Overture Films | Release Date: January 20, 2012
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 348 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
216
Mixed:
82
Negative:
50
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
7
XonAug 4, 2013
Pleasant movie. The fights were incredible yet totally grounded in reality. The story is somewhat predictable but decent and serviceable. The soundtrack is excellent and really carries the film forward.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
quincytheodoreFeb 23, 2012
It's really true a director can make so much different in a movie. Steven Soderbergh lift Haywire from the near grip of B-movie to a decent spy flick. One of the appeals in this movie is Gina Carano, an MMA fighter who admittedly doesn't haveIt's really true a director can make so much different in a movie. Steven Soderbergh lift Haywire from the near grip of B-movie to a decent spy flick. One of the appeals in this movie is Gina Carano, an MMA fighter who admittedly doesn't have much acting prowess but possesses the strength and speed, better than most stunt women. Haywire tells a story of a secret operative betrayed by her contacts which precede her going hulk on them. Think of it as Bourne movie starring female version of Van Damme in Ocean's Eleven style.



It's painfully obvious that Gina, while being the main protagonist, looks uncomfortable and forced. When she tried to be dramatic or serious, it got unintentionally corny. I think she needs more experience before sharing screen with the big names, but Soderbergh cleverly disguised it with great screenplay and cinematography. He balanced the scenes so veteran actors can take the lead or played the cameras to mask her weakness. It has proven effective as with plethora of talented actor (Ewan McGregor, Michael Fassbender, Antonio Banderas and Michael Douglas) its narrative went more towards stylish rather than cheesy.

The angle of cameras and jazzy jingle before next set piece reminded me heavily on Ocean's Eleven. He crafted it in clean and sleek fashion, without resorting of CG abuse or over-the-top action. Sequences play out in vivid motions, often with subtle yet captivating details. For example, in certain chase scene, the camera follows Gina as she ran across rooftops and streets with the enemies just behind her, continuously switching between them without losing focus. Background also serves as important parts, Soderbergh incorporated them in smooth style as it blended with the narrative and also engaged the audience.

With MMA fighter as the main character, it gives a lot of edge in combat scene. Most of the fights occur in fast pace and seems tremendously hurtful. Usually Hollywood movies flicker in and out of combat, creating illusion of intense combat or just blatantly abuse CG. This is not so in Haywire, Gina can handle herself very well, her stunts are powerful and unforgiving. You can clearly see the impact of the punches, knees and kicks, she really goes all out in the hurt department. In the first five minutes, Channing Tatum slapped her with coffee mug, tossed her to the ground and began ground-and-pound. It's the purest stunt this side of Chocolate.



While I like Soderbergh's style, I must admit that it relies on the audience piecing the story themselves. He switched from flashback to present, from one character to another, from once city to another as fast as Gina throws her punch, it can be quite convulted at some point. Cinematography is smart and polished, however sometimes it gets awkward when Gina isn't kicking some ass. She does look good though, her great physique is another point Soderbergh portrayed well. Ultimately it's a show case of great fights by a muscular woman with sophisticated B-movie cliche. 7.5/10
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
SeriosityNov 4, 2012
Soderbergh films always look great. The action sequences are so clean, it puts to shame many action movies of today. Carano isn't going to win an oscar for her performance but she kicks a lot of ass and did her own stunts, and that is whatSoderbergh films always look great. The action sequences are so clean, it puts to shame many action movies of today. Carano isn't going to win an oscar for her performance but she kicks a lot of ass and did her own stunts, and that is what was required of her. Fassbender is great as always in a limited role. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
PicataviJan 21, 2012
The four of us who went together to see Haywire thoroughly enjoyed it. It's an action movie with a common, simplistic plot, but it stands out from the usual fare with its different approach to filming and sound. Gina Carano is terrific. TheThe four of us who went together to see Haywire thoroughly enjoyed it. It's an action movie with a common, simplistic plot, but it stands out from the usual fare with its different approach to filming and sound. Gina Carano is terrific. The fact that she did her own stunts lent realism to the film, unlike so many action films that are so outlandishly over the top. Admittedly, it was confusing at first, but it came together as the movie progressed. A very entertaining action film which seemed a bit more grounded in reality than most. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
PyschOutBabyJan 24, 2012
Finally a woman who actually knows how to throw a punch instead of crappy fighters like Jolie. Corano is hot and able to kick most guys asses. I would like to see her do more.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
7
MarcDoyleJan 22, 2012
I enjoyed the film for what it is - a vehicle to show off Carano's ass-kicking abilities - just like many movies (see: Jeff Speakman is "The Perfect Weapon") have done before. I take issue with Lisa Schwarzbaum's "calling foul" upon seeingI enjoyed the film for what it is - a vehicle to show off Carano's ass-kicking abilities - just like many movies (see: Jeff Speakman is "The Perfect Weapon") have done before. I take issue with Lisa Schwarzbaum's "calling foul" upon seeing Channing Tatum beat up on Carano at the outset of the film. So it's OK for movies to show women beaten, belittled, raped, and tortured - so long as they don't fight back?? How is this movie "depressing" for a pro-woman audience? I loved seeing Mallory Kane beat the living hell out of the guys with a force and kinetic energy that you rarely see presented on screen - even from men. It's the difference between how an object reacts when it by a 38 caliber round and a 44 cal round. The 44 doesn't just penetrate - it knocks you down. So does a full-bodied Carano kick. Is the acting uniformly top shelf? Is there character development Hell no. Did I have fun with this movie? Of course. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ProfLeGutJan 22, 2012
Yes, the story of a professional killer (ok, her mission was to rescue someone but deep down she's an assassin) who must get even with colleagues who have double crossed her/him is nothing new but this film just does this with brilliantYes, the story of a professional killer (ok, her mission was to rescue someone but deep down she's an assassin) who must get even with colleagues who have double crossed her/him is nothing new but this film just does this with brilliant flair. Gina Carano's performance, Steven Soderburgh's direction and David Holmes music all add up to a perfectly executed piece of entertainment. While completely different in so many ways, this film is equally ranked alongside 'The Artist' as my top films so far of 2012. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
hoops2448Jan 25, 2012
Haywire is not just a great action film; its a great film as it acts as a callback to classic 60s spy thrillers while injecting a modern mentality thanks to some truly breath-taking fight scenes and car chases. Haywire is a strange amalgam ofHaywire is not just a great action film; its a great film as it acts as a callback to classic 60s spy thrillers while injecting a modern mentality thanks to some truly breath-taking fight scenes and car chases. Haywire is a strange amalgam of Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy and The Bourne Series as it portrays a woman who isnt afraid to throw down but can and will use her intelligence to get her out of a situation or solve a puzzle. The film follows Mallory, a freelance special ops agent as she is framed for something she didnt do and is forced to go on the run and figure out who set her up and why. The film opening scene sets the tone for the rest of the film with a tension and intelligence that is quite unique. The film revels in its brutality but it is never over the top with Haywire still feeling light on action in comparison to modern action films. Its the scenes where she is not engaging in fisticuffs that bring the film to life. Soderbergh manages to ratchet up the tension while maintaining the slick pace and feel of the film. There is a wonderful sense of paranoia running through the film that further emphasises the cold war mentality that Soderbergh is going for with everyone acting as a suspect in the overall conspiracy. The constant questioning of the men we are presented as they interact with Mallory provides for some really great scenes, especially the scenes she shares with Channing Tatum and Michael Fassbender. Carano brings not just physicality to the role (she did all her own stunts and is a trained mixed martial artist) but also sexuality as she toys with the people she meets. Her interaction (as mentioned above) with Tatum and Fassbender is particularly great as she has great chemistry with both of them and it provides a lightness to the scenes that was sorely needed. Gina Carano may not be an Oscar worthy actor but she is a dynamic lead and provides a great screen presence . The rest of the supporting cast work well too with Michael Douglas and Antonio Banderas providing some much needed gravitas. The only person who disappoints is Ewan Mcgregor who seems to rely a little too much on charm as he coasts through the movie. The chase scene in Dublin is some of the finest direction in an action film as it plays on not only Mallorys paranoia but also the viewers. The script isnt brilliant but if anything it does properly bring out Mallorys stoic nature while also showing off her intelligence and sexuality. Its a wonderful character to follow and its surprising (and welcome) to see such a character played by someone other than Angelina Jolie. Haywire is a wonderful film thanks to some ingenious direction by Steven Soderbergh, a great supporting cast and a multi-faceted lead in Gina Carano. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Coolguy45Jan 20, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A fantastic movie the acting is great. A great action thriller with an end that is very odd and opens up for a sequel the movie in my mind will be the most undeasted movie of the year but Gina Carrono for her first big role was great the best person in the entire movie. I say see it or you'll be missing out on one of the best movies that know one will see so see it **** Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
SoulshockJan 24, 2012
Basically everyone who gave this movie a bad review is brainwashed by Hollywood. Probably people who liked Mall Cop or something, and people who don't like seeing women kicking ass. If you want to leave the theatre satisfied and thinking "WowBasically everyone who gave this movie a bad review is brainwashed by Hollywood. Probably people who liked Mall Cop or something, and people who don't like seeing women kicking ass. If you want to leave the theatre satisfied and thinking "Wow I just saw a really good movie", go see it. It's a totally unconventional action movie, simply great. It feels 'realistic' in a human condition. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
movieboyApr 19, 2012
Brilliant. Regular action heads might be confused by Sonderburgh's arty approach. But there's always a hackneyed Van Damme B flick for them in the wings. Must admit I was a little confused by the plot twists and turns sometimes, butBrilliant. Regular action heads might be confused by Sonderburgh's arty approach. But there's always a hackneyed Van Damme B flick for them in the wings. Must admit I was a little confused by the plot twists and turns sometimes, but throughtly enjoyed it from beginning to its cool close. Talk about edge of the seat, tense action driven by a hip soundtrack. Super cast and had no problem with Gina Carano as a smart heroine rooting out corruption. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
morgansageJan 28, 2012
Saw the movie and wasn't expecting much due to the reviews on meta. But I have to say Gina Carano was great as the lead - the action was great, the stunts were as you would expect --- really well done and realistic. She fit the roleSaw the movie and wasn't expecting much due to the reviews on meta. But I have to say Gina Carano was great as the lead - the action was great, the stunts were as you would expect --- really well done and realistic. She fit the role perfectly vs. an angela jolie type who looks breakable from one punch. It was a strong move to cast her in this role. All of us thought she has a big career infront of her. It's definitely a different type of action film, from look and feel, to plot structure vs. traditional action films. The plot keeps you guessing for awhile as you try to put the pieces together. At the end you really have to start paying attention. A fun movie definitely better than a Mission Impossible to me and really refreshing to see some action like that. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
BadMovieLoverFeb 4, 2012
I LOVE a good ass-kicking movie. It can even be a fairly bad movie from the story perspective, as long as the action is tight! Itâ
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
pete409Jan 23, 2012
Just got home from seeing this movie. It's a slow time for movies, and there wasn't much else out there worth seeing. This got good reviews, so I though I'd try it. The cinematography was excellent, the music and sound effects wereJust got home from seeing this movie. It's a slow time for movies, and there wasn't much else out there worth seeing. This got good reviews, so I though I'd try it. The cinematography was excellent, the music and sound effects were terrific as well. Sure, it was an effort to follow the actual story, but that made me pay attention. If I wanted mind numbing dumb action I would have seen Underworld. But overall, a pretty good movie for those of us who still have attention spans in this day and age. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
nutterjrSep 22, 2012
Haywire will not be remembered as Soderberg's best piece, but watching Carano kick, choke, crack and crush men about twice her size in a rampant revenge story is thoroughly entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
iamtrent424May 13, 2012
Very boring movie but it is still a little bit interested. I love seeing Gina kick some ass in this movie. This movie was very disappointed. A very slow pace action movie. I did fall asleep on it. The fighting scenes with Gina did wake me up.Very boring movie but it is still a little bit interested. I love seeing Gina kick some ass in this movie. This movie was very disappointed. A very slow pace action movie. I did fall asleep on it. The fighting scenes with Gina did wake me up. The plot in the story was decent and good directing. I wouldnt suggest this movie to any one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HighwayUKJun 1, 2012
Before watching this I'd never heard of it nor the lead actress, so wasn't expecting much from it... and then I was totally blown away by the fight scene realism and a decent story to boot... One of the best female action movies I've seen inBefore watching this I'd never heard of it nor the lead actress, so wasn't expecting much from it... and then I was totally blown away by the fight scene realism and a decent story to boot... One of the best female action movies I've seen in a very long time that didn't rely on stupid CGI and wires to pull off the choreography Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Coco890Oct 15, 2012
This came as a bit of a surprise to me as you almost never find a movie as good as this in January. I realize that critics clearly enjoyed this more then people which should say something. That this movie was marketed as something completelyThis came as a bit of a surprise to me as you almost never find a movie as good as this in January. I realize that critics clearly enjoyed this more then people which should say something. That this movie was marketed as something completely different then it truly was. I realize this is the case with all of the director's work. The same thing happened with Contagion and Magic Mike which I both liked very much. So if you ever plan on seeing this movie, don't believe what the trailer tells you. This is a very odd film. Yes it's an action film but it's different than what you're use to, which is why so many people disliked it. I can't explain it but it's just different and I'll admit, it did bother me too. The music does not fit the movie at all. I'm not sure what the director was trying to do here but 90% of the music was this weird 70's jazz music that you would find in a spy movie from that period. Whatever the case, it was annoying and sometimes took me out of the movie. These were really the only things that bothered me. I mean the director choose to shoot the movie in a variety of ways, some shots work, others don't, but it didn't bother me much. It might be off-putting to some of you though and that's one example in which I said earlier that this movie is different. It's not shot in a way your typical action movie is. So despite those problems I enjoyed everything else. The action is fantastic, it's very well choreographed. There's no music accompanying the action scenes which make them seem more realistic and thus, another example of how this is different from your typical action film. The story is nothing new, this is after all a revenge flick, but the director adds enough of his visual flair and fresh ideas to make this movie stand above your typical revenge flick. The cast is solid and for a first time performance Gina Carano was not bad. Was it a terrific performance? No, but she has potential. She would make a good Wonder Woman but that's just me. I hope she gets more roles because watching her kick ass was definitely worth the price of admission. The other person worth noting is Channing Tatum. This has been a good year for him in both in terms of box office and career. Now, I haven't seen The Vow and I don't have any intentions of seeing it anytime soon, but he has definitely reversed my opinion of him. With this, 21 Jump Street, and Magic Mike, I can't believe I'm saying this but, he can act. I hope now he decides to pick smart scripts and make smart choices because he has finally proven(it's been like what 6 years?) that he's got the chops. Overall, a nice surprise since normally January is considered a dumping ground as a majority of the films are Hollywood rejects. This is another great movie from a great director who has been having a good year himself with this, Magic Mike, and last year's Contagion, he's slowly becoming one of my favorite directors. Sure this movie is very different, the music doesn't fit it at all, there's no music during the fight scenes, and some of the shots work better than others. However, the action is nice choreographed a nice-shot, no shaky-cam, the cast gives solid performances and how could you not find Gina Carano kicking ass not exciting or hot? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ClariseSamuelsJun 1, 2012
This was a fascinating action film. It has more than its fair share of violence, which usually doesn't appeal to me, but the violence is so intrinsically linked to the plot that the movie just would not work without it. The heroine of theThis was a fascinating action film. It has more than its fair share of violence, which usually doesn't appeal to me, but the violence is so intrinsically linked to the plot that the movie just would not work without it. The heroine of the film is an ex-Marine who can put James Bond to shame. She's strong, beautiful, and fearless, and has catlike agility and intuition. The violent scenes are mostly her beating up all the men who try to betray her, subdue her, or hire contractors to kill her. She always triumphs over them--she is invincible. She ends up killing a couple of them, which is probably not necessary--women usually are a little more forgiving than that, although it should be noted that every character she kills was someone who tried to kill her first. From a purely feminist point of view, this movie is an important addition to the canon--no helpless females who have to count shrill, convincing screams as being an important part of their acting skills. (I've never screamed in my life, so why are actresses always screaming?) The character of Mallory Kane is played by newcomer Gina Carano, who in real life is a renowned expert at Muay Thai, the official sport of Thailand, a martial art that is basically a form of kickboxing. Muay Thai was Carano's primary claim to fame before her breakthrough role in Haywire. She is all muscle and guts--I don't think she needed a stunt woman to double for her in any scenes. She makes Angelina Jolie look like a princess. The film also marks Michael Douglas's comeback after his illness. He looks better than ever in the role of Coblenz, the only disappointment being that we don't get to see enough of him. It's an easy and small role for him, but he was still extremely effective, as was Antonio Banderas, also onscreen too briefly, and Ewan McGregor, who plays a surprisingly ambiguous character despite his conservative, clean-cut exterior. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
chugheadJun 5, 2012
Hell has no fury like a woman scorned! Haywire is sweet eye-candy for MMA fighting fans. This female may be the next Bruce Lee for lady fans. She's in control and commands the screen when she battle's. If Gina Corano can turn men on with herHell has no fury like a woman scorned! Haywire is sweet eye-candy for MMA fighting fans. This female may be the next Bruce Lee for lady fans. She's in control and commands the screen when she battle's. If Gina Corano can turn men on with her sexy brawling style, then she may be around as long as Mila Jovovich and replace her. Women will love her defeating a man's world. Soderbergh direction copy Ocean 12 and Bourne Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
nevermindpopfilFeb 15, 2012
The world of espionage has changed, it is now mostly ran by private contracting firms. Firms about liability clauses and the money that comes from ignoring due diligence. Along with that sort of money comes smarmy bosses like Kenneth (aThe world of espionage has changed, it is now mostly ran by private contracting firms. Firms about liability clauses and the money that comes from ignoring due diligence. Along with that sort of money comes smarmy bosses like Kenneth (a resplendently despicable Ewan McGregor). Mallory Kane (Gina Carano) is tired of Kenneth, his lackeys and his poor work ethic. Trust is a valuable commodity in her field and trust, it seems, is in short supply. So she is getting out for good. Or so she thinks.

The spy film has worn the tread off its tires and given Steven Soderbergh's propensity for add style and flair to even the stodgiest genre. Telling Mallory's story in separate pieces keeps the audience from anticipating too much of what comes ahead, but we all know this much: hell hath no fury like a woman scorned. And this woman fights; she does it because it is honest. Brutally honest. You can't fake your way through a fight and that is what Mallory has to her advantage: you can't lie or cheat your way to winning.

Soderbergh's capturing of fight sequences in Haywire is a sight to be seen. Every punch thrown sends the viewer back into his/her seat. He doesn't cut away from the action and in doing so captures what few action films do: raw intensity. The sound mixing leaves every bone-crunch, connected kick, and broken vase felt. Mallory Kane is the best at what she does and what she does is kick ass.

Featuring an Ocean's 11-level assemblage of stars like Michael Fassbender, Ewan McGregor, Antonio Banderas and Michael Douglas, Haywire's cast fires on all cylinders. Fassbender is fun to watch as alwaysâ
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
muzicman17Mar 18, 2012
I really enjoyed Haywire. It may come across as your typical spy-movie, but everything works so well in the film, and it pulls it off. A good story with an excellent supporting cast make this an entertaining, intelligent movie. Sure, ChanningI really enjoyed Haywire. It may come across as your typical spy-movie, but everything works so well in the film, and it pulls it off. A good story with an excellent supporting cast make this an entertaining, intelligent movie. Sure, Channing Tatum and Gina Carano aren't the best on-screen couple in the history of Hollywood, but hey - give her a break! This was her first major acting job!! For not having the experience that someone like Ewan Mcgreggor has, I thought she did a fair acting job. And she makes up for her shortcomings by her kick-ass fighting scenes which should be reason enough to see this film. Honestly, If you are a looking for a smart and edgy Bourne-style thriller - this is your movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
HomeReviewerMay 3, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If Soderbergh was going for a female Bourne type character, a Ted Lewis type thriller and a Louis Leterrier action genre, all the while keeping it Soderbergh, he succeeded. Gina Carano makes Angelina Jolie, Zoe Saldana and Jennifer Garner appear to be cartoon characters when it comes to fight scenes, and I like all three of them. She has the physique that makes her believable as a former special ops character; the parsimonious dialogue and superb fight choreography was a wise choice, Carano has not yet earned her chops as actor for her to get more than she had to speak here. If you're looking for a smart action thriller, a movie fix you need to satisfy from time to time, this movie should do the job. The movie starts and ends abruptly with one spoken word, the same word; that one word at the beginning takes one fight scene, a minute or so into the movie, no less striking than in the Bourne movies, to realise how well chosen it was. At the end, when the bad guy simply sees Carano and utters that word, you don't need to see another fight scene, you can imagine it vividly; that's the mark of a smart script and directing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
amiee1May 9, 2012
Gina Carino really holds her own as the only female character, delivering a solid performance

http://pricerunner.co.uk/switched-on-tech/article/female-species-more-deadly-male
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FullmetalMay 20, 2012
This movie wont win any awards for being overly complicated. The plot is simple. The action, on the other hand, is where the movie excels. Gina Carano beats the hell out of anyone and everyone who challenges her in this movie. I have a newThis movie wont win any awards for being overly complicated. The plot is simple. The action, on the other hand, is where the movie excels. Gina Carano beats the hell out of anyone and everyone who challenges her in this movie. I have a new female crush--call me Gina. The part where she beats the hell out of Ewan McGregor in that sexy ass wet suit took the picture for me. The film starts out confusing, then slowly reveals whats going on. There is little to no background music, which gives the film a surreal feel to it. Also, in Soderbergh form, the film deals heavily in dialogue for some parts. Soderbergh is pretty good with that, because the dialogue feels natural. Overall, Haywire is a pretty good movie for people who like action. The action is different in the fact that it is raw and realistic. The fight between Michael Fassbender and Gina is actually realistic. In the special features of the DVD, they show them actually fighting and doing all of the stunts themselves. That adds to the realism. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KeanosMagicHatNov 2, 2012
This is a thoroughly decent movie. Yes Ms. Carano is a little wooden in rare moments, but there is a good supporting cast. The music gives it a retro/throwback vibe, cinematography in some shots is beautiful and the action has a real earthyThis is a thoroughly decent movie. Yes Ms. Carano is a little wooden in rare moments, but there is a good supporting cast. The music gives it a retro/throwback vibe, cinematography in some shots is beautiful and the action has a real earthy feel to it. The fact that the lead is a kick ass woman also does not hurt. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
While its lead character may seem a little too plain, "Haywire" is still a reasonably entertaining thriller with some impressive set pieces and action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews