Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: November 16, 2001
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 681 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
553
Mixed:
82
Negative:
46
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
PaulaW.Dec 30, 2001
A great disappointment to Potter fans over age 12. What makes the books great, beyond the adventure and fantasy setting, is the emotional truth in each character; J.K. Rowling clearly knows a lot about the slings and arrows of A great disappointment to Potter fans over age 12. What makes the books great, beyond the adventure and fantasy setting, is the emotional truth in each character; J.K. Rowling clearly knows a lot about the slings and arrows of pre-adolescence. Granted, 300 busy pages will always be hard to squeeze into a feature-length film, but the unfortunately-chosen Chris Columbus (Home Alone, Mrs. Doubtfire) forgoes character development, and for that matter any sense of true magic, in favor of extended hijinks a la Home Alone. Too much time is spent on actiony set pieces like a fight with a troll in a bathroom, the Quidditch game, and the final showdown, and on shots of cute kids gaping in wonder at magical stunts. You might think of this literal-minded adaptation as no more than an illustrated companion to the book, but sadly, it doesn't even look good. The aesthetic owes a lot to mid-sixties Disney, or maybe Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. The animated effects don't come close to justifying the reported $150 million budget. This is fine as a run-of-the-mill kiddy flick, but it's a tragic waste of a great book. There is no need to see this is in the theater. I would argue that there's no need to see it at all. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
AdamE.Nov 27, 2002
A film that really doesn't all the success it has had. It is very boring and even the sp.effects seem pointless.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
RobertH.Jan 13, 2002
Terribly slow moving boring movie. It was so bad that I walked out in the middle as I could not take any more. It is simply amazing what good marketing can do. Pet Rock anyone?
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
AppleH.Apr 20, 2002
Terrible flick. Would have given it a 0 but I walked out in the middle so I penalized myself. Is it any wonder AOL stock is now practically worthless?
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
SeanL.Apr 24, 2003
See the 2nd one.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
AmoviecriticApr 9, 2003
Completely fails when compared to Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. See that instead. That makes this slow, badly paced movie seem like a complete 0.....it's not a bad movie....but horrible when compared to the 2nd one.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
JohnM.Dec 30, 2001
It is so upsetting (and irritating) to watch a movie die in front of your very eyes. Harry Potter begins well enough, nicely portraying the cruel family that Harry grew up with, yet the film develops into such a disaster that even saying it It is so upsetting (and irritating) to watch a movie die in front of your very eyes. Harry Potter begins well enough, nicely portraying the cruel family that Harry grew up with, yet the film develops into such a disaster that even saying it was dismal is to give it some credit. The film relied on amateurish special effects that persistently failed to invoke the magic of the book. Then when the effects failed to hold my attention, I tried to focus on the story, which was greatly hindered by terribly annoying acting and choppy screenplay. There was indeed almost nothing to enjoy by the time the film was over. Aside from "Thirteen Ghosts," which sets the standards for movie lows, Harry Potter is the WORST film of the year. Grade: D- Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
SaiK.Oct 22, 2002
The movie is boring. It is lifeless. There is no continuity. Although the settings are great, The movie failed to reflect the deeper aspects of harry potter. It is as if The movie is only intended to show of hogwarts in a highly colorful The movie is boring. It is lifeless. There is no continuity. Although the settings are great, The movie failed to reflect the deeper aspects of harry potter. It is as if The movie is only intended to show of hogwarts in a highly colorful perspective. I would expect a better job on the next one. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
Carol-AnnC.Feb 23, 2002
Boring overhyped movie that I walked out on 2/3rds through this garbage. Don't waste your money!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
RobertM.Apr 28, 2003
This movie features come cool scenes, but overall, just lacked imagination. See the 2nd one.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
AmoviecriticJun 22, 2003
In the United States, the term Philosopher is not really a term that young people use often. They don't really know much about it. Sorcerer, however, is a word most younger readers have heard a lot, so they changed it to that.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
2
FrankL.Nov 16, 2001
Hasn't this been done before?
1 of 3 users found this helpful
3
MarcB.Nov 21, 2001
Nice special effects, cute for kids, over rated. I think every movie should open to 5,000 screens...They would all have bragging rights! If they make the remaining books to flix, I guarantee the revenues will all be lower. It's also Nice special effects, cute for kids, over rated. I think every movie should open to 5,000 screens...They would all have bragging rights! If they make the remaining books to flix, I guarantee the revenues will all be lower. It's also nice to have a zillion dollars in advertising. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
3
NecromusJan 3, 2013
I saw this at a friend's house along with the second Harry Potter movie after it was released on video. This movie just bored me to death. I don't see what all the hype is about. Maybe you had to read the book, my friends who have read theI saw this at a friend's house along with the second Harry Potter movie after it was released on video. This movie just bored me to death. I don't see what all the hype is about. Maybe you had to read the book, my friends who have read the book tell me that the book is way better than the movie. Rating it as a bad movie since it was so boring I only remember two parts, the beginning and the end and neither or those were that exciting either. I thought the ending was stupid actually. After seeing the first two movies, I have never bothered seeing any others since I was so bored by the first two. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
RobertoL.Mar 16, 2002
So slow, so boring that watching paint dry is more appealing. Don't bother to let me know when the sequel is out!
1 of 4 users found this helpful
3
HeathB.Apr 9, 2002
Though I prefered the zoo scene in the movie better than the book, I just wasn't overly impressed with the movie. Most of the film I got an image of a fat guy with thick glasses sitting at a keyboard saying "Look what I can do with a Though I prefered the zoo scene in the movie better than the book, I just wasn't overly impressed with the movie. Most of the film I got an image of a fat guy with thick glasses sitting at a keyboard saying "Look what I can do with a computer." More story, less special effects would have made this a better movie. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
2
WalterB.Jan 2, 2003
The book may be nice to read. I can say I can include this movie among the worsts I've ever seen.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
2
PeterM.Mar 6, 2005
Emma Watson, Rupert Grint, Daniel Radcliffe were all appalling in this film, they were unconvincing and awful to watch. If you looked at their résumés you would never believe they were actors.
1 of 5 users found this helpful
3
JohnD.Jul 12, 2007
The story was kind of fun, but the kids couldn't act and many scenes dragged on and on and on...
2 of 13 users found this helpful
0
SamjamJun 20, 2012
Harry Potter the movie was great! Yes the book was better, but isn't that always the way when there is a novel to film adaptation? There was magic, friendships and basically evil magicians going around wanting to win the world and killHarry Potter the movie was great! Yes the book was better, but isn't that always the way when there is a novel to film adaptation? There was magic, friendships and basically evil magicians going around wanting to win the world and kill specific people. Great movie and fun for the kids and a good family viewing movie. Expand
2 of 15 users found this helpful213
All this user's reviews
0
BeacherwahwahOct 21, 2016
Just watched this and it sucks hard! Horrible CGI effects, horrible acting from the youths (apart from Harry who was okay)....utterly charmless. I did like John Williams score though.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews