Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 192 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Mallory Kane is a highly trained operative who works for a government security contractor in the dirtiest, most dangerous corners of the world. After successfully freeing a Chinese journalist held hostage, she is double crossed and left for dead by someone close to her in her own agency. Suddenly the target of skilled assassins who know her every move, Mallory must find the truth in order to stay alive. Using her black-ops military training, she devises an ingenious—and dangerous—trap. But when things go haywire, Mallory realizes she’ll be killed in the blink of an eye unless she finds a way to turn the tables on her ruthless adversary. (Relativity Media)
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Jan 18, 2012
    91
    In truth, Haywire is simply a delivery system for ass-kickings, calibrated to the specific talents of Gina Carano, a former mixed-martial-arts star and American Gladiator whose fists (and feet) of fury can rattle skulls and cave in chests.
  2. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Nov 8, 2011
    80
    Paring down narrative and character concerns in favor of a breathtaking application of pure thriller technique, Soderbergh's latest picture is a lean, efficient exercise tossed off with his customary sangfroid and wickedly dry sense of humor.
  3. Reviewed by: Ian Buckwalter
    Jan 24, 2012
    80
    This is a film built around its star, just as surely as any of its cheesier '80s forebears.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Nov 8, 2011
    70
    The script makes no attempt to assert its plausibility or realism; it is, instead, refreshingly frank about what it is, a simple, workable framework for the melees and mayhem.
  5. 70
    Soderbergh tends to get one big idea - a thesis idea - per film and stick with it even when a touch more flexibility would help. Here it's that non-kinetic camera, which he's so wedded to that parts of the film seem underenergized, like a cheap seventies or early eighties picture you'd catch at two in the morning on Cinemax's tenth most popular channel.
  6. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jan 23, 2012
    50
    The movie is a divertissement; it's lightweight and almost meaningless except for the fights, which are extraordinarily violent. [30 Jan. 2012, p.79]
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Jan 17, 2012
    25
    Haywire makes no sense whatsoever, which should come as no surprise. It's the latest brainless exercise in self-indulgence from Steven Soderbergh, whose films rarely make any sense anyway.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 76
  2. Negative: 18 out of 76
  1. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    Finally a woman who actually knows how to throw a punch instead of crappy fighters like Jolie. Corano is hot and able to kick most guys asses. I would like to see her do more. Expand
  2. Apr 19, 2012
    9
    Brilliant. Regular action heads might be confused by Sonderburgh's arty approach. But there's always a hackneyed Van Damme B flick for them in the wings. Must admit I was a little confused by the plot twists and turns sometimes, but throughtly enjoyed it from beginning to its cool close. Talk about edge of the seat, tense action driven by a hip soundtrack. Super cast and had no problem with Gina Carano as a smart heroine rooting out corruption. Expand
  3. Jan 22, 2012
    7
    I enjoyed the film for what it is - a vehicle to show off Carano's ass-kicking abilities - just like many movies (see: Jeff Speakman is "The Perfect Weapon") have done before. I take issue with Lisa Schwarzbaum's "calling foul" upon seeing Channing Tatum beat up on Carano at the outset of the film. So it's OK for movies to show women beaten, belittled, raped, and tortured - so long as they don't fight back?? How is this movie "depressing" for a pro-woman audience? I loved seeing Mallory Kane beat the living hell out of the guys with a force and kinetic energy that you rarely see presented on screen - even from men. It's the difference between how an object reacts when it by a 38 caliber round and a 44 cal round. The 44 doesn't just penetrate - it knocks you down. So does a full-bodied Carano kick. Is the acting uniformly top shelf? Is there character development Hell no. Did I have fun with this movie? Of course. Expand
  4. Jan 27, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To put it simply it's a B-movie. For the entire film the audience is unsure of particular motives and plot details until the end with the reveal from McGregor's character. It made the movie confusing, and the introduction of new characters cheesy. Like when another character makes a reference to a mysterious "Paul," a character we haven't seen yet. I don't know, it just kind of comes off amateurish. Also the acting and writing were very average. Carano wasn't convincing and the others were just very average. And with the writing, what is with the sex? They mold this character into a sex symbol who kicks ass instead of creating a character much more original than that. The audience doesn't need sex, it needs interesting characters with justified motives. Overall like I said, it was just an average, b-movie, action movie. Expand
  5. Jan 26, 2012
    5
    I mostly blame the marketing team of Haywire - they'd convinced me I was going to get something between Bourne and Nikita, and I didn't. I accept that's not what the film ever aimed to be, but because of the misleading trailers and publicity I can't help but feel a little duped. What Haywire actually is, is a pretty old-fashioned slow-burning spy movie with the occasional bone-crunching fight scene to savour. All due credit to Steven Soderbergh, the film is shot beautifully (particularly the Dublin sequence), has some nice stylistic touches, and the film as a whole isn't anywhere near as far up its own backside as some of his previous directorial efforts (Ocean's films I'm looking at you!). Gina Carano makes a decent, confident protagonist, and her mixed martial arts background makes the various scrapes that Mallory Kane gets into extremely creative, brutal and entertaining to watch. Michael Douglas also appears to relish his role as a high-ranking government agent, and his performance as an authority figure is very believable now that he's the spitting image of his dad. The rest of the cast I found a little underwhelming, with Ewan McGregor and Channing Tatum coasting, Antonio Banderas playing Antonio Banderas, and Michael Fassbender, though continuing to prove himself as a decent character actor, still slips back into his natural Irish lilt now and again. The actors' failings may have been overlooked had the script been decent, but Lem Dobbs' dialogue leaves a lot to be desired, and is probably the element that detracts most from the film as a whole. The pace of the film is extremely uneven too, and no matter how interesting Soderbergh makes his numerous long takes, you may find yourself pining for a few more all-out scraps. Maintaining a shot for the sake of tension only works up to a point, and after he pulled this trick for the third or fourth time I found my attention waning. I also found the conclusion to this story, which started so well, completely underwhelming. It may be good-looking, well-choreographed, and well-told up until the final act, but in the end, I found Haywire a little lifeless, and occasionally quite dull. Expand
  6. Jan 24, 2012
    4
    Saw it a week ago and cared so little I'm just getting around to reviewing it. Tired formula that still works for guys action flicks... when its done well. But, (and this is an "big butt") unless your a butch feminist who wishes Dirty Harry were a woman... your not the target audience. A few big name actors with passable performances but none of it was compelling or convincing. Wait for the small screen. Expand
  7. Jan 28, 2012
    0
    This movie is so BAD that when it ended everyone in the room started complaining. The action is lame, the is no effect whatsoever and it looks like a 16 year old kid recorded it with a camcorder. This is the kind of movie that you want to hit yourself against the wall just because you wasted your time watching it. Just imagine the day when you were really really depressed, you still wouldn't want to watch this movie. There is a scene where the girl is inside the house and then she shows up with her face painted like Rambo - I was like are you kidding me, I have never done even a home video and I would never do that kind of mistake. There is no flow and the story is totally flawed -whoever comments positively about this movie seriously is short-minded or does not go to the theater much. Expand

See all 76 User Reviews

Trailers