Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 776 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , ,
  • Summary: Set in the Los Angeles of the slight future, Her follows Theodore Twombly, a complex, soulful man who makes his living writing touching, personal letters for other people. Heartbroken after the end of a long relationship, he becomes intrigued with a new, advanced operating system, which promises to be an intuitive entity in its own right, individual to each user. Upon initiating it, he is delighted to meet "Samantha," a bright, female voice, who is insightful, sensitive and surprisingly funny. As her needs and desires grow, in tandem with his own, their friendship deepens into an eventual love for each other. [Warner Bros.] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Dec 18, 2013
    100
    The wistfulness in this movie is large-souled. Theodore may worry that his love for Samantha makes him a freak, but Amy knows that “anybody who loves is a freak.” All this may sound touchy-feely in the worst way, but Jonze is trying to get at how we seek romantic connection in this brave (or not so brave) new world. Like Theodore, he risks looking foolish.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jan 9, 2014
    100
    Her is an outstanding movie, in part because of its originality, but also because of its execution.
  3. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Jan 10, 2014
    100
    Sad, funny, and quietly alarming romance.
  4. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Dec 16, 2013
    90
    Sad, kooky, and daunting in equal measure, Her is the right film at the right time.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Dec 23, 2013
    88
    Her works as a real romance, and as a commentary on the ways technology connects everyone to the world but also isolates us from legitimate, warm human contact.
  6. 88
    Is it better to have loved and lost than never to have logged on at all?
  7. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Dec 17, 2013
    40
    Instead of just being desperately heartfelt, Her keeps reminding us — through cinematographer Hoyte Van Hoytema's somber-droll camera work, through Phoenix's artfully slumped shoulders — how desperately heartfelt it is.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 186
  1. May 6, 2014
    10
    Long, a lot of dialog, little to no action, no special effects, yet.... I was glued to the screen with interest when watching this movie! The story is extremely emotional, deep and some of the subject matter is really out there! Amazing movie! Expand
  2. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    Jonze lead us to a very deep stage of a spectacular metaphysical life. For two hours I was stuck in Theodore's lonely and complex life, and Her became a part of my reality, to the extreme that I was hoping that I'll never go back to my true, lame, and shallow reality. It doesn't matter how much deep you are, Her will take you to places you have never been to before, and will ignite some feelings that you have never experienced or ever felt before. It's merely a masterpiece, that makes us look at life in a very different deep perspective that reveals to us the true feeling and understanding of love and it's affect on us. Also showing us the capabilities of this feeling that is able to make human beings fall so deeply in love with an operating system just because of the mutual feelings they are having, dismissing the physical aspect in love, which shows us that love is way beyond anything physical or sexual. Expand
  3. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    A wonderful comedy for 2013 about a lonely man who falls in love with his computer. Writer director Spike Jones has created 2 complex characters with real feelings. Expand
  4. Apr 21, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Have you ever thought about how technology will shape our future? Have you ever been wounded by an ex-lover so badly you thought you’d never recover? Are you afraid of interacting with the opposite sex? Well let me tell you, you are not alone. In the film Her, we meet a sullen, heartbroken man living in the future searching for ways to fill the void left by his ex-lover. His despair takes him to a super-intelligent computer program called an operating system that he soon develops a very strong relationship with. It is becoming apparent that new advances in technology have created a shift in how human beings interact with each other. We see the possibilities of how technology will shape our lives and how human interaction may or may not suffer greatly. If you like movies that generate crazy, but realistic scenarios for humans to deal with, this is definitely your film. Expand
  5. Jun 2, 2014
    8
    I love this director's all the movies. If you check them out you would do same as me. Because his movies were not based on usual concepts, that something immensely varying from each others. Sadly, he's not consistent in filmmaking, he does take large gaps between the movies otherwise he would have been one of the most talked director in Hollywood beside other giants. The fact is I did not know it was his till I decided to watch and that made so curious towards the time I going to spend for it.

    Joaquin Phoenix was spot on in the movie. Man, I still remember him in the movie 'Gladiator' where he appeared in a dark shade. I was only so young and I hated him in that role. Now everything has changed, in the last few years he's coming stronger, especially after 'Walk the Line' and 'The Master' which gave him the Oscar node. He's famous for his unique display of the roles in his all the movies and this movie is not too far from another top notch performance. Yeah, way to go Joaquin Phoenix.

    This movie dealt with one of the rare subjects that set in the 2025. We don't know how will be the future look like, but the director created remarkable fictional world and inserted equally outstanding character(s). This was the story of a man called Theodore, a loner and a professional letter writer. One day he decides to buy the newly released operating system with artificial intelligence. He begins to encounter the life changing experience and instantly fall in love with it. In the world of reality it is impossible to have a physical relationship with an AI, so how far it goes and ends is explained in the movie's death.

    Absolutely an extraordinary concept, but the only thing that did not stand up to my expectation was the story. It was predictable, but the scenes created for those stories were finely patched throughout. Really, it amazed me. Makes me happy that it won for 'original screenplay' at the Oscars. I know it was too late that I am seeing it, actually I'd seen all the Oscars movies of the year except this one and now everything was done and dusted. So I have to wait for another 6 months for another shot. Between that guess the movies that's going to have a chance for the upcoming Oscars. As for this movie's concern, it is not a missable. So recommend it, if you have not checked it out do it as soon as possible. Cheers!
    Expand
  6. Jan 19, 2014
    7
    My expectations to this movie were rather big, but I can't help saying I'm a bit disappointed. The movie's theme is interesting, but seen before. Yeah, we should be critical towards technology and AI, hence we miss the social, interactive context etc. Great performance by Joaquin Phoenix, but the story is slow and pretty predictable. Expand
  7. May 31, 2014
    0
    lame. i've tried watching this twice and got so bored i quit -- it seems absolutely pointless, no direction, characters are dimensionless and completely forgettable. I came here to see what others thought, and I cant believe the number of positive reviews. The scene where he has sex with the OS, and we stare of a blank screen - is rock bottom and makes me feel so angry that I even bothered to waste time on this film. Horrible Expand

See all 186 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis

    2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis Image
    Published: January 16, 2014
    The Oscar nominations are in. What were this year's biggest surprises and snubs? Find a complete list and analysis of nominees for the 86th Annual Academy Awards.
  2. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.
  3. 2013 Golden Globe Nominations

    2013 Golden Globe Nominations Image
    Published: December 12, 2013
    Find a full list of the 71st Annual Golden Globe nominations in film and television, and a look at the year's surprises and snubs.
  4. 2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 8, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top ten lists from dozens of movie critics and publications. Browse the individual lists and view our composite rankings inside.
  5. 2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard

    2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard Image
    Published: December 3, 2013
    Find a complete list of 2013's major film awards and nominations from dozens of professional organizations and critic associations, as well as a running scorecard of the year's biggest winners. Check daily for updates throughout December and January.