Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 11, 2007
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 818 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
586
Mixed:
133
Negative:
99
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
GoldenEye16Aug 21, 2010
Aside from the fantastic dementor attack at the beginning, this movie was pretty much not good. WHAT happened at the end in the department of mysteries? All of the shelves just start falling down and there was no cool wand battling in theAside from the fantastic dementor attack at the beginning, this movie was pretty much not good. WHAT happened at the end in the department of mysteries? All of the shelves just start falling down and there was no cool wand battling in the different rooms like in the book. That was the best part of the book and they left it out. The fifth book has a lot of really good important stuff and moments that they either butchered or just left out. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
4
DoctorSpacemanJul 5, 2012
A disappointment. The worst in the series by far, and as Daniel Radcliffe gets older his attempts at acting get more pathetic. Julie Andrews clearly should have played Umbridge- they have all the money in the world, couldn't they have madeA disappointment. The worst in the series by far, and as Daniel Radcliffe gets older his attempts at acting get more pathetic. Julie Andrews clearly should have played Umbridge- they have all the money in the world, couldn't they have made that happen? Butchers the best book in the series, unfotunately. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
ZilcellMay 25, 2012
It still entertains, but this is the weakest Harry Potter movie of them all.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
cameronmorewoodNov 8, 2012
Potter isn't the same in the Order of the Phoenix. The fantastical bliss has turned to a dark sadness, but there is a determination about the film that keeps it worthy. The signature franchise visuals are also in full bloom.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
PaulD.Aug 11, 2007
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix fails on many levels. To put things simply, shoddy writing is the film's major flaw, but not the only one. Uninspired and ultimately weak (And often awkward) direction is not helped in the task Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix fails on many levels. To put things simply, shoddy writing is the film's major flaw, but not the only one. Uninspired and ultimately weak (And often awkward) direction is not helped in the task of making up for a lackluster script (More interested in ripping basic ideas from the book than exploring them in any detail) by an uninspired performance by an increasingly useless lead. Radcliffe's performance is stiff and lifeless, particularly in emotional scenes, such as those where has a go at this friends. Meanwhile, Warner Brothers set design continues their desire to make the mundain extraordinary, by making the Ministry of Magic - a conceivably dull place (Being a Governmental building) perhaps more impressive that Hogwarts itself. A big no-no. The book's most important scene, one in which Dumbledore shows Harry the Prophecy and tells him "everything", is butchered in a couple of awkward and considerably less well-conceived scenes. One scene in this set is considerably awkward and difficult to watch, being as it is so clearly out of place. It seems that after the series' superb fourth chapter, things have slipped to previously unheard of lows for Harry Potter. Even strong appearances from new cast members Imelda Staunton and Evana Lynch cannot rescue this train wreck. Avoid this movie at all costs. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JohnS.Jul 11, 2007
This film was about half the length needed to do the book justice. Rushed and disjointed, missing some of the best scenes from the book and drastically reworking what was left in. The most unrealized potential of any of the films... tragic.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
TheQuietGamerMar 19, 2011
This has to be the worst Harry Potter movie I've seen so far, the darker tone makes this unenjoyable, the story is good but nowhere near what the others were, and the humor that was in the other movies is completely absent making this unenjoyable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
RyanDJul 14, 2007
When are directors gonna stop improving and follow the story so as to not ruin future films and story lines?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ShaneSJul 20, 2007
Books are not films, of course, and that's why films should always take liberties with the source material. I've never been one to deny it. One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest is an example of a film that acted as an Books are not films, of course, and that's why films should always take liberties with the source material. I've never been one to deny it. One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest is an example of a film that acted as an interpretation and not a flat-out cut-and-paste to screen. The latter is lazy film making. This fifth Harry Potter was rife with choices, but most of them were poor choices. Characters are left underdeveloped, suspense is nowhere and--as opposed to, say, Prisoner of Azkaban--it lacks imagination and the visual verve that should define the series. One might gather that the film's largely expository parts act solely as necessary buildups to some climax and they never act on their own. A film should never, ever, be about the payoff: everything in-between matters just as much as the fireworks finish. And Rowling has a fundamental difficulty with her imagination that I cannot ignore and that I have long wanted to point out. She only plays at knowing her world, but when she hits a creative wall, she inserts some magnificent and magical plot device to move along the action and stir some tension. By that method, she leeches and manipulates us all into believing her world. She did it in Goblet of Fire with the triwizard tournament. Somehow a large maze appeared and there were other massive geographical elements that had heretofore been absent. To me, that's inept storytelling and, in fact, it cheats not only her readers, but her otherwise imaginative self. Now I can understand to an extent because people often rush her creative process along, but the effect is diminished by it and the story's credibility disintegrates evermore because of it. In Order of the Phoenix she added "the Room of Requirement," which I'll refrain from explaining in the interest of people who have yet to see the film--just take my word for it. But most importantly, the characters needed some development to make the themes more potent. The book exceeded 800 pages and clearly that complicates matters. A solution would be to break the film into two parts and release them separately. Ironically, the fifth book was my favorite in the series thus far (the seventh to be completed soon), but the adaptation was my least favorite of all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JonnyF.Sep 1, 2007
It had it's moments, but Goldenberg's screenplay was laughable. A confused mess. Very few of the children have improved as actors. I am not anticipating the next movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ShoR.Jul 11, 2007
This film was a major disappointment to this die-hard fan of the Harry Potter book and movie series. Big booms, no chemistry. Daniel Radcliffe's acting was good. Everyone else's was uninspired, except the Luna Lovegood role which This film was a major disappointment to this die-hard fan of the Harry Potter book and movie series. Big booms, no chemistry. Daniel Radcliffe's acting was good. Everyone else's was uninspired, except the Luna Lovegood role which was played badly. The director fell down on the job. This cast can do and has done so much better in the past. There were major plot holes due to poor choices of what to keep and what to cut from the original story. Bellatrix LeStrange's costumer should beg for forgiveness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AmberL.Jul 12, 2007
The movie butchered the book and changed things ,not just left out, of the story. Someone who never has read the books will be fine watching this movie, but the rest of us will be highly disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DanJul 14, 2007
Tolerable as a movie, but it strays too far from the book. Scenes were changed around and whole scenes that I found to very important to the story were left our, which, frankly, pissed me off.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
StanleyF.Jul 17, 2007
I found the movie reasonably enjoyable, with good special effects and action sequences. However, after a good start it quickly became rather jerky and telegraphic in pacing. I suspect many not familiar with the story may find it confusing. I found the movie reasonably enjoyable, with good special effects and action sequences. However, after a good start it quickly became rather jerky and telegraphic in pacing. I suspect many not familiar with the story may find it confusing. Because of the frenetic editing style, character development was limited. I also found the egregious addition of a new type of attack magic detracted from the believability of the climactic sequence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MaxS.Sep 2, 2007
Worst in the series. Its over before it gets going, and leaves a lot of content from the book out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
LarryH.Jul 11, 2007
Completely unfaithful to the book. I love the HP books as well as the movies. But this was a complete bastardization. I sure hope the 6th and 7th movies will be better than this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
jenbJul 12, 2007
'Ho Hum' is the only phrase I can use to describe this movie really which is in the end left me feeling disappointed. Of course the book went on for far too long but the ending of HP and The Order of The Phoenix was it's 'Ho Hum' is the only phrase I can use to describe this movie really which is in the end left me feeling disappointed. Of course the book went on for far too long but the ending of HP and The Order of The Phoenix was it's strong point, very emotional and shocking, something which was not conveyed in the movie adequately. When Sirius dies in the book it is one of the saddest parts of all the HP books, and the emotion just didn't come through. Whether that is from bad directing or acting... maybe a combination of the two I don't know. On a brighter note, I thought Imelda Staunton, Gary Oldman and Evanna Lynch were all impressive. I hope this director 'gets it' for the next one. He has far better material to work with so you would bloody well hope so. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GodComplexJul 12, 2007
Not good. Not bad. Suprisingly mundane. Save your time and read the books...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
WesleyJul 13, 2007
I have to disagree with the large amount of votes here and say this was the worst of the Potter films so far. Even if you excuse the very slow start, the pacing was way off, and many characters were left just worrying about Harry rather than I have to disagree with the large amount of votes here and say this was the worst of the Potter films so far. Even if you excuse the very slow start, the pacing was way off, and many characters were left just worrying about Harry rather than being developed at all. I place a lot of the blame on the fact that screenwriter Steve Kloves was apparently moved forward to the more important sixth movie, and this movie was put in the hands of "Bed of Roses" and "Contact" screenwriter Michael Goldenberg. The choppy direction by David Yates does little more than attempt to sloppily mimic the two great directors that preceded him. Let's hope for better in the future. I left the theatre for the first time disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
LeahJul 13, 2007
It was an all right movie, but the "rushed" factor is definitely becoming a problem as the books get longer and more complex. It bothers me when in a movie transcribed from a book, little details are rearranged and altered for no reason, and It was an all right movie, but the "rushed" factor is definitely becoming a problem as the books get longer and more complex. It bothers me when in a movie transcribed from a book, little details are rearranged and altered for no reason, and that seemed to happen constantly in this movie. I know that for times sake this must be the case, but why couldn't Moody show Harry the photo of the Order, and why did Cho rat the DA out, and why wasn't Sirius simply stunned instead of Avada Kedavra'ed, and why hasn't Peeves been in any of the movies, therefore preventing the Weasley's from uttering what is arguably the best line of the book, "give her hell from us, Peeves." The entire end of the movie was terrible. What happened to Harry screaming at Dumbledore in his office? What happened to, "Harry, I'm going to tell you everything." These were big moments in the book, and some of the most emotional, and they were reduced to nothing. The thing that probably bothers me the most, however, is Dumbledore. He has none of the wit and charm he possesses in the book. Bellowing "don't you have studying to do?" and being visibly pissed off in front of students is nothing something that is completely uncharacteristic of Dumbledore. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MichaelL.Jul 14, 2007
Does not follow the book, characters too flat not developed. Story line too rushed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BrianJul 16, 2007
As a harry potter virgin, i was a little bit lost and a bit unsure as to what all the hype was about. its an entertaining movie with nice special effects and a beautiful setting but thats about it. its nothing special.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DavidKJul 17, 2007
I'm a huge Harry Potter Fan. I have read all the books to date and have also seen all the movies (god knows why as most of them have disappointed me) and this Film has to be the second worst. after the third being the worst. ill explain I'm a huge Harry Potter Fan. I have read all the books to date and have also seen all the movies (god knows why as most of them have disappointed me) and this Film has to be the second worst. after the third being the worst. ill explain my Views. the third being the worst as the main story of the book was twisted and rearranged into the film it screwed up the book. and this new film disappointed me as it missed out much of the plot and most of all the final battle although may have been ok in the film the Book version is longer and more thrilling therefore 3 times better than the film. on there own the harry potter films are all fairly great but. as some one who has read all the books. they are on the bulk unfaithful and miss seriously important parts of the plot. my advice if your one who loves the films read the books. they are much better. if you have read the books but not watched the films. then don't expect much or if possible avoid the films p.s 4th and 2nd films are the best. that saying the second film missed out a vital part of the story that did not add much to the 2nd film/story b But does explain a lot in the 6th book those of you who don't know what I'm on about its the cupboard in the dark shop that harry ends up in that is in fact a teleporter which leads to another teleporter inside the room of requirements. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BryanN.Jul 17, 2007
Don't get me wrong alright, I'm a harry potter fan, I read all the books. I thought the movie HPPOA was bad, but order of the phoenix was worse. To be honest, the order of the phoenix runs pale in comparison with with he goblet of Don't get me wrong alright, I'm a harry potter fan, I read all the books. I thought the movie HPPOA was bad, but order of the phoenix was worse. To be honest, the order of the phoenix runs pale in comparison with with he goblet of fire and also transformers, seeing that I gave those two movies a 9. Oh yes, you get to reminiscent about some magical melodies just like good old times but the movie was just too cramped up with only stuff needed for plot advancement. Luna was extraordinary interesting to watch though. Probably a 6.5 would suffice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AndrewN.Jul 19, 2007
Unfortunately this turned out to be mundane rather than magic. The storyline was too disjointed and poorly paced and at times bulked out by complete filler, house elves and trolls should have been left out altogether. Overall it lacked drama Unfortunately this turned out to be mundane rather than magic. The storyline was too disjointed and poorly paced and at times bulked out by complete filler, house elves and trolls should have been left out altogether. Overall it lacked drama and the climax (usually the best part of each Potter film) was only mediocre. The Dumbledore,voldemort clash was completely undermined. Ironically the people who will enjoy this are the people who have not read the book. For me, its only adequate. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MortezaHJul 24, 2007
Lacks the quality of the previous movies in the series. The acting of the three main characters is immature and makes you want to vomit halfway through the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DanaMJul 29, 2007
Boring and depressing. My wife fell aseep and folks were leaving halfway through. Stuck it out but wished I'd seen something else. And for the record I've seen them all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MikeN.Aug 15, 2007
The first hour is gripping, thanks largely to Radcliffe.. The final forty-five minutes are also excellent, displaying superb effects and cinematography. Especially effective at the end is the gradual broadening of the field of vision, which The first hour is gripping, thanks largely to Radcliffe.. The final forty-five minutes are also excellent, displaying superb effects and cinematography. Especially effective at the end is the gradual broadening of the field of vision, which makes the final fight sequence seem positively titanic. Unfortunately the middle of the film is an awkward montage of plot points and snippets of dialogue culled from the book. It is fairly amusing and cleverly done, but it is no substitute for an actual story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
NopieT.Aug 4, 2007
I was going to write that this is the best of the HP films, but as I reflect further, I think that sentiment arises chiefly from lowered expectations brought on by how disappointing the first four movies have been. Each of them, including I was going to write that this is the best of the HP films, but as I reflect further, I think that sentiment arises chiefly from lowered expectations brought on by how disappointing the first four movies have been. Each of them, including Order of the Phoenix, leaves me shaking my head thinking of opportunities lost. It seems like the various directors have a check list of plot points from the books that they feel must be covered, regardless of whether they work cinematically. Again, Order of the Phoenix is no exception. I wish at least one of the directors would have had the courage to try to make a great movie rather than make a film of a Harry Potter book. For a "good vs. evil" film to really work, the audience must have an opportunity to get to know and detest the villain. On a day-to-day basis, the most constant villain in Harry's life is Snape. Yet he rarely gets a line and never gets screen time without Harry. As a consequence, he never becomes anything more than a stick figure - certainly he is no where near "real" enough to hate. The same goes for Draco Malfoy. If the movies spent as much time developing the dark side of life at Hogwarts, Harry's victories at the climax of each book would be much more significant and moving to the audience. On the plus side, I thought Radcliffe's acting was much improved, Helena Bohnam Carter was a welcome addition, and the cinematography was excellent (best since Prisoner of Azkaban). Sadly, the actors playing Ron and Hermione are still terrible, and Michael Gambon completely fails in showing the wisdom, kindness, and wit that make Dumbledore such a delightful character. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JGMSep 17, 2007
Perhaps the Harry Potter saga took seven books to tell; it sure isn't supporting as many movies. This is easily the worst of the Potter films, full of moments that feel been-there, done that both within and outside the series itself. Perhaps the Harry Potter saga took seven books to tell; it sure isn't supporting as many movies. This is easily the worst of the Potter films, full of moments that feel been-there, done that both within and outside the series itself. The narrative structure is identical to the last two films and is tired here; Harry and company endure trials leading up to a confrontation with Voldemort. But the writing and directorial approach is a step backwards from the increasingly grown-up and complex execution of the previous installments. Harry's centralization feels forced and false, while the previously razor-sharp Hogwarts faculty seems to have been lobotomized and de-fanged in the face of a silly foil. The climactic wizard-battle is poorly executed, feeling like an out-take from a Star Wars prequel before the CGI backgrounds were finished; the death of a key character -- which should be the emotional punch the movie needs -- carries little emotional resonance. Of course the basic premise is still hugely appealing, and the actors continue to grow into their roles, but overall this is a huge disappointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
