Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: November 16, 2001
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 606 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
507
Mixed:
71
Negative:
28
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
JonLDec 15, 2007
Unlike the second one, does not show it's length, and with a fine cast and set design to keep things afloat, but slavishly workmanlike and deadening in it's writing and directing and with rather mediocre special effects in key scenes.
3 of 5 users found this helpful
6
jfrotylpe532Dec 21, 2012
Though it was a good start to the most sucessful trilogy of all time, I thought it was a little childish and not extremeley well written. Other than that the movie was a sucess.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
Annoymous1May 18, 2013
Close to the book but still entertains. Excitingly enough I thought it would be great though it fared lower than most of its sequels. Zeal needed but a total failure when it came to dialogue. But very good stuff.

Next Movie!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
JacobJul 30, 2016
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone will delight fans of the book with its mostly faithful adaptation hitting all the main points and representing the characters well especially the adult actors and others will no doubt be swept up by theHarry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone will delight fans of the book with its mostly faithful adaptation hitting all the main points and representing the characters well especially the adult actors and others will no doubt be swept up by the fantastic world Rowling has created and Columbus and crew have brought to life fully realized with special effects, score, and cinematography. With all that said though it doesn’t make for a coherent film. The director is so caught up in establishing the world and hitting all the necessary plot points that he forgets to flesh out the characters. Harry isn’t that interesting serving more as a vehicle to get exposition about the world and the transitions between scenes are jumpy with so much emphasis on hitting the main beats of the film that the story doesn’t flow. At 2 ½ hours the film can drag a tad. While the film is nothing great that doesn’t mean it isn’t a pleasure to watch. Seeing the story of Harry Potter come to life was and still is a major treat and considering how popular the books are/were the fact that it was done this well is impressive they gave the fans what they wanted. And when you consider all the failed attempts at starting a franchise seeing one succeed is magic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
asylumspadezNov 26, 2011
Wasnt as bad as I remembered. The older cast members were great and played their parts perfectly, The young cast was solid as well. The movie was decent and was as loyal to the book as it could be. However it lacked originality and the CGIWasnt as bad as I remembered. The older cast members were great and played their parts perfectly, The young cast was solid as well. The movie was decent and was as loyal to the book as it could be. However it lacked originality and the CGI wasnt that good either (The troll looked poorly done). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
LetzTalkMoveezSep 18, 2011
The first in the highly lucrative wizard franchise is heavy on magic, low on character. The visuals are pretty dreadful, too. Still, it's a fun introduction to the Harry Potter mythology and boasts some great performances by the supporting cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
spadenxDec 2, 2011
While it does a good job taking a bulk of the details from the book and putting it into film, The movie is pretty corny and rather childish (yes I know it's based off a childrens book). The acting is solid but I am a bit disapointed that theyWhile it does a good job taking a bulk of the details from the book and putting it into film, The movie is pretty corny and rather childish (yes I know it's based off a childrens book). The acting is solid but I am a bit disapointed that they didnt use their experianced older cast members more. It was enjoyable for the most part though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
watithink123May 3, 2012
The first Harry Potter in the movie series of Harry Potter film's. The start had no interest for me at all. But after the troll scene it start's to get really good, but the start effects this movie in ,a big way. The middle and the end of theThe first Harry Potter in the movie series of Harry Potter film's. The start had no interest for me at all. But after the troll scene it start's to get really good, but the start effects this movie in ,a big way. The middle and the end of the film did it for me. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone 6.9/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JmsbppJul 24, 2013
Tiene un buen contenido de algo que se desviaba a la brujeria cursi pero la pelicula es realmente es relmente aburrida y con nombres raros desde el principio
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ItsRaininMenJul 25, 2013
The movie is honestly... overrated. There is far too much talking, and too many scenes where people aren't really doing much, with a few exciting scenes, and that's about it. Talking scenes are okay for books, but, for movies, I'd like to seeThe movie is honestly... overrated. There is far too much talking, and too many scenes where people aren't really doing much, with a few exciting scenes, and that's about it. Talking scenes are okay for books, but, for movies, I'd like to see a lot more. And, even though it's common for dramatic movies to have uncolorful lighting, for a world of magic, it sure looked a bit dull. Not very memorable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
AaronWasserman2May 4, 2014
When I was a kid this was incredible. The imagination of the book put onto the screen...the desire to be at hogwarts. once your older the novelty wears off. And you see while this movie has alot of positives...it is not one of the better Potters
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
FuturedirectorApr 12, 2017
A well-chosen cast and a strong script are wasted during a sorry attempt at saving this overrated flawed-storytelling and full-of-excessive-characters adventure that mostly only childish viewers can take as "unforgettable".
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews