Harvest of Empire

Harvest of Empire Image
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Harvest of Empire takes an unflinching look at the role that U.S. economic and military interests played in triggering an unprecedented wave of migration that is transforming our nation’s cultural and
    economic landscape. From the wars for territorial expansion that gave the U.S. control of
    Harvest of Empire takes an unflinching look at the role that U.S. economic and military interests played in triggering an unprecedented wave of migration that is transforming our nation’s cultural and
    economic landscape. From the wars for territorial expansion that gave the U.S. control of Puerto Rico, Cuba and more than half of Mexico, to
    the covert operations that imposed oppressive military regimes in the Dominican Republic, Guatemala, Nicaragua and El Salvador, Harvest of Empire unveils a moving human story that is largely unknown to the great majority of citizens in the U.S. (Onyx Films)
    Expand

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Sep 27, 2012
    80
    In an era of anti-immigrant fervor, this sobering and much-needed look at Latino migration is built on an undeniably optimistic premise: that once Americans have accurate facts, "they rarely allow injustices to stand."
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Mar 7, 2013
    75
    As entertainment, this approach might be questionable. As a service, it would be valuable.
  3. Reviewed by: Rachel Saltz
    Sep 27, 2012
    70
    The filmmakers retain a touching faith that most Americans won't tolerate injustice when they know about it. This film is meant to teach them.
  4. Reviewed by: Kerry Lengel
    Mar 1, 2013
    70
    As an analysis of the causes of migration, it is one-dimensional and unconvincing. But as a social history of Latinos in America, it is provocative and fascinating. And as an indictment of decades of economic injustice and covert military action committed in the name of freedom, it is devastating.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Nordine
    Sep 25, 2012
    60
    Harvest of Empire is never quite wrong, but it's effectiveness is inversely proportional to how hard it's trying.
  6. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Oct 2, 2012
    60
    Cogent documentary makes the persuasive argument for the role that U.S. military and corporate interests have played in the influx of immigration from Latin American countries.
  7. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    Sep 27, 2012
    60
    Though its snapshot approach is uneven, Harvest is itself a valuable resource: a good starting point for a fuller perspective on this nation of immigrants.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 1 out of 1
  1. Oct 2, 2012
    3
    More like Eduardo LopeZZZ. I nearly fell asleep five times, and that was before the movie even started. Based on the poster I assumed thatMore like Eduardo LopeZZZ. I nearly fell asleep five times, and that was before the movie even started. Based on the poster I assumed that this was a comedy about Mexican farmers coming to New York. Boy was I wrong. It's more like a history lesson. Some parts are surprisingly touching. I love how people shared their stories. Collapse

Related Articles

  1. 12 Films to See in September

    12 Films to See in September Image
    Published: August 30, 2016
    Our editors select the month's most promising releases, including a Blair Witch revival and new films from Clint Eastwood, Andrea Arnold, Oliver Stone, Ron Howard, and more.
  2. The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best

    The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best  Image
    Published: August 27, 2016
    We rank this summer's highest-grossing films by Metascore.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Kenneth Lonergan's Manchester by the Sea, Damien Chazelle’s La La Land, Adam Wingard's Blair Witch, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.