Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Jan 10, 2014
    100
    Sad, funny, and quietly alarming romance.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jan 9, 2014
    100
    Her may be the most technologically astute movie since Stanley Kubrick’s “2001: a Space Odyssey.” And as the friendly ghost in the machine, Samantha is a more inviting companion for the great leap forward than HAL9000 could ever dream of being.
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jan 9, 2014
    100
    Her argues that sometimes, crazy can be wonderful.
  4. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Jan 9, 2014
    100
    Phoenix gives a performance as convincing as he did in “The Master,” and in exactly the opposite direction: gentle, meditative and cerebral, instead of angry, closed-minded and baffled.
  5. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jan 9, 2014
    100
    So many things could go terribly wrong with Spike Jonze's Her, and it's a small cinematic miracle that nothing does.
  6. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jan 9, 2014
    100
    Her is an outstanding movie, in part because of its originality, but also because of its execution.
  7. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Dec 25, 2013
    100
    It is a love story. Also a profoundly metaphysical meditation on what it means to be human. Also one of the more touchingly relevant movies to the ways we actually live and may soon live. Oh, and the year’s best film, or at least the one that may stick with you until its story line comes true.
  8. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Dec 24, 2013
    100
    A delicate, droll masterwork, writer-director Spike Jonze's Her sticks its neck out, all the way out, asserting that what the world needs now and evermore is love, sweet love. Preferably between humans, but you can't have everything all the time.
  9. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Dec 24, 2013
    100
    What’s surprising is that Jonze has taken what could easily have been a glib screwball comedy and infused it instead with wry, observant tenderness and deep feeling.
  10. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Dec 19, 2013
    100
    Mr. Jonze approaches perfection in the department of deadpan humor. In other hands, his premise could have been a clever gimmick and little more. But he draws us into Theodore's world, then develops it brilliantly, by playing everything scrupulously straight.
  11. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Dec 18, 2013
    100
    The wistfulness in this movie is large-souled. Theodore may worry that his love for Samantha makes him a freak, but Amy knows that “anybody who loves is a freak.” All this may sound touchy-feely in the worst way, but Jonze is trying to get at how we seek romantic connection in this brave (or not so brave) new world. Like Theodore, he risks looking foolish.
  12. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Dec 18, 2013
    100
    Will you relate more to the bitter, or embrace the sweet? The choice itself is Jonze’s ultimate gift to us: an invitation to leave his film ready to communicate, debate and, most crucially of all, connect.
  13. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    Dec 18, 2013
    100
    Four films into a sterling career, the director’s made his most beguiling, profoundly human work yet.
  14. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Dec 17, 2013
    100
    Acerbic, emotional, provocative, it's a risky high dive off the big board with a plot that sounds like a gimmick but ends up haunting, odd and a bit wonderful.
  15. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Dec 17, 2013
    100
    At once a brilliant conceptual gag and a deeply sincere romance, Her is the unlikely yet completely plausible love story about a man, who sometimes resembles a machine, and an operating system, who very much suggests a living woman.
  16. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Dec 16, 2013
    100
    Her is a 21st-century love story that perfectly captures the mood of the times and finds new inroads into the exhilaration and heartbreak that have existed since the first “I love you.”
  17. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Dec 16, 2013
    100
    Jonze creates the splendid anachronism of a movie romance that is laugh-and-cry and warm all over, totally sweet and utterly serious.
  18. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Oct 12, 2013
    100
    What begins like an arrested adolescent dream soon blossoms into Jonze’s richest and most emotionally mature work to date, burrowing deep into the give and take of relationships, the dawning of middle-aged ennui, and that eternal dilemma shared by both man and machine: the struggle to know one’s own true self.
  19. Reviewed by: Ed Gonzalez
    Oct 12, 2013
    100
    A screwball surrealist comedy that asks us to laugh at an unconventional romance while also disarming us with the realization that its fantasy scenario isn't too far from our present reality.
  20. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Oct 13, 2013
    91
    Certainly his most deeply felt achievement, Her is both distinctly Jonze-like and something altogether different, as if the filmmaker has gone through a software update not unlike his artificial character.
  21. Reviewed by: Rodrigo Perez
    Oct 12, 2013
    91
    It’s an incredibly melancholy, intimate and yet often hilarious look at relationships and connection that provides a surprisingly great deal of insight into the human condition. It’s both sweet and considered, as well as observant about our fears, masks and growing alienation.
  22. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Dec 19, 2013
    90
    It’s a wistful portrait of our current love affair with technology in all its promise and disappointment, a post-human "Annie Hall."
  23. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Dec 17, 2013
    90
    This is a handcrafted, passionate and sometimes impossibly beautiful film that argues for both the past and the future, with a poetic spirit that’s extremely rare in American cinema.
  24. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Dec 16, 2013
    90
    Sad, kooky, and daunting in equal measure, Her is the right film at the right time.
  25. 90
    In Her, Jonze transforms his music-video aesthetic into something magically personal. The montages — silent, flickering inserts of Theodore and his ex-wife recollected in tranquility — are sublime.
  26. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Oct 12, 2013
    90
    This is a probing, inquisitive work of a very high order, although it goes a bit slack in the final third and concludes rather conventionally compared to much that has come before.
  27. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jan 8, 2014
    89
    If in previous films "Adaptation" and "Being John Malkovich" Jonze seemed a little squirmy about sex, his treatment here is fully adult and keenly sensitive to the complexities of sexual intimacy – how it relates to emotional intimacy, whether or not a flesh-and-blood body is required to achieve it.
  28. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jan 13, 2014
    88
    It's audacious but also genuine. It's emotionally true and demands much from its audience not in terms of suspension of disbelief but of empathy with the main character.
  29. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Dec 23, 2013
    88
    Her works as a real romance, and as a commentary on the ways technology connects everyone to the world but also isolates us from legitimate, warm human contact.
  30. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Dec 18, 2013
    88
    Though set in the future, Her is a timely, soulful and plausible love story.
  31. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Dec 18, 2013
    88
    Jonze is a visionary whose lyrical, soulful meditation on relationships of the future cuts to the heart of the way we live now.
  32. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Dec 18, 2013
    88
    Phoenix, for long scenes, is onscreen by himself, lost in his thoughts and those of the operating system moulded to fit his psyche. With his wounded awkwardness and boyish giggles, he seems authentically vulnerable, but the character’s emotionally arrested development also begins to weigh the film down.
  33. Reviewed by: Glenn Kenny
    Dec 18, 2013
    88
    Her remains one of the most engaging and genuinely provocative movies you're likely to see this year, and definitely a challenging but not inapt date movie.
  34. 88
    Is it better to have loved and lost than never to have logged on at all?
  35. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Jan 9, 2014
    83
    As the relationship between Theodore and Samantha evolves, it hews too closely to the expected arc of a romantic drama. In a desire to show how such a pairing could produce the same joys, sorrows, jealousies and insecurities as a human-to-human one, the movie edges close to parody, which it doesn't want to be.
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 810 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 194
  1. Jan 14, 2014
    1
    Some movies make you wonder. You wonder why they made the movie in the first place. You wonder why good actors would get involved in such a lame project. You wonder why a the most bubbly actress in Hollywood would allow herself to get sucked into playing such a flat personalityless character. You wonder why 93% of Rotten Tomatoes critics liked it. You wonder how a usually boring actress actually ends up being one of the very few bright lights in an otherwise dim cast. And you wonder why, after saying that it looked like a stupid idea for a movie after seeing the trailers, you allowed the critics to seduce you into sitting in the dark and lamenting the $12.99 that you just wasted. Well dear readers by now you are probably wondering what god-awful movie I am talking about. The movie is “her”.

    When I finally get around to compiling my best and worst lists “her” will likely top the list. My spouse actually left the movie before it was over and I would have accompanied her but since I had dragged her into the theatre kicking and screaming I felt that I had no choice but to stay. Here is the plot synopsis that my spouse posted on Facebook in answer to my daughter’s query about the movie: “ "Her" - a really stupid pathetic person poorly acted by Joaquin Phoenix using a really stupid voice was dumped by his wife. Several months later he gets this AI OS - the latest thing - and it becomes more human-like. The was only one 15 sec scene that was at all entertaining (an alien type thing in a video game), and even then it was only because you were so bored by then that those 15 seconds seemed good.” I have to disagree with my spouse on one point, the video game character was annoying as was its potty mouth.

    This movie was so bad I don’t even know where to begin. The entire plot-line is ridiculous and the characters are even worse. The only three characters that really seem to have any grip on sanity or reality are Olivia Wilde’s “blind date” character, the partner of Amy Adams’ character and the lead character’s ex-wife-in-waiting.

    I don’t usually like Olivia Wilde in movies but for some reason she was great in the small part of the loser’s blind date. I think that the “partner” is one of the two characters in the movie that actually has a brain and he bails early and joins an ashram, totally separating himself from Spike Jones’ perverted vision of our future society. And Rooney Mara’s ex-wife-in-waiting is brilliant in the scene where she denounces Joaquin Phoenix’s character as the loser that most of us watching the movie figured out about 3 minutes into this 2 hour 6 minute borefest.

    You know that you are in the wrong theatre when after about ½ an hour of watching Phoenix walk zombie-like through his so called life we are treated to an aurally-graphic scene of him having telephone sex with a dead-cat-fetishist. But it gets worse, later we get to stare at a totally black screen while he has cyber-sex with his Operating System. But wait, there is still more up Spike Jones sleeve, we soon get to see Phoenix attempt to have sex with a sex-surrogate who has agreed to stand in for the Operating System. That’s when my spouse left.

    Sure I get that Spike Jones is trying to warn us about the direction that our millennial society is going as it abandons real human interaction for communicating through Facebook, Twitter, blogging and internet porn, but he could have given us an entertaining movie at the same time.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 18, 2013
    9
    In an era in which there is very little risk-taking in movies and television, Her is wonderfully original and the very definition of food for thought. Just about ever scene had me thinking about four or five different ways the story could go. So many stories these days highlight some element of technological advancement, but they're usually developed in such a pedestrian way. I'm so glad Jonze put his unique stamp on this picture. Phoenix delivers the goods, as you would expect, but the supporting turns by Amy Adams, Olivia Wilde, Portia Doubleday, Rooney Mara, and, of course, Scarlett Johansson are phenomenal. Further, the future Los Angeles setting is so delicately crafted, right down to the subtle fashion trends, but these elements are never distracting. An easy recommendation. Full Review »
  3. Jan 18, 2014
    0
    This movie was honestly the stupidest movie I have ever seen in my entire life.
    Two hours that I never never get back in my life!

    Okay, at
    first it was sweet, like "aw, wow, seriously? he really loves this "Samantha" girl/chick, computer, whatever"

    But then towards the end, it's like "WTH, are you serious? Get a life, she's a freaken computer!!!"

    The dumbest movie I have seen!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Full Review »