Lionsgate | Release Date: March 27, 2009
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 83 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
35
Mixed:
32
Negative:
16
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
JaysonL.Mar 27, 2009
Waste of time. Completely retarded movie that is only about 1% of the actual haunting, and 99% of family drama. It was so bad that everyone in the theater was actually chatting/whispering instead of watching it about 30 minutes in. I can Waste of time. Completely retarded movie that is only about 1% of the actual haunting, and 99% of family drama. It was so bad that everyone in the theater was actually chatting/whispering instead of watching it about 30 minutes in. I can only recommend this movie to people who enjoy torturing themselves. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
FranN.Mar 30, 2009
The documentary on the discovery channel was so much better, and didn't involve all the cheap tricks. The fact that this happened to a really family is ridiculously disturbing but this depiction is completely lack luster.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
CaroleS.Jul 25, 2009
OH MY GOD. I give this rag 2 stars. Very disappointing, and I'll tell you why. First they tell you that this movie is based on a true story. By telling me that it is based on a true story it set my expectations very high. For a true OH MY GOD. I give this rag 2 stars. Very disappointing, and I'll tell you why. First they tell you that this movie is based on a true story. By telling me that it is based on a true story it set my expectations very high. For a true story I expected the realism to be REAL. You know, something I could believe. Well this movie was anything but realistic. It was typical Hollywood.We found ourselves laughing through 95% of this movie. Watching this and trying to believe that it really happened to someone was hysterical. We couldn't stop giggling. Nice try Hollywood, but this was a NO GO!! Scary??? NOT!!! hilarious?? ABSOLUTELY! Rent this one if you want a good laugh fest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JayHJul 9, 2009
Unconvincing horror flick. It is well produced, the cast is capable but the story just simply isn't very good. Nuff' said.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TamHMar 29, 2009
Involving, fun, and thoroughly frightening with just enough creeps and crawls to keep you on the edge of your seat. Check it out!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TonySMar 30, 2009
I'll admit this movie really wasn't anything new. I mean a haunted house movie comes out every year like clock work. Most of them come with the slogan "inspired by actual events" or "based of a true story" this one isn't that I'll admit this movie really wasn't anything new. I mean a haunted house movie comes out every year like clock work. Most of them come with the slogan "inspired by actual events" or "based of a true story" this one isn't that much different from those. Now this movie did have plenty of jumps and frights. But nothing amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShaunP.Mar 30, 2009
Alright. So this isn't a classic. It isn't a shining example of film as an art form. It isn't much of anything other than a scary movie. And on that level, it delivers the shocks and scares better than any of the horror movies Alright. So this isn't a classic. It isn't a shining example of film as an art form. It isn't much of anything other than a scary movie. And on that level, it delivers the shocks and scares better than any of the horror movies I've seen in the theatre in the last year. Sure, anyone familiar with horror film tropes will experience a distinct sense of deja vu, and anyone who's seen The Amityville Horror, with which this movie's inspiration shares many real-world connections, will connect the dots between that movie's plot and this one's, but Haunting manages to bring the scares without being a remake of something done in America in the 80's or in Japan in the 90's. Surely that counts for something. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnnaRApr 20, 2009
So this probably won't go in the Hall of Fame for film ingenuity, but as the modern horror film that it is, it delivers a very intriguing plot that really caught my attention. The characters were mostly pretreated beautifully, except So this probably won't go in the Hall of Fame for film ingenuity, but as the modern horror film that it is, it delivers a very intriguing plot that really caught my attention. The characters were mostly pretreated beautifully, except for a couple times when their actions were a bit predictable. I honestly love this movie because it doesn't solely rely on blood and guts to deliver a good shiver, it creeps you out with ghosts and real life experiences that can be more relevant to people's lives (therefore more believable and creepier). I would strongly recommend for people to watch this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RachelSApr 25, 2009
A great movie that keeps you guessing till the very end!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MichaelCJun 27, 2009
As many have probably pointed out, the movie was just too predictable to be even considered for a high score. However, the wonderful acting and the outstanding effects leave it out of the trash heap. I personally liked the double-take As many have probably pointed out, the movie was just too predictable to be even considered for a high score. However, the wonderful acting and the outstanding effects leave it out of the trash heap. I personally liked the double-take disappearances throughout the movie by the soon-to-die child, it gave a creepy air to it but still left the predictability o f any old haunted house movie. I can't say anything about the ending, though, because I left the theater before it came around, so I'll assume it was the same old "happily ever after" tale. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JimboH.Jul 15, 2009
Does it's creep-outs very well, this movie gets the award for making my fiancee scream/jump the loudest I've seen her while in front of a movie. I thought this one was up there with Amityville, if not creepier, so I'm not sure Does it's creep-outs very well, this movie gets the award for making my fiancee scream/jump the loudest I've seen her while in front of a movie. I thought this one was up there with Amityville, if not creepier, so I'm not sure where the negative comparisons come from. Amityville's plot line is quite a bit different than this one (actually to be honest they aren't even remotely similar), which makes me wonder how many critics even watched the damned movie. Apparently if it is in a house, and people died, and its scary, then it must be an Amityville rip-off, right? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidDJul 16, 2009
I went into this expecting The Exorcism of Emily Rose part 2, in other words just utter crap, but this was a really good horror movie. As far as horror movies that make it to theatres in North America this was one of the scarier ones. I went into this expecting The Exorcism of Emily Rose part 2, in other words just utter crap, but this was a really good horror movie. As far as horror movies that make it to theatres in North America this was one of the scarier ones. It's creepy as hell and the acting and plot is good enough to make you buy in to the whole mess. If you like horror movies first off you know to ignore what critics say, and just look past the crappy title and cover art and watch it. definitely worth it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RyanSJul 29, 2009
Oooohhhh scary. They sure like to use the same tricks over, though. At least it kept me watching. Not bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JohnSJul 6, 2009
Movies with cheap scares should not be classified as horror but trash rather. Anyone can surprise an audience, horror movies requires good plot and storyline.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChadS.Mar 27, 2009
Priests err. The priest in Peter Hyams' "End of Days" corrects the biggest clergical error of them all: the sign of the devil was misread("666" is actually "999" upside-down). When the priest in "The Haunting in Connecticut" realizes Priests err. The priest in Peter Hyams' "End of Days" corrects the biggest clergical error of them all: the sign of the devil was misread("666" is actually "999" upside-down). When the priest in "The Haunting in Connecticut" realizes his own error, he calls the family and leaves a message on their answering machine. It's only natural that the urgent transmission goes unheard. The message itself has a self-relexive quality WHICH deconstructs the horror sub-genre that is the haunted house flick. Reverend Propescu's words are plain-old common sense, but the characters that inhabit these fatalistic diegeses are stuck in a circumstantial paradox. If these non-people behaved in a rational manner, the narrative would be over before the first reel. In this case, we'd miss out on the supernatural hurl. It's bad enough that Matt(Kyle Gallner) insists on sleeping in the same room where the ghosts without eyelids regularly scare the bejesus out of him, but his sister Wendy(Amanda Crew) takes the customary lobotomized thrill-seeking nonchalance of haunted house victimization to the next level. Unfazed by the systematic decomposition of all the house's perishables, Wendy takes a shower, where the unflappable girl seemingly starts a fight with the shower curtain. And still Wendy won't leave the goddamn house. Once the ghosts can't be allocated solely to the mental sphere; a mere psychosomatic reaction towards Matt's cancer-fighting drugs, the Campbells need to make like the Lutzs and flee. The family's painfully slow-reaction time to the obvious dangers of the house, makes "The Haunting in Connecticut" increasingly convoluted as the facts about their home stack up like a hundred dead textual bodies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AaronSMar 27, 2009
This movie was awful. It was just a string of nonsense connecting jumpscares, which were too frequent and unimpressive. It also had one of my most hated plot devices, an old spiritual person who meets the main character in the middle of the This movie was awful. It was just a string of nonsense connecting jumpscares, which were too frequent and unimpressive. It also had one of my most hated plot devices, an old spiritual person who meets the main character in the middle of the movie and seems to know everything about everything. The movie follows its own internal logic to a degree until it's time to throw in the twist, at which point all of that gets thrown out the window. Unsurprisingly, the elder expert who was completely wrong about everything up to this point as it turns out suddenly knows... exactly what's going on! Skip it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
FrankieHJul 17, 2009
Overall, the movie is okay, but not so a 'horror' movie. The story doesn't really make sense, if they knew the house has problem, and it is only rented, they could have just move back , or find elsewhere, don't really Overall, the movie is okay, but not so a 'horror' movie. The story doesn't really make sense, if they knew the house has problem, and it is only rented, they could have just move back , or find elsewhere, don't really have to deal with it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
FitriAmirrolDec 5, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. At its core, Connecticut is a fairly warm, heart-rending family movie frequently disguised as a low-grade horror movie of shoddy writing and cheap thrills. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ArkonBladeDec 28, 2010
i like haunted house films but this one loses alot of points for going all hollywood and not sticking to what was said to have happend by the family. ive seen the documenty on discovery channel before i seen this film they went way off coursei like haunted house films but this one loses alot of points for going all hollywood and not sticking to what was said to have happend by the family. ive seen the documenty on discovery channel before i seen this film they went way off course in the last half of the film. as a horror film its so so but i cant give alot of praise to some thing that abandons its source material. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TheQuietGamerOct 30, 2017
There's a decent little story at the core of this movie. The family drama primarily deals with a family's struggle when one of their kids is diagnosed with cancer. The strongest aspect is definitely the mother's love and strength whileThere's a decent little story at the core of this movie. The family drama primarily deals with a family's struggle when one of their kids is diagnosed with cancer. The strongest aspect is definitely the mother's love and strength while dealing with her son's ever-worsening condition. It tries some other stuff like the grief-ridden alcoholic father angle, but the rest of it is underdeveloped. Even the 'barely scrapping by' element gets lost at some point. Strong performances make up for the fact that this is barely above Lifetime original movie quality in terms of production. You can tell there wasn't much money funneled into this. What really holds The Haunting in Connecticut back is that it's so generic as a horror movie. Every trick it has up it's sleeve has been seen elsewhere countless times before. Never before has a house filled with dead people felt so lifeless. Far from the first horror movie to boast that it's "based on a true story," the plot here serves as an example of why not many people actually believe in this stuff. First off the supposed actual events themselves have been met with much scrutiny. I doubt this movie, which supposedly deviates even farther from reality than the book, will do anything to persuade people otherwise. You can literally see in every scene how the family could have faked the entire thing. The way any and all evidence to support their claims was lost at the end of the movie is all too convenient. The extra added monologue where the mother character says that doesn't she doesn't care whether the audience believes her or not because she knows what happened only makes it harder to take any of it seriously. Just going off of this movie, I've got to say I think the story is complete crap.

So many overused scare tactics have been borrowed here to no avail. It also ruins the already shaky credibility of the so-called "true haunting." There is a little something here in terms of a surprisingly great cast and likable family drama that brings actual emotion to the table. Something is largely in part due to the excellent performances from Virginia Madsen and Kyle Gallner as the two leads. Unfortunately those elements are kind of wasted in such a bland and dull horror movie. It's a bunch of borrowed parts that were taken from better and much scarier films. You should go watch one of those instead.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
moviegrabbagSep 28, 2011
This is a pretty standard jump scare haunted house movie. The acting isn't horrible but it's nothing to write home about. The movie plays up the based on the true story angle but if you watch the special features on the DVD you learn thatThis is a pretty standard jump scare haunted house movie. The acting isn't horrible but it's nothing to write home about. The movie plays up the based on the true story angle but if you watch the special features on the DVD you learn that the vast majority of this movie is fiction. The biggest example being the burning of the home at the end. It never burned down... ever, yet the end of the movie says that the house was " rebuilt and resold". Somebody does live in it now but it never burned to the ground or had the dead no decomposed bodies built into the walls. So taking that in to effect we see that the movie isn't really based on the true story making it just another cookie cutter haunted house film full of predictable jump scares. This is a good movie for middle school and high school kids to start their interests in horror movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JosephRunzThizNov 3, 2011
I admit, this was a really good movie. I did jump and scream a few times. It does deliver thrills, chills and scares. I'd definitely recommend this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Mad_Hatter91Dec 20, 2012
The Haunting in Connecticut is a 2009 horror film directed by Peter Cornewell and inspired by the real events. The plot tells the story of Matt Campbell, being a cancer patient, is forced to move to a location that is close to the hospital inThe Haunting in Connecticut is a 2009 horror film directed by Peter Cornewell and inspired by the real events. The plot tells the story of Matt Campbell, being a cancer patient, is forced to move to a location that is close to the hospital in Connecticut. Arriving at the house Matt realizes that there are presences but that only he can see. The film is a great underrated horror where there is an air of anxiety thanks to the excellent actors and scenes of fear that never exaggerate. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
oliver1hMay 25, 2013
Same cliché as Amityville story, and calling it a true story is insultingly stupid. The whole thing feels like a boring B-movie, with cheap "jump scares". Honestly I was not scared or intimidated for a second. which is a sign of a very badSame cliché as Amityville story, and calling it a true story is insultingly stupid. The whole thing feels like a boring B-movie, with cheap "jump scares". Honestly I was not scared or intimidated for a second. which is a sign of a very bad horror-haunted house movie. Overall the same haunted house movie you have seen 100 times already. Not recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
NixySep 28, 2012
I thought the acting was pretty decent and as such, I feel quite bad rating it 5/10, but for me, this was one of those films that you forget after it's finished. I think the reason behind it being so forgettable is pretty simple: the filmI thought the acting was pretty decent and as such, I feel quite bad rating it 5/10, but for me, this was one of those films that you forget after it's finished. I think the reason behind it being so forgettable is pretty simple: the film relied almost 100% on jump scares and so once you've scared the crap out of the person sitting next to you by unexpectedly jumping out of your seat and perhaps needing a quick underwear change, you pretty much instantly forget that moment where something big and scary was loudly thrust into your face. A phrase that could quite easily be misinterpreted...anyway! On the whole, it was okay. Although it was, in a way, pretty inevitable I did find the ending quite disappointing. This film was in no way subtle or clever enough to really scare me and stick in my mind, hence the fairly low score. But it was relatively entertaining, it wasn't a monumental waste of time and it would be a fairly decent choice with a few friends over. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
KivaJul 19, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The haunting in connecticut has a good plot and starts with a good idea. It has great atmosphere and it is dark which is a good thing for a horror film. Also it is good for horror films to scare a thing that this movie doesn't. It is annoying and boring and there is not actually a perk of watching that film. It is lame and uninteresting as the plot goes. It would be great if someone at least would die or even explain the movie better. Nothing happens and that is bad as the trailer shows good stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MovieGuysFeb 17, 2014
The Haunting in Connecticut is just more "people-move-into-haunted-house-hear-weird-noises" genre fare that offers nothing more than what we already know, and is completely predictable from start to finish. The movie is not special norThe Haunting in Connecticut is just more "people-move-into-haunted-house-hear-weird-noises" genre fare that offers nothing more than what we already know, and is completely predictable from start to finish. The movie is not special nor original, it's just kind of "there". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
horcrux2007Nov 29, 2014
Jesus christ, was this a disaster. I haven't laughed so hard at a horror movie in my life... and not in a good way! So many "scares" were actually hilarious because the loud sound the movie used was so cheesy. It was as if they typed "scaryJesus christ, was this a disaster. I haven't laughed so hard at a horror movie in my life... and not in a good way! So many "scares" were actually hilarious because the loud sound the movie used was so cheesy. It was as if they typed "scary noises" into google and used some of those. The story also didn't make a lick of sense either. I will say that the acting and cinematography were great, but those were the only good things about this movie. Definitely don't recommend this unless you want a good laugh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ricky1121Oct 12, 2014
Amazing film, and the critics should really rate this movie higher. The jump scares are actually scary unlike most ghost movies. This film is worth the watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
solomsApr 17, 2015
I think that's a great movie. You just need to understand the story and watch with attention the movie, because I really like it...................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
UrbanlistenerNov 23, 2015
The concept is okay and the acting is pretty good, but as a scary movie, it sucks. It is very cheap, jumpscares and loud sounds, no suspense, no tension, no buildup and the ghosts looks like they are out of a Goosebumps episode. Very poorlyThe concept is okay and the acting is pretty good, but as a scary movie, it sucks. It is very cheap, jumpscares and loud sounds, no suspense, no tension, no buildup and the ghosts looks like they are out of a Goosebumps episode. Very poorly executed, cheesy and messy. Looks more like a made-for-TV horror flick or a TAPS episode. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
calebowensmallJan 23, 2016
This was a pretty good movie. It was scary at times, and was kinda disturbing as well. Is it one of my favorites, no. But is worth buying on dvd and watching as many times as you want. Go give it a try, it's a good movie, and deserves atThis was a pretty good movie. It was scary at times, and was kinda disturbing as well. Is it one of my favorites, no. But is worth buying on dvd and watching as many times as you want. Go give it a try, it's a good movie, and deserves at least at 40/100 from critics. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews