User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 269 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 269
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 27, 2012
    4
    I have to say this movie was very undone, and I feel as if there was no effort. The pace of the movie doesn't build up at all, its just random event after random event. There is like no sense in this, love plots are crowbarred in, and the end it doesn't even matter, the ending didn't even seem like the ending and when it came I was surprised. The humor isn't that great and there happens toI have to say this movie was very undone, and I feel as if there was no effort. The pace of the movie doesn't build up at all, its just random event after random event. There is like no sense in this, love plots are crowbarred in, and the end it doesn't even matter, the ending didn't even seem like the ending and when it came I was surprised. The humor isn't that great and there happens to be a character in this named Dr. Krauss who Hellboy hates for like the first half of the movie but then suddenly become best pals when Hellboy needs a cure. which just happens to be in the same place that the main villain is. Convenience. However, the movie does have good visuals, and the scene where Hellboy and Abe get drunk was funny, but honestly this movie is really bad. I don't give it a red score mostly because of Visuals . Collapse
  2. Dec 7, 2010
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the book is the best. if you seen the first episode you will like the second episode. You can read it :
    konyv-konyvek.hu/index.php?q=hellboy_2_ordogot_a_falra
    Expand
  3. HelpU
    Jul 19, 2009
    1
    Wow this movie is break through... I mean I actually fell asleep, I didn't care what happened in the movie so much.
  4. SunilP.
    Oct 28, 2008
    2
    This movie completely a total laugh i don't get why people like it as well as they do (no offence), why did i not like this movie, because 1. In the first Hellboy you are only really given a few monsters he has fought and then suddenly we find out that there are loads of trolls about and a whole, totally different side of the world is shown to us in this movie 2. Professor Krauss is This movie completely a total laugh i don't get why people like it as well as they do (no offence), why did i not like this movie, because 1. In the first Hellboy you are only really given a few monsters he has fought and then suddenly we find out that there are loads of trolls about and a whole, totally different side of the world is shown to us in this movie 2. Professor Krauss is at first all mean to hellboy, bet then after that they are like best friends because of a unemotional sad scene when his family died 3. The movie was meant to be about the golden army, but it was more about Prince Nuadu vs Hellboy, they are only in one scene for like five minutes 4. How the prophet in the cave magically heals hellboy like a day after being stabbed, it was totally unreal and unthoughtful 5. The princess could have stopped Nuadu like way before by stabbing herself, but saving the world, she only decides to do that righ at the end 6. How Abe Sapien has a love life and suddenly wants o marry her and spend his life with her after a few hours of knowing her 7. if Prince Nuadu could have used the Elemental to kill everybody, when he could have blackmailed hids father to giving him the crown and the location of the golden army 8. It is not a tiny bit supicious when Professor Klauss becomes Hellboy Expand
  5. Dan
    Sep 14, 2008
    3
    Apart from the visuals which were quite impressive as we've come to expect from Guillermo's films, this movie was a real let-down. The CGI was, for the most part, impressive and the design, make-up,and props etc. were great. I found some of the sets a bit dull and uninspired though. The action was adequate, exciting in places, but nowhere near as fast paced or exhilarating as Apart from the visuals which were quite impressive as we've come to expect from Guillermo's films, this movie was a real let-down. The CGI was, for the most part, impressive and the design, make-up,and props etc. were great. I found some of the sets a bit dull and uninspired though. The action was adequate, exciting in places, but nowhere near as fast paced or exhilarating as many other films of the genre. Now on to the really bad stuff. I found most of the performances by the actors in the film to be fairly flat, even Ron Pearlman's. The muffled, sometimes barely audible dialogue was so cheesy and juvenile it was almost unbearable (apart from a few mildly amusing one-liners). The heartfelt moments in the film felt so contrived, I felt no connection with the characters whatsoever and really found myself cringing with embarrassment throughout many scenes. The movie had no real structure but was really just a bunch of scenes strung together and badly at that. I thought many of the scenes were also quite pointless and had gaping plot holes. Also, considering the plot of the film, I found it lacking any real moments of drama, or any grand, awe-inspiring set-pieces. Overall, a visually engaging but two dimensional film that will probably fail to touch audiences on any real emotional level which is what a great, even good movie should hope to do. Expand
  6. HundenM.
    Sep 8, 2008
    0
    Oh my god, this was THE WORST MOVIE I have ever seen. Pain, pain and suffering, nothing else. I wish I had left the cinema after few first minutes. They tried to put scifi and fantasy together and the result was a disaster! Stay away from this crap and save your soul!
  7. GavinM.
    Sep 5, 2008
    3
    I must say first I really enjoyed the first Hellboy Movie. It had a great story, was well written and acted and had a lot of facets to it not seen in any similar films. Hellboy 2 Golden Army is an unfocused diatribe of cheesy one liners and naive action sequences that are sparse, short and poorly executed. The so story is a watered down homage to Tolkein with no real reason or purpose. We I must say first I really enjoyed the first Hellboy Movie. It had a great story, was well written and acted and had a lot of facets to it not seen in any similar films. Hellboy 2 Golden Army is an unfocused diatribe of cheesy one liners and naive action sequences that are sparse, short and poorly executed. The so story is a watered down homage to Tolkein with no real reason or purpose. We are told that theres an ancient civilization who once in time fought man, was about to conquer mankind but didn't and then they cower beneath the Earth while mankind who lost the war reigns supreme? Its really just a visual spectacle boasting a mish mash of any amount of fairy tale creatures designers could come up with. And I am sorry to say the story in all its absurdity seemed to be just an after thought. I wish I could give this a better review as I really enjoyed the first Hellboy but I can't tell a lie...bring on T4. Expand
  8. ChrisK
    Aug 22, 2008
    2
    Good visuals. Nearly everything else to do with the plot was contrived, and obvious. If you didn't see the ending coming within the first scene i'm sorry, you've failed miserably. There are just so many plot holes... if you sit back and think for one second it becomes a huge joke. Oh and the 'reason'... did she just swap one word and rip the Neo/Trinity speech at Good visuals. Nearly everything else to do with the plot was contrived, and obvious. If you didn't see the ending coming within the first scene i'm sorry, you've failed miserably. There are just so many plot holes... if you sit back and think for one second it becomes a huge joke. Oh and the 'reason'... did she just swap one word and rip the Neo/Trinity speech at the end of The Matrix? The action is passable, but largely boring (and goes with the Underworld Evolution approach of 'aah, so they are immune to bullets.... what shall i do..... fire more bullets'... It's not even funny. Equallying Crystal Skull in sheer rubbishness. I nearly fell asleep a few times, and i almost left. You could only make this film worse by giving Lucas some control, and even then he'd only add some stupid small animals and some extra sound effects for no good reason at all. Expand
  9. NickK.
    Aug 20, 2008
    2
    Painful viewing experience. The first movie wasn't very good but much easier to take than number II. The ending of the movie is thrown in your face about half way through and then when it actually happens you're still expected to be surprised by it. Hey, but the visual effects are great!
  10. GabeN.
    Aug 7, 2008
    2
    This movie is bad bordering on the incompetent. I was a fan of the first movie, even with all its flaws, and had high expectations for the sequel. The fear set in almost immediately with the scene between a young Hellboy and Professor Bruttenholm IJohn Hurt banking a paycheck). This was not Hellboy as a kid - this was Guillermo del Toro lazily and incomprehensibly grafting a pointless This movie is bad bordering on the incompetent. I was a fan of the first movie, even with all its flaws, and had high expectations for the sequel. The fear set in almost immediately with the scene between a young Hellboy and Professor Bruttenholm IJohn Hurt banking a paycheck). This was not Hellboy as a kid - this was Guillermo del Toro lazily and incomprehensibly grafting a pointless backstory onto the film. It was downhill from there. Hellboy has gone from a flawed hero to a mildly repulsive loser. Individual scenes fall apart with no sense of significance or consequence (e.g. killing the elemental is done purely to let loose the set designers even though emotionally it's completely disconnected from the narrative). And all the praise the art direction and creature design has received in completely undeserved. Taking a monster from the Star Wars cantina scene and putting a house on top of its head is not design, it's self-indulgence. Just like fight scenes, good monster design has to tell you something about the world, the characters, or the story, and not just be an excuse for more latex costumes composed of pieces selected by a random number generator. B--23! A monster with wings and bananas. C-17! A siamese twin with a mouth where its belly button goes. This was a badly written, ill conceived film that comes across as a director indulging his worst tendencies. It makes me worried for The Hobbit. Expand
  11. TanyaM
    Aug 5, 2008
    0
    Holy crap. What a flaming bag of dog doo. I thought this was supposed to be even mildly good. It ain't. So boring (effects included). And the comedic moments were absolutely painful.
  12. JackF.
    Jul 25, 2008
    1
    One of the worst movies of the year. I completely fail to see why this got any praise whatsoever.
  13. MikeK.
    Jul 23, 2008
    1
    I love how the bad guy in the movie could and should have been easily killed off in the second scene of the movie. Far too many plot holes and boring storyline. My friends and I actually fell asleep for part of the movie. The only reason this actually doesn't get a 0 is the scene where they get drunk as that was funny. But the rest of the movie was just dull. I hope Del Toro I love how the bad guy in the movie could and should have been easily killed off in the second scene of the movie. Far too many plot holes and boring storyline. My friends and I actually fell asleep for part of the movie. The only reason this actually doesn't get a 0 is the scene where they get drunk as that was funny. But the rest of the movie was just dull. I hope Del Toro doesn't do the same thing to the Hobbit. Expand
  14. JohnT.
    Jul 17, 2008
    2
    This one had great visuals and fight sequences, but the story was absolutely painful to endure. Horrible acting mixed with a haphazard script leads to one that I hope you avoid.
  15. JJB
    Jul 17, 2008
    2
    This was the second worst "superhero" movie right behind Spiderman 3. The jokes were horrible, scene transition was poor and the overall plot had a good concept but lacked proper delivery. 6 people walked out of the theatre and I could hardly keep my eyes open. Nothing kept my attention. Portraying a kid Hellboy was a good idea, until he opened his mouth to speak, then you couldn't This was the second worst "superhero" movie right behind Spiderman 3. The jokes were horrible, scene transition was poor and the overall plot had a good concept but lacked proper delivery. 6 people walked out of the theatre and I could hardly keep my eyes open. Nothing kept my attention. Portraying a kid Hellboy was a good idea, until he opened his mouth to speak, then you couldn't wait for him to shut up. How the writers made a complete 180 degree spin on Hellboy is beyond me. Expand
  16. HarlanK.
    Jul 16, 2008
    1
    I really have no respect for critics anymore. How they can give good ratings to a movie with horrifically bad plot and continually cringe inducing dialogue is beyond me. Aren't plot and dialogue essential elements to a good movie? Given some of the ratings this visually good looking but completely stupid and boring movie has recieved, I guess not.
  17. JeffD.
    Jul 14, 2008
    0
    i hated it. the visuals were nice, but the story lacked a lot, and the transitions from event to event were horrible at best. the jokes were bad, the puns were sickening, the wit was anything but clever. Hellboy II strives for that satisfactory "epic quest" feel, but misses by miles, and merely achieves the status of "clusterf*ck." do yourself a favor and buy the comic book; you'll i hated it. the visuals were nice, but the story lacked a lot, and the transitions from event to event were horrible at best. the jokes were bad, the puns were sickening, the wit was anything but clever. Hellboy II strives for that satisfactory "epic quest" feel, but misses by miles, and merely achieves the status of "clusterf*ck." do yourself a favor and buy the comic book; you'll get more bang for your buck. and what the hell was up with that opening scene? GAH! Expand
  18. MichaelG.
    Jul 13, 2008
    1
    What a piece of crap! We walked out 40 minutes into the movie and actually demanded a refund from our theater. This is possibly the final reason to never go to a movie theater again. The makers of this film should be embarrassed.
  19. Syzygy
    Jul 13, 2008
    4
    In the wake of his magnificent Pan's Labyrinth, critics have draped Del Toro with the cloak of a faultless auteur who we have to appreciate to be worthy of our intellectual vanities. Hellboy II is retread and blase, boring and all-too familiar. Del Toro is sloughing through a look which he has been rehashing for a number of years, cribbing from one film to the next. What is most In the wake of his magnificent Pan's Labyrinth, critics have draped Del Toro with the cloak of a faultless auteur who we have to appreciate to be worthy of our intellectual vanities. Hellboy II is retread and blase, boring and all-too familiar. Del Toro is sloughing through a look which he has been rehashing for a number of years, cribbing from one film to the next. What is most fatal to Hellboy II is the lack of any seriousness. Del Toro has his characters wallowing in lazy repartee and throwaway interactions so that they wont interfere with his first love, which - surprise, surrpise, - is his CGI-rendered fantasy universe. Expand
  20. JohnP.
    Jul 12, 2008
    2
    I don't understand why everyond is giving this movie top scores. The character designs are definitely cool, but those are taken from the comics! The plot does not make any sense, especially towards the end where random characters shows up at specific places just to keep the story going. Character development is a joke and most of the main cast's reactions to their surroundings I don't understand why everyond is giving this movie top scores. The character designs are definitely cool, but those are taken from the comics! The plot does not make any sense, especially towards the end where random characters shows up at specific places just to keep the story going. Character development is a joke and most of the main cast's reactions to their surroundings and to each other felt incredibly contrived, inconsistent and forced at times. There were some funny moments in the middle when the film sort of stops taking itself so seriously but overall the film felt absolutely robotic. Expand
  21. GeorgeN.
    Jul 12, 2008
    0
    I just got back from Hellboy. I was excited to see this movie as the first one was okay and Metacritic rated it so highly. I am so angry that I wasted 2 hours of my life watching one of the stupidest movies every made. There was no character development, the characters made decisions that were completely random and by the middle I didn't care if the "golden army" rose up and killed I just got back from Hellboy. I was excited to see this movie as the first one was okay and Metacritic rated it so highly. I am so angry that I wasted 2 hours of my life watching one of the stupidest movies every made. There was no character development, the characters made decisions that were completely random and by the middle I didn't care if the "golden army" rose up and killed everyone in the world. I forced myself to stay seated but was in agony the entire time. Hellboy's character was annoying but not nearly as aggravating as the plot. I would rather have a root-canal than see that again. I would get more out of watching 2 hours of sesame street. However, if you have only a 2nd grade education or lower you'll probably love it. This movie ruined my night. Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. With writer-director del Toro given free license to go where his singular vision takes him, Hellboy II plays like Guillermo's Greatest Hits with even hotter visual effects.
  2. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    90
    Not to disparage the f/x guys, but what's onscreen in Hellboy II is all about the seismic eruptions in del Toro's head. Comparing his work to most fantasy cinema is like comparing cave drawings to the Cathedral of Cologne.
  3. The best scene is when Hellboy and Abe get drunk and sing out raucously, which after "Hancock" suggests a trend toward superhero alcoholism.