User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 72
  2. Negative: 3 out of 72
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Clay
    Feb 10, 2007
    10
    One of the most tenderly made films ever. John Cameron Mitchell's Hedwig and the Angry Inch, is part love story, part comedy, part tragedy and 100 percent Rock and Roll Musical. Mitchell plays the lead roll of Hedwig with bravura, soul, and wreckless abandonment of what anyone thinks. This is a film for anyone who looking for love, has been in love, or fallen out of love. You'll One of the most tenderly made films ever. John Cameron Mitchell's Hedwig and the Angry Inch, is part love story, part comedy, part tragedy and 100 percent Rock and Roll Musical. Mitchell plays the lead roll of Hedwig with bravura, soul, and wreckless abandonment of what anyone thinks. This is a film for anyone who looking for love, has been in love, or fallen out of love. You'll laugh, you'll cry and you'll watch it again and again. The replay value is astonishing considering there is fantastic costuming, amazing songs, various storyline angles and just plain memorable fun. Truly one of the best movies I have ever seen. Deeply touching and emotional you won't be disappointed. Expand
  2. MitchH.
    Mar 28, 2003
    5
    I have to say that I enjoyed the first half of this movie and the music is great, but by the second half it got boring and to conventional. All the characters around Hedwig are one dimentional and you know nothing about them. I didn't carte about them and when things started to fall apart with Hedwig and his wife/husband, I didn't care or understand who he/she was. Not enough I have to say that I enjoyed the first half of this movie and the music is great, but by the second half it got boring and to conventional. All the characters around Hedwig are one dimentional and you know nothing about them. I didn't carte about them and when things started to fall apart with Hedwig and his wife/husband, I didn't care or understand who he/she was. Not enough explination or the supproting characters with a mix or predictibality amde me not like this movie altogether. The music was great though. Loved the music. Expand
  3. JosephK.
    Nov 1, 2006
    10
    Only few films seem so right that you could say with confidence that they are near perfect. Not a beat missed,and thats not only reffering to the music. Questions of this films significance will be anwsered with 20 or so years of aging, though films like these are timeless, it is only a matter of time before enough people would agree it is a sure musical classic.
  4. SarahC.
    Oct 24, 2003
    10
    Amazing -possibly the best movie ever made!
  5. BeccaE.
    Oct 15, 2004
    10
    I LOVED IT!!!!!!!! It is so funny and has such wonderful music as well as hilarious lines! "Bishop in a turtleneck" AWESOME!!!!!!!
  6. JamesA.
    Sep 5, 2004
    10
    I love it with all my heart!
  7. bernya.
    Aug 6, 2005
    10
    How can a movie get so deep into a heart?
  8. FrankC.
    Oct 1, 2001
    8
    A powerful film, bursting at the seams with energy and excitement. The animation used to illustrate songs moves this film into some new genre as "other" as Hedwig's sex. 2nd half, though, slips some.
  9. CheriB.
    Oct 5, 2001
    10
    Irresistible and poignant, this film examines the unyeilding power of desire and the undeniable reward of persistence.
  10. BilboB.
    Aug 6, 2001
    9
    Wow -- this was fun. "Origin of Love" was great.
  11. E.Valjean
    Sep 4, 2001
    8
    A rock n' roll fantasy, with a poignant and tender center. Many people will not be able to get past the content, to see the touching human story underneath which can strike a chord in all of us, if we only let it.
  12. MarkA.
    Jan 17, 2003
    9
    I didn't plan to watch this movie. I had no clue what it was going to be about but when the Music started and I saw Michael Pitts name, I had to watch the whole thing. I even had to rewind at the end to see my favorite parts again. I only wish Hansel would have kept his hooded bishop. NO way could I ever leave it behind. So sad!!! I guess I like bishops a lot hooded or unhooded, Mine I didn't plan to watch this movie. I had no clue what it was going to be about but when the Music started and I saw Michael Pitts name, I had to watch the whole thing. I even had to rewind at the end to see my favorite parts again. I only wish Hansel would have kept his hooded bishop. NO way could I ever leave it behind. So sad!!! I guess I like bishops a lot hooded or unhooded, Mine or His or Your's or Anyones. This Movie rocked and if you haven't seen it yet You should... Expand
  13. NickS.
    Jul 18, 2003
    10
    This movie is a very emotionally indepth. and a very big departure from the stupid movies of late that have no meaning.
  14. BecsD
    Oct 15, 2004
    10
    Amazing!!!! The music rocked, especially "Origins of Love". I loved the karioke scene it was cool. I loved this movie and I loved the music!!
  15. StevieG.
    Feb 22, 2005
    10
    Gorgeous work and music and costume. I especially love the songs 'The Origin Of Love' and 'Wig In The Box'. Great movie after couple of movies in same genre such as The Adventures of Priscilla QUeen Of The Desert and Too Wong Foo. Two Thumbs up
  16. CheriB.
    Oct 5, 2001
    10
    Irresistible and poignant, this film examines the unyeilding power of desire and the undeniable reward of persistence.
  17. DaleC.
    Jul 24, 2001
    10
    John Cameron Mitchell is so magnetic on screen. The stage show was phenomenal, but the movie holds up quite well. While the songs don't quite rock as hard as they did on stage (and what's up with that stupid manager character?), the film is a wonderful adaptation of a great story. Also, the music is an emotinal powerhouse.
  18. CristyG.
    Jan 12, 2002
    10
    Could it have kicked anymore ass? I loved it!!!
  19. MikeL.
    Feb 7, 2002
    10
    If you love a good story and a good laugh it's in there coated with a campy rock score and a emotional under tone that leves you woundering did I miss something. Better see it more than once or you will!!
  20. QuinnJ.
    Aug 16, 2002
    10
    This movie provides a poignant perspective while mixing in that certain flair and comedy that dear Hedwig (formerly Hansel) uses in each performance. Simply this movie is about being an individual.... being yourself. Hedwig changed who she was to fit the standards of others. By comforming to the wishes of others she ended up unhappy and forever looking for her other half. The music is This movie provides a poignant perspective while mixing in that certain flair and comedy that dear Hedwig (formerly Hansel) uses in each performance. Simply this movie is about being an individual.... being yourself. Hedwig changed who she was to fit the standards of others. By comforming to the wishes of others she ended up unhappy and forever looking for her other half. The music is excellent ("wig in a box" will be stuck in your head for weeks), the performances are outstanding, and John Mitchell's story is one of the funniest and deepest biographies told in history. With everything going for this movie.... as Hedwig would say..... do the math and go see it. Expand
  21. JohnaC.
    Dec 19, 2004
    10
    I loved it! Its a fantastic movie with great actors.
  22. NotnormalGirl
    Feb 7, 2004
    10
    One by one I am sucking my friends into the wonderful world of Hedwig and the Angry Inch. This movie is fabulous, with wit that cuts like a knife and songs that kick so much a$$, you can barely sit still! Hell, the soundtrack could stand on it's own, god bless Stephen Trask! But as a whole? This movie is remarkable! It doesn't get much better than this!! Listen to me now, and One by one I am sucking my friends into the wonderful world of Hedwig and the Angry Inch. This movie is fabulous, with wit that cuts like a knife and songs that kick so much a$$, you can barely sit still! Hell, the soundtrack could stand on it's own, god bless Stephen Trask! But as a whole? This movie is remarkable! It doesn't get much better than this!! Listen to me now, and hear me later----see this movie! Expand
  23. KayCeeM.
    Jul 19, 2004
    10
    Before i saw this movie i thought differently. This movie has changed me in a way that nobody else could ever do! Coming from a 16 year old people would say that is dumb but i believe!
  24. JaneA.
    Aug 8, 2004
    10
    I absolutely adore this film. Truly funny, poignant, and enjoyable.
  25. MichaelS.
    Jan 19, 2005
    9
    Great flick.
  26. JillS.
    May 15, 2005
    10
    I can't express how much I adore this movie. It is a rare treat to see theater translated to film and have it REALLY work! The music, acting, pacing, are all perfect! I catch myself singing the songs and quoting it often. A real gem.
  27. Tim
    Oct 11, 2006
    10
    I laughed, I cried, I sang along...what more do you want from a movie?
  28. FelixQ.
    Jul 25, 2006
    9
    This encompases all I want in a movie musical. The quirkyness and sincerity combined make this absolutely amazing. This is one of the rare movies that can competently compete on several different levels, in many genres. It's out there and wacky, but also sensitive and it respects it's own ludicrous characters enough to give them the film they deserve. Not in everyone's This encompases all I want in a movie musical. The quirkyness and sincerity combined make this absolutely amazing. This is one of the rare movies that can competently compete on several different levels, in many genres. It's out there and wacky, but also sensitive and it respects it's own ludicrous characters enough to give them the film they deserve. Not in everyone's tase, I'm willing to bet- I think this one requires a very open mind and broad taste, but once you get into a rhythm on this one, it's addictive. Expand
  29. KittyD.
    Sep 21, 2006
    10
    This movie is my life, end of story
  30. PatC.
    Aug 23, 2007
    8
    Extremely entertaining project. It succeeds in creating a world where transvestite/transsexual behavior is normalized, a kind of "Tommy" meets "Priscilla, Queen of the Desert." The sublte implication is that such behavior often results when a father is forced away from his son and left in the sole care of a dysfunctional mother. I'm one of those people who believes such behavior is Extremely entertaining project. It succeeds in creating a world where transvestite/transsexual behavior is normalized, a kind of "Tommy" meets "Priscilla, Queen of the Desert." The sublte implication is that such behavior often results when a father is forced away from his son and left in the sole care of a dysfunctional mother. I'm one of those people who believes such behavior is contagious and that society should not be put in a position to condone it, but I support both the even-handedness and audacity of this film. Expand
  31. CydJ.
    Aug 18, 2001
    5
    Pain overtook the energy early on for us ... this was tragic, tortured, with not an ounce of nobility. (But then, we never liked, "Tommy.")
  32. DokterP.
    Apr 13, 2002
    10
    As far as rock musicals go, this one is THE ONE. It has the kinky weirdness of Rocky Horror as well as the cocky rock of Spinal Tap. The world needs something like this in the current state of musical drought. I bought the soundtrack just so that I can listen to it at work. This movie is incredible, and I applaude everyone involved in the making of it. I just wish I would have been in New As far as rock musicals go, this one is THE ONE. It has the kinky weirdness of Rocky Horror as well as the cocky rock of Spinal Tap. The world needs something like this in the current state of musical drought. I bought the soundtrack just so that I can listen to it at work. This movie is incredible, and I applaude everyone involved in the making of it. I just wish I would have been in New York when it was at its grassroots period. Expand
  33. HedwigRobinson
    Jul 15, 2002
    10
    If I could, I'd give this movie an 11! I love it so much. I am a devoted and regestered HEDHEAD! The movie is wonderful. I've never seen a better movie, or a better actor than John Cameron Mitchell.
  34. ElinaP.
    Feb 12, 2003
    10
    Well...is there a stronger word than perfect?! Great music, great great story!J ohn Cameron Mitchell is one of the best actors i've ever seen(and director of course)! What I noticed and felt proud (in a way) is that he didn't have to put any drugs or sex in his movie to be more interesting or more shocking (in comparison with other movies)! I can only say that i've already Well...is there a stronger word than perfect?! Great music, great great story!J ohn Cameron Mitchell is one of the best actors i've ever seen(and director of course)! What I noticed and felt proud (in a way) is that he didn't have to put any drugs or sex in his movie to be more interesting or more shocking (in comparison with other movies)! I can only say that i've already watched the movie 3 times this week(!) and i keep listening to the soundtrack over and over again!!And from now on I'm just waiting for John's next film! Expand
  35. PilarB.
    Apr 23, 2004
    10
    Dare to lose yourself, to be moved and touched by Hedwig's beautiful soul in a quest that sooner or later grab us all. You won't regret it.
  36. YoriD.
    Dec 16, 2001
    10
    a T-O-T-A-L blast!!! if this film doesn't make you wanna dress up in a wig, nothing ever will. "...suddenly i'm miss farrah fawcett from tv, until i wake up....lalala!!!"
  37. RyanM.
    Dec 31, 2001
    8
    A hilarious and deep rock opera.
  38. DominickC.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    The extraordinary talent that made this movie - writing, acting, music, visuals - and the humor, gives an exuberant feel with a wish that it would just go on and on. Makes most movies look like trite sad amateur hour same-old flops.
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Jay Carr
    88
    If you thought ''Moulin Rouge,'' or, for that matter, ''Tommy,'' was trippy, Hedwig, with its glorious convergence of material and performer, will show you what you've been missing.
  2. 75
    There's some kind of pulse of sincerity beating below the glittering surface, and it may come from Mitchell's own life story.
  3. 100
    The sight of Hedwig and his band transforming a trashy trailer into a glitter-rock stage during "Wig in a Box" was so exhilarating I almost leapt out of my seat. The movie is pure theater, as it should be.