Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 55 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Former collegiate wrestler, Scott Voss, is a 42-year-old apathetic biology teacher in a failing high school. When cutbacks threaten to cancel the music program and lay off its teacher Scott begins to raise money by moonlighting as a mixed martial arts fighter. Everyone thinks Scott is crazy – most of all the school nurse, Bella – but in his quest, Scott gains something he never expected as he becomes a sensation that rallies the entire school. (Columbia Pictures (Sony)) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 26
  2. Negative: 5 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    Oct 11, 2012
    63
    When the comedy connects, it can deliver with funny force
  2. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Oct 11, 2012
    60
    Like James in the ring, it doesn't pack a lot of power, but it comes out swinging and sweats for applause.
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Oct 13, 2012
    50
    Here Comes the Boom is stale and vanilla. We know we're in trouble early when the first joke fails.
  4. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Oct 11, 2012
    42
    A cloddish, harmlessly drecky comedy from the Sandler factory of crude mush.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Oct 11, 2012
    40
    The film works hard at its inoffensiveness. Throughout, jokes are left on the table, setups never pay off in any significant way.
  6. Reviewed by: Inkoo Kang
    Oct 10, 2012
    40
    The first half hour of Here Comes the Boom is so good moviegoers might be fooled into expecting something better than an obvious wish fulfillment fantasy so patently implausible it's almost insulting.
  7. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Oct 11, 2012
    0
    As a comedy, the film aims low and manages to miss the mark entirely.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. Jan 20, 2013
    10
    Its a really good movie, i recommend it for people of 7 to everyone.

    Its a funny movie i like the UFC theme, that makes it fun.

    Its a
    good movie in my opinion so 10. Expand
  2. Oct 12, 2012
    8
    I just went and saw this movie tonight, and I have to say I was surprised. I'm a huge fan of Kevin James, but he hasn't been in anything too good since King of Queens. While this movie doesn't bring anything fantastically new to the table, I really liked Kevin James' character. I wasn't a huge fan of the forced relationship between him and Salma Hayek, but it all worked nonetheless. I'd probably give it 7/10 but I'm tossing in an extra number because I love Kevin James... All in all if you want a heartfelt family comedy, I'd go check it out. Expand
  3. Jun 11, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For me this movie has action and comedy. Though it's difficult to combine well this two kinds, this movie succeeds and the result is an entertaining film. Of course the end is the usual but it's entertaining all the time. I really liked Kevin James and Salma Hayek. Expand
  4. Apr 4, 2013
    6
    I was entertained while watching this movie, it was a good study break. If you expect too much from this movie you are going to be disappointed. The movie does the job it was created to do, entertain people and make them smile. Or course it could have been better but in the end it wasn't bad. It's just light and fun and something you don't have to think hard about. Sometimes you just need that. Expand
  5. Nov 4, 2012
    6
    Kevin James plays it safe with Here Comes the Boom, a movie that will remind you of Nacho Libre in many ways. Its a overall fun time at the movies, even if it is somewhat predictable. Expand
  6. May 18, 2013
    5
    in the end the biggest problem with this movie is that its very predictable and stereotypical of a sports comedy with only difference being that's it about UFC fighting in instead of football,baseball or basketball and if that doesn't bother you this movie will make a fine family outing with a few good laughs Expand
  7. Oct 23, 2012
    2
    It's not very funny and the fact that the big turning point of the "final battle" between Kevin James' character and the actual MMA fighter was a move that you regularly see in MMA today really is very disappointing. I personally didn't have high hopes for this movie in the first place, fully expecting it to be just a feel good movie. However the movie came off as too corny and just poorly done. Bas Rutten's character was probably the best part of the movie as his bubbly, craziness was on full display. I love Bas and, as a huge MMA fan, his presence really added something to what was otherwise a dead, lifeless cash grab. Even MMA fans won't like this movie. Save your cash and go something else. Collapse

See all 24 User Reviews