User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 981 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Nov 8, 2012
    6
    Half-Blood Prince had potential to be the best, most magical Potter film yet. Instead, the movie veers unspeakably off course, not at all staying true to the novel, and ends like a light being softly lowered, when the novel ended in chaos and bloodshed.
  2. Sep 23, 2011
    6
    David Yate's Harry Potter is not magical anymore. The movie spins confusing romance between the 3 main protagonists and also focuses more on the violence of the scary Voldemort. This is not a franchise I was hoping to watch....
  3. Aug 21, 2010
    5
    Although the movie did follow the book very well (the best since #2), the movie was incredibly slow and boring, and the since that they added made no sense at all, like the weasley's house fire scene (what was that?). Also they barely mentioned the Half-blood Prince and really didn't go in depth or include enough on the memories of Tom Riddle which was very significant in the books. TheAlthough the movie did follow the book very well (the best since #2), the movie was incredibly slow and boring, and the since that they added made no sense at all, like the weasley's house fire scene (what was that?). Also they barely mentioned the Half-blood Prince and really didn't go in depth or include enough on the memories of Tom Riddle which was very significant in the books. The magic and effects also seemed very cartoonish instead of real and authentic. (Bring in Peter Jackson Please!) Expand
  4. sreek
    Aug 17, 2009
    6
    Tremendous start but in the middle lost its seriousness and sudden astonishing pleasing end without much misery. i give for action sequences and 3-d effect 6.
  5. Mar 1, 2011
    5
    It was way too long. But I was entertained but then again, I was bored at some parts in this movie.
  6. Mar 25, 2012
    6
    Harry Potter seems to be gathering for the big battle but much too slowly. Someone like me the wait is becoming long and this movie is prolonging it even more. Still well made but you can begin to see it is getting rough around the edges. Get to it already.
  7. Apr 17, 2016
    6
    Half-Blood Prince had potential to be the best, most magical Potter film yet. Instead, the movie veers unspeakably off course, not at all staying true to the novel, and ends like a light being softly lowered, when the novel ended in chaos and bloodshed.
  8. Mar 27, 2016
    5
    This movie has no idea what to focus on, the love, the humor, the threat on the wizarding and muggle world? Easily the worst Potter film. A film so uneven in scenes and tone, I think this movie was an unintentional comedy, and not exactly a good one.
  9. Jun 1, 2016
    5
    This movie has no idea what to focus on, the love, the humor, the threat on the wizarding and muggle world? Easily the worst Potter film. A film so uneven in scenes and tone, I think this movie was an unintentional comedy, and not exactly a good one.
  10. MattM
    Jul 20, 2009
    6
    It was a good movie, if you've read the book though it is average. The storyline was completely twisted. The acting was good, the writing was horrible
  11. AllenS
    Jul 20, 2009
    5
    I would rank this move 'last' with all the other Harry Potter movies. Leaving out major story arcs that led to the climatic battle scene, and then leaving out the battle scene itself was a major travesty to what should have made up at least one third of this movie. I was really looking forward to seeing that battle come to life on film. Secondly, the mystery and discovery of I would rank this move 'last' with all the other Harry Potter movies. Leaving out major story arcs that led to the climatic battle scene, and then leaving out the battle scene itself was a major travesty to what should have made up at least one third of this movie. I was really looking forward to seeing that battle come to life on film. Secondly, the mystery and discovery of Voldemorts secret was poorly developed. I really believe these were the major arcs of the story that were sorely left out, leaving us watching a really different sort of adaption of the book that left a very unsatisfying ending. To those who think that adapting closely to major arcs of a book story and transferring it on film is challenging and therefore unfair to Yates, I say 'hogwash'. Peter Jackson and his crew did a great job with LOTR, I would rest my case with his example alone. Sure there were some, and I stress some liberties, but he did not digress from major plots of what were crucial to a satisfying ending to each film of that trilogy. To end with a positive note, watching these young actors grow up in this movie with all the teenage angst was enjoyable to watch. Hogwarts looked spectacular; and the adult actors were great to watch. I hope they can reclaim "the magic" in the final movies. Expand
  12. JonD
    Jul 29, 2009
    4
    I thought it was disappointing way to much couple stuff that was all so predictable if you have half a brain. and tbh the past films 3,4,5 made harry look way ahead of the curve powers wise. but this film makes him look very very weak. hes useless against snape. and cannot save himself in the cave. . .. its stupid. aswell as there are so many differences in the book which i thought wouldI thought it was disappointing way to much couple stuff that was all so predictable if you have half a brain. and tbh the past films 3,4,5 made harry look way ahead of the curve powers wise. but this film makes him look very very weak. hes useless against snape. and cannot save himself in the cave. . .. its stupid. aswell as there are so many differences in the book which i thought would have been great in the movie instead of an hour's filla about relationships. Expand
  13. DoctorT
    Aug 2, 2009
    4
    From a comment below: "This was for a person who read the books (sorry can't see How if you only saw the movies you can comment)" This perfectly sums up what is wrong with these plodding films. They are made purely as accompaniments to the books. More of a series of visual footnotes, they are, in fact, barely films at all.
  14. EmericC
    Aug 6, 2009
    4
    It's was too long and just boring. The book is much better, read it.
  15. LisaM
    Aug 7, 2009
    5
    After reading the books one can discern the major short-comings of the moveies. However, we know the limitation of the screen adaptation process and understand the discrepancies. Having said that this sixth movie is DISAPPOINTING to say the least. They left out too many important details so that the movie is very different from the book rather than slightly different as the other movies After reading the books one can discern the major short-comings of the moveies. However, we know the limitation of the screen adaptation process and understand the discrepancies. Having said that this sixth movie is DISAPPOINTING to say the least. They left out too many important details so that the movie is very different from the book rather than slightly different as the other movies are from their books. I am very unhappy and am re-reading Book Six to refresh my memory and fully enjoy the story. Please, I dearly hope the screen play for the last two movies will honor the seventh book with accuracy, dignity and completeness. This movie left me cold and wanting so much more. Bravo to J.K. Rowling for her brilliant writing and storytelling; please talk to the producer and director and urge them to produce a top-knotch companion to the last book. We all need a great job to be done; Harry and the other characters deserve no less, nor does Ms. Rowling. Expand
  16. AndrewN.
    Jan 4, 2010
    5
    Half Blood Prince is bereft of any real drama and excitement. As such the challenge lies in trying to sit through the whole movie.
  17. Megg
    Jul 15, 2009
    6
    I am utterly aghast that the parts of the story I looked forward to most were barely brushed upon. I very much desired to see all of Voldemort's past explained and illustrated on screen: how his mother and father were connected, the Gaunt family, the murder of the three Riddles (not even mentioned!), etc. The memories we did see on-screen were bare-boned; we did not get to hear about I am utterly aghast that the parts of the story I looked forward to most were barely brushed upon. I very much desired to see all of Voldemort's past explained and illustrated on screen: how his mother and father were connected, the Gaunt family, the murder of the three Riddles (not even mentioned!), etc. The memories we did see on-screen were bare-boned; we did not get to hear about the shenanigans young Tom was up to on his beach trip, only that he was a highly disturbing child. The Slughorn story-line was carried out effectively, but I felt like so much was missing. There was no scene with Dumbledore and the Dursley (which would have been highly amusin on-screen), no acknowledgement of Harry's grief for Sirius (which was redolent in the beginning of the book), nor did we see him receive his inheritance of Kreacher. I felt this movie missed the whimsy, magic, and familiarity of the first five films. It was dark, and I don't say this to imply that it should be daffodils and sunshine. While the sixth book was the darkest yet of the series, it still maintained a level comfort, of consistency, of familiarity. There was gloom and doom and sorrow, yes, but was taking place in a settings most familiar. Immediately, I felt like the presentations of the locations did not stay true to the first movies. For instance, the inside of the Weasley house beared no resemblance to the interior was saw in movies 1-5. The sixth year's bedchamber also looked (felt?) different. Even the panned out view of Hogwarts against the expansive sky and the mountains did not have the same feel to it. I suppose it had a lot to do with the camera and lighting work. Even the usual lively castle accompaniments, such as Peeves and Nearly-Headless Nick, or even the daily grind of classes, homework, and studying, were no where to be found. The one light-hearted departure from the gloomy affair of the story-line was the over-done teenage romantic adventures. Even the music was missing character and familiarity. When there was not silence behind the dialogue and action, long chords droned, void of variations on old themes and presentation of new. Still, it did cover the main bullet points of the film and stayed "true" to the book about as well as the other movies. Expand
  18. WesleyS
    Jul 15, 2009
    4
    Whether you have read the books or not, this is a yawnfest. The screenplay is horrible. At least the acting, cinematography and special effects are good.
  19. MattK.
    Jul 16, 2009
    6
    Don't get me wrong, I'm a huge HP fan. I just wasn't a fan of this particular movie. Parts of the story that were really moving, such as 'somebody's' funeral, should've been included. Also, the director couldn't choose between a dark or a light teen-comedy film. I felt like the many Ron jokes were so out of place and flat that they just Don't get me wrong, I'm a huge HP fan. I just wasn't a fan of this particular movie. Parts of the story that were really moving, such as 'somebody's' funeral, should've been included. Also, the director couldn't choose between a dark or a light teen-comedy film. I felt like the many Ron jokes were so out of place and flat that they just shouldn't of been included. I think I smiled once in this whole 2 1/2 movie, but I can't really remember because I walked out with a headache when it was all finished. All in all, it was a decent movie, but I don't think it was put together exceptionally well, according to all the hype. It was just OK. Expand
  20. ElizabethB
    Jul 16, 2009
    4
    I am a Harry Potter Fan. Read all the books but this movie fell below the expected standards. I get that they changed the air of the movie making it lose all of its charm and attractiveness to be dark and mysterious. However they just skipped over all the key issues of the book. Didn't really explain the horixues, didn't show the tiara, no funeral, do bill and fleur, why the I am a Harry Potter Fan. Read all the books but this movie fell below the expected standards. I get that they changed the air of the movie making it lose all of its charm and attractiveness to be dark and mysterious. However they just skipped over all the key issues of the book. Didn't really explain the horixues, didn't show the tiara, no funeral, do bill and fleur, why the hell burn down the weasley hoouse?, no fight between death eaters and order of the phoneix just making the end boring and making harry look weak. I could of ignored all the differences in the screen but stop writing new crap and putting it in and just follow the book. The movies were made because of how good the book is so then why do the directors think they need to be changed so much. Just follow the book and you will have a hit. I don't know how they are going to figure out the horixues without being give any info especially the tiara. I did like the funny parts and the cave was good but thats it. Hopefully 7 is better because 6 really kinda sucked. Expand
  21. CindyC
    Jul 17, 2009
    4
    A better title for this movie would be "Harry Potter and the Half-Baked Plot". Important storylines are altered beyond recognition, barely touched upon or missing altogether, while trivial points that do not advance the story are dwelled on at length. Apparently it was more important to introduce a hypothetical waitress for Harry to flirt with at the beginning of the film than to retain A better title for this movie would be "Harry Potter and the Half-Baked Plot". Important storylines are altered beyond recognition, barely touched upon or missing altogether, while trivial points that do not advance the story are dwelled on at length. Apparently it was more important to introduce a hypothetical waitress for Harry to flirt with at the beginning of the film than to retain the climactic battle between Death Eaters and Order members at the end. The spirit of what was already one of the more forgettable installments in the Potter series has been lost. The film does boast some highlights, including strong performances by Jim Broadbent, Tom Felton and the always-superb Alan Rickman. For every Slughorn, Draco or Snape, however, there's a Ginny Weasley, who is incapable of showing emotion even when sharing a first kiss with Harry. Other major characters (McGonnagal, Hagrid) are reduced to mere window dressing. While the film is visually stunning in places, the musical score matches Ginny Weasley's acting for blandness.. I can still hum music from the first four movies but can't recall a note from Half-Blood Prince -- and I saw the movie yesterday. Perhaps the most aggregious sin of this disappointing film is the ending, which has been gutted beyond recognition. Those who were looking forward to the battle between Death Eaters and Order members, or the tender scene between a greviously wounded Bill Weasley and Fleur Delacour, will be cruelly disappointed. What is left is an emotionless and rushed confrontation between Harry and Snape that is so poorly directed that the revelation regarding Snape at the end of Book 7 can be anticipated. I understand that one cannot remain 100% faithful when adapting books like this to film. However, decisions should remain true to the spirit of the book. (A superb example of this is Prizoner of Azkaban, still the best of the Potter films.) The screenwriter and director involved in Half-Blood Prince clearly don't get it, unfortunately. Their decision-making reminds me of scenes from the movie The Majestic, where film executives propose script changes that are increasingly ridiculous. "I've got a 'what if'...'" What if the screenwriter and director had left the ending of Half-Blood Prince intact? Then this would have been a much better film. I shudder to think that Book 7 is being handed to this same team. Expand
  22. emb
    Jul 17, 2009
    5
    This movie, just like the fifth harry potter, left vital information out of the movie and added useless junk that was completely un needed. not only that but each sceen just jumped to the next one with no flow and the sceens never really build up to anything. with everything that was left out i doubt the seventh movie will be anything remotely close to the book.
  23. CameronL
    Jul 18, 2009
    6
    The movie has a heavy focus on relationships and attraction. These moments led to awkwardly funny moments that at the most part made me laugh. It was worth sitting through the love scenes, as the last 30 minutes were amazing.
  24. InnaB
    Jul 18, 2009
    6
    I'm torn about this movie. The cinematography is breathtaking, details are exquisite ans the score is sublime. I really wanted to like it. I'm not a huge HP fan, but since it's such a cultural phenomenon I did read the books and watched the movies, and after the third one the movies started to grow on me. So I was looking forward seeing this one, especially since trailers I'm torn about this movie. The cinematography is breathtaking, details are exquisite ans the score is sublime. I really wanted to like it. I'm not a huge HP fan, but since it's such a cultural phenomenon I did read the books and watched the movies, and after the third one the movies started to grow on me. So I was looking forward seeing this one, especially since trailers and previews were so compelling. But now I wish there was more substance in addition to the visuals. Since it was a while since I read the book, when I left the theater my overall feeling was ", what happened to the plot?". They either shouldn't make it more action packed (while trimming most of romantic stuff) or turn it into a two-parter w/ a better developed story. Maybe it's just a clever ploy to make people buy extended edition DVD and books to try to make sense of the story? Expand
  25. SamW.
    Jul 19, 2009
    4
    This movie left me ambivalent, nearly 2 and a half hours of unrequieted teenage love. About which nothing came to fruition. Wholesale rewrites of the book are unacceptable. The destruction of the burrow, and no clues given to the trio as to what the horcruxes are much less how to get them. Can someone please explain to me why this movie is called Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince? This movie left me ambivalent, nearly 2 and a half hours of unrequieted teenage love. About which nothing came to fruition. Wholesale rewrites of the book are unacceptable. The destruction of the burrow, and no clues given to the trio as to what the horcruxes are much less how to get them. Can someone please explain to me why this movie is called Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince? Because it is only in name that it has any relationship to the book. This one should have been named "Harry Potter and the Grips of Adolecent Love". Harry Potter and the Mundane Emotion of Rampant Teenage Hormones" . The reason the book is named as such is the mystery behind the name in the book that makes Harry such a briliant potions student, and his ongoing battle with the greasy former potions teacher. This movie should show people what happens when Warner Brother Execs. Start making artistic and Story decisions. This movie should have been directed by Alan Smithee. Expand
  26. ottom
    Jul 22, 2009
    5
    It's really just an ok film. No big battles, no real crazy special effects. There were some witty moments that made me laugh a bit. In the end, it lacked action.