KentC.Jan 13, 2008
Boring. I've never read the books, but I've seen every movie except prisoner of Azkaban, and most of those had some kind of purpose. This movie didn't seem to be anything more than a filler. Although one important figure dies Boring. I've never read the books, but I've seen every movie except prisoner of Azkaban, and most of those had some kind of purpose. This movie didn't seem to be anything more than a filler. Although one important figure dies (everyone in the audience literally cried, which was very awkward for me) there was nothing else that really happened in this movie. The movies seem to be declining in terms of quality, with chamber of secrets being the best and this being the worst, in my opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
XeannahL.Oct 28, 2008
Really, it has too many problems but nevertheless, having the movie is better than having none at all. If you have read the book first, you'd say it's not very good (and I say that). There were a lot of deleted scenes that were Really, it has too many problems but nevertheless, having the movie is better than having none at all. If you have read the book first, you'd say it's not very good (and I say that). There were a lot of deleted scenes that were vividly described in the book. However, taking the book's length into consideration, the movie was a fine one--and given this observation, I'd expect the upcoming HP Movies to be very much the same as this (since the two remaining books are about as thick as The Order of the Phoenix. So I guess I'd better watch the movie first before reading it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
FreaksDec 21, 2007
This film was decent. It did not do the books justice as it was far too short and did not include some main elements, such as the wit that Rowling manages to carefully exert into her books. It somehow manages to keep our interests though, This film was decent. It did not do the books justice as it was far too short and did not include some main elements, such as the wit that Rowling manages to carefully exert into her books. It somehow manages to keep our interests though, because as the movie goes on, we find ourselves hoping for more. The ending was...understandable, although I would have preferred the ending written in the book. Nobody other than Harry was supposed to find out the prophecy, and I believe that this is a key feature in the books as Harry in later books learns how important love is. Although the ending made me cry as it really was great (when he was saved by love through his friends), it wasn't as written and Rowling was spot on originally. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BobS.Jul 11, 2007
Kind of crappy. i realize that to make the movie watchable, they have to take out a bunch of things that are in the book, and hey, thats alright. but you don't have to change what you do keep in the film. there were a lot ofKind of crappy. i realize that to make the movie watchable, they have to take out a bunch of things that are in the book, and hey, thats alright. but you don't have to change what you do keep in the film. there were a lot of inconsistencies between the movie and the film, for instance the prophesy getting in lucius malfoys hands and telling him the prophecy, the fountain not coming to life, the way trelawny gets fired, etc etc. pretty crappy stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
J.KChanJul 11, 2007
The special effects n CGI WOW me sooooo Much!!! WOW its the fifth of the movie... n still never show any improvement.... when order of phoenix brought harry fly with the brooms, can they NOT SO OBVIOUS telling us that they are using blue The special effects n CGI WOW me sooooo Much!!! WOW its the fifth of the movie... n still never show any improvement.... when order of phoenix brought harry fly with the brooms, can they NOT SO OBVIOUS telling us that they are using blue screen~~ anyway Dolores Umbridge was great on acting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChadM.Jul 12, 2007
This movie fails to bring all of the important sub-plots of the book to screen, as scene after scene of shallow acting and poor writing are thrown together. One would think that after playing the same character for four straight movies that This movie fails to bring all of the important sub-plots of the book to screen, as scene after scene of shallow acting and poor writing are thrown together. One would think that after playing the same character for four straight movies that these young actors would have identified more with the frustrations of the declining state of Hogwarts along with pressures of tests that define their careers and tension of struggling friendships, but instead we are left with bland, confused faces as if trying to remember their lines in each scene. Not entirely their fault however as the performances of the young cast are only out-stunk by the terrible script. Again, it must've been a tough feat to fit roughly 900 pages into a 2+ hr movie, but not only does the story not incorporate the tension between Dumbledore and Poter, an important tone to the mood of the book, but each scene comes off entirely too serious without any emotion and not in the least bit connected. Boo David Yates! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DavidMJul 13, 2007
