Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 15, 2009
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1015 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
689
Mixed:
198
Negative:
128
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
1
SD.Jul 20, 2009
WHAT???? That was the response by the audience after the movie. To be honest, it would be a good question to ask if David Yates has actually read the books. Yea, he got the jist of things in the movie, however, the suspense, the questions, WHAT???? That was the response by the audience after the movie. To be honest, it would be a good question to ask if David Yates has actually read the books. Yea, he got the jist of things in the movie, however, the suspense, the questions, the mystery, where was it all. In fact, he ruined parts of the next movie by one simple scene. For the people who have read the books and seen the movie, Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
RDJul 15, 2009
Clumsy and choppy. The important things were left out and the things added in added little and confused things for the most part. What ever happened to just condensing down a good book instead of trying to reinvent the whole thing. This Clumsy and choppy. The important things were left out and the things added in added little and confused things for the most part. What ever happened to just condensing down a good book instead of trying to reinvent the whole thing. This movie should have been a lot better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RaymondR.Jul 16, 2009
As a film, it deserves a 7 out of 10, which I gave out. It has some witty and intense scenes, quickly followed by an uneven plot, which is barely even explained in the movie. As an adaptation on the other hand, it didn't do that well. As a film, it deserves a 7 out of 10, which I gave out. It has some witty and intense scenes, quickly followed by an uneven plot, which is barely even explained in the movie. As an adaptation on the other hand, it didn't do that well. People that hadn't read the book were totally lost, and wondering what people's motivations were throughout the whole book. You miss out on key scenes and character development, basically leaving the 6th installment ending the same as the 5th one (except for you know what). Malfoy's subplot was the most engaging aspect of the movie, as it lets you see his frustration and anger, something really well portrayed by the young actor. Overall, the film is entertaining, but far from perfection as others have posted. 7 out of 10 (film). 4 out of 10 as adaptation. But still, better than that insulting film about glowing vampires. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TiffanyJul 17, 2009
If i hadn't read the book, maybe i wouldn't have been so dissapointed with this movie. But then again, i wouldn't understand a thing when the 7th comes around. I dont understand what they were thinking cutting every If i hadn't read the book, maybe i wouldn't have been so dissapointed with this movie. But then again, i wouldn't understand a thing when the 7th comes around. I dont understand what they were thinking cutting every good/important peice out of this movie. I could name atleast 15 things missing/wrong in this movie. I say they re-make it. Just awful, if certain parts werent funny, or they hadnt stuck that tiny little bit of action in there I would give it a 0. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
TimWJul 17, 2009
Flat like a tire. Drab. Was there a sound track? Stark coloring. Eviscerated the book. By far the worst H.P. movie. Ridiculous dialogue. The sort of work an ADHD meth addict would do if he were spiraling into suicidal depression. Had all the Flat like a tire. Drab. Was there a sound track? Stark coloring. Eviscerated the book. By far the worst H.P. movie. Ridiculous dialogue. The sort of work an ADHD meth addict would do if he were spiraling into suicidal depression. Had all the emotion of a tax return. Luna Lovegood earned both points I gave this film. She's the only reason to see it. She was perfect. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
NickB.Jul 18, 2009
Loved the film-noir style. Also, the juxtaposition of teenage relationships and the not-so-distant war was superb. It was nice to see a Harry Potter movie that was more about developing emotion, character and intent. This movie is intended Loved the film-noir style. Also, the juxtaposition of teenage relationships and the not-so-distant war was superb. It was nice to see a Harry Potter movie that was more about developing emotion, character and intent. This movie is intended to be the "calm before the storm" that will be the adaptations of the 7th book, and it does so in an emotionally satisfying way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoradTJul 19, 2009
I thought the film was fantastic. Although it did not have as much action as the other films it certainly was able to capture a dark atmosphere very well. Most people seem to say that if you haven't read the book you won't really I thought the film was fantastic. Although it did not have as much action as the other films it certainly was able to capture a dark atmosphere very well. Most people seem to say that if you haven't read the book you won't really understand the plot but I understood it just fine and I haven't read any of the Harry Potter series. The movie overall was very balanced. Great acting, CGI, emotion and atmosphere make this something for everyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanaWJul 20, 2009
Great HP movie...perfect lead-up to the two last movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MattMJul 20, 2009
It was a good movie, if you've read the book though it is average. The storyline was completely twisted. The acting was good, the writing was horrible
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AllenSJul 20, 2009
I would rank this move 'last' with all the other Harry Potter movies. Leaving out major story arcs that led to the climatic battle scene, and then leaving out the battle scene itself was a major travesty to what should have made up I would rank this move 'last' with all the other Harry Potter movies. Leaving out major story arcs that led to the climatic battle scene, and then leaving out the battle scene itself was a major travesty to what should have made up at least one third of this movie. I was really looking forward to seeing that battle come to life on film. Secondly, the mystery and discovery of Voldemorts secret was poorly developed. I really believe these were the major arcs of the story that were sorely left out, leaving us watching a really different sort of adaption of the book that left a very unsatisfying ending. To those who think that adapting closely to major arcs of a book story and transferring it on film is challenging and therefore unfair to Yates, I say 'hogwash'. Peter Jackson and his crew did a great job with LOTR, I would rest my case with his example alone. Sure there were some, and I stress some liberties, but he did not digress from major plots of what were crucial to a satisfying ending to each film of that trilogy. To end with a positive note, watching these young actors grow up in this movie with all the teenage angst was enjoyable to watch. Hogwarts looked spectacular; and the adult actors were great to watch. I hope they can reclaim "the magic" in the final movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
frankwJul 26, 2009
Extremely poor directing. Plays out almost as a 'cliff notes' movie of a 'cliff notes' synopsis of the true story that the director just pulled parts from and then made up connecting points. There was about 20 minutes of Extremely poor directing. Plays out almost as a 'cliff notes' movie of a 'cliff notes' synopsis of the true story that the director just pulled parts from and then made up connecting points. There was about 20 minutes of film time that had NOTHING to do with the book, that could have been utilized to include the final fight scene and the memories of the Gaunt family episodes. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
4
JonDJul 29, 2009
