User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 201 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 201

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 21, 2014
    6
    An enjoyable, if formulaic spy romp with some great fight scenes and a strong female lead. The shaky cam style works in the film's favor. Just don't expect too much from the plot.
  2. Xon
    Aug 4, 2013
    7
    Pleasant movie. The fights were incredible yet totally grounded in reality. The story is somewhat predictable but decent and serviceable. The soundtrack is excellent and really carries the film forward.
  3. Jul 5, 2013
    1
    Is Gina Carano a MMA fighter? Yes, and that is evident in this film. Is she an actress? No, something also evident (painfully so) in this film. But she could have been forgiven if it where not for the fact that this whole film is dreadful. The main storyline appears to be have been built around the fact that Carano can beat the crap outta people lets have her do a lot of that! and a lotIs Gina Carano a MMA fighter? Yes, and that is evident in this film. Is she an actress? No, something also evident (painfully so) in this film. But she could have been forgiven if it where not for the fact that this whole film is dreadful. The main storyline appears to be have been built around the fact that Carano can beat the crap outta people lets have her do a lot of that! and a lot of running. Lets have lots of running sequences. Everything else is of secondary value. There is a very thin plot, which basically makes no sense. Don't waste your time on this... Expand
  4. Jun 19, 2013
    6
    A solid film from Steven Soderbergh. He continues to pack his films with really good acting talent and with the addition of Gina Carano the action really works.
  5. Apr 18, 2013
    1
    The movie is SLOW, it made me struggle to stay awake only after a few minutes into. Scenes drag on for to long, and you ultimatly end up bored. Please note that my bad rating has nothing to do with the actors, I love all the actors, including Gina Carano. Im confused as how they managed to gather so much top a the line actors, for such a mediocre movie. There is alot of dialog, much of itThe movie is SLOW, it made me struggle to stay awake only after a few minutes into. Scenes drag on for to long, and you ultimatly end up bored. Please note that my bad rating has nothing to do with the actors, I love all the actors, including Gina Carano. Im confused as how they managed to gather so much top a the line actors, for such a mediocre movie. There is alot of dialog, much of it is boring. What sucks the most is that its not Gina Carano's fault. Im hoping to see her in more movies. but Im staying away from European movies for a while. I only gave it the score I did, because it has because of the cast members. If not it would have been a 0. Expand
  6. Feb 14, 2013
    6
    Soderbergh is good at directing great actors such as Michael Douglas and Ewan McGregor, but this film lacks entertainment. Haywire is one of the few movies to escape in January.
  7. Feb 10, 2013
    5
    Haywire is a fun action movie. The star studded cast and notable director give it a bit more kick than the usual fare. Still, despite the general quality of whats' on offer, the film doesn't escape it's own vapidity. Haywire is fun but it isn't meaningful in any way.
  8. Dec 5, 2012
    6
    I wanted to see this film because I was intrigued by how much audiences panned it (40% user rating on RT). After finally seeing it, I'm very shocked by its negative reception. I personally think there's a lot of fun to be had with this film, and Soderbergh's touch is evident throughout. The plot is a bit heavy at times, but the action, direction, cast, and acting are all solid. GinaI wanted to see this film because I was intrigued by how much audiences panned it (40% user rating on RT). After finally seeing it, I'm very shocked by its negative reception. I personally think there's a lot of fun to be had with this film, and Soderbergh's touch is evident throughout. The plot is a bit heavy at times, but the action, direction, cast, and acting are all solid. Gina Carano's lack of acting experience is apparent in many scenes, but she carries the film extremely well nonetheless. A solid, entertaining, thriller. Expand
  9. Nov 28, 2012
    7
    While its lead character may seem a little too plain, "Haywire" is still a reasonably entertaining thriller with some impressive set pieces and action.
  10. Nov 10, 2012
    4
    I have come across several of these films with a decent cast but I well know that this is no guarantee of a decent film. Yes, the fight scenes are pretty spectacular, but no more so than those in the
  11. Nov 4, 2012
    8
    Soderbergh films always look great. The action sequences are so clean, it puts to shame many action movies of today. Carano isn't going to win an oscar for her performance but she kicks a lot of ass and did her own stunts, and that is what was required of her. Fassbender is great as always in a limited role.
  12. Nov 2, 2012
    8
    This is a thoroughly decent movie. Yes Ms. Carano is a little wooden in rare moments, but there is a good supporting cast. The music gives it a retro/throwback vibe, cinematography in some shots is beautiful and the action has a real earthy feel to it. The fact that the lead is a kick ass woman also does not hurt.
  13. Oct 15, 2012
    8
    This came as a bit of a surprise to me as you almost never find a movie as good as this in January. I realize that critics clearly enjoyed this more then people which should say something. That this movie was marketed as something completely different then it truly was. I realize this is the case with all of the director's work. The same thing happened with Contagion and Magic Mike which IThis came as a bit of a surprise to me as you almost never find a movie as good as this in January. I realize that critics clearly enjoyed this more then people which should say something. That this movie was marketed as something completely different then it truly was. I realize this is the case with all of the director's work. The same thing happened with Contagion and Magic Mike which I both liked very much. So if you ever plan on seeing this movie, don't believe what the trailer tells you. This is a very odd film. Yes it's an action film but it's different than what you're use to, which is why so many people disliked it. I can't explain it but it's just different and I'll admit, it did bother me too. The music does not fit the movie at all. I'm not sure what the director was trying to do here but 90% of the music was this weird 70's jazz music that you would find in a spy movie from that period. Whatever the case, it was annoying and sometimes took me out of the movie. These were really the only things that bothered me. I mean the director choose to shoot the movie in a variety of ways, some shots work, others don't, but it didn't bother me much. It might be off-putting to some of you though and that's one example in which I said earlier that this movie is different. It's not shot in a way your typical action movie is. So despite those problems I enjoyed everything else. The action is fantastic, it's very well choreographed. There's no music accompanying the action scenes which make them seem more realistic and thus, another example of how this is different from your typical action film. The story is nothing new, this is after all a revenge flick, but the director adds enough of his visual flair and fresh ideas to make this movie stand above your typical revenge flick. The cast is solid and for a first time performance Gina Carano was not bad. Was it a terrific performance? No, but she has potential. She would make a good Wonder Woman but that's just me. I hope she gets more roles because watching her kick ass was definitely worth the price of admission. The other person worth noting is Channing Tatum. This has been a good year for him in both in terms of box office and career. Now, I haven't seen The Vow and I don't have any intentions of seeing it anytime soon, but he has definitely reversed my opinion of him. With this, 21 Jump Street, and Magic Mike, I can't believe I'm saying this but, he can act. I hope now he decides to pick smart scripts and make smart choices because he has finally proven(it's been like what 6 years?) that he's got the chops. Overall, a nice surprise since normally January is considered a dumping ground as a majority of the films are Hollywood rejects. This is another great movie from a great director who has been having a good year himself with this, Magic Mike, and last year's Contagion, he's slowly becoming one of my favorite directors. Sure this movie is very different, the music doesn't fit it at all, there's no music during the fight scenes, and some of the shots work better than others. However, the action is nice choreographed a nice-shot, no shaky-cam, the cast gives solid performances and how could you not find Gina Carano kicking ass not exciting or hot? Expand
  14. Sep 22, 2012
    7
    Haywire will not be remembered as Soderberg's best piece, but watching Carano kick, choke, crack and crush men about twice her size in a rampant revenge story is thoroughly entertaining.
  15. Sep 19, 2012
    6
    Haywire has style, almost too much style. Since it is a Steven Soderbergh film, a certain amount of gloss and creative camera shots are expected, but Haywire has more gloss and polish than average. It also has in-your-face brutal violence. There are relatively few firearms; the violence is one-on-one mortal combat to the death between somewhat evenly matched opponents, even though oneHaywire has style, almost too much style. Since it is a Steven Soderbergh film, a certain amount of gloss and creative camera shots are expected, but Haywire has more gloss and polish than average. It also has in-your-face brutal violence. There are relatively few firearms; the violence is one-on-one mortal combat to the death between somewhat evenly matched opponents, even though one of the fighters is a woman. It Expand
  16. Sep 1, 2012
    1
    I was looking forward to this movie, being a big Steven Soderbergh fan (though admitting he's not always on top of his game). But this was close to the bottom of the SS barrel. It's all over the place and almost completely incoherent. And the fight scenes are only so-so. A real turkey.
  17. Aug 22, 2012
    6
    Steven Soderbergh's Haywire ends up being an exercise in genre, but a shameless and self-aware one, kind of like a less-violent (and not-as-good) Drive. Carano makes for a surprisingly good lead and even though she kind of pitters out in dialogue heavy scenes, she makes up with nuance when she's not talking and by dealing exhilarating fight scenes in spades. It is reminiscent of the BourneSteven Soderbergh's Haywire ends up being an exercise in genre, but a shameless and self-aware one, kind of like a less-violent (and not-as-good) Drive. Carano makes for a surprisingly good lead and even though she kind of pitters out in dialogue heavy scenes, she makes up with nuance when she's not talking and by dealing exhilarating fight scenes in spades. It is reminiscent of the Bourne movies in style (with Soderbergh credited as the director of photography under an alias) and has the same pulse-pounding pace. While certainly not an action classic, 'Haywire' is entertaining and stylish enough to divert us while not killing our brain cells. Expand
  18. Aug 14, 2012
    5
    The marketing behind Haywire is just embarrassing, and that's probably why the film was seen as a mixed bag by audiences. The trailer promised a kick a$$ action movie, yet what we got was totally different. Nothing interesting happens in this movie. It's all bark with very little bite. Some of the fighting sequences are ok to look at, but when they're over, it's back to the uninterestingThe marketing behind Haywire is just embarrassing, and that's probably why the film was seen as a mixed bag by audiences. The trailer promised a kick a$$ action movie, yet what we got was totally different. Nothing interesting happens in this movie. It's all bark with very little bite. Some of the fighting sequences are ok to look at, but when they're over, it's back to the uninteresting story. One thing that I thought was weird was the film's attempt to be stylish at a point or 2. This is weird because it conflicts with how serious the rest of the movie takes itself, so some scenes just come off as unintentionally laughable. It's not a bad movie, but the marketing pretty much ruined it. Expand
  19. Aug 7, 2012
    1
    Lame attempt to be a Bourne movie, nothing more. Poor acting and most of the fight scenes are rubbish. In their rush to try and promote equal opportunities film makers often forget a simple fact, women can't trade blow for blow with a man. That isn't to say women can't be as good at fighting as men, of course they can. What it does mean is that simple facts about the physical differencesLame attempt to be a Bourne movie, nothing more. Poor acting and most of the fight scenes are rubbish. In their rush to try and promote equal opportunities film makers often forget a simple fact, women can't trade blow for blow with a man. That isn't to say women can't be as good at fighting as men, of course they can. What it does mean is that simple facts about the physical differences can't be overlooked. Men are naturally stronger and have slightly thicker larger bones, and are able to take a bit more of a beating than a woman, that's not sexist, it's simple human physiology.

    For a woman to beat a man she can't stand there trading blows and expect to come out on top, it's just not going to end well for her. So when you have scenes in the movie where she's taking hit after hit, and not being phased by it, what little realism was in the fight scenes quickly goes out the window. Which just leaves you with a poorly acted, dull story with absurd action scenes -___-
    Expand
  20. Jul 21, 2012
    4
    I was really looking forward to this, there just aren't enough movies where a woman gets to run around kicking ass and always makes a refreshing change. The fact that this has a genuine cage fighter in 'Gina carano' should have made it even better. But, oh dear! Once again soderbergh can't help but express his art house tendencies, ok so the plot was thin, but done right the 'point blank'I was really looking forward to this, there just aren't enough movies where a woman gets to run around kicking ass and always makes a refreshing change. The fact that this has a genuine cage fighter in 'Gina carano' should have made it even better. But, oh dear! Once again soderbergh can't help but express his art house tendencies, ok so the plot was thin, but done right the 'point blank' revenge thriller can still be entertaining, but soderbergh does his best to wring out any excitement or adventure, probably because he thinks it would make the film too cheesy, so we get slow, awkward scenes, that lack any atmosphere. The use of god awful jazz for the score throughout doesn't help. As for the acting, all things considered i would say carano can hold her head high, but for some reason she manages to drag the 'proper' actors down, this is without doubt ewan mcgregors worst performance. He's main scene in a room with carano has to be seen to be believed. Overall, a wasted opportunity. Expand
  21. Jul 15, 2012
    5
    I'm quite surprised at the strong critical reception to this film, as on the whole it left quite a lot to be desired. Soderbergh certainly lends his extremely creative, quirky skill in appropriate ways (the action sequences are rather unconventional and very well shot), but it's abundantly clear that this movie was written solely around Carano's fighting skills, which is a blessing and aI'm quite surprised at the strong critical reception to this film, as on the whole it left quite a lot to be desired. Soderbergh certainly lends his extremely creative, quirky skill in appropriate ways (the action sequences are rather unconventional and very well shot), but it's abundantly clear that this movie was written solely around Carano's fighting skills, which is a blessing and a curse. Anyone who has followed her career knows that she is an extremely capable fighter, and she shows off her athletic dexterity admirably and believably in the film. She's a much more believable action star than, say, Angelina Jolie, and it's exciting to witness her antics with her numerous male adversaries in the film. However, given the bland, generic storyline (you've seen it a million times before) coupled with very poor writing and lack of true suspense, the film ends on a very dull note. Finally, and perhaps most importantly, is the fact that Carano is an absolutely terrible actress. She just had no idea what she was doing, and she lacked even the slightest emotional connection to her role. This really is too bad and the film would have gained a lot if she had been more prepared. If she wants to continue her film career she's going to have to invest a significant amount of time in some proper acting training, as her performance was about as animated as a cardboard box Expand
  22. Jun 19, 2012
    5
    It's okay, but nothing impressive. Steven Soderbergh can do better, and I'm disappointed that he didn't. There was a good movie to be made here, but somehow Haywire fails to effectively connect the dots of its disjointed story. It wasn't a waste of time, but I didn't feel like I was ever really drawn in to care about the main character (who is played by Gina Carano - she turns in aIt's okay, but nothing impressive. Steven Soderbergh can do better, and I'm disappointed that he didn't. There was a good movie to be made here, but somehow Haywire fails to effectively connect the dots of its disjointed story. It wasn't a waste of time, but I didn't feel like I was ever really drawn in to care about the main character (who is played by Gina Carano - she turns in a decent performance). Simply put, Haywire is the espionage cousin to Ocean's 11 without the swagger and charm. Expand
  23. Jun 5, 2012
    8
    Hell has no fury like a woman scorned! Haywire is sweet eye-candy for MMA fighting fans. This female may be the next Bruce Lee for lady fans. She's in control and commands the screen when she battle's. If Gina Corano can turn men on with her sexy brawling style, then she may be around as long as Mila Jovovich and replace her. Women will love her defeating a man's world. SoderberghHell has no fury like a woman scorned! Haywire is sweet eye-candy for MMA fighting fans. This female may be the next Bruce Lee for lady fans. She's in control and commands the screen when she battle's. If Gina Corano can turn men on with her sexy brawling style, then she may be around as long as Mila Jovovich and replace her. Women will love her defeating a man's world. Soderbergh direction copy Ocean 12 and Bourne Expand
  24. Jun 4, 2012
    6
    I liked it, loved that I believed the lead would kick my ass one handed (Carano does just fine, and better than some actors who get regular work), and Soderberg did some pretty good work with the camera. Fight scenes feel like they hurt which is good for a fight movie. However, the whole thing ends up just a little off, mostly because some sections that pop up occasionally (loud musicI liked it, loved that I believed the lead would kick my ass one handed (Carano does just fine, and better than some actors who get regular work), and Soderberg did some pretty good work with the camera. Fight scenes feel like they hurt which is good for a fight movie. However, the whole thing ends up just a little off, mostly because some sections that pop up occasionally (loud music drumming with no other sound) - the style gets in the way. Can't fault them for trying some things, though, and if the trailer interests you, you'll probably enjoy this, at least a bit, and maybe more. Expand
  25. Jun 1, 2012
    7
    This was a fascinating action film. It has more than its fair share of violence, which usually doesn't appeal to me, but the violence is so intrinsically linked to the plot that the movie just would not work without it. The heroine of the film is an ex-Marine who can put James Bond to shame. She's strong, beautiful, and fearless, and has catlike agility and intuition. The violent scenesThis was a fascinating action film. It has more than its fair share of violence, which usually doesn't appeal to me, but the violence is so intrinsically linked to the plot that the movie just would not work without it. The heroine of the film is an ex-Marine who can put James Bond to shame. She's strong, beautiful, and fearless, and has catlike agility and intuition. The violent scenes are mostly her beating up all the men who try to betray her, subdue her, or hire contractors to kill her. She always triumphs over them--she is invincible. She ends up killing a couple of them, which is probably not necessary--women usually are a little more forgiving than that, although it should be noted that every character she kills was someone who tried to kill her first. From a purely feminist point of view, this movie is an important addition to the canon--no helpless females who have to count shrill, convincing screams as being an important part of their acting skills. (I've never screamed in my life, so why are actresses always screaming?) The character of Mallory Kane is played by newcomer Gina Carano, who in real life is a renowned expert at Muay Thai, the official sport of Thailand, a martial art that is basically a form of kickboxing. Muay Thai was Carano's primary claim to fame before her breakthrough role in Haywire. She is all muscle and guts--I don't think she needed a stunt woman to double for her in any scenes. She makes Angelina Jolie look like a princess. The film also marks Michael Douglas's comeback after his illness. He looks better than ever in the role of Coblenz, the only disappointment being that we don't get to see enough of him. It's an easy and small role for him, but he was still extremely effective, as was Antonio Banderas, also onscreen too briefly, and Ewan McGregor, who plays a surprisingly ambiguous character despite his conservative, clean-cut exterior. Expand
  26. Jun 1, 2012
    9
    Before watching this I'd never heard of it nor the lead actress, so wasn't expecting much from it... and then I was totally blown away by the fight scene realism and a decent story to boot... One of the best female action movies I've seen in a very long time that didn't rely on stupid CGI and wires to pull off the choreography
  27. May 20, 2012
    7
    This movie wont win any awards for being overly complicated. The plot is simple. The action, on the other hand, is where the movie excels. Gina Carano beats the hell out of anyone and everyone who challenges her in this movie. I have a new female crush--call me Gina. The part where she beats the hell out of Ewan McGregor in that sexy ass wet suit took the picture for me. The film startsThis movie wont win any awards for being overly complicated. The plot is simple. The action, on the other hand, is where the movie excels. Gina Carano beats the hell out of anyone and everyone who challenges her in this movie. I have a new female crush--call me Gina. The part where she beats the hell out of Ewan McGregor in that sexy ass wet suit took the picture for me. The film starts out confusing, then slowly reveals whats going on. There is little to no background music, which gives the film a surreal feel to it. Also, in Soderbergh form, the film deals heavily in dialogue for some parts. Soderbergh is pretty good with that, because the dialogue feels natural. Overall, Haywire is a pretty good movie for people who like action. The action is different in the fact that it is raw and realistic. The fight between Michael Fassbender and Gina is actually realistic. In the special features of the DVD, they show them actually fighting and doing all of the stunts themselves. That adds to the realism. Expand
  28. May 15, 2012
    4
    I can't understand how anyone enjoyed this movie. It was so slow, and dull. I am a huge MMA fan so I watched this because of Gina Carano. Boy was I disappointed. Glad I only rented it from red box for a dollar.
  29. May 13, 2012
    8
    Very boring movie but it is still a little bit interested. I love seeing Gina kick some ass in this movie. This movie was very disappointed. A very slow pace action movie. I did fall asleep on it. The fighting scenes with Gina did wake me up. The plot in the story was decent and good directing. I wouldnt suggest this movie to any one.
  30. May 12, 2012
    5
    Well she certainly can fight, and despite being beaten to a pulp, often, she only has a few bruises to show. Unfortunately she's stuck in a silly movie that panders to adolescent fans. Nothing wrong there had this been a B movie director not Soderbergh of Michael Clayton and Syriana fame. This time he gets some famous buddies to take on cameos so he can showcase the fighting chops of hisWell she certainly can fight, and despite being beaten to a pulp, often, she only has a few bruises to show. Unfortunately she's stuck in a silly movie that panders to adolescent fans. Nothing wrong there had this been a B movie director not Soderbergh of Michael Clayton and Syriana fame. This time he gets some famous buddies to take on cameos so he can showcase the fighting chops of his MMA champion. The dialogue is dull, the holes in the plot are truck size and it's all just an energy bunnette flic without even humor to redeem it. Expand
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Ian Buckwalter
    Jan 24, 2012
    80
    This is a film built around its star, just as surely as any of its cheesier '80s forebears.
  2. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jan 23, 2012
    50
    The movie is a divertissement; it's lightweight and almost meaningless except for the fights, which are extraordinarily violent. [30 Jan. 2012, p.79]
  3. 70
    Soderbergh tends to get one big idea - a thesis idea - per film and stick with it even when a touch more flexibility would help. Here it's that non-kinetic camera, which he's so wedded to that parts of the film seem underenergized, like a cheap seventies or early eighties picture you'd catch at two in the morning on Cinemax's tenth most popular channel.