Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Sep 6, 2012
    50
    Even though as a whole Hello I Must Be Going lets us down in the second half, the pleasure of watching Lynskey and Abbott never diminishes.
  2. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Sep 6, 2012
    60
    This is ultimately a tale of affirmation, self-acceptance and second chances, and its lessons, while not unwelcome, are a bit too forced and neatly packaged to make it fully satisfying.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Sep 1, 2012
    50
    A credibly drawn central character is trapped inside a half-cooked dramatic stew in Hello I Must Be Going.
  4. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Sep 20, 2012
    58
    The script's contrivances and the director's lax handling aren't enough to hold you.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Sep 8, 2012
    60
    Writer Sarah Koskoff's nuanced script and director Todd Louiso's ("Love, Liza") delicate tone follow indie terrain, but go the right way.
  6. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Sep 4, 2012
    40
    Lynskey has raised the quality of innumerable feature films (as a soft-spoken New Republic reporter in Shattered Glass; a housewife on the verge of a nervous breakdown in Away We Go-that film's sole saving grace). So it's a delight to see this stalwart character actor move to center stage, even when the result is so by-the-numbers.
  7. Reviewed by: G. Allen Johnson
    Sep 20, 2012
    50
    The mind-numbingly predictable, but admittedly watchable Hello I Must Be Going needed less whine and more surprise.
  8. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    Sep 4, 2012
    60
    With a digital sheen exacerbating the aura of slightness, Hello vamps along in its low indie-rom-com key toward a climactic mother-daughter moment not nearly as harrowing as the one in Lynskey's 1994 debut, but moving nonetheless.
  9. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Sep 1, 2012
    40
    As a director, Louiso operates within a narrow emotional range; while not as bleak as "Love Liza," the film feels similarly monotonous and desperately needs more dramatic fluctuation.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Oct 24, 2013
    7
    I liked it cause I can relate to anybody who says when will I reach my Bottom.This movies real cause love does not always come from places youI liked it cause I can relate to anybody who says when will I reach my Bottom.This movies real cause love does not always come from places you expect it to. Full Review »
  2. Sep 11, 2012
    6
    Lynskey is one of those actors who is so talented, so versatile, she essentially steals every scene she's in. She did it in HeavenlyLynskey is one of those actors who is so talented, so versatile, she essentially steals every scene she's in. She did it in Heavenly Creatures, she did it in 2 1/2 Men, and she does it here. The problem is that the writing isn't brilliant, and there's just not enough to it. She had a bad marriage, her parents have a bad marriage, and life sucks. The young love interest - the guy from HBO's "Girls" is sorely out of his league - they could have cast that role so much more succesfully. Full Review »