  27. Jack
    Jul 22, 2009
    4
    Seriously, how could anyone have this rated above 5? I love the series, but Daniel Radcliff has ruined the character of harry. Obviously no one told him that having the same expression on your face for 2 and a half hours isn't actually acting.
  28. Patriciav
    Jul 25, 2009
    6
    So many golden opportunities were missed in this movie. A little more passion on Daniel Radcliff's part would be appreciated. It's visually stunning, but not very comprehensive. My husband, who has not read the books, actually dozed off, Emma and Rupert were the star actors in this one. And the ending, good grief. Did they run out of film? I love HP but I hope they do better on So many golden opportunities were missed in this movie. A little more passion on Daniel Radcliff's part would be appreciated. It's visually stunning, but not very comprehensive. My husband, who has not read the books, actually dozed off, Emma and Rupert were the star actors in this one. And the ending, good grief. Did they run out of film? I love HP but I hope they do better on the last two movies. Collapse
  29. MawM
    Jul 25, 2009
    6
    The first half of the movie was a vast improvement from the previous films but the ending just didn't live up to the expectations. I felt that there were many missed opportunities in the execution of the climax which would have made this a truly epic film. I honestly felt that Cedric Diggory's passing in the Goblet Of Fire drew more emotions than the death of a central character The first half of the movie was a vast improvement from the previous films but the ending just didn't live up to the expectations. I felt that there were many missed opportunities in the execution of the climax which would have made this a truly epic film. I honestly felt that Cedric Diggory's passing in the Goblet Of Fire drew more emotions than the death of a central character in this film, which I attribute as a failure on Yates' part. Expand
  30. KevinGates
    Jul 20, 2009
    4
    This movie is not true to the book in any way. Most of the important details were removed, leaving only some of the memory portions, the potions book, and the entire romantic subplot. All of the interaction between characters has been dumbed down, or removed, unless they are in looove.
    Don't waste your time or money on a movie ticket, wait until it comes on TNT.
  31. siddhantdas
    Jul 20, 2009
    6
    cud've been a lot better!!!!!!
    first scene was epic, great visuals throughout the movie but somewhere down the line the movie fails.

    nothing is properly explained and david yates has expected everyone to have read the book(which is not possible)... unecessary parts are galore!!!
    overall the movie was gud,... but it should have and could have been much much much darker...
  32. MitchellZ
    Jul 20, 2009
    4
    Ugghh! What a crashing bore of a movie. Two and a half-blood-prince hours of nothing that led nowhere. Daniel Radcliff has trouble carrying a wand, forget a movie. This guy needs a primer in facial expressions, emotive acting, something to keep me interested and aligned with his character!!! The clunky dialogue doesn't help either. I do hove to say that the film was reaching for a Ugghh! What a crashing bore of a movie. Two and a half-blood-prince hours of nothing that led nowhere. Daniel Radcliff has trouble carrying a wand, forget a movie. This guy needs a primer in facial expressions, emotive acting, something to keep me interested and aligned with his character!!! The clunky dialogue doesn't help either. I do hove to say that the film was reaching for a darker mood and theme and almost got their on a few occasions. But for the most part the movie was thoroughly uninteresting, unexciting, un-magical!--just UN!! I did like Michael Gambon as Dumbledore-more uncle that foreboding wizard-and of course Rickman as Snape. For the two part finale I say "Bring on the Death Eaters! Lay waste to Hogwarts!" Now that would be a fun movie. Expand
  33. TH.
    Jul 30, 2009
    4
    Yeah, I guess I really don't get why so many people want to jump for joy over a few nifty effects and sets, and for what is referred to as "brand loyalty." Maybe there are a few other "loyalties" in this business outside of critics saying how they really feel. Or maybe some of them saw a completely different film from the one I saw. Sophisticated storytelling? Bah. Mature? Hardly. No Yeah, I guess I really don't get why so many people want to jump for joy over a few nifty effects and sets, and for what is referred to as "brand loyalty." Maybe there are a few other "loyalties" in this business outside of critics saying how they really feel. Or maybe some of them saw a completely different film from the one I saw. Sophisticated storytelling? Bah. Mature? Hardly. No matter. The great acting is done by primarily older cast members with the exception of Hero Fiennes-Tiffin and Frank Dillane, who both respectively portray a very chilling, young Tom Riddle at ages 11 and 16. Too bad they didn't get more screen time. I give it a 4 rating, here, for the good actors. Expand
  34. AlexH
    Jul 30, 2009
    4
    There's nothing much to grade here. There was just no use to making Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince. This film really just repeated what the last one (Order of the Phenix) established: "we must kill Voldermort, but how o' how?" I'm sure you will do fine with missing this way-too-long, went nowhere, installment of the Harry Potter series.
  35. PrestonB.
    Aug 11, 2009
    5
    Out of all the Harry Potter movies, this was my least favorite. The beginning was slow and too much time was spent on teen angst while other, more important issues were ignored or skimmed over. Ending was anti-climatic. Not a bad move but I kept waiting for it to get better and it never did.
  36. CaitlinR
    Aug 2, 2009
    5
    Overlong, overhormonal, overboring. Radcliffe needs his salary cut by at LEAST 85% - he is almost a table in this one (i.e. wooden). Weakest of the six so far, no emotional impact whatsoever. On the other hand, good music.
  37. CarmineC
    Aug 3, 2009
    4
    I know there are good movies, but i just don't like 'em
  38. JoeyK
    Aug 9, 2009
    6
    Technically good, but it feels very much like a book that was completely stripped of all the emotional and contextual details that made it great, leaving behind an impressive but two dimensional skeleton of a story.
  39. AlJ
    Sep 2, 2009
    6
    Definitely the weakest Potter yet. The next one's better kick ass to make up for this crap!
  40. Kent
    Oct 13, 2009
    4
    Man did I find this disappointing. I love the Harry Potter books and have enjoyed the movies (not great, but fine nonetheless) and after reading all the hype and excellent reviews about this move I was, in a word: "amped". In the ed however, the new film actually had me bored. It focused waaaaaaaay too much on the romance side of the story (seriously, if we want over-the-top pathetic Man did I find this disappointing. I love the Harry Potter books and have enjoyed the movies (not great, but fine nonetheless) and after reading all the hype and excellent reviews about this move I was, in a word: "amped". In the ed however, the new film actually had me bored. It focused waaaaaaaay too much on the romance side of the story (seriously, if we want over-the-top pathetic romance, we will watchTwilight). The director, for some god-forsaken reason deamed it fit to add a completely pointless 10 minute scene in which the Burrow is destroyed. This added nothing to the film at all. And what the hell happened to that cool fight-scene at the ned of the book. There was essentially no storyline in retrospect and what there was could have been made into a half-hour film. Again: this film disappointed me heavily. Expand
  41. jen
    Oct 14, 2009
    5
    This was a bit disappointing. The movie edited out so many scenes that I couldn't follow along. I supppose you can fit only so much of 700 pages into a two hour movie, but the movie was overall disappointing.
