Her

Her Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 1261 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , ,
  • Summary: Set in the Los Angeles of the slight future, Her follows Theodore Twombly, a complex, soulful man who makes his living writing touching, personal letters for other people. Heartbroken after the end of a long relationship, he becomes intrigued with a new, advanced operating system, whichSet in the Los Angeles of the slight future, Her follows Theodore Twombly, a complex, soulful man who makes his living writing touching, personal letters for other people. Heartbroken after the end of a long relationship, he becomes intrigued with a new, advanced operating system, which promises to be an intuitive entity in its own right, individual to each user. Upon initiating it, he is delighted to meet "Samantha," a bright, female voice, who is insightful, sensitive and surprisingly funny. As her needs and desires grow, in tandem with his own, their friendship deepens into an eventual love for each other. [Warner Bros.] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Dec 18, 2013
    100
    The wistfulness in this movie is large-souled. Theodore may worry that his love for Samantha makes him a freak, but Amy knows that “anybody who loves is a freak.” All this may sound touchy-feely in the worst way, but Jonze is trying to get at how we seek romantic connection in this brave (or not so brave) new world. Like Theodore, he risks looking foolish.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jan 9, 2014
    100
    Her is an outstanding movie, in part because of its originality, but also because of its execution.
  3. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Jan 10, 2014
    100
    Sad, funny, and quietly alarming romance.
  4. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Dec 16, 2013
    90
    Sad, kooky, and daunting in equal measure, Her is the right film at the right time.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Dec 23, 2013
    88
    Her works as a real romance, and as a commentary on the ways technology connects everyone to the world but also isolates us from legitimate, warm human contact.
  6. 88
    Is it better to have loved and lost than never to have logged on at all?
  7. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Dec 17, 2013
    40
    Instead of just being desperately heartfelt, Her keeps reminding us — through cinematographer Hoyte Van Hoytema's somber-droll camera work, through Phoenix's artfully slumped shoulders — how desperately heartfelt it is.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 234
  1. Sep 5, 2014
    10
    Her is a wonderful take on our future, relationships, love, and conveys a frightening realistic take on the progression of technology and ourHer is a wonderful take on our future, relationships, love, and conveys a frightening realistic take on the progression of technology and our relationship to it. This is easily one of the years best, if not the best Expand
  2. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    It's good to see a masterpiece once in a while. This movie with the lightest touch imaginable asks the big questions: what does it mean to beIt's good to see a masterpiece once in a while. This movie with the lightest touch imaginable asks the big questions: what does it mean to be human, to love, to demand exclusivity. It is visually striking and the acting is extraordinary. Frequently funny, it is finally deeply moving. I hope to see it again and again. Expand
  3. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    A wonderful comedy for 2013 about a lonely man who falls in love with his computer. Writer director Spike Jones has created 2 complexA wonderful comedy for 2013 about a lonely man who falls in love with his computer. Writer director Spike Jones has created 2 complex characters with real feelings. Expand
  4. Aug 23, 2014
    9
    How do you make an interesting movie with little to no plot? This movie is a prime example. Sure, nothing really happens in this film but theHow do you make an interesting movie with little to no plot? This movie is a prime example. Sure, nothing really happens in this film but the characters are so complex that it continues to drive the story forward. The originality of this concept keeps the movie from being too cliche, despite its romantic intentions. While watching this movie I frequently forgot the lack of things happening because I was so wrapped up in the characters and the beautiful cinematography. A movie doesn't have to have a strong plot to be "good" by any means. It just needs to entertain and this film does that quite well by raising very valid questions in today's age of technology. I consider this film a great nod to the character driven movies that so often never make it into the public eye. I highly recommend. Expand
  5. Dec 9, 2014
    8
    Her is a thought provoking movie dealing with the nature of love, heart break, morality and the social acceptance of men, um... datingHer is a thought provoking movie dealing with the nature of love, heart break, morality and the social acceptance of men, um... dating computer software. It's weird, romantic, challenging and sends your mind to all sorts of crazy, interesting places. Basically speaking, Her is a wonderfully original film that should be seen by people who like to ponder on things. Expand
  6. Jan 30, 2014
    7
    Personally, I wasn't excited to go see this movie. Mainly, because sappy indie movies aren't in my best interest. Spike Jonze has always madePersonally, I wasn't excited to go see this movie. Mainly, because sappy indie movies aren't in my best interest. Spike Jonze has always made wonderful movies, and with Her, he did not disappoint nor intrigue me. The best part for me was Scarlett Johansson's voice; breathtakingly sexy. This movie was definitely a risk taker in our time era, but I applaud Jonze for the originality. I took this in two ways; one being that a person can find love in whatever makes them happy, especially a computer based off of your own personality; two being this guy is nuts if he actually believes a machine can humanly love him back. Overall, this was a good movie, but I would dread to watch it again. Expand
  7. Oct 10, 2015
    0
    This has to be the absolute worst excuse for a movie or story that I have ever seen! No real plot. Lousy dialogue. Bad language. I just cannotThis has to be the absolute worst excuse for a movie or story that I have ever seen! No real plot. Lousy dialogue. Bad language. I just cannot believe that anyone could actually sit through the whole thing. I mean sometimes I have perservered with a bad film just to see what happens at the end, but with this movie I just don't care. It's just not worth the effort. I cannot understand why this movie has been made. Talk about a waste of money. Can't believe any of these reviews with a score over 3. My score is zero but I would like to give it less. Expand

See all 234 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis

    2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis Image
    Published: January 16, 2014
    The Oscar nominations are in. What were this year's biggest surprises and snubs? Find a complete list and analysis of nominees for the 86th Annual Academy Awards.
  2. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.
  3. 2013 Golden Globe Nominations

    2013 Golden Globe Nominations Image
    Published: December 12, 2013
    Find a full list of the 71st Annual Golden Globe nominations in film and television, and a look at the year's surprises and snubs.
  4. 2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 8, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top ten lists from dozens of movie critics and publications. Browse the individual lists and view our composite rankings inside.
  5. 2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard

    2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard Image
    Published: December 3, 2013
    Find a complete list of 2013's major film awards and nominations from dozens of professional organizations and critic associations, as well as a running scorecard of the year's biggest winners. Check daily for updates throughout December and January.