• Studio:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
27

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the not so distant future, sixteen year old Herman Howards makes a fateful decision. He enters his suburban school and kills thirty nine students, two teachers, and a police officer. Just before his arrest he emails his idol, famous journalist Lax Morales, sending him clips of the shootings captured with Herman's own digital camera. The movie explores the reasons behind a massacre like this: desensitization in America, youth violence and bullying, the impact the media has on our individual quest for fame, and ultimately our need for connection. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Negative: 4 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    Jun 2, 2013
    50
    The alignment with Herman's perspective, even as it never downplays the gravity of his crimes, leads the film into a set of obvious conclusions.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Staeger
    Jun 4, 2013
    30
    The dialogue is all surface: Emotions are laid out on the autopsy table for the audience to dissect and analyze, but rarely feel.
  3. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Jun 6, 2013
    30
    We're not sure what director Michelle Danner, who plays Herman's defensive mother in an uncredited role, wants us to get besides a reminder that angry boys act out for a host of half-defined reasons.
  4. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Jun 6, 2013
    30
    Pointing at everything and elucidating nothing, Hello Herman arrives freighted with the anti-bullying agenda of its director, Michelle Danner.
  5. Reviewed by: Sam Adams
    Jun 4, 2013
    20
    It barely tries to offer insight into its much-debated subject, content to rip the scab off an ever-fresh wound for the sake of controversy. The most fitting punishment is to simply ignore its existence.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    A very important movie for everyone of all ages to watch. There is a significant amount of depth in the film which makes the viewer feel as if they share Hermans pain. I give a huge amount of credit to Michelle Danner for working on such a controversial subject such as this. It takes a huge amount of courage to start the conversation on a topic that many would wish to sweep under the rug. Truly an amazing and powerful film. Collapse
  2. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    Such a great and touching movie starring Norman Reedus. I found this movie because im a fan of Norman Reedus from the Walking Dead and wanted to see what other work he has done. Not only was there sensational acting by the stars but also phenomenal directing by Michelle Danner. I did a little bit of research and found the official website www.hellohermanthemovie.com and found all the pre-order and more info about the movie. Any fan of this movie or Norman Reedus should definitely check it out and support! Expand
  3. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    Michelle Danner’s new film "Hello Herman," staring norman reedus is a roller coaster ride of emotion’s. Passionate and controversial it opens up the all too hot topic of gun control & bullying. This film featuring powerful performances from Reedus and Backstrom, and a fine ensemble cast (notably Danner herself as Herman's mother) "Hello Herman" is a timely film not to be missed! Expand
  4. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    Love this film !
    I'm literally in awe from this film. From the past events from this year alone, this film does a great job in captivating
    extreme situations our youth are exposed to in school for example. Its scary to think the breaking point peers can have on one another. after seeing the film I saw the versatility Norman Reedus has as an actor and extremely surprised at Garrett Backstrom ability to play such a strong role. I honestly was surprised at how well he actually became Herman Howards. Everyone should honestly do themselves the favor and watch this film. All I can say is how amazing this film was and how at the same time it helped me get a better understanding of what the extent of bullying can do to others. When you know better, you do better. Expand
  5. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Just wanted to let you know that Norman Reedus from the “Walking Dead” & “Boondock Saints” controversial new film directed by Michelle Danner just opened in theaters nationwide & simultaneous on View-on-Demand in over 100 million homes

    **Watch THE MOVIE
    http://www.hellohermanthemovie.com/watch-now/

    **PRE- ORDER THE DVD OR BLUE RAY
    http://www.hellohermanthemovie.com/pre-order-your-hello-herman-dvd-today

    **BUY THE POSTERS GO TO
    http://www.hellohermanthemovie.com/poster-purchase/

    WWW.HELLOHERMANTHEMOVIE.COM

    Click below to check out which theaters
    Hello Herman will be playing:

    http://www.hellohermanthemovie.com/trailer/

    "Daring film HELLO HERMAN cannot be ignored... This intense, thought provoking, and unnerving film will open the floodgates to become more connected."
    --Pamela Powell
    Real Honest Reviews

    "HELLO HERMAN is the type of movie that Hollywood rarely makes, but should make more often... Powerful film... Garrett Backstrom and Norman Reedus are both brilliant in their roles."
    --Joe Comicbook
    Comicbook.com
    Expand
  6. Jun 15, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hello Herman is an emotional film that the audience embarks on and goes through the social issues of bullying and violence. I soaked into the entire movie, and I felt like I had taken part of this journey as well. Afterwards, I thought about past shootings and ways I can try to prevent future ones from occurring. The casting for Herman Howards and Lax Morales is effective as they connected well and made the story more believable. With each having their own ways of getting their fame and trying to understand their past, makes the film dynamic and creates the drama that I experience. By doing this type of film, most films usually stick with one point of view and runs with it. Hello Herman does a great job of showing both sides of the story: Herman and the victim's side. By showing both sides, it makes the emotion more powerful and gets the audience involved. Herman tells Lax that he won't be forgotten with what he did and after the film; my mind was wrapped around the subject matter and discussed it with people about it. I would recommend this film for parents and teens to look at the effects of bullying and how to find positive ways to cope with it Expand
  7. Jul 29, 2013
    7
    This film truly is thought provoking. I was pulled in the second it started and I never lost interest. It really does raise awareness of teenagers and what they experience in school and at home. A lot of what the main character feels is disconnect from the people at his school and never really truly fitting in. He was just a lost kid who didn’t know what else to do to make people actually notice him and he decided to act upon this with violence. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews

Trailers