User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 269 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 269
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 29, 2011
    7
    "Hellboy 2: The Golden Army" is a prominent improvement of "Hellboy". With the obviously beautiful visuals, director Del Toro proceeds to actually contribute deeper into the plot and characters, resulting in one exhilarating film. A reasonable must-watch.
  2. Syzygy
    Jul 13, 2008
    4
    In the wake of his magnificent Pan's Labyrinth, critics have draped Del Toro with the cloak of a faultless auteur who we have to appreciate to be worthy of our intellectual vanities. Hellboy II is retread and blase, boring and all-too familiar. Del Toro is sloughing through a look which he has been rehashing for a number of years, cribbing from one film to the next. What is most In the wake of his magnificent Pan's Labyrinth, critics have draped Del Toro with the cloak of a faultless auteur who we have to appreciate to be worthy of our intellectual vanities. Hellboy II is retread and blase, boring and all-too familiar. Del Toro is sloughing through a look which he has been rehashing for a number of years, cribbing from one film to the next. What is most fatal to Hellboy II is the lack of any seriousness. Del Toro has his characters wallowing in lazy repartee and throwaway interactions so that they wont interfere with his first love, which - surprise, surrpise, - is his CGI-rendered fantasy universe. Expand
  3. Sep 15, 2014
    10
    A masterpiece of creativity. It is an amazing world that Del Toro created in this movie. The characters are fitting and the villain is not only well done but you can also fell his tortured soul and corrupted noble intentions. The plot is also off from simple good vs evil or black vs white. Both sides are grey with good intentions and flaws. It is a must watch movie and far better than theA masterpiece of creativity. It is an amazing world that Del Toro created in this movie. The characters are fitting and the villain is not only well done but you can also fell his tortured soul and corrupted noble intentions. The plot is also off from simple good vs evil or black vs white. Both sides are grey with good intentions and flaws. It is a must watch movie and far better than the first one. Expand
  4. Dan
    Sep 14, 2008
    3
    Apart from the visuals which were quite impressive as we've come to expect from Guillermo's films, this movie was a real let-down. The CGI was, for the most part, impressive and the design, make-up,and props etc. were great. I found some of the sets a bit dull and uninspired though. The action was adequate, exciting in places, but nowhere near as fast paced or exhilarating as Apart from the visuals which were quite impressive as we've come to expect from Guillermo's films, this movie was a real let-down. The CGI was, for the most part, impressive and the design, make-up,and props etc. were great. I found some of the sets a bit dull and uninspired though. The action was adequate, exciting in places, but nowhere near as fast paced or exhilarating as many other films of the genre. Now on to the really bad stuff. I found most of the performances by the actors in the film to be fairly flat, even Ron Pearlman's. The muffled, sometimes barely audible dialogue was so cheesy and juvenile it was almost unbearable (apart from a few mildly amusing one-liners). The heartfelt moments in the film felt so contrived, I felt no connection with the characters whatsoever and really found myself cringing with embarrassment throughout many scenes. The movie had no real structure but was really just a bunch of scenes strung together and badly at that. I thought many of the scenes were also quite pointless and had gaping plot holes. Also, considering the plot of the film, I found it lacking any real moments of drama, or any grand, awe-inspiring set-pieces. Overall, a visually engaging but two dimensional film that will probably fail to touch audiences on any real emotional level which is what a great, even good movie should hope to do. Expand
  5. Mar 10, 2011
    6
    While the first Hellboy was a funny well acted action movie, this is a mediocre poorly acted with bad jokes movie, I was highly disappointed it was not as good as the first, an ok movie from beginning to end.
  6. Mar 25, 2011
    6
    Hellboy 2 starts off strong with a great opening. It's filled with cool looking fantasy creatures and great fight scenes. It also has a great plot. The humor though is not funny and completely kills any chance of this movie being truly great.
  7. Feb 27, 2012
    4
    I have to say this movie was very undone, and I feel as if there was no effort. The pace of the movie doesn't build up at all, its just random event after random event. There is like no sense in this, love plots are crowbarred in, and the end it doesn't even matter, the ending didn't even seem like the ending and when it came I was surprised. The humor isn't that great and there happens toI have to say this movie was very undone, and I feel as if there was no effort. The pace of the movie doesn't build up at all, its just random event after random event. There is like no sense in this, love plots are crowbarred in, and the end it doesn't even matter, the ending didn't even seem like the ending and when it came I was surprised. The humor isn't that great and there happens to be a character in this named Dr. Krauss who Hellboy hates for like the first half of the movie but then suddenly become best pals when Hellboy needs a cure. which just happens to be in the same place that the main villain is. Convenience. However, the movie does have good visuals, and the scene where Hellboy and Abe get drunk was funny, but honestly this movie is really bad. I don't give it a red score mostly because of Visuals . Expand
  8. ColinC
    Aug 2, 2008
    8
    Good summer fun. Not as enjoyable as Iron Man for my money, but still, visually a treat and the story is respectable. If you liked the first Hellboy, I'd imagine you'd like this one too. A good theater movie.
  9. PaulK.
    Jul 12, 2008
    9
    If you enjoyed the first one, you'll like this. Lots of action, crazy creatures and one menacing elf prince.
  10. MoisheM.
    Jul 13, 2008
    10
    It's like the best parts of Men In Black,Lord of the Rings,Farscape, a Hong Kong wire work actioner,and a Tim Burton movie all rolled into one.
  11. JeffD.
    Jul 14, 2008
    0
    i hated it. the visuals were nice, but the story lacked a lot, and the transitions from event to event were horrible at best. the jokes were bad, the puns were sickening, the wit was anything but clever. Hellboy II strives for that satisfactory "epic quest" feel, but misses by miles, and merely achieves the status of "clusterf*ck." do yourself a favor and buy the comic book; you'll i hated it. the visuals were nice, but the story lacked a lot, and the transitions from event to event were horrible at best. the jokes were bad, the puns were sickening, the wit was anything but clever. Hellboy II strives for that satisfactory "epic quest" feel, but misses by miles, and merely achieves the status of "clusterf*ck." do yourself a favor and buy the comic book; you'll get more bang for your buck. and what the hell was up with that opening scene? GAH! Expand
  12. MarkB.
    Aug 1, 2008
    8
    Hellboy (Ron Perlman) distrusts authority, is notably short-tempered at times, on other occasions is unduly worried about what people think of him, and he loves cigars, candy, cats and cerveza. In other words, Hellboy is not only MY kind of superhero but my kind of guy, and in as historically crowded a slate of superhero movies as 2008 has provided (the cleverly topical Iron Man, the Hellboy (Ron Perlman) distrusts authority, is notably short-tempered at times, on other occasions is unduly worried about what people think of him, and he loves cigars, candy, cats and cerveza. In other words, Hellboy is not only MY kind of superhero but my kind of guy, and in as historically crowded a slate of superhero movies as 2008 has provided (the cleverly topical Iron Man, the surprisingly smart Incredible Hulk, the initially amusing but ultimately muddled Hancock, and the undeniably inteklligent and well-made but--excuse me while I duck!--overblown, overbaked and overlong The Dark Knight) his movie is absolutely the best of the bunch. Much of the credit goes, of course, to ther unbridled visual imagination of Guillermo del Toro, who brought us the original Hellboy and the astounding Pan's Labyrinth; Hellboy II hits the groiund running by setting up its literal underground-rebellion story in the first few minutes with a remarkable wooden-puppet show, and it never lets up afterwards as del Toro's and his crew's incredible creature effects not only wonderfully blend the inevitable CGI with good old fashioned old school craftsmanship and hard work but leap over the arbitrary species/ genus/ phylum boundaries set in most special-effects movies; heroes, villains and in-betweens include plants and, in the instance of oner memorable character, gases (the individual fitting this classification certainly ACTS like a gaseous substance through most of the movie, too). None of this would matter all that much, of course, if we didn't love the characters (and actors): Perlman's son of Satan who's now fighting for our side (even if our side doesn't duly appreciate him) is appealingly tough-and-tender; he's Bogart with a crablike arm and lobsterlike complexion. His flame-prone girlfriend Liz is played by Selma Blair, a sardonic beauty whose charm is largely generated by the observation that SHE (wrongly) doesn't consider herself very attractive. Best of all is Doug Jones (the superb pantomimist who in Pan's Labyrinth brought a whole new meaning to the term "hand-eye coordination") as Hellboy's semiaquatic sidekick Abraham; in the first Hellboy, del Toro had David Hyde Pierce supply Jones' voice, and I don't know why--nothing against good old Niles Crane, but Jones demonstrates here that he's perfectly capable of speaking for himself. This movie really scores in areas where last year's Spider-Man 3 was only partially successful; it's both a terrific action movie AND romantic comedy-drama. Hellboy II is all about the wildly operatic (especially when liquor-fueled) feelings we have for those we're in love with, and the grand sacrifices we're willing to make. All this leads to the current leading contender for The Best Movie Scene of 2008, as classical buff Abraham and rock-loving Hellboy express their feelings for (and frustrations about) the women in their lives by downing a few brewskis and baying along to Barry Manilow's "Can't Smile Without You". (By the way, isn't it interesting that while nobody will admit to liking Manilow, scores of movies--e.g., Keeping the Faith, You Me & Dupree, Can't Hardly Wait, etc.--repeatedly play or reference his hits?) This endearing and extremely funny sequence encapsulates why Hellboy II, a popcorn movie that values characterization as much as action, is much of a keeper as it is; it may not be a film for all time, like Pan's Labyrinth, but it's certainly the perfect superhero movie for THIS time. Expand
  13. JamesB.
    Sep 5, 2008
    8
    This movie doesn't try to be anything else! It's fun and visually intensive!
  14. GavinM.
    Sep 5, 2008
    3
    I must say first I really enjoyed the first Hellboy Movie. It had a great story, was well written and acted and had a lot of facets to it not seen in any similar films. Hellboy 2 Golden Army is an unfocused diatribe of cheesy one liners and naive action sequences that are sparse, short and poorly executed. The so story is a watered down homage to Tolkein with no real reason or purpose. We I must say first I really enjoyed the first Hellboy Movie. It had a great story, was well written and acted and had a lot of facets to it not seen in any similar films. Hellboy 2 Golden Army is an unfocused diatribe of cheesy one liners and naive action sequences that are sparse, short and poorly executed. The so story is a watered down homage to Tolkein with no real reason or purpose. We are told that theres an ancient civilization who once in time fought man, was about to conquer mankind but didn't and then they cower beneath the Earth while mankind who lost the war reigns supreme? Its really just a visual spectacle boasting a mish mash of any amount of fairy tale creatures designers could come up with. And I am sorry to say the story in all its absurdity seemed to be just an after thought. I wish I could give this a better review as I really enjoyed the first Hellboy but I can't tell a lie...bring on T4. Expand
  15. SunilP.
    Oct 28, 2008
    2
    This movie completely a total laugh i don't get why people like it as well as they do (no offence), why did i not like this movie, because 1. In the first Hellboy you are only really given a few monsters he has fought and then suddenly we find out that there are loads of trolls about and a whole, totally different side of the world is shown to us in this movie 2. Professor Krauss is This movie completely a total laugh i don't get why people like it as well as they do (no offence), why did i not like this movie, because 1. In the first Hellboy you are only really given a few monsters he has fought and then suddenly we find out that there are loads of trolls about and a whole, totally different side of the world is shown to us in this movie 2. Professor Krauss is at first all mean to hellboy, bet then after that they are like best friends because of a unemotional sad scene when his family died 3. The movie was meant to be about the golden army, but it was more about Prince Nuadu vs Hellboy, they are only in one scene for like five minutes 4. How the prophet in the cave magically heals hellboy like a day after being stabbed, it was totally unreal and unthoughtful 5. The princess could have stopped Nuadu like way before by stabbing herself, but saving the world, she only decides to do that righ at the end 6. How Abe Sapien has a love life and suddenly wants o marry her and spend his life with her after a few hours of knowing her 7. if Prince Nuadu could have used the Elemental to kill everybody, when he could have blackmailed hids father to giving him the crown and the location of the golden army 8. It is not a tiny bit supicious when Professor Klauss becomes Hellboy Expand
  16. IanO.
    Jul 11, 2008
    8
    I tell you what I thought Iron Man was good Hellboy 2 is way better than Iron Man you need to see this; this is the 2nd best supier hereo movie of the year (2nd to Dark KNIGHT) you will love hellboys personality!!!
  17. EY.
    Jul 10, 2008
    6
    I found H2 to be rather disappointing. I feel Del Toro went a bit overboard with the effects and creatures. As a result, the story is much less believable and engaging than H1. And the voicing of Abe by Doug Jones was a real mistake. Also, Salma Blair was really quite wooden. A shame.
  18. equality7-2521
    Jul 12, 2008
    9
    Guillermo del Toro rules! he'll never top Pan's Labyrinth but I'd never expect him to (or anyone else for that matter). I love the original Hellboy,and love this one even more! I think Hellboy 3 will become a reality but it's going to be 5 years before del Toro gets to it... The Hobbit films will take up a minimum of 4 years to complete.
  19. HectorG.
    Jul 13, 2008
    10
    A very original take on the superhero genre. Del Toro once again raises the bar for this antihero with dark humour and very charismatic sidekicks. A must see for the summer, specially for the action flick lovers.
  20. BillC.
    Jul 13, 2008
    6
    There's lots of things to like about the film , but it seemed a bit long and was less than I expected.It's a better sequel than the Indiana Jones , but is that enough?
  21. UnclePappyWolf
    Jul 13, 2008
    10
    A beautiful movie.
  22. EverythingIAm
    Jul 14, 2008
    8
    I thought Hellboy 2 was a decent movie. The highlight of the movie is easily the character designs, but it had other decent aspects as well. The acting was okay, but where I think the movie is most weak is in the plot. At times the plot got a little random and it seemed like Del Toro wanted to end the movie, so it remained at a reasonable viewing time. The movie is no Pan's I thought Hellboy 2 was a decent movie. The highlight of the movie is easily the character designs, but it had other decent aspects as well. The acting was okay, but where I think the movie is most weak is in the plot. At times the plot got a little random and it seemed like Del Toro wanted to end the movie, so it remained at a reasonable viewing time. The movie is no Pan's Labyrinth, so don't go into it expecting that, but overall it was a decent summer movie. Oh, and I can't wait for The Hobbit. Expand
  23. RichardS.
    Jul 14, 2008
    6
    This had the potential to be a great movie, but they dumbed it down by making it a parody of "Men in Black" at the beginning. It just got worse. If I wanted to see some guy with a sword, I would have watched Jet Li. This movie needed a good monster for Hell Boy to fight, but they just got some lame Jar Jar binks thing for comedic relief.
  24. ChadS.
    Jul 15, 2008
    8
    "Hellboy II: The Golden Army" is one of the better comic book adap-..., but I digress. Is it just me, but doesn't Prince Nuada and Princess Nuada(Luke Goss and Anna Walton) remind you of Angelina Jolie and her brother? I thought to myself, the deal is cinched if the Prince gets really, really chummy with his sister, then bingo, in the blue man's library, Nuada caresses "Hellboy II: The Golden Army" is one of the better comic book adap-..., but I digress. Is it just me, but doesn't Prince Nuada and Princess Nuada(Luke Goss and Anna Walton) remind you of Angelina Jolie and her brother? I thought to myself, the deal is cinched if the Prince gets really, really chummy with his sister, then bingo, in the blue man's library, Nuada caresses Nuala's cheek as if there was a history between them. But I digress. Liz(Selma Blair) calls the red guy Red(Ron Perlman) because Hellboy sounds uncomfortably like a racial slur coming from the lips of the bigoted humans that these creatures encounter during their city patrols. Since Liz rechristened him, Red bears no connotation to the red guy's red skin. Red is a proper English name(i.e. Red Buttons, Red Skelton, heck, Redd Foxx, extra consonant notwithstanding), so the evocation of the color should be construed as being either ironical, or incidental, because Liz sees Red as a man, a good man, unlike the people they protect, who just see red. When the city denizens call him out in the streets, they're transforming hell, the place Hellboy hails from, into an expletive, as in "oh, hell!". But I digress. "Hellboy II: The Golden Army", more so than the three "X-Men" movies, calls into question the nature of these so-called superheroes. When Prince Nuada uses the h-word("holocaust"), without a shadow of a doubt, the filmmaker is suggesting that Hellboy and his cohorts are human collaborators. The real hero is the prince. He's fighting the good fight for his kind, against his kind's oppressors, us. One of Abraham's aliases is the Angel of Death(Josef Mengele, hello?), which makes him sound like a Nazi. So do you see what this film is getting at? But I digress. "Hellboy II: The Golden Army" is one of the better comic book adapations you're likely to see this, and the upcoming, summers. It's not just for fanboys. Expand
  25. michael
    Jul 15, 2008
    8
    Good movie. Fun and entertaining. Script not flawless. Danny Elfman is a bad ass.
  26. Jeff
    Jul 16, 2008
    6
    Focusing the movie on love stories was a little fishy.
  27. HellBoy
    Jul 17, 2008
    7
    I enjoyed the movie with every action scene bigger than the last, except for the final conflict with the golden army. I expected to see the entire army in action reeking havoc but only 10 or so actually get any action. It was like they spent all the money on previous scenes and couldn't afford the CGI required for the big throw down with the entire army. Other than that great time, I enjoyed the movie with every action scene bigger than the last, except for the final conflict with the golden army. I expected to see the entire army in action reeking havoc but only 10 or so actually get any action. It was like they spent all the money on previous scenes and couldn't afford the CGI required for the big throw down with the entire army. Other than that great time, great hellboy. Expand
  28. JJB
    Jul 17, 2008
    2
    This was the second worst "superhero" movie right behind Spiderman 3. The jokes were horrible, scene transition was poor and the overall plot had a good concept but lacked proper delivery. 6 people walked out of the theatre and I could hardly keep my eyes open. Nothing kept my attention. Portraying a kid Hellboy was a good idea, until he opened his mouth to speak, then you couldn't This was the second worst "superhero" movie right behind Spiderman 3. The jokes were horrible, scene transition was poor and the overall plot had a good concept but lacked proper delivery. 6 people walked out of the theatre and I could hardly keep my eyes open. Nothing kept my attention. Portraying a kid Hellboy was a good idea, until he opened his mouth to speak, then you couldn't wait for him to shut up. How the writers made a complete 180 degree spin on Hellboy is beyond me. Expand
  29. JohnnyG.
    Jul 18, 2008
    10
    This movie is not for everybody apparently, but it was definitely for me. I give it a 10, not because it is a masterpiece, but because it is close enough that I decided to be kind and round up instead of down. The thing that trips people about this movie I believe is that they don't know what to expect to take from the movie, even afterwards. Is it a comedy, is it a serious drama, is This movie is not for everybody apparently, but it was definitely for me. I give it a 10, not because it is a masterpiece, but because it is close enough that I decided to be kind and round up instead of down. The thing that trips people about this movie I believe is that they don't know what to expect to take from the movie, even afterwards. Is it a comedy, is it a serious drama, is it really a superhero flick? Is it Pan's Labrynth meets LOTR meets MIB? The truth is, it's a little bit of everything, which means everybody can take something from this film, as long as you can stand the main character being a red, beer-drinking, demon and his sidekick a clumsy, goofy, brainiac fish-man. Expand
  30. samc.
    Jul 20, 2008
    9
    Hellboy 2 was great. There were lots of cool action sequences, and some stunning (but sometimes bizarre) visuals. Hilarious at times and exciting at others, Hellboy 2 needs to be watched at least once. Plus, Selma Blair was pretty sexy in her panties...
  31. johnw
    Jul 20, 2008
    10
    Del Toro's great visuals and imagination makes it unforgettably entertaining.
  32. NickK.
    Aug 20, 2008
    2
    Painful viewing experience. The first movie wasn't very good but much easier to take than number II. The ending of the movie is thrown in your face about half way through and then when it actually happens you're still expected to be surprised by it. Hey, but the visual effects are great!
  33. DanaM.
    Aug 3, 2008
    6
    I must admit I was quite disappointed in this movie having been a huge fan of the first movie. I thought the plot delved in silliness, especially the drinking sequence, and the German robot/agent. Sorry, this movie did nothing for me. HellBoy 3 here we come.
  34. TanyaM
    Aug 5, 2008
    0
    Holy crap. What a flaming bag of dog doo. I thought this was supposed to be even mildly good. It ain't. So boring (effects included). And the comedic moments were absolutely painful.
  35. JayH.
    Nov 5, 2008
    7
    As with all of Guillermo Del Toro's films, it is visually incredible, that alone makes the film worth watching. It has the touches of humor like the original. Amazing special effects but they take precedence over character development. It's glossier and more shallow than the original, but still an amazing film.
  36. TonyO.
    Dec 4, 2008
    9
    For me, one of the most enjoyable films of the year. Lots of laughs, lots of weird monsters, lots of fun. Admittedly there was a little laboured pseudo-moral angst about the harsh lot of well-meaning monsters that defend mankind against eldritch forces or whatever, (Shock! Horror! The plebs just don't care about the love life and well being of aforesaid monsters). Thankfully the soul For me, one of the most enjoyable films of the year. Lots of laughs, lots of weird monsters, lots of fun. Admittedly there was a little laboured pseudo-moral angst about the harsh lot of well-meaning monsters that defend mankind against eldritch forces or whatever, (Shock! Horror! The plebs just don't care about the love life and well being of aforesaid monsters). Thankfully the soul searchingdoes not duplicate the whining of the last X-men movies. More Hellboy please. The franchise has Spiderman and Batman well and truly on the ropes, as far as I am concerned. Expand
  37. JessE.
    Jul 11, 2008
    9
    I enjoyed this movie so much I will be going back for a second viewing. Ron Perlman was once again charismatic and funny and the visuals and action set pieces were downright stunning. Everything is so good in this fun movie that is a must see for action film fans.
  38. TDKinDallas
    Jul 10, 2008
    8
    Hard to choose which one (Iron Man, Hulk, Hellboy and no I did not forget any) is better so far this summer, but Hellboy is a don't miss! The special effects, action and "guillermagination" are plentiful and amazing. The only thing I could have asked for was more of it. I hope the director's cut is about 30 minutes or more longer.
  39. AndrewR.
    Jul 10, 2008
    7
    A good movie. Maybe not liking it as much as I might, Maybe because of the hype.
  40. MichaelG.
    Jul 13, 2008
    1
    What a piece of crap! We walked out 40 minutes into the movie and actually demanded a refund from our theater. This is possibly the final reason to never go to a movie theater again. The makers of this film should be embarrassed.
  41. JacobK.
    Jul 13, 2008
    8
    I wanted to love this movie. Desperately I longed to embrace this as a movie I would forsake the Dark Knight to see. I am quietly relenting that sentiment. I adored the first Hellboy, however, this one seems to lack the personal touch that had Hellboy confronting the nature of his own existence. Hellboy 2 seems content to act as an entertaining, though sadly forgettable tale to keep the I wanted to love this movie. Desperately I longed to embrace this as a movie I would forsake the Dark Knight to see. I am quietly relenting that sentiment. I adored the first Hellboy, however, this one seems to lack the personal touch that had Hellboy confronting the nature of his own existence. Hellboy 2 seems content to act as an entertaining, though sadly forgettable tale to keep the crowds amused until Hellboy 3 can shake the mythos to it's core. that brings many good, even great things to the table. However, Hellboy 2 suffers from inappropriate characterization, and unnecessary scenes that hurt more than they help. The fight scenes are good, most of the dialog is fresh and endearing. A fine movie. I would place it above the Hulk, however it falls desperately short of Iron Man or (I'm guessing) The Dark Knight. Go in there with expectations too high, and you will inevitably leave dissatisfied. Go in there without a clue and you will be pleasantly surprised. either way this is a summer move that should not be missed. Expand
  42. ConcreteTester
    Jul 13, 2008
    8
    Better then the first. Well made. The costumes and story worked together. Defiinitely worth seeing in the theater.
  43. SteveG
    Jul 14, 2008
    8
    It is precisely Del Toro's not taking this material too seriously that makes this film entertaining. It is like a comic book, both visually and in content. And that's fun. This is not the Godfather, nor is it even Pan's Labyrinth, but the movie is fun to watch and a pleasant summer distraction.
  44. DonD
    Jul 14, 2008
    6
    It should have been called (Hellboy...a love story). The love story built into the film does not work and that slows the pace of the film to a halt. Why does he love Liz(you only see them on screen when there is a fight or when they argue) There is no heart in the love story. The film looks great, but it is all visual and little substance. The villain jumps around and talks about the It should have been called (Hellboy...a love story). The love story built into the film does not work and that slows the pace of the film to a halt. Why does he love Liz(you only see them on screen when there is a fight or when they argue) There is no heart in the love story. The film looks great, but it is all visual and little substance. The villain jumps around and talks about the Golden Army, but you know little about him except he can fight. The pace of the film is interesting. Can someone tell me why Liz hardly ever uses her powers...she is using a gun? Mmmmm...use your FLAME..the golden army is attacking...mmmmmm...use your FLAME.. This film would have been incredible if the director has put as much into the script and story as he had into the visuals...Hellboy is...well...a boy. Expand
  45. JohnE.
    Jul 15, 2008
    10
    A fantastic film. Very satisfying, and does not try to be anything other than what it is. An action packed summer film with really cool special effects and creatures. Tired of all of you negetive people out there. You try making a movie then try to critise something like this
  46. AndrewO.
    Jul 15, 2008
    10
    Great humor, awesome effects, amazing movie.
  47. HarlanK.
    Jul 16, 2008
    1
    I really have no respect for critics anymore. How they can give good ratings to a movie with horrifically bad plot and continually cringe inducing dialogue is beyond me. Aren't plot and dialogue essential elements to a good movie? Given some of the ratings this visually good looking but completely stupid and boring movie has recieved, I guess not.
  48. ChadS
    Jul 17, 2008
    10
    I utterly cannot believe how many negative reviews there have been for this film. I don't know if people have come to expect every movie del toro comes out with to be oscar worthy or what, but Hellboy 2 does everything it should do right. First of all lets realize that this is a summer comic book movie. To re-emphasize that, it is a summer comic book movie. With that being said, i I utterly cannot believe how many negative reviews there have been for this film. I don't know if people have come to expect every movie del toro comes out with to be oscar worthy or what, but Hellboy 2 does everything it should do right. First of all lets realize that this is a summer comic book movie. To re-emphasize that, it is a summer comic book movie. With that being said, i expected to laugh, see tons of action, and have great visual effects, Hellboy 2 delivers on all accounts. Sure the storyline is basically just dude wants to take over world and hellboy has to save them and del toro doesnt dive into horrendous amounts of back story to tell you why everything is happening, but seriously why would you want that from a summer comic book movie. Give me a break. The action is great, the comedy had the entire, and i repeat, entire audience laughing, and trust me the movie looked extremely good. Hellboy 2 is the best comic book movie i have seen by far. Collapse
  49. JohnT.
    Jul 17, 2008
    2
    This one had great visuals and fight sequences, but the story was absolutely painful to endure. Horrible acting mixed with a haphazard script leads to one that I hope you avoid.
  50. BarbaraA.
    Jul 18, 2008
    8
    The first movie set up such great expectations that just weren't totally fulfilled as is often the fate of sequels. Still Hellboy is great super hero in a not so great time, providing a good escape of everday life.
  51. RafaelL.
    Jul 18, 2008
    10
    In this movie we can see other kind of hero. He want to be a human like us and be accepted, he has to fight versus his ideas but also versus villains. Del Toro made axcellent movie.
  52. TrajanL
    Jul 21, 2008
    7
    It was an ok movie. a few too many story lines which slowed things down. and the comic relief wasn't particularly comical or necessary.
  53. MikeK.
    Jul 23, 2008
    1
    I love how the bad guy in the movie could and should have been easily killed off in the second scene of the movie. Far too many plot holes and boring storyline. My friends and I actually fell asleep for part of the movie. The only reason this actually doesn't get a 0 is the scene where they get drunk as that was funny. But the rest of the movie was just dull. I hope Del Toro I love how the bad guy in the movie could and should have been easily killed off in the second scene of the movie. Far too many plot holes and boring storyline. My friends and I actually fell asleep for part of the movie. The only reason this actually doesn't get a 0 is the scene where they get drunk as that was funny. But the rest of the movie was just dull. I hope Del Toro doesn't do the same thing to the Hobbit. Expand
  54. boogerboy
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    Opening sequence is amazing. Really fun movie.
  55. G.D.
    Jul 26, 2008
    5
    Yeah, it was great to finally have Mike Mignola get the screen credit(s) he deserved, and as always, Guillermo Del Toro provides the most breathtaking visual effects (tho original response to the first 30 seconds of peeking at them in the trailer elicited a "hey, this looks like Pan's Labryinth" response from me)...it was waaaayyyy too predictable for anyone who's been paying Yeah, it was great to finally have Mike Mignola get the screen credit(s) he deserved, and as always, Guillermo Del Toro provides the most breathtaking visual effects (tho original response to the first 30 seconds of peeking at them in the trailer elicited a "hey, this looks like Pan's Labryinth" response from me)...it was waaaayyyy too predictable for anyone who's been paying attention (my sister's boyfriend treated us to opening day tix, tho he never saw the first "Hellboy", didn't seem to miss a thing), and when they introduce the German um, agent, his accent struck me as eerily similar to that of that weird goldfish in that asinine "American Dad" cartoon - lo and behold he was listed in the credits as voiced by flippin' Seth MacFarlane! Let's see, for some reason the Prince kept making me think of Tom Cruise (then when i found out it was Luke Goss, 1/2 of the 80's duo BROS, well...); the Princess was very Calista Flockhart with a movie accent; still am not convinced that Selma Blair was the best choice for Liz Sherman; they wasted the Genius of Jeffrey Tambor with a pretty much disposable part; don't even get me started on the Hellboy "kid" with his weak voice (the story goes as the discovered youngin', his vocal chords had to adapt from a growl, so his voice was much deeper in his youth!); and speaking of voices I know the credits claim Doug Jones is Abe Sapien in both films, but his voice sounds so much different in this one!...truly, there was loads of style in the sequel, but it lacked the more satisfying substance of the original movie. Already long story short, the final word is the "Golden Army" was released by the behemoth Universal, whilst the first "Hellboy" was a Revolution Studios (read: "independent") film. Expand
  56. SteveF.
    Jul 8, 2008
    8
    Director Guillermo Del Toro makes Hellboy II a must-see movie with the heft of his epic, mythic vision. Furthermore, his direction and creativity are such that he turns what would have been a standard, wondrous fantasy world into one that seems everyday in nature, and thus more sublime. Best art direction and visual effects so far this year. The first Hellboy movie was cartoonish, and was Director Guillermo Del Toro makes Hellboy II a must-see movie with the heft of his epic, mythic vision. Furthermore, his direction and creativity are such that he turns what would have been a standard, wondrous fantasy world into one that seems everyday in nature, and thus more sublime. Best art direction and visual effects so far this year. The first Hellboy movie was cartoonish, and was fun and enjoyable mostly due to the curmudgeonly movie namesake. The sequel contains the same fun and some predictable and standard Hollywood shtick and humor, which is handled with class and persuasiveness. In the end, with what would normally have been a standard fantasy story, our star storyteller, Del Toro, sweeps the movie-goer into his mythic world. Expand
  57. NickB
    Aug 15, 2008
    10
    Most satisfying surrealistic action fantasy movie I've ever seen, and noticeably better than the first Hellboy. I may have watched Dark Knight and thought, "here is a film which transcends its genre", but with Hellboy 2 I saw a film that had mastered its own genre, and made it fun, as well.
  58. Vezar
    Aug 17, 2008
    10
    Tsk, tsk! You can't recognize greatness when is front you, because you are so closed minded, this is one of the best fantasy movies ever, and a true work of art.
  59. ChrisK
    Aug 22, 2008
    2
    Good visuals. Nearly everything else to do with the plot was contrived, and obvious. If you didn't see the ending coming within the first scene i'm sorry, you've failed miserably. There are just so many plot holes... if you sit back and think for one second it becomes a huge joke. Oh and the 'reason'... did she just swap one word and rip the Neo/Trinity speech at Good visuals. Nearly everything else to do with the plot was contrived, and obvious. If you didn't see the ending coming within the first scene i'm sorry, you've failed miserably. There are just so many plot holes... if you sit back and think for one second it becomes a huge joke. Oh and the 'reason'... did she just swap one word and rip the Neo/Trinity speech at the end of The Matrix? The action is passable, but largely boring (and goes with the Underworld Evolution approach of 'aah, so they are immune to bullets.... what shall i do..... fire more bullets'... It's not even funny. Equallying Crystal Skull in sheer rubbishness. I nearly fell asleep a few times, and i almost left. You could only make this film worse by giving Lucas some control, and even then he'd only add some stupid small animals and some extra sound effects for no good reason at all. Expand
  60. Nick
    Aug 31, 2008
    8
    Loved it - much more so than the first film. I found it frequently beautiful and moving, enjoyed all the performances. My only qualm is that the 2nd movement before the finale needed some tightening up... it slowed down just a little too much for my liking. All in all though I thought it was great.
  61. TK
    Aug 4, 2008
    5
    Too Long - could have better shorter - script for Jeffrey Tambor was lame and poorly acted.
  62. GabeN.
    Aug 7, 2008
    2
    This movie is bad bordering on the incompetent. I was a fan of the first movie, even with all its flaws, and had high expectations for the sequel. The fear set in almost immediately with the scene between a young Hellboy and Professor Bruttenholm IJohn Hurt banking a paycheck). This was not Hellboy as a kid - this was Guillermo del Toro lazily and incomprehensibly grafting a pointless This movie is bad bordering on the incompetent. I was a fan of the first movie, even with all its flaws, and had high expectations for the sequel. The fear set in almost immediately with the scene between a young Hellboy and Professor Bruttenholm IJohn Hurt banking a paycheck). This was not Hellboy as a kid - this was Guillermo del Toro lazily and incomprehensibly grafting a pointless backstory onto the film. It was downhill from there. Hellboy has gone from a flawed hero to a mildly repulsive loser. Individual scenes fall apart with no sense of significance or consequence (e.g. killing the elemental is done purely to let loose the set designers even though emotionally it's completely disconnected from the narrative). And all the praise the art direction and creature design has received in completely undeserved. Taking a monster from the Star Wars cantina scene and putting a house on top of its head is not design, it's self-indulgence. Just like fight scenes, good monster design has to tell you something about the world, the characters, or the story, and not just be an excuse for more latex costumes composed of pieces selected by a random number generator. B--23! A monster with wings and bananas. C-17! A siamese twin with a mouth where its belly button goes. This was a badly written, ill conceived film that comes across as a director indulging his worst tendencies. It makes me worried for The Hobbit. Expand
  63. Trevor
    Sep 26, 2008
    9
    Ron Perlman reprises his role as Hellboy in this much anticipated sequel to the first film. This time the red devil finds himself fighting against the golden army, which is this mystical force capable of destroying the world. Writer/Director Guilermo Del Toro crafted himself a visually arresting film full of wierd looking creatures and environments. Yet again I found myself delved into Ron Perlman reprises his role as Hellboy in this much anticipated sequel to the first film. This time the red devil finds himself fighting against the golden army, which is this mystical force capable of destroying the world. Writer/Director Guilermo Del Toro crafted himself a visually arresting film full of wierd looking creatures and environments. Yet again I found myself delved into the well made storyline and awesome visual effects. Selma Blair and Doug Jones reprise their roles as Hellboy's sidekicks and both add on to the good storyline. I was impressed with Del toro's work on this film and surely do hope he delivers with The Hobbit. I highly recommend you see this film when it hits DVD or Blu Ray. Expand
  64. HundenM.
    Sep 8, 2008
    0
    Oh my god, this was THE WORST MOVIE I have ever seen. Pain, pain and suffering, nothing else. I wish I had left the cinema after few first minutes. They tried to put scifi and fantasy together and the result was a disaster! Stay away from this crap and save your soul!
  65. MattA.
    Jan 10, 2009
    8
    I heard mixed things about Hellboy II upon going into it. I love Guillermo del Toro's visual style, and knew i wouldn't be disappointed with that. The story, however, i found to be very interesting. I love the ancient lore that surrounds the series. The characters were all interesting and fun to have around. It took itself seriously, but not too seriously. I thoroughly enjoyed I heard mixed things about Hellboy II upon going into it. I love Guillermo del Toro's visual style, and knew i wouldn't be disappointed with that. The story, however, i found to be very interesting. I love the ancient lore that surrounds the series. The characters were all interesting and fun to have around. It took itself seriously, but not too seriously. I thoroughly enjoyed it, and had a good time. Not perfect, but great non-the less. Expand
  66. AlexG.
    Nov 1, 2009
    8
    Very solid sequel, with good humor along the way. Solid pacing and tongue-in-cheek action sequences. Pretty entertaining film overall, with a few plot holes and too many story lines to feel so involved as the only weakness to the film. I love the misfit type vibe from the central characters.
  67. HelpU
    Jul 19, 2009
    1
    Wow this movie is break through... I mean I actually fell asleep, I didn't care what happened in the movie so much.
  68. AronJ.
    Dec 1, 2008
    8
    I don't necessarily like the editing of this movie, but honestly its easy to get passed, the movie is written well, acting is good, the plot is fun, and the action is good.
  69. MikeR.
    Dec 11, 2008
    6
    Diverting, but pretty middling.
  70. GeorgeN.
    Jul 12, 2008
    0
    I just got back from Hellboy. I was excited to see this movie as the first one was okay and Metacritic rated it so highly. I am so angry that I wasted 2 hours of my life watching one of the stupidest movies every made. There was no character development, the characters made decisions that were completely random and by the middle I didn't care if the "golden army" rose up and killed I just got back from Hellboy. I was excited to see this movie as the first one was okay and Metacritic rated it so highly. I am so angry that I wasted 2 hours of my life watching one of the stupidest movies every made. There was no character development, the characters made decisions that were completely random and by the middle I didn't care if the "golden army" rose up and killed everyone in the world. I forced myself to stay seated but was in agony the entire time. Hellboy's character was annoying but not nearly as aggravating as the plot. I would rather have a root-canal than see that again. I would get more out of watching 2 hours of sesame street. However, if you have only a 2nd grade education or lower you'll probably love it. This movie ruined my night. Expand
  71. JohnP.
    Jul 12, 2008
    2
    I don't understand why everyond is giving this movie top scores. The character designs are definitely cool, but those are taken from the comics! The plot does not make any sense, especially towards the end where random characters shows up at specific places just to keep the story going. Character development is a joke and most of the main cast's reactions to their surroundings I don't understand why everyond is giving this movie top scores. The character designs are definitely cool, but those are taken from the comics! The plot does not make any sense, especially towards the end where random characters shows up at specific places just to keep the story going. Character development is a joke and most of the main cast's reactions to their surroundings and to each other felt incredibly contrived, inconsistent and forced at times. There were some funny moments in the middle when the film sort of stops taking itself so seriously but overall the film felt absolutely robotic. Expand
  72. DonnaT.
    Jul 12, 2008
    9
    I loved it. Can't wait to see Hellboy 3.
  73. AlP.
    Jul 12, 2008
    9
    A very enjoyable movie expanding the charactor developement from the previous Hellboy. I loved the addition of Johann Krauss and his interaction with Hellboy and rest of the gang.
  74. StephenC.
    Jul 13, 2008
    9
    I loved it. A perfect mix of Comedy and Non-stop action! What a year for Superhero movies! A must see.
  75. RCM
    Jul 13, 2008
    8
    Beautiful film. As a spectacle, Hellboy 2 is one the most creative comic adaptations ever produced. Del Toro's imagination in fantasy stuff rings out with great intensity. The performances are dead on and there are many fine comedy beats sprinkled in the otherwise formulaic screenplay. Overall, definitely worth seeing!
  76. BrianM.
    Jul 13, 2008
    10
    The most creative movie of the year.
  77. PaulC
    Jul 13, 2008
    6
    A visual treat. Better than Hellboy 1, though I didn't much care for Hellboy 1.
  78. [Anonymous]
    Jul 13, 2008
    9
    "Hellboy II is retread and blase, boring and all-too familiar. Del Toro is sloughing through a look which he has been rehashing for a number of years, cribbing from one film to the next. What is most fatal to Hellboy II is the lack of any seriousness." You telling me giant self repairing magic coins ain't serious?
  79. Justin
    Jul 13, 2008
    6
    I get that Del Toro is a visual guy and the visuals were great but everything else was just stock. The boring and rather pointless relationship troubles, the complete lack of necessary action sequences that a sequel to a action packed movie should have, and the horrible ending are what really make me hate this movie. This isn't the worst sequel movie I've ever seen but I could I get that Del Toro is a visual guy and the visuals were great but everything else was just stock. The boring and rather pointless relationship troubles, the complete lack of necessary action sequences that a sequel to a action packed movie should have, and the horrible ending are what really make me hate this movie. This isn't the worst sequel movie I've ever seen but I could have been a whole fucking lot better. Expand
  80. KerryM.
    Jul 14, 2008
    6
    Loved the special effects and look of the film, but the storyline was a little too LOTR for me and Selma Blair cannot act.
  81. JulieZ.
    Jul 14, 2008
    5
    Quite tedious, as well as a hodge-podge of tired and previously seen special effects mainstays. The only redeeming aspect is the prince and his sword-fighting skill and choreography.
  82. hollyc
    Jul 17, 2008
    7
    As others have said--this is a fun film--lots of eye candy--but don't pay too close attention to the plot/story/LOTR-clone-mythos as it's definitely lacking in that dept. In fact, what makes all that forgivable is that the director doesn't seem to take it too serious either (you could say Hellboy himself doesn't take it too seriously). And I agree with others, Selma As others have said--this is a fun film--lots of eye candy--but don't pay too close attention to the plot/story/LOTR-clone-mythos as it's definitely lacking in that dept. In fact, what makes all that forgivable is that the director doesn't seem to take it too serious either (you could say Hellboy himself doesn't take it too seriously). And I agree with others, Selma Blair --both her character and her acting are placeholders here--barely an effort made. hopefully next time (if there is a next time) they'll invest a lot more money into a much better script. Expand
  83. SamuelJ
    Jul 19, 2008
    5
    Yes the movie has very visionary and creative aspects, yes some of the acting is pretty good, and yes it did bring a bit of fun humor into a pretty serious series, but this movie has got to be the most boring, poorly written piece of trash ever conceived by man. And the "comedy" is completely over used and over-the-top (I swear I was half-expecting Abe Sapien to throw a freakin pie).
  84. JackF.
    Jul 25, 2008
    1
    One of the worst movies of the year. I completely fail to see why this got any praise whatsoever.
  85. iRK
    Jul 31, 2008
    5
    If there is one thing Del Toro cannot do it's humor. The humor was so campy in this film I felt awkward and embarrassed. The Barry Manilow "beer" song was unbelievably stupid. It works in comic book form, but not on the big screen. I liked Wink, but we needed some more action with him. The rest of the action scenes like fighting the giant elemental was, again, campy at best and very If there is one thing Del Toro cannot do it's humor. The humor was so campy in this film I felt awkward and embarrassed. The Barry Manilow "beer" song was unbelievably stupid. It works in comic book form, but not on the big screen. I liked Wink, but we needed some more action with him. The rest of the action scenes like fighting the giant elemental was, again, campy at best and very disappointing. Like Lucas, Del Toro needs quite a few lessons in how to make comedy, or better yet, just leave it to those who know how to do it, and stick with Pan's Labyrinth. Expand
  86. JordanR.
    Aug 19, 2008
    6
    Fairly well done, Del Toro's visual extravaganza goes slightly over board though. It feels like some points we are just watching the stuff Del Toro dreams about. The Humor is fairly dry but gets a chuckle.
  87. KP
    Aug 25, 2009
    6
    I held out on watching the Hellboy movies due to my intuition. But the critics rated them so high I finally watched both films. I enjoyed the 1st much more than the 2nd. Both are well crafted. But HB2 just had too many "cheesy" joke moments. It really broke the flow for me. Shocked it was rated better than the 1st film. But critics are rarely correct so there ya go. ps-I, like user "Help I held out on watching the Hellboy movies due to my intuition. But the critics rated them so high I finally watched both films. I enjoyed the 1st much more than the 2nd. Both are well crafted. But HB2 just had too many "cheesy" joke moments. It really broke the flow for me. Shocked it was rated better than the 1st film. But critics are rarely correct so there ya go. ps-I, like user "Help U" fell asleep at the end too... and I never fall asleep during movies. Expand
  88. Mike
    Nov 23, 2008
    7
    Very enjoyable, a lot better then the first hellboy. A movie not to be taken seriously. It dragged a little in the beginning. But overall a good movie.
  89. Dec 7, 2010
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the book is the best. if you seen the first episode you will like the second episode. You can read it :
    konyv-konyvek.hu/index.php?q=hellboy_2_ordogot_a_falra
    Expand
  90. May 6, 2011
    10
    This epic action fantasy is stunning to behold. Del Toro has sneakily crafted the Star Wars of fantasy, filled to the brim with delightfully imaginative eye candy, cool creatures, and plenty of action and humor. I consider this film a work of artistic genius, superior even to the first Hellboy, which was an amazing work in its own right. Anyone who wants to know what heights movies areThis epic action fantasy is stunning to behold. Del Toro has sneakily crafted the Star Wars of fantasy, filled to the brim with delightfully imaginative eye candy, cool creatures, and plenty of action and humor. I consider this film a work of artistic genius, superior even to the first Hellboy, which was an amazing work in its own right. Anyone who wants to know what heights movies are really capable of should see this immediately. Expand
  91. Sep 30, 2011
    9
    Hellboy II doesn't just better its predecessor, it buries it. Guillermo Del Toro proves why it's better for everyone if he's left to do his own thing. The first Hellboy was extremely competent, but far from inspiring. Fresh from completing his dark fantasy masterpiece Pan's Labyrinth, Del Toro manages to inject the big red ape's second outing with some much needed energy and imagination.Hellboy II doesn't just better its predecessor, it buries it. Guillermo Del Toro proves why it's better for everyone if he's left to do his own thing. The first Hellboy was extremely competent, but far from inspiring. Fresh from completing his dark fantasy masterpiece Pan's Labyrinth, Del Toro manages to inject the big red ape's second outing with some much needed energy and imagination. You'll never see another superhero film like this. It's a superhero film filled with such well-developed weird and wonderful characters who actually have something to say about you and I. It's got plenty of big set pieces, but does not fall into the trap most summer blockbusters do - it never becomes dominated by action, it's always about character. It's well-acted (particularly Luke Goss playing a sympathetic and complex villain and Seth MacFarlane and Jeffrey Tambor providing the comic relief), visually stunning (with nods to Pan) and emotionally heartfelt. It's not about a big red guy beating up fairies and trolls. Like all of Del Toro's work, its about people (whether black, white, blue or red) and relationships. Like Hellboy himself, it may look a little strange on the outside, but at the core it's a complex beast with nothing but good intentions. Expand
  92. Jul 19, 2011
    7
    I belive the movie was a C-. It wasn't as bad as i thought it would be but i was grossed out quiet a bit. there where some key elements like action, romance, awesome effects and a exciting ending. Over all its a fairly good movie but i've seen better.
  93. Aug 25, 2014
    6
    I liked the elves; they were elegant, dark, tragic, and not to mention wicked looking.

    The fight scenes of the movie were beautiful to watch (much thanks to Prince Nuada, well portrayed by Luke Goss), but there's something else a good film needs to be better than average. To me, Hellboy II had little to offer on that department. The story was a bit weak. There was a great idea, yes,
    I liked the elves; they were elegant, dark, tragic, and not to mention wicked looking.

    The fight scenes of the movie were beautiful to watch (much thanks to Prince Nuada, well portrayed by Luke Goss), but there's something else a good film needs to be better than average. To me, Hellboy II had little to offer on that department.

    The story was a bit weak. There was a great idea, yes, but the execution to turn it into something visually and emotionally stunning lacked a lot.

    Also, what I recall from Hellboy's first part is that the Red fellow himself is a mean one with an attitude (a bit like X-Men's Wolverine). In this sequel, it was as if no proof was needed if that attitude and its existence. There were amusing glimpses, but that was about it. They took a bit too much for granted.

    An entertaining movie, but it left no lasting, positive effect whatsoever.
    Expand
  94. Jan 26, 2012
    7
    What I liked about this film was that it looked a lot better then the first film, The CGI sequences blend perfectly with the film. The acting was solid but I did not like Luke Goss and Anna Walton as leads (they played the prince and princess). The plot was decent but a little too generic as well but del Toro adds a few personal moments for his characters and it makes the film that muchWhat I liked about this film was that it looked a lot better then the first film, The CGI sequences blend perfectly with the film. The acting was solid but I did not like Luke Goss and Anna Walton as leads (they played the prince and princess). The plot was decent but a little too generic as well but del Toro adds a few personal moments for his characters and it makes the film that much better. Its an improved sequel better then the first film. Expand
  95. May 26, 2012
    7
    Think of Hellboy II as Star Wars mixed with Hell. Yet, in a good way. Guillermo Del Toroâ
  96. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    The better movie out of the 2 Hellboy 2 the golden army feels so much more Hellboy then the first film, even though i'm not entirely sure how its plot is related to the comic books, I found Hellboy 2 to be another great film that just felt so amazing and beautiful with great characters, great humor and Amazing action 10/10
  97. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    Despite a dismally doom-laden plot, Del Toro's utterly breathtaking visuals and charm send this sequel soaring into the right direction.
  98. Jan 14, 2015
    5
    Watched it recently on BD. Slightly better than the predecessor but not by much. Average in every aspect. Mediocre story, can't say I liked the visuals.
  99. Jun 1, 2013
    7
    With the upcoming release of his next action film: Pacific Rim, I decided to take it upon myself and watch some his movies (Guillermo Del toro). I already watched a few of his work already and liked them; Hellboy and Pans labyrinth, and finally I watched this one. I was surely satisfied with what I got and I can safely say it's better than the last one. Not like Batman begins to DarkWith the upcoming release of his next action film: Pacific Rim, I decided to take it upon myself and watch some his movies (Guillermo Del toro). I already watched a few of his work already and liked them; Hellboy and Pans labyrinth, and finally I watched this one. I was surely satisfied with what I got and I can safely say it's better than the last one. Not like Batman begins to Dark knight, no, just that this one has some improvements. We have most of the main cast returning, Hellboy himself is sill likeable; giving that tough dude attitude with a gentle heart. The fish man who gives a C3PO performance is funny at times, and it's nice how they try to dive into both of their lives a bit. Hellboy is having some relationship problems, and the fish man is discovering love for the first time. By far my favorite part of the film was the introduction to the ectoplasm doctor. He's so ridiculous looking, but is conveyed as both a bad ass, and a stone cold leader. The story does sound a bit familiar from the last movie, in the fact that there's an ancient evil, but here it's an ancient evil requiring an ancient power. I guess the other problem; if you can call it that, was that the plot was explained real early. It was described in a story that was being told to the main character, but if I think about, it sounds like an in joke. The action is okay. I would say the best fight is with the plant god, the sheer size of it makes (the fight) makes things more epic. Although I do think that the fights can be a bit sloppy, mainly the one with hellboy and Winx, it's too slow. Overall, this is a certainly entertaining film, and I am glad I got it on Blu-ray. Expand
  100. Aug 5, 2013
    7
    Fueled with tons of imagination, creative costume designs and an emotion filled storyline, Golden Army is a sequel that works on many levels, whether it's the story or impressive designs.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. With writer-director del Toro given free license to go where his singular vision takes him, Hellboy II plays like Guillermo's Greatest Hits with even hotter visual effects.
  2. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    90
    Not to disparage the f/x guys, but what's onscreen in Hellboy II is all about the seismic eruptions in del Toro's head. Comparing his work to most fantasy cinema is like comparing cave drawings to the Cathedral of Cologne.
  3. The best scene is when Hellboy and Abe get drunk and sing out raucously, which after "Hancock" suggests a trend toward superhero alcoholism.