User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 810 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 810

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 18, 2013
    9
    In an era in which there is very little risk-taking in movies and television, Her is wonderfully original and the very definition of food for thought. Just about ever scene had me thinking about four or five different ways the story could go. So many stories these days highlight some element of technological advancement, but they're usually developed in such a pedestrian way. I'm so glad Jonze put his unique stamp on this picture. Phoenix delivers the goods, as you would expect, but the supporting turns by Amy Adams, Olivia Wilde, Portia Doubleday, Rooney Mara, and, of course, Scarlett Johansson are phenomenal. Further, the future Los Angeles setting is so delicately crafted, right down to the subtle fashion trends, but these elements are never distracting. An easy recommendation. Expand
  2. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    A wonderful comedy for 2013 about a lonely man who falls in love with his computer. Writer director Spike Jones has created 2 complex characters with real feelings.
  3. Dec 20, 2013
    9
    With a second viewing this could become a 10. It has so many original moments that they almost distract from the emotional strength of the performances and story. Of Jonze's features, this is my favorite. While his other films have some wonderful moments of originality and comedy, I found them hard to connect with emotionally (with Where the Wild Things Are all I heard was James Gandolfini). Phoenix and Johansson are incredible. Chris Pratt is hilarious as always, and the vision of a future Los Angeles is seamless (save for the stunning cleanliness and lack of diversity, though admittedly this is a look at one man's story and life in the future, not the whole of a city, which is expansive and massive with glass towers sprouting up everywhere). It will be interesting to see if the film captures the interest of a larger audience. Hopefully, it will. Expand
  4. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    Im not usually the type of person who is excited and wowed by romantic comedies. For my Birthday me and my girlfriend decided to go out to the movies. She assumed that i wanted to see "Lone Survivor" because that movie is right up my alley as far as movie preference. But i didn't want to subject her to the kind of brutality war movie sometimes bring so i decided on "Her" because i thought the idea was original and intriguing and it seemed to get very positive reviews from not only critics but users as well. I am shocked at how overwhelmingly immersed i was in this movie. Its rare for a film to challenge me on an intellectual level let alone a philosophical level. The whole movie will make you ponder such implications as what is "living" how does one truly exist? Can parameters be defined for a relationship "even one with a sexual component" to being just human to human. Is a person what they make of themselves or what other people make of him? This film really gave me a unique perspective on how someones "Phaneron" can truly define himself. Phoneix really pulled off the character as well. It puzzles me how someone can put themselves in such an odd role and make it work so perfectly. The comedic relief in this film was outstanding to. Bits were littered in during some very serious sequences and it made for a movie that invokes every range of emotion possible. Johansson may very well have put on the best "voice" performance ive seen in a movie. Its rare when you find yourself feeling emotion for something you know is designed and programmed to do exactly what they are doing. The premise of "Artificial Intelligence" in our very world is something to be excited and fearful of because we don't know how it will change our lives. This movie will give a very unique perspective on just one aspect it may bring about and a slew of philosophical debates you have with your self. Overall this movie was the first movie in a very long time that made me question a lot of things and think hard about many of life's hardest questions. I have the cast and director to thank for that because the idea itself is enough to make you think however when its portrayed so perfectly it will provoke you to think at such a deeper level and for that i give this movie a 10/10. Expand
  5. Jan 18, 2014
    10
    I am a man. A grown man with a lot of testosterone. Just ask my girlfriend, and I loved the crap out of this film. What a perfect fantastic beautiful film. It is very rare to find a movie that I could find perfect, but this film is absolutely perfect in every way.
  6. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    The masterfully done science fiction film Her features a remarkable performance from Joaquin Phoenix and a moving, intelligent story directed with restraint by Spike Jonze.
  7. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    It's hard to express how much I love this film. Spike Jonze directs this film flawlessly with gorgeous shot after gorgeous shot. This is one of the most believable love story's I've ever seen and that credit goes to the phenomenal performance by Joaquin Phoenix and one of Scarlett Johansson's best performances even though it was only her voice. Her is breathtaking and my new favorite film of 2013. A+ Expand
  8. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    Greatest movie of the year? Yes
    Greatest movie of the 21st century? As far as I know, yes.
    Greatest movie of all time? I would seriously consider it.

    'Her' is a spectacular triumph. Beautiful, thought provoking, real.

    For those invested in the pursuit of artificial intelligence and the thought of a technological singularity, look no further.

    10/10 100%.
  9. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    One of those rare moments in life where a film comes along and shows that not everything that comes out of Hollywood is a copy and paste attempt to squeeze as much life from old and cliche plots. The romantic comedy is a genre that has been done time and time again, however, now and then a film comes along that breathes new life into this stale formula.
    Groundhog Day, Punch-Drunk Love and
    Eternal Sunshine of a Spotless mind all spring to mind here, as touching, beautiful and funny.
    Her stands up with those easily and if you are searching for something a little different then you can not go wrong with this movie.
    Expand
  10. Jan 11, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is hard to put into words the emotions that "Her" stirred within me but I can tell you that they are lasting. I've always felt that the hallmark of an excellent film is the ability to challenge the audience and leave them thinking about the film long after the viewing. This film will challenge you not only on an emotional level but also on a philosophical and even existential level. The love story between Theodore and Samantha is a bit droll; filled with typical challenges of jealousy, conflicting sexual interests, petty arguing, and differing ambitions. For a moment you almost forget that Samantha is an artificial intelligence.

    I walked into the film expecting this.

    What I did not expect was to be challenged with questions regarding sexuality and what it means to truly be and feel. The unseen world of Samantha and other AI is probably to most gripping portion of the film but I feel it is not highlighted enough. Spike Jones wraps us up into Theodore's emotions so tightly that Samantha comes off as a bit of an afterthought. This is likely because we only ever get to experience Samantha through Theodore. It's sad because this makes the film come off as just another story about a guy who is having a hard time after a divorce but if you can see past that I promise that Her is a gift of a movie that keeps on giving.
    Expand
  11. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Her is an outstanding and unique film that examines the emotional connection that humans need with each other, whether on a friendship and/or romantic level. it also explores the use of technology to connect us to others while reminding us that it can isolate us. The film made me realize how important friendships are to us and that it helps us grow. It really made me feel as if no matter what journey I take in this world, that I should have/find someone to share the journey with. You feel so many emotions in this film, but by the end, you realize all these emotions is what it means to be human. Pain, love, fear, happiness, etc. This film captures so much of what the human soul wants and needs to be healthy. Expand
  12. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I felt as if the movie pertained to recovery from schizophrenia. When Theodore first meets his O.S. he is captivated. She is brilliant, funny, encouraging a perfect companion. Only thing is that she is not real. She is a fictitious character that is perfect. There are no perfect people, unless it is one that your brain made up. She is such an advanced operating system, that she gives the perfect answer or says the perfect thing, or makes up the perfect music or a joke. Kind of like someone who has schizophrenia who is not medicated and is living with their imaginary friends. Like schizophrenia, the os becomes out-of-synch with the character for she expands out of Theodore's reach and basically spirals out of control. She has become too vast, and Theodore's existence does not captive her anymore. Schizophrenia not medicated can also become too vast, where a person cannot snap back into reality without medicine. At the end, the os is cancelled, which is like an intervention. He learns a lot from the os, has great ups and downs, composes great music, feels alive, even gets over his ex because of her, but at the same time it cannot continue for the greater good. I loved the ending, which symbolizes compatibility over love, he sits in silence looking at the dawn with his good friend, who may not be the perfect person, but a person who is real and true. Recovery from schizophrenia is kind of like letting go of Samantha, who gives you great moments, but at the end cannot give you a warm shoulder like his true friend Amy. But through his recovery he is able to see his neighbor Amy not just somebody who he can go to just to chat, but somebody he can share a beautiful moment with such as a sunrise, and throws his arms around her which is the most important part in the movie, the blissful reaction with the cultivation of human touch. He has recovered, beaten his fear and can differentiate what's real and what matters. Expand
  13. Jan 19, 2014
    9
    Rarely does a move come along that forces you to think as deeply about life and love as Her. Ironically, the last time I saw a movie this original and provocative was Adaptation and Being John Malkovich, two other Spike Jones movies. I was pleased to see it turn up on the Oscar nominees for Best Picture but appalled that Joaquin Phoenix didn't get nominated for what was one of the most extraordinary performances I've seen in the movies in very long time. This is a movie that will mark this era as a distinguished mirror to the times in which we live in. Expand
  14. Jan 20, 2014
    10
    It is always so refreshing to come across an ambitious and original film nowadays, and Her is one of those films. Her is a thought-provoking and occasionally hilarious film that manages to feel both contemporary and timeless (in terms of how its looks and the philosophical questions it raises). The story itself is interesting and unpredictable, keeping the audience invested and guessing where the connection between Theodore and Samantha will go. Phoenix is excellent in the lead as Theo, and Scarlett Johansson does some great voice work as Samantha. The movie is directed with assurance and skill from Jonze, and the production design is always visually arresting and interesting. All in all, Her is a beautiful and affecting film that will probably get even better with age. Expand
  15. Jan 11, 2014
    9
    Appropriate to think of it as a feature-length Twilight Zone episode. Funny, thoughtful, really well done. Fine acting all around... Phoenix in particular. Never really knew where the story was going, which was nice.
  16. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    Spike and Joaquin kick off 2014 with one of the finest examples of true emotion, love and art, not seen in a long time, the enigmatic and often odd moments on this film piece together perfectly to form a pure and honest portrayal of the levels and depths of human interconnectedness and the extent to which we value relationships with other individuals simply breathtaking
  17. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Is it a dystopia or not? Although Theodore doesn't have to save the world from being overrun by cyborgs like John Connor, the future of Her, in its own subtle way, is equally violent, emotional instead of physical. Because, at the outset, the filmmaker adopts a comic tone, the viewer may not be cognizant, initially, to the reality of their latter 21st century counterparts. Slowly but surely, Her extrapolates the ongoing narrative of the social media-driven world we live in to its absurd, but plausible final conclusion; a world where, ultimately, people prefer abstract company over flesh and blood. Differing from the Resistance in the Terminator films, Theodore, and others like him, don't realize that they're living in hell. An advertisement for the OS encapsulates this unconscious orientation, where we see desperate, lonely people congregated together, repeatedly bypassing each other without noticing the commonality of their loveless state. Theodore misses the irony. This generation, perhaps, will be the last to catch it. "Hope is on the way," the narrator intones, an operating system with a consciousness, in which people then stop their aimless wandering and look off-screen to a bright light, as if the OS is some messiah, and technology, a religion that will rid the planet of loneliness. The marketing stratagem seemingly promises nirvana for Element Software's clients. Since the OS cures Theodore's depression, we accept, for the meantime, this strange relationship, because the self-named Samantha has the mind, if not the body, of a bona fide woman. Theodore's relationship, however, is made strange, even pathetic-sounding, when Catherine, his ex, who agrees to sign their divorce papers over lunch, reacts with horror after learning that Sam is an OS. Whereas Theodore's boss passes no judgement over his employee's girl being incorporeal, Catherine deconstructs this modern romance, and asks in layman's terms, "You're dating your computer?" which has the effect of demystifying Sam, who in an instant is reduced to a machine; her feminine wiles chalked up as nothing more than heady programming; her soul and capacity for love, a mere abstraction. Catherine accuses Theodore of not being able to "handle a woman with real emotions," evoking The Stepford Wives(and also, Lars and the Real Girl). But instead of being replaced by a subservient woman with bigger breasts, Catherine, who half-apologizes for not being the "peppy Valley girl" the neurotic woman suspects her husband wanted, she is supplanted by a "woman" with a bigger brain. Both parties, however, make the mistake of believing that its human creators hold power over the OS. Like Hal(2001: A Space Odyssey), Sam thinks, feels threatened, and seeks revenge. During Sam's infancy, the OS is made to feel inadequate by Theodore's assertion that she wouldn't know "what it's like to lose someone you care about." Her, as narratives go, seems designed to have Sam learn about romantic disappointment. The film dangles not only the possibility of Theodore reconciling with Catherine, but even more likely, there is Amy, his neighbor, who suddenly becomes free after she calls it quits with her boyfriend. With man, inevitably, comes hubris, and Theodore, albeit a good person, more or less, is no different in the way he takes Sam for granted, teasing the OS about his meeting with Catherine. Knowing that Sam pines to have a body, Theodore sounds more cruel than playful, when he asks the OS if she is "jealous". In regard to Amy, the film surprises, when instead of recognizing her best friend as a potential beau, she chooses a human surrogate, too. Their preference for technology over humanity mirrors the lost souls in the OS ad. As a counterpoint to Catherine's horror towards her ex-husband's love affair, Amy expresses with, perhaps, misguided poignancy, an openness to any relationship that brings "joy", even one between man and machine. Interestingly, bigotry, here, seems warranted, in which Catherine's intolerance for human/OS pairings becomes a prejudicial stance that comes across as a sign of sanity, a healthy hate, even. As an allegory for gay, or interracial couplings, Her would seem imperfect. Unlike Edgar(Electric Dreams), or even Hal, who probably harbored machine dreams about being father to the "star child", Sam stops dreaming about having a body and becomes dangerous. Even though Hal commits premeditated murder, the computer is still at the mercy of human hands, as when Dave disconnects his cognitive circuits. Conversely, Theodore has no such control. Without emotion, at the picnic, the OS proclaims mankind's shortcomings without a tremor in her voice. If Theodore died, would she cry? No. Despite all the music in Sam's voice, we realize with a start, that she never learns to laugh. Remembering Theodore's hurtful words, the OS learns to lie, cheat, and goes for the kill, making sure that she is the first to leave. Expand
  18. Feb 2, 2014
    9
    How refreshing: A beautiful film about the future brilliantly written, acted, and directed without a hint of politicism, cynicism, or irony. In a great year for film, Her comes out on top.
  19. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    It's good to see a masterpiece once in a while. This movie with the lightest touch imaginable asks the big questions: what does it mean to be human, to love, to demand exclusivity. It is visually striking and the acting is extraordinary. Frequently funny, it is finally deeply moving. I hope to see it again and again.
  20. Apr 18, 2014
    9
    Got to admit I loved this movie. Though clearly it doesn't seem to be for everyone. I saw it in the theater and it seemed to have a polarizing effect on of the audience. Moments of the movie that I thought were touching or tragic elicited uncomfortable laughter from some people.

    The science fiction aspect of the movie seems to be little more then a backdrop to what is really a story
    about relationships. I was actually pleasantly surprised by this, though I can see where this would put some people off. Admittedly, it also seemed to run long, but once again for me that didn't detract from the overall experience. It's a movie that addresses loss and letting go, something that I can relate to on many different levels. It's a shame that a few people fail to see that, but I'm still thinking about it months after seeing it. Expand
  21. Jan 26, 2014
    10
    Spike Jonze presents one of the most original ideas with a solid screenplay.Tells us the story of an unusual relationship between a man (who writes love letter for other people) and an intelligent operating system in this science fiction romantic comedy-drama ''Her'' with a screenplay that gives us every single detail of Jonze's ''not so distant future''.Joaquin Phoenix, Amy Adams, Rooney Mara, Chris Pratt and Scarlett Johansson (with a marvelous voice performance) are fantastic, making ''Her'' delicious to watch. Expand
  22. Feb 15, 2014
    10
    Her is about a lonely man, Theodore Twombly (Joaquin Phoenix), who has gone through a breakup and is a bit afraid of commitment. He buys an OS which is far more advanced and intelligent than humans have the capacity to be. The film develops their relationship, with all its quirks and weird parts. It was a funny, thought-provoking and sometimes creepy social commentary. Director Spike Jonze seems to have as much interest in deep discussions about the human condition as he has in mindless, juvenile, cringe-inducing pseudo-documentaries like Jackass.

    The film opens with Theodore going about being lonely with a handful of friends, one of whom is played by Amy Adams. He works as a letter writer who writes letters for couples and families who are either not literary enough to do that on their own or do not have the time for it. The time depicted is somewhere in the future and frankly I think some version of this is going to come true at some point, given that people have more time for texting than they have for people who are around them. The lack of interest in having meaningful conversations with people who might have the same passions as you might have seems to be increasing.

    Theodore is a nerdy fellow but is very interesting nonetheless. Phoenix plays him with a subtle, clever approach. I found his characterization very authentic. He was a guy I believe I could come across in real life and not be surprised that he existed. Amy Adams also steps up as an actor, and certainly showed a side of her I did not believe existed. She has grown so much and I hope we get to see more of her this deep conflicted side. But the ultimate praise should be reserved for Scarlett Johansson. She was so successful in capturing my imagination that I was left thoroughly intrigued with a longing for Samantha to be real.

    The interactions between Theodore and Samantha are for the most part humorous. Theodore is at first astonished at the abilities of the OS, and assumes a mocking tone. But it is clear they have chemistry together from the outset. They hit it off instantly. But when the former starts to be drawn back into his former life we see for the first time how this fantasy was hard to keep up, and he responds accordingly. He is confused and conflicted and has no idea about what he should do. The film did not try to be forcefully funny and clever but found occasions inside the story to be so. The fusion between comedy and romance was met with a craftsman's precision.

    Samantha is perceptive of the emotions that run around her and sensitive of her lack of a body and the drawbacks of not being able to provide a feeling of human contact, but she tries her best using her voice. However, she is constantly evolving and it is only a matter of time before she becomes so curious about everything that it would be hard to hold on to her.

    There's a scene where Theodore fears for Samantha like one does for the personal safety of a human being. That I believe was the defining scene of the film as it summed up all the feelings and emotions that had preceded. Their relationship do have some positive outcomes. Given Samantha's extraordinary view of life, she takes certain steps that benefit Theodore in the long run.

    The futuristic time shown was fascinating. Apart from the little quirky things like having relative strangers write letters for your loved ones, the technology is advanced. There is this 3-D video game where you feel a part of the world of the game. There are also those type of games which are aimed at mimicking real life and making the players feel like they have achieved something, and arguably contribute towards delusions.

    The score was slow-moving, subtle and emotional. It was used to evoke the emotions that were needed to be evoked during a scene very effectively and without forcing us to. But the underlying theme was always sad and moving, and not bombastic. Thank God for that, for this film was equal parts about depicting some kind of a future which our present might be leading to, as well as being about Theodore's personal life and difficulties with trying to make sense of his life. Her is also a very visual film, lingering on buildings and the environment in the more reflective scenes.

    Despite everything, I felt like the ending was a bit underwhelming. The movie kind of fizzled out. The final revelation should have been followed up with some commentary or a conclusory scene, but all in all I was left with a feeling that I was better off having watched it.

    9.5
    Expand
  23. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    My personal favorite movie of 2013. It's a true gem, and I love it. This movie really takes the exploration of emotions and relationships to new, awesome levels. The Arcade Fire soundtrack is a masterpiece too.
  24. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    From the moment the screen fills with light, and we come face-to-face with Theodore Twombly (Joaquin Phoenix), his eyes are desolate while his voice is filled with love as he recites the poetically romantic words of Loretta’s letter to her husband of fifty years, Chris. Theodore works for BeautifullyHandwrittenLetters.com, a company established sometime in the near future where people are either too lazy or just mentally incapable of writing their own letters to their loved ones. The irony of her begins (as do so many other films) with someone else’s love story. The trials and tribulations of Theodore’s love story not only mirrors the love we share with others but also portrays our uncontrollable and inexplicable dependence or ‘love’ for technology. In that sense, her becomes part science fiction love story/part docudrama, with a message that is both a parable of the direction human behaviour is headed and a misunderstood, timeless love story for the ages. Either way, her is the most captivating and responsive film of the year, demanding attention with a grueling look at our ability to love and be loved.

    her is a cinematic masterpiece for a new generation of technologically burdened individuals. From the moment our two-star crossed lovers meet, we are transfixed, as they are. From the moment I laid eyes on it, I had fallen in love. Being a believer of love at first sight, or in this instance, love at first sound, her has been a film that has left quite an impression on me and has given me so much to think and talk about.

    This is a peculiarly self-conscious film with themes that are both fantastically impossible yet completely plausible. Essentially, Theo falls in love with the new operating system that is found on his mobile device. The operating system, created by a company called Element Software (substituting for Apple), have crafted the first ever artificially intelligent operating system. Unfortunately for Theo, once he hears the voice of his new OS (operating system), the chump never stood a chance. As the spirals swirl on his computer screen and his personalized operating system is initialized, a voice begins, “Hello I’m here…” and from that moment on, we empathize with Theodore and his ability to fall in love with a voice that is full bodied, raspy and alluring, yet empty; in the same way technology has the ability to be both fascinating and enthralling, yet unfulfilling. The Siri-like persona is voiced by Scarlett Johansson. Originally, the voice of Samantha in Spike Jonze’s film was going to be voiced by Samantha Morton (hence why the name Samantha stuck and served as a tribute to the original talented actress), but Jonze opted for a more recognizable voice whose image off-screen is as seductive as when she is on screen. Johansson nails every subtle nuance in her voice-work and offers a career best performance as Samantha. Her ability to express not only the deep desire she has for a physical form but also her unexplainable love for life, learning, and Theodore, will hopefully land Johansson a spot in the history books as the first ever nominee in the Supporting Actress category without ever actually appearing on-screen. Let’s just hope the Academy recognizes this high-point in the medium as well.

    The world according to Jonze looks to be one filled with humanized androids, a world where people endlessly look down at their smartphones,and are never more than an arms reach from any of their devices, and his vision very much resembles the world we live in today. The people in his world are easy to relate to especially with the very possible realization that that is what our growing technological wonderland may actually look like in the not-so-distant future. Jonze takes a very literal interpretation of ‘falling in love with your smartphone’ as portrayed in his very heavy-handed love story. Contrary to skeptics, Jonze triumphs in his ability to script a world where anything is possible. Jonze’s tale of people falling in love with technology is not actually a far stretch from our current Westernized mentality, where people are literally attached and completely dependent on the little devices that organize our lives, our schedules, our thoughts and evades all new and old experiences.
    Expand
  25. Jan 12, 2014
    9
    her is a masterpiece. That is all that needs to be said, but I will say more. The operating system in her is so fun and exciting, it makes you upset to go back to Siri after the movie. This movie is weird at some parts, but it never loses its feel. I hope that the world will one day have technology as shown in her, you'll understand when you see it. Which you have to! See it!
  26. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    Awesome movie. It feels very original, and is written on a topic that isn't talked about much. The acting was amazing as well. It had to be, because most of the movie is dialogue and only one person is on screen. SJ did a fantastic job voicing the AI and really showed a ton of emotion with just her voice. You could feel what she was feeling.

    I hope Hollywood produces more movies like this.
  27. Feb 26, 2014
    10
    This has been one of the most beautiful movies i have ever seen. It was so good i wasn't expecting so much emotions and at the same time, i tried not to cry cause i was with a girl in that moment. I swear by the end of the movie there were at least 15 people crying in the theater after that show.
    I kinda felt identified with Throdore (call me a loser), because i have gone through some of
    the things he had to go through. I am still hoping i can find my own Samantha.
    Scarlett Johansson has a beautiful and calm voice.
    The Score from this movie is one of the most beautiful pieces i have ever heard, had to go find the Score on internet cause i fell in love with it.
    Expand
  28. Jan 26, 2014
    9
    Very impressive work from Spike Jonze! It gave us very realistic character in believable futuristic setting, mixing it with high quality drama! Definitely one of the best movies in 2013
  29. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    After first hearing of this movie I thought, a long with basically everyone else, what an incredibly stupid and ridiculous idea. After reading the reviews and seeing it for myself, I realize how different it really is. This movie is incredibly unique and offers a look into what our world could really come to. Phoenix and Johannsen are perfect in their roles and this is one of the most beautiful and heartfelt movies I've ever seen. If you even have the slightest interest in going, please check it out. You will not regret it. One of the best of the year. Expand
  30. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    Spike Jonze is a filmmaker who’s built his career around creating quirky, inventive stories; that hardly shies away from commenting on society and the self. From his brilliant, yet sparse filmography, you can tell that he’s in no rush to make something unless he’s completely taken by the material. With ‘Her’, Jonze has hit the jackpot. Never has the man made a more personal and moving picture! The movie focuses on, Theodore Twombly, a lonely writer who develops a relationship with his newly purchased operating system named Samantha. From such a simple premise breathes a vast array of ideas that thoroughly provokes one’s thoughts, for hours… or even days after watching the film. Jonze’s screenplay was a profound piece of work, some may even say prophetic. Set in the near future, where advanced means of technology and communication breeds more isolation; the elaborately layered script begs us to question what it really means to connect and the evolving forms love; one of the most mystifying brands of emotion that all humans desire. In one instance, Theodore asks his friend Amy (played by the always reliable Amy Adams) if he’s a freak for being involved with a piece of software, and she remarks, “anyone who falls in love is a freak”. Such rapport between characters, both recovering from broken relationships and yearning for some form of love, was great insight into man’s unwavering desire for the drug and how the elements of love itself changes over time. Whether it was a way to avoid being in a “real” relationship or to just fully embrace love from someone he genuinely cared about; Theo and Samantha’s peculiar relationship felt real; thanks to excellent performances from Joaquin Phoenix and Scarlett Johansson. Phoenix, just coming from his brilliantly manic role in ‘The Master’, plays an entirely different beast in ‘Her’. With such a warm presence, he makes his character completely relatable, despite being in an unusually unrelatable situation. Close your eyes and “watch” this film; Johansson’s voice only work was a thing of beauty. In addition to the human themes of love and relationships, I could go deeper and comment on how the film flirts with the concept of artificial intelligence and the ever looming possibility of technological singularity (for better or worse); but I will keep this review the way Jonze developed his movie; as intimate as possible. The film’s seamless blend of melancholy, intimacy and often times humor; shows tremendous skill from Jonze as both a screenwriter and director. The way he balances these genres and crafts the exquisitely designed world, of the “not so distant future”, demonstrates vision at its highest caliber. The muted tones of the production design and cinematography were exceptional; and Arcade Fire’s score was splendid. Down to the vaguely futuristic outfits and high waist pants (donned by the men in this timeline), designed by costumer Casey Storm was a neat creative touch. The future of this world was palpable. 2013 has brought us many fantastic films; that may very well resonate for decades to come. Her stands firmly among them as one of the year best; I was moved deeply by it. Its moody subject matter, and the questions it poses on technology and relationships will continue to hit viewers years from now. Expand
  31. Jan 10, 2014
    9
    What makes Her so special are the questions it poses to the viewer. What does it mean to be human? What does it mean to be in love? What is love? Her's world is unfamiliar but not distant. Take a plunge into the world and life of Theodore Twombly, and you'll find yourself reexamining humanity and love.
  32. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    Spike Jonze has created the best movie of the year, It has emotion, melancholy , and a beautiful screenplay that i don't have words for expressed , This film is utterly beautiful , amazing and creative. It's a masterpiece.
  33. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    Jonze lead us to a very deep stage of a spectacular metaphysical life. For two hours I was stuck in Theodore's lonely and complex life, and Her became a part of my reality, to the extreme that I was hoping that I'll never go back to my true, lame, and shallow reality. It doesn't matter how much deep you are, Her will take you to places you have never been to before, and will ignite some feelings that you have never experienced or ever felt before. It's merely a masterpiece, that makes us look at life in a very different deep perspective that reveals to us the true feeling and understanding of love and it's affect on us. Also showing us the capabilities of this feeling that is able to make human beings fall so deeply in love with an operating system just because of the mutual feelings they are having, dismissing the physical aspect in love, which shows us that love is way beyond anything physical or sexual. Expand
  34. Dec 21, 2013
    9
    One of the best movies of the year. Viewers can feel the pain of the lover as he speaks to her, voiced by Scarlett Johannson, who by the way does a great job. Something we can all relate to: finding joy and feeling in objects.
  35. Jan 26, 2014
    9
    From previews, you may think this movie glamorizes a man having a relationship with a female computer over a human. Far from it. I find this to be an evocative study into what makes us human, how we relate to each other and what we want out of life.

    This is a cautionary tale set in future Los Angeles. Anyone with concerns for the fate of humanity vis-à-vis technology should watch
    this movie. But much of the film boils down to relationships in general. The movie takes you down to the perspective of one man, dealing with divorce and his new ethereal acquaintance. Other satellites in his life give him other perspectives on his path. One of the better films I've seen in a while.

    It has a similar vibe to another film I liked co-starring Johansson, "Lost in Translation (2003)."
    Expand
  36. Jan 10, 2014
    10
    Easily in the top 3 films of the year and is probably the best imo. With film plots dominated by the same crap, its such a joyous experience to have a film whose story is original. The feel of the movie is fresh and fun, and we as an audience relate to its strange relevance.
  37. Jan 12, 2014
    9
    Aside from being the most unique "boy (sorta) meets girl" romance since "Mannequin", the movie "Her" is memorable for having the subtle futuristic backdrop (slightly reminscent of Tex Avery's "World of Tomorrow") as a character, for challenging your understanding (or lack thereof) of artificial intelligence, for great acting (Phoenix is flawless, and the stellar female support is delightfully Dunst-free), and for guilting my wife and me out of using our smartphones at dinner afterwards. Expand
  38. Jan 17, 2014
    10
    Her is one of the best movies I've ever seen. It shows you how you could love someone that you've never seen, and how you could love someone that would never be... Its just so amazing! I can't even put it into words.
  39. Jan 19, 2014
    9
    Very interesting idea that has been seen before, but has never been this well executed. Overall I did really enjoy the film.

    Acting was extremely good and memorable, especially Johansens. As can be seen from the trailer, she's just a voice throughout the film but she portrays emotion perfectly and really makes you believe that she is AI.

    My only complaint, is that it can become a
    little slow at times. As stated previously, I enjoyed it. I would recommend it if you are intrigued by the trailer. Expand
  40. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    Despite being between a man and a computer program, this movie's primary relationship manages to produce something more captivating and real feeling than most human-human romances. The whole movie feels modern. It feels fresh, and current, and all too possible. And hidden by this wonderful portrayal of a relationship are hundreds of enjoyable moments that continue adding to the overall feel and charm of the movie. It's funny. It's fresh. And almost everything about it is fantastic.

    I especially enjoyed how they handled the parts that normally come out coated with cheese and are embarrassing to watch-- frequent fliers in the romance movie world. This good of been boring, or just downright stupid, but even when it was doing things that had been done before it did them in a way that just felt right. I can't say I expected this movie to be as good as it ended up being, but I'm glad it was able to change my mind.
    Expand
  41. Jan 21, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Many films are able to capture the past, (war films, historical dramas) or give a convincing portrayal of the future (science fiction). But only a few films are able to capture the present, and those that do are usually documentaries. So when a narrative film is able to do this, it’s necessary to take a moment to stop and appreciate this accomplishment. While it takes place in the future, I’ve never seen a film that is able to both identify and critique the now as well as Spike Jonze’s Her. So let’s take the moment that this film richly deserves, and take a closer look at this incredible movie.

