User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 135 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 135
  2. Negative: 27 out of 135
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Good George Lonegan; he has a good will, integrity and compassion, someone who is probably too honest to be a psychic. In a field, or rather, a pseudo-profession, loaded with charlatans and quacks eager to bilk their clients with fallacious readings, George is the rare exception; he's for real, as his website advertises, this forklift operator, this weirdo with the gift, can genuinely speak to the dead: not in tongues, not as another person, and not with the usual theatrics and accouterments one would associate with readings. The most fascinating aspect about George, and "Hereafter", is that we're not necessarily dealing with a Christian, or the Judeo-Christian concept of heaven. Look all you want, high and low, in the foggy landscape of the souls that the near-dead(Marie Lelay, a French reporter who survives a tsunami, played by Cecile de France), and the instrument for the dead(our hero) have seen, or have access to, because God, "our" God, so to speak, the western model, is not necessarily in the diegetical details. The third protagonist, the emotionally dead(Marcus, a young English lad who is left behind with a drug-addled mother after his identical twin gets hit by a car, played by Frankie McLaren), in this filmmaker's beautifully executed triptych of incidental stories, attends a Christian funeral that is quickly replaced by a Hindu one, as a way to democratize the world religions, both east and west. George might be an agnostic, or perhaps, polytheistic. He makes no claim on knowing where all those souls he divines ultimately ascend towards. For spiritual nourishment, he turns to Charles Dickens, not the bible, or any other religious text. Enigmatic and stony, the moviegoer knows one thing for sure, the man is tired. While the hunting in the hereafter was good, George quit, when being a creep finally took its toll. Played by Matt Damon, who achieved stardom back in 1997 portraying the same sort of damaged person in hiding, the blue collar savant of Gus Van Sant's "Good Will Hunting"(the janitor at MIT with a prodigious knack for mathematics and getting angry), differs from the wicked smaht maintenance worker in this key respect; he attitudinizes among the riffraff as a way of being alone, rather than to be part of a community(working-class Boston), a tribe. Both characters have best friends(in George's case, an older brother), nagging consciences at their disposal, the people knowledgeable enough to be horrified, by what they perceive to be as their buddy/brother's gross underachieving at dead end jobs. In "Good Will Hunting", Chuckie(Affleck) tells Will, "It'd be an insult if you're still here in twenty years," whereas Billy(Jay Mohr) reassures good George Lonegan that the chaos which surrounded their first go-around at the family business has been eliminated from the revamped organizational model. But math isn't a curse. George lives alone, eats alone, and sleeps alone, because unlike most psychics, the scam artists who tell people what they WANT to hear, the Victorian literature buff tells people what they NEED to hear. Against his better judgement, George relents and grants the woman he brings home from a non-credit course in Italian cuisine, Melanie(Bryce Dallas Howard), from Pittsburgh, a reading, and in the process, destroys, what he thinks, is his best and last chance for love. Partly out of anger, a momentary flare-up(shades of Will Hunting, perhaps), since Victoria prodded George to perform with such insistence, but mostly out of his inborn humaneness, the reluctant psychic transmits an apology from Melanie's father, who had apparently molested his daughter as a child. The fatalism of George's situation is unbearable; he's compelled to tell the truth, but the truth, as well all know, hurts, and as the words tumble out of his mouth, good George Lonegan knows the consequences from prior experiences in dealing with intimacy this potent. In all likelihood, she'll never talk to him again, but it's more important to him that the woman attains peace of mind...someday. And sure enough, Melanie is a no-show at the next class. Looking for answers, George ventures out on a literature-based pilgrimage to the U.K., where he visits a church of sorts, Charles Dickens' house, and with further extrapolation, a secularized miracle occurs, the reader of his audio-books, Derek Jacobi(read: priest), just happens to be making a public appearance at the London Book Fair. That's where the instrument for the dead converges with the near-dead and the emotionally dead, in which the trio of depressed strangers teach each other how to be alive again. It's not the holy ghost, but the ghost of Charles Dickens who looks over these sad, lonely people, and that's the subversive genius of "Hereafter". George Lonegan knows that life doesn't end after death, but he believes in "Little Dorrit" more than Jesus Christ. Expand
  2. Oct 16, 2010
    10
    To be fair, this is a lousy movie, but its more interesting as a subconscious message from Clint Eastwood stating that when you hit 80 years old, suddenly accepting things like psychics and spirits provide a psychological comfort. Sometimes watching the personal issues of a filmmaker translate onto the screen is an delightful experience that makes good art. This is just not one of thoseTo be fair, this is a lousy movie, but its more interesting as a subconscious message from Clint Eastwood stating that when you hit 80 years old, suddenly accepting things like psychics and spirits provide a psychological comfort. Sometimes watching the personal issues of a filmmaker translate onto the screen is an delightful experience that makes good art. This is just not one of those times. Sorry Clint, this is a sour and ironic note to go out on if its you final film. Expand
  3. Oct 30, 2010
    9
    This is a solid film. This is the type of film that is missing in Hollywood, where directors direct to tell a story with solid characters and strong themes. So great job Warner Bros and Clint Eastwood. This is also a great movie for people who like interlocking stories and kudos to the film for its bravery in using subtitles, and use of locations other than the United States. Matt DamonThis is a solid film. This is the type of film that is missing in Hollywood, where directors direct to tell a story with solid characters and strong themes. So great job Warner Bros and Clint Eastwood. This is also a great movie for people who like interlocking stories and kudos to the film for its bravery in using subtitles, and use of locations other than the United States. Matt Damon did a fine job and I don't think this would have been as strong or as intriguing of a movie without him. I hope to see more of these types of films come out of Hollywood. Expand
  4. Oct 6, 2011
    8
    A solid and subtle movie about people and their beliefs. Very well crafted, with good acting, artfully done cinematics, a good script, and an emotionally driven story. I normally don't like Clint Eastwood films, because they lack subtlety and the acting is usually horrible, but this film along with Million Dollar baby are changing the way I feel about his films. Would have given it a 10,A solid and subtle movie about people and their beliefs. Very well crafted, with good acting, artfully done cinematics, a good script, and an emotionally driven story. I normally don't like Clint Eastwood films, because they lack subtlety and the acting is usually horrible, but this film along with Million Dollar baby are changing the way I feel about his films. Would have given it a 10, but the way everything comes together at the end felt forced and unrealistic to me. Expand
  5. Oct 22, 2010
    10
    Anyone wanting to find out or curious about the Hereafter; DON'T WASTE YOU TIME!
    WHY ABOUT 30% OF THE FILM WAS IN SUBTITLES IS BEYOND ME. ESPECIALLY WHEN THE FRENCH CHARACTER'S SPOKE ENGLISH. All this story is about is a 10 year old boy who's brother die's and a Frenchwriter.
    HMMM...MAYBE THERE'S A PART 2 COMING? NOT.
  6. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    Well thought out, with excellent character developement. It comes together beautifully and points out that we have purpose in life , that life's events happen for a reason, sans coincidence
  7. Nov 2, 2010
    7
    A Film Review By: Sam Fragoso

    â
  8. Feb 26, 2011
    7
    As befitting his age Clint Eastwood is not concerned about rapid pacing in trying to tell a story. Obviously having pondered what greets us after death he employs Matt Damon as a reluctant psychic to delve into this mystery, while casting a French actress in one of the leading roles as a famous TV broadcaster who is thrust in to a world she had not dreamt of before. Excellent acting allAs befitting his age Clint Eastwood is not concerned about rapid pacing in trying to tell a story. Obviously having pondered what greets us after death he employs Matt Damon as a reluctant psychic to delve into this mystery, while casting a French actress in one of the leading roles as a famous TV broadcaster who is thrust in to a world she had not dreamt of before. Excellent acting all around. But there's no huge drama to sink into, and a rather languid pace and a challenging subject for skeptics which probably results in turning a lot of people off and generating negative reviews. All in all another work of art from a great director. Expand
  9. Dec 15, 2010
    10
    At 80, Eastwood has made perhaps his most internal and thoughtful film yet. The movie is a meditation on the questions and the mysteries about death and the afterlife. Introspection is not really something we're accustomed to doing much of anymore, as our culture tends to reward idiocy and silliness more than anything else, so it's understandable to me why some audiences would find this toAt 80, Eastwood has made perhaps his most internal and thoughtful film yet. The movie is a meditation on the questions and the mysteries about death and the afterlife. Introspection is not really something we're accustomed to doing much of anymore, as our culture tends to reward idiocy and silliness more than anything else, so it's understandable to me why some audiences would find this to be depressing or lousy, but really it's not. It's a very moving film for viewers who appreciate something a little more intelligent than usual. One of the year's best. Expand
  10. Oct 25, 2010
    7
    The tsunami that launches this film is simply riveting. It promises a masterful film experience that slowly falls apart and ends in a confusing, disappointing ending. The plots revolve around two people who have close experience with death and a reluctant psychic (Matt Damon). Their intensely personal struggles are absorbingâ
  11. Oct 26, 2010
    7
    Eastwood has established his film directing style solely on high tension, character progressing dramas that either brings up a question which involves the right of moral obligation or gives a conventional meaning that looks deeper into the human soul. In basically almost all of his films it continues on the exploration of human behavior which we can never fully answer, but can come closerEastwood has established his film directing style solely on high tension, character progressing dramas that either brings up a question which involves the right of moral obligation or gives a conventional meaning that looks deeper into the human soul. In basically almost all of his films it continues on the exploration of human behavior which we can never fully answer, but can come closer to a better understanding of it. Eastwood hasnâ Expand
  12. Oct 22, 2010
    10
    I have seldom been so moved by a film. Eastwood efficiently takes the right amount of time to tell the story and fully explore the characters.What a marvelous ensemble cast! I will definitely see it again.
  13. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    As usual Clint Eastwood shows he is one of the few extraordinary directors of our times. He treats subject matters that not many people are educated or intelligent enough to understand. What he shows is truth, has been proven but not accepted by the medical world....that's why you should go, see this movie, get educated and open minded. Mr. Eastwood is a great American director, the best.
  14. Oct 23, 2010
    9
    Quick comment on the complaint "30%" of the film is subtitled --- it's hardly that much, and kudos to Clint Eastwood for having French people speak French in France where a portion of the story takes place.
  15. Oct 24, 2010
    10
    TOO SLOW for me, great cast, and a few interesting parts, but never finished anything.
    The best contribution Clint Eastwood made was the music. I hope you wait for the DVD rental.
  16. Oct 28, 2010
    8
    I can't figure out why this movie is getting such mediocre reviews.I loved this movie and a lot of my friends have also.It was such an interesting and unique story. My only complaint was the kid was not a good actor at all.I would recommend it.
  17. Oct 25, 2010
    8
    This movie may be a victim of bad marketing. The trailers gave me the impression that this was a movie discussing about what happens after we leave earth with a lot of supernatural elements, which it is not. Clint Eastwood is one of my favorite directors. He has the gift to tell a great story with beauty and thoughtfulness and Hereafter is no exception. The characters are wellThis movie may be a victim of bad marketing. The trailers gave me the impression that this was a movie discussing about what happens after we leave earth with a lot of supernatural elements, which it is not. Clint Eastwood is one of my favorite directors. He has the gift to tell a great story with beauty and thoughtfulness and Hereafter is no exception. The characters are well developed and interesting and enjoyed where they took me. Expand
  18. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    I have to disagree with just about everyone. All the critics say that Eastwood doesn't take a position on the afterlife but everything in the movie was about the truth of an afterlife. I thought the movie was well acted, made complete sense and was very enjoyable. I'd give it a 90 out of a 100.
  19. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    This is Clint Eastwood's best movie since his directorial debut with "Play Misty for Me." To be fair, I have loathed many of Eastwood's movies, from "True Crime" to "Absolute Power" to "Gran Torino," but this one hits every jackpot, from great acting to great CGI effects to great and deeply moving drama to occasional offbeat humor. It's Eastwood at his absolute peak.
  20. Nov 19, 2010
    8
    Clint Eastwood always does an amazing job telling stories. This film was great. It was very emotional and interesting. Matt Damon really shines in this movie, along with supporting actors George and Frankie McLaren. The special effects weren't amazing, especially when compared to other movies, yet I still felt the suspense. There were some things left unresolved in the end, but I think itClint Eastwood always does an amazing job telling stories. This film was great. It was very emotional and interesting. Matt Damon really shines in this movie, along with supporting actors George and Frankie McLaren. The special effects weren't amazing, especially when compared to other movies, yet I still felt the suspense. There were some things left unresolved in the end, but I think it was done purposely to make the audience think and create their own conclusions. Overall it was a beautifully directed film with strong themes and brilliant acting. Expand
  21. Apr 29, 2011
    10
    This is a superb movie. I didn't go see it because of the mediocre reviews, but I'm so glad I rented it as a DVD. The different characters' stories are artfully inter-woven and all the actors--especially Matt Damon and the young boy who plays Marcus is excellent. I couldn't have enjoyed it more. Do not pass it by.
  22. Jan 14, 2011
    8
    I saw this move recently and... well... we all noticed that the music also the topic are ''Clint Eastwood''.... yes of course he has a great personality and very defined one to tell us that he was there. I love the way Eastwood makes us ''feel'' what every each and single character on the film feels in the moment it being felt... is nice how to 3 perfect strangers can help each other...I saw this move recently and... well... we all noticed that the music also the topic are ''Clint Eastwood''.... yes of course he has a great personality and very defined one to tell us that he was there. I love the way Eastwood makes us ''feel'' what every each and single character on the film feels in the moment it being felt... is nice how to 3 perfect strangers can help each other... how the big pains in life can be in a way solved... is like a little light in the darkness... when you think you'll never get your life back again (it happens to the 3 of them in fact), when you think all you do is worthless... when you're really REALLY dissapointed with life gave to you and you deny of that... there's someone like you... waiting to feel complete... and you remember you're not alone and then everything falls into place with just a little... handshake.
    Of course... almost forgot... the actors, amazing, thanks Clint for this lovely movie! No need to remind us the great director (and compositor!) you are!
    Expand
  23. Jan 14, 2011
    10
    This movie is a piece of cinematic perfection that will probably go un-appriciated by the mass audience and even the film adepts for many years. Then given time and well after Clint Eastwood has passed (20 years rings for me), people will look back and be stunned at the sheer mastery of cinematic presentation.

    For me this movie captured the essence of what cinema can capture and express
    This movie is a piece of cinematic perfection that will probably go un-appriciated by the mass audience and even the film adepts for many years. Then given time and well after Clint Eastwood has passed (20 years rings for me), people will look back and be stunned at the sheer mastery of cinematic presentation.

    For me this movie captured the essence of what cinema can capture and express as an art form. We often go to movies to be entertained and this is only what we want/expect from cinema. When something can fundementally effect us other than soley just entertaining our senses for a brief moment, this is when the medium changes from that which is something we just watch to something that connects us to something else. What that "else" is I leave to be experienced by those who are able to experience it, as it can be something almost indescribable. When it's the right time and when you are ready you'll see what I am talking about. Until then this will be just another film, forgoten and left to the past.
    Expand
  24. Mar 21, 2011
    8
    Clint Eastwood is thinking about mortality. I don't assume it's because he is 80 years old, but he found a story by Peter Morgan (The Queen, Frost/Nixon) which he really felt a connection with and decided to make it into a film. Hereafter includes two real life events, the 2004 Southeast Asian tsunami and the 2005 London underground bombings, and follows three different main charactersClint Eastwood is thinking about mortality. I don't assume it's because he is 80 years old, but he found a story by Peter Morgan (The Queen, Frost/Nixon) which he really felt a connection with and decided to make it into a film. Hereafter includes two real life events, the 2004 Southeast Asian tsunami and the 2005 London underground bombings, and follows three different main characters and how they are affected by events which shape their thoughts on mortality and what may come afterwards.

    The three main characters are geographically separated. One is a French newscaster who was personally caught up in the tsunami. The second is a young British boy who does not know how to function or what to do after his twin brother is suddenly killed. The third is Matt Damon, the American, who has the ability to make connections with people and interact with their loved ones who are in the hereafter. He views it as a curse, not a gift.

    Each character encounters different reactions as they attempt to discuss what happened to them and there are some moments concerning different nationalities and how they may respond to the idea of a hereafter. The French are very intellectual and in the film view the idea of a hereafter as a subject which serious people do not discuss and these visions of an afterlife are most likely the result of a concussion. The British, on the other hand, are shown through a montage sequence of various charlatans and fake psychics as they extort money from people looking for answers. The American, who actually has the ability, wants nothing to do with it and tries very hard to keep it hidden.

    I knew beforehand it was a Clint Eastwood film, but if I did not know that, I still would have attached his name to it. The music which was so memorable from Gran Torino and Million Dollar Baby is back again and the long, contemplative shots of the characters trying to make sense of things are here as well. The two young British actors who play the twins, Frankie and George McLaren, are outstanding in their first acting roles and contribute a big emotional weight. The lighting, especially in Matt Damon's scenes in his apartment and in his hotel room, is way too dark. It is side and back lit and much too harsh.

    Hereafter has some bad luck as its video release is the same week as the Japanese tsunami. There is a very realistic tsunami wave in this movie; however, it is brief and early on. To label it a 'tsunami movie' is very misleading and a discredit to what Eastwood is trying to discuss. Eastwood's previous, recent films are better than Hereafter, but this movie is still far superior than the vast majority of its competitors.
    Expand
  25. Apr 18, 2011
    9
    This is an overlooked gem. If you do not expect something that pompously tries to offer to solutions that no one honestly can, you actually will find a humbler, charming meditation on loss and fear of loneliness. It has a spare but authentic look, features some wonderful scenes between very credulous characters, and offers a hopeful, instead of outright "happy," ending. As a plus, theThis is an overlooked gem. If you do not expect something that pompously tries to offer to solutions that no one honestly can, you actually will find a humbler, charming meditation on loss and fear of loneliness. It has a spare but authentic look, features some wonderful scenes between very credulous characters, and offers a hopeful, instead of outright "happy," ending. As a plus, the scenes of Paris, London, and the amazing opening of a tsunami disaster are gorgeous. No doubt about it, it is a slowly evolving picture; we find out about the characters over time, not all at once, but I never was distracted or bored. The only off-key to me was the music near the end.... whose sudden easy jazz sound was nothing like the mood of the film. Expand
  26. May 28, 2011
    7
    Beautifully shot (Man, can Eastwood direct!) and a great setup/premise. I wish it had made a few braver choices, and I wasn't too thrilled with the payoff sequences.
  27. ojt
    Jul 4, 2011
    10
    Solid work as always from Clint Eastwood. Hereafter is a great and heartfelt story. And very real about a topic that is as quoted in the film a topic of which is not to be discussed seriously.
    I like the way the stories are woven together, with a firm hand.
    The CGI used with the tsunami-scenes are incredibly well done. Exciting as well as close to realistic. All the actors does a great
    Solid work as always from Clint Eastwood. Hereafter is a great and heartfelt story. And very real about a topic that is as quoted in the film a topic of which is not to be discussed seriously.
    I like the way the stories are woven together, with a firm hand.
    The CGI used with the tsunami-scenes are incredibly well done. Exciting as well as close to realistic.
    All the actors does a great job, even the little kid playing two roles, mainly due to Eastwoods way with all the actors I presume.
    Great storytelling, and much undervalued and underrated by many, this little gem.
    Expand
  28. Dec 2, 2011
    7
    Bottom Line: Enjoyable, intense study of the afterlife isnâ
  29. Aug 23, 2011
    8
    Injustement assassiné par la critique pour ses longueurs et sa fin expédiée rapidement. Il est vrai que Clint n'est pas à son meilleur, mais le film est profond et puissant, en plus d'être magistralement interprété. Un Clint mineur, mais un Clint quand même!
  30. Sep 17, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A thoughtful intelligent film which never really takes a stand on a question we cannot possibly know for certain. The ambiguity is totally appropriate and well presented. Even though there seemed to be nothing going on here as you'd expect to find in a typical Hollywood plot-driven movie, I was quite enthralled, and found myself thinking about it for a few days afterward. Expand
  31. Aug 24, 2014
    7
    After a quick, disastrous beginning (literally rather than figuratively since there was nothing wrong with the scene itself) that starts with 2004's tsunami in Thailand, we abruptly jump right to San Francisco where we meet George (Matt Damon), an ex-psychic who still has the gift/curse, but is unwilling to use it. His brother, looking out for his own interests (although pretending toAfter a quick, disastrous beginning (literally rather than figuratively since there was nothing wrong with the scene itself) that starts with 2004's tsunami in Thailand, we abruptly jump right to San Francisco where we meet George (Matt Damon), an ex-psychic who still has the gift/curse, but is unwilling to use it. His brother, looking out for his own interests (although pretending to respect his brother's wishes as well), pushes him for one more reading - which naturally turns into more since many people have a need to talk to their dead beloved ones.

    The plot consists of three very different stories that in the end come together:

    We have George in 'Frisco, who wants a normal life with a normal relationship in it, but can't quite grasp it.

    There is Marie in Paris, who can't get a hold of her own life after experiencing death in the tsunami. Her life and career are slipping away, but she can't seem to settle down and let go of her experience which no one seems to take seriously. So, she has to find answers for herself; what is there after we die? What did she see?

    Then there are the adorable twins in London, Jason and Marcus, who try to keep their lives together as their mother is hopelessly failing at everything. Trying to make things look good for the Child Protective Services, not wanting to be parted from their alcoholic, drug-abusive mother, they try their best to maintain a relatively normal life. That is, until Jason dies.

    George's clumsy attempts are kind of touching. Marie's journey is interesting, but a bit boring too. Marcus', on the other hand, is the most touching story of them all; he misses his twin. His life just isn't the same. He and Jason were always there for each other. Now, he is alone, taken from his mother who is trying to put herself together and thrust into the arms of strangers.

    The story's pace is slow, but things stay interesting. Three different lives in a very chaotic place meet quite unexpectedly in London, and while I didn't quite get the quick relationship with George and Marie (was it that she had already seen death and didn't want George to tell her about it?), the ending was pretty good.

    Liked the style of the movie, and definitely recommending it for fans of "supernatural", spiritual things; this didn't take anything overboard. It was a fluent look at people who are lost and try to find an answer to questions that are greater than life itself.
    Expand
  32. Jan 7, 2012
    10
    A future cult classic in my humble opinion. Looking at the most important life subject of the importance of "being true to you", and "following the heart" to find love and success in this life, and in such an all encompassing way, that touches with true genorosity of spirit on the oneness of us all. Thank you Clint for a work of love and beauty.
  33. Dec 14, 2013
    7
    While Hereafter is not the sci-fi drama that some moviegoers might have been led to believe it is, the film is a terrific character drama that directly addresses one of humanity’s most enduring mysteries.
  34. Jun 11, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie was sad,moving and mysterious at the same time. Really liked the three stories of the tsunami, the dead brother and the magician. It was unexpected as a movie as I thought it would be a bad movie. Well it wasn't Expand
  35. Feb 4, 2015
    7
    Communicating with the dead? It’s what alot of people say they can do, and more wish they were telling the truth.

    Hereafter is a film that tells three stories that all relate to communicating with the dead, and tell a parallel story with one another. We have a American based past Clairvoyant now factory worker, a French television journalist who had a near death experience, and British
    Communicating with the dead? It’s what alot of people say they can do, and more wish they were telling the truth.

    Hereafter is a film that tells three stories that all relate to communicating with the dead, and tell a parallel story with one another. We have a American based past Clairvoyant now factory worker, a French television journalist who had a near death experience, and British twins touched by tragedy. All of main the scenes that lead to the events that intertwine this story are both shocking, and inadvertently brought to life but how realistic they look.

    Directed by Clint Eastwood, Hereafter doesn't seem to build on the premises of the story of life after death, and i don't think it ever wanted to force feed answers, but more make you raise you own questions, The stories seem believable, and will keep you interested from start to finish.

    Hereafter is worth a watch for someone who is looking to get away from ‘Life’ for a little bit.
    Full Review @ItsMuchMore
    Expand
  36. Feb 17, 2015
    10
    Critics are calling this film very slow pace film, actually it's not true. Eastwood is one of my favorite film makers his films are marvelously done with great direction, so Matt Damon stars as a sidekick he is the best part of this film he plays his fascinating character so good. Peter Morgan's script is fantastic and he's creates the story so powerful and brutal. My Grade: A it's a wildCritics are calling this film very slow pace film, actually it's not true. Eastwood is one of my favorite film makers his films are marvelously done with great direction, so Matt Damon stars as a sidekick he is the best part of this film he plays his fascinating character so good. Peter Morgan's script is fantastic and he's creates the story so powerful and brutal. My Grade: A it's a wild and fantastic journey between who are touched by death in different ways. Morgan makes three wonderful stories in Here after Expand
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 42
  2. Negative: 4 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: William Thomas
    Jan 24, 2011
    40
    Slow, ponderous and as shallow as it thinks it is deep, lifted only by an impressive opening and fine work from Damon and Howard.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Oct 24, 2010
    50
    His (Eastwood) first boring film.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Oct 22, 2010
    88
    As a result, Hereafter isn't so deep that it will change the way many people think about the afterlife. But it is heartfelt and thoughtful and, in a way, comforting.