Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: November 16, 2001
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 606 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
507
Mixed:
71
Negative:
28
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
FuturedirectorApr 12, 2017
A well-chosen cast and a strong script are wasted during a sorry attempt at saving this overrated flawed-storytelling and full-of-excessive-characters adventure that mostly only childish viewers can take as "unforgettable".
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
HPFANBOY1237Apr 9, 2017
The movie is slow at times and the direction is bland, but it is also so exciting and so much fun at the same time. By far the most book adaption of the movies, a must see!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SomePersonaJan 24, 2017
This movie is a breeze from its cold beginning to its warm, crisp end. Its characters are great, and the actors make them better. It is also better than its original source material.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
alejandro970Dec 24, 2016
The fortunate beginning of the J.K.Rowling beloved saga. Harris, Rickman and Smith wears well in the roles; the adapatation is faithful to book, with several winks to Dickens and Agatha Christie. May be a good gift for Xmas or a birthday.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
gDec 23, 2016
A childhood classic film I grew up watching when it opened in cinemas of Britain in late 2001 right before Fellowship of the Ring, maybe a month later, both interesting fantasy stories. First installments that concentrates on meetingA childhood classic film I grew up watching when it opened in cinemas of Britain in late 2001 right before Fellowship of the Ring, maybe a month later, both interesting fantasy stories. First installments that concentrates on meeting characters for the first time and the whole story. My childhood favourites. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
BeacherwahwahOct 21, 2016
Just watched this and it sucks hard! Horrible CGI effects, horrible acting from the youths (apart from Harry who was okay)....utterly charmless. I did like John Williams score though.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
TheApplegnomeSep 13, 2016
A truly magical journey of mystery -- both characters and the basic premise is cleverly hidden behind this warm & happy character-diverse world. Well chosen actors and natural chemistry is a gigantic plus -- meanwhile a too simplistic andA truly magical journey of mystery -- both characters and the basic premise is cleverly hidden behind this warm & happy character-diverse world. Well chosen actors and natural chemistry is a gigantic plus -- meanwhile a too simplistic and slow story might bring it a but further down. Its far-stretched and slowly developed plot, but a happy one; is a wonder to follow. Add the never ending parallels with childhood & the struggles of being young and to grow up -- with a touching and never-forgetting score by Williams. It’s a classic first (but not flawless) entry.

Personal rating: 79/100
Critical rating: 77/100
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BarneyOnMTSep 10, 2016
WHAT I LIKED: The first Harry Potter film was a success because, like most good franchise starters, it set up a world and a group of characters extremely well. This is not only thanks to the source material, but also the film's faithfulnessWHAT I LIKED: The first Harry Potter film was a success because, like most good franchise starters, it set up a world and a group of characters extremely well. This is not only thanks to the source material, but also the film's faithfulness to it, and the cast that backs it all up.
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: Also like most franchise starters, it fails rather dramatically in some story departments. Instead of a compelling sequence of events, we're left with a group of magical obstacle courses where the stakes seem somewhat forced and the reasoning is weak - even for my small brain.
VERDICT: It was a good start, but the franchise hadn't really got going yet at this point.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
reviewfrom19842Sep 5, 2016
A great first movie. Percent tone thought out the movies it a good started to the movies. All the charters are likeable and the story and source are pretty good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MrMovieBuffAug 22, 2016
A young boy's lonely life is turned around when he discovers that he is a wizard in "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone", a story written by J.K. Rowling and adapted onto the big screen.

Daniel Radcliffe plays the title character, Harry
A young boy's lonely life is turned around when he discovers that he is a wizard in "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone", a story written by J.K. Rowling and adapted onto the big screen.

Daniel Radcliffe plays the title character, Harry Potter, who, as a baby, was left to be looked after by his aunt and uncle, along with his raging cousin, and they all mistreat him for years of his life.

Not long after Harry turns 11, a strange, huge and hairy man who goes by the name "Hagrid" (Robbie Coltrane) informs Harry that he is a wizard, and that his parents were exceptional students at a school named "Hogwarts", where gifted, magical youngsters are able to use their spells to their very best, and learn other new skills in regards to magic.

Harry begins to learn more about his past, such as the fate of his parents' death was caused a by a "Lord Voldermort", and how he managed to get the scar that is on his forehead.

Hagrid then decides to take Harry to the magical world of Diagon Alley, where Harry can purchase wands and broomsticks galore. After getting the essentials he needs, he then takes the train that leads directly to Hogwarts. It is there that he meets two other young students, Ron Weasley (Rupert Grint), and Hermione Granger (Emma Watson). He also comes across a very cynical young boy named Draco Malfoy (Tom Felton) who proves to be one not to be trusted.

The movie is filled with wonderful imagination, and a sense of strong, individual characters that many will choose to identify with. Director Chris Columbus ('Home Alone' and 'Mrs. Doubtfire') crafts an amazing magical adventure that is enchanting and thrilling all at the same time. The young actors do fine in their roles, although, there are some room for improvement, but they are young. The movie is also very well paced and should hold one's attention for longer than possible.

It is an excellent start to one of the most iconic franchises of all time. You wouldn't want to miss it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JacobJul 30, 2016
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone will delight fans of the book with its mostly faithful adaptation hitting all the main points and representing the characters well especially the adult actors and others will no doubt be swept up by theHarry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone will delight fans of the book with its mostly faithful adaptation hitting all the main points and representing the characters well especially the adult actors and others will no doubt be swept up by the fantastic world Rowling has created and Columbus and crew have brought to life fully realized with special effects, score, and cinematography. With all that said though it doesn’t make for a coherent film. The director is so caught up in establishing the world and hitting all the necessary plot points that he forgets to flesh out the characters. Harry isn’t that interesting serving more as a vehicle to get exposition about the world and the transitions between scenes are jumpy with so much emphasis on hitting the main beats of the film that the story doesn’t flow. At 2 ½ hours the film can drag a tad. While the film is nothing great that doesn’t mean it isn’t a pleasure to watch. Seeing the story of Harry Potter come to life was and still is a major treat and considering how popular the books are/were the fact that it was done this well is impressive they gave the fans what they wanted. And when you consider all the failed attempts at starting a franchise seeing one succeed is magic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
superbatJul 22, 2016
Not as nearly as good as the book version, the Sorcerer's Stone was an excellent franchise launcher. It introduces Harry Potter to those who didn't read the book, and perfectly captures his transition from his Muggle relatives home toNot as nearly as good as the book version, the Sorcerer's Stone was an excellent franchise launcher. It introduces Harry Potter to those who didn't read the book, and perfectly captures his transition from his Muggle relatives home to Hogwarts and the wizarding world. The characters feel loyal to their book counterparts. This launches an astounding franchise Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Muskrat147Jul 14, 2016
Sticking tightly to its source material, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone is a great first entry into the massive fantasy of the franchise, boasting a brilliant score (by John Williams), impressive special effects, and a tense,Sticking tightly to its source material, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone is a great first entry into the massive fantasy of the franchise, boasting a brilliant score (by John Williams), impressive special effects, and a tense, action-packed story-line. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
imthenoobJun 16, 2016
The most loyal book to film adaption of the series. Everything is just spot on and there's truly not a single weak spot imo. It's just a wonderfully done movie that really brings the book to life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Rutger-KikkertJun 5, 2016
For me my least favourite in the series. But it's still a good movie. It's just that it's more of a kids movie. I really like the darker tone the later movies were going for. This one is much more lighthearted. But my biggest concern withFor me my least favourite in the series. But it's still a good movie. It's just that it's more of a kids movie. I really like the darker tone the later movies were going for. This one is much more lighthearted. But my biggest concern with this movie is that it's not a focused movie. This movie is doing a great job introducing several things but while doing so it really forgets it's main plot with the sorcerer's stone. And that's why it really feels forced and weird when the movie focuses on that plot in the last half our of the movie. I also think younger kids won't understand all the stuff with the sorcerer's stone.
But still, it's not a bad movie. It's very entertaining, it's well written and looks good (even though the CGI really isn't all that great).
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Aaron_WassermanMay 31, 2016
I read the Potter books, but I am not fanatic about them, that being said this movie is a solid adaption and started the Potter craze on the big screen. An enjoyable movie but not one that makes a lasting impression.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
aadityamudharApr 17, 2016
Released in 2001, J.K. Rowling's international bestseller got its film adaptation here. While it must be admitted that it does have a nice charm to it, its sometimes lopsided pacing can break it off from the perfection it was so dramaticallyReleased in 2001, J.K. Rowling's international bestseller got its film adaptation here. While it must be admitted that it does have a nice charm to it, its sometimes lopsided pacing can break it off from the perfection it was so dramatically close to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
koothrappaliFeb 1, 2016
A Pedra Filosofal é um marco de uma geração. Esse talvez seja o filme mais marcante de toda a franquia, pois é nele que que toda a jornada visual começa. Não é o melhor filme da franquia, mas é uma ótima introdução pra uma saga que no futuroA Pedra Filosofal é um marco de uma geração. Esse talvez seja o filme mais marcante de toda a franquia, pois é nele que que toda a jornada visual começa. Não é o melhor filme da franquia, mas é uma ótima introdução pra uma saga que no futuro evoluiu muito. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
hanneguacamoleJan 22, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone had high expectations from the beginning – expectations from viewers who already loved the books and its intricate details. Such a viewer would be bound to notice the discrepancies and shortcomings which may affect overall enjoyment. But for a viewer simply watching The Sorcerer's Stone for the story and the entertainment may be in for a real treat.

The movie's strength is truly the story. Harry, Ron, and Hermione are a lovable trio that carries this enchanted world of wizardry to us Muggles in a way that we can only dream of being there. Hogwarts' enchantment is so spectacular that one may even forgive the movie for its, at times, incoherent and overly emotional plot. I will always love Harry Potter, but its best form is with every small detail showing through.

The soundtrack of this movie, however, was rather spectacular. Paired with graphics and scenery that shows wonders beyond our wildest dreams, this is where The Sorcerer's Stone wins. Marvelous details.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeJan 20, 2016
There's two different names for this movie.There's Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone and there's Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone. Even with the names being different, this movie is, without a doubt, the best start of the HarryThere's two different names for this movie.There's Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone and there's Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone. Even with the names being different, this movie is, without a doubt, the best start of the Harry Potter franchise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
geo333Jan 4, 2016
The Harry Potter beginning book makes a great transition to the Big Screen, From the cast, background and the scenes all of it is made with detail and great accuracy. Overall what a great start to a successful book. movie series.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
gdiego135Dec 4, 2015
Great movie for the whole family. I haven't read the books yet but i've watched all the movies and soon plan to. This movie is funny and very interesting, not like much other movies. the world of Harry Potter is beautiful, until between theGreat movie for the whole family. I haven't read the books yet but i've watched all the movies and soon plan to. This movie is funny and very interesting, not like much other movies. the world of Harry Potter is beautiful, until between the order of the phoenix and deathly hallows that's where it gets grim, more mature and depressing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TrilobiteGAug 3, 2015
Not a bad start to one of the most successful franchises in history, mainly because it does so well with character introduction and development, but this movie gets slightly boring in a sense that they could show off so much more magic too itNot a bad start to one of the most successful franchises in history, mainly because it does so well with character introduction and development, but this movie gets slightly boring in a sense that they could show off so much more magic too it and go into more detail with the drusleys and more fantasy action in the third act. Pretty good movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DanilSirotkinAug 1, 2015
Ну, сильно расписываться я тут не буду... Все знают, что этот фильм считается классическим, я не понимаю, как ему можно поставить низкую оценку. Понятно, что он слишком детский и скучноватый, понятно, что "Тайная Комната" в разы лучше.Ну, сильно расписываться я тут не буду... Все знают, что этот фильм считается классическим, я не понимаю, как ему можно поставить низкую оценку. Понятно, что он слишком детский и скучноватый, понятно, что "Тайная Комната" в разы лучше. Понятно, что всё в этом фильме могло быть получше: музыка, которая довольно однообразная, но тем не менее завораживающая, спецэффекты, которые на то время очень хороши, но всё же не дотягивают до Властелина Колец того же года, сама постановка кое где хромает, есть ляпы. Но знаете_МНЕ ПОФИГ!!! - потому что это - Гарри Поттер. Если вы всё ещё не поняли, скажу: фильм ностальгический (конечно, это его не оправдывает), он с хорошим сюжетом и смыслом, в какой то степени даже философский, с отличной игрой абсолютно всех актёров. Ну ребята.., - эти фильмы украшали наше детство.., я не могу думать о них плохо... 85/100, 8/10, 4/5, 3/4. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohnMasterLMay 4, 2015
El inicio de la saga mas grande de todos los tiempos es épico, divertido y mágico. HARRY POTTER AND THE SORCERER'S STONE es un espectáculo no solo para los niños, sino también para los adultos. Chris Columbus le da un toque clásico yEl inicio de la saga mas grande de todos los tiempos es épico, divertido y mágico. HARRY POTTER AND THE SORCERER'S STONE es un espectáculo no solo para los niños, sino también para los adultos. Chris Columbus le da un toque clásico y increíblemente mágico a esta pelicula. Sin duda alguna, de las mejores películas infantiles de todos los tiempos. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieManiac83Apr 23, 2015
To date, J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter books have sold more than 100 million copies, won mostly adulatory reviews, and inspired a fervent cult following, becoming one of those increasingly rare occasions in which the literary world has had anTo date, J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter books have sold more than 100 million copies, won mostly adulatory reviews, and inspired a fervent cult following, becoming one of those increasingly rare occasions in which the literary world has had an impact on popular culture. Much as a film adaptation was inevitable, it's almost a shame that Rowling's fantastical universe has been lifted off the page, co-opted from the imagination of millions of readers. And it's an even bigger shame that the chief imagineer is director Chris Columbus (Home Alone, Stepmom, Bicentennial Man), a Steven Spielberg protégé whose weakness for precocious brats and cynical button-pushing suggests that he learned all his lessons from Hook. Entrusted with the Potter franchise, Columbus was determined to stay faithful to the source, so if Harry Potter And The Sorcerer's Stone turns out to be his best film in a walk, it's a testament to the strength of Rowling's vision and the peerless cast that brings it to life. Working from a solid script by ace screenwriter Steve Kloves (Wonder Boys), Columbus fares best when he stays close to his wry, sweet-natured hero and tells the story through his bespectacled eyes. Defying an unhappy cinematic tradition of bowl-haired moppets, Daniel Radcliffe gives a modest and winning performance as Potter, an orphaned boy who has spent the last 10 years living under the stairs of his adoptive parents' house, unaware of his grand destiny. On his 11th birthday, Radcliffe gets whisked away by an affable giant (Robbie Coltrane) who acquaints him with his supernatural gifts and invites him to study at Hogwarts School Of Witchcraft And Wizardry. A magical castle surrounded by a black forest, Hogwarts is led by benevolent headmaster Richard Harris and a team of instructors (Maggie Smith, Ian Hart, and a wonderfully sinister Alan Rickman, among others) who teach students to cast spells, make potions, and master their broomsticks and magic wands. But Radcliffe and his two outcast friends (Rupert Grint and Emma Watson) face a larger challenge when they confront the wizard who killed his parents. A grab bag of storybook elements plucked from Tolkien, Dahl, and C.S. Lewis, Harry Potter gets off to a rousing start, as Rowling's hand-me-down universe opens up for its hero and seems fresh from his astonished perspective. But Columbus doesn't let a special effect pass without overdoing its sense of wonderment, as if the audience won't know to be awed unless he lays on a John Williams score with extra sprinkles. Harry Potter begins to lose its grip during an expensive-looking "Quidditch" match, a game that's like a cross between Rollerball and the pod race in The Phantom Menace, but is about as exciting as watching someone else play a video game. At 152 minutes, the film tries to squeeze in as much of the Rowling tome as possible, but the length grows more oppressive just as it should be gaining momentum for the finale. More Potter movies are in the pipeline, but the franchise seems exhausted halfway through the first. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Rox22Apr 22, 2015
I will say that I did try to avoid this series for as long as I could when it first came out, but after the first DVD release I got curious and wanted to see what all the fuss was about. I am so happy I gave this a chance.

The Harry Potter
I will say that I did try to avoid this series for as long as I could when it first came out, but after the first DVD release I got curious and wanted to see what all the fuss was about. I am so happy I gave this a chance.

The Harry Potter universe is a rich one that is filed with great fantasy and wonder which, at that point, wasn't that common.

Great visuals, nice acting and some masterful writing. Not to mention the grand set pieces,perfect wardrobe, and timeless musical score.

Perhaps the only real gripe I have with the first movie is that feels like one very long prologue,focusing a bit to much on introductions and setting up future plot points.

Overall:
HPatSS is a great introduction to the series, but feels like it lacks a strong enough plot of its own. Still a great movie that helped me become a fan of the series.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
teddylukeApr 6, 2015
harry potter and the sorcerer's stone is a really good way to start the harry potter movies. I want to see were the charters go I the other 7 movies..
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
homer4presidentMar 13, 2015
This is the best of the Harry Potter films, in my opinion. It truly captures the magic of the series. Even to thid day I can still watch movie and feel the same way I did when I first watched it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DBPirate1129Jan 11, 2015
A fantastic beginning to a magical series complete with great actors, great music, and great visuals. While it may not be the best in the franchise, it's definitely worth more than a few views!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oxanaJan 3, 2015
Harry Potter, as the name of the movie tells, is the hero of this film, and its future followers. To a point of annoyance, at times. The entire world seems to revolve around this young boy, and his doings, and even if he faces dangers, he andHarry Potter, as the name of the movie tells, is the hero of this film, and its future followers. To a point of annoyance, at times. The entire world seems to revolve around this young boy, and his doings, and even if he faces dangers, he and his friends always find a way out. (Mary Sue-type of characters really come to mind, here...). I am not a fan of Harry's, and not afraid to admit it. Yet the movie is beautiful, and visually great. The story is sweet, innocent in a way, and leaves a warm, fuzzy feeling: a boy who thought he had nothing but his miserable life is suddenly Somebody. The weight is a bit too much at times, since everyone seems to know more about his life than he does, but Harry has a lot of support coming to him. The movie's theme could be about finding your own place in the world, and thus, finding yourself. Harry does just that - while he accidentally stumbles upon a great matter of secrecy, revolving around the Sorcerer's Stone, that is in a way directly tied to his past. The scheming that begins to take place pretty early on in the movie is rather interesting. You can try and guess who is responsible for what - and why - but there are no guarantees that you will be right in the end. Never trust the obvious answer, the movie seems to try and say. Many of the plot turns are convenient, and not very surprising, but still there is some feel of newness to them. The world beyond the story is one of magic and astonishment, and will no doubt enchant generations to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
NerdConsultantOct 26, 2014
this film is still pretty good and has a funner edge that a lot of the films from order of the Phoenix onwards didn't have but it's biggest problem is that as Il Neige pointed out the books weren't finished so no one knew what to highlightthis film is still pretty good and has a funner edge that a lot of the films from order of the Phoenix onwards didn't have but it's biggest problem is that as Il Neige pointed out the books weren't finished so no one knew what to highlight and what to cut but it has also got special effects that haven't aged well. still good movie and i can watch it and will recommend it Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SythusRATINGSOct 18, 2014
An adaptation of the first of J.K. Rowling's immensely popular novels about Harry Potter, a boy whose life is tranformed on his eleventh birthday when he learns that he is the orphaned son of two powerful wizards and possesses unique magicalAn adaptation of the first of J.K. Rowling's immensely popular novels about Harry Potter, a boy whose life is tranformed on his eleventh birthday when he learns that he is the orphaned son of two powerful wizards and possesses unique magical powers of his own. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CPD98Oct 16, 2014
La saga de mi infancia. Me habré visto cada entrega como 10 veces o más, es una maravilla que toda persona en su época de niño debería ver. Todas merecen un 10 como una casa.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeAug 25, 2014
An enchanting debut to a magical series of films. You'll be transported into an exciting world that you'll learn to crave despite the resonating evil within it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
dante_finnAug 11, 2014
This is such a cool movie. With seeing the wizarding world and going to Hogwarts. The effects were also prettty sweet. Daniel Radcliffe did a good job woth potraying Harry Potter. The presentation to this film was dramatic which made meThis is such a cool movie. With seeing the wizarding world and going to Hogwarts. The effects were also prettty sweet. Daniel Radcliffe did a good job woth potraying Harry Potter. The presentation to this film was dramatic which made me prepared for the film. Looking back nowadays this is a classic in my opinion hat will never leave my childhood memory. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
AaronWasserman2May 4, 2014
When I was a kid this was incredible. The imagination of the book put onto the screen...the desire to be at hogwarts. once your older the novelty wears off. And you see while this movie has alot of positives...it is not one of the better Potters
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Pranay6Mar 15, 2014
his is the most-"loyal"-to-the-book Harry Potter movie, and it's from one of the best books. Logically, results in a wonderfull, amazing movie. Even if the effects aren't so good compared with the later films, the plot line is incredible. Ihis is the most-"loyal"-to-the-book Harry Potter movie, and it's from one of the best books. Logically, results in a wonderfull, amazing movie. Even if the effects aren't so good compared with the later films, the plot line is incredible. I have to repeat it, the "loyalty" to the book was amazing, that made this film awesome. I watched it 7 times in video and 2 times in the cinema. Yes, you heard well. I repeated a movie in the cinema, without beeing a super-fan. I loved it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
cag11Nov 30, 2013
Even though it was all kids, or for the most part, Chris Columbus did it pretty well this time in 'Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone'. It stayed really true to the book and had decent effect for its time.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
joao1198pedroNov 28, 2013
this is an good adaptation of the j.k. rowlling book wich defines a good start point for this franchise,it is not a so perfect movie.Unfortunately daniel redcliffe isn't a so good actor to make this rule.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RayzorMooseNov 12, 2013
A spellbinding story of a young wizard that electrifies.
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone enchants audiences with a well forged script and impressive young actors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
OfficialNov 1, 2013
"Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone" is a great and magical start to the Harry Potter series. It's surprisingly very faithful to the book, as Director Chris Columbus makes the film so that it's exactly like the book, so there's not much"Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone" is a great and magical start to the Harry Potter series. It's surprisingly very faithful to the book, as Director Chris Columbus makes the film so that it's exactly like the book, so there's not much room for surprises. But this movie is an intense and fun adventure with impressive visual effects. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
nickrovertOct 24, 2013
With well-written dialogue and stunning visual effects, as well well-executed acting performances, 'Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone' is truly magical.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Movie1997Sep 8, 2013
Not only was it a great start to one of the most beloved book series/franchise of all time, it stayed loyal to the books and introduced children everywhere to a whole new breed of wizardry. Overall, this is the same guy who made "TheNot only was it a great start to one of the most beloved book series/franchise of all time, it stayed loyal to the books and introduced children everywhere to a whole new breed of wizardry. Overall, this is the same guy who made "The Lightening Thief"? Be sure to check out my YouTube channel "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ItsRaininMenJul 25, 2013
The movie is honestly... overrated. There is far too much talking, and too many scenes where people aren't really doing much, with a few exciting scenes, and that's about it. Talking scenes are okay for books, but, for movies, I'd like to seeThe movie is honestly... overrated. There is far too much talking, and too many scenes where people aren't really doing much, with a few exciting scenes, and that's about it. Talking scenes are okay for books, but, for movies, I'd like to see a lot more. And, even though it's common for dramatic movies to have uncolorful lighting, for a world of magic, it sure looked a bit dull. Not very memorable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JmsbppJul 24, 2013
Tiene un buen contenido de algo que se desviaba a la brujeria cursi pero la pelicula es realmente es relmente aburrida y con nombres raros desde el principio
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DibbHansenJul 14, 2013
A classic film that boasts of adventure, emotion, music (that theme- John Williams never disappoints), amazing sets, visuals, directing and great acting (every actor/actress cast perfectly). Everything about this film is lovable, classicalA classic film that boasts of adventure, emotion, music (that theme- John Williams never disappoints), amazing sets, visuals, directing and great acting (every actor/actress cast perfectly). Everything about this film is lovable, classical and perfect and follows the book wonderfully. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
StevenFJul 11, 2013
There was quite the air of anticipation when this film was announced, based on a book, and full of magical tendencies, at 11 years old I was deep into the books, and was really looking forward to see the characters I read about and come toThere was quite the air of anticipation when this film was announced, based on a book, and full of magical tendencies, at 11 years old I was deep into the books, and was really looking forward to see the characters I read about and come to know over the years, brought to life on the big screen, because this franchise was truly the stepping stone for all other fantasy novels and genres to take the leap out of the black and white pages. Chris Columbus kicked off what was to become a worldwide phenomenon, brimming with excitement and passionate stories that JK Rowling has written.
Harry Potter (Daniel Radcliffe) is met with the unimaginable after finding out on his 11th birthday that he is a wizard, and that he is scheduled to enrol in Hogwarts, a magical school for witches and wizards that is vastly different from our seemingly routine earth. Harry is introduced to all kinds of magical anomalies, complete towns behind dead end walls, wands, broomsticks, every sort of out of this world thing imaginable. But of course there is always darkness with light, and Harry soon discovers that there is a reason people whisper is name as he passes and why the professors at Hogwarts take such an interest in his life.
Joining him for the journey are dynamic duo is red-haired Ron Weasley (Rupert Grint) and the brains and elegance that is Hermione Granger (Emma Watson). These three truly get more than they bargain for as they form unlikely friendships, particularly with the half-giant Hagrid (Robbie Coltrane) who has more than a few secrets to divulge.
The huge British cast the film boasts is quite fitting for these characters are pictured when reading the book, and in terms of the scale of the film, it simply doesn't get much bigger, while also staying as true as it can to the source material for the purposes of film, a lot of effort and attention to detail is quite breathtaking, from the Great Hall to the dormitories within each house. While the child at times can be a little jarring and too much on cue, the overall tone of the film maintains a light-hearted approach the way the first book entry in the series outlined.
The film succeeds in adventure and emotional clarification for our main man Harry, this boy has lost his parents and only eleven years later knows the truth surrounding his whole life, but with this quite tragic story the creators have managed to create a film that appeals to all ages, with a perfect mixture of comedy, action, amazement, but most of all, magic.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jeff_reviewsJul 4, 2013
Wonderful music, passionate, beautiful visuals, and true to the book, "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone" is a delight, but still suffers from the fact that it may not surprise to the book fans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AReviewsJun 24, 2013
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone is outstanding and magical, it has everything that a family movie should have, the acting, story and visuals are excellent, it is original and one of the best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BrunoADJun 14, 2013
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone brings everything a movie needs, from amazing young cast, a more mature cast, great special effects for the year of 2001, art direction magic that surely deserved an Oscar, the script does not speak toHarry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone brings everything a movie needs, from amazing young cast, a more mature cast, great special effects for the year of 2001, art direction magic that surely deserved an Oscar, the script does not speak to what is really amazing how Steve Kloves was faithful to livro.E Chris Columbus for the first time (in my opinion) been in a serious movie and respected. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Annoymous1May 18, 2013
Close to the book but still entertains. Excitingly enough I thought it would be great though it fared lower than most of its sequels. Zeal needed but a total failure when it came to dialogue. But very good stuff.

Next Movie!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
HaithamBayazeedMay 10, 2013
An amazing piece of art, great and really entertaining, a movie for the whole family, really well done! But it is more for kids.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Tss5078Apr 21, 2013
I've never been the kind of person that buys into hype and to be honest, I hate most big budget films, So until this weekend, I've avoided everything Harry Potter. That being said, I have never met anyone who had anything bad to say about theI've never been the kind of person that buys into hype and to be honest, I hate most big budget films, So until this weekend, I've avoided everything Harry Potter. That being said, I have never met anyone who had anything bad to say about the Potter films, so I finally decided to give it a shot, and boy was I surprised! For those select few who don't know the story, Harry Potter is the son of two legendary wizards, who was hidden with distant relatives, in order to protect him. Until his eleventh birthday, he had no idea that he was famous or had the potential to be the most power wizard the world has ever known. Potter is invited to join the Hogwarts school of wizardry and that is when the adventure begins. British Actor, Daniel Radcliffe, plays Potter and is nothing short of spectacular. Before the Potter films, Radcliffe had very limited acting experience and many say, he got the part, because of his resemblance to Harry Potter on the cover of the book. That may be how he got the part, but he defiantly shows he has the talent to go along with the right look. His performance was terrific, but there is something to be said about having the right Director, and Christopher Columbus was the perfect choice. Columbus has a ton of experience working with young newcomers in films with high expectations. Overall, the story is extremely well written, the young cast was refreshing and full of energy, the direction was stellar, and the set, costumes, and effects were some of the best I've ever seen. I'm not going to go run out and join a quitage team, but I am going to see the rest of the series. Harry Potter is a huge budget franchise, but for once, a blockbuster film does live up to the hype, and earns the title of a must see movie! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
James1998Apr 20, 2013
I first saw this movie when i was 4, i'm now 14 and I still love it. The film is outstanding, the acting excellent, the special effects mind blowing and the characters brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
mds03Apr 14, 2013
I absolutely loved it. The creativity, the special effects, the story, the characters, the performances, and the villain were so carefully and perfectly put together to make a heck of a movie. I can't describe how great this movie is comparedI absolutely loved it. The creativity, the special effects, the story, the characters, the performances, and the villain were so carefully and perfectly put together to make a heck of a movie. I can't describe how great this movie is compared to all the other fantasy movies I have ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
sil3nt_nickMar 24, 2013
Remarkably well acting by a group of eleven-year-old children who would eventually become superstars in the film world. Very strong effects for the early 21st century.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SEROJMar 23, 2013
One of the greatest movie experiences of my childhood. The first part of the greatest magical saga "Harry Potter" is probably the best choice you can make if you haven't watch, especially if you like mysteries,magic and if you haveOne of the greatest movie experiences of my childhood. The first part of the greatest magical saga "Harry Potter" is probably the best choice you can make if you haven't watch, especially if you like mysteries,magic and if you have imagination! This movie is an example of PERFECTION! Full 10/10, without no doubt! I'm proud with the fact that i grew up with this movies and i'm proud to call myself a huge Harry Potter fan! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
charlieW24Feb 10, 2013
At times it does feel to family orientated and isn't as dark as you'd like, but the first in the 'Harry Potter' franchise is a fun mystery adventure that introduces us to the world of Hogwarts, while being a wonderfully magical adaptation ofAt times it does feel to family orientated and isn't as dark as you'd like, but the first in the 'Harry Potter' franchise is a fun mystery adventure that introduces us to the world of Hogwarts, while being a wonderfully magical adaptation of the classic J.K Rowling novels. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RikiegeJan 22, 2013
Very good adaptation of the book. All Harry Potter movies are good and recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
NecromusJan 3, 2013
I saw this at a friend's house along with the second Harry Potter movie after it was released on video. This movie just bored me to death. I don't see what all the hype is about. Maybe you had to read the book, my friends who have read theI saw this at a friend's house along with the second Harry Potter movie after it was released on video. This movie just bored me to death. I don't see what all the hype is about. Maybe you had to read the book, my friends who have read the book tell me that the book is way better than the movie. Rating it as a bad movie since it was so boring I only remember two parts, the beginning and the end and neither or those were that exciting either. I thought the ending was stupid actually. After seeing the first two movies, I have never bothered seeing any others since I was so bored by the first two. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
MetaGazJan 2, 2013
The main characters acted well for children. There were some boring parts, but overall, it was enjoyable. It had a bright point of view and a dark point of view. The background music was well conducted. Graphics were good for a movie made 12The main characters acted well for children. There were some boring parts, but overall, it was enjoyable. It had a bright point of view and a dark point of view. The background music was well conducted. Graphics were good for a movie made 12 years ago. But there were some parts that connected the seens in the book, while in the movie, there isn't some connecting scenes from one sceene to another, so people that didn't read the book and only watched the movie might be a little confused, but it was great, and I hope that they keep on developing, and make movies that get top scores. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Bruce722Dec 30, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was a really well done movie. I was really intrigued to see how well they would portray the book on film and I must say, they did a fantastic job. There were undoubtedly some major and minor differences but I felt almost all of these were perfectly fine. Obviously it's impossible to include every aspect but there were some things that I think they could've/should've done differently. For one, I understand you can't add everything and that some things might have to be changed in order to make the movie work but if that's the case, why add things that are completely unnecessary? For example, the moving stairs. As for the things taken out or changes, I have no problem with all of them, except one. In the end when they're making their way through the various challenges, they took out Snape's potion riddle. To me, that was the second most important and memorable challenge of them all behind the chess challenge. This would've only added another minute or two and should've been included in the movie. Nonetheless, this was a well done book-to-movie adaptation. The acting of some of the students left a little to be desired but it wasn't too bad and I've heard it improves as they, and the book/movies age. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AddVarietyDec 25, 2012
While this is only the first installment in the series and remarkably Disney-like, I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. It's in no way a groundbreaking movie, but it has no major drawbacks either. Good character build-up combined with a nicelyWhile this is only the first installment in the series and remarkably Disney-like, I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. It's in no way a groundbreaking movie, but it has no major drawbacks either. Good character build-up combined with a nicely produced movie makes this an easy recommendation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
jfrotylpe532Dec 21, 2012
Though it was a good start to the most sucessful trilogy of all time, I thought it was a little childish and not extremeley well written. Other than that the movie was a sucess.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Dark, mystical, and not afraid to leave the audience begging for more, "The Sorcerer's Stone" truly remains a worthy start to a great franchise.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
FilmEqualsJoyNov 10, 2012
Such a magical film for kids everywhere. I remember seeing this for the first time when I was a kid. It was spellbinding. Every time I watch Sorcerer's Stone I still feel that old feeling of happiness, but HP1 is not as dark and gritty asSuch a magical film for kids everywhere. I remember seeing this for the first time when I was a kid. It was spellbinding. Every time I watch Sorcerer's Stone I still feel that old feeling of happiness, but HP1 is not as dark and gritty as later Harry Potter's that I believe to produce more emotional depth. Some people prefer this one and think it is the best one. What more could Potter fans ask for? This is a wonderful film to watch. It starts off a series in spectacular fashion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
1jj2jj3jj4jj5Nov 9, 2012
A great score, fantastic sets and costumes and brilliant acting throughout. Amazing transformation from book to screen, including almost all of the detail provided in the book, done superbly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 8, 2012
Harry Potter is dazzling and magical. It's a film of pure of wonder that's enjoyable for the whole family.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
kbm1Oct 19, 2012
Released in 2001, J.K. Rowling's international bestseller got its film adaptation here. While it must be admitted that it does have a nice charm to it, its sometimes lopsided pacing can break it off from the perfection it was so dramaticallyReleased in 2001, J.K. Rowling's international bestseller got its film adaptation here. While it must be admitted that it does have a nice charm to it, its sometimes lopsided pacing can break it off from the perfection it was so dramatically close to. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
TokyochuchuSep 23, 2012
The Sorcerer's Stone is a decent opener for the Harry Potter franchise. There is a lot of fun to be had discovering the world of Hogwarts. The film isn't perfect however; hefty over-length and an uneven final third keep it from joining theThe Sorcerer's Stone is a decent opener for the Harry Potter franchise. There is a lot of fun to be had discovering the world of Hogwarts. The film isn't perfect however; hefty over-length and an uneven final third keep it from joining the truly brilliant Potter outings. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
potatoes351Aug 14, 2012
We all know the story to Harry Potter. Orphan who has nothing turns into the greatest wizard of all time. The first film instalment sticks true to the original book and includes some good special effects but nothing that will stand out fromWe all know the story to Harry Potter. Orphan who has nothing turns into the greatest wizard of all time. The first film instalment sticks true to the original book and includes some good special effects but nothing that will stand out from anything but a kids film. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
Bruno07Jul 18, 2012
This movie is great for a beginning of a great visual effects saga.Os so perfect for a year called 2001 the Soundtrack ta perfect film is good in every way until the script legal.O ta ta good cast is Ron Rupert Emma surprised me and Daniel isThis movie is great for a beginning of a great visual effects saga.Os so perfect for a year called 2001 the Soundtrack ta perfect film is good in every way until the script legal.O ta ta good cast is Ron Rupert Emma surprised me and Daniel is a good actor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MonsieurEamesJul 12, 2012
Truly magical. Yes, there is more of a kiddie approach to everything and Radcliffe's acting isn't exactly great (but he was a kid, come on!) but everything else was perfect. They did a spectacular job capturing the magic of Hogwarts andTruly magical. Yes, there is more of a kiddie approach to everything and Radcliffe's acting isn't exactly great (but he was a kid, come on!) but everything else was perfect. They did a spectacular job capturing the magic of Hogwarts and everything else in the Harry Potter universe, and the casting, oh the casting is so, so great. Kicks off one of the greatest franchises in movie history with a bang. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
SamjamJun 20, 2012
Harry Potter the movie was great! Yes the book was better, but isn't that always the way when there is a novel to film adaptation? There was magic, friendships and basically evil magicians going around wanting to win the world and killHarry Potter the movie was great! Yes the book was better, but isn't that always the way when there is a novel to film adaptation? There was magic, friendships and basically evil magicians going around wanting to win the world and kill specific people. Great movie and fun for the kids and a good family viewing movie. Expand
2 of 15 users found this helpful213
All this user's reviews
10
JavisJun 14, 2012
The first movie, Chris Columbus opened a saga that would mark a generation. I was dazzling, visually beautiful, funny and magic. John William's music was wonderful, it fitted very well to every sequence.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
watithink123May 3, 2012
The first Harry Potter in the movie series of Harry Potter film's. The start had no interest for me at all. But after the troll scene it start's to get really good, but the start effects this movie in ,a big way. The middle and the end of theThe first Harry Potter in the movie series of Harry Potter film's. The start had no interest for me at all. But after the troll scene it start's to get really good, but the start effects this movie in ,a big way. The middle and the end of the film did it for me. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone 6.9/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MegWhiteleyMar 28, 2012
Amazing this movie, is really interesting, amazing, a bigger sorprise, I think that have some mistakes, but is awesome movie. I love Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone is a classic.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
Trev29Mar 27, 2012
An astonishing movie that was perfect in its tone. It captured the world of magic perfectly and John Williams score connected brilliantly. A classic it certainly is. Who knew what would come of this series. It will always remain the beginningAn astonishing movie that was perfect in its tone. It captured the world of magic perfectly and John Williams score connected brilliantly. A classic it certainly is. Who knew what would come of this series. It will always remain the beginning of a franchise that will be remembered forever in cinema. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
csw12Mar 25, 2012
The Sorcerer's Stone is an excellent start to Harry Potter. It is a magical a joyful film. Everything i expected from reading the book Christopher Columbus has turned into something even more special. i suspect this will continue into the others.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
AquophisDec 28, 2011
It does an impeccable job of conveying all the emotional warmth and utter enchantment that the book had, and John Williams's fantastic soundtrack makes it all the better. This is a movie that will truly capture your sense of wonder.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
heyitsmegrif4Dec 17, 2011
With fantastic and heartwarming debut performances from the children, good visual effects, a heartwarming, sometimes thrilling story, make this a good start to one of the greatest franchises ever. Despite the fact of the incredibly longWith fantastic and heartwarming debut performances from the children, good visual effects, a heartwarming, sometimes thrilling story, make this a good start to one of the greatest franchises ever. Despite the fact of the incredibly long length and the lack of adventure. I give this excellent movie an 84% of a good movie. Expand
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
6
spadenxDec 2, 2011
While it does a good job taking a bulk of the details from the book and putting it into film, The movie is pretty corny and rather childish (yes I know it's based off a childrens book). The acting is solid but I am a bit disapointed that theyWhile it does a good job taking a bulk of the details from the book and putting it into film, The movie is pretty corny and rather childish (yes I know it's based off a childrens book). The acting is solid but I am a bit disapointed that they didnt use their experianced older cast members more. It was enjoyable for the most part though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
asylumspadezNov 26, 2011
Wasnt as bad as I remembered. The older cast members were great and played their parts perfectly, The young cast was solid as well. The movie was decent and was as loyal to the book as it could be. However it lacked originality and the CGIWasnt as bad as I remembered. The older cast members were great and played their parts perfectly, The young cast was solid as well. The movie was decent and was as loyal to the book as it could be. However it lacked originality and the CGI wasnt that good either (The troll looked poorly done). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jboy2468Nov 22, 2011
Where do I start?! This movie presents the greatest entertainment the business had to offer in 2001! I personally love this series, and this is a wonderful introduction. Harry Potter has arrived at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry,Where do I start?! This movie presents the greatest entertainment the business had to offer in 2001! I personally love this series, and this is a wonderful introduction. Harry Potter has arrived at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, and the magic begins here. Harry meets two children named Ron and Hermione, and he wouldn't live without them. The choice of casting surpasses perfection, and the movie is an awesome start to an awesome series! Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellNov 13, 2011
It is faithful to what happened in the novel. A great story and visuals are what make it perfect/near perfect. The actors give great performances and it is believable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
marnee96Nov 6, 2011
It's an excellent start to an excellent franchise. It's very faithful to it's literary counterpart and it's pure cinematic magic. It's impressively designed and sports likable characters, emotion, friendship and bravery to coincide with theIt's an excellent start to an excellent franchise. It's very faithful to it's literary counterpart and it's pure cinematic magic. It's impressively designed and sports likable characters, emotion, friendship and bravery to coincide with the story . There are some moments I found a little too childish, but that's understandable given the film's general child-friendly demographic. The young actors weren't that convincing through certain parts of the film. But, again, it's understandable given their age and lack of real acting experience. 3/4 stars. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 23, 2011
Director Chris Columbus has created "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone" a dazzling movie that stays true to its book and adding itself with pure zeal and passion with impressive visuals.
14 of 17 users found this helpful143
All this user's reviews
6
LetzTalkMoveezSep 18, 2011
The first in the highly lucrative wizard franchise is heavy on magic, low on character. The visuals are pretty dreadful, too. Still, it's a fun introduction to the Harry Potter mythology and boasts some great performances by the supporting cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JawsPapi87Aug 9, 2011
Even though this movie was eventually topped by almost all of the following films in the series, it is a modern classic and a very satisfying first chapter. There are also some stand-out adult performances that elevate this movie (Alan Rickman)
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
CRLJul 27, 2011
This was where one of the highest grossing and most critically acclaimed series began, with a somewhat humble adaptation of J.K. Rowling's bestseller. These actors back then were completely unknown, and though they weren't at the level theyThis was where one of the highest grossing and most critically acclaimed series began, with a somewhat humble adaptation of J.K. Rowling's bestseller. These actors back then were completely unknown, and though they weren't at the level they are now, they were still good enough for a movie that depended on a wonderful and well-represented story as well as some of the best directing of the series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
moviesfanJul 24, 2011
SO The HP saga begins with the sorcerer stone. I started writing the reviews after the last movie come out so i really understand the all the films. So where i began the first movie was a good movie where you saw that harry has magical powersSO The HP saga begins with the sorcerer stone. I started writing the reviews after the last movie come out so i really understand the all the films. So where i began the first movie was a good movie where you saw that harry has magical powers and begins on hogwarts the school for wizardy. It was a spectacular movie with good specialeffects and good acting especially for the litle harry. But there a few minors in the first movie that was later be solved by other directors, professor dumbledore is much better in the next films than in the firts 2 and the old look at hogwarts does not fit in the movie, further is was a thrill and it was a good firts harry potter but not the best. so i give it an 7 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
HasrionaJul 20, 2011
A charming, sweet and colourful film. The acting among the young is iffy, and the effects are rather poor, but the emotion and the very faithful plot quickly pull you in. The sets are one of the key delights of this film. Everything isA charming, sweet and colourful film. The acting among the young is iffy, and the effects are rather poor, but the emotion and the very faithful plot quickly pull you in. The sets are one of the key delights of this film. Everything is beautifully decorated and lavishly coloured to make it absolutely awe-inspiring. Together with the rich cinematography, it really brings the magic to life. The music also adds to the magic and the wonder, and follows the emotion closely. This can make it slightly boring, as there is nothing really converse about how it flows, but it adds something really satisfying and real to the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AVCITYJul 12, 2011
It is a fantastical achievement. It introduces us to a richly detailed world with great characters and above all a good story. It doesn't particularly flow at times and Chris Columbus seems a bit stale with the camera but the actors, sets andIt is a fantastical achievement. It introduces us to a richly detailed world with great characters and above all a good story. It doesn't particularly flow at times and Chris Columbus seems a bit stale with the camera but the actors, sets and John William's score more than make up for it. Dan, Rupert and Emma are perfectly cast and all the other older british actors give Hogwarts a rich atmosphere. The story provided by JK Rowling is really strong so the filmmakers were wise in following it closely. In the end, Chris Columbus deserves much credit for starting off the series on the right foot. I saw this when I was 14 and it just resonated with me on a very personal level. It's a classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AlnORTIZJul 11, 2011
I first saw this film when I was around 4 when it was released on DVD and I loved it when I first saw it! Ten years later, this film is still the most faithful to the book unlike the others. Seeing the actors playing the trio at such a youngI first saw this film when I was around 4 when it was released on DVD and I loved it when I first saw it! Ten years later, this film is still the most faithful to the book unlike the others. Seeing the actors playing the trio at such a young age is still a delight to see as they grow up. The visuals are fantastic and it certainly gets you introduced to the world of Harry Potter. Not the best Harry Potter film, but is a great film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieLonely94Jul 5, 2011
An 11-year old boy named Harry Potter discovers that he's a wizard and receives an invitation to a magical school called Hogwarts. Along the way, he meets two friends named Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger as they spend their natural lives atAn 11-year old boy named Harry Potter discovers that he's a wizard and receives an invitation to a magical school called Hogwarts. Along the way, he meets two friends named Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger as they spend their natural lives at the school, but little do they know that an evil sorcerer plots to steal the magic stone known as The Sorcerer's Stone and they must find it and solve the mystery about the death of Harry's parents.

Wow. I was very speechless when I first saw this movie in theaters as a little child. To tell the truth, I've never read the book in which this movie was based on, but when I read it, the chapters showed the same thing that were included in the movie and I think it followed the book quite well.

What else can you say about it? The actors were very entertaining and had a lot of talent with their performances since they look like the same characters from the book. Daniel Radcliffe did very well as the main character (god bless him) and I can't say anything else about the rest of the actors because they did great as well as him.

The storyline was well-paced and the John Williams music score was very memorable and had a lot of emotion to it.

The CGI effects were great and the fantasy action was very good.

There's nothing negative to say about this movie and that's it.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone is a faithful adaptation of the book with excellent performances, great settings, and a well-paced storyline. Thumbs up from me.

8/10
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
filmtrashreviewJul 3, 2011
Innovative special effects and picture perfect child acting. I am proud to say that this film is the greatest children's movie of all-times. Don't believe me? Watch the film and see if you don't enjoy it. Few films can take a children's novelInnovative special effects and picture perfect child acting. I am proud to say that this film is the greatest children's movie of all-times. Don't believe me? Watch the film and see if you don't enjoy it. Few films can take a children's novel and make it a serious contender for greatness but Chris Columbus does it and does it well!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AtTheMoviesJun 18, 2011
In retrospect, this film is a lot better then when you first see it. Although the acting, primarily on the stars is not so great, the movie itself still manages to be pretty good. This may be due to the fantastic performances of theIn retrospect, this film is a lot better then when you first see it. Although the acting, primarily on the stars is not so great, the movie itself still manages to be pretty good. This may be due to the fantastic performances of the supporting cast that includes Alan Rickman, Maggie Smith, and Richard Harris, or it may be due to the brilliant score by John Williams that has become somewhat the classical theme of a generation. The direction may not be as visually impressive as later installments, but Columbus still does a good job of bringing wonder to Hogwarts. The changes from the book, although few, are still apparent to a fan of the series, and are not that much a distraction. Absolutely for Potter fans, and possibly for everyone else, Sorcerer's (Philosopher's) Stone is a great movie that launches the magical franchise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jimmytancrediMay 29, 2011
The lack of discernment between the boundaries by literature and the cinema compromises part of the movie, which seems oddly limited and unimaginative in a universe that is just the opposite. Chris Columbus, with a monstrous technicalThe lack of discernment between the boundaries by literature and the cinema compromises part of the movie, which seems oddly limited and unimaginative in a universe that is just the opposite. Chris Columbus, with a monstrous technical department, prepares the magical world beautifully, however fills the air. The scenes seem a succession of sketches made strategically to put the narrative in motion, without any soul or your driving style. The soundtrack by John Williams, however, besides having a theme already unforgettable simply creates beside the photograph the whole mood and atmosphere of Hogwarts. As a product, is a beautiful film and well done, but it suffers from the absence of a different taste and own something that is only acquired later along the saga goes on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Thomas_GXMediaApr 5, 2011
A great entry to the world of Harry Potter. The beginning of it all. I believe this is probably the best of it's lot because of the way it introduces all these things. Quidditch, Broomsticks, withes and wizards like you've never imagined. J.KA great entry to the world of Harry Potter. The beginning of it all. I believe this is probably the best of it's lot because of the way it introduces all these things. Quidditch, Broomsticks, withes and wizards like you've never imagined. J.K rowling has definitley got alot of inspiration from fairy tales and stories of witches and magic but revamps it like no one has ever seen. It's one of the most original film series since Star Wars. I guess the story I don't really need to talk about because i'm sure most of you out there have heard of Harry Potter. Basically Harry is 'the boy that lived' from a dark evil wizard by the name of Voldemort when he was just an infant. Dumbeldore, the headmaster of Hogwarts, Hagrid and the other teachers of Hogwarts leave him off at his closest relatives, his uncle an aunt. At the age of 11 Harry is revisited by Hagrid and is taken to Hogwarts. this is where he learns all about wizardry and why he is their. It's a fnatastic story and a pretty touching story. Harry grew up with his uncle and aunt who are extremely mean to him along with his cousin, Dudley who is the selfish spoilt little brat. All three of them are characters you love to hate. As much as they are extremely mean people it's enjoyable to see them be so pompus and narcistic at times. Most of the characters in the story are brilliant. It makes this world very believable and reels you in.Hagrid i'd like to start with. He is a brilliant character at about the height of 7 foot. As much as he looks monstrous he's actually a gentle heartfelt man who can cook and do gardening. The relation he has with Harry, Ron and Hermione is great. He looks like such a good friend. Ron weasley, a friend Harry meets on the train to Hogwarts. He's silly at times and things sometimes don't work out for him. Hermione is a school addict who knows plenty about spells and potions. Harry is played wonderfully by Daniel Radcliffe and it's easy to see how he got the role. All the characters of the story seem fit for the film. The way they look, the way the talk has a magnificent style. That's what the Harry Potter films have. Alot of style. They are very distinct from other films. How many films involve stories as deep as this along with mythical creatures, Witched, Spells and thousand year old castles. As the first of the Harry Potter films this is a wonderful entry and if you haven't watched ANY of the Harry Potter films then it's worth starting with this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews