Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: June 4, 2004
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 731 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
636
Mixed:
64
Negative:
31
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
nboley08Aug 16, 2010
Might be the best of the series. It's certainly the most impressive visually, as Hogwarts, which sometimes felt as thrilling as a funeral home during Columbus' films, comes vividly alive in the third film. Sirius Black is such an intoxicatingMight be the best of the series. It's certainly the most impressive visually, as Hogwarts, which sometimes felt as thrilling as a funeral home during Columbus' films, comes vividly alive in the third film. Sirius Black is such an intoxicating and great character, he really ties the movie together greatly. This was arguably Rowling's peak in the series. Expand
20 of 22 users found this helpful202
All this user's reviews
10
BrianGNov 22, 2005
The best Harry Potter movie in the series.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ScottC.Nov 17, 2005
Absolutely fantastic!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ZilcellMay 25, 2012
Its one of the best in the series because of great organization of the story.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Tss5078May 11, 2013
In year three, our cast of unique and magical characthers have to deal with a new threat, an escaped prisoner, from Azkaban Prison, who seems to want to kill Harry Potter. Azkaban was a return to the magical formula that made Harry PotterIn year three, our cast of unique and magical characthers have to deal with a new threat, an escaped prisoner, from Azkaban Prison, who seems to want to kill Harry Potter. Azkaban was a return to the magical formula that made Harry Potter legendary. The story here is suburb and unlike the Chamber of Secrets, it isn't dummied down or rushed for us. New elements are introduced such as the secret map and time travel, but perhaps most important of all we finally see Harry demonstrate some of this incredible power that has led to his fame at Hogwarts. The story was terrific, the action was great, the performances were off the chart, and the childish stuff was kept to a minimum, but was Azkaban perfect? Many critics will tell you that this is the best of the Potter films and it was terrific, but personally I was hoping to see more of the world outside of Hogwarts. I was looking forward to possibly seeing the inside of Azkaban prison and some of the people who are locked up there. While I appreciate the different views and new filming location, it was still centered at Hogwarts. Not a bad thing, but personally I'd have liked to have seen something else. Aside from that, new Director, Alfonso Cuaron, does use parts of the story that were excluded in the previous films, he also does give us a new location, and view of things. Overall, Cuaron really does do a tremendous job, making this film geared more toward young adults than children. Azkaban is much closer to being what J.K. Rowling intended than the Chamber of Secrets was. I absolutely loved this film, there are just some parts of this film that are truly amazing. If you're picky like I am, and are only going to give Harry Potter one shot, then I suggest the film you watch is The Prisoner of Azkaban. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
FranzHcriticOct 25, 2013
Alfonso Cuaron is a very accomplished director. And this dark, almost noir version of the whimsical fantasy series. By far, the most accomplished adaptation of Harry Potter.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 23, 2011
Finally, a harry potter movie that starts childlike and ends with maturity! Bravo Alfonso Cuaron!
12 of 15 users found this helpful123
All this user's reviews
9
HelpUJul 19, 2009
Man, this is like the last good movie and last good book in the Harry Potter series rolled into one. Mildly confusing if you didn't read the books though. It actually alludes to how lacking of logical emotion the series will become.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
CRLJul 27, 2011
Prisoner of Azkaban's cinematography itself blows you away, and the world of Hogwarts leaps from the screen almost as well as Pandora (and without the help of 3D). Several new great characters (and actors) enter at this point, stirringPrisoner of Azkaban's cinematography itself blows you away, and the world of Hogwarts leaps from the screen almost as well as Pandora (and without the help of 3D). Several new great characters (and actors) enter at this point, stirring darker themes up for the first time. The storyline is also my favorite of the series, and this movie sticks to the source material incredibly well. Emotionally charged, incredible acted, and superbly directed, this is easily for me the best movie of the series. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
heyitsmegrif4Dec 17, 2011
With strong performances stand out Emma Watson, thrills, a great score, great emotional depth, and dazzling visuals make this one of the best of the potters. I give this film 90% of a good movie.
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 8, 2012
This is a new, equally entrancing look at the world of Harry Potter, a darker, haunting film that sticks with you.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
AtTheMoviesJun 17, 2011
Hands down, the best in the Potter series. The younger actors finally come into there own in this installment. The casting of Michael Gambon as Dumbledore was perfect, and he plays a better Dumbledore then the late Richard Harris (not to beHands down, the best in the Potter series. The younger actors finally come into there own in this installment. The casting of Michael Gambon as Dumbledore was perfect, and he plays a better Dumbledore then the late Richard Harris (not to be offensive). Visually dark and emotionally satisfying, Azkaban works not only as a Potter movie, but as a movie in its own right. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
JawsPapi87Aug 9, 2011
A surprising improvement on the first and second installments in acting, artistic elements and emotional involvement in the story. It was darker and with this darkness came a more real movie, plus a pretty cool climactic battle
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
gm101Jan 20, 2011
A decent adaptation, but felt there were kinda too many changes from the book. This used to be my least favorite Harry Potter movie, until the Half-Blood Prince movie came out and took that honor.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MovieLonely94Jul 5, 2011
Harry Potter learns that someone is after him and that person is known as Sirius Black. As he and his friends start their third year at hogswarts, they encounter new dangers that lie just ahead of them as they try to prove whether Sirius isHarry Potter learns that someone is after him and that person is known as Sirius Black. As he and his friends start their third year at hogswarts, they encounter new dangers that lie just ahead of them as they try to prove whether Sirius is innocent of not killing his parents or not. This was the only Potter movie that I've missed in theaters. That was pretty sad. Now to my opinion. Like the first two movies, there's nothing negative to say about this one. The actors were very entertaining (again) and I can say nothing more about Daniel Radcliffe, Emma Watson, or anyone else. The only actor that I have to say to is Michael Gambon for his wonderful performance as Professor Dumbledore. The CGI was cool (again) and even the action was cool (again). The storytelling was amazing and the storyline was well-paced. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban is a magnificent third entry of the Potter franchise with a lot of depth to the third book of the series. 8/10 Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
potatoes351Aug 14, 2012
After a little break the Harry Potter franchise is back on track. After the poor show that was Chamber of Secrets, Prisoner of Azkaban puts all right that was once wrong. Once again sticking true to the books and only using SFX where needed,After a little break the Harry Potter franchise is back on track. After the poor show that was Chamber of Secrets, Prisoner of Azkaban puts all right that was once wrong. Once again sticking true to the books and only using SFX where needed, not all the time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
jfrotylpe532Dec 21, 2012
This is were the Harry Potters get great. Gary Oldman surely impressed me with his amazing performance as Sirius Black not to mention David Thewlis excellant acting as Lupin. Plus instead of continuing the playful happy mood like first onesThis is were the Harry Potters get great. Gary Oldman surely impressed me with his amazing performance as Sirius Black not to mention David Thewlis excellant acting as Lupin. Plus instead of continuing the playful happy mood like first ones it added mind-blowing foreshadowing and visuality that the first could not come close to having. Not mention they finally learned how to make a scary yet awesome creature(The Werewolf). This film is the reason that the Harry Potter trilogy stayed strong. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ZawMineMay 12, 2015
The third instalment in Harry Potter franchise might be everyone's favourite. Harry Potter 3 is a mix of dark and its original family fun tone. I love watching this movie. I watched it a thousand times and I will watch it again and again.The third instalment in Harry Potter franchise might be everyone's favourite. Harry Potter 3 is a mix of dark and its original family fun tone. I love watching this movie. I watched it a thousand times and I will watch it again and again. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban is awesome. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
geo333Jan 6, 2016
The Third film of the franchise grows in character and setting, Moving away from made for kids and going more for teens presence, this Harry Potter only points to a more mature and darker tone for the following films.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
LeeC.Nov 20, 2005
Great, but not as good as the fab book! Emma Watson and that are other guy(Cedric Diggory) are absolute gorgous (not together). I don't think Ron and Hermione should get together, Hermione is way to good for Ron.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaddieS.Sep 27, 2005
From what I've seen people either adore this film or loathe it.I personally adore it. I think the actors are great (spesh Dan Radcliffe!) even though Richard Whats-his-name was actually better than Michael Gambon. The special effects in From what I've seen people either adore this film or loathe it.I personally adore it. I think the actors are great (spesh Dan Radcliffe!) even though Richard Whats-his-name was actually better than Michael Gambon. The special effects in the film are great as well and as I want to be an actress when I'm older I wish I could have acted in it. I can't wait for the 4th film to come out (Nov. 18) and I'm also waiting for the 7th book. As you can see I'm an avid Harry Potter fan. Apparently the 5th film is out in 2007. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristinaP.Jan 5, 2006
The best movie(and the goblet of fire) i've ever known! i live HARRY POTTER!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RaghuM.May 31, 2006
A great movie.Infact the best of the lot.This movie possesses a certain warmth and security that was absent in the earlier Harry Potter films.The visuals are spectacular, so is the casting and direction.Alfonso Cuaron deserves all the A great movie.Infact the best of the lot.This movie possesses a certain warmth and security that was absent in the earlier Harry Potter films.The visuals are spectacular, so is the casting and direction.Alfonso Cuaron deserves all the accolade he is getting for putting together a polpular yarn into the big screen without displeasing most fans and critics.I was rather amused to see this film as my expectations were very low after being treated to two dry affairs previously.I would have given the movie a rating of 10, if it had not been for the miscasting of Dumbledore and that screaming Sirius Black poster.Michael Gambon is a decent Dumbledore,but he doesn't meet the poignant expectations created by the late Sir Richard Harris.I still firmly believe that Sir Ian Mckellen would have made an excellent Dumbledore. Overall a great movie recommended for any Harry Potter fan. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonathanF.Aug 28, 2007
Fantastic, very close to the best in the series.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdnanAJul 19, 2008
Now this movie has been praised for turning away from the book and creating something new and different. Personally, changing things is the weakest point of this movie. If you haven't read the book then you'll either find it very Now this movie has been praised for turning away from the book and creating something new and different. Personally, changing things is the weakest point of this movie. If you haven't read the book then you'll either find it very confusing or you'll love it, but if you've read the book then nothing will stop you from finding faults and flaws. The story... well If they just wouldn't have deleted some main plots, it would have been as good as its predecessors. Not including the plots from the book is understandable but introducing new things is unacceptable. Acting... the trio have matured very much and I'd still say they were born for these roles. All the adults are great as usual. The two new actors, David as Lupin was perfect but Michael Gambon as Dumbledore... oh boy! Erase what I said in the beginning about the alterations in the plot being its weakest point. No! Michael Gambon is the weakest point of the movie. He sucks big time!!! He has tarnished the Dumbledore portrayed by the versatile actor Richard Harris and the character created by the prolific writer J.K.Rowling. Michael Gambon - one of the major reasons why I disliked the movie, the other reason was the tiny whomping willow. Direction... I don't know why Warner bros removed Chris. It's not that Alfonso is not talented, but changing a director breaks a smooth flow which was found between movie 1 and 2. Sorceror's and chambers felt like it was from the same world but this movie feels like a whole new world, only the characters are same. Chris had improved upon chamber of secrets by making it dark and suspenseful and with prisoner he would have made a hell of a movie (mean it in a positive manner). Visuals... for a 2004 movie it's visuals are excellent. Even today they look fantastic! Overall I'd rate this movie a B+. I would have given it an A if the director hadn't changed the small details which makes it very different from the books and the predecessor movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HarryPotterRules!GinnyWeasleyRocks!Oct 20, 2005
I realy liked all the action in it, I recomend it to ages 9+
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChrisDJul 13, 2007
Firstly if anyone else uses the phrase magical to decscribe the harry potter movies I will break their legs. It's so annoying. Also this has been the best film so far. The first two, Radcliffe couldn't act or make anything look at Firstly if anyone else uses the phrase magical to decscribe the harry potter movies I will break their legs. It's so annoying. Also this has been the best film so far. The first two, Radcliffe couldn't act or make anything look at all natural. At least there was a slight increase in acting quality there. Also I thought the effects were well included and didn't look out of place. And also no need to keep comparing them to the books, as it is obviously very difficult to transpose an entire year into pictures and keep the pacing reasonable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SophieJul 31, 2007
Really, not just an excellent Potter movie but a genuinely good movie on its own. I don't think it's as good as Order Of The Phoenix, but still, excellent job. Emma Watson was good in this movie, and it's a shame she Really, not just an excellent Potter movie but a genuinely good movie on its own. I don't think it's as good as Order Of The Phoenix, but still, excellent job. Emma Watson was good in this movie, and it's a shame she hasn't delivered that same performance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RuanHAug 12, 2007
The most engaging and entertaining film of the series to date. This is Harry Potter, darker and more serious than before. Good adaptation from the book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
derekbNov 3, 2008
I am a huge fan of the harr potter series, i have only read the first 2 books but i have watched all the movies and i was more impressed with the 2nd film more than the rest of them, but im reviewing the 3rd one, i thought it was good, I am a huge fan of the harr potter series, i have only read the first 2 books but i have watched all the movies and i was more impressed with the 2nd film more than the rest of them, but im reviewing the 3rd one, i thought it was good, sometimes during the film i lost interest but the fact that harry wanted to avenge his parents when he finds out the guy responsible is on the loose and looking for him, he wants to kill him and i love it when harry is doing anything to find this man....the darkness of the film kept me interested and some didn't but overall this film was just Ok...i give it an 8 because im a fan of the harry potter series and although it didn't impress me as much as the 2nd film, it's still good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CCJul 29, 2008
Excellent film.as always the central trio undermine the fantastic story and characters with wooden performances and overall dislikability but theyre poor acting is not enough to overshadow awesome stints from Oldman,Rickman and Thewlis to Excellent film.as always the central trio undermine the fantastic story and characters with wooden performances and overall dislikability but theyre poor acting is not enough to overshadow awesome stints from Oldman,Rickman and Thewlis to name but a few. its hilarious to read the geeky fan-boys reviews stating how poorly the director adapted their beloved rowlings book to film when we all know theyre clearly in the wrong.cuaron did a masterful job with a difficult piece of childrens fiction and should have stayed on to direct the other films rather than allowing rank amateurs to toe the line as rowling had intended all along. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisSep 24, 2005
This one is definitely the best out of the first three movies. It seems much darker than the others and no longer feels like a film just for the kids. The graphics have improved a lot and so has the quality of the acting. Definitely a thumbs This one is definitely the best out of the first three movies. It seems much darker than the others and no longer feels like a film just for the kids. The graphics have improved a lot and so has the quality of the acting. Definitely a thumbs up 10/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TapangaJun 26, 2007
I did not like the cliffhanger at the very end otherwise I would've given Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban a 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TomK.Aug 19, 2007
Cuaron did genius work ignoring the previous of Chris Columbus. The third film in series is matching the film in style, it's darker and deeper. The work that Elfonso Cuaron did changed the Harry Potter film forever, for good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JonLDec 15, 2007
Too episodic to be great, but visually sumptuous and with an actual director at helm, shows the world with far more creativity and authenticity, rather than a visualization of the novels, which aren't much good in the first place.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
asylumspadezNov 20, 2011
Probably the best film in the series. You not only see a huge increase in skill for the younger cast but you finally see them put the older cast members to some use. I think the long run time is pushing it a little though. The script doesntProbably the best film in the series. You not only see a huge increase in skill for the younger cast but you finally see them put the older cast members to some use. I think the long run time is pushing it a little though. The script doesnt really do that good of a job transitioning from book to film and it doesnt do a good job of explaining.

Also I think Michael Gambon was a great addition for the re-casting of Albus Dumbledore.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MasternoNov 20, 2010
this one is the best in the series. i have watched all of them even the nr.7 and i liked this best out of all of them. it felt so alive and magic with those things and all that happened the same year at the school. you gotta se it. my listthis one is the best in the series. i have watched all of them even the nr.7 and i liked this best out of all of them. it felt so alive and magic with those things and all that happened the same year at the school. you gotta se it. my list from top to bottom is first Nr.1 Harry Potter 3
Nr.2 Harry Potter 4
Nr.3 Harry Potter 1
Nr.4 Harry Potter 7 Part 1
Nr.5 Harry Potter 6
Nr.6 Harry Potter 2
Nr.7 Harry Potter 5

But still if i have a list all of them are good though. all of the harry potter movies can i see again
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheGorillaDec 18, 2011
This installment has some depth, and it's enough mature, unlike the first two childish ones.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerMar 19, 2011
Another fantastic Harry Potter movie, fans of the previous movies will enjoy, fans of the books should enjoy I personally don't know if you will as I did not read any of the books but I don't see why you wouldn't, one of the best in the series.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TokyochuchuNov 10, 2014
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban is, in my opinion, one of the weakest Harry Potter movies. I can't really place my finger on exactly why but the film seems to drag somewhat. Although it's shorter than part 2, it actually feels a lotHarry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban is, in my opinion, one of the weakest Harry Potter movies. I can't really place my finger on exactly why but the film seems to drag somewhat. Although it's shorter than part 2, it actually feels a lot longer. That said, Prisoner of Azkaban is still excellent entertainment (as are all of the Potter movies). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
S_HenagerMar 10, 2011
Of all the Harry Potter movies, (with the possible exception of 7.1 and 7.2), this feels most like its own movie. Yes, it has similarities in plot and characters with the book, but it doesn't feel like as much of an adaptation as the otherOf all the Harry Potter movies, (with the possible exception of 7.1 and 7.2), this feels most like its own movie. Yes, it has similarities in plot and characters with the book, but it doesn't feel like as much of an adaptation as the other movies, and doesn't feel as chained to the books. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AlnORTIZJul 11, 2011
Prisoner of Azkaban is certainly darker and creeper than the first two films and books in the Harry Potter series. But that's why this is my favorite film in the series. Once again, the performances and story are all amazing in this film, asPrisoner of Azkaban is certainly darker and creeper than the first two films and books in the Harry Potter series. But that's why this is my favorite film in the series. Once again, the performances and story are all amazing in this film, as well as the direction this film went towards. But the visuals are a real treat because of how dark toned they are! This all makes up to be a very worthy addition to the film series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DramaStormFeb 16, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hello, everyone! I am DramaStorm. And this is my review for the third Harry Potter Movie: Prisoner of Azkaban. Well, this movie is simply really great. There's no two ways about it. Harry and his friends are trying to solve yet another mystery while trying to keep up with their magical schoolwork. Well, thankfully, they are able to save more than just one innocent life in this film and nobody dies. The best part of this movie: When Harry saves himself from getting destroyed by the Dementors. The worst part of this movie: LOL, probably the mishap at the Dursley's house. But you've got to admit, it was pretty funny. Fin. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jimmytancrediMay 29, 2011
This and the Goblet of Fire are unique in the saga. Both were directed by directors who didn't make any other drive then. What made them both very different from the others, that here was a great result! The most bucolic of the saga, the bestThis and the Goblet of Fire are unique in the saga. Both were directed by directors who didn't make any other drive then. What made them both very different from the others, that here was a great result! The most bucolic of the saga, the best performance of John Williams soundtrack (especially the beautiful Buckbeak's Flight) and the cast far more grown up. A little heavy, this film begins the process of maturation of both the characters and the fans, which may even scare some parents off guard, but the unique beauty of this unique film saga makes it worth taking a chance on him. Cuaron's direction has improved a lot and the course of the series. The director has several moments of great creativity throughout the film. Most infidelity script from the book than the first two films also helped a lot to the improvement of the series, since this was much less tiring than its predecessors. The junior improved performances (Rupert Grint decreases in the faces), but Radcliffe, disappointing especially in the scene where he discovers a secret about Sirius Black and starts crying (pathetic performance in this scene). Technically also represented a major advance. This movie has the best visual effects for the whole saga. The Buckbeak, the Dementors, the Animagi and werewolf are just fantastic. In addition, the trail of John Williams is the better of him in the series (Buckbeak's Flight is wonderful). There is also a beautiful photograph. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
filmtrashreviewJul 6, 2011
So the third film takes a much darker route then the first two. I don't mind the darkness and acclaimed best Potter film but this is the shortest and yet it feels like the longest of the films. This film was dumbed down to Hollywood standardSo the third film takes a much darker route then the first two. I don't mind the darkness and acclaimed best Potter film but this is the shortest and yet it feels like the longest of the films. This film was dumbed down to Hollywood standard and honestly I don't feel that this director saved the series at all. The twists in this film are a lot better then "The Chamber of Secrets" and the new look of Harry Potter is visually stunning but I still feel that the filmmakers thought audience members were stupid. They included a pointless segment of the Willow Tree just to show the changing of season. We dealt without this in the first two films, why do we need it now? The only reason that I can think of is the fact that the art direction was completely lacking in this film. We couldn't tell the changing of seasons without those pointless Willow Tree shots and on top of that every character seems to now be wearing fashionable clothing. When watching the behind-the-scenes of this film I found out that the actors were allowed to choose what they wanted to wear. I feel in doing this, Alfonso and his crew wanted to make a summer blockbuster more then the wanted to make a good fantasy film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AVCITYJul 12, 2011
Magical. By making Harry's inner struggles the center of the film, Alfonso Cuaron has made a visual masterpiece with rich emotional depth. The film doesn't linger on the sets and classes for too long, a liberty well taken after two previousMagical. By making Harry's inner struggles the center of the film, Alfonso Cuaron has made a visual masterpiece with rich emotional depth. The film doesn't linger on the sets and classes for too long, a liberty well taken after two previous ventures in the same setting. Instead he enhances the world through Harry's point of view. The film is emotionally darker and much more engaging. The visuals are superb, the score the best of the series so far and the cinematography outstanding. And as always the cast is top notch. This is not just a good movie for Harry Potter, it's a great film period. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
prudent00Jul 14, 2011
That statement that this film is the best of the set is incontrovertible!

Stylish, menacingly darker, engaging and the funniest movie of the franchise. Alfonso has done an amazing job in the seat of the director, as has john Williams with
That statement that this film is the best of the set is incontrovertible!

Stylish, menacingly darker, engaging and the funniest movie of the franchise. Alfonso has done an amazing job in the seat of the director, as has john Williams with the soundtrack, the cinematographer and the CGI wizards.

The only drawback is the questionable appointment of Michael Gambon as the replacement of the late Sir Richard Harris for the role of Albus Dumbledore. E.g. he personifies this character with an Irish accent simply because he thought it was a good idea, and he never reads the source material from where his character is derived from and only depicts his characters in a way he that reflects his own personality (grumpy, dull and moody). Hence, we lose the mystic and omnipresence that personifies Dumbledore in the novels.

Enough of the little snag, don't let it spoil the movie because this is the best of the set.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HasrionaJul 20, 2011
Much better than the first two, with a new dark feel and magical essence, Prisoner of Azkaban leaps to cinematic brilliance with an enchanting cast, compelling storyline and a truly wondrous tone throughout. It's sublime, and certainly one ofMuch better than the first two, with a new dark feel and magical essence, Prisoner of Azkaban leaps to cinematic brilliance with an enchanting cast, compelling storyline and a truly wondrous tone throughout. It's sublime, and certainly one of the best Harry Potter films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Potter17Dec 11, 2011
Alfonso Cuaron made a true revolution in the series. He grasped the story and made the story flows quickly and smoothly. He also gave to the franchise a visually stunning look, a dark and more matured tone that Harry Potter deserves. It is aAlfonso Cuaron made a true revolution in the series. He grasped the story and made the story flows quickly and smoothly. He also gave to the franchise a visually stunning look, a dark and more matured tone that Harry Potter deserves. It is a shame that he only directed this movie and not the entire franchise Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
marnee96Nov 4, 2011
This Harry Potter is imaginative, dark, well acted, complex and visually dazzling. Alfonso Cuaron came in and maintained the story of Harry Potter but also gave it a fresher, more vivid feeling than that of Chris Columbus'. 4/4 stars.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFJul 13, 2013
The third instalment in the hugely successful franchise leaps onto the screen with rapturous confidence, completely reinventing what we remember from the first two and paving its own path to be quite possibly the best in the series. AlfonsoThe third instalment in the hugely successful franchise leaps onto the screen with rapturous confidence, completely reinventing what we remember from the first two and paving its own path to be quite possibly the best in the series. Alfonso Quarón has stepped away from the friendly and sophisticated technique that Chris Columbus used in the previous films and injects the series with a much needed sense of purpose, that the stories are all somehow connected and we can be a part of this growing tale.
There is certainly a sense of maturity as the film unfolds, there is much more of a gritty story and darker content that will amaze and even frighten, and it is visually stunning.
Harry (Daniel Radcliffe) is preparing to attend his third year at Hogwarts, but as the story goes not everything is going to go smoothly. He finds himself on the Knight Bus, a magical vehicle which transports him to Diagon Alley where he is informed that he is in very grave danger, his godfather, Sirius Black (Gary Oldman) has escaped from Azkaban, and is out to finish the work of ridding the world of the Potter family.
But Harry has his own demons. literally. He introduced to the Dementors, gruesome and soulless beings, hooded and terrifying. They are searching for Black, and give Harry nothing but grief, something his returning friends Ron (Rupert Grint) and Hermione (Emma Watson) pick up on.
The third film is such a delight that it is the little additions that make a difference, the flicker of a wand now has a whirring sound to accompany it, it still maintains a comic touch but introduces an almost relatable world that we could be a part of, these school kids go to class with shirts hanging out, they bully and fight with each other, this is a school after all.
The addition of key characters is welcome to the series. Michael Gambon takes a daring and edgy approach as the new Albus Dumbledore, his presence is energetic and youthful, making his own mark in the role is excellent to see. David Thewlis plays the mysterious put helpful Professor Lupin, the new man in charge of Defence Against the Dark Arts, something and someone Harry comes to know much more. We also have the crackpot Divination teacher Professor Trelawney, who has a few too many crystals balls to read.
As mentioned, the film is stunning to watch, its visuals when being used with the mountains of Scotland are quite exasperating, Hogwarts has truly never looked better, placing it atop a mountainside and introducing various alleyways of discovery has truly been brought to life by Quarón.
As a fan of the books, I was pleasantly surprised at how insightful, inventive and enjoyable this film adaption was, it has all the seasons, all the mishaps, all the laughter, but somehow manages to push itself to the top of one of the greatest of the series, it is perhaps the little touches that made all the difference.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jboy2468Nov 22, 2011
A new director, a new mood. Things are getting darker in the wizarding world, and the director shows this perfectly. The story starts to really build up, and many new characters are introduced well. Professor Trelawney's strange ways areA new director, a new mood. Things are getting darker in the wizarding world, and the director shows this perfectly. The story starts to really build up, and many new characters are introduced well. Professor Trelawney's strange ways are presented with outstanding character and Sirius Black really captures who he is as a person. Another 10 for Harry Potter! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
javis10Jan 11, 2012
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, an excellent film by mexican director Alfonso Cuarón. I admire him and not only because I'm mexican too. He understood very well the magic of the book. Impressive images, excellent musciHarry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, an excellent film by mexican director Alfonso Cuarón. I admire him and not only because I'm mexican too. He understood very well the magic of the book. Impressive images, excellent musci by "maestro" John Williams. This is the movie that show us to continue our lifes and have a good frinedship. It really shows how love is powerful against the darknest. ¡BIEN HECHO ALFONSO CUARà Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Bruce722Dec 31, 2012
This was just as good as the first two movies, probably even better if I were to ignore the book. The problem is, the book was outstanding and this movie had more variation than either of the first two adaptations. And as I have said numerousThis was just as good as the first two movies, probably even better if I were to ignore the book. The problem is, the book was outstanding and this movie had more variation than either of the first two adaptations. And as I have said numerous times before, I understand that certain things must be changed or cut out entirely for time purposes but in this movie there were plenty of things they needlessly added and many other things they changed that had no reason to be changed whatsoever. Change for changes sake is rarely good. Still, it was a good movie but I'm interested to see how they adapt the much larger books that follow this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AquophisDec 28, 2011
Not as good as the first two, I'm afraid - I wasn't too fond of the inconsistent art direction. The three leads were inexplicably strutting around Hogwarts in their street clothes rather than their usual school robes. While it lacks much ofNot as good as the first two, I'm afraid - I wasn't too fond of the inconsistent art direction. The three leads were inexplicably strutting around Hogwarts in their street clothes rather than their usual school robes. While it lacks much of the warmth and whimsical enchantment of the first two films, and the transition into "dark and gritty" may come across as abrupt to some, the more subdued mood of the movie fits in well with its events - a murderer IS on the loose, after all. Overall, it's a great movie and a satisfying adaptation, but the other ones are better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oxanaJan 3, 2015
Here is Harry again. A bit darker, angrier, and definitely lost in the world. Not that anyone could blame him, really. The movie is littered with little things that reminded me of other movies. Like those dementors like copies from "The LordHere is Harry again. A bit darker, angrier, and definitely lost in the world. Not that anyone could blame him, really. The movie is littered with little things that reminded me of other movies. Like those dementors like copies from "The Lord of the Rings" (Nazgûl-look-alike contest winners for sure). All in all, this movie is darker than the previous ones. It is still made for children/youths, so some stuff is let off the hook a bit easier than they could. Visually beautiful, with more glimpses at the nature than before (especially when portraying the shift of the seasons), and full of twists and turns and funny moments. Family secrets are on the table, this time - buried under lies and secrets. Interaction between Remus Lupin and Sirius Black - and in addition, Severus Snape - was amusing and delightful to watch. There was something mature and deep, hidden and old going on. That gives the story of youths nice undertones: it is not all about them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ryflemanJan 24, 2012
One of the great things about this film is the fact that it you are able to follow it without ever reading or watching any of the previous installments. A basic understanding of 'They're wizards, the main characters parents got murdered byOne of the great things about this film is the fact that it you are able to follow it without ever reading or watching any of the previous installments. A basic understanding of 'They're wizards, the main characters parents got murdered by some bloke named Voldemort, and the 3 main characters are BFFs' is all you need to understand this.

Of course this isn't the only shining part of the movie. The characters are starting to mature, making it easier to relate to the characters and make them overall even more likable. The new characters are all appealing, and the twist end was done very will. For a newcomer, your going to be better off starting with the first two, but if, for some strange reason, can't this will be a good starting point and one of the best in the series.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
imthenoobJun 16, 2016
As good as it gets with Prisoner of Azkaban. The casting for Sirius, Peter, and Remus is spot on and perfectly done. It's such a darker film too and much more adult than the previous two films. Definitely sets the bar for all future films imo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MegWhiteleyMar 28, 2012
Other interesting movie, and the second better of Potter (the first is Deathly Hallows Part 2), is amazing, incredible interesting, emotive, I love this film of Harry Potter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
beingryanjudeAug 25, 2014
With Alfonso Cuaron at the helm, the third installment in the Harry Potter series features a deeper, more spectacular visual than the previous two films. While Richard Harris is surely missed, Gary Oldman's Sirius Black is an outstanding addition.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Trev29Nov 29, 2013
The new director clearly had a vision, and it came across wonderfully in this movie. It is artistically stunning with beautiful images of the school. This movie is exciting and haunting. The flow of the movie is great and the ending is thrilling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
watithink123May 4, 2012
Now this was the film that started making the film's get really, really good. This was a bit darker than the other two and maybe a bit scary as well for some people. But a must see from me. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban 8.0/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
OfficialNov 1, 2013
"Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban" is the third movie in the series. Does it top the previous two though? Not exactly. The movie has a slightly disjointed feel and lacked the beauty and the craft, which made the first too brilliant."Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban" is the third movie in the series. Does it top the previous two though? Not exactly. The movie has a slightly disjointed feel and lacked the beauty and the craft, which made the first too brilliant. That being said, the world of Harry Potter is still quite delightful and sophisticated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MonsieurEamesJul 12, 2012
One of my favorite films ever. Alfonso Cuaron takes the series in a whole different direction, and it is for the better. The first two films were great, but it was time to take on a more adult approach, and that's exactly what they did. CastOne of my favorite films ever. Alfonso Cuaron takes the series in a whole different direction, and it is for the better. The first two films were great, but it was time to take on a more adult approach, and that's exactly what they did. Cast continues to charm as well as brilliant sets and effects. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleJul 13, 2017
Heralded as the best entry in the Harry Potter film franchise, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban is certainly the best film thus far, though I do hope it is not the best film overall. Perhaps, in writing this review, it is a good timeHeralded as the best entry in the Harry Potter film franchise, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban is certainly the best film thus far, though I do hope it is not the best film overall. Perhaps, in writing this review, it is a good time to admit one of my greatest cinematic sins: I really do not see the hype with Alfonso Cuaron. In fact, I really do not like his work all that much. Having seen all but two of his films, it is becoming increasingly clear that there is something in his films that really turns me off. They look, feel, and sound like cinematic classics, but lack that crucial element to make them truly soar above the competition, when they are good as is the case with Prisoner of Azkaban and Gravity. While A Little Princess left me feeling a little indifferent, I found Children of Men to be impeccably underwhelming and I really had to gut it through Y Tu Mama Tambien, which was one of the worst films I have ever seen due to how juvenile, crude, and vulgar of a film it turned out to be. Yet, in saying all of this, I let myself get overhyped for Prisoner of Azkaban due to word of mouth and the presence of Cuaron. Fool me once, shame on me. Fool me five times, definitely shame on me at this point.

What really holds the film back is how rushed everything feels. While the film's plotting is surprisingly tight and lacking in exposition and diversions into various wacky elements of the wizarding world, the film is a weird position. It is still a long film (though shorter than its predecessors), but feels far more rushed than either of them. It would have been better served being as long as the other films, even though those films were hurt by their length. By further developing scenes, characters, and dialogue, the film would feel more adequately paced instead of being a speeding bullet to the finish line. The film's climax and falling action are particularly susceptible to this with the film ditching its slow build-up to revealing Sirius Black (Gary Oldman), exploring the dementors, and building fantastic atmospheric tension. With the film introducing time travel during the climax, quickening the pace is perhaps a technique used by Cuaron to make the film less repetitive. However, the quickened pace really undermines the most important of the film: Harry meeting his godfather Sirius and learning the truth behind his parent's death. Instead of letting the emotional weight of this reveal take hold, the film rushes through and then half-heartedly tries to go back to these moments with characters explaining exactly how they felt, such as when Harry explains the secrets behind the encounter by the lake to Hermione. It is admittedly a series aimed at children, yet like its predecessors, it feels the need to explain details that are either inconsequential or obvious to the children in the audience. As a result of this, the film never really convinces anybody regarding Sirius' turn around from lead villain to kind godfather. Harry seems all too willing to believe anything about this man who he was told was loyal to Voldemort. It makes no sense, even if the film does it best to try and go back to convince you it made sense. It is touching, sure, but Cuaron never really made the moment feel earned or realistic. Thus, the film feels rather lacking in heart and soul. It has spirit for sure, but feels far too pedestrian and safe to really knock it out of the park, which is a real Cuaron trademark.

That said, Cuaron really does add some terrific touches in bringing the novel to life. Taking the Spielbergian child-like wonder of Chris Columbus' first two films and blending it with a much darker world, the first hour of the Prisoner of Azkaban is a master class in atmospheric tension. Starting off with the ominous train ride in which the dementors are introduced and the groundwork for Sirius Black's shocking escape from Azkaban prison is laid out, the film becomes both a treat for the eyes via good special effects and a thrilling experience. With the slow reveal of the dementors via the freezing of the bus and their terrifying encounter with Harry on the train, Cuaron sets the scene perfectly for just how terrifying these figures will become in the film, often far exceeding Sirius' menacing exterior in the beginning. It is honestly this tremendous build-up for Sirius with such an ominous feeling in the air whenever he is mentioned that the film's ending feels so unconvincing. Fortunately, that build-up is so good, it is hard to deny that the film is a truly haunting and mesmerizing experience for much of its runtime.

Cuaron also smartly takes advantage of the design of Hogwarts to add to the ominous nature of the film. With the pictures watching the kids' every move, the film begins to feel very much like a gothic horror at times with how much the building factors into the fright factor. With an intricate design as always, the long looming features of the school are an ominous sight on their own.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
axelkochDec 28, 2013
After a less than passable second film, the Harry Potter series got back to greatness as Alfonso Cuarón took place in the director’s chair for Prisoner of Azkaban and gave Hogwarts a whole new style I very much enjoyed.
Not all gone is the
After a less than passable second film, the Harry Potter series got back to greatness as Alfonso Cuarón took place in the director’s chair for Prisoner of Azkaban and gave Hogwarts a whole new style I very much enjoyed.
Not all gone is the ludicrousness of the second film and book with some scenes like the bloating Aunt Marge or Emma Thompson’s failed portrayal of Hogwarts’ divination teacher Sybil Trelawney decreasing the Spaniard’s serious approach to the source material. However, Cuarón makes up for such flaws with a loveable style and new ways of story-telling his directorial predecessor Chris Columbus didn’t venture. I personally adored the cinematography of Michael Seresin, especially the establishing shots of season and location that were used in an almost Arthaus-fashion in Prisoner of Azkaban. Not only that, but Cuarón also fully succeeded (at least in my opinion) in making what is likely the most difficult story of all seven novels understandable. I had some issues with the obvious way he depicted Hermione’s time-travelling (if you didn’t get it by the fifth time Ron stated “Hermione, you weren’t there when we came into this class” then your intelligence might be sub-par), but he excelled himself in other parts, i.e. in the subject of Sirius Black.
Cue Sirius Black, with Gary Oldman the director got a fantastic actor to work with and the Englishman established one of the most likeable characters in the series with an excellent performance. Three other wonderful English thespians joined the ever-growing HP cast, namely David Thewlis, Timothy Spall, and Michael Gambon, with the latter actually giving a better (and more philosophical) Dumbledore than the late Richard Harris. And despite a lot of problems I had in the first two films, the three main child actors got significantly better with Cuarón to direct them, which indicated for the first time that Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint, and Emma Watson are in fact talented actors.
Altogether, I greatly enjoyed Prisoner of Azkaban, which turned out to be a humorous while still serious approach to J.K. Rowling’s novel and impressed me through outstanding visual (and aural John Williams did another splendid score) work.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
dante_finnDec 22, 2012
A wondourus spellbinder with laughs and shivers
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FilmEqualsJoyNov 10, 2012
The best Potter film out of all 8 movies. Incredible! This is when the series starts to get dark and exciting. Werwolves, dementors, and many more interesting elements make this film unforgettable. The cast shows their acting abilities.The best Potter film out of all 8 movies. Incredible! This is when the series starts to get dark and exciting. Werwolves, dementors, and many more interesting elements make this film unforgettable. The cast shows their acting abilities. Radcliffe, Watson, and Grint are the perfect team. Gary Oldman (Sirius Black) is my favorite part of this film. This is all I could ask for in a Potter film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DisasterpieceMKJan 13, 2013
The first of the film series that I really enjoyed throughout. It has a more definite British feel and sensibility about it, mixing in all of the wonder and magic that Rowling described in her series. A great blend of light and dark, withThe first of the film series that I really enjoyed throughout. It has a more definite British feel and sensibility about it, mixing in all of the wonder and magic that Rowling described in her series. A great blend of light and dark, with those dreary greys that can really make the magic pop on screen. I am certainly glad that they ended up changing directors - Cuaron did a job better than Colombus. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
worleyjamersJun 8, 2013
I don't think this is my favorite HP film, but it certainly is one of the best. Alfonso Cuaron's direction is what holds The Prisoner of Azkaban together There are many brilliant sequences throughout the film, but there are also some momentsI don't think this is my favorite HP film, but it certainly is one of the best. Alfonso Cuaron's direction is what holds The Prisoner of Azkaban together There are many brilliant sequences throughout the film, but there are also some moments where I felt the jumbled plot could have ruined the film, but Cuaron's vision and direction holds it all together and makes for a wonderful viewing experience. This film lacks some of the magic that the first films had, but the performances, writing, direction, cinematography, and tone are all spot-on. Really liked it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Annoymous1Jul 10, 2013
Just like Deathly Hallows, this movie is an attention grabbing masterpiece of the dark arts. And if thats not enough, Peter Pettigrew acted like he had rabies, hilarious indeed!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HaithamBayazeedMay 10, 2013
My favorite of the series, amazing and darker than the rest with more mysteries to figure out and I think it deserves a hard PG! More for families and teens
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TrilobiteGAug 3, 2015
With the addition of Remus lupine and the time turner scenario to shadow mediocre dialogue from the main trio, the third instalment of this franchise is just as good as the second
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
mds03Apr 14, 2013
Not quite as good as the first two but it manages to keep you constantly entertained and constantly amazed the whole ride through. I really do think this one brought a whole new style to the Harry Potter series. It seems that as the HarryNot quite as good as the first two but it manages to keep you constantly entertained and constantly amazed the whole ride through. I really do think this one brought a whole new style to the Harry Potter series. It seems that as the Harry Potter movies keep coming out they keep getting less family friendly and more intense and dark. My only word of advice is that you shouldn't let a child below the age of 10 see it because of the werewolf scenes and the dementor scenes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SEROJMar 28, 2013
Very interesting story and great action in this one! It's really great, i never get tired of it.... It is possible for you not to understand this if you're watching it for first time or you haven't seen the previous Harry Potter series. SoVery interesting story and great action in this one! It's really great, i never get tired of it.... It is possible for you not to understand this if you're watching it for first time or you haven't seen the previous Harry Potter series. So remember there's NO simple movie in this saga. My final score for the "the Prisoner of Azkaban" is 8/10! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
sil3nt_nickMar 24, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Harry returns to his third year at Hogwarts and is joined by his loyal friends, Ron and Hermione. While attending the school, he learns a man by the name of Sirius Black is out to get him-- and is told that he was the one that turned his parents into Voldemort that led to him becoming an orphan. Later on, Harry learns that Sirius may not be as evil as the media portrays him. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Movie1997Sep 8, 2013
Definitely (at the time) the best of the series. It shows a darker side of the Harry Potter world without losing its kid-friendly stage. This movie really does take you on a journey throughout the whole movie with its amazing cinematography.Definitely (at the time) the best of the series. It shows a darker side of the Harry Potter world without losing its kid-friendly stage. This movie really does take you on a journey throughout the whole movie with its amazing cinematography. Who better to direct this than the guy who made "Children of Men" and is going to make "Gravity" (can't wait for that one). Overall, it's a Harry Potter movie that we should have had from the start. Be sure to check out my YouTube channel "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Ashley1998Nov 1, 2013
This an incredible film probably because Harry Potter are the best film series ever. Outstanding acting with a brilliant plot with beautiful filming and atmosphere it one the best of the series.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Pranay6Mar 15, 2014
Might be the best of the series. It's certainly the most impressive visually, as Hogwarts, which sometimes felt as thrilling as a funeral home during Columbus' films, comes vividly alive in the third film. Sirius Black is such an intoxicatingMight be the best of the series. It's certainly the most impressive visually, as Hogwarts, which sometimes felt as thrilling as a funeral home during Columbus' films, comes vividly alive in the third film. Sirius Black is such an intoxicating and great character, he really ties the movie together greatly. This was arguably Rowling's peak in the series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BrunoADJun 14, 2013
In my opinion HP3 is the second best of franquia.Motivos:

We have a new director, new Hogwarts and a climate more positive sombrio.Esse is the HP3 had a new director a director with a different vision, a director who made ​​a radical
In my opinion HP3 is the second best of franquia.Motivos:

We have a new director, new Hogwarts and a climate more positive sombrio.Esse is the HP3 had a new director a director with a different vision, a director who made ​​a radical change to the franchise that worked.
And this time Kloves motrou not need a movie 160 minutes to show that is true to the book. We have a movie 140 minutes incredibly magical, intelligent, great and amazing. Wonderful art direction, with effect otimos and with a handkerchief young woman who is very amadureçenco.

Not to talk about the negatives because it has.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AReviewsJun 24, 2013
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban is impressive and glorious, with new ideas and funny moments, I loved it, the best one...YET, the visuals are outstanding as usual but the story gets more interesting and scary!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DibbHansenJul 14, 2013
This film is spectacular! With a change in director the film feels even more magical and adventurous. I love the feel of this film (the Medieval feel and style), while the material gets darker and more emotional (which is what makes a movieThis film is spectacular! With a change in director the film feels even more magical and adventurous. I love the feel of this film (the Medieval feel and style), while the material gets darker and more emotional (which is what makes a movie or story good) but keeps the great messages and light hearted moments. The music is simply divine (John Williams' best score to date), the visuals are amazing, the cinematography is beautiful, the acting is great once again. This is one of the BEST films in the series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
cag11Dec 1, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It has that darker feeling of Harry Potter, which I do like. In the fourth book, you have the first death of the series, and then one in every book and movie afterwards. In order for that to happen, I feel that they needed to darken the tone from the lighter first two movies. And they did a great job with it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
joao1198pedroNov 28, 2013
this is absolutely the best film of all harry potter saga,alfonso cuaron os definetely better than chris columbus,it had all the magic plus an incredebly cuaron style.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
nickrovertOct 24, 2013
'Prisoner of Azkaban' is one of the best-directed films of the franchise, however its thin story line makes it generally forgettable compared to the other films in the franchise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RayzorMooseNov 12, 2013
Harry Potter imprisons its audience with entertainment.
Harry Potter rolls out its third film in the series with a repetitive but very in-depth theme. The Prisoner of Azkaban unlocks new visions into the characters mysterious pasts, and
Harry Potter imprisons its audience with entertainment.
Harry Potter rolls out its third film in the series with a repetitive but very in-depth theme. The Prisoner of Azkaban unlocks new visions into the characters mysterious pasts, and finds the same magic it had in the first two with a continuously darker storyline.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AaronWasserman2May 4, 2014
Finally the Potter film that kicks of this film adaption the right way. New director Alfonso is superior to Chris Columbus in almost all ways. Taking away the kid like fluff and inserting some darkness. The young stars finally get a chance toFinally the Potter film that kicks of this film adaption the right way. New director Alfonso is superior to Chris Columbus in almost all ways. Taking away the kid like fluff and inserting some darkness. The young stars finally get a chance to shine and own their roles. Harry 3 is good to go. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SythusRATINGSOct 18, 2014
In this third installment of the series, the infamous Sirius Black has escaped from the dreaded fortress of Azkaban and is headed straight to Harry Potter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohnMasterLMay 4, 2015
The Prisoner of Azkaban es la mejor pelicula de Harry Potter jamas hecha, no solo tiene un estilo distinto (esto gracias al cambio del director) Alfonso Cuaron le da un toque mas oscuro, mas maduro, y mas tenebroso al mundo de Harry Potter aThe Prisoner of Azkaban es la mejor pelicula de Harry Potter jamas hecha, no solo tiene un estilo distinto (esto gracias al cambio del director) Alfonso Cuaron le da un toque mas oscuro, mas maduro, y mas tenebroso al mundo de Harry Potter a comparación de sus antecesoras, pero sigue respetando la magia y el humor característico de la saga. La historia es tan compleja, que es sorprendente que se pudo explicar en 2:22 minutos. Aplausos al Director y al Escritor! (Steve Kloves) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
koothrappaliFeb 1, 2016
Aqui vemos a primeira ascenção da saga. Com a troca de diretor, o terceiro filme da franquia tomou um rumo diferente dos dois primeiros filmes. Cuarón deu uma repaginada em todo o universo cinematográfico da saga, das roupas até a direção.Aqui vemos a primeira ascenção da saga. Com a troca de diretor, o terceiro filme da franquia tomou um rumo diferente dos dois primeiros filmes. Cuarón deu uma repaginada em todo o universo cinematográfico da saga, das roupas até a direção. Foi realmente uma grande evolução. Fora que teve a introdução do Sirius e Lupin (só por isso o filme merece 10). A atuação do trio de ouro evolui muito nesse filme, principalmente a do Daniel. O enredo e o roteiro também são ótimos. Esse de fato é o filme mais dark (obscuro) de toda a saga, e é isso que faz dele especial Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
andrebarrosoDec 20, 2014
What I can say? "Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban" already was my favorite book of the "Harry Potter" franchise, but this might just turned into my favorite movie ever.
This is how you adapt a novel. Steve Klove's screenplay with
What I can say? "Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban" already was my favorite book of the "Harry Potter" franchise, but this might just turned into my favorite movie ever.
This is how you adapt a novel. Steve Klove's screenplay with Alfonso Cuarón's carefully and delicate directing brings us not only a good movie to watch, not only on a sunday afternoon, but at any time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DBPirate1129Jan 11, 2015
While it may be more dark and complex than Sorcerer's Stone and Chamber of Secrets, it's still the best of the first three Potter films. Prisoner of Azkaban is yet another unforgettable installment that does not disappoint book fans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
homer4presidentMar 13, 2015
Considering the volume of detail and information in the novel, the director did an excellent job of transferring the story onto the big screen. Yes, ideally more of the book content could have/should have been added but in some ways, theConsidering the volume of detail and information in the novel, the director did an excellent job of transferring the story onto the big screen. Yes, ideally more of the book content could have/should have been added but in some ways, the film was an improvement over the book, more dramatic, amusing, and exciting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MrMovieBuffSep 14, 2016
Alfonso Cuaron steps in the director's chair this time to helm the third book in the "Harry Potter" franchise titled "The Prisoner of Azkaban", the story of a murderer involved with Harry's parents who escapes a deadly prison and is on theAlfonso Cuaron steps in the director's chair this time to helm the third book in the "Harry Potter" franchise titled "The Prisoner of Azkaban", the story of a murderer involved with Harry's parents who escapes a deadly prison and is on the look-out for our young hero.

Harry (Daniel Radcliffe) is back, but has had enough of having to deal with his cynical guardians, when he decides to leave and want to return to Hogwarts, he comes across the story of a man named Sirius Black (Gary Oldman) who is a murderer looking for Harry and has escaped Azkaban. Harry wants to find out everything he can about him, and try to stop him in his tracks.

Ron (Rupert Grint) and Hermione (Emma Watson) also return and learn about the mysterious Sirius Black, they meet a man named Remus Lupin (David Thewlis) who is able to teach Harry of how to deal with his fears, mostly with the evil dementors that send Harry in a trance and leads him to faint in the process.

The trio arrive at Hogwarts and are about to begin their third year at the school, Dumbledore (now played by Michael Gambon) makes an announcement that there can be some dark times at the school, especially since knowing that Sirius has escaped.

"The Prisoner of Azkaban" is the best in the franchise so far, Cuaron's direction is spot-on and the three leads shine even more than they did in the first two movies. This is also not as light-hearted as the first two, it's definitely too scary at times for children to handle, especially any scene involving the dark, hooded-like and skeleton figures of the dementors. The movie moves at such a quick pace, and the comedy is quirkier than ever leading to, yet again, another fantastic and memorable adventure.

The music by John Williams is also still great to listen to and adds to the atmosphere of the movie perfectly. There are some sinister moments brilliantly captured by the new-comers David Thewlis and Gary Oldman.

'Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban' is fun, dark and just glorious.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieManiac83Apr 23, 2015
It's interesting to note that, of the three Harry Potter novels thus far filmed, the longest on the written page has turned into the shortest on screen. This is a good thing, because it means that the filmmakers are becoming less literal andIt's interesting to note that, of the three Harry Potter novels thus far filmed, the longest on the written page has turned into the shortest on screen. This is a good thing, because it means that the filmmakers are becoming less literal and more cinematic in their adaptations. A flaw of the first two movies, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone and Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, is that they tried to cram every nuance into the screenplay - an act that had a negative impact upon the films' pacing. For Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, script-writer Steve Kloves has pared J.K. Rowling's story to its essence, resulting in a more streamlined motion picture.

Although Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban stands well enough on its own, it has a "middle chapter" feeling. In other words, there's no real beginning or ending. Little is resolved and the film's climax is low-key. The villain of the first two chapters and the overall series, the dreaded Voldemort, is absent. His apparent replacement is Sirius Black (Gary Oldman), although appearances can be deceiving. All of this doesn't make The Prisoner of Azkaban inferior to its predecessors. The appeal is much the same, but the "feel" is a little different. The tone is darker and more claustrophobic. I attribute this to the change in directors. Chris Columbus, who helmed the first two movies, has stepped into the producer's chair, leaving the primary behind-the-camera duties to Alfonso Cuarón (who establishes this closer in nature to A Little Princess than Y Tu Mama Tambien).

There's no question that Cuarón has put his stamp on this movie. The return of so many familiar characters will keep viewers comfortable, but the stylistic changes make it seem as if this Harry Potter adventure is taking place in a different universe. The most obvious change is to Hogwarts. Although outwardly the same, the school is photographed and presented in a manner that makes it more ominous and less friendly than in the previous two installments. Wardrobe is another seemingly minor yet significant alteration. Harry, Ron, and Hermione have abandoned the school uniforms that were their standard garb in The Sorcerer's Stone and The Chamber of Secrets. Instead, they dress in "normal" clothing: sweatshirts, jeans, sneakers, etc. This has the effect of making Hogwarts feel more alien than before.

Moments of character development are widely spaced. (That has a lot to do with the deeper cuts made to the source material.) Still, we learn a few things about Harry's background. The Malfoy/Potter feud enters another chapter. And we see the beginnings of a tentative affection between Ron and Hermione. (The two of them exchange glances and hold hands. There's little question where Rowling is going with this relationship, especially considering the predictability of romance in fantasy stories.)

The recent bankability of fantasy has resulted in a large number of copycat possibilities entering the production pipeline. With both The Lord of the Rings and the Harry Potter movies proving to be solid box-office performers, there's little question that the genre is here to stay. Although Tolkien's story is done, J.K. Rowling's has at least four more installments to go (the final two of which haven't even been published). If the filmmakers continue to keep the quality level high, there will be plenty of pleasurable hours ahead. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban proves that a new director with a different perspective can freshen a series that could otherwise resort to stale repetition.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DanilSirotkinAug 7, 2015
Новый режиссёр (Альфонсо Куарон) явно пошёл фильму на пользу (и это далеко не только моё мнение). Конечно, Коламбус был хорош, но, этот режиссёр работает в рамках детского (семейного) фильма, и ему, рано или поздно, пришлось бы остановитьсяНовый режиссёр (Альфонсо Куарон) явно пошёл фильму на пользу (и это далеко не только моё мнение). Конечно, Коламбус был хорош, но, этот режиссёр работает в рамках детского (семейного) фильма, и ему, рано или поздно, пришлось бы остановиться (что он, по своему желанию, и сделал). Видение Куарона очень хорошо: он правильно сделал, сделав фильм мрачнее, жёстче, живее, что ли. Кадры стали насыщенными. Фильм не замедляется, из него прёт энергия. Камера не стоит на месте, она стала подвижней, нередко, при переходе на следующую сцену, кадр затемняется (кто видел, поймёт), что опять же доказывает талант режиссёра. В фильме даже есть доля самоиронии. Отличий от книги, правда, стало побольше, особенно, как мне показалось, в начале. Киноляп же, в самом начале, все знают. Актёрская игра очень хороша, как и всегда. Спецэффекты, в этот раз, действительно на высшем уровне. Однако, мне кажется фильм чересчур перехвалили. Нет, я ничего такого не говорю, фильм просто безупречный, но почему, многие говорят, что это их любимая экранизация Поттера, когда, как мне кажется, тот же "Кубок" был в разы лучше? Музыка - на очень высоком уровне (лучше, чем в первых 2х), Уильямс хорошо постарался, однако опять же, почему многие говорят, что это их любимый саундтрек, когда в тех же "Дарах Смерти" уровень музыки ничуть не хуже? Также, я прочёл, что некоторые критики заявляли, что "Это первый фильм, правдиво передавший сущность романа". Не могу сказать, про что точно они говорили, но если про то, что я думаю, они не совсем правы. Первые два фильма тоже хорошо передавали сущность романов, только по своему. А "Узник" передал по своему. Но, фильмы о Гарри Поттере и должны были меняться, что они и сделали. Они становились мрачней и серьёзней, что пошло им на пользу. Не могут же быть 8 фильмов, снятых в одинаковом стиле.. 93/100, 10/10, 5/5, 4/4. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
adw55125Jul 3, 2017
This movie is where the series really started to get great. This film had me interested, invested and on the edge of my seat. I wish Alfonso directed more of the Potter films. From start to finish I was into this film. It is easily one of theThis movie is where the series really started to get great. This film had me interested, invested and on the edge of my seat. I wish Alfonso directed more of the Potter films. From start to finish I was into this film. It is easily one of the best Potter films. The 3 leads have really grown into their roles and this is where they started to be great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Rutger-KikkertJun 5, 2016
While being extremely well directed by the master Alfonso Cuarón, this movie fails to deliver some plot points the right way for me to really get sucked into this story. But I still really enjoyed the mystery and some of the spectacular andWhile being extremely well directed by the master Alfonso Cuarón, this movie fails to deliver some plot points the right way for me to really get sucked into this story. But I still really enjoyed the mystery and some of the spectacular and really entertaining stuff happening on screen. This movie is one of the series best for sure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
gdiego135Dec 4, 2015
Great 3rd installment to an awesome franchise. It starts off really funny, and then get's dark but still very interesting, i used to have this movie on VHS so i would watch it a lot, now im getting it on blu-ray.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
aadityamudharApr 17, 2016
This one transcends fantasy and becomes a magical epic. it has an emotional resonance that the other two somewhat lacked. This time, you can actually relate to the characters and the difficulties they go through. The human side of PotterThis one transcends fantasy and becomes a magical epic. it has an emotional resonance that the other two somewhat lacked. This time, you can actually relate to the characters and the difficulties they go through. The human side of Potter comes clear. None of the Potter movies were bad, but this one takes the cake, and sets a new standard. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews