Fine Line Features | Release Date: July 20, 2001
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 79 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
70
Mixed:
6
Negative:
3
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
DominickC.Nov 17, 2007
The extraordinary talent that made this movie - writing, acting, music, visuals - and the humor, gives an exuberant feel with a wish that it would just go on and on. Makes most movies look like trite sad amateur hour same-old flops.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PatC.Aug 23, 2007
Extremely entertaining project. It succeeds in creating a world where transvestite/transsexual behavior is normalized, a kind of "Tommy" meets "Priscilla, Queen of the Desert." The sublte implication is that such behavior often results when Extremely entertaining project. It succeeds in creating a world where transvestite/transsexual behavior is normalized, a kind of "Tommy" meets "Priscilla, Queen of the Desert." The sublte implication is that such behavior often results when a father is forced away from his son and left in the sole care of a dysfunctional mother. I'm one of those people who believes such behavior is contagious and that society should not be put in a position to condone it, but I support both the even-handedness and audacity of this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClayFeb 10, 2007
One of the most tenderly made films ever. John Cameron Mitchell's Hedwig and the Angry Inch, is part love story, part comedy, part tragedy and 100 percent Rock and Roll Musical. Mitchell plays the lead roll of Hedwig with bravura, soul, One of the most tenderly made films ever. John Cameron Mitchell's Hedwig and the Angry Inch, is part love story, part comedy, part tragedy and 100 percent Rock and Roll Musical. Mitchell plays the lead roll of Hedwig with bravura, soul, and wreckless abandonment of what anyone thinks. This is a film for anyone who looking for love, has been in love, or fallen out of love. You'll laugh, you'll cry and you'll watch it again and again. The replay value is astonishing considering there is fantastic costuming, amazing songs, various storyline angles and just plain memorable fun. Truly one of the best movies I have ever seen. Deeply touching and emotional you won't be disappointed. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JosephK.Nov 1, 2006
Only few films seem so right that you could say with confidence that they are near perfect. Not a beat missed,and thats not only reffering to the music. Questions of this films significance will be anwsered with 20 or so years of aging, Only few films seem so right that you could say with confidence that they are near perfect. Not a beat missed,and thats not only reffering to the music. Questions of this films significance will be anwsered with 20 or so years of aging, though films like these are timeless, it is only a matter of time before enough people would agree it is a sure musical classic. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TimOct 11, 2006
I laughed, I cried, I sang along...what more do you want from a movie?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KittyD.Sep 21, 2006
This movie is my life, end of story
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FelixQ.Jul 25, 2006
This encompases all I want in a movie musical. The quirkyness and sincerity combined make this absolutely amazing. This is one of the rare movies that can competently compete on several different levels, in many genres. It's out there This encompases all I want in a movie musical. The quirkyness and sincerity combined make this absolutely amazing. This is one of the rare movies that can competently compete on several different levels, in many genres. It's out there and wacky, but also sensitive and it respects it's own ludicrous characters enough to give them the film they deserve. Not in everyone's tase, I'm willing to bet- I think this one requires a very open mind and broad taste, but once you get into a rhythm on this one, it's addictive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CheriB.Oct 5, 2001
Irresistible and poignant, this film examines the unyeilding power of desire and the undeniable reward of persistence.
0 of 0 users found this helpful