Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 710 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , ,
  • Summary: Set in the Los Angeles of the slight future, Her follows Theodore Twombly, a complex, soulful man who makes his living writing touching, personal letters for other people. Heartbroken after the end of a long relationship, he becomes intrigued with a new, advanced operating system, which promises to be an intuitive entity in its own right, individual to each user. Upon initiating it, he is delighted to meet "Samantha," a bright, female voice, who is insightful, sensitive and surprisingly funny. As her needs and desires grow, in tandem with his own, their friendship deepens into an eventual love for each other. [Warner Bros.] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Dec 18, 2013
    100
    The wistfulness in this movie is large-souled. Theodore may worry that his love for Samantha makes him a freak, but Amy knows that “anybody who loves is a freak.” All this may sound touchy-feely in the worst way, but Jonze is trying to get at how we seek romantic connection in this brave (or not so brave) new world. Like Theodore, he risks looking foolish.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jan 9, 2014
    100
    Her is an outstanding movie, in part because of its originality, but also because of its execution.
  3. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Jan 10, 2014
    100
    Sad, funny, and quietly alarming romance.
  4. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Dec 16, 2013
    90
    Sad, kooky, and daunting in equal measure, Her is the right film at the right time.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Dec 23, 2013
    88
    Her works as a real romance, and as a commentary on the ways technology connects everyone to the world but also isolates us from legitimate, warm human contact.
  6. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Dec 18, 2013
    88
    Is it better to have loved and lost than never to have logged on at all?
  7. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Dec 17, 2013
    40
    Instead of just being desperately heartfelt, Her keeps reminding us — through cinematographer Hoyte Van Hoytema's somber-droll camera work, through Phoenix's artfully slumped shoulders — how desperately heartfelt it is.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 178
  1. Mar 17, 2014
    10
    Pure genius and extremely symbolic. Many people look at this film literally and want nothing to do with it. Yes, the idea of a man falling in love with his computer is a bit strange, but the symbolism behind it is brilliant. So many of us get so caught up in technology that it does consume our lives. We seem to "fall in love" with our smart phones or computers. Spike Jonze captures this perfectly. Expand
  2. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    It's good to see a masterpiece once in a while. This movie with the lightest touch imaginable asks the big questions: what does it mean to be human, to love, to demand exclusivity. It is visually striking and the acting is extraordinary. Frequently funny, it is finally deeply moving. I hope to see it again and again. Expand
  3. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    A wonderful comedy for 2013 about a lonely man who falls in love with his computer. Writer director Spike Jones has created 2 complex characters with real feelings. Expand
  4. Mar 22, 2014
    9
    Tired of all the superhero movies? This was my favorite movie of 2013. Worth picking up on blu-ray if you missed this in theaters. You know you can't resist that voice. Expand
  5. May 8, 2014
    8
    The usually impressive Spike Jonze gives you a unique look at love, in a non-cliche romantic film. Phoenix puts on a stunning performance as Theodore, a man who searches for love, Johansson steals the show without being in the film visually. A great supporting cast Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2014
    7
    This is a sad, sad movie about how lonely a person is in a modern society. In our quest for pleasure we became selfish, boxed and very unhappy. The authors of the movie envision that in a near future it will become easier to have a meaningful relationship with a computer than with another human being. And even that relationship will not last. The movie will probably become a cult movie for a certain audience. Sexy voice of Scarlett Johansson adds to the film's attractiveness. I would not call this movie great but it deserves to be seen. Expand
  7. Feb 20, 2014
    0
    I just tried to watch this movie online. I got 14.27 minutes into the movie and am about to punch my laptop! What a stupid movie! I can't stand Joaquin Phoenix in the first place and to sit and watch such stupidity along with him, I cannot stomach. I am trying to figure out why there are currently 421 viewers that think this movie is so wonderful and why it has such a high score. This movie is NOT worthy of any award of any kind. GOD! What a stupid movie!!!!! Expand

See all 178 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis

    2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis Image
    Published: January 16, 2014
    The Oscar nominations are in. What were this year's biggest surprises and snubs? Find a complete list and analysis of nominees for the 86th Annual Academy Awards.
  2. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.
  3. 2013 Golden Globe Nominations

    2013 Golden Globe Nominations Image
    Published: December 12, 2013
    Find a full list of the 71st Annual Golden Globe nominations in film and television, and a look at the year's surprises and snubs.
  4. 2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 8, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top ten lists from dozens of movie critics and publications. Browse the individual lists and view our composite rankings inside.
  5. 2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard

    2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard Image
    Published: December 3, 2013
    Find a complete list of 2013's major film awards and nominations from dozens of professional organizations and critic associations, as well as a running scorecard of the year's biggest winners. Check daily for updates throughout December and January.