Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 571 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , ,
  • Summary: Set in the Los Angeles of the slight future, Her follows Theodore Twombly, a complex, soulful man who makes his living writing touching, personal letters for other people. Heartbroken after the end of a long relationship, he becomes intrigued with a new, advanced operating system, which promises to be an intuitive entity in its own right, individual to each user. Upon initiating it, he is delighted to meet "Samantha," a bright, female voice, who is insightful, sensitive and surprisingly funny. As her needs and desires grow, in tandem with his own, their friendship deepens into an eventual love for each other. [Warner Bros.] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Dec 18, 2013
    100
    The wistfulness in this movie is large-souled. Theodore may worry that his love for Samantha makes him a freak, but Amy knows that “anybody who loves is a freak.” All this may sound touchy-feely in the worst way, but Jonze is trying to get at how we seek romantic connection in this brave (or not so brave) new world. Like Theodore, he risks looking foolish.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jan 9, 2014
    100
    Her is an outstanding movie, in part because of its originality, but also because of its execution.
  3. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Jan 10, 2014
    100
    Sad, funny, and quietly alarming romance.
  4. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Dec 16, 2013
    90
    Sad, kooky, and daunting in equal measure, Her is the right film at the right time.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Dec 23, 2013
    88
    Her works as a real romance, and as a commentary on the ways technology connects everyone to the world but also isolates us from legitimate, warm human contact.
  6. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Dec 18, 2013
    88
    Is it better to have loved and lost than never to have logged on at all?
  7. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Dec 17, 2013
    40
    Instead of just being desperately heartfelt, Her keeps reminding us — through cinematographer Hoyte Van Hoytema's somber-droll camera work, through Phoenix's artfully slumped shoulders — how desperately heartfelt it is.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 150
  1. Feb 7, 2014
    10
    i loved this film. Jonze vision and expression of love is expansive, tender, funny and profoundly touching. i was deeply impacted by what he created. Expand
  2. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    One of those rare moments in life where a film comes along and shows that not everything that comes out of Hollywood is a copy and paste attempt to squeeze as much life from old and cliche plots. The romantic comedy is a genre that has been done time and time again, however, now and then a film comes along that breathes new life into this stale formula.
    Groundhog Day, Punch-Drunk Love and Eternal Sunshine of a Spotless mind all spring to mind here, as touching, beautiful and funny.
    Her stands up with those easily and if you are searching for something a little different then you can not go wrong with this movie.
    Expand
  3. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    A wonderful comedy for 2013 about a lonely man who falls in love with his computer. Writer director Spike Jones has created 2 complex characters with real feelings. Expand
  4. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    ‘Her’ is one of those movies that got snubbed by the 2014 Oscar nominating committee. The first thought I had after seeing the movie was, “How did Spike Jonze ever think something like that up!” The material is incredibly original, and it probably should have received a nomination for best original screenplay. The movie is also well cast. The acting by Joaquin Phoenix is first rate. It’s too bad he doesn’t seem to be well liked by the Hollywood crowd. While I’m not a huge Scarlett Johansson fan, she is quite credible and does an excellent job of expressing emotion as a disembodied voice. Having recently seen American Hustle I had a hard time getting used to the rather timid character portrayed by Amy Adams. Though I’m not sure you would call ‘Her’ Best Picture material, it’s a far better movie than Wolf of Wall Street.

    That being said, this movie is not for everyone. It’s definitely different, but has the potential to become something of a cult classic. (Think ‘2001: A Space Odyssey’, with a more conventional ending). The movie is set in the near future, but the future is a bit of a sterile, lonely and nerdy place. People are hesitant. They don’t interact with each other well, and when they do, their conversations are awkward and their behavior is forced. (Some reviewers seem to mistake this for bad acting.) Fashion has also taken a turn for the worse, as people in the future dress badly (especially the men who seem to favor really high-waisted pants).

    Although the basic premise of the movie “Lonely man falls in love with the voice on his operating system” sounds a bit creepy, and might have been if Jonze hadn’t done such an excellent job, the movie really isn’t the least bit so. The ‘sex’ in this movie is of a variety that is intended to make you a bit uncomfortable. There is only a brief bit of traditional (gratuitous?) female nudity, and no traditional action scenes, which again may discourage the average viewer. But, if you are still reading this, then don’t be discouraged about seeing it, it’s a terrific movie. It’s a story about loneliness. It’s about the basic need for companionship, the struggle to fulfill that need, and the mistakes we make along the way. If you’re open to that kind of story, then I highly recommend this movie.
    Expand
  5. Feb 8, 2014
    8
    People and critics call movies beautiful way too much, and I always think it’s probably good but I doubt it’s beautiful. Then I watch the movie and I’m almost always right. Her is a beautiful movie. The way it is filmed and designed catches your eye but doesn’t ram how stylised it is down your throat (like for example 300 and Sucker Punch). Spike Jonze writes and directs Her, a science fiction romance (two very unusual genres which usually don’t mix) about a card writer who falls in love with his operating system Samantha. Joaquin Pheonix plays Theodore who has just come out of a horrible break up with his long time wife who he has known almost all his life, he is perfect and remains likable for the whole runtime without being the clichéd “innocent divorced man” who appears in way to many romantic movies nowadays. Although you only hear her voice Scarlett Johannson also embodies her character perfectly, this time in the role of Theodore’s operating system, however she was not as likable as Theodore and came out as a bit of a b*tch (I didn’t think it was possible for computers to be b*tches) this is pretty much the only major problem I have with the movie and it might have even been intentional by the writers. Amy Adams and Chris Pratt are the supporting cast and are equally brilliant. Apart from four characters Her has pretty much no cast, this another strange thing which I liked about it. Instead of having Theodore confront his parents and start thinking about marriage like in straightforward predictable romance movies, Her only revolves around the relationship between Samantha and Theodore which is why I think it is so gripping without having any action in it. Another little thing which just interested me was how funny it was. I laughed more in Her than I did in straightforward comedies like Red 2 and The Family, it’s not exactly hilarious but that’s because it’s not trying to be. It is because of this that Her reminds me of The Spectacular Now, but set in the future. I loved The Spectacular Now by the way and I loved Her even more. It is undeniably a must see and genuinely one of my favourite movies ever. I think romance movies are the worst pieces of cinema, Her is an exception. Expand
  6. Jan 22, 2014
    6
    Joaquin Phoenix plays an earnest man who leads a quiet life in slightly-future LA. He loads a new operating system on his computer (voiced by Scarlett Johansson) and they end up passionately in love. Director Spike Jonze has written a unique story and endowed it with sweet ruminations on love and life. Cinematographer Hoyte Van Hoytema has created a lovely look with soft light and shallow focus. The whole film has a wistful, quiet quality that's heartfelt, but there are too many scenes of Phoenix in solo conversations with his OS. I also had problems with some stuff being modern and cool, while other things (esp. the fashion) look disappointingly unfuturistic. Despite its good qualities, this could have been a short and would have been charming. For me it's just too long and too precious. Expand
  7. Feb 7, 2014
    0
    This is my first movie review, inspired by how awful this movie was. I could spend some time but: 1) I already wasted 2 hours on it 2) I've already spewed it all to my wife 3) the other 0-1 rated views here have said it all and adequately. First time to not be enthralled by Amy Adams. Endless shots of a BIg City with Big Buildings. One final peave, why the shot of steam (that looks like smoke) come out of a manhole cover in a warm climate (woman with sleeveless dress in the same scene) Expand

See all 150 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis

    2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis Image
    Published: January 16, 2014
    The Oscar nominations are in. What were this year's biggest surprises and snubs? Find a complete list and analysis of nominees for the 86th Annual Academy Awards.
  2. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.
  3. 2013 Golden Globe Nominations

    2013 Golden Globe Nominations Image
    Published: December 12, 2013
    Find a full list of the 71st Annual Golden Globe nominations in film and television, and a look at the year's surprises and snubs.
  4. 2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 8, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top ten lists from dozens of movie critics and publications. Browse the individual lists and view our composite rankings inside.
  5. 2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard

    2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard Image
    Published: December 3, 2013
    Find a complete list of 2013's major film awards and nominations from dozens of professional organizations and critic associations, as well as a running scorecard of the year's biggest winners. Check daily for updates throughout December and January.