Hello I Must Be Going

Hello I Must Be Going Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Amy is a recent divorcée who seeks refuge in the suburban Connecticut home of her parents. Demoralized and uncertain of her future, Amy begins an affair with a 19-year-old actor that jumpstarts her passion for life and helps her discover an independence and sense of purpose that she hasAmy is a recent divorcée who seeks refuge in the suburban Connecticut home of her parents. Demoralized and uncertain of her future, Amy begins an affair with a 19-year-old actor that jumpstarts her passion for life and helps her discover an independence and sense of purpose that she has missed for years. Coupling Danner’s subtle, moving performance as a frustrated empty nester with Lynskey’s endearing and nuanced depiction of both the comic and tragic coming together at a crossroads, Hello I Must Be Going is a modern, unconventional love story infused with sex, humor, and emotional honesty – everything Amy will need to get on in life. (Oscilloscope Films) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Farran Smith Nehme
    Sep 7, 2012
    88
    There are some catches, including a breathy-voiced indie-rock soundtrack so bad you wonder if it's contributing to Amy's malaise. But overall, the comedy is a lovely showcase for Lynskey and the rest of the cast.
  2. Reviewed by: James Rocchi
    Sep 1, 2012
    83
    Warm and funny, real and raw, Hello I Must Be Going deserves a hearty welcome from moviegoers looking for an honest and frank comedy that never forgets to help us care about its characters.
  3. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Oct 18, 2012
    75
    The movie's sharp-tongued and softhearted, a Sundance kind of film that mostly sidesteps generic Sundanceyness.
  4. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Sep 5, 2012
    67
    The film plays like a strenuous tug of war between the inhuman machinery of a wildly misguided plot and the low-key humanism of Melanie Lynskey's warm yet unsentimental performance.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Sep 20, 2012
    63
    There are times when the facile flimsiness of Hello I Must Be Going threatens to float right off the screen. But Lynskey has her ways of surprising us, even when nothing in the script itself is doing so.
  6. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Sep 6, 2012
    60
    This is ultimately a tale of affirmation, self-acceptance and second chances, and its lessons, while not unwelcome, are a bit too forced and neatly packaged to make it fully satisfying.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Sep 1, 2012
    40
    As a director, Louiso operates within a narrow emotional range; while not as bleak as "Love Liza," the film feels similarly monotonous and desperately needs more dramatic fluctuation.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Oct 24, 2013
    7
    I liked it cause I can relate to anybody who says when will I reach my Bottom.This movies real cause love does not always come from places youI liked it cause I can relate to anybody who says when will I reach my Bottom.This movies real cause love does not always come from places you expect it to. Expand
  2. Sep 11, 2012
    6
    Lynskey is one of those actors who is so talented, so versatile, she essentially steals every scene she's in. She did it in HeavenlyLynskey is one of those actors who is so talented, so versatile, she essentially steals every scene she's in. She did it in Heavenly Creatures, she did it in 2 1/2 Men, and she does it here. The problem is that the writing isn't brilliant, and there's just not enough to it. She had a bad marriage, her parents have a bad marriage, and life sucks. The young love interest - the guy from HBO's "Girls" is sorely out of his league - they could have cast that role so much more succesfully. Collapse

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 29, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Wonder Woman, Fantastic Beats and Where to Find Them, Suicide Squad, Doctor Strange, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.