I thought it was disappointing way to much couple stuff that was all so predictable if you have half a brain. and tbh the past films 3,4,5 made harry look way ahead of the curve powers wise. but this film makes him look very very weak. hesI thought it was disappointing way to much couple stuff that was all so predictable if you have half a brain. and tbh the past films 3,4,5 made harry look way ahead of the curve powers wise. but this film makes him look very very weak. hes useless against snape. and cannot save himself in the cave. . .. its stupid. aswell as there are so many differences in the book which i thought would have been great in the movie instead of an hour's filla about relationships. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AllieLJul 30, 2009
I read the books once I finished watching movie 5. I think this movie is one of the closest to the books so far. I'm a huge fan of Harry Potter and it was interesting to see the character's turn into young adults, and it's a I read the books once I finished watching movie 5. I think this movie is one of the closest to the books so far. I'm a huge fan of Harry Potter and it was interesting to see the character's turn into young adults, and it's a bit more easy to relate to the move now then before. I think it's a great prelude to the final movie (Part i and Part II). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnSJul 7, 2009
Extremely dark, and thoroughly intriguing. One of the most anticipated films of the year, living up to its hype.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
sreekAug 17, 2009
Tremendous start but in the middle lost its seriousness and sudden astonishing pleasing end without much misery. i give for action sequences and 3-d effect 6.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JasonDAug 10, 2009
I saw this movie twice and loved it both times. Great addition to the franchise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LizAAug 2, 2009
It's a good thing I didn't listen to the silly HP fans whining that "it's not like the book." Why were some expecting an epic battle? Harry doesn't witness much of the battle in the book anyway, the other characters It's a good thing I didn't listen to the silly HP fans whining that "it's not like the book." Why were some expecting an epic battle? Harry doesn't witness much of the battle in the book anyway, the other characters simply tell him about it. The funeral in the book is kind of sappy, having the students and teachers raising their wands to dissipate the dark mark was more moving. And I didn't think the movie needed an appearance from the Guants, I'd be afraid they'd come off as British rejects from the cast of "Deliverance!" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DoctorTAug 2, 2009
From a comment below: "This was for a person who read the books (sorry can't see How if you only saw the movies you can comment)" This perfectly sums up what is wrong with these plodding films. They are made purely as accompaniments to From a comment below: "This was for a person who read the books (sorry can't see How if you only saw the movies you can comment)" This perfectly sums up what is wrong with these plodding films. They are made purely as accompaniments to the books. More of a series of visual footnotes, they are, in fact, barely films at all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonathanAAug 2, 2009
Beautiful cinematography, an immaculate ensemble, and a storyline that brilliantly mixes the humor of teenage lovestrucks with mystery and horror elements. I liked it a ton.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SampsonAug 3, 2009
This movie is horrible.
2 of 10 users found this helpful
4
EmericCAug 6, 2009
It's was too long and just boring. The book is much better, read it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
LisaMAug 7, 2009
After reading the books one can discern the major short-comings of the moveies. However, we know the limitation of the screen adaptation process and understand the discrepancies. Having said that this sixth movie is DISAPPOINTING to say the After reading the books one can discern the major short-comings of the moveies. However, we know the limitation of the screen adaptation process and understand the discrepancies. Having said that this sixth movie is DISAPPOINTING to say the least. They left out too many important details so that the movie is very different from the book rather than slightly different as the other movies are from their books. I am very unhappy and am re-reading Book Six to refresh my memory and fully enjoy the story. Please, I dearly hope the screen play for the last two movies will honor the seventh book with accuracy, dignity and completeness. This movie left me cold and wanting so much more. Bravo to J.K. Rowling for her brilliant writing and storytelling; please talk to the producer and director and urge them to produce a top-knotch companion to the last book. We all need a great job to be done; Harry and the other characters deserve no less, nor does Ms. Rowling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WoutNAug 7, 2009
Wow... I think this was almost the best Harry Potter movie. It was darker then other, and the actors were actually good! Well... better then last movies. But I liked watching this one!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TonyC.Aug 9, 2009
Some great shots, and some really bad directing. what a way to ruin a great book, and totally suck the energy, surprise, and power out of the ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SnakeDoctorSep 7, 2009
I've been watching Harry Potter since I was a little kid but enough is enough.I'm growing tired of really bad Harry Potter movies that look like teen sensational movies.For Pete's sake just put them to have sex or I've been watching Harry Potter since I was a little kid but enough is enough.I'm growing tired of really bad Harry Potter movies that look like teen sensational movies.For Pete's sake just put them to have sex or something.Anyway this movie sucks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AndrewN.Jan 4, 2010
Half Blood Prince is bereft of any real drama and excitement. As such the challenge lies in trying to sit through the whole movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DiegoC.Aug 5, 2008
I've got the chance to see one of those very very very rare special screenings. Now Harry Potter is in IMAX and at times in 3D. I don't recomend it, it was much worse than last years Harry Potter . When the 3D wrecked the movie and I've got the chance to see one of those very very very rare special screenings. Now Harry Potter is in IMAX and at times in 3D. I don't recomend it, it was much worse than last years Harry Potter . When the 3D wrecked the movie and the ending action sequence. Anyway, this is a movie to see. Harry Potter 5 was a fairly all right movie, it needed to ponder the art of a more magical and devloping structure around charisma and the fulfillness of magic teachings. You see in the Order of the Phoenix, Harry taught magic, but director David Yates never gave us the chance to enjoy watching the teachings, rather than watching him and his students blowing out fumes from their wands. They used spells without even casting them. That was lame, but everything else was okay. I'm kind of reviewing the last one mind you. Let me get to this one. I always wondered if Ron were to be in quiditch. And he is, this year at Hogwarts is much better than the last 2 years. He is much more of a character this time, their is much stronger charisma and relationships. Theres a bit of a romance happening, with an intense soul within the romantic boundary. The special effects are fair. The acting is and has always been above average. This isn't just a very normal Harry Potter movie, like the last 4 films. This is a very swift, smoothly paced masterpiece. This is probably in the top 3 best hary potter films. The first two have always been in first place. Just because they have the strongest surface within character, Hogwarts itself, magic, and that creepy sensation. It's very similar to it's previous sequel, but this is so much better. Last time, all Ron was was simply a by-standing follower who does absolutely nothing really. He only has like 15 lines in the whole movie. But in this, many beaming lights shine on his face this time. The situation could have been a bit bigger, but at least it's getting somewhere and doing well at it. Meaning it's doing well portraying a journey when all the film pretty well takes place is at Hogwarts. Thats what this series has success at. The first two journeyed through the history of Hogwarts. The next two were pretty well just the understanding of sn uprising evil. But the next two build and build a surface to contain riveting and intense art so that the audience can be on the edge of their seats. Dumbledore's death was truly emotional and not as lame as Serious' death and over-the-top as Cedric's. This movie is shaped so we know what to expect next time. This movie is when the true war begins. And David Yates succeeds so well in entertaining us. The only problem I have with the last three films altogether is that they are very similar, they are said to be the best ones. But they develop so much that by the end it was for nothing. If their spending 8 movies on killing Voldemart, then they must be wasting their time. Te amount books that J.K. Rowling has for Harry potter is too much, but phenomenal for her success. Even though the last book sucks. They need to really get somewhere with this series for once and stop atht chitter chatter that keeps the characters overdwelling on the very little. Anyway, I'd give it a 9.5/10, but a 10/10 if it weren't so pointless. But I guees when you round stuff up, 10/10 is the answer. But I watch a lot of movies. And this was very good. Wortht seeing, it's one of the best Potter films to date. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KramerC.Aug 5, 2008
I loved this movie. It's by far the best Harry Potter movie to date. I saw the very first special screening, and their was a huge aplause. I'm very impressed. It'sa very slapstick and enjoyable movie. I love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ZackTDec 10, 2009
Agree with Joelle G, good build. A little lack-luster though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JavierN.Oct 5, 2009
Very funny!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AnonAJun 10, 2009
user reviews are so arbitrary that so many of them are just based on first impressions as indicated by how many reviews are out right now even though the movie hasn't even finished post production yet. User reviews should be limited touser reviews are so arbitrary that so many of them are just based on first impressions as indicated by how many reviews are out right now even though the movie hasn't even finished post production yet. User reviews should be limited to people who have metacritic accounts, because user ratings right now are completely pointless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanPJul 15, 2009
The best cinematography you will ever see with a brilliant story to go with it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MeggJul 15, 2009
I am utterly aghast that the parts of the story I looked forward to most were barely brushed upon. I very much desired to see all of Voldemort's past explained and illustrated on screen: how his mother and father were connected, the I am utterly aghast that the parts of the story I looked forward to most were barely brushed upon. I very much desired to see all of Voldemort's past explained and illustrated on screen: how his mother and father were connected, the Gaunt family, the murder of the three Riddles (not even mentioned!), etc. The memories we did see on-screen were bare-boned; we did not get to hear about the shenanigans young Tom was up to on his beach trip, only that he was a highly disturbing child. The Slughorn story-line was carried out effectively, but I felt like so much was missing. There was no scene with Dumbledore and the Dursley (which would have been highly amusin on-screen), no acknowledgement of Harry's grief for Sirius (which was redolent in the beginning of the book), nor did we see him receive his inheritance of Kreacher. I felt this movie missed the whimsy, magic, and familiarity of the first five films. It was dark, and I don't say this to imply that it should be daffodils and sunshine. While the sixth book was the darkest yet of the series, it still maintained a level comfort, of consistency, of familiarity. There was gloom and doom and sorrow, yes, but was taking place in a settings most familiar. Immediately, I felt like the presentations of the locations did not stay true to the first movies. For instance, the inside of the Weasley house beared no resemblance to the interior was saw in movies 1-5. The sixth year's bedchamber also looked (felt?) different. Even the panned out view of Hogwarts against the expansive sky and the mountains did not have the same feel to it. I suppose it had a lot to do with the camera and lighting work. Even the usual lively castle accompaniments, such as Peeves and Nearly-Headless Nick, or even the daily grind of classes, homework, and studying, were no where to be found. The one light-hearted departure from the gloomy affair of the story-line was the over-done teenage romantic adventures. Even the music was missing character and familiarity. When there was not silence behind the dialogue and action, long chords droned, void of variations on old themes and presentation of new. Still, it did cover the main bullet points of the film and stayed "true" to the book about as well as the other movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KenR.Jul 15, 2009
What is everybody smoking? This movie was horrible. Awful. It is easily the worst of the franchise. Gasps of "WHAT?" went up accross the theatre when the credits rolled. My entire family, Potter lovers all, hated this film. I toyed with the What is everybody smoking? This movie was horrible. Awful. It is easily the worst of the franchise. Gasps of "WHAT?" went up accross the theatre when the credits rolled. My entire family, Potter lovers all, hated this film. I toyed with the idea of demanding my money back, but hey it's not the theater owner's fault the film is such a crushing, pointless, listless bore. I'd advise you not to waste your entertainment dollar on this awful film - even when it comes out on DVD. Terrible, terrible stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
memoJul 15, 2009
I agree that the film was a bit imbalanced in terms of romatic comedy vs. developing major plot points and serious moments. That is my main problem with the film; otherwise it was beautiful, very funny and touching, intense, thrilling, true I agree that the film was a bit imbalanced in terms of romatic comedy vs. developing major plot points and serious moments. That is my main problem with the film; otherwise it was beautiful, very funny and touching, intense, thrilling, true to the book (particularly the cave scene), and standout acting from Tom Felton, Daniel Radcliffe and Rupert Grint, good acting from Emma Watson, and wonderful acting from Jim Broadbent. Good job, Yates and co! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
WesleySJul 15, 2009
Whether you have read the books or not, this is a yawnfest. The screenplay is horrible. At least the acting, cinematography and special effects are good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArshdeepJul 15, 2009
It is the best harry potter movie even darker then the second one,david yates has done a really goood job and it shows in his intelligent and pacy movie direction.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MackenzieMJul 16, 2009
I am totally addicted to Harry Potter. I know like every word to all of the movies and now I have another one to remember. Its awesome!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeRJul 16, 2009
I loved this new installment. I saw the movies devotion to the often bleak mood of the book through its enthralling cinimatography and set decoration. As a resonalble fan of the story, that's all that mattered to me in the end. In other I loved this new installment. I saw the movies devotion to the often bleak mood of the book through its enthralling cinimatography and set decoration. As a resonalble fan of the story, that's all that mattered to me in the end. In other news Radcliffe is getting better, Jim Broadbent was fantastic, and Alan Rickman is cool as always. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
jamescJul 16, 2009
This was a very slow, plodding and rather uneventful movie. I'm utterly shocked at all the positive reviews. Other movies in this series were much better, but it seems the movie makers are simply stringing things out as much as they can This was a very slow, plodding and rather uneventful movie. I'm utterly shocked at all the positive reviews. Other movies in this series were much better, but it seems the movie makers are simply stringing things out as much as they can to reap the $$$ from the throngs of fans who'll see just about any Potter film regardless of the quality. My daughter, who is a fan of the movie was quite disappointed with it, as were several very vocal attendees at our showing. As they left the theatre, several people looked at each other and asked, how they liked it. There was a uniform chorus of "that sucked didn't it?" Noit much actually happens in the film. There's more than enough teen angst and broken heartedness amongst the key characters to create a movie just on that storyline alone. The younger Malfoy has turned from a sinister child into a gawky, brooding, troubled, lankey Andy Warholesque character. He just broods and hides around Hogwarts and makes endless trips to the transporter booth, testing it out. The whole plot of this film is unbelievable and inconsistent in the context of the other Potter films. And the final climactic battle, if it can even be called that, is such a letdown, given what is in the book, it's hard to whether the film makers read the book or even cared to try to make the ending exciting. A real disappointment overall. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KevinGJul 16, 2009
Woefully average.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesCaleyJul 16, 2009
This film was wonderful. It captured the mixed tonality of the book perfectly. The younger actors are all growing and the more experienced ones continue to shine. The humor worked every time. The effects where spectacular. All around, a filmThis film was wonderful. It captured the mixed tonality of the book perfectly. The younger actors are all growing and the more experienced ones continue to shine. The humor worked every time. The effects where spectacular. All around, a film worthy of calling itself part of the Harry Potter universe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MattK.Jul 16, 2009
Don't get me wrong, I'm a huge HP fan. I just wasn't a fan of this particular movie. Parts of the story that were really moving, such as 'somebody's' funeral, should've been included. Also, the director Don't get me wrong, I'm a huge HP fan. I just wasn't a fan of this particular movie. Parts of the story that were really moving, such as 'somebody's' funeral, should've been included. Also, the director couldn't choose between a dark or a light teen-comedy film. I felt like the many Ron jokes were so out of place and flat that they just shouldn't of been included. I think I smiled once in this whole 2 1/2 movie, but I can't really remember because I walked out with a headache when it was all finished. All in all, it was a decent movie, but I don't think it was put together exceptionally well, according to all the hype. It was just OK. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnT.Jul 16, 2009
I really enjoyed this movie as a film not an adaption. If i reviewed this as a loyal adaption of the movie, i would have been scaving as i was frustrated with its differences to the book. But the film was funny, dark and kept you fixiated to I really enjoyed this movie as a film not an adaption. If i reviewed this as a loyal adaption of the movie, i would have been scaving as i was frustrated with its differences to the book. But the film was funny, dark and kept you fixiated to the screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ElizabethBJul 16, 2009
I am a Harry Potter Fan. Read all the books but this movie fell below the expected standards. I get that they changed the air of the movie making it lose all of its charm and attractiveness to be dark and mysterious. However they just I am a Harry Potter Fan. Read all the books but this movie fell below the expected standards. I get that they changed the air of the movie making it lose all of its charm and attractiveness to be dark and mysterious. However they just skipped over all the key issues of the book. Didn't really explain the horixues, didn't show the tiara, no funeral, do bill and fleur, why the hell burn down the weasley hoouse?, no fight between death eaters and order of the phoneix just making the end boring and making harry look weak. I could of ignored all the differences in the screen but stop writing new crap and putting it in and just follow the book. The movies were made because of how good the book is so then why do the directors think they need to be changed so much. Just follow the book and you will have a hit. I don't know how they are going to figure out the horixues without being give any info especially the tiara. I did like the funny parts and the cave was good but thats it. Hopefully 7 is better because 6 really kinda sucked. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PeteHJul 17, 2009
Pretty good movie all things considered. Had some clunky bits, but also had some really heart poundingly tense moments. If you hadn't read the book, bits may not make total sense, but it is already a long film, and including everything Pretty good movie all things considered. Had some clunky bits, but also had some really heart poundingly tense moments. If you hadn't read the book, bits may not make total sense, but it is already a long film, and including everything would see it bulldoze through the three hour mark comfortably! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Jul 17, 2009
And now they're old enough to be taught about the birds and the bees. Wizards, witches: they grow up so fast these days, or rather, child actors, some of whom, like the three principal leads in "Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince", And now they're old enough to be taught about the birds and the bees. Wizards, witches: they grow up so fast these days, or rather, child actors, some of whom, like the three principal leads in "Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince", are lucky enough to remain relevant on the other side of puberty. In the process, however, their sexual maturity can be an uncomfortable experience for some. One-time child actress Alyssa Milano, for example, just twelve when she played Samantha Micelli on the defunct ABC sitcom "Who's the Boss", could have been a daughter you'd be proud to call your own. Next thing you know, she's doing things in Anne Goursaud's "Embrace of the Vampire" that turns you on, but wait a minute, weren't we vicariously experiencing fatherhood through Tony Danza's eyes not so way back? All of nine years when she starred in "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone", Bonnie Wright(playing Ron Weasley's little sister Ginny), ends up in a unexpectedly suggestive position with Daniel Radcliffe(just twelve in the 2001 Chris Columbus-directed film), which began as an innocent offer to tie the wizard's shoes. You can be like the Michael Rappaport character in Ted Demme's "Beautiful Girls", who says about the beautiful, young Marty(Natalie Portman), "If she can cut her own food, she's fair game," but such objectification borders on the amoral. In "Beautiful Girls", Willie Conway(Timothy Hutton) tells a friend, "I was jealous of a little kid on a bike, because he gets to be her age, and I'm this vile old man," but since his relationship with the girl remains platonic, the male viewer never gets to be that "vile old man", diegetically speaking. But in "The Half-Blood Prince", Wright is indeed subjected to the male gaze, and for added kink, her image is mastered through a virginal wizard's bespectacled eyes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AnonymousMCJul 17, 2009
its different from the other harry potter movies...the ambiance...the feel..the colors..whats going on people?u have the budget and the brilliant mind of the author....am 1 of the biggest harry potter fan..i read the whole series 7its different from the other harry potter movies...the ambiance...the feel..the colors..whats going on people?u have the budget and the brilliant mind of the author....am 1 of the biggest harry potter fan..i read the whole series 7 times...the others are way too good to be precedeed by this...please make the last one the best!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
CindyCJul 17, 2009
A better title for this movie would be "Harry Potter and the Half-Baked Plot". Important storylines are altered beyond recognition, barely touched upon or missing altogether, while trivial points that do not advance the story are dwelled on A better title for this movie would be "Harry Potter and the Half-Baked Plot". Important storylines are altered beyond recognition, barely touched upon or missing altogether, while trivial points that do not advance the story are dwelled on at length. Apparently it was more important to introduce a hypothetical waitress for Harry to flirt with at the beginning of the film than to retain the climactic battle between Death Eaters and Order members at the end. The spirit of what was already one of the more forgettable installments in the Potter series has been lost. The film does boast some highlights, including strong performances by Jim Broadbent, Tom Felton and the always-superb Alan Rickman. For every Slughorn, Draco or Snape, however, there's a Ginny Weasley, who is incapable of showing emotion even when sharing a first kiss with Harry. Other major characters (McGonnagal, Hagrid) are reduced to mere window dressing. While the film is visually stunning in places, the musical score matches Ginny Weasley's acting for blandness.. I can still hum music from the first four movies but can't recall a note from Half-Blood Prince -- and I saw the movie yesterday. Perhaps the most aggregious sin of this disappointing film is the ending, which has been gutted beyond recognition. Those who were looking forward to the battle between Death Eaters and Order members, or the tender scene between a greviously wounded Bill Weasley and Fleur Delacour, will be cruelly disappointed. What is left is an emotionless and rushed confrontation between Harry and Snape that is so poorly directed that the revelation regarding Snape at the end of Book 7 can be anticipated. I understand that one cannot remain 100% faithful when adapting books like this to film. However, decisions should remain true to the spirit of the book. (A superb example of this is Prizoner of Azkaban, still the best of the Potter films.) The screenwriter and director involved in Half-Blood Prince clearly don't get it, unfortunately. Their decision-making reminds me of scenes from the movie The Majestic, where film executives propose script changes that are increasingly ridiculous. "I've got a 'what if'...'" What if the screenwriter and director had left the ending of Half-Blood Prince intact? Then this would have been a much better film. I shudder to think that Book 7 is being handed to this same team. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
embJul 17, 2009
This movie, just like the fifth harry potter, left vital information out of the movie and added useless junk that was completely un needed. not only that but each sceen just jumped to the next one with no flow and the sceens never really This movie, just like the fifth harry potter, left vital information out of the movie and added useless junk that was completely un needed. not only that but each sceen just jumped to the next one with no flow and the sceens never really build up to anything. with everything that was left out i doubt the seventh movie will be anything remotely close to the book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
CameronLJul 18, 2009
The movie has a heavy focus on relationships and attraction. These moments led to awkwardly funny moments that at the most part made me laugh. It was worth sitting through the love scenes, as the last 30 minutes were amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanielV.Jul 18, 2009
Well, I thoroughly enjoyed it, as I am a big Harry Potter fan. But I honestly do not think this movie could have strayed any farther from the book! Yates did not do a good job at captivating the story of Half Blood Prince, and I was Well, I thoroughly enjoyed it, as I am a big Harry Potter fan. But I honestly do not think this movie could have strayed any farther from the book! Yates did not do a good job at captivating the story of Half Blood Prince, and I was disappointed. For those who have not read the books could essentially view this movie as filler. I am just glad Bay didn't direct this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PatrickG.Jul 18, 2009
I thought this was one of the best Harry Potter movies so far. I'm not a hardcore fan, but I have read all the books and seen all the movies. The movie moved at a quick pace, and the sprinkling of humor helped lighten the mood at just I thought this was one of the best Harry Potter movies so far. I'm not a hardcore fan, but I have read all the books and seen all the movies. The movie moved at a quick pace, and the sprinkling of humor helped lighten the mood at just the right moments. My only complaint was the ending. I remembered it being much more dramatic in the book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GermanB.Jul 18, 2009
Loved it!!! The best so far... it's darker, and funny, the performances are really good, the music is beautiful, the cinematography is really good too; in the end, a really good summer blockbuster and a good addition to the series, Loved it!!! The best so far... it's darker, and funny, the performances are really good, the music is beautiful, the cinematography is really good too; in the end, a really good summer blockbuster and a good addition to the series, let´s wait DH:P1. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
InnaBJul 18, 2009
I'm torn about this movie. The cinematography is breathtaking, details are exquisite ans the score is sublime. I really wanted to like it. I'm not a huge HP fan, but since it's such a cultural phenomenon I did read the books I'm torn about this movie. The cinematography is breathtaking, details are exquisite ans the score is sublime. I really wanted to like it. I'm not a huge HP fan, but since it's such a cultural phenomenon I did read the books and watched the movies, and after the third one the movies started to grow on me. So I was looking forward seeing this one, especially since trailers and previews were so compelling. But now I wish there was more substance in addition to the visuals. Since it was a while since I read the book, when I left the theater my overall feeling was ", what happened to the plot?". They either shouldn't make it more action packed (while trimming most of romantic stuff) or turn it into a two-parter w/ a better developed story. Maybe it's just a clever ploy to make people buy extended edition DVD and books to try to make sense of the story? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SamW.Jul 19, 2009
This movie left me ambivalent, nearly 2 and a half hours of unrequieted teenage love. About which nothing came to fruition. Wholesale rewrites of the book are unacceptable. The destruction of the burrow, and no clues given to the trio as to This movie left me ambivalent, nearly 2 and a half hours of unrequieted teenage love. About which nothing came to fruition. Wholesale rewrites of the book are unacceptable. The destruction of the burrow, and no clues given to the trio as to what the horcruxes are much less how to get them. Can someone please explain to me why this movie is called Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince? Because it is only in name that it has any relationship to the book. This one should have been named "Harry Potter and the Grips of Adolecent Love". Harry Potter and the Mundane Emotion of Rampant Teenage Hormones" . The reason the book is named as such is the mystery behind the name in the book that makes Harry such a briliant potions student, and his ongoing battle with the greasy former potions teacher. This movie should show people what happens when Warner Brother Execs. Start making artistic and Story decisions. This movie should have been directed by Alan Smithee. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveWJul 19, 2009
Lived up to the hype, again the 'kids movie' title was dropped. The 'gang' is growing up, and the director's are choosing to highlight this with the subsequent mood and body language of every character involved. Lived up to the hype, again the 'kids movie' title was dropped. The 'gang' is growing up, and the director's are choosing to highlight this with the subsequent mood and body language of every character involved. Although director David Yates was obviously playing with the plot to suite the final installments, the story told was nothing but perfection. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DenebKJul 20, 2009
What a waste of time. At no point in the movie did I feel anything for these cardboard characters. Save your money, or go watch something else. Doesn't deliver on any level.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JaymeeBJul 20, 2009
Excellent screenplay. The movie was able to condense the book and all its nuances and side stories into a tight 2 1/2 hour movie. It may have missed the characterization and development of Voldermort as the arch-nemesis of Harry Potter, but Excellent screenplay. The movie was able to condense the book and all its nuances and side stories into a tight 2 1/2 hour movie. It may have missed the characterization and development of Voldermort as the arch-nemesis of Harry Potter, but overall it paints a convincing picture of the 6th installment of the Potter story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
PaulSJul 21, 2009
Goo thing this was not the first movie in the series or I would never see the others. I never read the books, but suspect that this volume had a plot in the print version. This was the first HP film I went to where I found myself looking at Goo thing this was not the first movie in the series or I would never see the others. I never read the books, but suspect that this volume had a plot in the print version. This was the first HP film I went to where I found myself looking at my watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MattEJul 20, 2009
First let me establish that I am, along with half the literate public, a bonafide Harry Potter fan. I have read all the books within days of their release and dutifully attended each movie upon release. The first two were rather First let me establish that I am, along with half the literate public, a bonafide Harry Potter fan. I have read all the books within days of their release and dutifully attended each movie upon release. The first two were rather disappointing due entirely to the dearth of acting talent from the young stars (and who could blame the kids, it's hard to find a Haley Joel Osment). But then, starting with part three, the movies began to improve, markedly. The feeling of improvement only added to the excitement of each new release -- maybe the studios would do the book justice this time. And with movies four and five they finally succeeded, even more so with five. And so, I had come to expect something event worthy, even stunning when I bought my ticket for the Half-Blood Prince. To my disappointment, and this time to no fault of the young actors (who've earned their roles), the movie meandered and overemphasized and fell back on tired tricks and worn cinematic habits. Scenes went unsubscribed -- the opening where muggles are in awe of a world inexplicably turned upside down -- and plot points are brushed over to make room for more adolescent drama than a season of Dawson's Creek. In fact, the whole thing felt like a TV miniseries instead of a movie -- which makes sense wince David Yates was plucked from the TV biz. And, to ad insult to injury, they massacred the ending, though I won't spoil it. What a shame. Let's hope Yates puts down the Lolita and rereads the source before taking on the final two installments. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DanielLJul 21, 2009
The movie and the book share one thing in common: the title. Major scenes from the book are left out, and a confusing scene was added. If you liked the book, don't see this. That said, the movie is very artsy and pretty, so if The movie and the book share one thing in common: the title. Major scenes from the book are left out, and a confusing scene was added. If you liked the book, don't see this. That said, the movie is very artsy and pretty, so if that's your cup of tea, have at it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyMJul 22, 2009
Beautifully understated and bitter sweet - this last ever chance for a little happiness at childhood's end, before we and the gang are plunged headlong into the full-on craziness of the Deathly Hallows!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ottomJul 22, 2009
It's really just an ok film. No big battles, no real crazy special effects. There were some witty moments that made me laugh a bit. In the end, it lacked action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DanielWJul 20, 2009
If i wanted to go see twilight i would have, this movie does nothing but insult the books and the previous movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JackJul 22, 2009
Seriously, how could anyone have this rated above 5? I love the series, but Daniel Radcliff has ruined the character of harry. Obviously no one told him that having the same expression on your face for 2 and a half hours isn't actually acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BryanKJul 23, 2009
Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince was by far the best film of the series since Chamber of Secrets in 2002. After the good third and fourth entries and the average fifth entry, This film did everything right. The film was comical in a Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince was by far the best film of the series since Chamber of Secrets in 2002. After the good third and fourth entries and the average fifth entry, This film did everything right. The film was comical in a sense and left the movie crowd laughing. Many things became the subject of jokes including the fact it has been eight years since the series began and yet the cast is to be in their late teenage years. One scene has Dumblerdore taking a magazine to pursue his sewing. Several items from previous items including Tom Riddle's diary and the map which monitors everyone's movements from the third film. The film however was dark like previous entries and had some grim situations. A major character dies which was depressing, yet realistic. It will most likely affect the next film in many ways. Their was a romantic kiss between Harry and Ron's sister Ginnie which was nice and assisted the film in small ways. The only major problem with the film was not a true confrontation between the Dark Lord and Harry which makes this the second film in which he does not appear. Overall an excellent entry which makes up for the weaknesses of the fifth film and defines the series in every way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobCJul 23, 2009
In no way a disappointment, HBP the film IS a faithful take on the book - as one critic put it, in fact, it's a much tighter rendition of the story than Rowling's overwritten original. As for these silly negative comments from In no way a disappointment, HBP the film IS a faithful take on the book - as one critic put it, in fact, it's a much tighter rendition of the story than Rowling's overwritten original. As for these silly negative comments from people who've hated all the Potter films... what did you expect when you went to see HBP? Seriously? Did someone force you at gunpoint to watch a film you had no desire to see? And by that action, did you feel compelled to slate it on Metacritic? Grow up, people. For fans of the films and Harry Potter universe (i.e. those people who WANT to watch this film), be assured that the emotional weight, comedy, romance and horror all add up to the best Potter film yet. Can't wait to see how Yates tops this with the two-part finale. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
linkezJul 23, 2009
HPB's entire lack of build up / tension, its removal of all mystery from this movie and the next, and its removal of the climax of the story gives it a well deserved one. Even the characters were forced and all the acting seemed HPB's entire lack of build up / tension, its removal of all mystery from this movie and the next, and its removal of the climax of the story gives it a well deserved one. Even the characters were forced and all the acting seemed overdone. Would not suggest watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
louisDJul 20, 2009
I went to see this movie on it's realease and let me sey it's terrible absoulute GARBAGE the atmosphere from the early films is complety lost gone. Daniel radcliffes acting seems to have been getting worse the more he plays harry noI went to see this movie on it's realease and let me sey it's terrible absoulute GARBAGE the atmosphere from the early films is complety lost gone. Daniel radcliffes acting seems to have been getting worse the more he plays harry no joke, he was so stiff there was no genue emotion he acted as though he was was nervous A sh** performance. And ginger C*** ron sucked big time the only good thing about this crap fest was Hermineie her acting was rubbish but not her ass. Hermineie can sit on my lap anyday FIT!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnF.Jul 20, 2009
This was by far the best film version of one of the Harry Potter books. I really enjoyed the added touches of humor amidst an otherwise very tense and dramatic story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PatriciavJul 25, 2009
So many golden opportunities were missed in this movie. A little more passion on Daniel Radcliff's part would be appreciated. It's visually stunning, but not very comprehensive. My husband, who has not read the books, actually So many golden opportunities were missed in this movie. A little more passion on Daniel Radcliff's part would be appreciated. It's visually stunning, but not very comprehensive. My husband, who has not read the books, actually dozed off, Emma and Rupert were the star actors in this one. And the ending, good grief. Did they run out of film? I love HP but I hope they do better on the last two movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HaydenMJul 25, 2009
Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince does not disappoint. The characters are likable(like always), the plot is great, and the director did a magnificent job including all of the important parts that were in the book. This Harry Potter film Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince does not disappoint. The characters are likable(like always), the plot is great, and the director did a magnificent job including all of the important parts that were in the book. This Harry Potter film adaptation is pretty close to the book, with everything being included except for a few minor scenes. David Yates's directing has improved since he did Order of the Phoenix, which left a lot of important parts out. I was amazed by this improvement. This is the second best Harry Potter film, right behind Goblet of Fire. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MawMJul 25, 2009
The first half of the movie was a vast improvement from the previous films but the ending just didn't live up to the expectations. I felt that there were many missed opportunities in the execution of the climax which would have made The first half of the movie was a vast improvement from the previous films but the ending just didn't live up to the expectations. I felt that there were many missed opportunities in the execution of the climax which would have made this a truly epic film. I honestly felt that Cedric Diggory's passing in the Goblet Of Fire drew more emotions than the death of a central character in this film, which I attribute as a failure on Yates' part. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
shikshakJul 26, 2009
This movie is one of the superb among HP series and can keep its viewers excited throughout it.However, as usual its story line has become like summary to the book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LindaGJul 26, 2009
Although the movie was entertaining, I find myself trying hard not to be disappointed in the movie and in the fact that J. K. Roling had agreed to the extreme alteration of her work. Though entertaining, the movie showed little resemblance Although the movie was entertaining, I find myself trying hard not to be disappointed in the movie and in the fact that J. K. Roling had agreed to the extreme alteration of her work. Though entertaining, the movie showed little resemblance to the book. Prior movies, although leaving out information, followed the books much more closely. The movie revolved more around the relationship between the characters. The book revolved around discovering the secrets that might lead to Voldamort Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KevinGatesJul 20, 2009
This movie is not true to the book in any way. Most of the important details were removed, leaving only some of the memory portions, the potions book, and the entire romantic subplot. All of the interaction between characters has been dumbedThis movie is not true to the book in any way. Most of the important details were removed, leaving only some of the memory portions, the potions book, and the entire romantic subplot. All of the interaction between characters has been dumbed down, or removed, unless they are in looove.
Don't waste your time or money on a movie ticket, wait until it comes on TNT.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomaBJul 20, 2009
Although i had some issues with this one , i still enjoyed the film a lot! good balance between romance and more seroius stuff. I liked the latter more. The cave scene was brilliant! I guess Harry Ginny relationship is not shown in the best Although i had some issues with this one , i still enjoyed the film a lot! good balance between romance and more seroius stuff. I liked the latter more. The cave scene was brilliant! I guess Harry Ginny relationship is not shown in the best way, but the books is no better in this one for me so not big deal. I totally loved Lavender. The bottom line i can't think of anyone not enjoying ,at least a bit, the last installment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
siddhantdasJul 20, 2009
cud've been a lot better!!!!!!
first scene was epic, great visuals throughout the movie but somewhere down the line the movie fails.
nothing is properly explained and david yates has expected everyone to have read the book(which is
cud've been a lot better!!!!!!
first scene was epic, great visuals throughout the movie but somewhere down the line the movie fails.

nothing is properly explained and david yates has expected everyone to have read the book(which is not possible)... unecessary parts are galore!!!
overall the movie was gud,... but it should have and could have been much much much darker...
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MitchellZJul 20, 2009
Ugghh! What a crashing bore of a movie. Two and a half-blood-prince hours of nothing that led nowhere. Daniel Radcliff has trouble carrying a wand, forget a movie. This guy needs a primer in facial expressions, emotive acting, something to Ugghh! What a crashing bore of a movie. Two and a half-blood-prince hours of nothing that led nowhere. Daniel Radcliff has trouble carrying a wand, forget a movie. This guy needs a primer in facial expressions, emotive acting, something to keep me interested and aligned with his character!!! The clunky dialogue doesn't help either. I do hove to say that the film was reaching for a darker mood and theme and almost got their on a few occasions. But for the most part the movie was thoroughly uninteresting, unexciting, un-magical!--just UN!! I did like Michael Gambon as Dumbledore-more uncle that foreboding wizard-and of course Rickman as Snape. For the two part finale I say "Bring on the Death Eaters! Lay waste to Hogwarts!" Now that would be a fun movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JessieJul 29, 2009
They didn't stick to the book they are very different.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TH.Jul 30, 2009
Yeah, I guess I really don't get why so many people want to jump for joy over a few nifty effects and sets, and for what is referred to as "brand loyalty." Maybe there are a few other "loyalties" in this business outside of critics Yeah, I guess I really don't get why so many people want to jump for joy over a few nifty effects and sets, and for what is referred to as "brand loyalty." Maybe there are a few other "loyalties" in this business outside of critics saying how they really feel. Or maybe some of them saw a completely different film from the one I saw. Sophisticated storytelling? Bah. Mature? Hardly. No matter. The great acting is done by primarily older cast members with the exception of Hero Fiennes-Tiffin and Frank Dillane, who both respectively portray a very chilling, young Tom Riddle at ages 11 and 16. Too bad they didn't get more screen time. I give it a 4 rating, here, for the good actors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WillCJul 31, 2009
I've learnt to take the books and the films as different entities. If you go into the cinema expecting the film to replicate the book scene for scene, not only will you be there for days, but you'll have to sit through a lot of the I've learnt to take the books and the films as different entities. If you go into the cinema expecting the film to replicate the book scene for scene, not only will you be there for days, but you'll have to sit through a lot of the rubbish waffle that Rowling left in. The film itself was good, funny in parts, well acted, altough it's clear that the movie is just a prelude to the seventh and eigth films, thus the plot is a bit lacking and there are scenes which aren't as tense, or will have been left for the last couple two films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AlexHJul 30, 2009
There's nothing much to grade here. There was just no use to making Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince. This film really just repeated what the last one (Order of the Phenix) established: "we must kill Voldermort, but how o' There's nothing much to grade here. There was just no use to making Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince. This film really just repeated what the last one (Order of the Phenix) established: "we must kill Voldermort, but how o' how?" I'm sure you will do fine with missing this way-too-long, went nowhere, installment of the Harry Potter series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MidnightFJul 30, 2009
This "reinvention" isn't worth the time. they really crapped all over the beginning. No Dursleys, nor Gaunts. Instead they added extraneous material not in the book and for the most part wasn't worth the time.(Although I can This "reinvention" isn't worth the time. they really crapped all over the beginning. No Dursleys, nor Gaunts. Instead they added extraneous material not in the book and for the most part wasn't worth the time.(Although I can understand the "No Elves" attitude. I don't expect Dobby or Kreacher in the last movies. And if they do show up, how will it make any sense considering their absence from the previous films?) No Ministry, no obvious evidence that the ministry is even doing anything remotely connected to opposing the Death Eaters. It was a relief to see Lupin and Tonks for all the brevity they gave the characters. Which was a shame considering the nice subplot they had in the book, which wasn't existent in the movie. Snape should have had more time for the buildup to what comes later. I have no doubt that when his death comes it will be as anticlimatic and unemotional as Dumbledore's was. The ending to this movie was just a disaster. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleG.Jul 5, 2009
I saw a sneak peak with my friend, and i have to say that this is one of the best harry potter movies out there. Way better than the 5th which was horrible, and if you say it was good, you are not a potter fan.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FredJul 6, 2009
If you want to complain about the voting system, do it some other way than giving legit movies a low score.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AkashKJul 7, 2009
Amazing film. I haven't seen a movie magical like this in 4 years (last one being Goblet of Fire, OOTP disappointed). The art direction was beautiful, the action was amazing, the yellow tinge was a nice touch, and the performances, Amazing film. I haven't seen a movie magical like this in 4 years (last one being Goblet of Fire, OOTP disappointed). The art direction was beautiful, the action was amazing, the yellow tinge was a nice touch, and the performances, especially of the trio, Gambon, Rickman, Broadbent, Smith, and Carter were powerful. If you liked Goblet of Fire, you'll love this! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PrestonB.Aug 11, 2009
Out of all the Harry Potter movies, this was my least favorite. The beginning was slow and too much time was spent on teen angst while other, more important issues were ignored or skimmed over. Ending was anti-climatic. Not a bad move but I Out of all the Harry Potter movies, this was my least favorite. The beginning was slow and too much time was spent on teen angst while other, more important issues were ignored or skimmed over. Ending was anti-climatic. Not a bad move but I kept waiting for it to get better and it never did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
FredSAug 14, 2009
Very pretty with some nice special effects here and there, but overall much, much too long, and problematic and unsatisfying in terms of pace of plot and character development.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ozmonkeyAug 16, 2009
Ive read the books, the best is still to come and this movie was great considering the material was quite boring as it is (in the 6th book).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
CaitlinRAug 2, 2009
Overlong, overhormonal, overboring. Radcliffe needs his salary cut by at LEAST 85% - he is almost a table in this one (i.e. wooden). Weakest of the six so far, no emotional impact whatsoever. On the other hand, good music.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
CarmineCAug 3, 2009
I know there are good movies, but i just don't like 'em
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AaronNAug 6, 2009
Deep like the harry potter's that came before it (with the exception of the prisoner of azkaban, a bizzarly bland entry) THe Half blood prince introduces itself n such a way that continues throughout the movie, using what they never Deep like the harry potter's that came before it (with the exception of the prisoner of azkaban, a bizzarly bland entry) THe Half blood prince introduces itself n such a way that continues throughout the movie, using what they never used in the past installments, WB emphasized on excellent lighting, wound, and weather effects. Each key is struck in the visuals department, the magic is much more fluctuous and mysterious, warming with a dash of welcome harry potter succeeds in places the earlier installments failed, pays all tributes very well. With all of the matured characters, the environmental amplification of hogwarts, and the overall chaos and tyranny written the plot itself and followed the book almost exactly the way it was meant to be, despite the fact Lord Voldemorts originality was partially stained by Harry's choice to say his name. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JoeyKAug 9, 2009
Technically good, but it feels very much like a book that was completely stripped of all the emotional and contextual details that made it great, leaving behind an impressive but two dimensional skeleton of a story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
beansbAug 9, 2009
Very Boring. I don't read the books, but liked all the other movies. This one was very bad.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
AlJSep 2, 2009
Definitely the weakest Potter yet. The next one's better kick ass to make up for this crap!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnSmithSep 27, 2009
Oi all you dickheads that think this film is bad are retarded this is by far the best film of them all. It is actually true to th books and all of you bsbies who are upset that it is actually good now should go suck your bitch of a mother
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VanessaJ.Sep 28, 2009
Daniel your so cute and i really like all harry potter movies and i wish that you come here in Philippines because we love you so much....... and i really love you :) your number one fan here in Philippines, Vanessa joy Castillo :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ConnorMSep 5, 2009
As a movie, this is an enjoyable film and is worth anyone's money. However as a fan of the book I was quite dissaponted. There were too many things to name that I wish were there while other things I wish were excluded (The burning of As a movie, this is an enjoyable film and is worth anyone's money. However as a fan of the book I was quite dissaponted. There were too many things to name that I wish were there while other things I wish were excluded (The burning of the burrow comes to mind). I have been frustrated so far with Yate's first 2 movies but with the next movie being split (and having a HUGE budget to work with) I can't help but look forward to them. As a movie it deserves its 7 (if I had never read the book it may have earned an 8 or 9) but prepare to be dissapointed if you've read the book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful