Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 15, 2009
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1070 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
733
Mixed:
203
Negative:
134
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
AllieLJul 30, 2009
I read the books once I finished watching movie 5. I think this movie is one of the closest to the books so far. I'm a huge fan of Harry Potter and it was interesting to see the character's turn into young adults, and it's a I read the books once I finished watching movie 5. I think this movie is one of the closest to the books so far. I'm a huge fan of Harry Potter and it was interesting to see the character's turn into young adults, and it's a bit more easy to relate to the move now then before. I think it's a great prelude to the final movie (Part i and Part II). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnSJul 7, 2009
Extremely dark, and thoroughly intriguing. One of the most anticipated films of the year, living up to its hype.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonDAug 10, 2009
I saw this movie twice and loved it both times. Great addition to the franchise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DiegoC.Aug 5, 2008
I've got the chance to see one of those very very very rare special screenings. Now Harry Potter is in IMAX and at times in 3D. I don't recomend it, it was much worse than last years Harry Potter . When the 3D wrecked the movie and I've got the chance to see one of those very very very rare special screenings. Now Harry Potter is in IMAX and at times in 3D. I don't recomend it, it was much worse than last years Harry Potter . When the 3D wrecked the movie and the ending action sequence. Anyway, this is a movie to see. Harry Potter 5 was a fairly all right movie, it needed to ponder the art of a more magical and devloping structure around charisma and the fulfillness of magic teachings. You see in the Order of the Phoenix, Harry taught magic, but director David Yates never gave us the chance to enjoy watching the teachings, rather than watching him and his students blowing out fumes from their wands. They used spells without even casting them. That was lame, but everything else was okay. I'm kind of reviewing the last one mind you. Let me get to this one. I always wondered if Ron were to be in quiditch. And he is, this year at Hogwarts is much better than the last 2 years. He is much more of a character this time, their is much stronger charisma and relationships. Theres a bit of a romance happening, with an intense soul within the romantic boundary. The special effects are fair. The acting is and has always been above average. This isn't just a very normal Harry Potter movie, like the last 4 films. This is a very swift, smoothly paced masterpiece. This is probably in the top 3 best hary potter films. The first two have always been in first place. Just because they have the strongest surface within character, Hogwarts itself, magic, and that creepy sensation. It's very similar to it's previous sequel, but this is so much better. Last time, all Ron was was simply a by-standing follower who does absolutely nothing really. He only has like 15 lines in the whole movie. But in this, many beaming lights shine on his face this time. The situation could have been a bit bigger, but at least it's getting somewhere and doing well at it. Meaning it's doing well portraying a journey when all the film pretty well takes place is at Hogwarts. Thats what this series has success at. The first two journeyed through the history of Hogwarts. The next two were pretty well just the understanding of sn uprising evil. But the next two build and build a surface to contain riveting and intense art so that the audience can be on the edge of their seats. Dumbledore's death was truly emotional and not as lame as Serious' death and over-the-top as Cedric's. This movie is shaped so we know what to expect next time. This movie is when the true war begins. And David Yates succeeds so well in entertaining us. The only problem I have with the last three films altogether is that they are very similar, they are said to be the best ones. But they develop so much that by the end it was for nothing. If their spending 8 movies on killing Voldemart, then they must be wasting their time. Te amount books that J.K. Rowling has for Harry potter is too much, but phenomenal for her success. Even though the last book sucks. They need to really get somewhere with this series for once and stop atht chitter chatter that keeps the characters overdwelling on the very little. Anyway, I'd give it a 9.5/10, but a 10/10 if it weren't so pointless. But I guees when you round stuff up, 10/10 is the answer. But I watch a lot of movies. And this was very good. Wortht seeing, it's one of the best Potter films to date. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KramerC.Aug 5, 2008
I loved this movie. It's by far the best Harry Potter movie to date. I saw the very first special screening, and their was a huge aplause. I'm very impressed. It'sa very slapstick and enjoyable movie. I love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanPJul 15, 2009
The best cinematography you will ever see with a brilliant story to go with it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArshdeepJul 15, 2009
It is the best harry potter movie even darker then the second one,david yates has done a really goood job and it shows in his intelligent and pacy movie direction.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MackenzieMJul 16, 2009
I am totally addicted to Harry Potter. I know like every word to all of the movies and now I have another one to remember. Its awesome!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesCaleyJul 16, 2009
This film was wonderful. It captured the mixed tonality of the book perfectly. The younger actors are all growing and the more experienced ones continue to shine. The humor worked every time. The effects where spectacular. All around, a filmThis film was wonderful. It captured the mixed tonality of the book perfectly. The younger actors are all growing and the more experienced ones continue to shine. The humor worked every time. The effects where spectacular. All around, a film worthy of calling itself part of the Harry Potter universe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GermanB.Jul 18, 2009
Loved it!!! The best so far... it's darker, and funny, the performances are really good, the music is beautiful, the cinematography is really good too; in the end, a really good summer blockbuster and a good addition to the series, Loved it!!! The best so far... it's darker, and funny, the performances are really good, the music is beautiful, the cinematography is really good too; in the end, a really good summer blockbuster and a good addition to the series, let´s wait DH:P1. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyMJul 22, 2009
Beautifully understated and bitter sweet - this last ever chance for a little happiness at childhood's end, before we and the gang are plunged headlong into the full-on craziness of the Deathly Hallows!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobCJul 23, 2009
In no way a disappointment, HBP the film IS a faithful take on the book - as one critic put it, in fact, it's a much tighter rendition of the story than Rowling's overwritten original. As for these silly negative comments from In no way a disappointment, HBP the film IS a faithful take on the book - as one critic put it, in fact, it's a much tighter rendition of the story than Rowling's overwritten original. As for these silly negative comments from people who've hated all the Potter films... what did you expect when you went to see HBP? Seriously? Did someone force you at gunpoint to watch a film you had no desire to see? And by that action, did you feel compelled to slate it on Metacritic? Grow up, people. For fans of the films and Harry Potter universe (i.e. those people who WANT to watch this film), be assured that the emotional weight, comedy, romance and horror all add up to the best Potter film yet. Can't wait to see how Yates tops this with the two-part finale. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnF.Jul 20, 2009
This was by far the best film version of one of the Harry Potter books. I really enjoyed the added touches of humor amidst an otherwise very tense and dramatic story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
shikshakJul 26, 2009
This movie is one of the superb among HP series and can keep its viewers excited throughout it.However, as usual its story line has become like summary to the book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleG.Jul 5, 2009
I saw a sneak peak with my friend, and i have to say that this is one of the best harry potter movies out there. Way better than the 5th which was horrible, and if you say it was good, you are not a potter fan.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FredJul 6, 2009
If you want to complain about the voting system, do it some other way than giving legit movies a low score.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AkashKJul 7, 2009
Amazing film. I haven't seen a movie magical like this in 4 years (last one being Goblet of Fire, OOTP disappointed). The art direction was beautiful, the action was amazing, the yellow tinge was a nice touch, and the performances, Amazing film. I haven't seen a movie magical like this in 4 years (last one being Goblet of Fire, OOTP disappointed). The art direction was beautiful, the action was amazing, the yellow tinge was a nice touch, and the performances, especially of the trio, Gambon, Rickman, Broadbent, Smith, and Carter were powerful. If you liked Goblet of Fire, you'll love this! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnSmithSep 27, 2009
Oi all you dickheads that think this film is bad are retarded this is by far the best film of them all. It is actually true to th books and all of you bsbies who are upset that it is actually good now should go suck your bitch of a mother
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VanessaJ.Sep 28, 2009
Daniel your so cute and i really like all harry potter movies and i wish that you come here in Philippines because we love you so much....... and i really love you :) your number one fan here in Philippines, Vanessa joy Castillo :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BalmC.Aug 8, 2008
It's Excellent. Very entertaining and magical. It's more slapstick but less dark and more fun. It reminded me of the first two Potter films. The best one yet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmandaMOct 29, 2009
Best HP movie yet! Makes up for "The Order of the Pheniox" which was extreamly dull. I lvoed how Snape (Alan Rickman) is seen so much in this movie compaired to the others.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
LeeJ.Feb 14, 2009
Really fantastic: Epic and tragic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BryceS.Jul 15, 2009
For those who love the series, this might make you both happy and sad. For both what happens in this movie, alone, or through out the series. It makes you impatient for the final two movies, but also keeps you the viewers entertained and For those who love the series, this might make you both happy and sad. For both what happens in this movie, alone, or through out the series. It makes you impatient for the final two movies, but also keeps you the viewers entertained and wanting more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SheilaSJul 15, 2009
This movie is by far the best from the harry potter franchise. The snogging could have been less, but even so, the acting gets better as this series goes along and that is all one can ask for. i can not wait to see how it all ends.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LauraLJul 15, 2009
I consider this movie the BEST of the BEST! It kept me on the edge of my seat throughout the whole film! I will most likely go see it 5 more times. It is a must see for all HP fans!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobbyM.Jul 15, 2009
Amazing!!!! the best movie in the series since azkaban and one of the best of the year!! cant wait 4 deathly hallows!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidC.Jul 15, 2009
Simply beautiful! I left completely in awe! Everything worked so well together, easily my favorite Potter movie now and I am a hard sell. A must see!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamuelS.Jul 16, 2009
As someone who has read only the first 3 books, this is by far the most captivating installment in the series. Filled wth more laughs and more tears than any to HP movie to date, this masterpiece will not disappoint and -for the first time - As someone who has read only the first 3 books, this is by far the most captivating installment in the series. Filled wth more laughs and more tears than any to HP movie to date, this masterpiece will not disappoint and -for the first time - is a breathtaking watch for fans of the books and movies alike. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanielD.Jul 16, 2009
Excellent Adaptation!! Completely thrilling from beginning to end!! I can't wait for DH1 & 2!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcosPJul 16, 2009
It's is very different from the book, but is the best movie ever. The only thing missed was the information about the other Horcruxes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleshKothariJul 16, 2009
Excellent movie. Spectacular effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanAJul 17, 2009
The best one yet! Thrilling action and set pieces combined with oscar worthy acting and occasionally funny moments make Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince the best movie of the summer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GlenAJul 17, 2009
This is the best Harry potter movie so far! It is very funny and emotional.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
tracydJul 17, 2009
I think that this is one of the best Harry Potter books yet. i love the humor and it had enough action to keep you interested. For anyone that read the book would know that even the book had a lot of snogging and it was more about getting to I think that this is one of the best Harry Potter books yet. i love the humor and it had enough action to keep you interested. For anyone that read the book would know that even the book had a lot of snogging and it was more about getting to see the character mature, there was very little fight scenes in the book as well so I think they did a great job putting into a movie that you could enjoy in only 2 1/2 hours. Well Done!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimD.Jul 18, 2009
A great, exciting,fun, emotional, ride!!!! A real treat for potter fans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshWJul 21, 2009
I had read Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince about three times before I saw the movie and while some of the changes in the movie may have been a little extreme like the burrow burning and not showing the battle of the astronomy tower, I had read Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince about three times before I saw the movie and while some of the changes in the movie may have been a little extreme like the burrow burning and not showing the battle of the astronomy tower, it is a great movie with great acting and really shows how harry ron and hermione are growing up Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenL.Jul 20, 2009
I loved this movie. It was, for me, the best of the series, packed with humour, intelligence, heart and thrills. The visual look of the film is delectable, courtesy of genius DOP Bruno Delbonnel. The acting from all of the cast is stunning, I loved this movie. It was, for me, the best of the series, packed with humour, intelligence, heart and thrills. The visual look of the film is delectable, courtesy of genius DOP Bruno Delbonnel. The acting from all of the cast is stunning, particularly the performances of Broadbent, Felton, Gambon and Rickman. The action is taut and powerful, with the opening attack on London exceptionally realised. The score by Nicholas Hooper is exquisite, and the visual effects are subtly flawless. However, the biggest praise must go to director David Yates and writer Steve Kloves, who masterfully adapt J.K. Rowling's book into a beautiful, lyrical film. I can't pay this movie a higher compliment. It's one of the year's best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShubhamAJul 24, 2009
This is the best potter franchise so far. i loved it. Wonderful job by David Yates after the fifth disappointment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZH.Jul 31, 2009
Although not as close to the book as the other have in the opening scene, the rest of the movie works pretty well. They definitely showed the important parts of the book. For those who are a bit confused, I suggest reading the book (again if Although not as close to the book as the other have in the opening scene, the rest of the movie works pretty well. They definitely showed the important parts of the book. For those who are a bit confused, I suggest reading the book (again if you have already). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanR.Jul 3, 2009
This movie is so great that you forget the mistakes of the old and the 5th, which was the most of the series.... (movie wise).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LindaKJul 5, 2009
Great movie, which entertains on all levels.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerCAug 1, 2009
A wonderful treat for people who have read the book, but they will be quizzed on their ability to tie things together from the book to the movie. You will be very confused watching this without the experience of the book. It is not even A wonderful treat for people who have read the book, but they will be quizzed on their ability to tie things together from the book to the movie. You will be very confused watching this without the experience of the book. It is not even revealed that Dumbledore's hand is black because of the curse from Gaunt's ring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredCAug 12, 2009
The first time I saw Half-Blood Prince was in Disneyland's downtown Disney theatre on July 18 and I didn't get anything out of it. But after recently seeing it a couple of days ago, I found the sixth installment to be the best of The first time I saw Half-Blood Prince was in Disneyland's downtown Disney theatre on July 18 and I didn't get anything out of it. But after recently seeing it a couple of days ago, I found the sixth installment to be the best of the series. People will disagree with me because apparently the adaptation isn't very good. But I don't care how similar or how dissimilar the movie is to the book because I'm just there to watch the movie. And as a whole, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince is swell with romance, humor, and magic. A great setup for Deathly Hallows. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielVAug 12, 2009
Really good movie. It's better than the book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlotteMAug 30, 2009
A little more edgy, a little darker than the other Harry Potter movies. This movie is enjoyable for all ages, and yet, as an adult, it appealed to more than the previous HP films. It has a depth and a complexity (especially with A little more edgy, a little darker than the other Harry Potter movies. This movie is enjoyable for all ages, and yet, as an adult, it appealed to more than the previous HP films. It has a depth and a complexity (especially with Malfoy's character) that the others did not have. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexMAug 30, 2009
I enjoyed all the Harry Potter movies for many reasons, but most of all, just because they were fun. This movie showed Draco Malfoy to be a more complex person than one originally believes, and it adds a new dimension to this particular I enjoyed all the Harry Potter movies for many reasons, but most of all, just because they were fun. This movie showed Draco Malfoy to be a more complex person than one originally believes, and it adds a new dimension to this particular movie. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousMCSep 11, 2009
I thought the movie was generally well done, it kept my attention just like the other Harry Potter's and it added some extra dark elements into it. The only complaint that I would have to say about it is that you do feel it drag on a bitI thought the movie was generally well done, it kept my attention just like the other Harry Potter's and it added some extra dark elements into it. The only complaint that I would have to say about it is that you do feel it drag on a bit in parts, but I come to expect that in any fantasy movie anymore. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SurajGDec 21, 2009
This movie was awesome and better than "Order of the Phoenix", which should have been made into two parts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DebraKJul 15, 2009
EXCELLENT!!! The special effects were outstanding! This is by far the best Harry Potter movie yet!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleyEJul 15, 2009
Although the movies could never live up to the perfection of JK Rowling's Original creation, this movie is as close as you can get in an adaptation. Great Job!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregW.Jul 15, 2009
Superb! Best Movie of the Year, Period!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MiguelT.Jul 16, 2009
So far, the best movie in the Harry Potter series. The story runs at a good pace, the actors give exceptional performances and the visual effects are awesome. It's very entertaining and the "dark" look of the film is great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KrisCoolJul 17, 2009
I think this has to be the best one yet. Look out Oscars 2010 competition called Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince is brewing up a storm.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrandonD.Jul 17, 2009
By far the best Harry Potter movie to date. Obviously there will be some changes when translating a book to a movie, but for the first time I have to say, I'm fine with what they changed. So much so that I think the movie is better than By far the best Harry Potter movie to date. Obviously there will be some changes when translating a book to a movie, but for the first time I have to say, I'm fine with what they changed. So much so that I think the movie is better than the book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DakotaG.Jul 17, 2009
This movie was amazing! It was so awesome to see those certain scenes that ive been waiting since 2005 to see, up on the big screen. This is definitely the best movie of the year!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
S.MJul 19, 2009
Unbelievably entertaining!! Special effects were spot on and visually stunning. I liked the way the characters continue to develop and pull you into their feelings and make you wish you were one of the inner circle. Still, there is so much Unbelievably entertaining!! Special effects were spot on and visually stunning. I liked the way the characters continue to develop and pull you into their feelings and make you wish you were one of the inner circle. Still, there is so much that happens in the book that is left out of the movies. They should be making these in two-parters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZapBJul 22, 2009
I don't know much about the story, as I've never read any of the books, but I do love those brit teen girls. Emma Watson and Bonnie Wright especially... so cute. I love how they look in those uniforms, and how they still look great I don't know much about the story, as I've never read any of the books, but I do love those brit teen girls. Emma Watson and Bonnie Wright especially... so cute. I love how they look in those uniforms, and how they still look great without obvious make-up or anything. I will watch all the Harry Potters just to see those cuties.. definitely worth the price of admission. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinDAug 12, 2009
It genuinely surprises me that some people go so far to consider this the worst movie of the franchise. As someone who really started out hating the Harry Potter movies, this film officially turned me into a Potter fanboy. I enjoyed the It genuinely surprises me that some people go so far to consider this the worst movie of the franchise. As someone who really started out hating the Harry Potter movies, this film officially turned me into a Potter fanboy. I enjoyed the fourth and fifth movies (even though I can't particularly remember much about them), but this one blew me away. Can't wait for the final two films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MitchA.Dec 18, 2009
I'd say HP6 is the best one of the series with a good balence of action and comedy. I say it delievers in a way never thought possible by any Harry Potter movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
geo_thebestNov 7, 2010
Absolutely satisfying! Atmospheric and darker than any previous film, it succeeds in staying loyal to the book as it brings on screen all the things we loved from J.K. Rowling. Superb visual effects and score! It is really epic! Daniel, EmmaAbsolutely satisfying! Atmospheric and darker than any previous film, it succeeds in staying loyal to the book as it brings on screen all the things we loved from J.K. Rowling. Superb visual effects and score! It is really epic! Daniel, Emma and Rupert prove their talent! I was really amazed about how all these inversions in the plot fit only in a two and a half hour film! Loved it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AtTheMoviesJun 18, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Half-Blood Prince is one of the best Potter films. It is dark, emotional, and sleek. The acting is great (especially Alan Rickman) and as always the score is stunning. Those who haven't read the books will find it better then those who have, but fans of the book will still love this. I didn't much like how they sort of brushed over the very important Half-Blood Prince thing, and just have Snape randomly say it at the end. But that aside, this is still a fantastic movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
heyitsmegrif4Dec 17, 2011
Dazzling visuals, some incredible performances stand out Emma Watson, and some emotional depth make this easily one of the best film's in the franchise. I give this film 95% of a good movie.
