Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 826 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , ,
  • Summary: Set in the Los Angeles of the slight future, Her follows Theodore Twombly, a complex, soulful man who makes his living writing touching, personal letters for other people. Heartbroken after the end of a long relationship, he becomes intrigued with a new, advanced operating system, which promises to be an intuitive entity in its own right, individual to each user. Upon initiating it, he is delighted to meet "Samantha," a bright, female voice, who is insightful, sensitive and surprisingly funny. As her needs and desires grow, in tandem with his own, their friendship deepens into an eventual love for each other. [Warner Bros.] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Dec 18, 2013
    100
    The wistfulness in this movie is large-souled. Theodore may worry that his love for Samantha makes him a freak, but Amy knows that “anybody who loves is a freak.” All this may sound touchy-feely in the worst way, but Jonze is trying to get at how we seek romantic connection in this brave (or not so brave) new world. Like Theodore, he risks looking foolish.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jan 9, 2014
    100
    Her is an outstanding movie, in part because of its originality, but also because of its execution.
  3. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Jan 10, 2014
    100
    Sad, funny, and quietly alarming romance.
  4. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Dec 16, 2013
    90
    Sad, kooky, and daunting in equal measure, Her is the right film at the right time.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Dec 23, 2013
    88
    Her works as a real romance, and as a commentary on the ways technology connects everyone to the world but also isolates us from legitimate, warm human contact.
  6. 88
    Is it better to have loved and lost than never to have logged on at all?
  7. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Dec 17, 2013
    40
    Instead of just being desperately heartfelt, Her keeps reminding us — through cinematographer Hoyte Van Hoytema's somber-droll camera work, through Phoenix's artfully slumped shoulders — how desperately heartfelt it is.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 195
  1. May 13, 2014
    10
    The biggest reason why I love this movie so much is not just because of the great plot but the fact that Joaquin Phoenix gave a masterful performance that was well worthy to win any best actor award. A truly must see film and by far the best film of 2013, Even beats a majority of the crap I've seen so far in 2014. Expand
  2. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    Jonze lead us to a very deep stage of a spectacular metaphysical life. For two hours I was stuck in Theodore's lonely and complex life, and Her became a part of my reality, to the extreme that I was hoping that I'll never go back to my true, lame, and shallow reality. It doesn't matter how much deep you are, Her will take you to places you have never been to before, and will ignite some feelings that you have never experienced or ever felt before. It's merely a masterpiece, that makes us look at life in a very different deep perspective that reveals to us the true feeling and understanding of love and it's affect on us. Also showing us the capabilities of this feeling that is able to make human beings fall so deeply in love with an operating system just because of the mutual feelings they are having, dismissing the physical aspect in love, which shows us that love is way beyond anything physical or sexual. Expand
  3. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    A wonderful comedy for 2013 about a lonely man who falls in love with his computer. Writer director Spike Jones has created 2 complex characters with real feelings. Expand
  4. May 8, 2014
    9
    This movie really grasps the reality of another world what really impresses me is the maturity in this movie. Joaquin Phoenix's is an anchor to this story portraying what it truly feels to have love being pulled away from you time and time again. The supporting actors do a really great job to reinforce Phoenix's acting. This is one of my favorite movies of all time and ill enjoy watching this again. Expand
  5. Oct 12, 2014
    8
    With a masterful performance by Joaquin Phoenix and good interaction with Scarlett Johansson and Amy Adams, this movie is full of drama with some happy and sweet moments. (81 - 100) Expand
  6. Jan 30, 2014
    7
    Personally, I wasn't excited to go see this movie. Mainly, because sappy indie movies aren't in my best interest. Spike Jonze has always made wonderful movies, and with Her, he did not disappoint nor intrigue me. The best part for me was Scarlett Johansson's voice; breathtakingly sexy. This movie was definitely a risk taker in our time era, but I applaud Jonze for the originality. I took this in two ways; one being that a person can find love in whatever makes them happy, especially a computer based off of your own personality; two being this guy is nuts if he actually believes a machine can humanly love him back. Overall, this was a good movie, but I would dread to watch it again. Expand
  7. Sep 23, 2014
    0
    Ever seen a movie that's so bad when it pops back up in your memory you get angry? I saw this movie in theaters about a year ago, and something reminded me of it today, and I, instantly, got pissed off. This may very well be the worst movie I have ever seen, like, not even exaggerating, not even a little bit.

    Now, I'm not one of these people that just hates on Spike Jonze, I mean, I don't really think he's worthy of the constant attention he gets, but I thought Adaptation was a really well put together film; everything else he's done is kind of meh; but this movie, dear god, this movie.

    It's so unnecessarily pretentious: it's deliberately slow paced and the characters are deliberately unappealing to draw out the "reality" of the situations; I'm not a fan of this particular approach, I'm definitely a strong advocate for clever stylization over realism, but, there are some occasions that call for the dreary shackles of reality, and some occasions where this works, like when the film is presenting some great truth or some really rich ideas, it can be advantageous to juxtapose that with the tedium of the real world...however there are no great truths here, no rich ideas, there is absolutely nothing profound in this movie to warrant how slow it is.

    It's a very bland look at a, somewhat, tired subject: sentient machines and there impact on humanity. Now anyone familiar with, almost, anything to come out of the science fiction genre over the past 80 years or so is very familiar with this subject; hell even if you're not so familiar with the genre you've probably caught a passing episode of Star Trek the Next Generation, played some Megaman or seen, at least, one of the Terminator films or something, so you've, no doubt, come across this theme; it's nothing new, but, apparently, when Spike Jonze does it, it is!

    You see, Spike Jonze draws in this pretentious hipster crowd, and these people dismiss science fiction as "genre" and anything that's "genre" is beneath them, because it's not up it's own ass and touting itself as a work of art, (whether it is or isn't is a discussion for another day); so these hipster Jonze fans go and see this movie and are just seeing, or just paying attention to these concepts for the first time and it's mind blowing to them, and when you tell them: "Well, it's nothing new, Phillip K Dick and Kazunori Ito did it a lot better" they just glare at you and make condescending remarks about the circles those particular talents move in.

    I was seriously shocked when I left the theater after seeing this film and everyone seemed so enthralled by it, then I looked around and noticed all the skinny jeans(for men) and high waisted skinny jeans (for women), pork pie hats, thick rimmed glasses, ironic mustaches and the occasional bow tie and I was like "ooooooh".

    Also, and I just found this out, Arcade Fire did the soundtrack; they're the **** worst.
    Expand

See all 195 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis

    2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis Image
    Published: January 16, 2014
    The Oscar nominations are in. What were this year's biggest surprises and snubs? Find a complete list and analysis of nominees for the 86th Annual Academy Awards.
  2. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.
  3. 2013 Golden Globe Nominations

    2013 Golden Globe Nominations Image
    Published: December 12, 2013
    Find a full list of the 71st Annual Golden Globe nominations in film and television, and a look at the year's surprises and snubs.
  4. 2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 8, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top ten lists from dozens of movie critics and publications. Browse the individual lists and view our composite rankings inside.
  5. 2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard

    2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard Image
    Published: December 3, 2013
    Find a complete list of 2013's major film awards and nominations from dozens of professional organizations and critic associations, as well as a running scorecard of the year's biggest winners. Check daily for updates throughout December and January.