The movie really missed so much of the stuff in the books that it wasn't good. Yes, the book dragged out a lot. Unfortunately, a lot of what made the book so good was the multiple subplots, and great setup for the final battle. For The movie really missed so much of the stuff in the books that it wasn't good. Yes, the book dragged out a lot. Unfortunately, a lot of what made the book so good was the multiple subplots, and great setup for the final battle. For example, when Snape throws Harry out of Occlumency lessons after Harry sees his father bullying Snape, there's a huge sense of desperation in the book - not in the movie. There's also an incredibly important subplot of Ligilimency being used to trick Harry into the whole thing, and so on and so forth. Even aside from that kind of stuff that only people who either are huge fans of HP or have great factual recall will care about, the whole movie seemed rushed. The entire part prior to Dumbledore leaving was basically a bunch of snapshots of various events, with no cohesion in my opinion. Mediocre movie at best, absolutely terrible in comparison to the books. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AmandaGJul 14, 2007
This movie seemed like it was going to be great..but after watching it I am truley let down! Not only did it not follow the book..it just did not compare to the other HP movies..I mean harry potter faced true battles int he other movies but This movie seemed like it was going to be great..but after watching it I am truley let down! Not only did it not follow the book..it just did not compare to the other HP movies..I mean harry potter faced true battles int he other movies but nothing in this one! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SBJul 14, 2007
My favourite of the Harry Potter books ruined on the screen. I don't understand it when movie makers play "artistic licence" when it comes to translating books onto screen. In the end if they decide to chop and change a book to adapt it My favourite of the Harry Potter books ruined on the screen. I don't understand it when movie makers play "artistic licence" when it comes to translating books onto screen. In the end if they decide to chop and change a book to adapt it to the screen, they may as well not have based it on any book in the first place. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
sueo.Jul 15, 2007
A disappointment i must say.sorry to all fans who think the 5th installment is great. I've read the book,and would understand if the director can't make the movie 100% like what was written in the book, however, most things haveA disappointment i must say.sorry to all fans who think the 5th installment is great. I've read the book,and would understand if the director can't make the movie 100% like what was written in the book, however, most things have been changed and character development seems lacking, so does the actions. I just hope that the 6th movie would be the greatest as it is even more messier and more complicated that the rest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DanielD.Jul 17, 2007
Ending was exciting, but the rest of the movie just wasn't good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ryanbJul 18, 2007
This movie was really good up till the end then it just sucked
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AlexJul 19, 2007
Overall a good movie. Compared to the last two, this is a significant drop in quality. It got very slow in the middle, and was very confusing at parts ( as I am not a reader of the books yet). The acting was mediocre with a couple Overall a good movie. Compared to the last two, this is a significant drop in quality. It got very slow in the middle, and was very confusing at parts ( as I am not a reader of the books yet). The acting was mediocre with a couple exceptions. After seeing Goblet I was dying to see it again. After this one, I'm just going to wait to see Blood Prince. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
HelpUJul 19, 2009
Heeeeey. a movie about the most popular, lamest book ever created. I actually had enough time on my hands and I was so bored I actually read them all. Something I noticed is that without the book you are lost beyond belief, but it is mildly Heeeeey. a movie about the most popular, lamest book ever created. I actually had enough time on my hands and I was so bored I actually read them all. Something I noticed is that without the book you are lost beyond belief, but it is mildly entertaining, when i say that i mean the last action scene where everything goes crazy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
WilliamTDec 21, 2007
The fifth film's decent but it feels rushed and doesn't seem to flesh out the story as well as the others. Still worth watching if you're mad about all things Potter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ZiftKDec 26, 2007
Laughable at best. With poor acting, and drama beyond drama queen, this movie was utter garbage. They had scenes that were irrelevant beyond imagination. IE) That dumb Voldemort smiling and stretching his arms out vividly. All in all, poor Laughable at best. With poor acting, and drama beyond drama queen, this movie was utter garbage. They had scenes that were irrelevant beyond imagination. IE) That dumb Voldemort smiling and stretching his arms out vividly. All in all, poor excuse for a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
nboley08Aug 16, 2010
I feel bad for reviewing this film so low, because it was done pretty well and the performances were very good for the first time in the series. However, the plot is so boring and so ridiculously "unmagical" that it makes liking this filmI feel bad for reviewing this film so low, because it was done pretty well and the performances were very good for the first time in the series. However, the plot is so boring and so ridiculously "unmagical" that it makes liking this film nearly impossible. Umbridge is just annoying rather than her evil version that is in the book, and the movie fails to put many of the gigantic book's minor plot points into the film. The fact that Sirius died in this film didn't help my opinion either. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
HasrionaJul 20, 2011
A relatively poor entry, to be frank. Doing no justice to the book, Order of the Phoenix consists of nothing more but disappointment after disappointment. Sure, they are some positive features, namely the acting of the older cast and theA relatively poor entry, to be frank. Doing no justice to the book, Order of the Phoenix consists of nothing more but disappointment after disappointment. Sure, they are some positive features, namely the acting of the older cast and the effects, but this probably the worst Harry Potter film in the franchise, and only gets really going in the last thirty minutes or so. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Potter17Dec 25, 2011
Generally I'm not the kind of fan who is always complaining about how much story and details they cut out from the book. I know some changes are needed due to the running-time and budget, but David Yates is unable to cope with the book'sGenerally I'm not the kind of fan who is always complaining about how much story and details they cut out from the book. I know some changes are needed due to the running-time and budget, but David Yates is unable to cope with the book's large plot. He edits too much from the novel which results in an unintelligible film for fans and moviegoers alike. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
javis10Jan 11, 2012
Director David Yates, spoiled Harry potter with this one, it's too short comparing it with the book. It gets boring, despite of the friendship message, it was horrible. The worst Harry Potter movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
imthenoobJun 16, 2016
I think what makes it so weak is that they tried to cram so much content in such a small run time. This would have to be the one film of the series that is 3 hours long minimum. There was just too much content from the books and because theyI think what makes it so weak is that they tried to cram so much content in such a small run time. This would have to be the one film of the series that is 3 hours long minimum. There was just too much content from the books and because they trimmed so much, There felt like something was missing with Order of the Phoenix. Shame they didn't bother shooting a few more scenes and making an ultimate edition out of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
beingryanjudeAug 25, 2014
The direction of David Yates is not the finest work of the series. There are still strong performances and stunning imagery, but it falls short. An unfortunate step back for the franchise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Rox22Apr 28, 2015
This is likely my least favourite Harry Potter film.

While it does build atmosphere, it also feels like its rushing too much, leaving its audience struggling to keep up. Way to much is going with too little context and development to get
This is likely my least favourite Harry Potter film.

While it does build atmosphere, it also feels like its rushing too much, leaving its audience struggling to keep up. Way to much is going with too little context and development to get invested in the narrative.

Effects and acting are still top notch though and do help the movie from being a total bore.

Overall:
HPatOotP feels rushed and is mostly a forgettable experience. If not for the characters and their performances, this movie would have been a complete bust. As is, I say *meh*.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SEROJMar 28, 2013
Great movie, but for sure not one of the best "Harry Potter" episode.I think it's incomplete, but probably that's why this is not the last part of the saga. My score for this part is 6/10 because i think that nothing special happened... theGreat movie, but for sure not one of the best "Harry Potter" episode.I think it's incomplete, but probably that's why this is not the last part of the saga. My score for this part is 6/10 because i think that nothing special happened... the whole movie was about to make people and the minister believe that the dark Lord is back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FranzHcriticOct 25, 2013
Repetitive is perhaps the most accurate to describe 'Order of the Phoenix'. I could find hardly anything to enjoy apart from Umbridge. The trio are no longer so cute, only grown up but not getting any more interesting. Now it's more predictable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
nickrovertOct 24, 2013
The 'Order of the Phoenix' lackluster story line and more character-focused premise may be interesting to some viewers, however the film's lack of intriguing content makes the 'Order of the Phoenix' stand out as the worst film in the franchise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
Potter loses his magic touch.
