Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 972 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , ,
  • Summary: Set in the Los Angeles of the slight future, Her follows Theodore Twombly, a complex, soulful man who makes his living writing touching, personal letters for other people. Heartbroken after the end of a long relationship, he becomes intrigued with a new, advanced operating system, whichSet in the Los Angeles of the slight future, Her follows Theodore Twombly, a complex, soulful man who makes his living writing touching, personal letters for other people. Heartbroken after the end of a long relationship, he becomes intrigued with a new, advanced operating system, which promises to be an intuitive entity in its own right, individual to each user. Upon initiating it, he is delighted to meet "Samantha," a bright, female voice, who is insightful, sensitive and surprisingly funny. As her needs and desires grow, in tandem with his own, their friendship deepens into an eventual love for each other. [Warner Bros.] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Dec 18, 2013
    100
    The wistfulness in this movie is large-souled. Theodore may worry that his love for Samantha makes him a freak, but Amy knows that “anybody who loves is a freak.” All this may sound touchy-feely in the worst way, but Jonze is trying to get at how we seek romantic connection in this brave (or not so brave) new world. Like Theodore, he risks looking foolish.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jan 9, 2014
    100
    Her is an outstanding movie, in part because of its originality, but also because of its execution.
  3. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Jan 10, 2014
    100
    Sad, funny, and quietly alarming romance.
  4. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Dec 16, 2013
    90
    Sad, kooky, and daunting in equal measure, Her is the right film at the right time.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Dec 23, 2013
    88
    Her works as a real romance, and as a commentary on the ways technology connects everyone to the world but also isolates us from legitimate, warm human contact.
  6. 88
    Is it better to have loved and lost than never to have logged on at all?
  7. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Dec 17, 2013
    40
    Instead of just being desperately heartfelt, Her keeps reminding us — through cinematographer Hoyte Van Hoytema's somber-droll camera work, through Phoenix's artfully slumped shoulders — how desperately heartfelt it is.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 213
  1. May 13, 2014
    10
    The biggest reason why I love this movie so much is not just because of the great plot but the fact that Joaquin Phoenix gave a masterfulThe biggest reason why I love this movie so much is not just because of the great plot but the fact that Joaquin Phoenix gave a masterful performance that was well worthy to win any best actor award. A truly must see film and by far the best film of 2013, Even beats a majority of the crap I've seen so far in 2014. Expand
  2. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    Despite being between a man and a computer program, this movie's primary relationship manages to produce something more captivating and realDespite being between a man and a computer program, this movie's primary relationship manages to produce something more captivating and real feeling than most human-human romances. The whole movie feels modern. It feels fresh, and current, and all too possible. And hidden by this wonderful portrayal of a relationship are hundreds of enjoyable moments that continue adding to the overall feel and charm of the movie. It's funny. It's fresh. And almost everything about it is fantastic.

    I especially enjoyed how they handled the parts that normally come out coated with cheese and are embarrassing to watch-- frequent fliers in the romance movie world. This good of been boring, or just downright stupid, but even when it was doing things that had been done before it did them in a way that just felt right. I can't say I expected this movie to be as good as it ended up being, but I'm glad it was able to change my mind.
    Expand
  3. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    A wonderful comedy for 2013 about a lonely man who falls in love with his computer. Writer director Spike Jones has created 2 complexA wonderful comedy for 2013 about a lonely man who falls in love with his computer. Writer director Spike Jones has created 2 complex characters with real feelings. Expand
  4. May 5, 2014
    9
    This film is excellent providing a fantastic study of ourselves, those around us, technology, and society as a whole. You should definitelyThis film is excellent providing a fantastic study of ourselves, those around us, technology, and society as a whole. You should definitely see this movie as it will give you an interesting outlook on life and make you question everything. Yet another Best Picture nominee from 2014 that deserved to be nominated as it is excellent. Expand
  5. Nov 11, 2014
    8
    With a masterful performance by Joaquin Phoenix and his good interaction with Scarlett Johansson and Amy Adams this movie is full of dramaWith a masterful performance by Joaquin Phoenix and his good interaction with Scarlett Johansson and Amy Adams this movie is full of drama with some happy and sweet moments. (81 - 100) Expand
  6. Jan 30, 2014
    7
    Personally, I wasn't excited to go see this movie. Mainly, because sappy indie movies aren't in my best interest. Spike Jonze has always madePersonally, I wasn't excited to go see this movie. Mainly, because sappy indie movies aren't in my best interest. Spike Jonze has always made wonderful movies, and with Her, he did not disappoint nor intrigue me. The best part for me was Scarlett Johansson's voice; breathtakingly sexy. This movie was definitely a risk taker in our time era, but I applaud Jonze for the originality. I took this in two ways; one being that a person can find love in whatever makes them happy, especially a computer based off of your own personality; two being this guy is nuts if he actually believes a machine can humanly love him back. Overall, this was a good movie, but I would dread to watch it again. Expand
  7. Dec 30, 2014
    0
    Dude has some relationship with his computer. If you want to bang Siri then you will love this movie. People think this is the evolution ofDude has some relationship with his computer. If you want to bang Siri then you will love this movie. People think this is the evolution of technology but in reality we all know that when technology tries to "talk" to us it is a program. Do people speak nicely to their GPS when it says to turn around? Seriously a horrible idea for movie and a complete waste of time. Expand

See all 213 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis

    2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis Image
    Published: January 16, 2014
    The Oscar nominations are in. What were this year's biggest surprises and snubs? Find a complete list and analysis of nominees for the 86th Annual Academy Awards.
  2. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.
  3. 2013 Golden Globe Nominations

    2013 Golden Globe Nominations Image
    Published: December 12, 2013
    Find a full list of the 71st Annual Golden Globe nominations in film and television, and a look at the year's surprises and snubs.
  4. 2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 8, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top ten lists from dozens of movie critics and publications. Browse the individual lists and view our composite rankings inside.
  5. 2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard

    2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard Image
    Published: December 3, 2013
    Find a complete list of 2013's major film awards and nominations from dozens of professional organizations and critic associations, as well as a running scorecard of the year's biggest winners. Check daily for updates throughout December and January.