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
10
MonsieurEamesJul 12, 2012
Another winner for Mr. Yates! He does a terrific job changing the tone from sad, to scary, and even to funny. And the humor is this film is great! It had me laughing out loud at several scenes. Oh, the magic!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
talhalafciDec 20, 2014
Best of the series.It's the darkest, most thrilling, and emotionally deep fantasy film ever.Great CGI sets and visual effects, breathtaking cinematography and marvellous performances from every single member of the tremendous cast.It is aBest of the series.It's the darkest, most thrilling, and emotionally deep fantasy film ever.Great CGI sets and visual effects, breathtaking cinematography and marvellous performances from every single member of the tremendous cast.It is a dramatic triumph. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HaithamBayazeedMay 10, 2013
Harry Potter is a lot more darker than ever it is defiantly a PG-13, it is turning to sexual subjects, a darker past but a well pleasing art!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AReviewsJun 25, 2013
Note: The following movie is darker than a usual PG movie, so for the best, it is certainly a PG-13 movie with more romance, another important note, it may causes a shock from how outstanding the visuals are, and the story is just magical,Note: The following movie is darker than a usual PG movie, so for the best, it is certainly a PG-13 movie with more romance, another important note, it may causes a shock from how outstanding the visuals are, and the story is just magical, and another note, this sequel proves that Harry Potter saga is everlasting movies and books, that will be written in our hearts for life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DibbHansenJul 14, 2013
This film is fantastic! Full of fantasy, comedy, heart, emotion, a very well written script (while it may not be 100% faithful to the book, it still keeps in the most important parts and adds some great stuff in there), awesomeThis film is fantastic! Full of fantasy, comedy, heart, emotion, a very well written script (while it may not be 100% faithful to the book, it still keeps in the most important parts and adds some great stuff in there), awesome cinematography, spectacular acting (everyone in here is fantastic!), eye popping visuals and beautiful music (Nicholas Hooper really does a perfect job here): this film boasts it all. This is another one of the BEST Harry Potter films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
damien_k98Apr 29, 2015
Harry Potter And The Half Blood Prince is the funniest of the Harry Potter's. I believe that a long running franchise should at least have one movie in the series to be the funniest and that's were Half Blood Prince stands. The movie stillHarry Potter And The Half Blood Prince is the funniest of the Harry Potter's. I believe that a long running franchise should at least have one movie in the series to be the funniest and that's were Half Blood Prince stands. The movie still keeps that Harry Potter feeling and I did shed tears at the end, but Half Blood Prince is the best summer movie of 2009 and one of my favorite Harry Potter movies! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Rutger-KikkertJun 5, 2016
Very entertaining and very intriguing at some points too. This movie looks amazing, has an incredible score and great acting. Maybe not a flawless movie, but the flaws it had weren't bothering me.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
FuturedirectorApr 15, 2017
Conserving its witty style and glorious performances, Harry Potter and the Half-blood Prince keeps taking the saga even better every time. Harry Potter's fans will no be disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SonicHD7May 31, 2017
As Death Eaters wreak havoc in both Muggle and Wizard worlds, Hogwarts is no longer a safe haven for students. Though Harry (Daniel Radcliffe) suspects there are new dangers lurking within the castle walls, Dumbledore is more intent than everAs Death Eaters wreak havoc in both Muggle and Wizard worlds, Hogwarts is no longer a safe haven for students. Though Harry (Daniel Radcliffe) suspects there are new dangers lurking within the castle walls, Dumbledore is more intent than ever on preparing the young wizard for the final battle with Voldemort. Meanwhile, teenage hormones run rampant through Hogwarts, presenting a different sort of danger. Love may be in the air, but tragedy looms, and Hogwarts may never be the same again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NickB.Jul 18, 2009
Loved the film-noir style. Also, the juxtaposition of teenage relationships and the not-so-distant war was superb. It was nice to see a Harry Potter movie that was more about developing emotion, character and intent. This movie is intended Loved the film-noir style. Also, the juxtaposition of teenage relationships and the not-so-distant war was superb. It was nice to see a Harry Potter movie that was more about developing emotion, character and intent. This movie is intended to be the "calm before the storm" that will be the adaptations of the 7th book, and it does so in an emotionally satisfying way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoradTJul 19, 2009
I thought the film was fantastic. Although it did not have as much action as the other films it certainly was able to capture a dark atmosphere very well. Most people seem to say that if you haven't read the book you won't really I thought the film was fantastic. Although it did not have as much action as the other films it certainly was able to capture a dark atmosphere very well. Most people seem to say that if you haven't read the book you won't really understand the plot but I understood it just fine and I haven't read any of the Harry Potter series. The movie overall was very balanced. Great acting, CGI, emotion and atmosphere make this something for everyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanaWJul 20, 2009
Great HP movie...perfect lead-up to the two last movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonathanAAug 2, 2009
Beautiful cinematography, an immaculate ensemble, and a storyline that brilliantly mixes the humor of teenage lovestrucks with mystery and horror elements. I liked it a ton.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WoutNAug 7, 2009
Wow... I think this was almost the best Harry Potter movie. It was darker then other, and the actors were actually good! Well... better then last movies. But I liked watching this one!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
memoJul 15, 2009
I agree that the film was a bit imbalanced in terms of romatic comedy vs. developing major plot points and serious moments. That is my main problem with the film; otherwise it was beautiful, very funny and touching, intense, thrilling, true I agree that the film was a bit imbalanced in terms of romatic comedy vs. developing major plot points and serious moments. That is my main problem with the film; otherwise it was beautiful, very funny and touching, intense, thrilling, true to the book (particularly the cave scene), and standout acting from Tom Felton, Daniel Radcliffe and Rupert Grint, good acting from Emma Watson, and wonderful acting from Jim Broadbent. Good job, Yates and co! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeRJul 16, 2009
I loved this new installment. I saw the movies devotion to the often bleak mood of the book through its enthralling cinimatography and set decoration. As a resonalble fan of the story, that's all that mattered to me in the end. In other I loved this new installment. I saw the movies devotion to the often bleak mood of the book through its enthralling cinimatography and set decoration. As a resonalble fan of the story, that's all that mattered to me in the end. In other news Radcliffe is getting better, Jim Broadbent was fantastic, and Alan Rickman is cool as always. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnT.Jul 16, 2009
I really enjoyed this movie as a film not an adaption. If i reviewed this as a loyal adaption of the movie, i would have been scaving as i was frustrated with its differences to the book. But the film was funny, dark and kept you fixiated to I really enjoyed this movie as a film not an adaption. If i reviewed this as a loyal adaption of the movie, i would have been scaving as i was frustrated with its differences to the book. But the film was funny, dark and kept you fixiated to the screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveWJul 19, 2009
Lived up to the hype, again the 'kids movie' title was dropped. The 'gang' is growing up, and the director's are choosing to highlight this with the subsequent mood and body language of every character involved. Lived up to the hype, again the 'kids movie' title was dropped. The 'gang' is growing up, and the director's are choosing to highlight this with the subsequent mood and body language of every character involved. Although director David Yates was obviously playing with the plot to suite the final installments, the story told was nothing but perfection. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JaymeeBJul 20, 2009
Excellent screenplay. The movie was able to condense the book and all its nuances and side stories into a tight 2 1/2 hour movie. It may have missed the characterization and development of Voldermort as the arch-nemesis of Harry Potter, but Excellent screenplay. The movie was able to condense the book and all its nuances and side stories into a tight 2 1/2 hour movie. It may have missed the characterization and development of Voldermort as the arch-nemesis of Harry Potter, but overall it paints a convincing picture of the 6th installment of the Potter story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BryanKJul 23, 2009
Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince was by far the best film of the series since Chamber of Secrets in 2002. After the good third and fourth entries and the average fifth entry, This film did everything right. The film was comical in a Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince was by far the best film of the series since Chamber of Secrets in 2002. After the good third and fourth entries and the average fifth entry, This film did everything right. The film was comical in a sense and left the movie crowd laughing. Many things became the subject of jokes including the fact it has been eight years since the series began and yet the cast is to be in their late teenage years. One scene has Dumblerdore taking a magazine to pursue his sewing. Several items from previous items including Tom Riddle's diary and the map which monitors everyone's movements from the third film. The film however was dark like previous entries and had some grim situations. A major character dies which was depressing, yet realistic. It will most likely affect the next film in many ways. Their was a romantic kiss between Harry and Ron's sister Ginnie which was nice and assisted the film in small ways. The only major problem with the film was not a true confrontation between the Dark Lord and Harry which makes this the second film in which he does not appear. Overall an excellent entry which makes up for the weaknesses of the fifth film and defines the series in every way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HaydenMJul 25, 2009
Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince does not disappoint. The characters are likable(like always), the plot is great, and the director did a magnificent job including all of the important parts that were in the book. This Harry Potter film Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince does not disappoint. The characters are likable(like always), the plot is great, and the director did a magnificent job including all of the important parts that were in the book. This Harry Potter film adaptation is pretty close to the book, with everything being included except for a few minor scenes. David Yates's directing has improved since he did Order of the Phoenix, which left a lot of important parts out. I was amazed by this improvement. This is the second best Harry Potter film, right behind Goblet of Fire. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomaBJul 20, 2009
Although i had some issues with this one , i still enjoyed the film a lot! good balance between romance and more seroius stuff. I liked the latter more. The cave scene was brilliant! I guess Harry Ginny relationship is not shown in the best Although i had some issues with this one , i still enjoyed the film a lot! good balance between romance and more seroius stuff. I liked the latter more. The cave scene was brilliant! I guess Harry Ginny relationship is not shown in the best way, but the books is no better in this one for me so not big deal. I totally loved Lavender. The bottom line i can't think of anyone not enjoying ,at least a bit, the last installment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ArticXJul 15, 2009
Best of the series, there's no doubt. It even links and closes some plots better than the source material, Rowling's book, which is just incredible. Of course, some scenes are missing and some action is added, but that's just Best of the series, there's no doubt. It even links and closes some plots better than the source material, Rowling's book, which is just incredible. Of course, some scenes are missing and some action is added, but that's just necesary for a film adaptation -you have to remember, it's not a book anymore, the pace HAS to be different, and therefore, some minor changes have to be made to keep you interested. And even with that changes, it's one of the most faithfull adaptations, maybe after the first two -which were ABSOLUTELY faithfull, which is not really good. Why? Again; it's a film, not a book. This one is entertaining, moving... well, immersive. Great photograhy, even greater GCI, well-connected plot (as I said, better than the book in some places). It's a 9 film for me. But not a 10, because further mention and research of the Half-Blood Prince identity and Voldemort's would have been really helpfull. But I can forgive that, because the rest of the film is amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SamJJul 15, 2009
Best Potter film in a long time. Some changes will leave fans wondering why they were made, but the over all story is intact and is very enjoyable. Acting was superb, I even thought that Radcliffe did a great job.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AliciaAJul 15, 2009
Best movie yet. Missing some details, but what do you expect with a two and half hourish movie. I think it captures the feeling of the book much better than any of the previous ones. This felt more like a movie. Even though I knew what was Best movie yet. Missing some details, but what do you expect with a two and half hourish movie. I think it captures the feeling of the book much better than any of the previous ones. This felt more like a movie. Even though I knew what was going to happen, I still captured me. There are some clues to the next installment if you pay attention enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewJul 15, 2009
Fans who read the books may be left with a sense of anti-climax with the ending. Other than that, this is easily the best Harry Potter movie yet. Simple as that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnJul 15, 2009
Overall, it was a very good movie. It was dramatic, romantic, and at times violent. However, I gave it a 9 because they made the ending too sad to conclude a movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MatthewRJul 16, 2009
There is no doubt to the fact that this film should have been absolutely terrible. It wasn't. It's beautifully artistic both visually and linguistcally and can still get the enjoyable funny laughs when it wants to. It never once There is no doubt to the fact that this film should have been absolutely terrible. It wasn't. It's beautifully artistic both visually and linguistcally and can still get the enjoyable funny laughs when it wants to. It never once during the movie did the producers seemed like they were 'overdoing' it. Small parts can sometimes seem boring and irrelavent, but completely worth your money to see. 90% *** Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RossBJul 16, 2009
Fantastic , absolutely loved it. My favourite of the films so far, for afew reasons -1. there is no bad acting, as much as i love azkaban there are some terrible acting moments in that.....2.the cinemtagrophy is stunning.....3.funniest of Fantastic , absolutely loved it. My favourite of the films so far, for afew reasons -1. there is no bad acting, as much as i love azkaban there are some terrible acting moments in that.....2.the cinemtagrophy is stunning.....3.funniest of the films yet with a great script, ...and 4.most emotional by far, everyhing has much more weight and consequence....it may be building up to the really good stuff at the end, but man what a build up. Fantastic! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewJul 18, 2009
The movie was extremely well done. If I had not been such a Harry Potter fan I would have probably enjoyed it a little more. I understand that some changes and cuts must be made in order to not have a 10 hour movie, however, a couple of theseThe movie was extremely well done. If I had not been such a Harry Potter fan I would have probably enjoyed it a little more. I understand that some changes and cuts must be made in order to not have a 10 hour movie, however, a couple of these changes and cuts did hinder the storytelling of the movie. The way the book presented some of the information led to a much bigger shock and greater suspense and sense of mystery throughout. Except for those couple alterations, the movie was otherwise a masterpiece. I highly recommend it to Potter fans and non-Potter fans alike. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
guyJul 24, 2009
[***SPOILER***] I myself have actually read all seven of the harry potter books, and I absolutely love them. That feeling of reading a book then watching the movie conversion is just so rewarding (unless, of course, it's eragon). I [***SPOILER***] I myself have actually read all seven of the harry potter books, and I absolutely love them. That feeling of reading a book then watching the movie conversion is just so rewarding (unless, of course, it's eragon). I walked into the theater expecting to see only one thing: the zombies, and i'm happy to report that they were'nt at all absent. The only thing I would've suggested would be to make it a little more intense, but other than that, flawless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidHJul 27, 2009
I've only been excited for another harry potter movie once before, this was for goblet of fire after having seen the wonderful movie that was prisoner of azkaban, this same thing has happened to me for half blood prince and i am I've only been excited for another harry potter movie once before, this was for goblet of fire after having seen the wonderful movie that was prisoner of azkaban, this same thing has happened to me for half blood prince and i am honestly anxious to see the next installment Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BarneeBJul 28, 2009
Very well made! It was a great movie, anyone can enjoy it, but only people who read the books will fully understand what's going on. There were some unnecessarily boring scenes, but overally I liked it. Of course the movie fails to give Very well made! It was a great movie, anyone can enjoy it, but only people who read the books will fully understand what's going on. There were some unnecessarily boring scenes, but overally I liked it. Of course the movie fails to give you the emotional punch, the book did so well, but it's by no means a bad movie. Every HP fan should go and see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JuraMJul 28, 2009
Perhaps the best in the movie series, and the movie of the year. Despite disappointing some cinema-goers with a total remove of the fun and playful magic seen in the earliest movies the film stays as close as it can to it's page-turning Perhaps the best in the movie series, and the movie of the year. Despite disappointing some cinema-goers with a total remove of the fun and playful magic seen in the earliest movies the film stays as close as it can to it's page-turning roots. The life and death of the later books are well reflected in this movies. With only some disappointments to the book-readers such as the anti climax "fight" at the end. Managing to retain most of the actors youthful appearances added to the atmosphere. This proves any doubters harry potter can still make a fantastic translation to the screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexKJul 30, 2009
Awesome like the others, wonderful story filming writing. Great and appeals at everyone. Even the elderly man in front of me was laughing and excited.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GregQAug 27, 2009
The best HP yet. Great character development and story-telling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CDAug 8, 2009
Extremely beautiful movie. Although there are a couple of odd scenes; people kissing to the right in the middle of one of the darkest scenes with Malfoy, the parts with Ginny, the whole showing of "Harry is old enough to kiss now"-part and Extremely beautiful movie. Although there are a couple of odd scenes; people kissing to the right in the middle of one of the darkest scenes with Malfoy, the parts with Ginny, the whole showing of "Harry is old enough to kiss now"-part and so on, it had some great effects, very nice (and spectacularly different) images, and an experimenting change between the different genres. The part from when Harry drinks the potion of luck and 15-20 minutes ahead, is almost Tarantino'ish in it's dialogue and acidness, which made it some of the best couple of minutes I've seen in a while in a non-Tarantino movie. I usually hate the Harry Potter-movies, but this one was almost half as good as the book! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LuizFNov 16, 2009
The movie isn't marvellous and isn't a disaster too. For me, It's like a previous for an incredible movie that we'll see in next november. Scenes were added, the attack on Weasley's house was espetaculary made. But, The movie isn't marvellous and isn't a disaster too. For me, It's like a previous for an incredible movie that we'll see in next november. Scenes were added, the attack on Weasley's house was espetaculary made. But, not necessary things were included and necessary facts weren't shown. Because of that scenes, I gave HP'n HBP 9. Very good movie! Expand
8 of 9 users found this helpful