Her

Her Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 1192 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , ,
  • Summary: Set in the Los Angeles of the slight future, Her follows Theodore Twombly, a complex, soulful man who makes his living writing touching, personal letters for other people. Heartbroken after the end of a long relationship, he becomes intrigued with a new, advanced operating system, whichSet in the Los Angeles of the slight future, Her follows Theodore Twombly, a complex, soulful man who makes his living writing touching, personal letters for other people. Heartbroken after the end of a long relationship, he becomes intrigued with a new, advanced operating system, which promises to be an intuitive entity in its own right, individual to each user. Upon initiating it, he is delighted to meet "Samantha," a bright, female voice, who is insightful, sensitive and surprisingly funny. As her needs and desires grow, in tandem with his own, their friendship deepens into an eventual love for each other. [Warner Bros.] Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Dec 18, 2013
    100
    The wistfulness in this movie is large-souled. Theodore may worry that his love for Samantha makes him a freak, but Amy knows that “anybody who loves is a freak.” All this may sound touchy-feely in the worst way, but Jonze is trying to get at how we seek romantic connection in this brave (or not so brave) new world. Like Theodore, he risks looking foolish.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jan 9, 2014
    100
    Her is an outstanding movie, in part because of its originality, but also because of its execution.
  3. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Jan 10, 2014
    100
    Sad, funny, and quietly alarming romance.
  4. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Dec 16, 2013
    90
    Sad, kooky, and daunting in equal measure, Her is the right film at the right time.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Dec 23, 2013
    88
    Her works as a real romance, and as a commentary on the ways technology connects everyone to the world but also isolates us from legitimate, warm human contact.
  6. 88
    Is it better to have loved and lost than never to have logged on at all?
  7. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Dec 17, 2013
    40
    Instead of just being desperately heartfelt, Her keeps reminding us — through cinematographer Hoyte Van Hoytema's somber-droll camera work, through Phoenix's artfully slumped shoulders — how desperately heartfelt it is.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 228
  1. Aug 9, 2014
    10
    Her provides the viewer with a journey through love, philosophy and relationships in general. It's refreshing to see a romance played out withHer provides the viewer with a journey through love, philosophy and relationships in general. It's refreshing to see a romance played out with such genuine intensity. Great for a date movie, but not the first date. Very heavy film. It provides a lot to consider. Expand
  2. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    Jonze lead us to a very deep stage of a spectacular metaphysical life. For two hours I was stuck in Theodore's lonely and complex life, andJonze lead us to a very deep stage of a spectacular metaphysical life. For two hours I was stuck in Theodore's lonely and complex life, and Her became a part of my reality, to the extreme that I was hoping that I'll never go back to my true, lame, and shallow reality. It doesn't matter how much deep you are, Her will take you to places you have never been to before, and will ignite some feelings that you have never experienced or ever felt before. It's merely a masterpiece, that makes us look at life in a very different deep perspective that reveals to us the true feeling and understanding of love and it's affect on us. Also showing us the capabilities of this feeling that is able to make human beings fall so deeply in love with an operating system just because of the mutual feelings they are having, dismissing the physical aspect in love, which shows us that love is way beyond anything physical or sexual. Expand
  3. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    A wonderful comedy for 2013 about a lonely man who falls in love with his computer. Writer director Spike Jones has created 2 complexA wonderful comedy for 2013 about a lonely man who falls in love with his computer. Writer director Spike Jones has created 2 complex characters with real feelings. Expand
  4. May 28, 2014
    9
    With her, Spike Jonze has created a flawed but tremendously moving and fresh sci-fi masterpiece. There are a couple of inappropriate scenes,With her, Spike Jonze has created a flawed but tremendously moving and fresh sci-fi masterpiece. There are a couple of inappropriate scenes, and a few others which are shockingly weird. And sometimes the movie takes itself too seriously for its own good. These flaws however are made miniscule by the incredible performances, vivid production design, and extremely well realized script. It's hugely ambitious and doesn't always hit its targets' bullseyes, but when it does it does so with operatic impact. It makes Being John Malkovitch look like a desperate gimmick. Beautifully shot, surprisingly emotional at times, and just plain entertaining, Her is a must see for moviegoers with open minds. Expand
  5. Nov 12, 2014
    8
    Yeah, i didn't expect to like this movie... It's simply amazing, I do not know how, but it made me attached to those characters. An excellentYeah, i didn't expect to like this movie... It's simply amazing, I do not know how, but it made me attached to those characters. An excellent film. Perfect for a lonely night. Expand
  6. Jan 19, 2014
    7
    My expectations to this movie were rather big, but I can't help saying I'm a bit disappointed. The movie's theme is interesting, but seenMy expectations to this movie were rather big, but I can't help saying I'm a bit disappointed. The movie's theme is interesting, but seen before. Yeah, we should be critical towards technology and AI, hence we miss the social, interactive context etc. Great performance by Joaquin Phoenix, but the story is slow and pretty predictable. Expand
  7. Oct 10, 2015
    0
    This has to be the absolute worst excuse for a movie or story that I have ever seen! No real plot. Lousy dialogue. Bad language. I just cannotThis has to be the absolute worst excuse for a movie or story that I have ever seen! No real plot. Lousy dialogue. Bad language. I just cannot believe that anyone could actually sit through the whole thing. I mean sometimes I have perservered with a bad film just to see what happens at the end, but with this movie I just don't care. It's just not worth the effort. I cannot understand why this movie has been made. Talk about a waste of money. Can't believe any of these reviews with a score over 3. My score is zero but I would like to give it less. Expand

See all 228 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis

    2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis Image
    Published: January 16, 2014
    The Oscar nominations are in. What were this year's biggest surprises and snubs? Find a complete list and analysis of nominees for the 86th Annual Academy Awards.
  2. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.
  3. 2013 Golden Globe Nominations

    2013 Golden Globe Nominations Image
    Published: December 12, 2013
    Find a full list of the 71st Annual Golden Globe nominations in film and television, and a look at the year's surprises and snubs.
  4. 2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 8, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top ten lists from dozens of movie critics and publications. Browse the individual lists and view our composite rankings inside.
  5. 2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard

    2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard Image
    Published: December 3, 2013
    Find a complete list of 2013's major film awards and nominations from dozens of professional organizations and critic associations, as well as a running scorecard of the year's biggest winners. Check daily for updates throughout December and January.