  42. AnonB
    Jun 19, 2009
    5
    If you bothered to read the previous reviews, 'Anon A' and 'arbie review', you'd see that they saw it at special advanced screenings, and thus they would be perfectly entitled to give their opinions and vote on the movie. This movie has been finished for a long time. It was supposed to be released in November 08 but Warner Bros wanted a big summer blockbuster soIf you bothered to read the previous reviews, 'Anon A' and 'arbie review', you'd see that they saw it at special advanced screenings, and thus they would be perfectly entitled to give their opinions and vote on the movie. This movie has been finished for a long time. It was supposed to be released in November 08 but Warner Bros wanted a big summer blockbuster so they postponed releasing the finished movie until July. Expand
  43. JimC.
    Jul 15, 2009
    6
    I was thoroughly disappointed with the first half of the movie when comparing it to the book. Where's the scene where Dumbledore mocks and chastises the Dursleys for their treatment of Harry? Where's Harry's endless investigation of Draco Malfoy's comings and goings and the angst he suffers as nobody, even Ron and Hermione, believes him? And how about the entire I was thoroughly disappointed with the first half of the movie when comparing it to the book. Where's the scene where Dumbledore mocks and chastises the Dursleys for their treatment of Harry? Where's Harry's endless investigation of Draco Malfoy's comings and goings and the angst he suffers as nobody, even Ron and Hermione, believes him? And how about the entire opening chapters where the Prime Minister of England meets the Minister of Magic? And the other three memories that Dumbledore and Harry explore which are pivotal plot points in the book? I just thought the screen writer missed on a lot of these plot points that wouldn't have taken away from the dark, brooding, anticipation-laden storyline. I thought it came together quite nicely for the climax, but there were big chunks of the movie where I found myself asking, did the screenwriter even read the book? Expand
  44. AlmaraedaP
    Jul 15, 2009
    6
    I am surprised that many fans consider this the best movie of the series; the first two were by far the most magnificent. While this movie did try to stay close to the book (quoting some scenes word for word), it was lacking very much in coherency and movement. No explanations or descriptions were ever given and, unless one had recently read HBP, the scenes often appeared unrealted and I am surprised that many fans consider this the best movie of the series; the first two were by far the most magnificent. While this movie did try to stay close to the book (quoting some scenes word for word), it was lacking very much in coherency and movement. No explanations or descriptions were ever given and, unless one had recently read HBP, the scenes often appeared unrealted and random. Also, there was WAY too much (awkward) silence. Silence is a good effect, but can be (and was) over used. Despite these flaws, the movie is still worth watching. Expand
  45. AnonymousMC
    Jul 15, 2009
    5
    I'll admit to not being a 'fan' of the series. Not that I didn't enjoy the first, what, 5 movies, in fact, I liked them better. Having not read any of the books may be starting to hurt my perception of the series, but I found this movie to be slow and always leading towards something that never comes to fruition, though I'm not quite sure what it is. II'll admit to not being a 'fan' of the series. Not that I didn't enjoy the first, what, 5 movies, in fact, I liked them better. Having not read any of the books may be starting to hurt my perception of the series, but I found this movie to be slow and always leading towards something that never comes to fruition, though I'm not quite sure what it is. I didn't not like this film, I just didn't seem to enjoy it as much as the fanboys in the audience with me. Expand
  46. JosephC.
    Jul 15, 2009
    6
    I was totally psyched for The Half Blood Prince when I first saw the trailers. However, after much anticipation and sitting through the 2 and a half hours, I must say I was not impressed. Settings and mood were set beautifully by the lighting and dark scenes, but the movie left me aching for more... yes folks, I must say this movie did not live up to my expectations. The storyline focused I was totally psyched for The Half Blood Prince when I first saw the trailers. However, after much anticipation and sitting through the 2 and a half hours, I must say I was not impressed. Settings and mood were set beautifully by the lighting and dark scenes, but the movie left me aching for more... yes folks, I must say this movie did not live up to my expectations. The storyline focused way too much on the skittish love lives of the teens, and much of the interesting and important parts of the plot are left out (example: Majority of Tom Riddle's past). The movie definitely did start out with a bang, but slowly fizzled out in the end. The climatic battle that I expected was non-existent, as the struggle between good and evil became a petty effort of vandalism of Hogwarts, highlighted only by the dramatic death of Dumbledore. However, I must admit, some scenes did make me chuckle, but for the 6th installment of the Harry Potter movie, I didn't want watch it for giggles, but wanted a dark, plot moving installment. Instead, I got teen love drama with the occasional escapades about some impending evil. Expand
  47. Paco
    Jul 15, 2009
    6
    Started with good pace and in the best mood of a really good Potter movie. As the movie continues most of the plots does not make sense (thankfully I have read the book). Even do it has extraordinary visual effects and good acting from our fellow students, in the end the movie finishes with a "is this all?" feeling as the Director has not given his best performance in comparison to "Order Started with good pace and in the best mood of a really good Potter movie. As the movie continues most of the plots does not make sense (thankfully I have read the book). Even do it has extraordinary visual effects and good acting from our fellow students, in the end the movie finishes with a "is this all?" feeling as the Director has not given his best performance in comparison to "Order of the Phoenix". The best scenes of the book that are shown in the movie could have done much better in my opinion. Giving a 6 out of 10 is truly very generous from my side. My least favorite movie of all six. See it as a "getting ready" for the finale. Expand
  48. LoriM
    Jul 15, 2009
    4
    This movie was bloody AWFUL. The WORST of all of the movies, by far. And, as a fan of the books, I left there absolutely outraged over the ending and all of the plot changes and major occurrences that were left out entirely. The ending was the biggest slap in the face, though. If you've read the books, be prepared for a huge disappointment with this movie. They reduced that This movie was bloody AWFUL. The WORST of all of the movies, by far. And, as a fan of the books, I left there absolutely outraged over the ending and all of the plot changes and major occurrences that were left out entirely. The ending was the biggest slap in the face, though. If you've read the books, be prepared for a huge disappointment with this movie. They reduced that wonderful, fantastic, awesome book (my favorite book of the whole series) to nothing more than a big-budget prelude to the final two movies. Shame on them. Expand
  49. AshleyS.
    Jul 16, 2009
    6
    The movie was funny but it didn't feel like they were even at hogwarts it skipped around to much and not explaining stuff enough the director i guess though that everybody read the books which is stupid cause the only way you no what was going on was if you did my dad hasn't and he was confessed about stuff they should have explained better. The movie seemed just like telling The movie was funny but it didn't feel like they were even at hogwarts it skipped around to much and not explaining stuff enough the director i guess though that everybody read the books which is stupid cause the only way you no what was going on was if you did my dad hasn't and he was confessed about stuff they should have explained better. The movie seemed just like telling about the Romance nothing else the end sucked in the book it talked about the whole school fighting the death eaters but in the movie harry cast like 2 spells at Snape it was stupid they should of had a big fighting scene like in the book it would have been a lot better. The 7th better be a lot better then this one this one has to be one of the worst. Expand
  50. BobB.
    Jul 16, 2009
    5
    I have to say I was really looking forward to this movie and was rather disappointed. The humor scenes were good but more than half a dozen other scenes were so flat that I couldn't help wondering if they had been filmed only once with no thought to getting the scene right in an effort to save on film. Also there was no build up of suspense. Things just happened with no story flow. I have to say I was really looking forward to this movie and was rather disappointed. The humor scenes were good but more than half a dozen other scenes were so flat that I couldn't help wondering if they had been filmed only once with no thought to getting the scene right in an effort to save on film. Also there was no build up of suspense. Things just happened with no story flow. And then it ended. They need a new director for the final two movies. Expand
  51. NeilS
    Jul 16, 2009
    4
    Nearly totally ignored the main storyline of the book which was the conversations bewteen Harry and Dumbledore involving the memories. Spent the majority of time with the budding romances, which I don't have a problem with, but I think the director could have spent his two hours and twenty minutes focusing on the more important elements. Really annoyed by the end.
  52. WesK
    Jul 16, 2009
    6
    Pacing was terrible. Radcliff can't act. Not enough explanation about anything that was going on for people who did not read the book. I explained a lot to my wife during the movie because it doesn't make too much sense if you haven't read the book. The ending was less than emotional. Sure, I heard about 3 people in the theater bawling but they were little teenagers that Pacing was terrible. Radcliff can't act. Not enough explanation about anything that was going on for people who did not read the book. I explained a lot to my wife during the movie because it doesn't make too much sense if you haven't read the book. The ending was less than emotional. Sure, I heard about 3 people in the theater bawling but they were little teenagers that are so wrapped up in the book that they can't differentiate between. The book was emotionally jarring but the movie lacked the right kind of build up. At the end of the movie, I almost didn't care. Expand
  53. M.I.CHAB.
    Jul 16, 2009
    5
    The movie still makes the characters appear like juvenile kids. At the current age of the characters in the movie, you would expect them to be more mature that they are shown to be.
  54. DaveJ
    Jul 17, 2009
    6
    Brilliant acting, beautiful cinematography, fantastic effects, and moments of emotional power are completely undercut by the nearly complete incoherence of the story. Order of the Phoenix left me thinking that you had to know the books in order to make sense of the story. David Yates and Richard Kloves have taken that to an extreme in this film. Large elements of the film make absolutely Brilliant acting, beautiful cinematography, fantastic effects, and moments of emotional power are completely undercut by the nearly complete incoherence of the story. Order of the Phoenix left me thinking that you had to know the books in order to make sense of the story. David Yates and Richard Kloves have taken that to an extreme in this film. Large elements of the film make absolutely no sense whatsoever unless you've read the book. If you've read, then you can plug plot holes with what you know. Otherwise, all the characters seem to know things the audience is never clued into for the entire film. That's a cardinal sin in storytelling. I'm a huge fan of the books and films, and my expectations for Deathly Hallows' storyline have been reduced to zero by this film. Expand
  55. HonestReview
    Jul 19, 2009
    4
    If you read the book, or you simply prefer interesting and entertaining movies, you should probably avoid the latest Harry Potter offering. The movie left out many pivotal scenes from the book entirely, and handled others poorly. It was, in fact, painfully dull. I can only imagine that the Deathly Hallows ( I & II ) will be even less entertaining. It's a shame, since this particular If you read the book, or you simply prefer interesting and entertaining movies, you should probably avoid the latest Harry Potter offering. The movie left out many pivotal scenes from the book entirely, and handled others poorly. It was, in fact, painfully dull. I can only imagine that the Deathly Hallows ( I & II ) will be even less entertaining. It's a shame, since this particular book was quite interesting, and the movie was nothing more than the traditional underwhelming sequal to a hit, delivering as little as possible while still raking in the money based on momentum from previous better offerings. Expand
  56. PatrickM
    Jul 19, 2009
    5
    As a movie, it was pretty good. As an adaption of a novel, it fell woefully short. Large sections of important plot were left out, others changed or truncated, and a completely pointless new scene was added (which will also necessitate changes in the story of the last 2 movies). This movie makes me wish the director of Prisoner of Azkaban had stuck around for the rest of the movies, as it As a movie, it was pretty good. As an adaption of a novel, it fell woefully short. Large sections of important plot were left out, others changed or truncated, and a completely pointless new scene was added (which will also necessitate changes in the story of the last 2 movies). This movie makes me wish the director of Prisoner of Azkaban had stuck around for the rest of the movies, as it is still the best of the series. Expand
  57. O.Henry
    Jul 19, 2009
    5
    The film has a plethora of dazzling visual effects that make it rather rich and fun to watch, the cinematography is impeccable and should be nominated for a Golden Globe. Despite all this, the film, in its entirety, is remarkably...stale.
  58. AMovieCritic
    Jul 20, 2009
    6
    I'm not going to write a review criticizing the film for scenes being left out. I'm not a person bothered by that. I really enjoyed the 4th and 5th movies and didn't mind much at all the changes. Half Blood Prince does some things right. Dumbledore's FINALLY been correctly portrayed in the films, for one thing; took them a while, but this, finally, is book Dumbledore I'm not going to write a review criticizing the film for scenes being left out. I'm not a person bothered by that. I really enjoyed the 4th and 5th movies and didn't mind much at all the changes. Half Blood Prince does some things right. Dumbledore's FINALLY been correctly portrayed in the films, for one thing; took them a while, but this, finally, is book Dumbledore being brought to the screen. The movie also focuses on life at Hogwarts and the interactions of the trio, and I thought the movie got this right; easily better than any other films. The problem is that the movie's just a bit dull. The book was definitely the least substantial of the series and the one least loaded with crucial content but it HAD important content and it just felt like the filmmakers entirely missed the point of crucial scenes, cutting out lines of dialogue that had me scratching my head. I was left wondering, "without that bit of dialogue, what was the point of even including the scene?" The result is that most of the movie is mildly diverting, the flashbacks are VERY well done, and it's pleasant enough. But the movie just fails to build up to anything substantial; the book did, but the movie just seems to sputter at the end. The cave scene's pretty fantastic, but then they seem to cut away abruptly in the middle of what ends up being the movie's climactic scene, and I kept waiting for them to cut back, but they don't; the scene's over. And since they removed the final battle, the movie lacks a strong close. I wish the director would re-watch the 4th film to see how death was handled in that movie, because that was I think the one time this series really pulled the audience in emotionally and it hasn't happened since. And that's the problem. The movie doesn't feel substantial enough from a plot perspective. I saw the movie with people who hadn't read the book and they actually quite enjoyed it, so that's something good to be said. I think fans of the book, though, will be disappointed simply because we know how important this ending was, both to Harry and the future of the series, and I wish the filmmakers had taken more care to really make sure they ended the movie strongly...but their focus seemed to be elsewhere. More tears are shed over teen romance than the film's climactic death. The weakest film in the series, which is too bad, because David Yates is the one director who I feel really GETS the books and their "spirit" across; I just wish he didn't suck so much at action scenes and really wish he'd let the movie breathe a bit before the credits suddenly roll. Expand
  59. HaritsA
    Jul 22, 2009
    5
    As an avid Harry Potter fan who has read all the books multiple times and of course seen the movies , I was extremely excited to see this movie at the today showing. Half-Blood Prince is my favorite book and other than 7, the darkest book in the series. That being said, I was so dissapointed with this movie. Yates & company literally turned it into Harry Potter comedy hour. I'm not As an avid Harry Potter fan who has read all the books multiple times and of course seen the movies , I was extremely excited to see this movie at the today showing. Half-Blood Prince is my favorite book and other than 7, the darkest book in the series. That being said, I was so dissapointed with this movie. Yates & company literally turned it into Harry Potter comedy hour. I'm not sure how anyone thought this movie was amazingly dark when the theater was cracking up laughing the entire time at trite jokes. The only thing that should have been funny in this entire movie was Lavender & Won Won's obsession to each other. What was the point of not having Tonks find Harry on the train? How can you have Tonks call Remus sweetie and not explain all the drama between them and how they got together? How can you leave out Madam Rosmerta's involvement? What was the point of the burning of the Burrow scene? The ending was horrific. It was completely different than the book. So now Dumbledore is the only one who can apparate on Hogwarts grounds? Malfoy spends all this time working on this cabinet only to have the Death Eaters walk through, Bellatrix (who is not present in the book) encourage him to kill Dumbledore, Snape kills Dumbledore, and they kindly saunter off the grounds in no hurry. No battle... no fear of being caught...nothing. What was the point of the cabinet in the movie? It was completely anti-climatic and they didn't even have the funeral scene which is a must-have. The worst part ever was the very end...Harry and Hermione are talking about Dumbledore's death and going searching for horcruxes and she randomly chimes in that Ron is OK with Ginny and Harry. WHAT?! It was so awkward. Why not just cut to another useless romance scene about who's kissing who! they messed it up so bad. and for someone who didn't read it, they'd probably be so confused. Expand
  60. StevenB.
    Jul 23, 2009
    5
    Quite a disappointment. I havent read one of the books and i missed the 5th part as a movie... but i quite liked all the others films before. This one was somehow rather boring though, leaving the cinema i felt like nothing really happened in this movie. I t has no real storyline and it hasnt got a plot. After all I feel like i am not looking forward to see the next HP movie, when i get Quite a disappointment. I havent read one of the books and i missed the 5th part as a movie... but i quite liked all the others films before. This one was somehow rather boring though, leaving the cinema i felt like nothing really happened in this movie. I t has no real storyline and it hasnt got a plot. After all I feel like i am not looking forward to see the next HP movie, when i get to think of fact that they will split up the last book into two parts. Expand
  61. gws
    Jul 24, 2009
    5
    So I am a fan of the series, the movies and the books. But the movies have been flavor for the books for awhile now, and this movie was great as a movie. The visuals were spot on, the acting was the best of the series, and the plot was pretty strong, (it is from a best selling book...) However with that said, it is a horrible telling of the book itself. Some things are flat out made up, So I am a fan of the series, the movies and the books. But the movies have been flavor for the books for awhile now, and this movie was great as a movie. The visuals were spot on, the acting was the best of the series, and the plot was pretty strong, (it is from a best selling book...) However with that said, it is a horrible telling of the book itself. Some things are flat out made up, others are ignored entirely or confused. I made the mistake of going to see book 6 on film, and was very disappointed. But I think that if I went to see a movie, having no predisposition to how it should go it would be pretty strong. I have to give the film a 5, but for just a movie it would have been an 8. Expand
  62. NerijusD
    Jul 25, 2009
    6
    An unimpressive money-making machine with heavy omissions from the book. Had some nice touches, though.
  63. kgm
    Jul 26, 2009
    6
    By now we
  64. albertz
    Jul 26, 2009
    5
    Very disappointing.The book is fantastic, but the film can't recreate the atmosphere of the novel. I wanted actions, battles, a lot of special effects, an epic and enthralling movie.... but Harry Potter and the Half-Blood prince is simply a romance, a silly comedy without soul. For me it's the worst Harry Potter film... will Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows be better? I Very disappointing.The book is fantastic, but the film can't recreate the atmosphere of the novel. I wanted actions, battles, a lot of special effects, an epic and enthralling movie.... but Harry Potter and the Half-Blood prince is simply a romance, a silly comedy without soul. For me it's the worst Harry Potter film... will Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows be better? I don't know. Expand
  65. joshk
    Jul 27, 2009
    6
    Looks great, but the story parts they paid attention too seemed inappropriate.
  66. TylerH
    Jul 28, 2009
    5
    After seeing all the previous films, and having several friends who filled me in on all of the books (I have not read any), this film missed way too much, and lacked any real direction, unless that was of course to show a bunch of horny teenagers for 90% of the movie. Parts were surprizingly funny, but most of the film dragged on and on, with barely any action, and almost no explanation After seeing all the previous films, and having several friends who filled me in on all of the books (I have not read any), this film missed way too much, and lacked any real direction, unless that was of course to show a bunch of horny teenagers for 90% of the movie. Parts were surprizingly funny, but most of the film dragged on and on, with barely any action, and almost no explanation for Snape, along with ruining the 'twist' reguarding Dumbledore. Acting was sub-par, but given the direction of the film, they did there best. Very average and overall quite disappointing. The last two better be better. Expand
  67. M.T.
    Jul 31, 2009
    4
    A less skillful adaptation (compared to the brilliant efficiency of the last installment) and lackluster direction left me quite bored. A film should be more than a series of events linked together. The journey should be scored with highs and lows like a great piece of music. Unfortunately, this film seemed "volume leveled" like a bad MP3. David Yates- please let the important moments A less skillful adaptation (compared to the brilliant efficiency of the last installment) and lackluster direction left me quite bored. A film should be more than a series of events linked together. The journey should be scored with highs and lows like a great piece of music. Unfortunately, this film seemed "volume leveled" like a bad MP3. David Yates- please let the important moments FEEL important. Expand
  68. DougT
    Aug 13, 2009
    6
    I think that change to much from the book like the ending was a lot different and in the book the burrow never burnt down if i was j.k id be annoyed because now they've change parts in this film they'll have to change parts in the next one for it fit together properly.
  69. Alan
    Aug 3, 2009
    5
    Butchered the book. Long, slow and boring which the book was none of. Seems they "only" cut out 90% or so of the book. Read the book, skip the movie.
  70. Kenny
    Nov 4, 2009
    5
    Perhaps we are witnessing the best part of the series and the only really acceptable. After 6, it was time. But still not really complete. David Yates is responsible for achieving 6th darkest part thanks to his direction and not magic, but you have to say who remain unaware finish a movie and this time I had in palm to make a great film, but its final touches on the simplicity and Perhaps we are witnessing the best part of the series and the only really acceptable. After 6, it was time. But still not really complete. David Yates is responsible for achieving 6th darkest part thanks to his direction and not magic, but you have to say who remain unaware finish a movie and this time I had in palm to make a great film, but its final touches on the simplicity and fatigue. And it is logical that after so many ridiculous and so heavy parts is expected that both history (JK Rowling is not exactly a brilliant mind, another thing is that thousands of readers either) and actors (and characters) and like everything that concerns the film is starting to get tired of itself. They should have cut long, or have created a television series, which for that matter. Even so the best of the series by far. Expand
  71. avery
    Dec 2, 2009
    6
    I'm forty. I was bored by this, but I did quite enjoy '....Azkaban". However that featured Oldman, Thewlis, Spall, Rickman, and HBC a lot. 'Azkaban' and 'Phoenix' were torch-passing films that merged generations. 'Half Blood' is caught between little kid harry and young adult Harry. Also, none of the Harry Potter girls are ever as cute as Kristen I'm forty. I was bored by this, but I did quite enjoy '....Azkaban". However that featured Oldman, Thewlis, Spall, Rickman, and HBC a lot. 'Azkaban' and 'Phoenix' were torch-passing films that merged generations. 'Half Blood' is caught between little kid harry and young adult Harry. Also, none of the Harry Potter girls are ever as cute as Kristen Stewart or Michelle Trachtenberg. Expand
  72. EddieC.
    Jul 15, 2009
    4
    Too much comic relief and not really a good adeptation of the story. The wrong points were emphasized leaving the final scenes very disappointing. The overall dark undertone of the book was completely absent from the movie.
  73. TonyM.
    Jul 15, 2009
    6
    Once again, the HP franchise has sucked in the moviegoer who is anxiously awaiting a decent wizard fight scene with teen romance. Very few claps and cheers were heard at the end of the film as I'm sure it disappointed more of the audience than the critics apparently. My only hope is that the second movie of the 7th book will finally fulfill my desire to see just what these wizards Once again, the HP franchise has sucked in the moviegoer who is anxiously awaiting a decent wizard fight scene with teen romance. Very few claps and cheers were heard at the end of the film as I'm sure it disappointed more of the audience than the critics apparently. My only hope is that the second movie of the 7th book will finally fulfill my desire to see just what these wizards are capable of. Expand
  74. Alexander
    Jul 15, 2009
    6
    Fans of the Harry Potter movies will be quite pleased with the latest installment which has superb cinematography, special effects, set design, and acting. Alan Rickman is excellent yet again as Snape and is given more room to play with the character as protector of Draco Malfoy (Tom Felton) while Michael Gambon gives his best performance as Dumbledore yet. Humor is used throughout the Fans of the Harry Potter movies will be quite pleased with the latest installment which has superb cinematography, special effects, set design, and acting. Alan Rickman is excellent yet again as Snape and is given more room to play with the character as protector of Draco Malfoy (Tom Felton) while Michael Gambon gives his best performance as Dumbledore yet. Humor is used throughout the movie well, with Rupert Grint's performance as Ron Weasley under the effect of a love potion being the crowning moment. As great as those elements are, new and more casual viewers will likely have more problems with the film. The plot is a bit confusing with the movie feeling a bit spastic at times, with a scene at the Weasly's home epitomizing the feeling as it devolves into a duel with death eaters without any setup and simply ends up feeling superfluous. The problem is compounded by the movie's focus on the romantic relationships feeling equal to it's focus on furthering plot of Harry's battle against the great dark wizard Voldemort. Those who have read the book will likely be disappointed about a couple of omissions, a few visits to Dumbledore's office which further explains Harry Potter's (Daniel Radcliffe) mission, Voldemort's back story, and in the process, the ring. Also omitted was a big fight scene at the end in Hogwarts, though this may have been the right call as it removes any delay in Harry's reaction to the climax. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince is one part adventure and one part high-school drama and an enjoyable, if flawed, film. Expand
  75. TobyH
    Jul 15, 2009
    6
    I shall try and review this film as a film, not an adaptation. For me, there was only one problem with this picture, but it was a big one: the tone. How we are supposed to engage fully in a film that flits between danger and teen romance, it seems, every scene? (this is no fault of the film's- it's only following the strangely uneven book) Oh, and, apart from Watson's I shall try and review this film as a film, not an adaptation. For me, there was only one problem with this picture, but it was a big one: the tone. How we are supposed to engage fully in a film that flits between danger and teen romance, it seems, every scene? (this is no fault of the film's- it's only following the strangely uneven book) Oh, and, apart from Watson's Hermione, none of the child actors can act! Worst of all is Radcliffe, who still seems to think looking stern passes for emotion. However, the film was fun, and the 153 minutes felt more like 2 hours, passing extremely quickly. The pacing of the film was very good, with the scenes feeling fresh and unrushed. The visual effects were as good as the third film's, and Broadbent was excellent as the Potions teacher, Horace Slughorn. But the real standout was Draco Malfoy, as played by Tom Felton. His subplot felt engaging; dark and full of menace. A decent addition to the franchise! Expand
  76. TonyL
    Jul 15, 2009
    5
    The noir-ish look of the film was a bit overpowering, but it and the effects alone make up for the sluggish plot.
  77. KeelanT
    Jul 15, 2009
    6
    Did not live up to expectations. Although I was happy with the route that the series is taking, with the darker and more adult feel, I felt that the movie lacked pacing, and the transition from book to screen wasn't particularly a good one. HP6 (the book) contains a lot of description which did not translate well onto screen, and because of this, I found myself explaining a lot that Did not live up to expectations. Although I was happy with the route that the series is taking, with the darker and more adult feel, I felt that the movie lacked pacing, and the transition from book to screen wasn't particularly a good one. HP6 (the book) contains a lot of description which did not translate well onto screen, and because of this, I found myself explaining a lot that was happening to my friends who had seen the previous movies, but had not read the book. I will say however, that the ending was particularly well done, and was almost exactly how I imagined it. The film was 2 and a half hours long, with the first two hours being mediocre at best, but with some genuinely funny scenes. Expand
  78. G.S.
    Jul 15, 2009
    6
    Too flat! It completely missed out the build up that was so masterfully done in the book through the contrast between the seemingly unstoppable strengthening of the dark forces and the last happy moments of the "becoming of age" period at Hogwarts. Also, the relationship between Harry and Dumbledore (one of the key "engines" in the book) is left unexplored. Consequently, the end which is Too flat! It completely missed out the build up that was so masterfully done in the book through the contrast between the seemingly unstoppable strengthening of the dark forces and the last happy moments of the "becoming of age" period at Hogwarts. Also, the relationship between Harry and Dumbledore (one of the key "engines" in the book) is left unexplored. Consequently, the end which is supposed to throw you of the chair simply Expand
  79. SlyJ
    Jul 17, 2009
    4
    Maybe I slept through all the good parts, but the boredom was exceedingly difficult to fight off. What an unmotivated film, lacking in action, sparse on plot exposition and generally boring.
  80. DomoR.
    Jul 19, 2009
    5
    Having read the critics response to this film I was eager to see it. Now that I have, I'm more than convinced Warner Bros. sent out checks to every major critic to pay them for the hyperbole because there's no way in hell that sane rational people think this is the BEST of the series. It's not. It's a placeholder, merely a bloated bookmark, for the finales. Although Having read the critics response to this film I was eager to see it. Now that I have, I'm more than convinced Warner Bros. sent out checks to every major critic to pay them for the hyperbole because there's no way in hell that sane rational people think this is the BEST of the series. It's not. It's a placeholder, merely a bloated bookmark, for the finales. Although the production quality is great, the film is too long, tedious and, horrors of horrors, boring. Expand
  81. JeremyC
    Jul 21, 2009
    6
    First of all I do not understand the need to cast and portray this film like it's the smurfs. Even in his days as a student Voldemort's character seems to be brimming with evil thoughts and machinations leaving no room for ambiguity as to the audience understanding his evil, though as I understand it he was actually likeable in the books. Likewise Ron's infatuation with the First of all I do not understand the need to cast and portray this film like it's the smurfs. Even in his days as a student Voldemort's character seems to be brimming with evil thoughts and machinations leaving no room for ambiguity as to the audience understanding his evil, though as I understand it he was actually likeable in the books. Likewise Ron's infatuation with the absurdly annoying and unattractive Lavender leaves no doubt in anyone's mind that Hermione is clearly the better choice. These decisions and others felt like the film-makers refused to believe that their audience had the mental capacity to understand character development or uncertainty. Every decision is made for you, and by now six movies into the franchise it is starting to get extremely annoying. This entry into the franchise, perhaps more than any other takes almost all of it's plays directly from the Hollywood playbook, making for a film that is anything but special. The acting, as usual, was thoroughly convincing and entertaining. But the wonderful cast is unfortunately mired in a film that suffers from poor pacing, editing, and a lack of cohesive vision. Expand
  82. ThomasZ
    Jul 24, 2009
    5
    As a fan of the books and movie 's this one was the worst yet. I was looking forward to it but they pretty much destroyed the interesting parts of the book and what left is a boring movie.