The Order of the Phoenix is the fifth installment of this franchise. The movie feels dull and lonely with a coming of age crew learning spells and expressing their emotions to each other. The entire film feels
Potter loses his magic touch.
The Order of the Phoenix is the fifth installment of this franchise. The movie feels dull and lonely with a coming of age crew learning spells and expressing their emotions to each other. The entire film feels overly long and a directionless time filler for the next sequel to filter into.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
CameraBounceGodMar 3, 2015
interesting the way it aligns with the zodiac...also its interesting the way that a giant saves the day....I get the feeling that the symbolism here is too important to overlook.....The rest of this film seems meaningless...The half bloodinteresting the way it aligns with the zodiac...also its interesting the way that a giant saves the day....I get the feeling that the symbolism here is too important to overlook.....The rest of this film seems meaningless...The half blood prince is the best of the series if you ask me...and i've seen the goblet of fire enough so that i should be dead Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MovieManiac83Apr 23, 2015
The latest installment in the Harry Potter series opens with a storm gathering precipitously over the young wizard's head, portending an attack by the Dementors, those soul-sucking wraiths that circle their prey like buzzards. It's momentsThe latest installment in the Harry Potter series opens with a storm gathering precipitously over the young wizard's head, portending an attack by the Dementors, those soul-sucking wraiths that circle their prey like buzzards. It's moments like these that show how far J.K. Rowling's hero has come from the beginning, when he was delivered from a Dickensian home life into a gee-whiz world of flying broomsticks, whimsical creatures, and other magical enchantments. Now, dark clouds follow him around like Pig-Pen's filth, and being a wizard has become a joyless burden, a destiny that he grimly accepts as his lot in life. Though there are moments of levity scattered throughout Harry Potter And The Order Of The Phoenix, the workmanlike fifth entry in the franchise, the overall feeling is that it sucks to be Harry Potter, and it's only going to get suckier from here on out.

Though he fends off the Dementors, Harry (Daniel Radcliffe) gets expelled from Hogwarts School Of Witchcraft And Wizardry for using a forbidden curse in the presence of a "muggle." He wins back admittance on appeal, but many members of the Ministry Of Magic refuse to accept his contention that the evil Voldemort (Ralph Fiennes) has returned and plans to engage the forces of good in a battle royal. As a measure to keep Harry and his cohorts in line, the Ministry installs prim taskmaster Dolores Umbridge (Imelda Staunton) as the new professor of Dark Arts, and she keeps them busy with grueling memorization and paperwork. Harry revolts by creating Dumbledore's Army, a group of rebel students who harness their powers in a secret training room. He's also introduced to the Order Of The Phoenix, a clandestine faction preparing for a showdown with Voldemort.

While not all Harry Potter movies are created equal, consistency has been a major priority for the series, to the point where it's become the Prozac of blockbuster franchises—few highs or lows, just a general baseline of pleasing competence. Granted, there's a significant difference between the flat literalness of Chris Columbus' first two entries and Alfonso Cuarón's fanciful Prisoner Of Azkaban, but the films are telling one long story, and inspiration is often sacrificed for continuity's sake. Directed by David Yates, who has a background in British television, Order Of The Phoenix feels a little too complacent at times, though it has moments of visual wit, and it doesn't soft-pedal the dark mood that has eclipsed the series. Save for the thrilling opening sequence, there's not much to remember about the film beyond Staunton (Vera Drake), who masks her bottomless malevolence behind a pasted-on patrician smile. During this transitional stage, Dumbledore's Army and the Order Of The Phoenix prepare for bigger fights ahead—and presumably, more exciting movies, too.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews