Universal Pictures | Release Date: July 11, 2008
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 306 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
221
Mixed:
58
Negative:
27
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
7
grandpajoe6191Sep 29, 2011
"Hellboy 2: The Golden Army" is a prominent improvement of "Hellboy". With the obviously beautiful visuals, director Del Toro proceeds to actually contribute deeper into the plot and characters, resulting in one exhilarating film. A"Hellboy 2: The Golden Army" is a prominent improvement of "Hellboy". With the obviously beautiful visuals, director Del Toro proceeds to actually contribute deeper into the plot and characters, resulting in one exhilarating film. A reasonable must-watch. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
4
SyzygyJul 13, 2008
In the wake of his magnificent Pan's Labyrinth, critics have draped Del Toro with the cloak of a faultless auteur who we have to appreciate to be worthy of our intellectual vanities. Hellboy II is retread and blase, boring and all-too In the wake of his magnificent Pan's Labyrinth, critics have draped Del Toro with the cloak of a faultless auteur who we have to appreciate to be worthy of our intellectual vanities. Hellboy II is retread and blase, boring and all-too familiar. Del Toro is sloughing through a look which he has been rehashing for a number of years, cribbing from one film to the next. What is most fatal to Hellboy II is the lack of any seriousness. Del Toro has his characters wallowing in lazy repartee and throwaway interactions so that they wont interfere with his first love, which - surprise, surrpise, - is his CGI-rendered fantasy universe. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Kai82Sep 15, 2014
A masterpiece of creativity. It is an amazing world that Del Toro created in this movie. The characters are fitting and the villain is not only well done but you can also fell his tortured soul and corrupted noble intentions. The plot is alsoA masterpiece of creativity. It is an amazing world that Del Toro created in this movie. The characters are fitting and the villain is not only well done but you can also fell his tortured soul and corrupted noble intentions. The plot is also off from simple good vs evil or black vs white. Both sides are grey with good intentions and flaws. It is a must watch movie and far better than the first one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
homer4presidentMar 28, 2015
Guillermo del Toro's sequel to his 2004 comic-book-success is humorous, exciting and majestic as it explores a whole different realm of the Dark-Horse-adaptation. Ron Perlman once again gives a smart and distinct performance with laughableGuillermo del Toro's sequel to his 2004 comic-book-success is humorous, exciting and majestic as it explores a whole different realm of the Dark-Horse-adaptation. Ron Perlman once again gives a smart and distinct performance with laughable dialogue and action all around. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
DanSep 14, 2008
Apart from the visuals which were quite impressive as we've come to expect from Guillermo's films, this movie was a real let-down. The CGI was, for the most part, impressive and the design, make-up,and props etc. were great. I Apart from the visuals which were quite impressive as we've come to expect from Guillermo's films, this movie was a real let-down. The CGI was, for the most part, impressive and the design, make-up,and props etc. were great. I found some of the sets a bit dull and uninspired though. The action was adequate, exciting in places, but nowhere near as fast paced or exhilarating as many other films of the genre. Now on to the really bad stuff. I found most of the performances by the actors in the film to be fairly flat, even Ron Pearlman's. The muffled, sometimes barely audible dialogue was so cheesy and juvenile it was almost unbearable (apart from a few mildly amusing one-liners). The heartfelt moments in the film felt so contrived, I felt no connection with the characters whatsoever and really found myself cringing with embarrassment throughout many scenes. The movie had no real structure but was really just a bunch of scenes strung together and badly at that. I thought many of the scenes were also quite pointless and had gaping plot holes. Also, considering the plot of the film, I found it lacking any real moments of drama, or any grand, awe-inspiring set-pieces. Overall, a visually engaging but two dimensional film that will probably fail to touch audiences on any real emotional level which is what a great, even good movie should hope to do. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
TheQuietGamerMar 10, 2011
While the first Hellboy was a funny well acted action movie, this is a mediocre poorly acted with bad jokes movie, I was highly disappointed it was not as good as the first, an ok movie from beginning to end.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
XxKingLeonidasMar 25, 2011
Hellboy 2 starts off strong with a great opening. It's filled with cool looking fantasy creatures and great fight scenes. It also has a great plot. The humor though is not funny and completely kills any chance of this movie being truly great.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
WielderofKnivesFeb 27, 2012
I have to say this movie was very undone, and I feel as if there was no effort. The pace of the movie doesn't build up at all, its just random event after random event. There is like no sense in this, love plots are crowbarred in, and the endI have to say this movie was very undone, and I feel as if there was no effort. The pace of the movie doesn't build up at all, its just random event after random event. There is like no sense in this, love plots are crowbarred in, and the end it doesn't even matter, the ending didn't even seem like the ending and when it came I was surprised. The humor isn't that great and there happens to be a character in this named Dr. Krauss who Hellboy hates for like the first half of the movie but then suddenly become best pals when Hellboy needs a cure. which just happens to be in the same place that the main villain is. Convenience. However, the movie does have good visuals, and the scene where Hellboy and Abe get drunk was funny, but honestly this movie is really bad. I don't give it a red score mostly because of Visuals . Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ColinCAug 2, 2008
Good summer fun. Not as enjoyable as Iron Man for my money, but still, visually a treat and the story is respectable. If you liked the first Hellboy, I'd imagine you'd like this one too. A good theater movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulK.Jul 12, 2008
If you enjoyed the first one, you'll like this. Lots of action, crazy creatures and one menacing elf prince.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MoisheM.Jul 13, 2008
It's like the best parts of Men In Black,Lord of the Rings,Farscape, a Hong Kong wire work actioner,and a Tim Burton movie all rolled into one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JeffD.Jul 14, 2008
i hated it. the visuals were nice, but the story lacked a lot, and the transitions from event to event were horrible at best. the jokes were bad, the puns were sickening, the wit was anything but clever. Hellboy II strives for that i hated it. the visuals were nice, but the story lacked a lot, and the transitions from event to event were horrible at best. the jokes were bad, the puns were sickening, the wit was anything but clever. Hellboy II strives for that satisfactory "epic quest" feel, but misses by miles, and merely achieves the status of "clusterf*ck." do yourself a favor and buy the comic book; you'll get more bang for your buck. and what the hell was up with that opening scene? GAH! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarkB.Aug 1, 2008
Hellboy (Ron Perlman) distrusts authority, is notably short-tempered at times, on other occasions is unduly worried about what people think of him, and he loves cigars, candy, cats and cerveza. In other words, Hellboy is not only MY kind of Hellboy (Ron Perlman) distrusts authority, is notably short-tempered at times, on other occasions is unduly worried about what people think of him, and he loves cigars, candy, cats and cerveza. In other words, Hellboy is not only MY kind of superhero but my kind of guy, and in as historically crowded a slate of superhero movies as 2008 has provided (the cleverly topical Iron Man, the surprisingly smart Incredible Hulk, the initially amusing but ultimately muddled Hancock, and the undeniably inteklligent and well-made but--excuse me while I duck!--overblown, overbaked and overlong The Dark Knight) his movie is absolutely the best of the bunch. Much of the credit goes, of course, to ther unbridled visual imagination of Guillermo del Toro, who brought us the original Hellboy and the astounding Pan's Labyrinth; Hellboy II hits the groiund running by setting up its literal underground-rebellion story in the first few minutes with a remarkable wooden-puppet show, and it never lets up afterwards as del Toro's and his crew's incredible creature effects not only wonderfully blend the inevitable CGI with good old fashioned old school craftsmanship and hard work but leap over the arbitrary species/ genus/ phylum boundaries set in most special-effects movies; heroes, villains and in-betweens include plants and, in the instance of oner memorable character, gases (the individual fitting this classification certainly ACTS like a gaseous substance through most of the movie, too). None of this would matter all that much, of course, if we didn't love the characters (and actors): Perlman's son of Satan who's now fighting for our side (even if our side doesn't duly appreciate him) is appealingly tough-and-tender; he's Bogart with a crablike arm and lobsterlike complexion. His flame-prone girlfriend Liz is played by Selma Blair, a sardonic beauty whose charm is largely generated by the observation that SHE (wrongly) doesn't consider herself very attractive. Best of all is Doug Jones (the superb pantomimist who in Pan's Labyrinth brought a whole new meaning to the term "hand-eye coordination") as Hellboy's semiaquatic sidekick Abraham; in the first Hellboy, del Toro had David Hyde Pierce supply Jones' voice, and I don't know why--nothing against good old Niles Crane, but Jones demonstrates here that he's perfectly capable of speaking for himself. This movie really scores in areas where last year's Spider-Man 3 was only partially successful; it's both a terrific action movie AND romantic comedy-drama. Hellboy II is all about the wildly operatic (especially when liquor-fueled) feelings we have for those we're in love with, and the grand sacrifices we're willing to make. All this leads to the current leading contender for The Best Movie Scene of 2008, as classical buff Abraham and rock-loving Hellboy express their feelings for (and frustrations about) the women in their lives by downing a few brewskis and baying along to Barry Manilow's "Can't Smile Without You". (By the way, isn't it interesting that while nobody will admit to liking Manilow, scores of movies--e.g., Keeping the Faith, You Me & Dupree, Can't Hardly Wait, etc.--repeatedly play or reference his hits?) This endearing and extremely funny sequence encapsulates why Hellboy II, a popcorn movie that values characterization as much as action, is much of a keeper as it is; it may not be a film for all time, like Pan's Labyrinth, but it's certainly the perfect superhero movie for THIS time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesB.Sep 5, 2008
This movie doesn't try to be anything else! It's fun and visually intensive!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GavinM.Sep 5, 2008
I must say first I really enjoyed the first Hellboy Movie. It had a great story, was well written and acted and had a lot of facets to it not seen in any similar films. Hellboy 2 Golden Army is an unfocused diatribe of cheesy one liners and I must say first I really enjoyed the first Hellboy Movie. It had a great story, was well written and acted and had a lot of facets to it not seen in any similar films. Hellboy 2 Golden Army is an unfocused diatribe of cheesy one liners and naive action sequences that are sparse, short and poorly executed. The so story is a watered down homage to Tolkein with no real reason or purpose. We are told that theres an ancient civilization who once in time fought man, was about to conquer mankind but didn't and then they cower beneath the Earth while mankind who lost the war reigns supreme? Its really just a visual spectacle boasting a mish mash of any amount of fairy tale creatures designers could come up with. And I am sorry to say the story in all its absurdity seemed to be just an after thought. I wish I could give this a better review as I really enjoyed the first Hellboy but I can't tell a lie...bring on T4. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SunilP.Oct 28, 2008
This movie completely a total laugh i don't get why people like it as well as they do (no offence), why did i not like this movie, because 1. In the first Hellboy you are only really given a few monsters he has fought and then suddenly This movie completely a total laugh i don't get why people like it as well as they do (no offence), why did i not like this movie, because 1. In the first Hellboy you are only really given a few monsters he has fought and then suddenly we find out that there are loads of trolls about and a whole, totally different side of the world is shown to us in this movie 2. Professor Krauss is at first all mean to hellboy, bet then after that they are like best friends because of a unemotional sad scene when his family died 3. The movie was meant to be about the golden army, but it was more about Prince Nuadu vs Hellboy, they are only in one scene for like five minutes 4. How the prophet in the cave magically heals hellboy like a day after being stabbed, it was totally unreal and unthoughtful 5. The princess could have stopped Nuadu like way before by stabbing herself, but saving the world, she only decides to do that righ at the end 6. How Abe Sapien has a love life and suddenly wants o marry her and spend his life with her after a few hours of knowing her 7. if Prince Nuadu could have used the Elemental to kill everybody, when he could have blackmailed hids father to giving him the crown and the location of the golden army 8. It is not a tiny bit supicious when Professor Klauss becomes Hellboy Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
IanO.Jul 11, 2008
I tell you what I thought Iron Man was good Hellboy 2 is way better than Iron Man you need to see this; this is the 2nd best supier hereo movie of the year (2nd to Dark KNIGHT) you will love hellboys personality!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
EY.Jul 10, 2008
I found H2 to be rather disappointing. I feel Del Toro went a bit overboard with the effects and creatures. As a result, the story is much less believable and engaging than H1. And the voicing of Abe by Doug Jones was a real mistake. Also, I found H2 to be rather disappointing. I feel Del Toro went a bit overboard with the effects and creatures. As a result, the story is much less believable and engaging than H1. And the voicing of Abe by Doug Jones was a real mistake. Also, Salma Blair was really quite wooden. A shame. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
equality7-2521Jul 12, 2008
Guillermo del Toro rules! he'll never top Pan's Labyrinth but I'd never expect him to (or anyone else for that matter). I love the original Hellboy,and love this one even more! I think Hellboy 3 will become a reality but Guillermo del Toro rules! he'll never top Pan's Labyrinth but I'd never expect him to (or anyone else for that matter). I love the original Hellboy,and love this one even more! I think Hellboy 3 will become a reality but it's going to be 5 years before del Toro gets to it... The Hobbit films will take up a minimum of 4 years to complete. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HectorG.Jul 13, 2008
A very original take on the superhero genre. Del Toro once again raises the bar for this antihero with dark humour and very charismatic sidekicks. A must see for the summer, specially for the action flick lovers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BillC.Jul 13, 2008
There's lots of things to like about the film , but it seemed a bit long and was less than I expected.It's a better sequel than the Indiana Jones , but is that enough?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
UnclePappyWolfJul 13, 2008
A beautiful movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EverythingIAmJul 14, 2008
I thought Hellboy 2 was a decent movie. The highlight of the movie is easily the character designs, but it had other decent aspects as well. The acting was okay, but where I think the movie is most weak is in the plot. At times the plot got I thought Hellboy 2 was a decent movie. The highlight of the movie is easily the character designs, but it had other decent aspects as well. The acting was okay, but where I think the movie is most weak is in the plot. At times the plot got a little random and it seemed like Del Toro wanted to end the movie, so it remained at a reasonable viewing time. The movie is no Pan's Labyrinth, so don't go into it expecting that, but overall it was a decent summer movie. Oh, and I can't wait for The Hobbit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RichardS.Jul 14, 2008
This had the potential to be a great movie, but they dumbed it down by making it a parody of "Men in Black" at the beginning. It just got worse. If I wanted to see some guy with a sword, I would have watched Jet Li. This movie needed a good This had the potential to be a great movie, but they dumbed it down by making it a parody of "Men in Black" at the beginning. It just got worse. If I wanted to see some guy with a sword, I would have watched Jet Li. This movie needed a good monster for Hell Boy to fight, but they just got some lame Jar Jar binks thing for comedic relief. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.Jul 15, 2008
"Hellboy II: The Golden Army" is one of the better comic book adap-..., but I digress. Is it just me, but doesn't Prince Nuada and Princess Nuada(Luke Goss and Anna Walton) remind you of Angelina Jolie and her brother? I thought to "Hellboy II: The Golden Army" is one of the better comic book adap-..., but I digress. Is it just me, but doesn't Prince Nuada and Princess Nuada(Luke Goss and Anna Walton) remind you of Angelina Jolie and her brother? I thought to myself, the deal is cinched if the Prince gets really, really chummy with his sister, then bingo, in the blue man's library, Nuada caresses Nuala's cheek as if there was a history between them. But I digress. Liz(Selma Blair) calls the red guy Red(Ron Perlman) because Hellboy sounds uncomfortably like a racial slur coming from the lips of the bigoted humans that these creatures encounter during their city patrols. Since Liz rechristened him, Red bears no connotation to the red guy's red skin. Red is a proper English name(i.e. Red Buttons, Red Skelton, heck, Redd Foxx, extra consonant notwithstanding), so the evocation of the color should be construed as being either ironical, or incidental, because Liz sees Red as a man, a good man, unlike the people they protect, who just see red. When the city denizens call him out in the streets, they're transforming hell, the place Hellboy hails from, into an expletive, as in "oh, hell!". But I digress. "Hellboy II: The Golden Army", more so than the three "X-Men" movies, calls into question the nature of these so-called superheroes. When Prince Nuada uses the h-word("holocaust"), without a shadow of a doubt, the filmmaker is suggesting that Hellboy and his cohorts are human collaborators. The real hero is the prince. He's fighting the good fight for his kind, against his kind's oppressors, us. One of Abraham's aliases is the Angel of Death(Josef Mengele, hello?), which makes him sound like a Nazi. So do you see what this film is getting at? But I digress. "Hellboy II: The Golden Army" is one of the better comic book adapations you're likely to see this, and the upcoming, summers. It's not just for fanboys. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
michaelJul 15, 2008
Good movie. Fun and entertaining. Script not flawless. Danny Elfman is a bad ass.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JeffJul 16, 2008
Focusing the movie on love stories was a little fishy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HellBoyJul 17, 2008
I enjoyed the movie with every action scene bigger than the last, except for the final conflict with the golden army. I expected to see the entire army in action reeking havoc but only 10 or so actually get any action. It was like they spent I enjoyed the movie with every action scene bigger than the last, except for the final conflict with the golden army. I expected to see the entire army in action reeking havoc but only 10 or so actually get any action. It was like they spent all the money on previous scenes and couldn't afford the CGI required for the big throw down with the entire army. Other than that great time, great hellboy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JJBJul 17, 2008
This was the second worst "superhero" movie right behind Spiderman 3. The jokes were horrible, scene transition was poor and the overall plot had a good concept but lacked proper delivery. 6 people walked out of the theatre and I could This was the second worst "superhero" movie right behind Spiderman 3. The jokes were horrible, scene transition was poor and the overall plot had a good concept but lacked proper delivery. 6 people walked out of the theatre and I could hardly keep my eyes open. Nothing kept my attention. Portraying a kid Hellboy was a good idea, until he opened his mouth to speak, then you couldn't wait for him to shut up. How the writers made a complete 180 degree spin on Hellboy is beyond me. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnnyG.Jul 18, 2008
This movie is not for everybody apparently, but it was definitely for me. I give it a 10, not because it is a masterpiece, but because it is close enough that I decided to be kind and round up instead of down. The thing that trips people This movie is not for everybody apparently, but it was definitely for me. I give it a 10, not because it is a masterpiece, but because it is close enough that I decided to be kind and round up instead of down. The thing that trips people about this movie I believe is that they don't know what to expect to take from the movie, even afterwards. Is it a comedy, is it a serious drama, is it really a superhero flick? Is it Pan's Labrynth meets LOTR meets MIB? The truth is, it's a little bit of everything, which means everybody can take something from this film, as long as you can stand the main character being a red, beer-drinking, demon and his sidekick a clumsy, goofy, brainiac fish-man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful