Overture Films | Release Date: January 20, 2012
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 348 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
216
Mixed:
81
Negative:
51
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
canadianrugbyApr 30, 2012
If you're a fan of boring conversation and terrible 70's detective movie music, look no further than Haywire. This movie is mostly awkward conversation and terrible acting, with absolutely atrocious music playing throughout the whole thing.If you're a fan of boring conversation and terrible 70's detective movie music, look no further than Haywire. This movie is mostly awkward conversation and terrible acting, with absolutely atrocious music playing throughout the whole thing. The only time there is no music is during the 2 or 3 action scenes that break up the monotony of listening to bad dialogue. How the director convinced so many A list actors to sign onto this disaster is amazing. Did they look at the script? Was there a script? The positives to take away from this fim were the action scenes. About as realistic as they get in a movie. Gina Corano and her gigantic breasts also deserve some props. She didn't look out of place and I would like to see what she can bring in future roles. Since I only have about 4000 words of space left in this review, I won't bother listing the negatives to take away from this movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
billyweedsSep 1, 2012
I was looking forward to this movie, being a big Steven Soderbergh fan (though admitting he's not always on top of his game). But this was close to the bottom of the SS barrel. It's all over the place and almost completely incoherent. AndI was looking forward to this movie, being a big Steven Soderbergh fan (though admitting he's not always on top of his game). But this was close to the bottom of the SS barrel. It's all over the place and almost completely incoherent. And the fight scenes are only so-so. A real turkey. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
SevalleyJan 25, 2012
Gina Carano needs to stick to real fighting. Her acting was terrible and ruined an otherwise mediocre movie. Even the fake fighting in this movie was subpar. The whole movie was slow, cold and dead. Not only was I not sure what was happeningGina Carano needs to stick to real fighting. Her acting was terrible and ruined an otherwise mediocre movie. Even the fake fighting in this movie was subpar. The whole movie was slow, cold and dead. Not only was I not sure what was happening for most of the movie, I did not care. I didn't care about any of the characters or the "why" of the attempt at a suspenseful story. Terrible movie all around, one of the year's worst. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
nascentDec 24, 2014
I was very interested to see this movie. A film with a real heroine, a
woman that can take care of herself, beat up the bad guys/gals and not
just exist as a model actress (though Gina is very beautiful) while all the stunt women do the
I was very interested to see this movie. A film with a real heroine, a
woman that can take care of herself, beat up the bad guys/gals and not
just exist as a model actress (though Gina is very beautiful) while all
the stunt women do the real work.

However, what I got with this movie was horrible acting with wooden
performances, cheesy lounge music over everything, and exceptionally
dull dialog. The main draw of a women mma fighter, "the third best 145
lb (66 kg) fighter in the world", was that we'd get a real actress that
handles all the dialog, the acting and some great fighting, as she
actually knows how to fight properly (muay thai no less). However the
fight scenes were over-directed, over-edited, and too short. Very few
moments even felt like they were Gina, as the heavy editing could've
allowed for a stunt double anyway. Gina seems to lack the charisma to
hold a lead role as pretty much any of the supporting super-cast gave
more energy and life to the film than she was able to.

To see how a movie can look with a real fighter/actor look no further
than JCVD. The film with John Claude Van Damme playing a version of
himself with realistic action scenes and tense drama. The opening 5
minutes of that film alone better demonstrates what can be done with an actor
than knows how to fight than any moment in this film can possibly wish
to achieve.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
aphil02Jan 22, 2012
After about 15 minutes, I turned to the friend who I was with and said "what is this movie about?" There was tons of action and a great cast, but the story wasn't there. The whole movie seemed more like a vehicle to showcase Gina Carano'sAfter about 15 minutes, I turned to the friend who I was with and said "what is this movie about?" There was tons of action and a great cast, but the story wasn't there. The whole movie seemed more like a vehicle to showcase Gina Carano's fighting skills, but frankly, I would have rather watched 15 minutes of MMA than 1.5 hours of this awful movie. Skip it, or maybe watch it on TV during a snowstorm after you've watched everything on your DVR. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
bensonbumpkinMay 12, 2012
Based on the professional reviews I was horrified to think I spent $ renting this film. NO acting, even from the big name actors. Seemed like everyone was reading their lines...for the first time! The story was hard to follow, maybe becauseBased on the professional reviews I was horrified to think I spent $ renting this film. NO acting, even from the big name actors. Seemed like everyone was reading their lines...for the first time! The story was hard to follow, maybe because their wasn't much of one? Full on blows to the face without a drop of blood made the fighting seem fake, despite the grunting. Maybe fans of martial arts will enjoy it but it seemed monotonous after a while. And what is with that murky yellow cast to everything in the beginning? Didn't help. I am a fan of the MI-5 series on Netfilx and thought this would be like it. I was sooo wrong. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
ChaseoneAug 7, 2012
Lame attempt to be a Bourne movie, nothing more. Poor acting and most of the fight scenes are rubbish. In their rush to try and promote equal opportunities film makers often forget a simple fact, women can't trade blow for blow with a man.Lame attempt to be a Bourne movie, nothing more. Poor acting and most of the fight scenes are rubbish. In their rush to try and promote equal opportunities film makers often forget a simple fact, women can't trade blow for blow with a man. That isn't to say women can't be as good at fighting as men, of course they can. What it does mean is that simple facts about the physical differences can't be overlooked. Men are naturally stronger and have slightly thicker larger bones, and are able to take a bit more of a beating than a woman, that's not sexist, it's simple human physiology.

For a woman to beat a man she can't stand there trading blows and expect to come out on top, it's just not going to end well for her. So when you have scenes in the movie where she's taking hit after hit, and not being phased by it, what little realism was in the fight scenes quickly goes out the window. Which just leaves you with a poorly acted, dull story with absurd action scenes -___-
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
ypomoniJul 5, 2013
Is Gina Carano a MMA fighter? Yes, and that is evident in this film. Is she an actress? No, something also evident (painfully so) in this film. But she could have been forgiven if it where not for the fact that this whole film is dreadful.Is Gina Carano a MMA fighter? Yes, and that is evident in this film. Is she an actress? No, something also evident (painfully so) in this film. But she could have been forgiven if it where not for the fact that this whole film is dreadful. The main storyline appears to be have been built around the fact that Carano can beat the crap outta people lets have her do a lot of that! and a lot of running. Lets have lots of running sequences. Everything else is of secondary value. There is a very thin plot, which basically makes no sense. Don't waste your time on this... Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
Sabbath73Jan 29, 2012
Some major flaws with this film. One Gina Carrano has very little acting ability. She's gorgeous and can handle the fight scenes, but otherwise her one word remarks do nothing for the film. Then the plot. It is so confusing. You have no clueSome major flaws with this film. One Gina Carrano has very little acting ability. She's gorgeous and can handle the fight scenes, but otherwise her one word remarks do nothing for the film. Then the plot. It is so confusing. You have no clue what's going on for most of the film. Add to that a horrible score. The action scenes were laden with this 1970's exploitation music. It became so bad, most people in the audience laughed at the beginning of each chase sequence. Put it this way, I've never walked out of theater. I left after an hour of this film. I couldn't take it anymore. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
3
wmpa311Jan 23, 2012
Gina Carano's acting lowers the quality of the movie and other actors. That grey sephia film they used throughout the movie made her acting worse. The director used constant theme music In the background to make walking scenes seem moreGina Carano's acting lowers the quality of the movie and other actors. That grey sephia film they used throughout the movie made her acting worse. The director used constant theme music In the background to make walking scenes seem more exciting. Except for the first fight scene the movie's other action scenes were not up to par with today's movies. Check your brain at the door or save your movie. But I have to mention this old lady in the seat in front me was at the edge of her seat throughout the movie. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
3
racketracerMar 3, 2012
It's hard to see how this movie did so well with critics when Gina Carano and crew acted like they didn't care and had other things to really be doing. Soderbergh somehow finds it in himself to direct different camera shots of Carano runningIt's hard to see how this movie did so well with critics when Gina Carano and crew acted like they didn't care and had other things to really be doing. Soderbergh somehow finds it in himself to direct different camera shots of Carano running instead of develop her character a little more with less cheesy lines. The movie is in itself filmed like Ocean's Thirteen, which would be okay if it wasn't an action movie. Not exactly a great eye catcher for the beginning of 2012. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
DeathSpankJan 28, 2012
Underwhelming to say the least. Seems like Soderbergh didn't even bother to put an effort to the action scenes and just told Carano to beat the guy up with her MMA skills. At least it was short.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
Ndelvalle12Jan 28, 2012
This movie is so BAD that when it ended everyone in the room started complaining. The action is lame, the is no effect whatsoever and it looks like a 16 year old kid recorded it with a camcorder. This is the kind of movie that you want to hitThis movie is so BAD that when it ended everyone in the room started complaining. The action is lame, the is no effect whatsoever and it looks like a 16 year old kid recorded it with a camcorder. This is the kind of movie that you want to hit yourself against the wall just because you wasted your time watching it. Just imagine the day when you were really really depressed, you still wouldn't want to watch this movie. There is a scene where the girl is inside the house and then she shows up with her face painted like Rambo - I was like are you kidding me, I have never done even a home video and I would never do that kind of mistake. There is no flow and the story is totally flawed -whoever comments positively about this movie seriously is short-minded or does not go to the theater much. Collapse
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
HDeezyFeb 8, 2012
This film is utterly unsatisfying.
Not even slightly entertaining, some of the performances were utterly laughable, and the script was horrifyingly bad.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
RickboyApr 18, 2013
The movie is SLOW, it made me struggle to stay awake only after a few minutes into. Scenes drag on for to long, and you ultimatly end up bored. Please note that my bad rating has nothing to do with the actors, I love all the actors, includingThe movie is SLOW, it made me struggle to stay awake only after a few minutes into. Scenes drag on for to long, and you ultimatly end up bored. Please note that my bad rating has nothing to do with the actors, I love all the actors, including Gina Carano. Im confused as how they managed to gather so much top a the line actors, for such a mediocre movie. There is alot of dialog, much of it is boring. What sucks the most is that its not Gina Carano's fault. Im hoping to see her in more movies. but Im staying away from European movies for a while. I only gave it the score I did, because it has because of the cast members. If not it would have been a 0. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
JYTJan 21, 2012
Good filming for example in Dublin but the scenario and story is really not interesting. Not for the movie theater, better wait it is on TV. It seems obvious there will be a second to follow and get the answer of the first one.
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
1
lblJan 20, 2012
So bad. Great actors not acting so that what's her name wouldn't look incompetent. Total waste of money. Don't bother with it. It's not worth the time or the drive. It's not even worth watching for free at home.
4 of 12 users found this helpful48
All this user's reviews
3
MixedNutsJan 22, 2012
Wow! I just don't get how people are judging movies. "Underworld Awakening" got what? a 40 something grade and it was an awesome! action packed butt-kicking movie, and in contrast Haywire gets a score like 67. How do i start with the badWow! I just don't get how people are judging movies. "Underworld Awakening" got what? a 40 something grade and it was an awesome! action packed butt-kicking movie, and in contrast Haywire gets a score like 67. How do i start with the bad news? It was boring at times, with corny music and not very good action scenes. Gina Carano and Channing Tatums acting is pretty horrible, and was I the only 1 that thought this story is a bad copy-cat of like 3 other movies in recent years. I just don't get it, how this got a 67. I honestly would give this a 30 out of a 100 on meta-critic. And that's only because I'm such a big fan of Ewan Mcgregor. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
3
SwarleyStinsonMay 8, 2012
This film is only 90 mins so the 30 mins I watched were a whole 3rd of it and in that time nothing happened to draw me in. There is no real introduction, it just throws you into the story with more random cut-aways than family guy and no ideaThis film is only 90 mins so the 30 mins I watched were a whole 3rd of it and in that time nothing happened to draw me in. There is no real introduction, it just throws you into the story with more random cut-aways than family guy and no idea what the hell is going on. There's annoying cheesy 80s style background music most of the time and the fights are more 'wrestley' than actually punching or shooting each other, not that there seems to be many fights, just a lot of talking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
LoRevisorJan 5, 2015
Nunca vir um filme tão podre como esse. Gina Carano está excelente é uma bela atriz nos dois sentidos kkkkkk,mas o filme é fraco,sem sentido,sem vida,sem coerência e sem empolgação. Michael Fassbender,Ewan Mcgregor E Michael Douglas tambémNunca vir um filme tão podre como esse. Gina Carano está excelente é uma bela atriz nos dois sentidos kkkkkk,mas o filme é fraco,sem sentido,sem vida,sem coerência e sem empolgação. Michael Fassbender,Ewan Mcgregor E Michael Douglas também fazem um excelente trabalho mas o filme não funcionar Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Zanessa250QIJul 6, 2015
Podre pra kralho................................... Gina Carano é super simpática,talentosa e muito gostosa.... Mas que filme sem sentido sem vida é um prato cheio para suícidio
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
raciocinioOct 21, 2015
Oh............... **** of movie ................. Tedious an boring made me want to commited a suicide... Sorry Gina carano but this movie doesn't work.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews