Her

Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 18, 2013
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1319 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,175
Mixed:
74
Negative:
70
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
franclinolinJan 17, 2014
What a yawner of a film! The audience is apparently supposed to forgive its lack of plot and instead concentrate on its 'oh so clever' premise that grows weary within the first fifteen minutes. Much of the dialog has been heard before,What a yawner of a film! The audience is apparently supposed to forgive its lack of plot and instead concentrate on its 'oh so clever' premise that grows weary within the first fifteen minutes. Much of the dialog has been heard before, better written, in better movies; some of the dialog is downright embarrassing. Oh what a conceit of a movie! The only interesting scenes were the shots of Shanghai (supposed to serve as a future LA), cloaked in its thick polluted fog. A perfect setting for 'Her'. Expand
16 of 39 users found this helpful1623
All this user's reviews
1
CdnCurmudgeonJan 14, 2014
Some movies make you wonder. You wonder why they made the movie in the first place. You wonder why good actors would get involved in such a lame project. You wonder why a the most bubbly actress in Hollywood would allow herself to getSome movies make you wonder. You wonder why they made the movie in the first place. You wonder why good actors would get involved in such a lame project. You wonder why a the most bubbly actress in Hollywood would allow herself to get sucked into playing such a flat personalityless character. You wonder why 93% of Rotten Tomatoes critics liked it. You wonder how a usually boring actress actually ends up being one of the very few bright lights in an otherwise dim cast. And you wonder why, after saying that it looked like a stupid idea for a movie after seeing the trailers, you allowed the critics to seduce you into sitting in the dark and lamenting the $12.99 that you just wasted. Well dear readers by now you are probably wondering what god-awful movie I am talking about. The movie is “her”.

When I finally get around to compiling my best and worst lists “her” will likely top the list. My spouse actually left the movie before it was over and I would have accompanied her but since I had dragged her into the theatre kicking and screaming I felt that I had no choice but to stay. Here is the plot synopsis that my spouse posted on Facebook in answer to my daughter’s query about the movie: “ "Her" - a really stupid pathetic person poorly acted by Joaquin Phoenix using a really stupid voice was dumped by his wife. Several months later he gets this AI OS - the latest thing - and it becomes more human-like. The was only one 15 sec scene that was at all entertaining (an alien type thing in a video game), and even then it was only because you were so bored by then that those 15 seconds seemed good.” I have to disagree with my spouse on one point, the video game character was annoying as was its potty mouth.

This movie was so bad I don’t even know where to begin. The entire plot-line is ridiculous and the characters are even worse. The only three characters that really seem to have any grip on sanity or reality are Olivia Wilde’s “blind date” character, the partner of Amy Adams’ character and the lead character’s ex-wife-in-waiting.

I don’t usually like Olivia Wilde in movies but for some reason she was great in the small part of the loser’s blind date. I think that the “partner” is one of the two characters in the movie that actually has a brain and he bails early and joins an ashram, totally separating himself from Spike Jones’ perverted vision of our future society. And Rooney Mara’s ex-wife-in-waiting is brilliant in the scene where she denounces Joaquin Phoenix’s character as the loser that most of us watching the movie figured out about 3 minutes into this 2 hour 6 minute borefest.

You know that you are in the wrong theatre when after about ½ an hour of watching Phoenix walk zombie-like through his so called life we are treated to an aurally-graphic scene of him having telephone sex with a dead-cat-fetishist. But it gets worse, later we get to stare at a totally black screen while he has cyber-sex with his Operating System. But wait, there is still more up Spike Jones sleeve, we soon get to see Phoenix attempt to have sex with a sex-surrogate who has agreed to stand in for the Operating System. That’s when my spouse left.

Sure I get that Spike Jones is trying to warn us about the direction that our millennial society is going as it abandons real human interaction for communicating through Facebook, Twitter, blogging and internet porn, but he could have given us an entertaining movie at the same time.
Expand
23 of 58 users found this helpful2335
All this user's reviews
0
GaotzengJan 18, 2014
This movie was honestly the stupidest movie I have ever seen in my entire life.
Two hours that I never never get back in my life!
Okay, at first it was sweet, like "aw, wow, seriously? he really loves this "Samantha" girl/chick, computer,
This movie was honestly the stupidest movie I have ever seen in my entire life.
Two hours that I never never get back in my life!

Okay, at first it was sweet, like "aw, wow, seriously? he really loves this "Samantha" girl/chick, computer, whatever"

But then towards the end, it's like "WTH, are you serious? Get a life, she's a freaken computer!!!"

The dumbest movie I have seen!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Expand
18 of 54 users found this helpful1836
All this user's reviews
3
LINUSSPACEHEADNov 20, 2014
I can't sleep. Who cares right? Maybe I should have a conversation with my latest OS?
I was looking over the critic's reviews and it is truly astonishing how almost all of them are 100% positive and there are no negative reviews listed about
I can't sleep. Who cares right? Maybe I should have a conversation with my latest OS?
I was looking over the critic's reviews and it is truly astonishing how almost all of them are 100% positive and there are no negative reviews listed about this movie. Maybe it's true that they were all paid off as someone suggested. The "Village Voice" had one of the most negative reviews rated at 50% I think. Some of the reader comments are actually insulting and condescending when referring to the critic and others who did not like this piece of garbage deemed oscar worthy. They say young people love it and suggest that older people don't get it because it's about today's high tech evolving world we live in. And of course there are these idiots who comment that they agree with this and then reference that their 5yo grandson knows how to text,use facebook and "everything". So I guess this somehow makes this movie great?
It stunk. I agree with all those who wonder if people who loved this thing were possibly under the influence or payed off.
I also wonder if some critics were afraid to really call it out for the crap it is because of some sort of peer pressure.
It did make me laugh a little at the end. I loved it when the OS dumped that boring, weird, wimpy, self absorbed idiotic man. You GO GIRL!!!
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
FarrelJan 19, 2014
The movie is boring, very boring. It has a modicum of redeeming features but they are thoroughly smothered by the tedious boredom. My wife loved it so be warned that I may simply be a concrete emotionally shallow individual. The movie is aThe movie is boring, very boring. It has a modicum of redeeming features but they are thoroughly smothered by the tedious boredom. My wife loved it so be warned that I may simply be a concrete emotionally shallow individual. The movie is a science fiction romantic drama set in a time where operating systems and artificial intelligence have developed so far that one can have a relationship with one's operating system. The movie explores the Utopian and dystopian consequences and compares and contrasts them with the current human status quo that we are all currently familiar with.

1 part comedy
2 parts fascinating computer science fiction exploration
1 part beautiful design (beautiful workplace, interesting elevators, nice apartments)
2 parts good acting
2 parts lush cinematographic city scapes.
126 parts excruciatingly boring emotional schmaltz that just goes on and on.

Unquestionably, the two highlights were: 1) the Toblerone chocolate triangle my friend gave me and 2) the end when I got to walk out.
Expand
12 of 21 users found this helpful129
All this user's reviews
3
victoratorJan 22, 2014
If I were to describe this movie with two words it would be: boring and stupid. Yes, stupid.
The plot makes you want to get up and walk out of the cinema after 10 minutes... The main character is such a dumb guy. 3/10 for Scarlett's voice,
If I were to describe this movie with two words it would be: boring and stupid. Yes, stupid.
The plot makes you want to get up and walk out of the cinema after 10 minutes... The main character is such a dumb guy. 3/10 for Scarlett's voice, nothing else. What a disappointment.
Expand
12 of 22 users found this helpful1210
All this user's reviews
0
motoleaseFeb 7, 2014
I DO believe all these people giving the movie HER good reviews have ALL been paid off!!! Either that or on drugs! Absolutely the most boring thing you will ever suffer through. The end also has no explanation and is just pointless, leavingI DO believe all these people giving the movie HER good reviews have ALL been paid off!!! Either that or on drugs! Absolutely the most boring thing you will ever suffer through. The end also has no explanation and is just pointless, leaving you not knowing anymore than when it started! He's depressed then happy, and this goes back and forth continually. Very depressing and dull. Nothing happening in this boring ride, he goes to work and stares off into space, comes home and stares off into space. Was a waste of the actors time just waking up to go to the studio! They rated this as number one above all movies currently playing. A LIE!!! I've seen most playing and there are some really good action movies, very entertaining stuff right now. This is not better than all of them. These critics are bought off and I would bet money on it! This doesn't deserve to even be on a list. Should do the world a favor and burn every copy of this thing now, before it spreads!!! Expand
10 of 20 users found this helpful1010
All this user's reviews
0
fearmearApr 30, 2014
At first I was like "WOW", but then all my expectations were crashed.
Also I discovered metacritic's critics somehow managed to rank this **** 90 points, while MUCH SUPERIOR Mr. Nobody got 63. GTFO and DIE "critics".
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
0
konjiki7Jan 26, 2014
There are few times in my life where I have ever regretted anything this happens to be one of them. While sitting in the theater I realized what the movie was trying to achieve. In fact it tried so hard at times it was comical which took awayThere are few times in my life where I have ever regretted anything this happens to be one of them. While sitting in the theater I realized what the movie was trying to achieve. In fact it tried so hard at times it was comical which took away from the experience. I reached a point where amusement was found outside of its intended purpose.

It was the most emotionless emotionally movie I've seen to date. Character development seemed rushed and the concept of time was very jumbled. This movie made me realize how good a couple of Japanese shows/movies I saw 10 years ago that tackled this same idea and pulled it of masterly.

The date that chose the movie was by far less amused. She found concept interesting but the execution painful. At the very least it did give us both something to talk about even though i'm sure we both wished we had been doing something else with the hours we burned.
Expand
14 of 29 users found this helpful1415
All this user's reviews
1
apollodorusJan 16, 2014
What is good about this film: the cool pants and the guy from Parks and Recreation. What is bad: everything else. I'm astounded that it has received such positive reviews. Most of these reviews focus on the poignancy and believability of theWhat is good about this film: the cool pants and the guy from Parks and Recreation. What is bad: everything else. I'm astounded that it has received such positive reviews. Most of these reviews focus on the poignancy and believability of the characters. Joacquin Phoenix plays a great, solipsistic loser who lives only by constructing around himself a world of sentiment borrowed from how he imagines other people feel. Scarlett Johansson plays a Manic Pixie Dream Girl in the form of an intelligent operating system. The only line of real poignancy is delivered by Joacquin's character's (his name is Theodore Trombley-- could anything softer and more milquetoast be invented?) ex-wife: they are perfect for each other. Neither of them are anything close to real people, but the viewer is subjected to a long romantic scenes in which this putz courts his cell phone. If you are like me, you will laugh and cry, but not when the movie wants you to. I imagine that it is so highly rated either because its audience is narrow and self-selecting, or because most of those who see it quickly want to forget it. I can't explain it otherwise. Expand
14 of 30 users found this helpful1416
All this user's reviews
0
ColinHeicoFeb 4, 2014
"There's a dead cat by the bed, choke me with it!" "I uhhh, wrap the dead cat's tail around your neck and choke you with it."

This exchange happens maybe 15 minutes into the movie. Surely you'd think this is pretty much the lowest a movie
"There's a dead cat by the bed, choke me with it!" "I uhhh, wrap the dead cat's tail around your neck and choke you with it."

This exchange happens maybe 15 minutes into the movie. Surely you'd think this is pretty much the lowest a movie can sink, the most awful and pitiful a movie could have to offer. After watching this, I envy your naievity. I went partially based on reading reviews on this site stating it was good; reviews on this site are dead to me because I refuse to believe anyone but a paid schill would give this movie a positive review. I went partially based on seeing the Spike Jonze short movie "I'm Here" knowing he could make a touching movie. This was a complete disappointment on every level. This movie has dethroned The Blair Witch Project as the worst movie I've seen in theaters. Do not see this movie, it is simply the worst.

The characters are wooden and un-relatable, with the main character the worst of all. The dialog is as natural as a packing peanut, with robot girl constantly stating I AM HAVING FEELINGS, THERE AREN'T WORDS FOR ALL THESE FEELINGS I AM FEELING! The romance never suspends your disbelief and makes the Anakin-Padme romance seem like Shakespeare by comparison. The only emotions this movie inspires are pity and disgust. If you made a drinking game of take a shot every time the main character stares into space as though it's supposed to be meaningful, you would leave the theater beyond hammered. There was so much potential in this premise and every ounce of it wasted. DO NOT WATCH THIS MOVIE!
Expand
8 of 20 users found this helpful812
All this user's reviews
1
traveljunkieJan 31, 2014
A wonderful, creative story completely spoiled in typical Hollywood fashion by gratuitous, completely unnecessary vulgar language and lewd sex scenes throughout designed no doubt to increase ticket sales to the 17 year old audience.A wonderful, creative story completely spoiled in typical Hollywood fashion by gratuitous, completely unnecessary vulgar language and lewd sex scenes throughout designed no doubt to increase ticket sales to the 17 year old audience. Obviously, not too many older people are reviewing this movie. I've rarely seen so many people walk out in the middle of a movie to get their money back. Spike Jones is obviously raking in millions to his personal fortune while infecting our youth with incredibly destructive values. Expand
6 of 15 users found this helpful69
All this user's reviews
0
dierregiMay 6, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "Her" boils down to sad sack, emotionally challenged Theodore, sort of "falling" for his OS Samantha and masturbating to her voice, then they break up - actually, Samantha dumps him, just like a real girl would.

Hardly a romantic concept and more the story of a guy unable to handle real life and disappointments, and finding solace in his imaginary world.

Actually, Theodore's "love" seemed to be hardly more than disguised lust, as proved by an early scene with him getting in touch with sleepless females to masturbate with their "encouragement". Maybe because I always found phone sex slightly ridiculous, I saw in Theodore's cyber sex nothing more than an evolution of the old "sex with a stranger" concept. What Theodore seemed to be looking for was attention, adoration and sexual solace from a female creature, existing only to take care of his needs and asking for nothing in return. It is hard to think about a more selfish form of "love".....

Besides, the concept of falling in love with unreachable people (being them rock stars or imaginary creatures) is nothing new. What is new is the technological support we have at our disposal, which encourages us to do so, thus avoiding all the inconveniences of a real relationships.

A couple of plus points of an otherwise boring movie were the atmospheric soundtrack and the interesting photography and costumes - drab enough to look like real clothes, rather than futuristic uniforms.
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
2
pimpimMay 29, 2014
The stupidest movie I've ever seen, a perfect non sense with trendy lightning and clothes. A confusion chase the previous one in a world were technology is simply magic, avoiding every possible reflection about human perception ofThe stupidest movie I've ever seen, a perfect non sense with trendy lightning and clothes. A confusion chase the previous one in a world were technology is simply magic, avoiding every possible reflection about human perception of relationships. I've been waiting until the ending for any hints of thoughts about what defines a computer and what defines a human being, how they could eventually interact or look like each other.
But noting happened there except teenage absurdity, let's see how this movie grows old in the next decades.
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
2
moisarasJun 19, 2014
I just signed up here to tell someone about what just happened!
Started watching the movie, 30 minutes later I couldn't believe this was a real movie, I was almost sure it was a (bad) joke, and I checked the reviews here at Metacritic.
I
I just signed up here to tell someone about what just happened!
Started watching the movie, 30 minutes later I couldn't believe this was a real movie, I was almost sure it was a (bad) joke, and I checked the reviews here at Metacritic.
I give this movie 0.5 points for the laughs I got from reading the real reviews (i.e. the ones below 3) -- thank you all!
I also give it another 0.5 points because this movie actually gets worse as time goes by - a very difficult achievement, seriously.
And finally, another 1 point for confirming to me how many simple people exist on this poor planet, including most professional movie reviewers..
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
3
supermanologyJan 26, 2014
This was a very peculiar film, and incited the most curious of movie viewers. There is a difference between how the movie was made and why it was made. The linear and chronological nature of the film are very well orchestrated. Arcade FireThis was a very peculiar film, and incited the most curious of movie viewers. There is a difference between how the movie was made and why it was made. The linear and chronological nature of the film are very well orchestrated. Arcade Fire does a superb job of writing the musical score. The, almost, minimalist emotional impressions throughout the film connect us to the existential angst of Theodore. We feel lonely, and we feel sad. We feel loved and we feel lost. What made this film unique, however, was the ontological presuppositions towards Samantha. At first, we see her as nothing more than a voice on a computer. Throughout the film, though, her character is developed to more than an answering machine. Samantha is developed to become relatable. Just as we empathize with Theodore, we begin to empathize with Samantha. We begin, oddly, placing her in the category that so vaguely defines what it means to be human. We are unsure of whether or not she belongs there, and can't help but to feel uncertain about our ethical convictions over Theodore's relationship with Samantha. Our decision and interpretation of Samantha depends largely on something we believed before we began the film. Simply, "What does it mean to be human?" If being human can, indeed, boil down to a complex arrangement of algorithms and syntax, then Samantha should feel very human to us. If being human, however, is defined by metaphysical uniqueness as well as physical attribute and chemical processes then Samantha's desire to be viewed as human as you and I will come as an awkward surprise. Although I believe the film implies the first, it is our presupposition which inevitably determines our understanding and acceptability of Samantha. Expand
5 of 13 users found this helpful58
All this user's reviews
1
jdmarcJan 16, 2014
I loathed this movie. I do not fault the fine actors in this disaster, but this movie is proof that nothing can compensate for a stupid storyline. Sitting through this was absolute torture.
12 of 32 users found this helpful1220
All this user's reviews
0
rankFeb 8, 2014
How can I write a negative score on this thing? Spike Joneze is an IDIOT. i don't believe this piece of garbage is up for an award. You people who like this so much have got to be on something strong. This movie SUCKED! It actually pissed meHow can I write a negative score on this thing? Spike Joneze is an IDIOT. i don't believe this piece of garbage is up for an award. You people who like this so much have got to be on something strong. This movie SUCKED! It actually pissed me off how STUPID it was. And I'll see just about anything and try and find something good about it, except maybe maybe some of that vin diesal fast and the furious ridiculousness. Some people are even calling this a romantic comedy...WHAT!!! you must be stoned out of your mind. The people who liked this so much are probably the ones I see staring at their cell phones all day long. if you where one of the people who saw this in the previews and said that looks stupid but it might be kind of interesting, do yourself a favor and go with your first intuition. This must be a JOKE. Spike Joneze (get over yourself by the way) who calls them self Spike.He was probably sitting somewhere thinking, lets see if i can make the public eat this one, I'll feed it to them and they'll think it's good. To sum it up..PAINFUL, SORRY, an a WASTE. I've lost respect for anyone involved in this...piece of GARBAGE Expand
6 of 16 users found this helpful610
All this user's reviews
2
dlldllFeb 10, 2014
The most shallow, cringe-worthy film I've seen in a few years. Well, since Avatar. It is one of those embarrassingly thin visions of the future. It is also a philosophical disaster as the makers clearly haven't thought through the littleThe most shallow, cringe-worthy film I've seen in a few years. Well, since Avatar. It is one of those embarrassingly thin visions of the future. It is also a philosophical disaster as the makers clearly haven't thought through the little vision which is the basis of the film--consciousness in computer form. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
3
szilardFeb 16, 2014
Synopsis: Uninteresting people talk about themselves, endlessly. One of them is a computer program.

I guess I missed a big red flag: the main character is a *writer*, and writers writing about writers are almost always going to disappear
Synopsis: Uninteresting people talk about themselves, endlessly. One of them is a computer program.

I guess I missed a big red flag: the main character is a *writer*, and writers writing about writers are almost always going to disappear up their own fundaments.

The best thing about the movie is the near-ish future LA cityscape. It looks like a really nice place to live, physically, a huge city of graceful buildings and spaces. Much too good for the people we meet - the city has evolved into something quite wonderful, but the pallid low-rent Eloi inhabitants have been left behind.

The situation cries out for some Moorlocks! Perhaps all the interesting people have turned troglodyte, driven underground by their refusal to conform to the dominant high-waisted trouser fashion; or something.

Anyway, that notion of the people we meet not being good enough for their city, which was actually my main take-away from this movie, does kind of fit with the denouement, in which the computer program character transcends away from Phoenix's uninteresting writer character. Maybe that was supposed to be the point: our creations will outstrip us & leave us behind. But don't think so.

and perhaps there's a whole bunch of interesting people living in it, but unfortunately we don't get to meet them.

The ones we do meet don't deserve to live there, despite their cool near-ish future high-waisted trousers,
Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
0
BaronVonTangSep 23, 2014
Ever seen a movie that's so bad when it pops back up in your memory you get angry? I saw this movie in theaters about a year ago, and something reminded me of it today, and I, instantly, got pissed off. This may very well be the worst movie IEver seen a movie that's so bad when it pops back up in your memory you get angry? I saw this movie in theaters about a year ago, and something reminded me of it today, and I, instantly, got pissed off. This may very well be the worst movie I have ever seen, like, not even exaggerating, not even a little bit.

Now, I'm not one of these people that just hates on Spike Jonze, I mean, I don't really think he's worthy of the constant attention he gets, but I thought Adaptation was a really well put together film; everything else he's done is kind of meh; but this movie, dear god, this movie.

It's so unnecessarily pretentious: it's deliberately slow paced and the characters are deliberately unappealing to draw out the "reality" of the situations; I'm not a fan of this particular approach, I'm definitely a strong advocate for clever stylization over realism, but, there are some occasions that call for the dreary shackles of reality, and some occasions where this works, like when the film is presenting some great truth or some really rich ideas, it can be advantageous to juxtapose that with the tedium of the real world...however there are no great truths here, no rich ideas, there is absolutely nothing profound in this movie to warrant how slow it is.

It's a very bland look at a, somewhat, tired subject: sentient machines and there impact on humanity. Now anyone familiar with, almost, anything to come out of the science fiction genre over the past 80 years or so is very familiar with this subject; hell even if you're not so familiar with the genre you've probably caught a passing episode of Star Trek the Next Generation, played some Megaman or seen, at least, one of the Terminator films or something, so you've, no doubt, come across this theme; it's nothing new, but, apparently, when Spike Jonze does it, it is!

You see, Spike Jonze draws in this pretentious hipster crowd, and these people dismiss science fiction as "genre" and anything that's "genre" is beneath them, because it's not up it's own ass and touting itself as a work of art, (whether it is or isn't is a discussion for another day); so these hipster Jonze fans go and see this movie and are just seeing, or just paying attention to these concepts for the first time and it's mind blowing to them, and when you tell them: "Well, it's nothing new, Phillip K Dick and Kazunori Ito did it a lot better" they just glare at you and make condescending remarks about the circles those particular talents move in.

I was seriously shocked when I left the theater after seeing this film and everyone seemed so enthralled by it, then I looked around and noticed all the skinny jeans(for men) and high waisted skinny jeans (for women), pork pie hats, thick rimmed glasses, ironic mustaches and the occasional bow tie and I was like "ooooooh".

Also, and I just found this out, Arcade Fire did the soundtrack; they're the **** worst.
Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
0
DreadLordAvatarMay 31, 2014
lame. i've tried watching this twice and got so bored i quit -- it seems absolutely pointless, no direction, characters are dimensionless and completely forgettable. I came here to see what others thought, and I cant believe the number oflame. i've tried watching this twice and got so bored i quit -- it seems absolutely pointless, no direction, characters are dimensionless and completely forgettable. I came here to see what others thought, and I cant believe the number of positive reviews. The scene where he has sex with the OS, and we stare of a blank screen - is rock bottom and makes me feel so angry that I even bothered to waste time on this film. Horrible Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
2
kublay0880Jan 27, 2014
Woe, I'm a fan of Joaquin Phoenix but to me this is a very poor movie, I deed believe in his character but the story is very poor, for this reason I agree with everything that konjiki7 said.
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
0
CountvontrollioJan 4, 2015
until i am actually a computer myself how excited am i gonna be about a romantic story between a dude and something he can't even bone, which equates to numerous scenes of a guy talking to himself? not very! reminds me of the spate of lastuntil i am actually a computer myself how excited am i gonna be about a romantic story between a dude and something he can't even bone, which equates to numerous scenes of a guy talking to himself? not very! reminds me of the spate of last man alive in new york movies a few years back. you remove the interaction element and you achieve boredom. yeah raises some interesting thoughts on a hellish future that hopefully can be avoided, like should've happened to this film. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
1
AtomicDogJul 27, 2014
I will be generous and give this a one, but seriously this movie was terrible trash, filled with trite hallmark moments and the most ridiculous love scene of all time - I mean the bloody computer has an orgasm? Come on! The fact that this hasI will be generous and give this a one, but seriously this movie was terrible trash, filled with trite hallmark moments and the most ridiculous love scene of all time - I mean the bloody computer has an orgasm? Come on! The fact that this has been praised to the skies by the mainstream media is as eloquent a statement about how out of touch with reality the media is now. All that liberalism and moral relativity has turned their brains to blended excrement. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
3
FidmarkFeb 18, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I like Spike Jonze and have a lot of time for love stories. I also have faith in the public opinion and generally agree with mainstream critics. I saw the film before I saw the reviews and automatically assumed it would flop massively. The main reason I thought this is because I found the entire film incredibly boring. As far as I can tell the plot is as follows: A recently divorced and fairly wealthy man falls in love with a computer program which is designed to act like a thoughtful woman and creates generic piano muzak for him. He then realizes that he is in love with a piece of software and gets very upset about the whole thing. And that is pretty much it! The plot is pretty much nonexistent.

I am not the type of person who always desires a plot that twists your head and is constructed with dizzying complexity. I enjoy films that are atmospheric, gentle and allow you to get some food for thought without being bombarded with the directors thoughts. This does did not get into my head at all. I found Theodore a very irritating character; very naive and almost like a pubescent teenager, but with a proper moustache. Anti-hero's are fine, over-emotional and predictable bores are not. I couldn't tell if this film was a kind of social commentary about how we are attached to technology too much and have forgotten how to love or just some kind of bizarre love story in which we are supposed to feel empathy for the introverted man who has lost faith in humanity and falls in love with a computer. The whole film is laced with nauseating sickly sweet dialogue about Theodore and his digital concubine while they marvel at people with normal body shapes the beach, listen to shoegazey music and (in the most climactic part of the film) run hilariously and cheekily through a train station. I thought this film shared the same emotional range with The Lady And The Tramp.

I shall pluck some reviews from the endless list of positive ones and watch the film again, perhaps I'll change my mind. Perhaps I'm a coldhearted cynic. Or perhaps this film was just terrible.
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
0
wordfishOct 4, 2015
This is truly a terrible movie on so many levels. To begin with, it crawls along at a snail's pace, relying on long soulful gazes and background music to convey emotion. That is not a wise strategy when the main love interest is a facelessThis is truly a terrible movie on so many levels. To begin with, it crawls along at a snail's pace, relying on long soulful gazes and background music to convey emotion. That is not a wise strategy when the main love interest is a faceless voice.

Next comes the dialogue, which is so vapid and cliche-ridden that it is difficult to distinguish one character from another. It is not that the operating system sounds real so much as that no one else in the film does either. There is not one real individual here -- just a generic male who has generic friends and is going through a generic divorce.(As a side note, I would like to suggest that the phrase "Are you O.K.?" never be used in movies or on TV by anyone ever again).

And that moves my critique on to the story itself. A man falling in love with a computer software system, i.e. regarding such a system as interchangeable with a person, might have been interesting as a theme -- in a comedy. But this is played straight, as a drama, and thus becomes pitiful. Of course, as I said, it's hard to blame the guy when the people around him sound computer-generated as well. But the rest of us know better. We know what real people sound like (and look and feel and smell like).

This is the sort of movie that gets made by people who are too young and unreflective to come up with something original. Too bad for all of us. I urge you to disregard the high praise for this film coming from critics. They should be taken across someone's knee and spanked with a hairbrush for passing this off as anything other than bad.
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
1
ConorHatFeb 18, 2014
Hipster trash with an agenda to sell. Mind numbingly bad movie. This is some really bad joke maybe? I don't know, but Hollywood is on a lot of drugs and it shows.
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
0
pthilFeb 7, 2014
This is my first movie review, inspired by how awful this movie was. I could spend some time but: 1) I already wasted 2 hours on it 2) I've already spewed it all to my wife 3) the other 0-1 rated views here have said it all and adequately.This is my first movie review, inspired by how awful this movie was. I could spend some time but: 1) I already wasted 2 hours on it 2) I've already spewed it all to my wife 3) the other 0-1 rated views here have said it all and adequately. First time to not be enthralled by Amy Adams. Endless shots of a BIg City with Big Buildings. One final peave, why the shot of steam (that looks like smoke) come out of a manhole cover in a warm climate (woman with sleeveless dress in the same scene) Expand
3 of 32 users found this helpful329
All this user's reviews
0
dsj556Dec 30, 2014
Dude has some relationship with his computer. If you want to bang Siri then you will love this movie. People think this is the evolution of technology but in reality we all know that when technology tries to "talk" to us it is a program.Dude has some relationship with his computer. If you want to bang Siri then you will love this movie. People think this is the evolution of technology but in reality we all know that when technology tries to "talk" to us it is a program. Do people speak nicely to their GPS when it says to turn around? Seriously a horrible idea for movie and a complete waste of time. Expand
1 of 20 users found this helpful119
All this user's reviews
3
sidonhJan 6, 2015
As someone in their early twenties who spends most of the day on a computer, I felt oddly terrified while watching and felt the urge to gather a few friends and go outside.

It's the ultimate desire of any emotionally immature person: the
As someone in their early twenties who spends most of the day on a computer, I felt oddly terrified while watching and felt the urge to gather a few friends and go outside.

It's the ultimate desire of any emotionally immature person: the creation of an echo chamber, the realization of someone you created yourself to suit you without bothering with any of the 'empathy' and 'communication' parts that include talking to a real person.

Starting from the beginning: the protagonist seems like the typical artsy romantic who refuses to mature and sees any contradictory discussion as a personal attack. In response to his loneliness and desire to share a connection to someone, he creates the personality of 'Her'. It snowballs from there. Free tip: When your computer has a more active social life than you do, it's time to go outside.

Had this movie acknowledged how disturbing their relationship was evolving, beyond a few words from the ex-wife, this would have been a great movie. Had the protagonist LEARNED something from this about the nature of humankind, his own flaws and assumed responsibility for his own situations, this would have been a great movie. Instead, it was all played straight and slightly disturbing. Yes, why work at a relationship when we could all create our perfect someones and just spend all of our time with them?

Credit where it's due: the scenery is lovely. The music is more than wonderful. The performances are great for the material. But if you want something with a similar tone, but where the main character sees what he was doing wrong, just watch Ruby Sparks.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
tjaartJun 10, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really like Joaquin Phoenix. In this movie he is a sad hipster going through a divorce, who falls in love with his artificially intelligent operating system. He plays the part of a depressed hipster loser very well, so props to him for that.
Thinking that this will be a score for me, a sci-fi fan and my wife, a romance fan, I picked this movie for us to watch. What I didn't expect was for the movie to fail so badly at doing both genres. Being the nice guy that I am, I watch the occasional romance movie with my wife, and some of them are pretty good. The Vow was a sad movie with hipsters bohemians that I really liked. The Rebound was a romantic comedy I couldn't help liking.

One thing that makes a romance succeed is if the characters have actual personalities. The sad panda protagonist seems to have a personality that makes us want to commit suicide on his behalf, and the OS he falls in love with, Samantha, is just too perfect in every way. The first thing this hyper intelligent AI wants to do when it is switched on is have a relationship with its owner. Pretty weird. Even weirder is that it never really shows how they fall in love. In the world of romance this is a big no no. The moment the couple falls in love is integral in the story. Way to screw that up Jonze. I guess expecting more from the writer of Jackass was a wrong thing to do.

On to the sci-fi bit. The sci-fi in this movie is so utterly pathetic it made me want to cry. It is a fact that the occulus rift exists today. It is quite a wonder that the only solution that the lovers have to meet (and this was the hyper intelligent AI's idea) was to get some random chick off the internet to pretend to be her. You would think that by the time we can build AI capable of naming themselves we would be able to simulate touch in a virtual environment or at least be able to make a passable fembot. The movie pretends that robotics and virtual reality never existed to create an alternate hipster future where you are stuck with an even smaller screen in your awkward hipster shirt pocket where people are constantly mumbling to their computers on the bus. In fact the whole thing views like a hipster male iPhone sex fantasy based on the Siri character. Besides falling in love, the only thing this AI seems to be able to do is send and sort e-mails, make tea and transcend known physics to leave you without an operating system on your computer. And we thought Windows was awful!

The movie in general is so full of the ideal hipster world, which should rightly be called a hellish dystopia of mid 20th century style mixed with people who seem depressed and bored with their lives, divorcing each other because of where you should put your shoes when you come into the house. I know where I want to put my shoe: right up Jonze's backside for writing such a bad screenplay and torturing me with hipster dystopia for 122 minutes.

Towards the end, and in no way am I ruining this movie for you, the AI suddenly decides to bugger off with its friends leaving our depressed meatbag alone. He and his recently divorced friend go up onto a rooftop, and a glimmer of hope twinkled in my eye when I thought that they would commit suicide because their operating systems left them. Unfortunately it just ends there. You don't end a romance movie with an unresolved question like "do the hipster losers hook up" and given that you have molested sci-fi and romance, the least you could do is offer a consolation prize of a kiss between the hipster losers. But nay. It just ends like that.

The movie is a desperate attempt to offer social commentary and to be deep, but it even fails at that. There is no moral of the story, and there is no resolution to the protagonist's dilemma of being a lonely hipster with poor fashion sense.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
KeithbelsonOct 10, 2015
This has to be the absolute worst excuse for a movie or story that I have ever seen! No real plot. Lousy dialogue. Bad language. I just cannot believe that anyone could actually sit through the whole thing. I mean sometimes I have perserveredThis has to be the absolute worst excuse for a movie or story that I have ever seen! No real plot. Lousy dialogue. Bad language. I just cannot believe that anyone could actually sit through the whole thing. I mean sometimes I have perservered with a bad film just to see what happens at the end, but with this movie I just don't care. It's just not worth the effort. I cannot understand why this movie has been made. Talk about a waste of money. Can't believe any of these reviews with a score over 3. My score is zero but I would like to give it less. Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
0
pdw123Sep 19, 2016
This has to be the absolute "worst film that ever won an Oscar" category EVER! Okay, the operating system slash girlfriend that tells you you're great and kisses your butt, what??? How about the opposite is true, "You can't love someone thatThis has to be the absolute "worst film that ever won an Oscar" category EVER! Okay, the operating system slash girlfriend that tells you you're great and kisses your butt, what??? How about the opposite is true, "You can't love someone that just kisses your butt!" LOVE relationships ARE supposed to be about growth and challenge, which this film and its stereotypical hackneyed romance plot provided by no means. I noticed the film started off interestingly enough, with a guy who needs an operating system for a "conscience" or a "god figure" (probably for about only the 1st 10 minutes really) AND perhaps this would've been a much more interesting plot line to pursue. However, it devolved so hurriedly into a sappy, romantic mess that I didn't care and should've quit at the half hour point. And, Scarlett Johansson certainly took it and ran here as well, the $$$$$$ anyway. DO NOT WASTE ANY TIME WITH THIS SUPPOSED ACADEMY WINNER! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews