User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 59
  2. Negative: 7 out of 59
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 20, 2013
    10
    Its a really good movie, i recommend it for people of 7 to everyone.

    Its a funny movie i like the UFC theme, that makes it fun.

    Its a good movie in my opinion so 10.
  2. Mar 10, 2013
    7
    A good family movie that will bring the laughs. It's humor doesn't always deliver but it's got a sweet side that makes it easy to respect. In the end it's not perfect but it's worth watching.
  3. Oct 12, 2012
    8
    I just went and saw this movie tonight, and I have to say I was surprised. I'm a huge fan of Kevin James, but he hasn't been in anything too good since King of Queens. While this movie doesn't bring anything fantastically new to the table, I really liked Kevin James' character. I wasn't a huge fan of the forced relationship between him and Salma Hayek, but it all worked nonetheless. I'dI just went and saw this movie tonight, and I have to say I was surprised. I'm a huge fan of Kevin James, but he hasn't been in anything too good since King of Queens. While this movie doesn't bring anything fantastically new to the table, I really liked Kevin James' character. I wasn't a huge fan of the forced relationship between him and Salma Hayek, but it all worked nonetheless. I'd probably give it 7/10 but I'm tossing in an extra number because I love Kevin James... All in all if you want a heartfelt family comedy, I'd go check it out. Collapse
  4. Mar 31, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was a pretty good movie that had some good laughs and likable characters. Kevin James did a great job in this role and this was my favorite Salma Hayek role in years. The trouble is that the believability factor was very low... especially the ending. Honestly, the ending almost ruined the film. I'm sorry but a creative writer could've easily found a different way to have a happy ending while keeping the film a bit more realistic. Nonetheless, it was a decent movie with some good, clean laughs. Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    'Here comes the boom' was a pleasant surprise, it was funnier that the average comedy, it has a good cast and it was actually quite inspirational. The film definitely had you 'rooting' for Kevin James (Scott Voss) by the end.
    The film was just lots of fun, the laughs were consistent and it was overall a fun, entertaining film.
    Things are looking up for Kevin James, I'd definitely
    'Here comes the boom' was a pleasant surprise, it was funnier that the average comedy, it has a good cast and it was actually quite inspirational. The film definitely had you 'rooting' for Kevin James (Scott Voss) by the end.
    The film was just lots of fun, the laughs were consistent and it was overall a fun, entertaining film.
    Things are looking up for Kevin James, I'd definitely recommend this, it's better than your typical Kevin James film. You can tell Adam Sandler was not involved in this, which is a good thing.
    Expand
  6. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    The most energized moments of the movie belong to Charice, except the part when her father wants her to give up her dreams and come back to the Philippines to work for him at his restaurant. Charice plays a student Malia, whose school is experiencing some major budget cuts, specifically in after-school programs. The "Boom" comes out of Charice when she sings Holy, holy before the UFCThe most energized moments of the movie belong to Charice, except the part when her father wants her to give up her dreams and come back to the Philippines to work for him at his restaurant. Charice plays a student Malia, whose school is experiencing some major budget cuts, specifically in after-school programs. The "Boom" comes out of Charice when she sings Holy, holy before the UFC fight, accompanied by her school band... For a singer-turned-actor whose biggest notable credit is a guest-starring role on "Glee," Charice is a star in the making... Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2012
    8
    The only comedy movie at the local theatre, so went in with low expectations. So, to my surprise, this was a really funny family, action, comedy movie that kept me engage from start to finish. Although the plot at times seemed to lack substance, it held through as the funny moments outweigh the bad ones. If you have enjoyed other films by Kevin James, then this one is no different.
  8. Jan 29, 2013
    7
    Started off a little sloppy but this is a decent comedy and the first 'not-bad' performance from Kevin James I've seen. It follows a High School teacher standing up for his students and fellow teachers when there are budget cuts in the school. It's a somewhat predictable storyline but with some good laughs and a feel-good vibe to it I quite enjoyed watching it. Most of what I've seen ofStarted off a little sloppy but this is a decent comedy and the first 'not-bad' performance from Kevin James I've seen. It follows a High School teacher standing up for his students and fellow teachers when there are budget cuts in the school. It's a somewhat predictable storyline but with some good laughs and a feel-good vibe to it I quite enjoyed watching it. Most of what I've seen of Kevin James is normally miserable but he was quite funny in this, so overall it's nothing special but decent! Expand
  9. Jul 30, 2014
    7
    This movie was really good in many ways though it falls short in many others. The thing that I found the most gripping of the movie was of course Kevin James character, Scott Voss. The character and his goal to help the poor musical teacher who is passionate for his music. Kevin James acting was very good and solid, though I feel that some other characters didn't not have very interestingThis movie was really good in many ways though it falls short in many others. The thing that I found the most gripping of the movie was of course Kevin James character, Scott Voss. The character and his goal to help the poor musical teacher who is passionate for his music. Kevin James acting was very good and solid, though I feel that some other characters didn't not have very interesting nor very good acting skills. This goes for the character Niko especially. His acting wasn't very good and could detach you at times, actually I felt a bit like that with other characters as well. From my point of view I didn't really find this movie too funny rather more inspiring. Expand
  10. Apr 11, 2013
    7
    I think this movie is very underrated, of course Kevin Smith hasn't shown much in the past, but this was a very lighthearted film and got me excited here and there with some great laughs and mainly corny laughs, but all in all it was very enjoyable and I plan on seeing it again.
  11. Jun 11, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For me this movie has action and comedy. Though it's difficult to combine well this two kinds, this movie succeeds and the result is an entertaining film. Of course the end is the usual but it's entertaining all the time. I really liked Kevin James and Salma Hayek. Expand
  12. Sep 13, 2014
    7
    its somewhat predictable and not at a particularly well made movie but it does have alot of heart and funny scenes. 7/10 for me 6/10 for story 6.8/10 for acting 8/10 for comedy
  13. Nov 23, 2014
    8
    Here Comes the Boom is a great family movie. Everyone in the house will be laughing at this one. Its hard to believe that this film wasn't dine sooner considering the world is crazy over MMA right now. No better person for this role than Kevin James. This one is very worth your time if you have kids at home.
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 26
  2. Negative: 5 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Ken McIntyre
    Nov 18, 2012
    40
    Cue 105 painful minutes of a fat guy getting punched in the face and falling down.
  2. Reviewed by: Barbara VanDenburgh
    Oct 23, 2012
    50
    Although it's not as bad as it could be, the film is still middle-of-the-road fare for comedy fans who are already firmly in James' corner, delivering the sort of brainless laughs that James is famous for. [18 Oct 2012]
  3. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Oct 17, 2012
    20
    "Here Comes the Bomb" would've been a more fitting title, but props to Henry Winkler for rising to the occasion and turning in a sweet, idealistic performance in a film that otherwise feels like a tawdry commercial for the UFC and MMA.