Murray in Lost in Translation. Far and away the worst of the Potter movies. Expand
  24. JustinD
    Aug 12, 2009
    10
    It genuinely surprises me that some people go so far to consider this the worst movie of the franchise. As someone who really started out hating the Harry Potter movies, this film officially turned me into a Potter fanboy. I enjoyed the fourth and fifth movies (even though I can't particularly remember much about them), but this one blew me away. Can't wait for the final two films.
  25. ChrisS
    Aug 14, 2009
    2
    I have like all of the Harry movies until this one. This one was so boring and the actors seemed to have just showed up for a paycheck.
  26. kevino
    Aug 16, 2009
    4
    The thing that struck me about this movie is that there were so many scenes and sequences that looked cheap. Disappointing also because this was supposed to be the edition that told a great deal of story. Sadly, this movie did not. Instead, they focused on some minor points while leaving out some of the major themes in the book. They changed some of the story (from the book) which made The thing that struck me about this movie is that there were so many scenes and sequences that looked cheap. Disappointing also because this was supposed to be the edition that told a great deal of story. Sadly, this movie did not. Instead, they focused on some minor points while leaving out some of the major themes in the book. They changed some of the story (from the book) which made some of the plotline nonsensical. Expand
  27. elij
    Aug 19, 2009
    0
    I'm not going to lie to myself on this one...i really hated this movie a lot. It really seemed like 95 percent of the movie was the magic(pun intended)of teen romance in a time of complete and utter chaos.
  28. EliasC
    Aug 25, 2009
    9
    British fantasy is unique and totally unlike American fantasy. One of the key concepts in understanding British fantasy book series' is to realize that often the characters progress from light-hearted children's tales to dark adult stories. The Harry Potter series follows this concept to a degree. JK Rowling wrote her tales with more sinister meaning yet, at the same time, tried British fantasy is unique and totally unlike American fantasy. One of the key concepts in understanding British fantasy book series' is to realize that often the characters progress from light-hearted children's tales to dark adult stories. The Harry Potter series follows this concept to a degree. JK Rowling wrote her tales with more sinister meaning yet, at the same time, tried to keep her books appealling to younger readers. The film series follows the concept of British book fantasy as well. To make this transition, Peter Yates was selected was director to make the series more adult in nature but to keep the film within the PG guidelines (how he will get away with this in the last remaining 2 films is a matter for speculation). This transition makes 'Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince' the most adult, most complex, best directed, and best acted film in the series to date. It will not win fans among the lovers of films 1-4 but it definitely takes the concluding films in the direction it needs to travel to complete an outstanding series of films. Expand
  29. ArbieReview
    Nov 24, 2008
    1
    This is a gross oversight and another proof of argument that Metacritic needs to disable user votes. The thing isn't close to finishing post-production.
  30. Aug 15, 2010
    7
    It's bizarre, but this didn't really FEEL like Harry Potter. It's quite lucky that the film manages to blend mystery, comedy, and romantic general life issues together without being a total failure - much like the book.
  31. May 5, 2011
    7
    story is as of that book. some changes made and it was not gripping. screenplay is the fault here. the story with a cause must be really motivating. but screenplay fades in the first half after 30 minutes and goes dull with all unnecessary scenes for about 20 minutes. however rare interjections of some memories were present. but still i felt that the movie dragged deeply. second half camestory is as of that book. some changes made and it was not gripping. screenplay is the fault here. the story with a cause must be really motivating. but screenplay fades in the first half after 30 minutes and goes dull with all unnecessary scenes for about 20 minutes. however rare interjections of some memories were present. but still i felt that the movie dragged deeply. second half came and again movie had slow impact for about 20 minutes or so. some romance and fun scenes are not at all necessary and it disturbed the narrative deeply. any way the last 20 minutes was very good and movie concluded to a perfection. direction is top notch and thats why i feel that the movie is good. neat performance by daniel emma and rupert. micheal gambon"s performance is good. alan rickman was good in his limited role. rest all did perform good. the lead casts were perfect and thats the driving factor for the movie. technically speaking rich visuals and some eye popping special effects in the climax cave sequence along with teleportation was very good. editing needed a better work. if i had been editor i would have trimmed it altleast for 20 minutes or so. the main scenes did not get focus. the climax is cliched and ended suddenly. even though movie is 150 minutes nearly. it was entertaining for about 100 minutes. the remaining 50 minutes was nothing but real boredom. finally half blood prince is good in parts and great in certain parts and worst in some sections. i recommend the movie. Expand
  32. Sep 24, 2010
    8
    While certainly not perfect, and perhaps a tad disapointing, it till delivers one of the better films of 2009, outshining the occasionally bland Avatar and delivering a rather faithful bit of fan surface too. Not the best film ever, perhaps not even the best Harry Potter film, but it's essential for Harry Potter fans, and a well directed film, with some major back up from it's source material.
  33. Aug 27, 2010
    9
    If you can resist the fanboy urge to pick apart every plot detail and scour all the scenes for inaccuracies, you'll find yourself watching probably one of the most enjoyable and well-crafted movie in the film series so far (but I think by now it's just become a sad tradition for the movies to have cop-out endings...)
  34. Oct 6, 2010
    4
    I never thought I'd see the day that a Harry Potter movies disappoints me. Unfortunately, that happened with Half-Blood Prince, the only Harry Potter movie I dislike. I understand that there will be changes from the book, but my God, it's like they completely changed the story!
  35. Oct 3, 2010
    9
    The series only continues to get better! This film is definitely the funniest Harry Potter film so far, as well as the most emotional, and its definitely up there for entertainment as well. The middle section of the plot is slow and not much happens, however this is made up for by the brilliant opening and climax. The acting is the best so far and the visuals are stunning, this is truly anThe series only continues to get better! This film is definitely the funniest Harry Potter film so far, as well as the most emotional, and its definitely up there for entertainment as well. The middle section of the plot is slow and not much happens, however this is made up for by the brilliant opening and climax. The acting is the best so far and the visuals are stunning, this is truly an excellent film and I found it highly enjoyable, despite a few flaws and areas that I would change here and there. If you're looking for pure action though, this is not the film for you, and perhaps that is one of the few let downs of this film. 'Deathly Hallows' will hopefully improve on that. Expand
  36. Nov 7, 2010
    10
    Absolutely satisfying! Atmospheric and darker than any previous film, it succeeds in staying loyal to the book as it brings on screen all the things we loved from J.K. Rowling. Superb visual effects and score! It is really epic! Daniel, Emma and Rupert prove their talent! I was really amazed about how all these inversions in the plot fit only in a two and a half hour film! Loved it!
  37. Nov 22, 2010
    9
    As the 6th one begins, not only Hogwarts is in danger, but the muggle world too. No longer Harry is a small child that was almost killed by the darkest and one of the most powerful wizards in history, but fans know that the end is near. Soon Voldemort will come out of hiding and meet Harry. Fans will find the secret to Voldemort's immortality and the wizarding world could never have beenAs the 6th one begins, not only Hogwarts is in danger, but the muggle world too. No longer Harry is a small child that was almost killed by the darkest and one of the most powerful wizards in history, but fans know that the end is near. Soon Voldemort will come out of hiding and meet Harry. Fans will find the secret to Voldemort's immortality and the wizarding world could never have been more dangerous. He still has Ron and Hermoine to look up to, but it is no more fun and games. The movie however, was. Impressive special effects and groundbreaking sequences events, turn this into one of the most intense films of the entire franchise. David Yates amazes me again, and audiences will be anticipating the end for the final 7th installment of one of the world's most successful franchises. Expand
  38. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    This has to be the best Potter movie.
  39. Dec 1, 2014
    8
    By the time the Half Blood Prince arrives in the Harry Potter franchise, it's pretty much bulletproof. Great movie after great movie after... You get the point. The characters have become so well defined and lovable that something would have to go really wrong to put a dent in the series. Nothing of that kind even remotely happens in the Half Blood Prince. Indeed, the concentratedBy the time the Half Blood Prince arrives in the Harry Potter franchise, it's pretty much bulletproof. Great movie after great movie after... You get the point. The characters have become so well defined and lovable that something would have to go really wrong to put a dent in the series. Nothing of that kind even remotely happens in the Half Blood Prince. Indeed, the concentrated character development in this action-lite entry makes for a fantastic diversion before the thunderous two-part finale. Expand
  40. Jul 11, 2011
    8
    While Half-Blood Prince isn't perfect, it sure expands upon the Harry Potter feel like no other. The plot here is sticking to the main plot, but missing out on the cool side stories. Th performances are the deepest than before and the visuals make the film a great watch! There wasn't as much action has before, but this addition is still entertaining to watch!
  41. May 29, 2011
    7
    The most hated movie by most fans of HP, because it was unfaithful through the book. However this is by far the greatest success of Half-Blood Prince. Although it has cut some important memories and said little about the Horcruxes, the greater freedom in adapting that Kloves had ended up making this the best film in the saga (until he came Deathly Hallows, of course). Yates has alsoThe most hated movie by most fans of HP, because it was unfaithful through the book. However this is by far the greatest success of Half-Blood Prince. Although it has cut some important memories and said little about the Horcruxes, the greater freedom in adapting that Kloves had ended up making this the best film in the saga (until he came Deathly Hallows, of course). Yates has also improved a LOT, and achieves good moments of humor and manages to emote in some scenes. The performances are very good this young. Radcliffe shows good comic timing, and Grint. And Emma Watson makes a beautiful performance here. The adult cast, as always, is wonderful. Alan Rickman, Michael Gambon, Helena Bonham Carter and Jim Broadbent are simply fantastic. Great visual effects (the second best of the series), a beautiful photograph and a wonderful soundtrack make this one of the best technically as well. Expand
  42. Jul 17, 2011
    6
    Setting things up for the finale in style this is the best movie of the series so far. it is here that the characters truly move from childhood into early adulthood and face the hardships of retationships as well as their positions within Hogwarts. It also delvelops the sub plots nicely and brings them into the fore.
  43. Apr 17, 2011
    9
    Watched it today, and i liked it. i loved to watch my fantasy which was the book come to life so i can not only watch but read my way along side harry and his friends battle throughout the wizarding world. except for cut out scenes, and edits to scenes changing what i viewed in the book, i loved it
  44. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    The best film in the Harry Potter Franchise so far. Half-Blood Prince is exciting, refreshing and stands on it's own. Some of the Potter films lack whither it is story line or direction. The Half-Blood Prince finally completes the triple threat well acted, perfectly directed with a killer script.
  45. Jul 20, 2011
    8
    This Harry Potter film has a feel to it which no other Harry Potter film has. It's has a perpetual and omnipresent tone of darkness and subdued magic, brought on from its spectacular score and superb acting. It certainly is an interesting creation, compelling the audience into the story throughout. It's certainly not the best Harry Potter film, but, by no measure, is it the worst. 8/10
  46. Dec 10, 2011
    7
    Like "Deathly Hallows, Part 1" the film doesn't focus on action or story development but it focus on the characters and how they have been affected by Voldemort and his followers. Delbonnel's cinematography illustrates that well, depicting the world as we know as not innocent anymore, but as dark and frightening. However, Half-Blood Prince feels a way too long and doesn't add almostLike "Deathly Hallows, Part 1" the film doesn't focus on action or story development but it focus on the characters and how they have been affected by Voldemort and his followers. Delbonnel's cinematography illustrates that well, depicting the world as we know as not innocent anymore, but as dark and frightening. However, Half-Blood Prince feels a way too long and doesn't add almost nothing to the future story. Expand
  47. Nov 4, 2011
    9
    An excellently crafted sixth installment in the most successful film franchise in history. It's dark, intense, emotional and occasionally quite funny as teenage hormones run rampant throughout the halls of Hogwarts, despite many additions and cut-outs from the story. Not like it matters, but it's just a little disappointing for the die hard fans. Also I found that the pace was a little tooAn excellently crafted sixth installment in the most successful film franchise in history. It's dark, intense, emotional and occasionally quite funny as teenage hormones run rampant throughout the halls of Hogwarts, despite many additions and cut-outs from the story. Not like it matters, but it's just a little disappointing for the die hard fans. Also I found that the pace was a little too slow, thus weakening the momentum of the film. 3 1/2 out 4 stars. Expand
  48. May 25, 2012
    9
    The series still entertains after this many movies.
  49. Jul 16, 2013
    7
    As the franchise nears its end and the run time ticks on in the Half-Blood Prince, we are me with the realisation that the sixth instalment really serves as an adjoining film, and while the acting is superb and the older members of the cast are given their moments, Harry Potters new adventure lacks the heart and magical escapism that most of its predecessors possessed.
    We are introduced
    As the franchise nears its end and the run time ticks on in the Half-Blood Prince, we are me with the realisation that the sixth instalment really serves as an adjoining film, and while the acting is superb and the older members of the cast are given their moments, Harry Potters new adventure lacks the heart and magical escapism that most of its predecessors possessed.
    We are introduced to a wizarding world that has accepted the return of Lord Voldemort, but also a world which is in turmoil. Attacks in regular human beings, or muggles, are in full swing from the Death Eaters, while Harry (Daniel Radcliffe) continues to seek answers and deal with the loss of another loved one, while still attending Hogwarts.
    Things at the school are changing, Dumbledore (Michael Gambon) is more vigilant towards Harry, Snape (Alan Rickman) has become defence against the Dark Arts teacher and Professor Slughorn, played with a irritable brilliance by Jim Broadbent, is the new Potions master.
    Harry comes across a book with the title of the film across it- Property of the Half-Blood Prince, and learns a few new things from the mysterious owner of the book.
    The shift in tone for the sixth film sees a more talkative and slower film, and while I personally relish, it departs too much from the overall tone of the source material, everything seems like it is building to something bigger which we rarely see, with too much time being spent on developing irregular scenes rather than developing the story arc.
    But alas, the performances are exceptional, especially from Alan Rickman, Michael Gambon and Jim Broadbent, they all share candid scenes with Harry which are simply electrifying. The scenes between Harry and Dumbledore in particular really show how far we have come and how close to the end we are.
    But with all the talking going on, it is still visual marvel, when Harry and Dumbledore discover the intentions of Voldemort, their journey takes them to lakes involving fire and other magical presences, creating some spectacular scenes. But of course there is tragedy at every turn and this the most brutal yet, leaving a real hole in Harry’s life and is uphill battle to defeat Lord Voldemort.
    Hagrid comments that storm is coming, and we best be ready when it does, and no truer words may have been spoken.
    Expand
  50. Dec 7, 2011
    9
    I havent liked the HP series that much so I didnt have a lot of hope for this film but I was suprised that I actually really liked it. I thought it did a good job staying true to the book and it was nice to see Michael Gambon (Dumbledore) get more screen time and show off his skills - Unlike the other films hes in. It was well worth watching.
  51. Dec 12, 2011
    6
    (September 25, 2009)
    This movie left me with very mixed opinions. I am one of the Potter Freaks that read all the books, and I compare and contrast the book and the movie while I am viewing it for the first time. Since this is a review only on the film, though, I do not want start talking about what was missing and what did not need to be in the film. In the tradition of a Harry Potter
    (September 25, 2009)
    This movie left me with very mixed opinions. I am one of the Potter Freaks that read all the books, and I compare and contrast the book and the movie while I am viewing it for the first time. Since this is a review only on the film, though, I do not want start talking about what was missing and what did not need to be in the film. In the tradition of a Harry Potter film, it is long. Even with the length I was entertained throughout most of it, but like most lengthy films, it did have its moments that dragged on. Being a little on the let down side by the past two films, this one started out very promising. I personally felt the film started out at a high point, and just slowly kept falling down from this point and never seemed to get back up. It felt like the director did not know how to place things from the book into a movie to keep the movie going at a good pace the whole way through. Even the ending to the movie just did not seen as suspenseful as it should have been, which I will not spoil for the nine percent of people that still do not know what happened, but the movie spends so much time building up things that by the time you get to the end, you are not on the edge of your seat like you should be. This movie is visually stunning, though, and the quidditch scenes are definitely the best ones yet. Overall I felt like this movie was just a pit stop to get some silly teenage drama out of the way and get people prepared for what is to come in the next two films. The film was good, but was more on the forgettable side.
    Expand
  52. Jan 11, 2012
    8
    The most foolish Harry Potter movie, but it is better than The Order of the Phoenix. Because it is darker, more funny, creepy, sadly and enjoyable. But is is very far from the book and there were somethings that were missing and were necessary to understand the story.
  53. Aug 16, 2013
    9
    Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince is a 2009 fantasy film directed by David Yates with Daniel Radcliffe, Emma Watson, Rupert Grint and Michael Gambon.
    After detecting the wizarding world the truth about the return of Voldemort, Harry Potter begins the sixth year at Hogwarts witchcraft. In this installment of the series, in addition to having to deal with his own adolescence, Harry
    Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince is a 2009 fantasy film directed by David Yates with Daniel Radcliffe, Emma Watson, Rupert Grint and Michael Gambon.
    After detecting the wizarding world the truth about the return of Voldemort, Harry Potter begins the sixth year at Hogwarts witchcraft. In this installment of the series, in addition to having to deal with his own adolescence, Harry must help Dumbledore discover a dark secret about the Dark Lord and to do so will have to rummage in the past of one who must not be named.
    This film adaptation of JK Rowling is better than the fifth chapter (also directed by Yates). There have been many improvements in director David Yates. Meanwhile, on a visual level we have seen improvements in special effects and set design (which in the Order of the Phoenix could be better exploited), but especially for the photography of the film that has been used well and gave us shots of landscapes really beautiful.
    The only flaw of the film is the script. Have relied heavily on young love and adolescence leaving out some details regarding the mystery regarding Voldemort which made it a little more difficult for people who have not read the books of Rowling understand the storyline. The error of the film was also to add, in the romantic moments, scenes that can be defined a little ridiculous. For the rest of the film features a great cast of actors among which Helena Bonham Carter, Alan Rickman and Tom Felton. The latter has fared very well in the role of Draco Malfoy.
    Expand
  54. Jan 7, 2013
    9
    This is the first time in this series where I can honestly say that the movie was every bit as good as the book... though, for different reasons. You see, there is not all that much adventure and action sequences in the book so, while it doesn't drag because the characters are and plot development is outstanding, it still felt a bit on the long side. This caters perfectly for the movie.This is the first time in this series where I can honestly say that the movie was every bit as good as the book... though, for different reasons. You see, there is not all that much adventure and action sequences in the book so, while it doesn't drag because the characters are and plot development is outstanding, it still felt a bit on the long side. This caters perfectly for the movie. The challenges in fitting in all sorts of scenes are completely different than those in fitting in various emotions, which is what they faced when making this movie. In capturing those emotions, thoughts, moments of internal conflict, etc. they did a fantastic job. The only thing I thought they could've done a better job of was making Dumbledore's exit a bit more emotional like it was in the book. Still though, they did a great job there in general so that's not the reason I didn't give it a perfect ten. That reason lies with the fact that they hinted towards things in this movie that were not so profound in the book. I have not finished the final book yet so I can only speculate on some of the things I was already wondering but it seems as though, regarding Severus Snape, that they took advantage of knowing the ending of the entire story rather than the particular book itself. By knowing this, it seems as though they hint a little more at certain elements of the story than the book did causing you to think entirely differently about the act that took place. Nonetheless, this movie was still outstanding and I look forward to watching the final one(s). Expand
  55. Dec 28, 2011
    8
    Unfortunately, this one takes departures from the book that didn't really sit well with me. It was, namely, the decision to take out the two most emotionally rousing scenes in the book - the battle at Hogwarts, and the white tomb, and replace the empty screentime with a shot of the Burrow burning down that never happened in the book. But despite this, the film is arguably the funniest outUnfortunately, this one takes departures from the book that didn't really sit well with me. It was, namely, the decision to take out the two most emotionally rousing scenes in the book - the battle at Hogwarts, and the white tomb, and replace the empty screentime with a shot of the Burrow burning down that never happened in the book. But despite this, the film is arguably the funniest out of them all. It's probably the worst of the lot, but it's still great. Expand
  56. Aug 25, 2014
    7
    I haven't read the book, so I can't compare the two. Also, I watched "The Order of the Phoenix" the night before seeing this one, which may have been a mistake...

    "The Half-Blood Prince" starts with a bang, goes on with other irregular bangs, and ends... well, with a bang? There is no usual beginning-middle-end -rhythm to be found in this movie. The plot moves in plunges from one scene
    I haven't read the book, so I can't compare the two. Also, I watched "The Order of the Phoenix" the night before seeing this one, which may have been a mistake...

    "The Half-Blood Prince" starts with a bang, goes on with other irregular bangs, and ends... well, with a bang? There is no usual beginning-middle-end -rhythm to be found in this movie. The plot moves in plunges from one scene to another, which seem a little unrelated sometimes. They just don't come together as a whole movie.

    The acting is a little stiff, especially from the older actors. It seemed much smoother in the last films, so I don't know that's going on with that.

    The theme seems to be the amusing/saddening stuff with the young love going on in the movie. Some of it is totally cliché - and some you can feel personally, like Hermione's anguish.

    There was action, and there was some fun, and it's hard to remember it all because this movie was both long and distracting; there was no main plot to hold onto.

    The very end scene of the movie was just lame. It totally ruins the mood they had been building. Too much of the usual "I'm off to do it on my own" and "We're coming with you 'cause we are yours friends" stuff, and realizing the simple beauty of the world etc.

    Other than that... it's still pretty good, and I'm sure a second viewing will make some things to make a lot more sense. I was tempted to give the movie three and half stars, but maybe four is fairer - for now.

    I'm looking forward to the final movies of the series, and hope them to be better structured than "The Half-Blood Prince". Because frankly, after the steady, beautiful flow that was "The Order of the Phoenix", this was a bit of a mess.
    Expand
  57. Mar 28, 2012
    9
    The most dark chapter of the saga. I think that is really interesting, but have a big problem, much of the magic things in the other films, don't stay in the six part. Is good, dark, but some strange.
  58. Mar 15, 2012
    7
    This movie is funny to a point. There is lots of action but I think It goes a bit overboard and It doesn't live up to the previous films. Also some of the dialogue is boring and this movie is long which will make some people probably drift off into a long sleep. Also the special effects are pretty good and the monsters in the movie are pretty scary and dark. Little children won't wantThis movie is funny to a point. There is lots of action but I think It goes a bit overboard and It doesn't live up to the previous films. Also some of the dialogue is boring and this movie is long which will make some people probably drift off into a long sleep. Also the special effects are pretty good and the monsters in the movie are pretty scary and dark. Little children won't want to watch some of this movie and that's a good idea. Expand
  59. Aug 25, 2014
    5
    My curiosity is still present. But it's damped once more by David Yates mediocre direction of this fantastic installment of the Harry Potter series. It's disappointing to see such stunning visuals and a, by now, legendary cast go to waste.
  60. Mar 27, 2012
    6
    A decent well made movie, but still below average for a Harry Potter film. Too many of the comedic scenes seemed forced and unnecessary when there is so much of this important story to share. I get the weird feeling that so many things were left out of the movie. The movie picked up toward the end, but it doesn't have the feeling of what Harry Potter should be.
  61. Jun 22, 2014
    8
    I’ll be honest. While I still stand my opinions, I felt like I have been biased reviewing the Harry Potter movies as a fan of the books. In Order of the Phoenix (my favorite book in the series), I have been trying to watch the movie as if I have never read the book, and it seemed to have worked for me a bit despite I am a bit upset with some of the changes. What matters most is I enjoyedI’ll be honest. While I still stand my opinions, I felt like I have been biased reviewing the Harry Potter movies as a fan of the books. In Order of the Phoenix (my favorite book in the series), I have been trying to watch the movie as if I have never read the book, and it seemed to have worked for me a bit despite I am a bit upset with some of the changes. What matters most is I enjoyed it and I did enjoy it.

    Speaking of enjoyment, I was a little bored in some parts of the movie. Maybe that’s because I already know what happens next and also because the battle scenes near the end of the film wasn’t that adventurous as the previous movie, which is also my (only) problem in the book.

    You cannot put everything in the movie and I understand it. And to my surprise, I was okay with most of the changes more than the changes they did in Order of the Phoenix and the rest of the movies. Of course, the book is obviously better but they put out most of the important stuff in the movie.

    But, there were two changes that I am not okay with in the movie:

    -Voldemort’s past in the movie wasn’t explained in its complete form from the book. That was the most important driving force of the movie! I am not very satisfied.
    -The Burrow on fire? Was that even important? That wasn’t even in the book and it didn’t do much for the plot in the movie.

    But hey! It’s only fewer changes that I wasn’t okay with compared to the other movies, with the most changes I wasn’t okay with is Prisoner of Azkaban.

    And now, the changes I am okay with. Since there were a lot, I am going to list down a few:

    -Instead of showing the Prime Minister in the beginning of the book, they showed the actual incidents in the bridge and in Diagon Alley in the first scene. This excited me and I am sure it excited both the readers and the non-readers.
    -I was okay with Dumbledore’s funeral scene being cut in the movie only because the scene where everyone in Hogwarts raised their wands in honor of Dumbledore was emotional enough. (I had tears coming out for god’s sakes) Without that part, then I would have been upset.
    -The small battle in Hogwarts was cut. I think they’re saving this up for the bigger, better battle in Hogwarts in the part two of the final movie.

    The cinematography is really great and the special effects make it very realistic. And of course, the movie is very emotional compared to the rest of the movies. That’s the highlight of the entire movie, besides the performance from the cast of course. It seems like these actors were born to play their characters!

    While I was a bit bored, this movie got my emotions out and I was okay with most of the changes. Of course, cinematography, cast performances and special effects were great. And most of all, I enjoyed it though I enjoyed watching Order of the Phoenix better. And also, this movie just set up what will happen in the final two movies.
    Expand
  62. Aug 14, 2012
    7
    The war is on between good and evil. Just a shame I cant remember much about it. HP:HBP wasn't boring like OotP but it was just forgettable with samey SFX used in all the previous films and poor choice of what bits to include from the books and what not to pick. It was a good, entertaining film but nothing more than filler for the final instalment.
  63. Nov 1, 2013
    7
    Director David Yates returns to direct the sixth film in the franchise, "Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince". Realizing some of the weaknesses in the fifth film, improvements has been made but some remain. There's a bit of Quidditch this time round, and there's more delightful scenes. However, Yates puts too much time on the romantic and not enough on the actual plot itself.
  64. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    Another winner for Mr. Yates! He does a terrific job changing the tone from sad, to scary, and even to funny. And the humor is this film is great! It had me laughing out loud at several scenes. Oh, the magic!
  65. Dec 20, 2014
    10
    Best of the series.It's the darkest, most thrilling, and emotionally deep fantasy film ever.Great CGI sets and visual effects, breathtaking cinematography and marvellous performances from every single member of the tremendous cast.It is a dramatic triumph.
  66. Nov 10, 2012
    9
    I love this Potter! Paranoia is pumping in the veins of Hogwarts. Yates does a brilliant job with number 6. It is dark and gloomy, but also quite funny. Although humor and darkness make themselves presence, one can't ignore the feeling of sadness. Well done!
  67. Dec 21, 2012
    6
    Everybody loved this one because it centered on teens love life but in general even though it was better than the first two it followed the book least then any of the other movies. However it was very emotional,humorous,and some what exciting. So it wasn't a huge failure.
  68. Apr 28, 2015
    6
    A vast improvement on the last movie, and yet it also manages to be utterly underwhelming.

    Some great scenes and performances, but the pacing is almost slug like at times. Considering everything that has happened so far, it almost feels like watching a soap opera right after an action movie. The tone is a bit to calm for what is going on. Overall: While I thoroughly enjoyed the
    A vast improvement on the last movie, and yet it also manages to be utterly underwhelming.

    Some great scenes and performances, but the pacing is almost slug like at times. Considering everything that has happened so far, it almost feels like watching a soap opera right after an action movie. The tone is a bit to calm for what is going on.

    Overall:
    While I thoroughly enjoyed the story and all the twists, it also was a bit boring and underwhelming, considering it's the sixth Harry Potter movie.
    Expand
  69. May 10, 2013
    10
    Harry Potter is a lot more darker than ever it is defiantly a PG-13, it is turning to sexual subjects, a darker past but a well pleasing art!
  70. Mar 31, 2013
    9
    The Half-Blood Prince is my favorite book of the entire series of HP, but I can not say the same for the movie is very good, but something is not completely convinced. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, the book, is undoubtedly one of the strongest chapters in the saga of the boy wizard, not only marked by the evolution of the characters, but by the presence of factors that keep theThe Half-Blood Prince is my favorite book of the entire series of HP, but I can not say the same for the movie is very good, but something is not completely convinced. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, the book, is undoubtedly one of the strongest chapters in the saga of the boy wizard, not only marked by the evolution of the characters, but by the presence of factors that keep the fabric of the child for get into a world more real, closer to us, more full of risk, of chiaroscuro, of stories that sometimes conclude without happy endings.
    It's not easy to turn the book into a film, as it is one of the most extensive histories of the saga of the boy wizard Potter, but David Yates's film (his second in the series) refreshes the collection and shows a visual maturity that is not seen much in recent deliveries, bringing it to dramatic German Expressionism, highlighting a picture of it and a more elaborate edition repeatedly surprised by their creativity, not to mention the special effects are still remarkably good.

    The problem that has had the cast from the fourth movie (Goblet of Fire) is not acting with the feeling that they must act according to their role. Not that I do not, but it is very minimal and so this feeling is not to be transmitted in each scene, the only ones who have managed to get all the juice in your paper are: Michael Gambon as Albus Dumbledore, Jim Broadbent as Horance Slughorn and surprise, Tom Felton as Draco Malfoy, who mingles with hate weakness. Daniel Radcliffe was almost there too, but in the final scenes do not make it, I miss you put more feeling into his role in those scenes.
    The best scenes are certainly: The hijacking of the wands to comiezo maker, makes the viewer is encouraged to see it complete, that was my caso.Tambien and best of all is the cave where Dumbledore and the young Potter one fora seeking to destroy the Dark Lord, the Horcrux and also the sad Dumbledore dies, the movie that made striking, except for some performances of the cast, but anyway, give emotion to the movie.
    Although the film may well be said to be a set of chiaroscuro, (in all senses), it is also a product that is worth to be seen and enjoyed by all, but especially by fans of the series, who, with the support of book, with much greater intensity live the experience.
    My Score: 8.6
    Expand
  71. Apr 14, 2013
    5
    How disappointed could one be. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince is such a huge letdown when it comes to entertainment. Could it be anymore boring than it was? It felt like nothing important happened until the last 25 minutes of it. Easily the worst in the series. Sure, the special effects and the performances were good.
  72. Mar 28, 2013
    8
    The begging of the end! AMAZING story and movie! If you're a Harry Potter fan and you watched the previous parts, this one will definitely Thrill you! I'm not going to add any spoilers, my final score for this amazing Harry Potter movie is 8/10!
  73. Mar 21, 2013
    6
    It's better then all but something happened. It's like the action came up and (I was on the edge of my seat) then it fell fast. The effects were less the perfect. But hey entertained me more then the others. Watch if your a fan, nothing more her spectacular as the so-called critics say. More bore then roar.
  74. Sep 8, 2013
    9
    This one was an exceptional movie. The cinematography was beautiful, the story was interesting and engaging and it starts to introduce us to the bitter end of the beloved climax. Overall, a beautiful Harry Potter film. Be sure to check out my YouTube channel, "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies.
  75. Jun 10, 2014
    4
    In my opinion, the worst movie of the Harry Potter saga...

    Why? Because everything is just filler for the next movie, things do happen in this movie however; the story advances, the characters are memorable, the production value is on the money and the stakes are high... but for more then half of the movie nothing happens, you might has well be looking at a wall, it pretty much turns
    In my opinion, the worst movie of the Harry Potter saga...

    Why? Because everything is just filler for the next movie, things do happen in this movie however; the story advances, the characters are memorable, the production value is on the money and the stakes are high... but for more then half of the movie nothing happens, you might has well be looking at a wall, it pretty much turns around all the other points I mentioned before until the final act where the movie gather strength but not enough to make it something worth your while.

    The movie's saving grace is it's production value, I can appreciate the work and effort putted into the development of this picture; actors, director, etc... but only in the final act things finally move along.
    Expand
  76. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    Perhaps the best in the movie series, and the movie of the year. Despite disappointing some cinema-goers with a total remove of the fun and playful magic seen in the earliest movies the film stays as close as it can to it's page-turning roots. The life and death of the later books are well reflected in this movies. With only some disappointments to the book-readers such as the anti climaxPerhaps the best in the movie series, and the movie of the year. Despite disappointing some cinema-goers with a total remove of the fun and playful magic seen in the earliest movies the film stays as close as it can to it's page-turning roots. The life and death of the later books are well reflected in this movies. With only some disappointments to the book-readers such as the anti climax "fight" at the end. Managing to retain most of the actors youthful appearances added to the atmosphere. This proves any doubters harry potter can still make a fantastic translation to the screen. Expand
  77. Jun 14, 2013
    9
    Among more hits and less error Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince is better than its predecessor!

    Now all believe that Voldemort has returned, Harry is the chosen one and the danger this higher, but this does not mean that there is no time for love and humor. Yes we are talking about Rupert Grint showing that Ron is more than a great friend besides Tom Felton also has its highlight,
    Among more hits and less error Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince is better than its predecessor!

    Now all believe that Voldemort has returned, Harry is the chosen one and the danger this higher, but this does not mean that there is no time for love and humor. Yes we are talking about Rupert Grint showing that Ron is more than a great friend besides Tom Felton also has its highlight, along with Emma Watson and Evanna Lynch HP6 is a great movie recovers all missing in HP5, more suspense, romace, humor and drama effects, soundtrack, art direction are the better of the first six films besides Helena Bonham Carter, Alan R. give their best for two main characters.

    The only two things that made missing: more action scenes and some of the memories of Voldemort
    Expand
  78. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    Note: The following movie is darker than a usual PG movie, so for the best, it is certainly a PG-13 movie with more romance, another important note, it may causes a shock from how outstanding the visuals are, and the story is just magical, and another note, this sequel proves that Harry Potter saga is everlasting movies and books, that will be written in our hearts for life.
  79. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    This film is fantastic! Full of fantasy, comedy, heart, emotion, a very well written script (while it may not be 100% faithful to the book, it still keeps in the most important parts and adds some great stuff in there), awesome cinematography, spectacular acting (everyone in here is fantastic!), eye popping visuals and beautiful music (Nicholas Hooper really does a perfect job here): thisThis film is fantastic! Full of fantasy, comedy, heart, emotion, a very well written script (while it may not be 100% faithful to the book, it still keeps in the most important parts and adds some great stuff in there), awesome cinematography, spectacular acting (everyone in here is fantastic!), eye popping visuals and beautiful music (Nicholas Hooper really does a perfect job here): this film boasts it all. This is another one of the BEST Harry Potter films. Expand
  80. Feb 19, 2014
    8
    Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince is a great movie, but it contains slowness and boredom.

    The opening scene in this movie is great, but also the music. The movie contains many mysterious things that I really think is exiting and spectacular. The actors in this movie are great (at usual), and the film is well made and the story is very entertaining. The climax in this film is very
    Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince is a great movie, but it contains slowness and boredom.

    The opening scene in this movie is great, but also the music. The movie contains many mysterious things that I really think is exiting and spectacular. The actors in this movie are great (at usual), and the film is well made and the story is very entertaining. The climax in this film is very good and the movie overall felt entertaining, especially the ending which was awesome. The bad thing about this movie is that it was a little to slow sometimes and the movie generally wasn't that unique. The tempo was as I mentioned to slow, which made it boring at some places.
    Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince is an awesome movie, even though the tempo is a little to slow, but it's still a great movie.

    Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince gets a 8/10
    Expand
  81. Oct 25, 2013
    7
    An improvement from 'Order of Phoenix', 'Half-Blood Prince' draws a little more macabre intentionally to it's style, most likely imitating Alfonso Cuaron's 'Prisoner of Azkaban'. But now I think this was it for me for Harry Potter as I've already read Deathly Hallows, and even if I didn't, The ending is obvious and cliched. Harry Potter became annoying after this. I just waited four yearsAn improvement from 'Order of Phoenix', 'Half-Blood Prince' draws a little more macabre intentionally to it's style, most likely imitating Alfonso Cuaron's 'Prisoner of Azkaban'. But now I think this was it for me for Harry Potter as I've already read Deathly Hallows, and even if I didn't, The ending is obvious and cliched. Harry Potter became annoying after this. I just waited four years to say it. Expand
  82. Nov 28, 2013
    6
    the half-blood prince was a good film but unfortunately it hadn't had the aclaim of the incredible book.David Yates had make a good movie after all and had won my respect.
  83. Oct 24, 2013
    9
    'The Half Blood-Prince' gives fans and viewers looking for both character-driven stories as well as more tense, dark magical premises the best of both worlds.
  84. Nov 15, 2013
    6
    With the sixth installment of the eight part series, Harry Potter continues its success with ease. Good acting, good dialogue, and well paced sorcerer battles.
  85. Jan 21, 2014
    7
    I was very disappointed with this movie. I watched all the movies except this, and I loved them until the Half-Blood Prince. The plot is very gloomy and full of holes. There is no exciting deathmatches with wands, only a bunch of sloppy Avada Kedavras. I did like plenty of parts, but the disappointment watching this was a bit overwhelming. The movie seemed impressively rushed, and youI was very disappointed with this movie. I watched all the movies except this, and I loved them until the Half-Blood Prince. The plot is very gloomy and full of holes. There is no exciting deathmatches with wands, only a bunch of sloppy Avada Kedavras. I did like plenty of parts, but the disappointment watching this was a bit overwhelming. The movie seemed impressively rushed, and you might as well not watch this unless you are a die-hard Harry Potter fan. Expand
  86. May 4, 2014
    6
    Not worth the extra year waiting for this film...from an original november 2008 release to a july 2009 release. Potter 6 has alot to love but suffers from the attention to teenage hormones and comdey rather than the story or elements of the book which are far more important.
  87. Oct 18, 2014
    9
    Voldemort is tightening his grip on both the Muggle and wizarding worlds and Hogwarts is no longer the safe haven it once was. Harry suspects that dangers may even lie within the castle, but Dumbledore is more intent upon preparing him for the final battle that he knows is fast approaching. Together they work to find the key to unlock Voldemort's defenses and, to this end, DumbledoreVoldemort is tightening his grip on both the Muggle and wizarding worlds and Hogwarts is no longer the safe haven it once was. Harry suspects that dangers may even lie within the castle, but Dumbledore is more intent upon preparing him for the final battle that he knows is fast approaching. Together they work to find the key to unlock Voldemort's defenses and, to this end, Dumbledore recruits his old friend and colleague, the well-connected and unsuspecting bon vivant Professor Horace Slughorn, whom he believes holds crucial information. Meanwhile, one student remains aloof. He is determined to make his mark, albeit a dark one. Love is in the air, but tragedy lies ahead and Hogwarts may never be the same again. Expand
  88. May 4, 2015
    9
    A pesar de que no tiene en gran parte, absolutamente nada que ver con el libro, The half blood prince es mejor que The Order of the Phoenix en todos los sentidos, la narrativa es superior y mucho mejor, a pesar de que no respeta el 100% de la historia original y de ser una historia oscura y dramática pase a ser una comedia romántica con toques de drama y suspenso, la historia funciona. EsA pesar de que no tiene en gran parte, absolutamente nada que ver con el libro, The half blood prince es mejor que The Order of the Phoenix en todos los sentidos, la narrativa es superior y mucho mejor, a pesar de que no respeta el 100% de la historia original y de ser una historia oscura y dramática pase a ser una comedia romántica con toques de drama y suspenso, la historia funciona. Es entretenida, pero se queda corta en comparación con las primeras cuatro películas de la saga. Expand
  89. Jan 11, 2015
    9
    Perhaps the funniest Potter installment that features a relatively dark atmosphere which is welcome for fans of Prisoner of Azkaban. The best visuals in the series can be found here along with the talented Jim Broadbent as Horace Slughorn!
  90. Mar 13, 2015
    9
    This one gets everything right, giving us the best of what the world of Harry Potter has to offer; the music, the Quidditch, the comedy, the characters, and it doesn't skimp on anything.
  91. Apr 23, 2015
    8
    The sixth Harry Potter movie is essentially a film in limbo. It begins with a wordless shot of Harry (Daniel Radcliffe) still reeling in emotional agony from the events of the last movie, and ends on a miserable moment with no sense of hope, or of a plan for the future. Those two anguished sequences set the tone for a fantasy-franchise installment that’s more about atmosphere than story;The sixth Harry Potter movie is essentially a film in limbo. It begins with a wordless shot of Harry (Daniel Radcliffe) still reeling in emotional agony from the events of the last movie, and ends on a miserable moment with no sense of hope, or of a plan for the future. Those two anguished sequences set the tone for a fantasy-franchise installment that’s more about atmosphere than story; between them, many things happen, but only the last 20 minutes or so have real repercussions. The rest is buildup, backstory, and plot sidebars signifying nothing, but it’s mighty artful nothing, in which beautifully designed and composed shots and a relentlessly ominous mood give a surprising weight to adolescent love affairs and an exceedingly minor mystery.

    To the degree that Half-Blood Prince has a plot rather than a series of milestones in the vast, eight-film arc set to conclude in 2011 (the last book will be split into two films), it revolves around teen wizard Harry Potter trying to pry key information about his evil arch-nemesis Voldemort out of meek, self-serving magic teacher Jim Broadbent. Simultaneously, Harry tries to deduce the identity of “the half-blood prince” who used to own his old textbook, and various romantic developments absorb his friends Ron, Hermione, and Ginny. Familiar characters pop in and out for cameos, and the film even finds time for Quidditch, though director David Yates (who helmed the last series installment, and will tackle the last two as well) finds ways to make even a silly made-up sport played on flying broomsticks look grim and melancholy.

    But the film’s real focus is on the evolving sense of dread taking over Harry’s world, for reasons barely seen at all in the film. And all this creeps forward at a remarkably unhurried, deliberate pace, the antithesis of the series’ opening films, with their giddy roller-coaster feel and “Whee! Magic!” theme. It takes a significant amount of investment in the Harry Potter world to make Half-Blood Prince relevant, let alone sensible; the film makes no concession to newbies, and thankfully spends virtually no time reiterating points already covered in previous installments. But those already involved will find that the series has matured much as the books did. This is the darkest, saddest, most sophisticated Harry Potter film yet!
    Expand
  92. Apr 29, 2015
    10
    Harry Potter And The Half Blood Prince is the funniest of the Harry Potter's. I believe that a long running franchise should at least have one movie in the series to be the funniest and that's were Half Blood Prince stands. The movie still keeps that Harry Potter feeling and I did shed tears at the end, but Half Blood Prince is the best summer movie of 2009 and one of my favorite HarryHarry Potter And The Half Blood Prince is the funniest of the Harry Potter's. I believe that a long running franchise should at least have one movie in the series to be the funniest and that's were Half Blood Prince stands. The movie still keeps that Harry Potter feeling and I did shed tears at the end, but Half Blood Prince is the best summer movie of 2009 and one of my favorite Harry Potter movies! Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. David Yates, in his go at the helm, throws the emphasis on the gathering storm clouds even as Harry and his fellow wizardry students make further discoveries involving the opposite sex.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    Dazzlingly well made and perhaps deliberately less fanciful than the previous entries, this one is played in a mode closer to palpable life-or-death drama than any of the others and is quite effective as such.
  3. Reviewed by: Angie Errigo
    60
    We're marking time before the final battle between Good and Evil, with the promised darkness sitting somewhat clumsily with teen romance and humour.