• Studio:
  • Release Date: Jun 7, 2013
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 15, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hello Herman is an emotional film that the audience embarks on and goes through the social issues of bullying and violence. I soaked into the entire movie, and I felt like I had taken part of this journey as well. Afterwards, I thought about past shootings and ways I can try to prevent future ones from occurring. The casting for Herman Howards and Lax Morales is effective as they connected well and made the story more believable. With each having their own ways of getting their fame and trying to understand their past, makes the film dynamic and creates the drama that I experience. By doing this type of film, most films usually stick with one point of view and runs with it. Hello Herman does a great job of showing both sides of the story: Herman and the victim's side. By showing both sides, it makes the emotion more powerful and gets the audience involved. Herman tells Lax that he won't be forgotten with what he did and after the film; my mind was wrapped around the subject matter and discussed it with people about it. I would recommend this film for parents and teens to look at the effects of bullying and how to find positive ways to cope with it Expand
  2. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    A very important movie for everyone of all ages to watch. There is a significant amount of depth in the film which makes the viewer feel as if they share Hermans pain. I give a huge amount of credit to Michelle Danner for working on such a controversial subject such as this. It takes a huge amount of courage to start the conversation on a topic that many would wish to sweep under the rug.A very important movie for everyone of all ages to watch. There is a significant amount of depth in the film which makes the viewer feel as if they share Hermans pain. I give a huge amount of credit to Michelle Danner for working on such a controversial subject such as this. It takes a huge amount of courage to start the conversation on a topic that many would wish to sweep under the rug. Truly an amazing and powerful film. Expand
  3. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    Michelle Danner’s new film "Hello Herman," staring norman reedus is a roller coaster ride of emotion’s. Passionate and controversial it opens up the all too hot topic of gun control & bullying. This film featuring powerful performances from Reedus and Backstrom, and a fine ensemble cast (notably Danner herself as Herman's mother) "Hello Herman" is a timely film not to be missed!
  4. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. loved this film cudos to michelle danner for having the guts to make a movie this controversial!!!! how timely is this movie? unfortunately too timely, its about the desensitization of society and the after effects of a shooting. loved norman reedus in this movie he is sexy as hell.
    Garrett Backstrom plays sixteen-year-old Herman Howards in Michelle Danner's Hello Herman. A teenager troubled by school bullies and a tense home life, Herman makes the unfortunate decision to bring a gun to school one day and massacre over thirty students and faculty at his high school. However, Herman makes an attempt to tell his story to the world by contacting a reporter named Lax for a popular news website. Through his interviews with Lax, Herman prompts the audience to ask itself critical questions regarding youth violence and bullying. What are the causes? How do we prevent this? What is the appropriate response? Backstrom performance shed lights on these questions and more, as Hello Herman prompts societies around the world to consider its role in such tragic occurrences and how to go about effecting the change necessary to truly address the issue.
    Expand
  5. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Just wanted to let you know that Norman Reedus from the “Walking Dead” & “Boondock Saints” controversial new film directed by Michelle Danner just opened in theaters nationwide & simultaneous on View-on-Demand in over 100 million homes

    **Watch THE MOVIE http://www.hellohermanthemovie.com/watch-now/ **PRE- ORDER THE DVD OR BLUE RAY
    Just wanted to let you know that Norman Reedus from the “Walking Dead” & “Boondock Saints” controversial new film directed by Michelle Danner just opened in theaters nationwide & simultaneous on View-on-Demand in over 100 million homes

    **Watch THE MOVIE
    http://www.hellohermanthemovie.com/watch-now/

    **PRE- ORDER THE DVD OR BLUE RAY
    http://www.hellohermanthemovie.com/pre-order-your-hello-herman-dvd-today

    **BUY THE POSTERS GO TO
    http://www.hellohermanthemovie.com/poster-purchase/

    WWW.HELLOHERMANTHEMOVIE.COM

    Click below to check out which theaters
    Hello Herman will be playing:

    http://www.hellohermanthemovie.com/trailer/

    "Daring film HELLO HERMAN cannot be ignored... This intense, thought provoking, and unnerving film will open the floodgates to become more connected."
    --Pamela Powell
    Real Honest Reviews

    "HELLO HERMAN is the type of movie that Hollywood rarely makes, but should make more often... Powerful film... Garrett Backstrom and Norman Reedus are both brilliant in their roles."
    --Joe Comicbook
    Comicbook.com
    Expand
  6. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    Michelle Danner's "Hello Herman" was probably the most relatable family film that anyone will experience. It is a must-see film for every movie- goer. The plot, characters and scenes in the film are so real and shocking that it will get you up and out of your seat. The thought provoking questions that are answered in this film about bullying and violence will have you pondering on how aMichelle Danner's "Hello Herman" was probably the most relatable family film that anyone will experience. It is a must-see film for every movie- goer. The plot, characters and scenes in the film are so real and shocking that it will get you up and out of your seat. The thought provoking questions that are answered in this film about bullying and violence will have you pondering on how a child would ever think to commit such a horrible crime. The consequences that are seen in the film are shocking, but deserving. It's a story of a bully, journalist, and boy suffers for what he does. Overall, I think Michelle Danner did a great job directing this film, and Norman Reedus' performance is amazing to say the least. Expand
  7. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    Love this film !
    I'm literally in awe from this film. From the past events from this year alone, this film does a great job in captivating extreme situations our youth are exposed to in school for example. Its scary to think the breaking point peers can have on one another. after seeing the film I saw the versatility Norman Reedus has as an actor and extremely surprised at Garrett
    Love this film !
    I'm literally in awe from this film. From the past events from this year alone, this film does a great job in captivating extreme situations our youth are exposed to in school for example. Its scary to think the breaking point peers can have on one another. after seeing the film I saw the versatility Norman Reedus has as an actor and extremely surprised at Garrett Backstrom ability to play such a strong role. I honestly was surprised at how well he actually became Herman Howards. Everyone should honestly do themselves the favor and watch this film. All I can say is how amazing this film was and how at the same time it helped me get a better understanding of what the extent of bullying can do to others. When you know better, you do better.
    Expand
  8. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    A Haunting Tale about a teenager. This movie was made by the talented director, actress and producer Michelle Danner and staring Norman Reedus from the walking dead..
    The movie highlights the need for recognition, to be famous,  to be loved and love in return, the need of security, and the need of self- actualization.
    I highly recommend this film Michelle Danner has done a fine job of
    A Haunting Tale about a teenager. This movie was made by the talented director, actress and producer Michelle Danner and staring Norman Reedus from the walking dead..
    The movie highlights the need for recognition, to be famous,  to be loved and love in return, the need of security, and the need of self- actualization.
    I highly recommend this film Michelle Danner has done a fine job of directing and playing the mother in this movie.
    Expand
  9. Jul 29, 2013
    7
    This film truly is thought provoking. I was pulled in the second it started and I never lost interest. It really does raise awareness of teenagers and what they experience in school and at home. A lot of what the main character feels is disconnect from the people at his school and never really truly fitting in. He was just a lost kid who didn’t know what else to do to make peopleThis film truly is thought provoking. I was pulled in the second it started and I never lost interest. It really does raise awareness of teenagers and what they experience in school and at home. A lot of what the main character feels is disconnect from the people at his school and never really truly fitting in. He was just a lost kid who didn’t know what else to do to make people actually notice him and he decided to act upon this with violence. Expand
  10. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    Such a great and touching movie starring Norman Reedus. I found this movie because im a fan of Norman Reedus from the Walking Dead and wanted to see what other work he has done. Not only was there sensational acting by the stars but also phenomenal directing by Michelle Danner. I did a little bit of research and found the official website www.hellohermanthemovie.com and found all theSuch a great and touching movie starring Norman Reedus. I found this movie because im a fan of Norman Reedus from the Walking Dead and wanted to see what other work he has done. Not only was there sensational acting by the stars but also phenomenal directing by Michelle Danner. I did a little bit of research and found the official website www.hellohermanthemovie.com and found all the pre-order and more info about the movie. Any fan of this movie or Norman Reedus should definitely check it out and support! Expand
Metascore
27

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Negative: 4 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Jun 6, 2013
    30
    Pointing at everything and elucidating nothing, Hello Herman arrives freighted with the anti-bullying agenda of its director, Michelle Danner.
  2. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Jun 6, 2013
    30
    We're not sure what director Michelle Danner, who plays Herman's defensive mother in an uncredited role, wants us to get besides a reminder that angry boys act out for a host of half-defined reasons.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Staeger
    Jun 4, 2013
    30
    The dialogue is all surface: Emotions are laid out on the autopsy table for the audience to dissect and analyze, but rarely feel.