Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 852 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , ,
  • Summary: Set in the Los Angeles of the slight future, Her follows Theodore Twombly, a complex, soulful man who makes his living writing touching, personal letters for other people. Heartbroken after the end of a long relationship, he becomes intrigued with a new, advanced operating system, which promises to be an intuitive entity in its own right, individual to each user. Upon initiating it, he is delighted to meet "Samantha," a bright, female voice, who is insightful, sensitive and surprisingly funny. As her needs and desires grow, in tandem with his own, their friendship deepens into an eventual love for each other. [Warner Bros.] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Dec 18, 2013
    100
    The wistfulness in this movie is large-souled. Theodore may worry that his love for Samantha makes him a freak, but Amy knows that “anybody who loves is a freak.” All this may sound touchy-feely in the worst way, but Jonze is trying to get at how we seek romantic connection in this brave (or not so brave) new world. Like Theodore, he risks looking foolish.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jan 9, 2014
    100
    Her is an outstanding movie, in part because of its originality, but also because of its execution.
  3. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Jan 10, 2014
    100
    Sad, funny, and quietly alarming romance.
  4. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Dec 16, 2013
    90
    Sad, kooky, and daunting in equal measure, Her is the right film at the right time.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Dec 23, 2013
    88
    Her works as a real romance, and as a commentary on the ways technology connects everyone to the world but also isolates us from legitimate, warm human contact.
  6. 88
    Is it better to have loved and lost than never to have logged on at all?
  7. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Dec 17, 2013
    40
    Instead of just being desperately heartfelt, Her keeps reminding us — through cinematographer Hoyte Van Hoytema's somber-droll camera work, through Phoenix's artfully slumped shoulders — how desperately heartfelt it is.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 198
  1. May 10, 2014
    10
    Very good movie, Made me cry, think what is love really is, If you found someone good!. Really i hate the stupid comments but appreciate greatness, jus't bitter and lack of understanding.

    Thumbs up great actor and actress!
    Expand
  2. Jan 21, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Many films are able to capture the past, (war films, historical dramas) or give a convincing portrayal of the future (science fiction). But only a few films are able to capture the present, and those that do are usually documentaries. So when a narrative film is able to do this, it’s necessary to take a moment to stop and appreciate this accomplishment. While it takes place in the future, I’ve never seen a film that is able to both identify and critique the now as well as Spike Jonze’s Her. So let’s take the moment that this film richly deserves, and take a closer look at this incredible movie.

    Her tells a story set in the near future about a lonely man, Theodore (played by Joaquin Phoenix), who writes other people’s love letters, and starts a relationship with his artificially intelligent operating system, Samantha (voiced by Scarlett Johansson). Spike Jonze directs, and for the first time in one of his features, writes the brilliant original screenplay. Amy Adams and Chris Pratt also have supporting roles as Theodore’s friends. The film has been nominated for five Academy Awards, and has won a Golden Globe for Best Original Screenplay.

    Since it has already nabbed a major award, let’s start with the screenplay. Jonze’s collaborations with writer Charlie Kaufman (Being John Malkovich, Adaptation) appear to have made an impact on him. Giving their characters ordinary problems, but putting them in extraordinary settings is a method both Kaufman and Jonze have used with great success. The viewers are able to identify with the characters while simultaneously be captivated by the fantastical world around them. Her is also acted incredibly by Phoenix, who is faced with the difficult task of acting with someone who isn’t even in the room with him. However, the real revelation here is Johansson, who is able to portray a character that is never seen, but is able to showcase such real emotion that it isn’t difficult at all to blame Theodore for falling in love with her.

    The complaints are few and far between. Theodore’s ex-wife (played by Rooney Mara) is portrayed as a little too bitter and jealous for my taste, but then again divorce is a messy situation, so her feelings are understandable. However, there is not a scene showing or explaining to the audience of how their relationship ended. It also leaves their plot line unresolved at the end, where it would have been nice to see some kind of conclusion to their relationship. It also would have been fun to see a little more of the world around the characters, as most of the film is confined to Theodore’s apartment and workplace.

    This film is highly recommended for Spike Jonze fans. For those who will be introduced to his work with this film and want to see more, Being John Malkovich and Adaptation are two of his earlier projects that have many of the same qualities as Her. Charlie Kaufman’s work that is not associated with Jonze is still very similar in style, so for those interested, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (personally, my favorite film) and Synecdoche, New York are essential viewing. However, while it needs some time to sink in, Her might be the best of the bunch.
    Expand
  3. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    A wonderful comedy for 2013 about a lonely man who falls in love with his computer. Writer director Spike Jones has created 2 complex characters with real feelings. Expand
  4. May 5, 2014
    9
    This film is excellent providing a fantastic study of ourselves, those around us, technology, and society as a whole. You should definitely see this movie as it will give you an interesting outlook on life and make you question everything. Yet another Best Picture nominee from 2014 that deserved to be nominated as it is excellent. Expand
  5. Jul 3, 2014
    8
    "Sometimes I think I have felt everything I'm ever gonna feel. And from here on out, I'm not gonna feel anything new. Just lesser versions of what I've already felt."

    Well I've seen a lot of Director Spike Jones work but i would honestly have to say that Her is now my favorite film of and his best work as of yet. Coming off his rather underwhelming 2009 adaptation of Maurice Sendak children's book "Where the Wild Things Are" Spike Jones shows that he can still make a wonderful movie despite the long breaks between making films but at least he keeps busy with shorts films and documentaries. I would to say the movie is a mix of four genres its part, Sci-fi, Romance, Drama, and Comedy, though the comedy aspect of the movie is more so in the first half while the second half tends to more drama driven. Many of the the scenes were beautifully shot and it only added to how immersed you get wrapped up into the characters lives.

    The movie follows Theodore (Joaquin Phoenix) a quiet, lonely man working as writer for a company that writes personal letters/poems for people that cannot. After sometime of being unhappy because of his unfinished divorce Theodore decides to purchase a new type of operating system for his computer that basically turns it into a artificial intelligence that has its own personal name Samantha (Scarlett Johansson). We see Theodore and Samantha grow a pretty normal relationship together except for the fact that she isn't really there which happens linger on her mind a lot. Theodore finally signs the divorce papers and meets with his ex-wife Catherine (Rooney Mara) which doesn't go so well and after this part Theodore and Samantha's relationship is never really the same as we see them grow apart.

    The story is simplistic yet beautiful and the performance by Joaquin Phoenix was just absolutely phenomenal. I do have a few problems with the film though, since its based in the future you would think Samantha's operating system would have at least been able to render a face for her on the little phone thing Theodore has also for having a awesome concept the story sadly stays safe and doesn't really add anything new. The whole first half of the movie was really funny especially the little guy in the video game Theodore was playing as he was flipping hilarious. It seems the company Theodore worked at liked having people that had mustaches and wore their pants high on their waist which was just completely hilarious but only gets more funny when you see Chris Pratt who plays one of his co-worker i think anyways he too has a big mustache and wears his pants the same.

    Overall i give it a 8.0 I would have to say my favorite part of the whole movie was the cinematography it was just stunning to say the least. The beach scene was so beautiful and the music that plays in the background only made it more beautiful. I also loved all the flashbacks the movie has and they were blended in at just the right times for it make to make a more meaningful impact on the story. Olivia Wilde had a small part in the film witched sucked as i was hoping for her to have a bigger part but she was still amazing nonetheless she also looked simply gorgeous as always so that was nothing new.
    Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2014
    7
    This is a sad, sad movie about how lonely a person is in a modern society. In our quest for pleasure we became selfish, boxed and very unhappy. The authors of the movie envision that in a near future it will become easier to have a meaningful relationship with a computer than with another human being. And even that relationship will not last. The movie will probably become a cult movie for a certain audience. Sexy voice of Scarlett Johansson adds to the film's attractiveness. I would not call this movie great but it deserves to be seen. Expand
  7. Sep 23, 2014
    0
    Ever seen a movie that's so bad when it pops back up in your memory you get angry? I saw this movie in theaters about a year ago, and something reminded me of it today, and I, instantly, got pissed off. This may very well be the worst movie I have ever seen, like, not even exaggerating, not even a little bit.

    Now, I'm not one of these people that just hates on Spike Jonze, I mean, I don't really think he's worthy of the constant attention he gets, but I thought Adaptation was a really well put together film; everything else he's done is kind of meh; but this movie, dear god, this movie.

    It's so unnecessarily pretentious: it's deliberately slow paced and the characters are deliberately unappealing to draw out the "reality" of the situations; I'm not a fan of this particular approach, I'm definitely a strong advocate for clever stylization over realism, but, there are some occasions that call for the dreary shackles of reality, and some occasions where this works, like when the film is presenting some great truth or some really rich ideas, it can be advantageous to juxtapose that with the tedium of the real world...however there are no great truths here, no rich ideas, there is absolutely nothing profound in this movie to warrant how slow it is.

    It's a very bland look at a, somewhat, tired subject: sentient machines and there impact on humanity. Now anyone familiar with, almost, anything to come out of the science fiction genre over the past 80 years or so is very familiar with this subject; hell even if you're not so familiar with the genre you've probably caught a passing episode of Star Trek the Next Generation, played some Megaman or seen, at least, one of the Terminator films or something, so you've, no doubt, come across this theme; it's nothing new, but, apparently, when Spike Jonze does it, it is!

    You see, Spike Jonze draws in this pretentious hipster crowd, and these people dismiss science fiction as "genre" and anything that's "genre" is beneath them, because it's not up it's own ass and touting itself as a work of art, (whether it is or isn't is a discussion for another day); so these hipster Jonze fans go and see this movie and are just seeing, or just paying attention to these concepts for the first time and it's mind blowing to them, and when you tell them: "Well, it's nothing new, Phillip K Dick and Kazunori Ito did it a lot better" they just glare at you and make condescending remarks about the circles those particular talents move in.

    I was seriously shocked when I left the theater after seeing this film and everyone seemed so enthralled by it, then I looked around and noticed all the skinny jeans(for men) and high waisted skinny jeans (for women), pork pie hats, thick rimmed glasses, ironic mustaches and the occasional bow tie and I was like "ooooooh".

    Also, and I just found this out, Arcade Fire did the soundtrack; they're the **** worst.
    Expand

See all 198 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis

    2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis Image
    Published: January 16, 2014
    The Oscar nominations are in. What were this year's biggest surprises and snubs? Find a complete list and analysis of nominees for the 86th Annual Academy Awards.
  2. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.
  3. 2013 Golden Globe Nominations

    2013 Golden Globe Nominations Image
    Published: December 12, 2013
    Find a full list of the 71st Annual Golden Globe nominations in film and television, and a look at the year's surprises and snubs.
  4. 2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 8, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top ten lists from dozens of movie critics and publications. Browse the individual lists and view our composite rankings inside.
  5. 2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard

    2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard Image
    Published: December 3, 2013
    Find a complete list of 2013's major film awards and nominations from dozens of professional organizations and critic associations, as well as a running scorecard of the year's biggest winners. Check daily for updates throughout December and January.