User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 276 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 276
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 29, 2011
    7
    "Hellboy 2: The Golden Army" is a prominent improvement of "Hellboy". With the obviously beautiful visuals, director Del Toro proceeds to actually contribute deeper into the plot and characters, resulting in one exhilarating film. A reasonable must-watch.
  2. Sep 15, 2014
    10
    A masterpiece of creativity. It is an amazing world that Del Toro created in this movie. The characters are fitting and the villain is not only well done but you can also fell his tortured soul and corrupted noble intentions. The plot is also off from simple good vs evil or black vs white. Both sides are grey with good intentions and flaws. It is a must watch movie and far better than theA masterpiece of creativity. It is an amazing world that Del Toro created in this movie. The characters are fitting and the villain is not only well done but you can also fell his tortured soul and corrupted noble intentions. The plot is also off from simple good vs evil or black vs white. Both sides are grey with good intentions and flaws. It is a must watch movie and far better than the first one. Expand
  3. ColinC
    Aug 2, 2008
    8
    Good summer fun. Not as enjoyable as Iron Man for my money, but still, visually a treat and the story is respectable. If you liked the first Hellboy, I'd imagine you'd like this one too. A good theater movie.
  4. PaulK.
    Jul 12, 2008
    9
    If you enjoyed the first one, you'll like this. Lots of action, crazy creatures and one menacing elf prince.
  5. MoisheM.
    Jul 13, 2008
    10
    It's like the best parts of Men In Black,Lord of the Rings,Farscape, a Hong Kong wire work actioner,and a Tim Burton movie all rolled into one.
  6. MarkB.
    Aug 1, 2008
    8
    Hellboy (Ron Perlman) distrusts authority, is notably short-tempered at times, on other occasions is unduly worried about what people think of him, and he loves cigars, candy, cats and cerveza. In other words, Hellboy is not only MY kind of superhero but my kind of guy, and in as historically crowded a slate of superhero movies as 2008 has provided (the cleverly topical Iron Man, the Hellboy (Ron Perlman) distrusts authority, is notably short-tempered at times, on other occasions is unduly worried about what people think of him, and he loves cigars, candy, cats and cerveza. In other words, Hellboy is not only MY kind of superhero but my kind of guy, and in as historically crowded a slate of superhero movies as 2008 has provided (the cleverly topical Iron Man, the surprisingly smart Incredible Hulk, the initially amusing but ultimately muddled Hancock, and the undeniably inteklligent and well-made but--excuse me while I duck!--overblown, overbaked and overlong The Dark Knight) his movie is absolutely the best of the bunch. Much of the credit goes, of course, to ther unbridled visual imagination of Guillermo del Toro, who brought us the original Hellboy and the astounding Pan's Labyrinth; Hellboy II hits the groiund running by setting up its literal underground-rebellion story in the first few minutes with a remarkable wooden-puppet show, and it never lets up afterwards as del Toro's and his crew's incredible creature effects not only wonderfully blend the inevitable CGI with good old fashioned old school craftsmanship and hard work but leap over the arbitrary species/ genus/ phylum boundaries set in most special-effects movies; heroes, villains and in-betweens include plants and, in the instance of oner memorable character, gases (the individual fitting this classification certainly ACTS like a gaseous substance through most of the movie, too). None of this would matter all that much, of course, if we didn't love the characters (and actors): Perlman's son of Satan who's now fighting for our side (even if our side doesn't duly appreciate him) is appealingly tough-and-tender; he's Bogart with a crablike arm and lobsterlike complexion. His flame-prone girlfriend Liz is played by Selma Blair, a sardonic beauty whose charm is largely generated by the observation that SHE (wrongly) doesn't consider herself very attractive. Best of all is Doug Jones (the superb pantomimist who in Pan's Labyrinth brought a whole new meaning to the term "hand-eye coordination") as Hellboy's semiaquatic sidekick Abraham; in the first Hellboy, del Toro had David Hyde Pierce supply Jones' voice, and I don't know why--nothing against good old Niles Crane, but Jones demonstrates here that he's perfectly capable of speaking for himself. This movie really scores in areas where last year's Spider-Man 3 was only partially successful; it's both a terrific action movie AND romantic comedy-drama. Hellboy II is all about the wildly operatic (especially when liquor-fueled) feelings we have for those we're in love with, and the grand sacrifices we're willing to make. All this leads to the current leading contender for The Best Movie Scene of 2008, as classical buff Abraham and rock-loving Hellboy express their feelings for (and frustrations about) the women in their lives by downing a few brewskis and baying along to Barry Manilow's "Can't Smile Without You". (By the way, isn't it interesting that while nobody will admit to liking Manilow, scores of movies--e.g., Keeping the Faith, You Me & Dupree, Can't Hardly Wait, etc.--repeatedly play or reference his hits?) This endearing and extremely funny sequence encapsulates why Hellboy II, a popcorn movie that values characterization as much as action, is much of a keeper as it is; it may not be a film for all time, like Pan's Labyrinth, but it's certainly the perfect superhero movie for THIS time. Expand
  7. JamesB.
    Sep 5, 2008
    8
    This movie doesn't try to be anything else! It's fun and visually intensive!
  8. IanO.
    Jul 11, 2008
    8
    I tell you what I thought Iron Man was good Hellboy 2 is way better than Iron Man you need to see this; this is the 2nd best supier hereo movie of the year (2nd to Dark KNIGHT) you will love hellboys personality!!!
  9. equality7-2521
    Jul 12, 2008
    9
    Guillermo del Toro rules! he'll never top Pan's Labyrinth but I'd never expect him to (or anyone else for that matter). I love the original Hellboy,and love this one even more! I think Hellboy 3 will become a reality but it's going to be 5 years before del Toro gets to it... The Hobbit films will take up a minimum of 4 years to complete.
  10. HectorG.
    Jul 13, 2008
    10
    A very original take on the superhero genre. Del Toro once again raises the bar for this antihero with dark humour and very charismatic sidekicks. A must see for the summer, specially for the action flick lovers.
  11. UnclePappyWolf
    Jul 13, 2008
    10
    A beautiful movie.
  12. EverythingIAm
    Jul 14, 2008
    8
    I thought Hellboy 2 was a decent movie. The highlight of the movie is easily the character designs, but it had other decent aspects as well. The acting was okay, but where I think the movie is most weak is in the plot. At times the plot got a little random and it seemed like Del Toro wanted to end the movie, so it remained at a reasonable viewing time. The movie is no Pan's I thought Hellboy 2 was a decent movie. The highlight of the movie is easily the character designs, but it had other decent aspects as well. The acting was okay, but where I think the movie is most weak is in the plot. At times the plot got a little random and it seemed like Del Toro wanted to end the movie, so it remained at a reasonable viewing time. The movie is no Pan's Labyrinth, so don't go into it expecting that, but overall it was a decent summer movie. Oh, and I can't wait for The Hobbit. Expand
  13. ChadS.
    Jul 15, 2008
    8
    "Hellboy II: The Golden Army" is one of the better comic book adap-..., but I digress. Is it just me, but doesn't Prince Nuada and Princess Nuada(Luke Goss and Anna Walton) remind you of Angelina Jolie and her brother? I thought to myself, the deal is cinched if the Prince gets really, really chummy with his sister, then bingo, in the blue man's library, Nuada caresses "Hellboy II: The Golden Army" is one of the better comic book adap-..., but I digress. Is it just me, but doesn't Prince Nuada and Princess Nuada(Luke Goss and Anna Walton) remind you of Angelina Jolie and her brother? I thought to myself, the deal is cinched if the Prince gets really, really chummy with his sister, then bingo, in the blue man's library, Nuada caresses Nuala's cheek as if there was a history between them. But I digress. Liz(Selma Blair) calls the red guy Red(Ron Perlman) because Hellboy sounds uncomfortably like a racial slur coming from the lips of the bigoted humans that these creatures encounter during their city patrols. Since Liz rechristened him, Red bears no connotation to the red guy's red skin. Red is a proper English name(i.e. Red Buttons, Red Skelton, heck, Redd Foxx, extra consonant notwithstanding), so the evocation of the color should be construed as being either ironical, or incidental, because Liz sees Red as a man, a good man, unlike the people they protect, who just see red. When the city denizens call him out in the streets, they're transforming hell, the place Hellboy hails from, into an expletive, as in "oh, hell!". But I digress. "Hellboy II: The Golden Army", more so than the three "X-Men" movies, calls into question the nature of these so-called superheroes. When Prince Nuada uses the h-word("holocaust"), without a shadow of a doubt, the filmmaker is suggesting that Hellboy and his cohorts are human collaborators. The real hero is the prince. He's fighting the good fight for his kind, against his kind's oppressors, us. One of Abraham's aliases is the Angel of Death(Josef Mengele, hello?), which makes him sound like a Nazi. So do you see what this film is getting at? But I digress. "Hellboy II: The Golden Army" is one of the better comic book adapations you're likely to see this, and the upcoming, summers. It's not just for fanboys. Expand
  14. michael
    Jul 15, 2008
    8
    Good movie. Fun and entertaining. Script not flawless. Danny Elfman is a bad ass.
  15. HellBoy
    Jul 17, 2008
    7
    I enjoyed the movie with every action scene bigger than the last, except for the final conflict with the golden army. I expected to see the entire army in action reeking havoc but only 10 or so actually get any action. It was like they spent all the money on previous scenes and couldn't afford the CGI required for the big throw down with the entire army. Other than that great time, I enjoyed the movie with every action scene bigger than the last, except for the final conflict with the golden army. I expected to see the entire army in action reeking havoc but only 10 or so actually get any action. It was like they spent all the money on previous scenes and couldn't afford the CGI required for the big throw down with the entire army. Other than that great time, great hellboy. Expand
  16. JohnnyG.
    Jul 18, 2008
    10
    This movie is not for everybody apparently, but it was definitely for me. I give it a 10, not because it is a masterpiece, but because it is close enough that I decided to be kind and round up instead of down. The thing that trips people about this movie I believe is that they don't know what to expect to take from the movie, even afterwards. Is it a comedy, is it a serious drama, is This movie is not for everybody apparently, but it was definitely for me. I give it a 10, not because it is a masterpiece, but because it is close enough that I decided to be kind and round up instead of down. The thing that trips people about this movie I believe is that they don't know what to expect to take from the movie, even afterwards. Is it a comedy, is it a serious drama, is it really a superhero flick? Is it Pan's Labrynth meets LOTR meets MIB? The truth is, it's a little bit of everything, which means everybody can take something from this film, as long as you can stand the main character being a red, beer-drinking, demon and his sidekick a clumsy, goofy, brainiac fish-man. Expand
  17. samc.
    Jul 20, 2008
    9
    Hellboy 2 was great. There were lots of cool action sequences, and some stunning (but sometimes bizarre) visuals. Hilarious at times and exciting at others, Hellboy 2 needs to be watched at least once. Plus, Selma Blair was pretty sexy in her panties...
  18. johnw
    Jul 20, 2008
    10
    Del Toro's great visuals and imagination makes it unforgettably entertaining.
  19. JayH.
    Nov 5, 2008
    7
    As with all of Guillermo Del Toro's films, it is visually incredible, that alone makes the film worth watching. It has the touches of humor like the original. Amazing special effects but they take precedence over character development. It's glossier and more shallow than the original, but still an amazing film.
  20. TonyO.
    Dec 4, 2008
    9
    For me, one of the most enjoyable films of the year. Lots of laughs, lots of weird monsters, lots of fun. Admittedly there was a little laboured pseudo-moral angst about the harsh lot of well-meaning monsters that defend mankind against eldritch forces or whatever, (Shock! Horror! The plebs just don't care about the love life and well being of aforesaid monsters). Thankfully the soul For me, one of the most enjoyable films of the year. Lots of laughs, lots of weird monsters, lots of fun. Admittedly there was a little laboured pseudo-moral angst about the harsh lot of well-meaning monsters that defend mankind against eldritch forces or whatever, (Shock! Horror! The plebs just don't care about the love life and well being of aforesaid monsters). Thankfully the soul searchingdoes not duplicate the whining of the last X-men movies. More Hellboy please. The franchise has Spiderman and Batman well and truly on the ropes, as far as I am concerned. Expand
  21. JessE.
    Jul 11, 2008
    9
    I enjoyed this movie so much I will be going back for a second viewing. Ron Perlman was once again charismatic and funny and the visuals and action set pieces were downright stunning. Everything is so good in this fun movie that is a must see for action film fans.
  22. TDKinDallas
    Jul 10, 2008
    8
    Hard to choose which one (Iron Man, Hulk, Hellboy and no I did not forget any) is better so far this summer, but Hellboy is a don't miss! The special effects, action and "guillermagination" are plentiful and amazing. The only thing I could have asked for was more of it. I hope the director's cut is about 30 minutes or more longer.
  23. AndrewR.
    Jul 10, 2008
    7
    A good movie. Maybe not liking it as much as I might, Maybe because of the hype.
  24. JacobK.
    Jul 13, 2008
    8
    I wanted to love this movie. Desperately I longed to embrace this as a movie I would forsake the Dark Knight to see. I am quietly relenting that sentiment. I adored the first Hellboy, however, this one seems to lack the personal touch that had Hellboy confronting the nature of his own existence. Hellboy 2 seems content to act as an entertaining, though sadly forgettable tale to keep the I wanted to love this movie. Desperately I longed to embrace this as a movie I would forsake the Dark Knight to see. I am quietly relenting that sentiment. I adored the first Hellboy, however, this one seems to lack the personal touch that had Hellboy confronting the nature of his own existence. Hellboy 2 seems content to act as an entertaining, though sadly forgettable tale to keep the crowds amused until Hellboy 3 can shake the mythos to it's core. that brings many good, even great things to the table. However, Hellboy 2 suffers from inappropriate characterization, and unnecessary scenes that hurt more than they help. The fight scenes are good, most of the dialog is fresh and endearing. A fine movie. I would place it above the Hulk, however it falls desperately short of Iron Man or (I'm guessing) The Dark Knight. Go in there with expectations too high, and you will inevitably leave dissatisfied. Go in there without a clue and you will be pleasantly surprised. either way this is a summer move that should not be missed. Expand
  25. ConcreteTester
    Jul 13, 2008
    8
    Better then the first. Well made. The costumes and story worked together. Defiinitely worth seeing in the theater.
  26. SteveG
    Jul 14, 2008
    8
    It is precisely Del Toro's not taking this material too seriously that makes this film entertaining. It is like a comic book, both visually and in content. And that's fun. This is not the Godfather, nor is it even Pan's Labyrinth, but the movie is fun to watch and a pleasant summer distraction.
  27. JohnE.
    Jul 15, 2008
    10
    A fantastic film. Very satisfying, and does not try to be anything other than what it is. An action packed summer film with really cool special effects and creatures. Tired of all of you negetive people out there. You try making a movie then try to critise something like this
  28. AndrewO.
    Jul 15, 2008
    10
    Great humor, awesome effects, amazing movie.
  29. ChadS
    Jul 17, 2008
    10
    I utterly cannot believe how many negative reviews there have been for this film. I don't know if people have come to expect every movie del toro comes out with to be oscar worthy or what, but Hellboy 2 does everything it should do right. First of all lets realize that this is a summer comic book movie. To re-emphasize that, it is a summer comic book movie. With that being said, i I utterly cannot believe how many negative reviews there have been for this film. I don't know if people have come to expect every movie del toro comes out with to be oscar worthy or what, but Hellboy 2 does everything it should do right. First of all lets realize that this is a summer comic book movie. To re-emphasize that, it is a summer comic book movie. With that being said, i expected to laugh, see tons of action, and have great visual effects, Hellboy 2 delivers on all accounts. Sure the storyline is basically just dude wants to take over world and hellboy has to save them and del toro doesnt dive into horrendous amounts of back story to tell you why everything is happening, but seriously why would you want that from a summer comic book movie. Give me a break. The action is great, the comedy had the entire, and i repeat, entire audience laughing, and trust me the movie looked extremely good. Hellboy 2 is the best comic book movie i have seen by far. Expand
  30. BarbaraA.
    Jul 18, 2008
    8
    The first movie set up such great expectations that just weren't totally fulfilled as is often the fate of sequels. Still Hellboy is great super hero in a not so great time, providing a good escape of everday life.
  31. RafaelL.
    Jul 18, 2008
    10
    In this movie we can see other kind of hero. He want to be a human like us and be accepted, he has to fight versus his ideas but also versus villains. Del Toro made axcellent movie.
  32. TrajanL
    Jul 21, 2008
    7
    It was an ok movie. a few too many story lines which slowed things down. and the comic relief wasn't particularly comical or necessary.
  33. boogerboy
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    Opening sequence is amazing. Really fun movie.
  34. SteveF.
    Jul 8, 2008
    8
    Director Guillermo Del Toro makes Hellboy II a must-see movie with the heft of his epic, mythic vision. Furthermore, his direction and creativity are such that he turns what would have been a standard, wondrous fantasy world into one that seems everyday in nature, and thus more sublime. Best art direction and visual effects so far this year. The first Hellboy movie was cartoonish, and was Director Guillermo Del Toro makes Hellboy II a must-see movie with the heft of his epic, mythic vision. Furthermore, his direction and creativity are such that he turns what would have been a standard, wondrous fantasy world into one that seems everyday in nature, and thus more sublime. Best art direction and visual effects so far this year. The first Hellboy movie was cartoonish, and was fun and enjoyable mostly due to the curmudgeonly movie namesake. The sequel contains the same fun and some predictable and standard Hollywood shtick and humor, which is handled with class and persuasiveness. In the end, with what would normally have been a standard fantasy story, our star storyteller, Del Toro, sweeps the movie-goer into his mythic world. Expand
  35. NickB
    Aug 15, 2008
    10
    Most satisfying surrealistic action fantasy movie I've ever seen, and noticeably better than the first Hellboy. I may have watched Dark Knight and thought, "here is a film which transcends its genre", but with Hellboy 2 I saw a film that had mastered its own genre, and made it fun, as well.
  36. Vezar
    Aug 17, 2008
    10
    Tsk, tsk! You can't recognize greatness when is front you, because you are so closed minded, this is one of the best fantasy movies ever, and a true work of art.
  37. Nick
    Aug 31, 2008
    8
    Loved it - much more so than the first film. I found it frequently beautiful and moving, enjoyed all the performances. My only qualm is that the 2nd movement before the finale needed some tightening up... it slowed down just a little too much for my liking. All in all though I thought it was great.
  38. Trevor
    Sep 26, 2008
    9
    Ron Perlman reprises his role as Hellboy in this much anticipated sequel to the first film. This time the red devil finds himself fighting against the golden army, which is this mystical force capable of destroying the world. Writer/Director Guilermo Del Toro crafted himself a visually arresting film full of wierd looking creatures and environments. Yet again I found myself delved into Ron Perlman reprises his role as Hellboy in this much anticipated sequel to the first film. This time the red devil finds himself fighting against the golden army, which is this mystical force capable of destroying the world. Writer/Director Guilermo Del Toro crafted himself a visually arresting film full of wierd looking creatures and environments. Yet again I found myself delved into the well made storyline and awesome visual effects. Selma Blair and Doug Jones reprise their roles as Hellboy's sidekicks and both add on to the good storyline. I was impressed with Del toro's work on this film and surely do hope he delivers with The Hobbit. I highly recommend you see this film when it hits DVD or Blu Ray. Expand
  39. MattA.
    Jan 10, 2009
    8
    I heard mixed things about Hellboy II upon going into it. I love Guillermo del Toro's visual style, and knew i wouldn't be disappointed with that. The story, however, i found to be very interesting. I love the ancient lore that surrounds the series. The characters were all interesting and fun to have around. It took itself seriously, but not too seriously. I thoroughly enjoyed I heard mixed things about Hellboy II upon going into it. I love Guillermo del Toro's visual style, and knew i wouldn't be disappointed with that. The story, however, i found to be very interesting. I love the ancient lore that surrounds the series. The characters were all interesting and fun to have around. It took itself seriously, but not too seriously. I thoroughly enjoyed it, and had a good time. Not perfect, but great non-the less. Expand
  40. AlexG.
    Nov 1, 2009
    8
    Very solid sequel, with good humor along the way. Solid pacing and tongue-in-cheek action sequences. Pretty entertaining film overall, with a few plot holes and too many story lines to feel so involved as the only weakness to the film. I love the misfit type vibe from the central characters.
  41. AronJ.
    Dec 1, 2008
    8
    I don't necessarily like the editing of this movie, but honestly its easy to get passed, the movie is written well, acting is good, the plot is fun, and the action is good.
  42. DonnaT.
    Jul 12, 2008
    9
    I loved it. Can't wait to see Hellboy 3.
  43. AlP.
    Jul 12, 2008
    9
    A very enjoyable movie expanding the charactor developement from the previous Hellboy. I loved the addition of Johann Krauss and his interaction with Hellboy and rest of the gang.
  44. StephenC.
    Jul 13, 2008
    9
    I loved it. A perfect mix of Comedy and Non-stop action! What a year for Superhero movies! A must see.
  45. RCM
    Jul 13, 2008
    8
    Beautiful film. As a spectacle, Hellboy 2 is one the most creative comic adaptations ever produced. Del Toro's imagination in fantasy stuff rings out with great intensity. The performances are dead on and there are many fine comedy beats sprinkled in the otherwise formulaic screenplay. Overall, definitely worth seeing!
  46. BrianM.
    Jul 13, 2008
    10
    The most creative movie of the year.
  47. [Anonymous]
    Jul 13, 2008
    9
    "Hellboy II is retread and blase, boring and all-too familiar. Del Toro is sloughing through a look which he has been rehashing for a number of years, cribbing from one film to the next. What is most fatal to Hellboy II is the lack of any seriousness." You telling me giant self repairing magic coins ain't serious?
  48. hollyc
    Jul 17, 2008
    7
    As others have said--this is a fun film--lots of eye candy--but don't pay too close attention to the plot/story/LOTR-clone-mythos as it's definitely lacking in that dept. In fact, what makes all that forgivable is that the director doesn't seem to take it too serious either (you could say Hellboy himself doesn't take it too seriously). And I agree with others, Selma As others have said--this is a fun film--lots of eye candy--but don't pay too close attention to the plot/story/LOTR-clone-mythos as it's definitely lacking in that dept. In fact, what makes all that forgivable is that the director doesn't seem to take it too serious either (you could say Hellboy himself doesn't take it too seriously). And I agree with others, Selma Blair --both her character and her acting are placeholders here--barely an effort made. hopefully next time (if there is a next time) they'll invest a lot more money into a much better script. Expand
  49. Mike
    Nov 23, 2008
    7
    Very enjoyable, a lot better then the first hellboy. A movie not to be taken seriously. It dragged a little in the beginning. But overall a good movie.
  50. May 6, 2011
    10
    This epic action fantasy is stunning to behold. Del Toro has sneakily crafted the Star Wars of fantasy, filled to the brim with delightfully imaginative eye candy, cool creatures, and plenty of action and humor. I consider this film a work of artistic genius, superior even to the first Hellboy, which was an amazing work in its own right. Anyone who wants to know what heights movies areThis epic action fantasy is stunning to behold. Del Toro has sneakily crafted the Star Wars of fantasy, filled to the brim with delightfully imaginative eye candy, cool creatures, and plenty of action and humor. I consider this film a work of artistic genius, superior even to the first Hellboy, which was an amazing work in its own right. Anyone who wants to know what heights movies are really capable of should see this immediately. Expand
  51. Sep 30, 2011
    9
    Hellboy II doesn't just better its predecessor, it buries it. Guillermo Del Toro proves why it's better for everyone if he's left to do his own thing. The first Hellboy was extremely competent, but far from inspiring. Fresh from completing his dark fantasy masterpiece Pan's Labyrinth, Del Toro manages to inject the big red ape's second outing with some much needed energy and imagination.Hellboy II doesn't just better its predecessor, it buries it. Guillermo Del Toro proves why it's better for everyone if he's left to do his own thing. The first Hellboy was extremely competent, but far from inspiring. Fresh from completing his dark fantasy masterpiece Pan's Labyrinth, Del Toro manages to inject the big red ape's second outing with some much needed energy and imagination. You'll never see another superhero film like this. It's a superhero film filled with such well-developed weird and wonderful characters who actually have something to say about you and I. It's got plenty of big set pieces, but does not fall into the trap most summer blockbusters do - it never becomes dominated by action, it's always about character. It's well-acted (particularly Luke Goss playing a sympathetic and complex villain and Seth MacFarlane and Jeffrey Tambor providing the comic relief), visually stunning (with nods to Pan) and emotionally heartfelt. It's not about a big red guy beating up fairies and trolls. Like all of Del Toro's work, its about people (whether black, white, blue or red) and relationships. Like Hellboy himself, it may look a little strange on the outside, but at the core it's a complex beast with nothing but good intentions. Expand
  52. Jul 19, 2011
    7
    I belive the movie was a C-. It wasn't as bad as i thought it would be but i was grossed out quiet a bit. there where some key elements like action, romance, awesome effects and a exciting ending. Over all its a fairly good movie but i've seen better.
  53. Jan 26, 2012
    7
    What I liked about this film was that it looked a lot better then the first film, The CGI sequences blend perfectly with the film. The acting was solid but I did not like Luke Goss and Anna Walton as leads (they played the prince and princess). The plot was decent but a little too generic as well but del Toro adds a few personal moments for his characters and it makes the film that muchWhat I liked about this film was that it looked a lot better then the first film, The CGI sequences blend perfectly with the film. The acting was solid but I did not like Luke Goss and Anna Walton as leads (they played the prince and princess). The plot was decent but a little too generic as well but del Toro adds a few personal moments for his characters and it makes the film that much better. Its an improved sequel better then the first film. Expand
  54. May 26, 2012
    7
    Think of Hellboy II as Star Wars mixed with Hell. Yet, in a good way. Guillermo Del Toroâ
  55. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    The better movie out of the 2 Hellboy 2 the golden army feels so much more Hellboy then the first film, even though i'm not entirely sure how its plot is related to the comic books, I found Hellboy 2 to be another great film that just felt so amazing and beautiful with great characters, great humor and Amazing action 10/10
  56. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    Despite a dismally doom-laden plot, Del Toro's utterly breathtaking visuals and charm send this sequel soaring into the right direction.
  57. Jun 1, 2013
    7
    With the upcoming release of his next action film: Pacific Rim, I decided to take it upon myself and watch some his movies (Guillermo Del toro). I already watched a few of his work already and liked them; Hellboy and Pans labyrinth, and finally I watched this one. I was surely satisfied with what I got and I can safely say it's better than the last one. Not like Batman begins to DarkWith the upcoming release of his next action film: Pacific Rim, I decided to take it upon myself and watch some his movies (Guillermo Del toro). I already watched a few of his work already and liked them; Hellboy and Pans labyrinth, and finally I watched this one. I was surely satisfied with what I got and I can safely say it's better than the last one. Not like Batman begins to Dark knight, no, just that this one has some improvements. We have most of the main cast returning, Hellboy himself is sill likeable; giving that tough dude attitude with a gentle heart. The fish man who gives a C3PO performance is funny at times, and it's nice how they try to dive into both of their lives a bit. Hellboy is having some relationship problems, and the fish man is discovering love for the first time. By far my favorite part of the film was the introduction to the ectoplasm doctor. He's so ridiculous looking, but is conveyed as both a bad ass, and a stone cold leader. The story does sound a bit familiar from the last movie, in the fact that there's an ancient evil, but here it's an ancient evil requiring an ancient power. I guess the other problem; if you can call it that, was that the plot was explained real early. It was described in a story that was being told to the main character, but if I think about, it sounds like an in joke. The action is okay. I would say the best fight is with the plant god, the sheer size of it makes (the fight) makes things more epic. Although I do think that the fights can be a bit sloppy, mainly the one with hellboy and Winx, it's too slow. Overall, this is a certainly entertaining film, and I am glad I got it on Blu-ray. Expand
  58. Aug 5, 2013
    7
    Fueled with tons of imagination, creative costume designs and an emotion filled storyline, Golden Army is a sequel that works on many levels, whether it's the story or impressive designs.
  59. Nov 13, 2013
    7
    A solid sequel to the already good picture. The Golden Army digs deeper into the characters backgrounds and enchants audiences in great action and a good storyline.
  60. Mar 28, 2015
    8
    Guillermo del Toro's sequel to his 2004 comic-book-success is humorous, exciting and majestic as it explores a whole different realm of the Dark-Horse-adaptation. Ron Perlman once again gives a smart and distinct performance with laughable dialogue and action all around.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. With writer-director del Toro given free license to go where his singular vision takes him, Hellboy II plays like Guillermo's Greatest Hits with even hotter visual effects.
  2. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    90
    Not to disparage the f/x guys, but what's onscreen in Hellboy II is all about the seismic eruptions in del Toro's head. Comparing his work to most fantasy cinema is like comparing cave drawings to the Cathedral of Cologne.
  3. The best scene is when Hellboy and Abe get drunk and sing out raucously, which after "Hancock" suggests a trend toward superhero alcoholism.