  83. kevino
    Aug 16, 2009
    4
    The thing that struck me about this movie is that there were so many scenes and sequences that looked cheap. Disappointing also because this was supposed to be the edition that told a great deal of story. Sadly, this movie did not. Instead, they focused on some minor points while leaving out some of the major themes in the book. They changed some of the story (from the book) which made The thing that struck me about this movie is that there were so many scenes and sequences that looked cheap. Disappointing also because this was supposed to be the edition that told a great deal of story. Sadly, this movie did not. Instead, they focused on some minor points while leaving out some of the major themes in the book. They changed some of the story (from the book) which made some of the plotline nonsensical. Expand
  84. Oct 6, 2010
    4
    I never thought I'd see the day that a Harry Potter movies disappoints me. Unfortunately, that happened with Half-Blood Prince, the only Harry Potter movie I dislike. I understand that there will be changes from the book, but my God, it's like they completely changed the story!
  85. Jul 17, 2011
    6
    Setting things up for the finale in style this is the best movie of the series so far. it is here that the characters truly move from childhood into early adulthood and face the hardships of retationships as well as their positions within Hogwarts. It also delvelops the sub plots nicely and brings them into the fore.
  86. Dec 12, 2011
    6
    (September 25, 2009)
    This movie left me with very mixed opinions. I am one of the Potter Freaks that read all the books, and I compare and contrast the book and the movie while I am viewing it for the first time. Since this is a review only on the film, though, I do not want start talking about what was missing and what did not need to be in the film. In the tradition of a Harry Potter
    (September 25, 2009)
    This movie left me with very mixed opinions. I am one of the Potter Freaks that read all the books, and I compare and contrast the book and the movie while I am viewing it for the first time. Since this is a review only on the film, though, I do not want start talking about what was missing and what did not need to be in the film. In the tradition of a Harry Potter film, it is long. Even with the length I was entertained throughout most of it, but like most lengthy films, it did have its moments that dragged on. Being a little on the let down side by the past two films, this one started out very promising. I personally felt the film started out at a high point, and just slowly kept falling down from this point and never seemed to get back up. It felt like the director did not know how to place things from the book into a movie to keep the movie going at a good pace the whole way through. Even the ending to the movie just did not seen as suspenseful as it should have been, which I will not spoil for the nine percent of people that still do not know what happened, but the movie spends so much time building up things that by the time you get to the end, you are not on the edge of your seat like you should be. This movie is visually stunning, though, and the quidditch scenes are definitely the best ones yet. Overall I felt like this movie was just a pit stop to get some silly teenage drama out of the way and get people prepared for what is to come in the next two films. The film was good, but was more on the forgettable side.
    Expand
  87. Aug 25, 2014
    5
    My curiosity is still present. But it's damped once more by David Yates mediocre direction of this fantastic installment of the Harry Potter series. It's disappointing to see such stunning visuals and a, by now, legendary cast go to waste.
  88. Mar 27, 2012
    6
    A decent well made movie, but still below average for a Harry Potter film. Too many of the comedic scenes seemed forced and unnecessary when there is so much of this important story to share. I get the weird feeling that so many things were left out of the movie. The movie picked up toward the end, but it doesn't have the feeling of what Harry Potter should be.
  89. Dec 21, 2012
    6
    Everybody loved this one because it centered on teens love life but in general even though it was better than the first two it followed the book least then any of the other movies. However it was very emotional,humorous,and some what exciting. So it wasn't a huge failure.
  90. Apr 28, 2015
    6
    A vast improvement on the last movie, and yet it also manages to be utterly underwhelming.

    Some great scenes and performances, but the pacing is almost slug like at times. Considering everything that has happened so far, it almost feels like watching a soap opera right after an action movie. The tone is a bit to calm for what is going on. Overall: While I thoroughly enjoyed the
    A vast improvement on the last movie, and yet it also manages to be utterly underwhelming.

    Some great scenes and performances, but the pacing is almost slug like at times. Considering everything that has happened so far, it almost feels like watching a soap opera right after an action movie. The tone is a bit to calm for what is going on.

    Overall:
    While I thoroughly enjoyed the story and all the twists, it also was a bit boring and underwhelming, considering it's the sixth Harry Potter movie.
    Expand
  91. Apr 14, 2013
    5
    How disappointed could one be. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince is such a huge letdown when it comes to entertainment. Could it be anymore boring than it was? It felt like nothing important happened until the last 25 minutes of it. Easily the worst in the series. Sure, the special effects and the performances were good.
  92. Mar 21, 2013
    6
    It's better then all but something happened. It's like the action came up and (I was on the edge of my seat) then it fell fast. The effects were less the perfect. But hey entertained me more then the others. Watch if your a fan, nothing more her spectacular as the so-called critics say. More bore then roar.
  93. Jun 10, 2014
    4
    In my opinion, the worst movie of the Harry Potter saga...

    Why? Because everything is just filler for the next movie, things do happen in this movie however; the story advances, the characters are memorable, the production value is on the money and the stakes are high... but for more then half of the movie nothing happens, you might has well be looking at a wall, it pretty much turns
    In my opinion, the worst movie of the Harry Potter saga...

    Why? Because everything is just filler for the next movie, things do happen in this movie however; the story advances, the characters are memorable, the production value is on the money and the stakes are high... but for more then half of the movie nothing happens, you might has well be looking at a wall, it pretty much turns around all the other points I mentioned before until the final act where the movie gather strength but not enough to make it something worth your while.

    The movie's saving grace is it's production value, I can appreciate the work and effort putted into the development of this picture; actors, director, etc... but only in the final act things finally move along.
    Expand
  94. Nov 28, 2013
    6
    the half-blood prince was a good film but unfortunately it hadn't had the aclaim of the incredible book.David Yates had make a good movie after all and had won my respect.
  95. Nov 15, 2013
    6
    With the sixth installment of the eight part series, Harry Potter continues its success with ease. Good acting, good dialogue, and well paced sorcerer battles.
  96. May 4, 2014
    6
    Not worth the extra year waiting for this film...from an original november 2008 release to a july 2009 release. Potter 6 has alot to love but suffers from the attention to teenage hormones and comdey rather than the story or elements of the book which are far more important.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. David Yates, in his go at the helm, throws the emphasis on the gathering storm clouds even as Harry and his fellow wizardry students make further discoveries involving the opposite sex.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    Dazzlingly well made and perhaps deliberately less fanciful than the previous entries, this one is played in a mode closer to palpable life-or-death drama than any of the others and is quite effective as such.
  3. Reviewed by: Angie Errigo
    60
    We're marking time before the final battle between Good and Evil, with the promised darkness sitting somewhat clumsily with teen romance and humour.