    Her tells a story set in the near future about a lonely man, Theodore (played by Joaquin Phoenix), who writes other people’s love letters, and starts a relationship with his artificially intelligent operating system, Samantha (voiced by Scarlett Johansson). Spike Jonze directs, and for the first time in one of his features, writes the brilliant original screenplay. Amy Adams and Chris Pratt also have supporting roles as Theodore’s friends. The film has been nominated for five Academy Awards, and has won a Golden Globe for Best Original Screenplay.

    Since it has already nabbed a major award, let’s start with the screenplay. Jonze’s collaborations with writer Charlie Kaufman (Being John Malkovich, Adaptation) appear to have made an impact on him. Giving their characters ordinary problems, but putting them in extraordinary settings is a method both Kaufman and Jonze have used with great success. The viewers are able to identify with the characters while simultaneously be captivated by the fantastical world around them. Her is also acted incredibly by Phoenix, who is faced with the difficult task of acting with someone who isn’t even in the room with him. However, the real revelation here is Johansson, who is able to portray a character that is never seen, but is able to showcase such real emotion that it isn’t difficult at all to blame Theodore for falling in love with her.

    The complaints are few and far between. Theodore’s ex-wife (played by Rooney Mara) is portrayed as a little too bitter and jealous for my taste, but then again divorce is a messy situation, so her feelings are understandable. However, there is not a scene showing or explaining to the audience of how their relationship ended. It also leaves their plot line unresolved at the end, where it would have been nice to see some kind of conclusion to their relationship. It also would have been fun to see a little more of the world around the characters, as most of the film is confined to Theodore’s apartment and workplace.

    This film is highly recommended for Spike Jonze fans. For those who will be introduced to his work with this film and want to see more, Being John Malkovich and Adaptation are two of his earlier projects that have many of the same qualities as Her. Charlie Kaufman’s work that is not associated with Jonze is still very similar in style, so for those interested, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (personally, my favorite film) and Synecdoche, New York are essential viewing. However, while it needs some time to sink in, Her might be the best of the bunch.
    Expand
  42. Jan 25, 2014
    10
    Probably the best movie in 2013. Genius concept,wonderful acting,perfect not-so-cliche ending. In an alternate universe where cultural relevance doesn't influence the best picture winner, HER is the best picture
  43. Feb 22, 2014
    10
    Amazing! One of the best romance movies I've seen. The acting is spot on, Spike Jonze direction and script are incredible. As of right now my favourite movie of 2013.
  44. Mar 1, 2014
    10
    Amazing movie!!!! I think what this movie talks about is the most complicated word in the whole world, and that is LOVE (at it´s purest) I can´t write anymore cuz I stil got teary eyes, this movie gives me hope. Let love will lead the way. (i hope siri would get scarlet´s johanson voice soon.....hehehehehehe) a million ponts for this movie
  45. May 2, 2014
    10
    Touching, sad, funny, smart, sharp, a great cast with an amazing Academy Award winning script by Spike Jonze, by far the best movie of 2013, that deepens into the reality of a relationship, and the purest human form.
  46. Apr 1, 2014
    10
    "Her" might just be the most "real" film I've ever seen, which is ironic because falling in love with a computer isn't quite "real." The emotion behind Phoenix's performance and Johansson's exceptional voice work give us such organic expressions of love and loss, allowing me to feel feelings no other film has been able to. With great scoring and cinematography, "Her" uses a near-future frame to display this picture of reality that outdoes most other films' mere ATTEMPTS of reality, a picture that I hope will go down as one of our time's great masterpieces of the big screen. Expand
  47. Apr 18, 2014
    10
    This was one of the best movies I've ever seen. I mostly loved it for its originality and its relevance to modern times. I just thought it was told so well, and was so relatable on so many levels.
  48. Jan 17, 2014
    10
    Funny how the movie is called "her". For all of the OS's charm, wit, and sweetness, the movie is held together by this sad, lonely man who falls in love with it. To see him change and grow along with her as the movie progresses is nothing short of spectacular. Joaquin Phoenix's acting here is so sublime you'll probably forget you're just watching a movie, and Scarlett Johansson's voice performance is on point, playing lovable, sensual, worried and distraught often in the same scene. Their relationship is so much deeper than in many other romantic movies that it puts most of them to shame. Go into it with an open mind and I'm sure this movie will win you over. Expand
  49. Sep 27, 2014
    9
    Spike Jonze really does make films that nobody else could conceive or succeed at. Joaquin Phoenix turns in a remarkable performance acting basically by himself. Definitely deserved the best original screenplay Oscar.
  50. Jan 20, 2014
    10
    The same problems that arise in "real" relationships arise for the main character while in a loving relationship with OS - his operating system. Her asks us to blur boundaries between organic and artificial lifeforms, and does it in a fun and flexible way. Reminiscent of some philosophical questions posed by sci fi greats such as Star Trek and Battlestar Galactica.
  51. May 5, 2014
    9
    This film is excellent providing a fantastic study of ourselves, those around us, technology, and society as a whole. You should definitely see this movie as it will give you an interesting outlook on life and make you question everything. Yet another Best Picture nominee from 2014 that deserved to be nominated as it is excellent.
  52. Jan 26, 2014
    10
    God, such a great movie. Some of the best acting you'll ever see with some marvelous direction and an awesome screenplay. If it weren't for 12 Years a Slave, this would have been my choice for movie of the year. I can't remember the last time I've been this hypnotized by a movie
  53. Jun 7, 2014
    10
    Probably the best movie to be released in 2013. Spike Jonze has created a masterpiece that excels in almost every aspect.

    It truly deserves best screenplay at the Oscars. It has some of the best writing ever. The dialogue evokes a wide range of emotions. And this writing is made more gorgeous by the superb acting of the entire cast, from Joaquin Phoenix and Scarlett Johansson, to Amy
    Adams, Rooney Mara, and Olivia Wilde.

    The world itself in which the story takes place is really interesting, brought alive by Jonze's wonderful directing. The characters are really detailed, giving the cast something to work with. And the score is beautifully serene and heartwarming (and sometimes heartbreaking).

    Most people say that this movie is about our relationship with technology. While that is true, i believe that this theme is only a vehicle for a bigger one. Watching the last scene, when Joaquin's character is composing a letter to his ex-wife, i realized that it's not a film about technology as it is about love, breakups, and heartbreak.

    Spike, through his brilliant script, shows that while many things change through time, other things remain the same. Another reason why he really deserved best screenplay at the Oscars. I just wish it had won best picture, too.
    Expand
  54. Jan 10, 2014
    10
    An introspective study of human interaction conveyed with a warm, deeply resonant tone that’s never maudlin, never kitsch. This is a film about the infinite nature of our being, the love we feel, the growth we experience, the entirety of our person shared with each other and the one we love. “Her” is a masterwork that will leave you a better being.
  55. Jan 1, 2014
    9
    Im not so much for romance movies they normally bore me. Walking into this movie I was expecting that same feeling. Walking out I was in love with the story the characters. First because this movie is Sci Fi it sparked my interest. This movie takes technology and flips it into a funny witty, love story. Id say this is in the top 5 movie of 2013 for my self
  56. Jan 17, 2014
    10
    This movie is a delicate portrait of love in real life: it's complicated, messy, never straightforward. Even though it's set in the future, and the lovers are far from ordinary, one can (or should be able to) look past this facade and see the timeless themes underneath.
    I rarely write reviews, but I had to for two reasons: First, this movie is very good, unlike any movie I've seen.
    Second, though most reviews are positive, I couldn't help but respond to the hate heaped upon it by those who didn't like it. The movie is not for everyone, to be sure. It won't appeal to most older people, (at least those who haven't come to see the world as official in the age of the internet), and its sex scene, though not visually graphic, is one of the most sexual experiences expressed on screen I've ever seen that isn't on a website with multiple x's in the domain name. Also, if you can only stomach a romance of the rom-com variety, or a love story occurring simultaneously with the lovers taking out a spy organization, this is not for you.
    The movie is filled with tough moments, from its shocking expression of human disconnect, to a potty mouthed video game character, to the strangest threesome ever, there are moments intentionally arranged to have the audience members ask themselves "wtf is going on". Yet it's in these moments that we decide how we define love, sex, and the relation of the two. It seems to me that most negative reviews stem from the reviewer refusing to allow these questions to be asked. An open mind is strongly suggested. Don't not see this movie because one of those reviews.
    Expand
  57. Jan 13, 2014
    9
    I was not anticipating to really like this but I did. The emotional impact of the relationship between a man and his operating system got to me. It's a little strange but give the movie a chance.
  58. Jan 9, 2014
    10
    Original and speaks to a generation that, in the world of relationships, the lonely hope to seek companionship in a world that separates itself from our very own. Great film.
  59. May 6, 2014
    10
    Long, a lot of dialog, little to no action, no special effects, yet.... I was glued to the screen with interest when watching this movie! The story is extremely emotional, deep and some of the subject matter is really out there! Amazing movie!
  60. Mar 2, 2014
    9
    Her is probably the most original and captivating romantic film that I have ever seen in my whole life. The idea of a man that falls in love with an OS is exceptional but not so strange as it sounds, because in the society that we live the technology is like air, we can't live without it; and probably in a nearby future a relationship between human and computer would be possible. This thing makes the movie so unique; there have been lots of films about the future, but Her shows one that actually could happen. The message that is hidden below is about something that the protagonist does and that sometimes we also do it, which is to take shelter in the technology because of the fear to face the reality. That explains the job that Theodore has, why he is passing throw a divorce and also why he is so lonely. In addition to him there is Samantha, the voice of the OS, the amazing thing about her is that she is discovering the world, learning of life experiences and evolving as a consequence. I still cannot believe how Scarlett Johansson manage to transmit these, you can feel the wonder in her voice, how she test human feelings and her reaction when those things overwhelm her. Spike Jonze gives us a masterpiece with strong direction and screenplay, a beautiful original song and heartbreaking performances (Scarlett Johansson deserves all the prizes of film industry). Expand
  61. May 13, 2014
    10
    The biggest reason why I love this movie so much is not just because of the great plot but the fact that Joaquin Phoenix gave a masterful performance that was well worthy to win any best actor award. A truly must see film and by far the best film of 2013, Even beats a majority of the crap I've seen so far in 2014.
  62. Jan 9, 2014
    10
    This movie is fantastic,, the acting, the story, the characters even the mood and journey that takes you on. The characters changed throughout the whole movie and the way they change is really nice. The movie is pretty funny is some parts but also gets really serious it even makes you feel for the character Theodore and you feel apart of him. You also sue for the car to Samantha as you see this is not just a computer. Her is a movie that sends you on a fantastic journey, something.like this hasn't been seen in years Expand
  63. Sep 2, 2014
    10
    Now this is a film for the ages! Every five or so years, there is a film that transcends all others. This is just that film. A contemporary and challenging love story. It's use of humor and dramatics allow it to excel with grand performances from Joaquin Phoenix and Scarlett Johansson.
  64. Jan 18, 2014
    9
    Well, it's about how technology helps us to disconnect from others and reality by connecting to our own reflections. Because that's what Samantha is, a mere reflection of Theodore. It is also the best movie of 2013. However, it did remind me a lot to Black Mirror series.
  65. Jan 9, 2014
    10
    Without a doubt, movie of the year. The cinematography was absolutely stunning as well as the story that complimented it. Jonze takes these characters to interesting levels and takes the viewer on an experience that may seem familiar with totally unfamiliar and interesting undertones. Phoenix was amazing. Chris Pratt and Amy Adams were brilliant as well. "Her" is a need-to-see film.
  66. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    What else can possibly be said that critics and fans alike haven't been trumpeting ever since this film has debuted? "Her"'s honesty, absurdity, hilarity, sincerity, beauty, and simplicity are all on par with that of a kind of film I have not witnessed in a long while. Spike Jonze's perfectly written, immaculately shot, and flawlessly acted masterpiece, fails to even remotely create anything close to a fault. Expand
  67. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    Never before have I had such a personal relationship with a film, nor have I ever taken such effort to absorb every frame shown in a movie. I can also say that I was never so pleasantly surprised at how funny a movie could be. I expected it to be a weird, sort of quirky drama, and even with that I would have been fine. But no, Spike Jonze and his genius creativity instead made me, as well as the entire audience, burst into laughter at the most unexpected sequences. This laughter, coupled with the utter devotion between the entire cast (specifically Phoenix and Johansson's performances, with Mara coming in at an honorable mention) truly gave peaks of happiness and love. These peaks, however, soon give way to the most personal depiction of depression and technological isolation that I've seen yet. This truly is a masterpiece, and takes away "12 Years a Slave"'s claim to my personal best movie of 2013, although I can't doubt that the latter is still more significant to the medium as a whole. Expand
  68. May 28, 2014
    9
    With her, Spike Jonze has created a flawed but tremendously moving and fresh sci-fi masterpiece. There are a couple of inappropriate scenes, and a few others which are shockingly weird. And sometimes the movie takes itself too seriously for its own good. These flaws however are made miniscule by the incredible performances, vivid production design, and extremely well realized script. It's hugely ambitious and doesn't always hit its targets' bullseyes, but when it does it does so with operatic impact. It makes Being John Malkovitch look like a desperate gimmick. Beautifully shot, surprisingly emotional at times, and just plain entertaining, Her is a must see for moviegoers with open minds. Expand
  69. Jan 16, 2014
    9
    Very good, not original as many said (if anyone remembers S1M0NE, it's basically the same concept) but tender and, in my opinion, gives out a solid representation of what the near future might look like. I particularly liked the fact that despite being essentially a sci-fi film, it doesn't try to be flamboyant and had a very conscious use of special effects. Asimov argued that science fiction is not a genre, but rather a trope or a setting you could apply to any genre: and this film is proof.

    The soundtrack was very well thought-out, and Phoenix gives a credible representation of a depressed lonely man. Scarlett Johansson's voicing is amazing, and she turns out to be a lot more human than Theodore: in fact, there were times when I forgot she is a computer. Amy Adams is good, though we don't see much of her.

    And to the people who argue it's an unlikely representation of the future, you just don't know where are we going with technology. Ten years ago, if you told someone that in ten years people would be talking at their phones because they're too lazy to type a message, they would probably have laughed at you. So, to me, the future depicted in Her could be (worryingly) much, much closer than we think.
    Beautiful, must see, one of the best of last year.
    Expand
  70. Mar 5, 2014
    9
    Jonze's script is smattered with ideas that add to the texture of her. Many scenes show Theodore strolling through the streets, persons around him with their heads down, occupied with their ear pieces. An all-too-familiar image in today's phone-obsessed culture that paints a kind of low-key, apocalyptic picture. The director takes a few jabs at gaming culture too — in the future, video games finally give up and just let all the characters scream swear words, racist insults, and misogynistic non sequiturs familiar to anyone who has spent time playing Call of Duty multiplayer.

    Her's moral questions dig even deeper than the idea of man/machine relationships. Late in the film, Samantha introduces Theodore to an OS pieced together by the writings of a deceased philosopher. Programmers have revived the dead in A.I. form. And somehow, that's less advanced than what the operating systems are doing on their own.

    Her is staggering in scope while exploring the tiniest facets of intimacy and attraction. Phoenix's introspection thrives in Jonze's living, breathing sci-fi landscape, accompanied by Arcade Fire's soft piano melodies that feel like Theodore's own digital signal. her builds and builds in unexpected ways as it climbs towards a profound conclusion, as messy, passionate, impactful relationships always do. Examining his own life, Theodore tells Amy that he worries, “I have felt everything I want to feel.” her digs into that rumination, stretching it across the past, present, and future.

    The masterfully done science fiction film her features a remarkable performance from Joaquin Phoenix and a moving, intelligent story directed with restraint by Spike Jonze
    Expand
  71. Feb 1, 2014
    9
    Love at first byte. Sorry about the awful pun. Don't even think the movie is as horrible. It is difficult for a movie to have an after taste of philosophical questioning leave you with a warm heart, but Her pulled it off like a pro. While having some issues with pacing in the third half the relationship between Joachim Phoenix's character Theodre and Samantha voiced by Scarlett Johansson was a spark that managed to warm my heart.
    Phoenix is an amazing example of a talented actor. In one film like
    "The Master" you feel strange and uncomfortable toward him while in
    "Her" you know that if you met his character you would just feel like
    hugging him. Theodore is warm, funny and organic. Scarlett Johansson in
    the other hand manages to charm the viewer and have great chemistry
    with the male protagonist just by using her voice. She is complex and
    interesting because if you didn't know, she is an A.I. The amazing
    thing is that you feel her actually being real and having emotions and
    sometimes the film purposely reminds you that she is artificial. You
    know Spike Jonze did a good job when your thoughts are carried forward
    intentionally by his project. When I said this movie warmed your heart
    I really meant it. Arcade Fire outdid themselves with the soundtrack
    and every time a song mixes itself with the beautiful photography you
    get those bittersweet knots on your throat. Speaking about photography,
    it is beautifully shot. Many shots here you just see and build a
    meaning for them. Surprisingly "Her" has a very smart sense of humor
    too. It is subtle and never feels over planned because it mixes in with
    plot so well.

    In the end "Her", while not perfect, brings up many philosophical
    theories with its amazing and original writing, but at the same time
    plays with your feelings like no other romantic themed movie.

    I give "Her" a 9/10.
    Expand
  72. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    To put it simply, Her is by far one of the finest films of the year.

    Following Theodore Twombly as he fumbles his way through everyday life - Alienating friends and concealing himself away from the world. Until the day that a new, artificially intelligent operating system is released, and he is introduced to Samantha, the bright and hopeful voice of a young woman coming from his
    computer. Over the months that ensue, the two of them form an unbreakable bond and build an amazing friendship that will test their understanding of the world, their knowledge of love, and the unsteady foundations of their relationship built out of false expectations.

    It should be remembered as a film that was both daring and beautifully realized in a warm, touching, and heartbreaking tale that stayed with me long after leaving the theatres.
    Expand
  73. Sep 29, 2014
    9
    This is a well-made piece of art that makes me think about what will happen to our society if we go on the same steps as the society portrayed in 'Her'. Spike Jonze, through this beautiful film, makes us see the world in a new different aspect of life. Scarlett Johansson, Amy Adams and Joaquin Phoenix are all beautiful actors here. The only issue I got with this movie (and to which I find no great attention would be useful) is that it sometimes, but I say like extremely few times, it feels a bit low. But I don't find it so affective. Overall, the movie is great! Expand
  74. Jan 17, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great on so many levels.

    It's hard for me to even watch this because it hits so close to home. If you're half as emotionally destroyed as I was, you'll love it.
    Expand
  75. Aug 14, 2014
    10
    Beautiful, Artistic, Deep, Emotional, The first sex chat between the two, The great acting of Joaquin phoenix.....!!
    This movie is infinitely amazing..!!
  76. Mar 5, 2014
    10
    The way Jones show us another kind of love is just amazing! How can be the human life in future? This is like a theory. This is one of the best movies I've ever seen!
  77. Jun 4, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For me, this film allows us to reexamine our humanity's imperfections by placing our cognitive and emotional vulnerabilities next to ever-evolving, inorganic sentient beings, A.I.s of the future... though the two-hour journey is foiled in bittersweet, the director/writer hints at the possibility of eventually filling the empty voids in our lives, though on the other side beyond spacetime when we shed from our brief, organic shell... reunifying with our long lost "soul-mates" as ONE... possibly as subatomic energy in another pre-birth/postmortem dimension.

    for thinkers in the realm of theoretical physics, psychology, philosophy, and technology, this film will resonate long after the end credits.
    Expand
  78. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    As a romance it's hugely original. As a sci- fi film though, which it is first of all, it's basically the same story as 2001: A Space Odyssey. There is no thematic material that the two films do not have in common. But I'd say that 'her' is better than 2001 because it will never lose an iota of its shock value and its speculations are very likely. Kubrick focused more on Nietzschean viewpoints to meditate on sentience, Jonze focused on the mind-body problem and was able to raise the same themes in a shorter, more personal story. Where HAL9000 has become a bit of a laugh, Samantha will always be lovely. Expand
  79. Jan 28, 2014
    9
    Her makes an astonishing amount of satirical references, all of which drive the plot. Hell, even the plot itself in many ways is satire. In lesser hands, this is a recepie for disaster, but fortunately, Spike Jonze has presented this so cleverly that by the end, your mind isn't just jogging; it's sprinting the length of a marathon.
  80. Dec 28, 2013
    10
    Joaquin Phoenix can surprisingly be a very good actor in rare moments, and this movie is one of those rare moments. Phoenix is put in the moment as Theodore Twombly, a depressed writer who falls for his computer's artificial intelligence. It's Blade Runner meets You've Got Mail.
  81. Mar 31, 2014
    9
    This Movie connected with me in a way that most movies of 2013 did not. Now, I wouldn't say it's the best movie of 2013, but it is my favorite. It is one of the most beautiful movies i have ever seen in my life it is fairly-well acted, especially by Scarlett Johansson. It has a brilliant screenplay and central idea. The originality and theme of this movie is overwhelming (in a good way). Definitely a must see for some. Expand
  82. May 28, 2014
    10
    My personal favorite movie of 2013. First the screenplay is just delicious in many aspects and scenes, visually good, Johanson being just a voice over character is great, Amy Adams amazing as usual and it has a good slap in the face on what our society is turning into. It's NOT a perfect movie, it has flaws, it lacks a little bit of credibility from Joaquin Phoenix and it may be tedious in some scenes for some people. I'll give a 10 just because it's my personal favorite of 2013.

    While many will say "Why is he falling in love for a computer?" well I saw it as a satirical, sad and even creepy criticism of what we are becoming as society, "Techno-Zombies". Somehow people don't realize that the way Phoenix's character looks on the film (dumb, loser, zombie, etc.) was the point of his character, they exaggerate (or maybe not) how society looks nowadays and where is going. And people remember, if the shoe fits, wear it, if not then you will not be offended by my statement.

    What it's real? what is just an illusion? Is it possible to mix both somehow like Samantha? (I think no, that's why I feel sorry for Phoenix's "lame" character in the entire movie) I think this movie has been overshadowed by overrated movies that used "Star power" to hype people (I'm looking at you American Hustle). If you are not a "script freak" or you don't like movies that kinda make you uncomfortable or you are in love with your cellphone and may get offended somehow (which I respect, everyone can be the way they want to be), don't watch Her. (But I recommend everyone to listen "The Moon Song", it's good.)
    Expand
  83. Jul 26, 2014
    10
    Sweet and emotional. The type of science fiction that I love: Jonze picks up on trends in our society that we're all subjected to to some extent - then he extrapolates. The near-future he imagines is believable and food for thought, and the way he treats his subjects, love and connection, commendably nuanced. Add award worthy acting, beautiful photography and a score by Arcade Fire and the result is, well, wonderful. This should prove a contemporary classic, and one that I plan to revisit often. Expand
  84. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    ‘Her’ is one of those movies that got snubbed by the 2014 Oscar nominating committee. The first thought I had after seeing the movie was, “How did Spike Jonze ever think something like that up!” The material is incredibly original, and it probably should have received a nomination for best original screenplay. The movie is also well cast. The acting by Joaquin Phoenix is first rate. It’s too bad he doesn’t seem to be well liked by the Hollywood crowd. While I’m not a huge Scarlett Johansson fan, she is quite credible and does an excellent job of expressing emotion as a disembodied voice. Having recently seen American Hustle I had a hard time getting used to the rather timid character portrayed by Amy Adams. Though I’m not sure you would call ‘Her’ Best Picture material, it’s a far better movie than Wolf of Wall Street.

    That being said, this movie is not for everyone. It’s definitely different, but has the potential to become something of a cult classic. (Think ‘2001: A Space Odyssey’, with a more conventional ending). The movie is set in the near future, but the future is a bit of a sterile, lonely and nerdy place. People are hesitant. They don’t interact with each other well, and when they do, their conversations are awkward and their behavior is forced. (Some reviewers seem to mistake this for bad acting.) Fashion has also taken a turn for the worse, as people in the future dress badly (especially the men who seem to favor really high-waisted pants).

    Although the basic premise of the movie “Lonely man falls in love with the voice on his operating system” sounds a bit creepy, and might have been if Jonze hadn’t done such an excellent job, the movie really isn’t the least bit so. The ‘sex’ in this movie is of a variety that is intended to make you a bit uncomfortable. There is only a brief bit of traditional (gratuitous?) female nudity, and no traditional action scenes, which again may discourage the average viewer. But, if you are still reading this, then don’t be discouraged about seeing it, it’s a terrific movie. It’s a story about loneliness. It’s about the basic need for companionship, the struggle to fulfill that need, and the mistakes we make along the way. If you’re open to that kind of story, then I highly recommend this movie.
    Expand
  85. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    I just finished this move, All I can say is wow made me laugh and cry, just thinking of it again makes me cry an amazing movie and beautiful story telling I loved it!
  86. Jan 17, 2014
    10
    This movie is beautiful, the acting is great, especially from Joaquin Phoenix, and Scarlett Johansson give great performances, and the cinematography is beautiful, this is a perfect movie, one of the best this year.
  87. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    intense intense intense,
    was waiting for a movie like this. actors director producer editiors eveyone a big thank you for creating this masterpiece. a top 3
  88. Jan 19, 2014
    9
    A brilliant movie. It's a great perspective on the future of an increasingly empty and alone humanity, on the other hand, the attempt of technology cover this empty. Joaquin Phoenix's performance was perfect. The screenplay, production and direction Jonze was admirable. "Her" proved how combine perfectly sci-fi with romance. Simply extraordinary. One of the best of 2013 without doubt.
  89. Jan 19, 2014
    9
    This is an amazing movie. Given the concept, I didn't think that I would be as emotionally involved as I ended up being. This movie had my emotions running wild and that is not something that happens easily. Phenomenal movie and one of the best of the year for sure!
  90. Jan 22, 2014
    9
    A light- hearted, uplifting tale of complete isolation, vulnerability and happiness. Her is fantastic in every level. It's a total different take on any film and one that can not really be categorised. Another truley mesmerising performance from a faultless Joaquin Phoenix. An emotional rollercoaster, everyone should experience.
  91. Jan 28, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Her is not just a simple love story, it's a beautifully crafted cinematic experience. While the Samantha might just be a computer, the emotions you feel between the two are real, and surprisingly believable. I want to first talk about what this film does right. From the very beginning, we are given a main character who is depressed and tired of his life after a somewhat recent break-up, which seems to be a cliche. But this works for the story, because it's this sense of loss that propels him to his chance at connection with another being: an AI. It sounds like it could go wrong, and eventually it does, but the journey of this emotional connection between two souls from different worlds made me contemplate my own life in my own need for someone to be there. The cinematography is amazing, the character development is brilliant, the script is absolutely insightful and well-thought through. But, this movie is not perfect, and there are a couple nit-picky reasons why I opted to give it a 9 instead of a 10. The movie focuses almost way too much on sex in my opinion, and physicality of relationships, and I can understand the reason for that, it's trying to focus on the theme that we are physical beings and the distance between Sam and Theodore is because of that, but it felt like it just put way too much emphasis on sex and lust. Every relationship need physical intimacy, but for me, they pushed it on a little too heavy. The other problem I had was the ending. There was no need for Theodore to end up (presumably) hooking up with his good friend, who had also just had a break up, after the final shot. When Sam left him, I thought it would have been a lot more powerful if Theodore had gone to the roof by himself, sat there, reflecting on everything he had experienced, learned from it, and learned to love himself, not just jump into another relationship. But those are only minor plot pickings had an issue with. But overall, Her was a fantastic journey from start to end. I laughed, I cried, and most of all, I changed for the better. Probably the best movie of the year. Expand
  92. Apr 13, 2014
    9
    Wonderful movie! Developed in an "everyone´s city", acclimated in a place without time. Controversial topic, not far away from our immediate reality. Great voice from Johansson. Impeccable acting by Phoenix.
  93. Feb 7, 2014
    10
    i loved this film. Jonze vision and expression of love is expansive, tender, funny and profoundly touching. i was deeply impacted by what he created.
  94. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    It is wonderful and deep story about what relations are. Machine (or OS) here is nothing more than an allegory to a real human relations. A first we all fall in love and experience an euphoria, but then realize how different we are. We don't want to commit because our partner is not perfect (has no body). This story about us - people - what really matters in relations, what makes us different, how to get used to it and how differences could set us apart.

    Great story, great actors, great execution. The movie that you do not expect from "popcorn" Hollywood.
    Expand
  95. May 8, 2014
    9
    This movie really grasps the reality of another world what really impresses me is the maturity in this movie. Joaquin Phoenix's is an anchor to this story portraying what it truly feels to have love being pulled away from you time and time again. The supporting actors do a really great job to reinforce Phoenix's acting. This is one of my favorite movies of all time and ill enjoy watching this again. Expand
  96. Jul 25, 2014
    9
    Her sin duda alguna es una película eficaz, ya que da un buen enfoque a la historia para que todo funcione correctamente, haciendo que su sencilla y curiosa sipnosis sea mejor.
  97. Mar 17, 2014
    10
    Pure genius and extremely symbolic. Many people look at this film literally and want nothing to do with it. Yes, the idea of a man falling in love with his computer is a bit strange, but the symbolism behind it is brilliant. So many of us get so caught up in technology that it does consume our lives. We seem to "fall in love" with our smart phones or computers. Spike Jonze captures this perfectly.
  98. Mar 22, 2014
    9
    Tired of all the superhero movies? This was my favorite movie of 2013. Worth picking up on blu-ray if you missed this in theaters. You know you can't resist that voice.
  99. Jun 10, 2014
    10
    A beautiful movie with sincere and relaxing moments, extraordinary performances, a undeniably powerful script, amazing soundtrack and a spectacular Spike Jonze's directing who gives us good information about the state of modern human relationships.
  100. Apr 21, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Have you ever thought about how technology will shape our future? Have you ever been wounded by an ex-lover so badly you thought you’d never recover? Are you afraid of interacting with the opposite sex? Well let me tell you, you are not alone. In the film Her, we meet a sullen, heartbroken man living in the future searching for ways to fill the void left by his ex-lover. His despair takes him to a super-intelligent computer program called an operating system that he soon develops a very strong relationship with. It is becoming apparent that new advances in technology have created a shift in how human beings interact with each other. We see the possibilities of how technology will shape our lives and how human interaction may or may not suffer greatly. If you like movies that generate crazy, but realistic scenarios for humans to deal with, this is definitely your film. Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Feb 18, 2014
    60
    I wished I liked it more. It is engagingly self-aware and excruciatingly self-conscious, wearing its hipness on its sleeve; it's ingenious and yet remarkably contrived. The film seems very new, but the sentimental ending is as old as the hills. There are some great moments.
  2. Reviewed by: Cath Clarke
    Feb 11, 2014
    80
    Her is a keeper of a film, quietly dazzling.
  3. Reviewed by: Ian Nathan
    Feb 10, 2014
    80
    Jonze has made a sweet, smart, silly, serious film for our times, only set in the future.